Average rating:

4.5
out of 45613 ratings.

The episode Dr Gilmer and Mr Hyde is amazing!

by Jarshush on Dec 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Part medical mystery, part investigative reporting and part homage to a remarkable young doctor who tries to help a man he did not know, this episode is an example of the best form of journalism. Hats off to everyone involved.

Stop mumbling Ira!

by 5762097632 on Dec 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

We want to hear what you are saying

Share, share, share...

by HotRod412 on Dec 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

What else is there to say about TAL.... Send a podcast to someone who has a hard time reading... They will thank you.

Stop Playing Business Schooled Ads

by behappy1105 on Dec 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this show! But can you stop playing those AWFUL and RIDICULOUS Business Schooled ads for the Synchrony podcast?

It doesn’t get better

by Meat genius on Dec 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Ira is gripping. I love the broad subjects, it covers everything. Some weeks it’s super funny, some weeks it’s super sad. Every week it’s really good. Bring Sarah Koenig on more often!

Rachel Maddow shout out!!

by Philly loves you on Dec 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Kudos Ira and Zoe.. it was great hearing your very familiar voices on Rachel Maddow podcast today.👏👏👏👏

Overall good

by VoluntAaron on Dec 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A very good show and the repeated failures that the hosts display in the criminal justice system makes one wonder why they trust the state as much as they do.

Little war on the prairie

by LonnieB2 on Dec 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Although very disturbing and nauseating, I found this episode very educational. Thank you

Important and interesting

by Mallorz44 on Dec 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It's hard for many other podcasts to compete with the storytelling skills of Ira and team. This show is a classic and a must listen. It's something most everyone can agree on and I find myself retelling the stories I hear from this show because they're fascinating.

That's odd.

by Clevefan55 on Dec 03, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Why did Sarah Koenig host of the Serial podcast narrate the TAL episode Dr.Gilmer and Mr.Hyde? After all the case didn't involve supposed law enforcement/ race injustice???

Gripping! my favourite podcast

by brusselsmix on Dec 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This American Life is not pretentious despite the outstanding quality of the journalism. This show brought me to tears more than once because of the heartbreaking stories they bring to the audience. I was also inspired by so many people on this show. Thank you This American Life!

Ick politics and campy

by Kaitsies6@ on Dec 01, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I have listened to every TAL podcast and saw Ira Glass speak in the past. This show is best when it is talking about individuals, telling stories of Americans. It is really bad at politics. Reached fever pitch of crap in show about Newt Gingrich. They have mastered the public radio version of mansplaining and use this same rhetorical device ad nauseum. It is disingenuous. It is super campy (and not in a good way). I am a bleeding heart liberal but I am getting tired of listening to TAL’s facsimile of what should be open-minded and probing inquiry. Instead, there is always a garden path where we are being lead, with increasingly less charm. Stop mansplaining TAL. Get back to individuals and stop trying to explain to hand feed us trite interpretations of current history which are not saffron-coated truffle caviar but little “journalistic” turds.

But that’s what happened

by assfault! on Nov 29, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I am not a chauvinist have great respect for the female of the species, but I am getting dam sick and tired of women always crying the blues. In this case where docs are learning, these women would rather end up with an uneducated surgeon working on them. I’ve not heard any guys complaining about anything like this. It seems women today are just out of control. There’s bigger problems in the world that effect all colors and genders. Just saying.

Who doesn’t

by podcast for kids! on Nov 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this American life?!

Please fix the repeats issue

by D.F. Barnacle on Nov 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I have listened since for a decade or so, but please stop broadcasting repeats, especially without any signal that they are repeats. Firstly, the format of a podcast rends the idea of a repeat completely anachronistic. Great news - we have a feed with back episodes! Secondly, by trying to disguise repeats as new episodes this just means that we all waste time listening to the start, only to realise 5-10 minutes in that we’ve heard it all before.

