Average rating:

4.5
out of 21746 ratings.

Well Done!

by Mountain Barb on Feb 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is always interesting and well produced. Great quality stories!

The best

by Jlhorwood on Feb 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This has always been my favorite podcast. And it just keeps getting better.

Yeah, it's good but...

by Valsalva Manuever on Feb 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

It's slipping. Still a big fan but the competition is winning. I can't believe I'm saying it but TAM and Ira are annoying now.

Awesome

by LCGivens on Feb 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast every week!

All thanks to you

by Kingeragon2 on Feb 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My junior year English teacher showed me this show in 2013. Been listening ever sense.

Great Stories

by Lyss Brick on Feb 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

It took a while to grow on me but these episodes have some real gems. Each have a different topic and most are broken up into several acts or short segments that fit into that topic. Some are better than others. But overall a great staple to have in your podcast line up!

The best

by Majestica10 on Feb 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Show ever. What other show has 20K+ reviews?! Not necessarily Aleta about American life, but definitely worth the listen each week. It's an essential podcast in my feed.

Wish They'd Post the Clean Versions

by stutes on Feb 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I like TAL. And so do my kids. I just wish they'd post the clean versions. I find it odd that they create clean versions for radio broadcast, but then make podcast listeners go to the website to listen to them. Let those who want to hear swearing seek it out on the website, and let the podcast mirror what is broadcast over the airwaves. I'd listen to it more often if this is the case. As it stands now, every time I listen (which is usually with my kids) and they warn that the podcast contains the "unbeeped" version, and that I can go to the website if I want to hear the "beeped" version, I skipped to something else to listen to, which usually isn't TAL.

Delightful

by Ani Watts-B on Feb 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I regularly listen to about ten podcasts now, and This American Life is my absolute favorite. Ira is an amazing host and the content is spectacular. I couldn't possibly recommend this podcast highly enough!

Lost Its Way

by Pegasus9 on Feb 21, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The show used to be about a sigle theme or subject and stories related tot hat theme. But no, it is about a DNC talking and unbalanced made up ways to prove that talking point. Used to really enjoy the show and still do enjoy the reruns. Used to be slightly left of center -- but anything from September 2016 on is so tilted and lopsided, with no balance or real objective other than to present the Alt Left viewpoint. it is sad to see it come to this. No longer subscribe, no longer listen. Ira, how could you?

Love

by Flowermama4 on Feb 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Seriously some great work is put into these podcasts. Such great variety. It's like a box of chocolates. Great treat.

The platonic ideal of highly produced podcasts

by The Audience Speaks on Feb 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This American Life acompanied my childhood, driving to and from church on sundays with my parents, or at home cooking dinner afterward, when it was on, ADHD as I was, I would listen. Ira's dry, matter of fact delivery, with a touch of levity or gravity in the nuance would introduce a wide variety of stories that were funny, poigniant, thought provoking, and always arresting. This American Life always knows how to blend the relevant with the timeless, and rarely delivers an episode that doesn't jump strait to the head of my podcast queue and give me just what I needed for the week. Good Job Ira and everyone else who produces this wonderful podcast.

Love it

by Charlotte Murrell on Feb 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great story telling.

I unsubscribed today.

by Skyywalkerr on Feb 20, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I used to LOVE This American Life. But for the love of Pete, I can't take how often they repeat segments. I've noticed it for awhile. But when I started listening to last weeks show and realizing I'd heard the stories before, just in a different order, I gave up. Apparently everyone is working on Serial and has given up on TAL. Well now so have I.

Truth can hurt

by PayGayKayLay on Feb 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love how it's not all sunshine and roses all the time. Some episodes really hurt to listen to but it's the honest truth about stuff happening in the world and country. Regardless, the delivery and overall message is still positive. Thankful to be informed even though it's not always comfortable.

Still...

by Donin13 on Feb 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The best.

Listen to this

by jrogers2 on Feb 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Listen to it...it will move you. Make you see the world from a strangers shoes

Good

by Super easy to deposit now on Feb 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

So good

Classic

by Xas2225 on Feb 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Classic!

The absolute best

by danielle4416 on Feb 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This show is what radio is meant to be. It's what got me hooked on NPR!

Why aren't you listening to this podcast yet

by bird-person on Feb 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

??????

Once good, now boring leftist agitprop.

by 9mmmedia on Feb 13, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This used to be a good program. However, the past year or two, it's been circling the drain with Glass and fellow leftists stumbling over themselves to propagandize their listeners with MSNBC-like polemics. With this new administration, it seems they have even more excuses than ever before to hate this country.I recently attended Ira Glass' live show at the Smith Center in Las Vegas. Three quarters of the way through, my wife and I walked out. She's basically apolitical but neither of us expected to be subjected to torturous monologues attacking the idiocy of the current presidential administration. We felt duped. We paid to see what used to be an interesting, often introspective show. Instead, we were assaulted with a liberal dose of invective a la Rachel Maddow.Buh-bye Ira.

