Average rating:

4.5
out of 22951 ratings.

Great just great !!!

by Sargedizzy on Sep 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

As above !!

One of my favorite shows

by Happy2use on Sep 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Awesome listening!

Ben B

by Benwaaaaaaaaa on Sep 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

love it!

I keep coming back

by Daisy if you do on Sep 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

The biased reporting forces me to turn off several episodes but I keep coming back. I think it may have changed a little in the past few years in that regard. Did they always have this many reruns?

Great stories about real people

by Syxx006 on Sep 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

First podcast I've ever subscribed to, and still one of the best

I love this podcast

by NPRgrl on Sep 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Can’t say much more that hasn’t already been said by other reviewers; just had to say that this is one of the best radio shows out there, if not the best. Oh and yes, it will often make you cry...

Quite bad.

by Bonita Laguna on Sep 20, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This show is boring and has a low production quality.

The Nasally Guy Who's Been Doing Commercials

by Gakgakg on Sep 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Hands down the BEST PODCAST EVER but please please please get someone else to do the ads for Square Space, Blue Apron and whatever else they're pushing lately. His nasally tone and crunched up little mouth is sooooo annnnooooyyyyyiiinnnnnggggg... Make it stop, just please make it stop.

Hit or miss. Some unlistenable

by hh941 on Sep 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

There are some great 1s and some not so great. 1 of the best things about this podcast is that they have transcripts for each episode on their website so you can go thru the transcript to determine whether or not to listen in to a particular episode1 of the worst things is that some episodes have huge amounts of vocal fry. I've never been able to finish any of those podcast episodes. You're talking over a microphone for a living - please try to speak in a manner that doesn't sound like nails on a chalkboard.

My fave

by !3m!l!3 on Sep 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It's like a warm blanket on a cold night!

Hit or miss

by Gomez7270 on Sep 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

this podcast is either my favorite or least favorite of the week, never in between!

Love it!

by Cherryker9 on Sep 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Beyond words!! I enjoy every minute of each episode. Always helping me to see both sides.

Great show but mostly repeats these days

by crzymln on Sep 18, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

A good show with great production value and a fantastic back catalogue. Unfortunately, they seem to go to the back catalogue instead of producing new shows more often than not anymore. I understand that good content takes time and could forgive them for not being able to produce a new show each week if they would be upfront the shows were repeats. Instead the shows are presented as new so I use my bandwidth to download them only to get a sense of déjà vu followed by frustration a few minutes in. They will state at the end it's a repeat, why not let us know upfront and let us decide if we want to listen again instead of presenting it as a new podcast every week?

This American life is amazing

by Need a mirror stat! on Sep 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Always so happy when there's a new episode!

Great podcast

by windowstation on Sep 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to this podcast whenever I'm in the car. It is amazing!

Love everything about it!

by Wild Whalen on Sep 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the wide range of topics! Sometimes they are invested in really investigating to the bottom of something and sometimes it's a fun topic like fowl around Thanksgiving and Christmas!! Love it all!!

Simply the best

by eclipse enthusiast on Sep 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I figured after many years of looking forward to this show every week, I ought to leave a review. This is the gold standard by which I view all other podcasts, and none come close. Truly the best storytelling out there today.

Radio Mainstay

by pea-podcast on Sep 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Really a fundumental part of listening. From inane bits like the Rest Stop episode to really hard hitting stuff like Habeas Schmabeas, almost always good radio. Not to mention that it directly or indirectly spawned Serial, Planet Money, the and the entire Gimlet network.

Long time fan

by Shannonprc on Sep 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love everything about this American life. Keep it up. You add so much joy to my life.

Old podcasts

by Candstandya on Sep 15, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Inaccessible

Best show ever

by Melkayg on Sep 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I look forward to listening to this show every week. If there are a bunch of podcast in my queue, I'll listen to this one before all the rest. The topics are always relevant, the discussions interesting, and the people fascinating. I could listen to Ira Glass all day.

😍

by Malgalm7 on Sep 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love!! I have looked forward to This American Life new episodes every week for years. This show makes me look at topics through new perspectives and I love it. Keep up the amazing work!!

Long time listener

by Nancymesaaz on Sep 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I used listen on the radio and now thoroughly enjoy the podcast.

Please

by AylaAlexandra on Sep 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I would appreciate a content warning if there is suicide or addiction in the story but otherwise love the humanity this podcast brings

#1 fave

by Link 2 Instagram accounts on Sep 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to TAL every Monday on my commute to and from work. I actually look forward to my commute! The stories are infinitely interesting, and Ira is a charming host. I find this show so soothing.

Yay

by The Real Ray J on Sep 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Yay

All time favorite

by Bugguy288 on Sep 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the original, before there were podcasts this American life was on the radio. I look forward to each new episode and appreciate the podcast version without radio edits. A great in depth look into important issues and at other times just wonderful stories. A true pleasure.

