Average rating:

4.5
out of 22082 ratings.

too political

by adamncarpenter on Apr 21, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I have to agree with the other reviews that have said it has gotten too poltical as of late. I used to LOVE This American Life, but the past few months have ended up quitting before finishing the episode. We get enough political stuff thrown at us every minute of the day and I used to enjoy escaping for a few minutes to listen to a good story told through podcast. Now I don't even click on it. I'll miss the old you, TAL! --Lauren C.

The best podcast.

by Allie Smelley on Apr 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

You'll laugh, you'll cry, you'll cry while you laugh. It's so good.

Truly Interesting

by Handspringcrazy on Apr 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My favorite episodes revolve around random themes, rather than politics. Well written, great composition and truly interesting!

Storytelling at its best.

by Angela Russell :) on Apr 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast feeds the need of human beings to share stories.

Great show

by MNice_2017 on Apr 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Look forward to hearing the stories every week.

Pretty good show

by MadPapaya on Apr 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Worth a listen for sure. I get a lot out of this show. They cover a wide variety of topics.

Love!

by Garnet526 on Apr 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Always great stories by great storytellers.

Not about american life

by james lemur on Apr 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

This show used to be amazing. Take a look at the 5 star reviews and you'll see they're almost entirely from 2009 or earlier. There used to be stories from Americans of all walks of life, some endearing, some hilarious. Now it's mostly economic or political analysis. Stories about people are about refugees in Europe or Russian voters, and the few times they play anything about regular American people, they're reruns from many years ago. And they don't even tell you it's all reruns in the podcast credits. The stories are good political analysis, good reporting, but it's not the show it used to be. I end up deleting a lot of the episodes because I'm listening for a break from the constant discussions of Trump and the economy that are repeated in literally every other NPR show already. Glass should pass this on to someone else, and concentrate on the political reporting he's interested in.

Hi

by uu bbuh on Apr 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Thunder B.B. Injury

Never miss one

by dandunam on Apr 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Never seize to amaze!

Simply the best podcast on Earth

by E-rection on Apr 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Ira Glass's smooth voice breaks hearts and minds as he moderates stories that make you feel your feelings

The Standard Model

by morganfitzp on Apr 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

And far above par after all these years.

Top Notch

by Fizzygiggy on Apr 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This American Life. Nuff said.

Awesome

by Simpsona202965 on Apr 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The best!!!

Disappointing

by JimmyFBabbbbby on Apr 10, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Why did you re use the story of the pen pal Pamela ?? Also why did you re use the in defense of ignorance stories?? Usually a great show, but when you are going to be busy and can't produce new content , at least mention to listeners it's a repeated story. Also Ira, you are better than this. S Town is not that good for you to lose focus on This Am life . Jim

Podcast heaven

by GRANTImaging on Apr 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This information source is sublime.

The soft velvet tones of an angel

by rna3xhelix on Apr 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

In some weird asmr Pavlovian hybrid I long to hear, "act II act II..." echoed. I was in a dark space when I first heard this American life, it was night. But also I was depressed. The structure of this show spoke to me, in audio form. There is a satisfaction to taking in ideas in thirds, triptych almost. In many ways I am attached emotionally and physically while listening. (Update: now have Bluetooth earbuds no longer maintain the physical aspects of aforementioned 'relationship') In a very serious tone (play in the arms of an angel now) I was sad when I found out they got divorced. You know who I'm talking about. If you don't know, don't worry just start from episode 1 and listen until present day. Maybe plan out a light afternoon of jazz and podcasting. Well, now we've arrived at act III, act III I don't know how to tie a bow on this. And I'm sad because I realized I missed that guy's backstory and it probably really all would of come together right now. Alas lagunas brewing company.

What all other podcasts are measured against

by jase310 on Apr 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This American Life sets the bar (incredibly high!) for telling stories that are engaging, thought-provoking, and meaningful. If there's only one thing you're going to listen to each week, this should be it.

Great podcast!

by Elsiea4410 on Apr 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to this podcast on a daily basis. I love how they have different and interesting topics.

My first podcast

by IMDbBest on Apr 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My very first podcast that I listened to and now I'm a podcaster! I love This American life!

The Depth of being American

by MissChris09 on Apr 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This show has opened up my eyes and ears to the complexities of being a modern American. Every story helps me to better understand others and this complicated world we live in. Outstanding work NPR!!!

Consistently excellent

by Bansley7109 on Apr 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My absolute favorite podcast. Fantastic, fantastic, fantastic!

Always a goodie

by Luvbuggie77 on Apr 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The is my go to podcast. So many episodes to choose from and on such great topics! I learn a lot and am entertained all at once!