Great Podcast

by This American Life on Feb 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been enjoying this podcast immensely for seven years now.

A "koopa trooper" is from super Mario brothers.

by pimp of pixels on Feb 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Seriously. Ira, never vacation, or just run a repeat.

10/10

by HKates on Feb 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Favorite podcast hands down.

Love this American Life

by Dthankns on Feb 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love love love

20 years and still the best

by Grande Kielbasa on Feb 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Newer, sexier podcasts come along, but This American Life continues to put out consistently high-quality, thoughtful, and compelling stories that are well-produced without being overly produced.

Far Far Left

by CWH50 on Feb 10, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Usually entertaining, but you have to remember that it is an NPR podcast and the hosts will not even consider any narative that does not fit with their far left liberal leanings. A pity because technically the podcast is excellent, and the stories interesting. I wonder if the hosts have considered that a balanced approach, or even a non-partisan approach, might bring in the other half of the country to enjoy this, AND HEAR YOUR ADVERTISERS.

Interesting but Biased!

by Suprak on Feb 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Their content is largely very well put together.However their "reporting" of political events are very biased. They make no attempt to explore both sides of an argument.

Love everything about it

by Heathmia on Feb 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast really made me appreciate journalism as an art form. I learn so much and gain so many new perspectives from listening to This American Life. I love the set-up of the episodes, with different stories on one theme, and always hilarious titles for each story. Sometimes I laugh, sometimes I smile silently to myself, sometimes I gasp, and sometimes I saw "wowwwww". I don't think there's ever been an episode I didn't love.

Inspiring, moving and informative

by Starresky11 on Feb 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Hearing the personal stories and even the fictional ones offer new perspectives and more in depth looks of lives people are living in a way that really immerses the audience on a topic. My favorite podcast by far!

Best show out there

by Princess Amelica on Feb 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Enough said.

My Fav

by MrKloux99 on Feb 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is seriously the only app I haven't regretted paying for. Every story is well done. Love you Ira!

A highlight of the week

by coffeekel on Feb 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

TAL is a classic for a reason. It's excellent and captivating. If I only listened to one podcast, it would be this one.

One of the best podcasts

by Desperate Sol on Feb 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Really high quality

Fun

by Alisongreyson on Feb 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Love this podcast as it is always full of positive vibes, funny stories and moreover it brings me hours of pleasure.

Godfather of Podcast

by scionet on Feb 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've listened to every episode, many more than once. Thank you This American Life and Ira Glass.

Liberal propaganda

by BDD7824 on Feb 06, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

A very slanted view of "American Life"

Not Even Close

by Jeromebettis on Feb 06, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Not what we are looking for.

The Godfather of podcasts

by pancho sullivan on Feb 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It hardly gets better than TAL. Unbelievable consistency in quality of information, storytelling and commitment of the whole team!

Used to be my favorite podcast (updated)

by Bald guy 2014 on Feb 06, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I used to judge all of the podcasts against this one. But ever since election season started this podcast has turned 100% political. I get enough of that during the day on the radio and on the news. Don't really need it here too. Please change the format back to what it was. (2-6-2017)Well almost three months later and nothing has changed. Most of the podcasts are politically themed or about politically themed subjects. Seems "This American Life" is really just "Ira Glass' opinions on current events". I delete more of this podcast than I actually listen too.

What are you doing?

by Dunnky on Feb 06, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The past few week have been politically driven. 🙄 Sick of it.

Storytelling at its finest

by Oldpipster on Feb 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love these stories and the way they are told.

Leahcandland

by Leahcandland on Feb 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My husband and I moved to Australia 2 years ago which left me feeling very deprived of my NPR shows. Thankfully I can listen to This American Life everywhere I go no matter where I am in the world. I subscribe to dozens of podcasts but this was the first one I ever subscribed to. Love this show.My husband and I have been road tripping for the past 3 months and finally decided to check out Life After. Kept us very entertained and gave us something new to talk about on the open road.

Worth every second

by Yay 4 podcasts on Feb 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I know you're busy. Give it a listen, you won't be disappointed. I promise.

Amazing

by Chuck83729 on Feb 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Always a good listen

No doubt one of the best

by Johnny 5 is alive!! on Feb 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

What's there left to say about TAL? They have objective, fair stories about America today

Great podcast

by zbullek21 on Feb 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the stories on this podcast. The series of podcasts right after the election were especially enlightening, and helps you understand how other people feel in different parts of the country.

Phenomenal

by Jose61911 on Feb 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Always enjoy listening to them. Wish they didnt play older show so often as i dont have unlimited data and limited phone memory space and download before hand only to sometimes find out its a previous pod. Although yes it does say original air date under details.

Great information

by barbaralynn56 on Feb 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I enjoy listening to this very informative podcast.