Average rating:

4.5
out of 35 ratings.

Brilliant and Essential

by Ponterbee on Apr 06, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This treasure trove of a podcast isn't just overwhelmingly fun, it also serves as a vital time capsule for the cataloging and safekeeping of the western world's (practically) complete history of rock & roll.I can imagine a possible third epoch of mankind, millenniums after we've destroyed ourselves: through climate change, nuclear war, or even a meteor... And this new human race someday evolving to the point where they're able to discover- and play- these. As infinitesimal a chance as this has of happening, it's actually quite a relief to know that a catalog of music such as this exists, serving as real evidence that humans aren't completely jealous, ignorant rage-fueled destroyers of all things beautiful and good.The only negative to this library is the podcasters aversion and reluctance to play late 60s music (Kumbayah Music, as he calls it) - There's some... But not much. And you can hear the disinterest in his voice.But overall, this podcast collection is put together so well, so perfectly, that it deserves some kind of national protection and inclusion into the Library of Congress.I mean it.

love old time rock n' roll

by 6lucky13 on Feb 06, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Found this podcast recently and it is among my favorites. Always has a new dimension to the greatest old tunes. Love hearing the old songs and many new ones from the era. Wish I had enough space to download them all! Thank you Mr. Douglas.

linda

by mediatramp on Jan 27, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

I just found this podcast and LOVE IT! Keep up the great memories!

The Best!

by bsue on Sep 19, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

We have come a long way. I say we because I've been listening to Lee from the beginning, I have 3 iPods full to prove it! Just can't bring myself to delete my favorite shows! The knowledge Lee shares with us and the great songs from yesterday can't be found anywhere else,

Better the radio classic satation

by Mattny84 on Jan 07, 2012
Rating: ★★★★★

First I wanna say thank you lee for saying my name in one your anniversary shows, second keep up the awesome shows. When I started this podcast I just looked for songs I know but now I love Elvis and doo woop. Thank you.

Great podcast and Lee, don't stop talking!

by Randy Sly on Aug 29, 2011
Rating: ★★★★★

The music is great to listen to, but as a former Top 40 DJ, the banter between records is a part of the culture! Lee does a great job bringing in the stories behind the groups and the music. He has his opinions and sometimes I disagree but, hey... that's what it's all about. I feel that Lee is building a Rock n Roll family of followers.

Takes me back

by Two-wheels on May 13, 2011
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is just great! For a guy that grew up in the 50's and 60's this is a trip down memory lane. I love the Oldies and this is a great podcast. Thank you!!

Not bad, but...

by my..oh..my on Mar 27, 2011
Rating: ★★★★☆

Music is good, but a disc jockey should keep his opinions on what is great and what is bad music to himself. Just play the music and let us enjoy the memories. Thank you.

One of my All Time Favorites

by rinjo on Jan 24, 2008
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks for getting up again, I was looking forward to the newest show. Glad your servers work again Karin (from Dresden in germany)

Easily the best podcast, ever

by marilyn sackheim on Nov 02, 2007
Rating: ★★★★★

Mr. Douglas has opened up wells of memories for many of us, I am sure. I just found this site and am starting at Episode 1. Actually, I'm now up to #8 so I have a few more to go. Each show is delightfully hosted by Mr. Douglas and it's obvious he's a connoisseur of his subject. If you want to hear songs I haven't heard since the 50's, here is where to find them. As for the sound quality, I have yet to find a podcast that is perfect so, until you are, hush up!!

Old Time Rock 'n' Roll with Lee Douglas

by areacode270 on Apr 09, 2007
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. I have downloaded every episode. Yes, Lee Douglas does have some problems broadcasting. I have found the volume of his voice and the volume of his music are different, but I certainly don't think it sounds like it is coming from under water, as one reviewer stated. Lee Douglas has been around. He is from Brooklyn, and worked with the great Alan Freed, when Rock 'n' Roll was just getting started. His insight into Rock 'n' Roll history cannot be matched by anybody. He has met many of the artists in person, and gives us a wonderful history of each artist and song before he plays it. You cannot get his type of information from just anywhere, unless the host reads it somewhere out of a book. This is what makes this podcast different. I have learned more about Rock 'n' Roll artists and songs from listening to this podcast than from any other source. Lee does not play just the really popular songs that you can hear on any oldies radio station, but he plays the really rare songs that we haven't heard in many years. I grew up in the 50's and 60's and have been waiting for something like this podcast to come along for a long time now. Oldies radio stations just play a few select oldies songs over and over again, but not Lee Douglas. You will not hear the same song played twice. You must give this a shot. You will not be disappointed. I have listened to all 32 episodes as of this review, and I know what I am talking about. Some have written a review after listening to one or two episodes, but I have listened to them all. Lee is great.

Great music, poor quality

by hursqvarn007 on Feb 22, 2007
Rating: ★★★★☆

The music is great and the themes are inventive and fun. The biggest problem is the sound quality. It sounds like the recording took place in a basement under 3 feet of water at times. If they fixed that it has the potential to be one of the best oldies podcasts! Lee Douglas really knows his stuff and although at times can become long winded he really adds another dimension to the overall product. If you have an hour or so and want to hear some great oldies music then you should check it out.

i like it

by wrongfulpuppet on Feb 02, 2007
Rating: ★★★☆☆

its old but kinda cool