The best podcast on earth

by Farmgirlshelley on Apr 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If you only try one podcast please try this one. Well done, engrossing and entertaining.

Look forward to the show!

by KarmaLee1235678975445775467 on Apr 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I look forward to new episodes every week...it's the highlight of my week entertainment wise (especially since I do A LOT of driving). Thanks for hanging out with me while I drive!

Ask a Grownup

by Mathilda73 on Apr 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Really enjoy all episodes of This American Life, but this one was especially touching. Ira's tribute to his friend Mary was so heartfelt...She must have been an amazing friend.

Amazing detailed reporting

by Can't have enough on Apr 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The amount of details the stories review and the length of work the reporters put into the stories amazes me! The first time I listened to the show, I could not get out of the car until the story was over!

An essential

by samlucas95 on Apr 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is an absolute essential for people who want to get into podcasts or are interested in podcasts in any way, shape, or form. Love it

Unbiased opinions on psychopathic outlooks.

by Dave382$367949 on Apr 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I want to hear more from Brian Reed.

Falling Asleep with Ira Glass

by 818lara on Apr 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast has replaced my book at night. I love each episode and the passion and commitment we get from Ira Glass!!!

Riveting

by Rectanglewatermelon on Apr 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have to set aside time to listen because I hate to cut this podcast short.

My favorite

by RitaG2017 on Mar 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I moved to the US last Summer and I thought TAL would be a good way to learn about American culture in an engaging, light way. I'm really learning more about empathy and human nature in general. Ira Glass is just brilliant!

One of the few podcasts I'll give 5 Stars

by BlueAlopex on Mar 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Pick a random episode and listen. I bet you may come to the same conclusion.

Always interesting perspectives

by Aaakkkkkkgggggg on Mar 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

More podcasts with Zoe!

Great show

by Kittycoup on Mar 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Look forward to the next show every week!

One of my favorites

by Darabeth23 on Mar 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love Ira and this podcast!

The best podcast out there

by frostagirl on Mar 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the best podcast. I like every the stories and the people working on them. I would pay if I had to. In order to keep listening.

A Required Listening

by ElderJC on Mar 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great way to began the week. Growing up I was taught the three substances for life; Morals, Values, and Goals. Each week you reminds me why those three are still important. Thanks.

This American Life

by KnaufConstruction on Mar 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The best public radio hour

Still no better podcast out there.

by JoshStoryville on Mar 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

No podcast is consistently this original or this good.

Love!!

by Sglun796 on Mar 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Such a great podcast! So well done. I applaud all those involved in making it.

Love, love, love

by melimd on Mar 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoy the stories every week! Keep them coming!!

Moving, Funny, Insightful

by beccca098 on Mar 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Altogether a delightful hour of radio. Great to listen to in traffic, in an airplane, anywhere. Truly gives you a deeper look into stories that are interesting and relevant. Public Radio is a treasure!

Love this podcast

by ToriSuperRN on Mar 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Just wanted to make sure I gave you all five stars and tell everyone how awesome this podcast is!

It took me 15 years to write this

by pecansandie on Mar 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

So, I love TAL and listen to it regularly. Tonight I listened to #612: Ask a Grown Up. (Ira, I just thought you were prematurely gray.) This last story about Mary really hit home as I watch my mother and her siblings age a bit each year. Having them, and having known my grandparents, has been a blessing. Thank you for sharing Mary and reminding me of what I have. And, I'll tell you the first episode that put TAL on the map for me was that bird and the girl in a series of stories of what people would do for love. Keep up the good work.

Stop Promoting S Town

by Kona Beans on Mar 27, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

1 star for the lengthy promotion at the start of the podcast

So good.

by Pawl24 on Mar 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Just so good. Favorite podcast. Entertaining and enlightening.

Ask A Grown Episode One of the Best

by Not a Grown on Mar 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been listening to this podcast for a few years and Ask A Grown was certainly one of the best episodes I've listened to.

Awesome show

by Sourcemade on Mar 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Not to be missed.

MORE, Please!

by DMNSparky on Mar 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

This American Life is an engrossing podcast covering topics that are all over the map. Those that cover fringe topics are often the most interesting and entertaining. TAL is the birthplace of Serial, as well as the place where so many interesting essayists (like Sarah Vowell, David Sedaris, and Mike Birbiglia) have developed a larger following. The stories are intelligent, sometimes wry, sometimes outright funny, but always enthralling.I would suggest the podcast make its entire catalog available to iTunes customers, since not everybody is using an iPhone,which needn't have wi-fi to access the podcast.