Read This Review

by TheRealGrinch on Nov 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

All the people that gave one star complaint about something stupid, political, or lazy. People complain about the cussing, when there is an edited version that takes only slightly more work to listen to. People complain that the show got to political, if you understand that this is an art form and the stories are meant to inspire the far and alt right to change there views, the other complaint is that they delete the older episodes but for only 4$ you can get the app which has every episode

Extremely biased

by Chris-132 on Nov 26, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This used to be an amazing podcast but it dramatically changed during 2016, likely due to the rise of Donald Trump. Ever since then this podcast has been as biased as MSNBC.

Too many ads = difficult to follow

by PodPositive on Nov 24, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I want to like this, but every time I start getting into the story there’s a break.

My favorite podcast that disappoints regularly

by magicdusk on Nov 22, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

This used to be my favorite podcast, period. Now it’s my favorite podcast that disappoints me regularly. Too many stories about how bad Trump is for the country (even though I whole heartedly agree), and too many insults or smear jobs on my faith (Elna just can’t leave it alone). 2 out of 5 is about right these days, and it’s too bad.

Slowly Deteriorating Into a Typical Bias Media Outlet

by Qnub121 on Nov 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I used to love this podcast. However, the recent episodes do not hold to the previous “spirit” of the podcast in presenting both sides of issues and letting the listeners make their own judgements. The hosts have become increasingly political and quite frankly unoriginal and unentertaining. I used to listen to this podcast as an escape from the typical bias laced media outlets. I’m only giving 3 stars because it used to be quite good.

Where there is a will review

by imrickjamesxxxx on Nov 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast overall that’s where they get five stars. With this episode the last act was the most frustrating thing I may have ever listen to besides our current president. I mean it’s a philosophical act and do they have a philosopher to discuss it? Hell no I have a physics major and animalsBehavioral scientist discuss one of the greatest philosophical questions of our time! Come on this American life I know you were trying to be interesting and quirky but you ended up just being purely frustrating you can do better I know you care at all the other podcast are better than that lame act.

Used to be a great show

by Grubk on Nov 19, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Since the election of 2016 this show is about “how Trump is ruining the country”. The only shows that are refreshingly nonpolitical turn out to be reruns from years ago. I just can’t listen anymore. Unsubscribing.

Loose Zoe Chace

by Likujhytgfrdvbj on Nov 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Dear This American Life, Every time Zoe Chace is on air I have to skip the story because she has such an annoying voice. This has been going on for years. Please make it stop. Braying donkeys are the only thing comparable. Why can’t she produce off air? Thank you for all your great work over the years.

Best podcast to listen too

by sebey henry cohen on Nov 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The best part about this podcast is has so much variety and all there stories have some humor.😀👍👍👍👍

Disappointed

by Dad Longworth on Nov 16, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Episode was a hit piece on Church of Jesus Christ clergy instead of what was advertised. A waste of time.

Interesting

by mindyram7 on Nov 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Provides interesting topics and ways to tell the story

Used to be my favorite podcast (updated)

by Bald guy 2014 on Nov 14, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I used to judge all of the podcasts against this one. But ever since the 2016 election season this podcast has turned 100% political. I get enough of that during the day on the radio and on the news. Don't really need it here too. Please change the format back to what it was. (2-6-2017)Well almost three months later and nothing has changed. Most of the podcasts are politically themed or about politically themed subjects. Seems "This American Life" is really just "Ira Glass' opinions on current events". I delete more of this podcast than I actually listen too.Well here it is December 2017 and absolutely nothing has changed. Show has become boring and repetitive. I gave you an entire year to improve and you didnt. The only interesting episodes are the old repeats you try to pass off as new episodes. If i hear one more podcast story about undocumented immigrants I'm going to rip out the remaining three hairs on my head..........DONE! I am unsubscribing.By the way Apple...... Keeping 11 year old reviews for a podcsst is ridiculous. How about refreshing them to the last 18 months or so?Well here it is November 2018 and it looks as if nothing has yet to change. All the reviews from the last 2 years say the show is way too political now. That is when you can find a new review wading through the 11 year old ones. Please........

Mormon

by Ruthinator23 on Nov 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As a Mormon, I’ve never heard my faith described so accurately and heart breakingly. Thanks for your honesty and authenticity. You are brave and incredible.

Give it a go!

by DCsFlash25 on Nov 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazing stories, captures our humanity so very well. I have already recommended this to all my friends and family.