Ronele in KCMO

by RonnieluvsTheU on Sep 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Always moved by your stories. Keep them coming!👍🏽

Amazing

by Tetalira on Sep 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Best show on radio

Journalism? Neil drumming

by Nicolos1 on Sep 07, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I really like this show for the most part...however I do Wish reporters would base their segments on actual facts instead of opinions ...in particular in the segment about Jehovah's Witnesses. We don't treat people with negativity, or say hurtful things about homosexuals, we do however follow the Bible. Not just our bible ... any translation of the Bible. It seemed the reporter didn't really know much about Jehovah's Witnesses religion... especially not to make an entire program about it. Please let's not encourage misinformation.

5 stars. No question.

by acgunner14 on Sep 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

First ballot entry into the podcast hall of fame.

Informative and entertaining

by nyspp on Sep 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This American Life is one of the best podcasts I have found. Definitely worth you time and even if one particular weeks episode doesn't suit you, do yourself a favor and listen to others. While I wouldn't say every episode is a home run, they consistently put out quality podcasts that are worthy of your ear time! There are several gems in their archives too and I genuinely look forward to their weekly release when new episodes are available. Thank you to Ira and the team for making my life more full and rich. I appreciate all that you do. Please keep it up.

An hour of Devos worship

by Rocco from Cleveland on Sep 07, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I used to genuinely enjoy this show, but the latest episode was adulation of a super wealthy family who's heiress was appointed a government title out of pure corruption. This is no longer a slice of life podcast but publicly funded or for the super rich. Avoid.

A must-listen.

by Tmouffe on Sep 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A must-listen podcast.

Nothing better

by Craigslist fail on Sep 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Poignant story telling with heart and soul. I've loved every single episode and listened to some episodes more than once. Bravo to the entire team at TAL. Keep up the excellent work.

More political brainwashing

by MarjieDissapointed on Sep 06, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I used to love this show up until this year. Since Trump took office, this show became a propaganda avenue for so called progressive liberals. I am sick and tired of the same bs on every single show commercial and even sports tv show I find my self watching/listening/reading. What has journalism had become? Have some respect for your profession! The reason why these podcast exist is so people can listen to unbiased professional reports and use their critical thinking skills. Now every single episode (even the lightest subject ones) contains a hidden message against conservatives, Trump supporters or pretty much against every person who doesn't use the same rhetoric and have the same cookie cutter way of seeing the world... not all of us are leftie zombies. I am now unsubscribing my self from this podcast. What a shame. I wanted candy! Not broccoli! If you want to impose your political views on others then at least be honest about it, and present your show for what it is: Left propaganda. I think we have enough of it. At least I had enough of it.

Love

by Lmariekozel on Sep 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Still remember many years ago stumbling on this show on NPR (girls switched at birth episode) and just being in love.

For years I enjoyed this podcast

by Gadget 17392 on Sep 04, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Your political views of late have completely turned me off and you should change the podcast to THIS UNAMERICAN LIFE Tired of the attacks on the Right I'm sure you'll do something on the First Lady's shoes

My favorite

by S333W on Sep 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I look forward to this all week!

This Liberal Democrat Life

by Listening in TN on Sep 04, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Have been a listener for a number of years, listened to the archived websites, loved the variety of topics and the way the show has opened my eyes to issues I was not familiar with. Discouraged that since the 2016 election the focus of the show seems to be strictly political: refugees, immigration, secretary of education, etc... Hope the show will return to its roots, examining life throughout America, not just one sided political conversations

Great Show

by Mitch Spevacek on Sep 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this show. I listen every week while mowing the lawn.

Addictive and always so interesting

by Kristenjta on Aug 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One of my favorite podcasts/shows ever!

Warning!

by Olivebop on Aug 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Listen at your own risk. You may find yourself addicted to this podcast. The variety of stories, narrators and perspectives keeps me coming back for more!

Love the show!

by Tkling578853 on Aug 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been listening for years! I love the show. This American Life was the first NPR show that started me listening to radio and podcasts on a regular basis.

Great show

by teresacho on Aug 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

What can I say? It's great.

Wow

by 4thmonthgirl on Aug 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This show just keeps getting better and better. Just listened to episode #623 and it just blew me away. Thank you for always slaying.

This American Life is a highlight to my week!

by jilly2good on Aug 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Nothing out there compares to the quality storytelling of This American Life. I have a special place in my heart for Guy and the team. Keep up the good work.

Always love this podcast

by Nephanu on Aug 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love all npr podcasts. This is one of my favorites. Thank you.

Oh man, it's so remarkable

by billfordson on Aug 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This show is just incredible. No matter the theme of a given episode, they are always told in a profoundly human and emotionally relatable way, whether is lighthearted and trivial, or personal and intimate or investigative and informative. Sure, occasionally some of the things don't hit home quite as well, but I can't think of a more rewarding regular listen.

I believe I am a better person because of this podcast.

by Royce_Royal on Aug 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

That's it. I'm more thoughtful and empathetic, and less judgemental and critical because of the stories shared on This American Life. Thank you, Ira Glass, and NPR.