Grant

by Grantmert on Nov 09, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I like the story format, but alas it like 60 minutes has a leftist slant. And oh the condescending tone of course.

I wish Ira Glass was my real Dad.

by Jordan Caspigliano on Nov 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This show is an American treasure.

Too political

by aeh002 on Nov 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I use to love This American Life because of the quirky offbeat stories. Shortly after the election the stories have been more centered on political issues. Of course the majority of the regular audience is anti-Trump but do we really need to hear about a bad side of this American life every week? I know how bad it is. How about a story about the good things in this country despite the administration?

Great show

by Mvicev88 on Nov 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

.

Addicting

by Adams1674 on Nov 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The story’s are very well told and vary from slice of life to science education. I love it!

I love TAL

by Zoeybully on Nov 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Ira is a national treasure. This is one of the best podcasts out there.

Return to Childhood

by Bev💗 on Nov 01, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I normally enjoy this podcast, but I could not get past the first guest on this episode. She’s a young lady, but every other word is “like”. It just grates my nerves whenever I lock into to someone repetitively saying like over and over in a conversation. I’m really surprised he AL team didn’t help her by pointing out the problem and helping her correct it. I’m sure she was so excited to be on a podcast, but I feel like when she looks back on it once she is older and more mature, she is going to be disappointed 😔

White Haze Episode

by @SuzieSaysSo on Oct 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I just heard on the news that the proud boys have been banned from FB. It must be due to this excellent reporting by TAL. But how will they stick fo their pledge? They will have too much time on their hands now!

Love or love/get-over-yourself?

by Tsch621 on Oct 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve been in a love/get-over-yourself relationship with this show for years. Ultimately, I’m forever in love. The shows willingness to ask and explore embarrassing and slightly taboo topics makes me roll my eyes occasionally. But, only because I don’t want it to be a big deal to feel all our feelings and over dissect certain specific life experience. This American Life though means we do just that, and learn something from the dissection process. Let’s do it.

Long time listener

by BlobbyNugget on Oct 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve been listening since the show started. I play the Dr. Seuss episode constantly for my kids. The majority of time. I have headphones on and am listening as I do work or am shopping. Now the people of my town think of me as the weird lady who walks around the grocery store crying or laughing, often hysterically. I love Ira Glass. He is a treasure.

Fuyuy

by pyamshon on Oct 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I’ll if I’ll see if z 🎂😃😍💕😋😒😙vj

Great

by Cryllica on Oct 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A must-listen.

Who knew?

by misfit poet on Oct 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

So it turns out you don’t have to have moving pictures to be throughly entertained, who knew?

Too political but my eternal love

by Kaffa121 on Oct 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

But I also loved listening to the more fun and innocent stories of old men who had decided to take their city bus they’d been driving all of their life down to Florida on a whim. It’s those kind of stories I miss that I find myself listening more to Snap Judgement. I know it’s important to cover the hard hitting news my generation may not gather anywhere else but a podcast. But 4, 5, 6 wholly political episodes back to back and I’m looking for something a little less depressing. I wish they would toss in a couple of the old school stories.

Episode 528

by Kbabyqcs on Oct 24, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Awful

Whyyy

by Kattttttiiiiiiiiiieeeeeeeeee on Oct 23, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Why are only 4 episodes showing?? 😩

Great storytelling!

by katjax4 on Oct 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Even when I don’t think a topic will interest me I love it and learn something. I regularly listen to many podcasts and this is still the best!

Running out of material?

by Sarita1209 on Oct 22, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I used to find this show so interesting! For the last year, it’s boring as heck! It’s also very biased. After following from the beginning I am replacing your spot on my phone with something else.

Philip Glass is overrated

by ljgh61 on Oct 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

An opera about getting locked in a closet?Seriously???There’s nothing more interesting going on in this world.Please I couldn’t get through 20 minutes.It made me want to punch someone.

Missing episodes?

by newly sobee mommy on Oct 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I can only see 5 episodes of this show!! It’s so good, where are the rest?

Love it

by nicolew1234 on Oct 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

My absolute favorite podcast! And I’m an everyday podcast listener!