Average rating:

4.5
out of 21466 ratings.

The best

by dgarey on Jan 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Best radio, best podcast, I love the new ones and often revisit the older shows.

Love the true stories

by RainbowSky100 on Jan 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I really enjoy the true stories on this show. Almost always disappointed by the fiction stories thrown in.

AWESOME!

by 33ee2 on Jan 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love every story, thank you sharing these vast experiences of life!

Always learning

by Hannah from WA on Jan 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It's not like they need my review, but it's not hard to see (or hear) why this is a top podcast. I'm always learning something new about the human experience outside of my perspective.

Great!

by Abby Von on Jan 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Love the stories and the voices I hear on this podcast. Occasionally will have a story I'm not interested in but for the most part, so interesting.

Very good but

by Amigammon on Jan 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Some episodes aren't about American life at all in any way. Oh, well. Hit subscribe and enjoy.

me likey

by Spikynoodledoglover101 on Jan 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

me likey

Open your world

by Jackie462 on Jan 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This show is a great way to see what's going on outside of your own version of reality. Check it out.

Even after all these years...

by tullytully123 on Jan 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Still love this show! I smile every time I see a new episode appear. All the best for Ira and his team.

A classic

by Skwisgaarr on Jan 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Ira and the gang make me Monday walk home from work with a new podcast. Love it

Powerful

by Vtasmin on Jan 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast has driven me to laughter and tears, sometimes in the same episode. Topics range from the mundane to some of our country's most pressing issues. No matter what subject matter though, the team always delivers amazing content. Love LOVE this podcast, can't wait to hear the next episode!

Still the best

by President Zaphod Bebblebrox on Jan 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The pinochle of radio and podcast...

Love it

by Clwells3 on Jan 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I absolutely LOVE this podcast. I just wish I could listen to older episodes. I hate that there's only the 4 most recent episodes to listen too. I'M AN ADDICT AND I NEED MORE!

love it

by akabdog on Jan 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

i listen to dozens of podcasts but this is my top-five, never miss an episode....they are all cant miss.

If you could to only one podcast...

by Chen lee karniel on Jan 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This one one be it. Always amazing stories and delivery. Highest production standards. Glass is irresistible!

So good!

by Celia Garth on Jan 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I look forward to it every week. It's funny, interesting, and engaging. I'm looking forward to many more.

Excellent, must subscribe

by JacksonEsoda on Jan 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Of all of the big shows out there, this one is the most tastefully assembled and expertly curated. Overwhelmingly recommend.

Great!

by aklsjfl;adks on Jan 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It's all been said already.

I laugh and cry every week

by bbrobozio on Jan 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I can't wait for each Sunday, when I pour a glass of wine and Ira helps me clean my house or work in my garden, depending on the season. We laugh and cry and make memories. The next season, when I'm in a certain spot, I'll remember a portion of a podcast year after year. This American Life is a National Treasure- although the word "National" has been soiled lately....

My "Go-to" Podcast

by Summer2212 on Jan 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the podcast I always go to first when I have a long list of recently downloaded new podcasts. The stories are honest, sad, funny, relevant. Definitely recommend.

Superficial sentimentality

by Thrill-seek on Jan 05, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

There are far better things.

First and best podcast

by WhoaFlicka on Jan 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

They all have to compare to this show as it was my first podcast explored after listening to it for years on public radio. Few hosts and reporters can compare to Ira Glass and he obviously has a knack for picking people who mesh with his dedication to informing and entertaining from all walks of the American spectrum. Required listening for all.

Was really great... then got bad

by joconnor5873628 on Jan 05, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I grew up in NPR (dad is a college professor from Oregon) but discovered This American life about a year ago and have listened to every episode ever broadcast. The show was fantastic, gave me a reason to enjoy sitting at my desk at work. I would listen to the show all day every day and loved every episode. Until mid 2016 things changed. The show allows speakers on that transmit vibes of "positive racism" and almost encourages the behavior which just seems sick. A quote from one particular episode reads "I'm not worried about the white man in America". This was in reference to talking about how black people shouldn't be concerned about hurting white people's feelings and that white people will always be fine. This behavior was then almost encouraged by what I believe is a co-producer on the show(not sure about his position). I had to pause the podcast after that because my daughter was in the car and it startled her. She then questioned me why people would care less about her because she has white skin. There are other examples of this behavior but I have not the time nor the care to fish out the examples.There was also recently a little too much time spent on the refugee situation in Europe which I agree is important but they kind of beat a dead horse with multiple episodes about what was really the same thing.Was a great show, really hope they can turn things around. Everyone should listen to the Drug Court episode at the very least.

Great Perspectives always Fun!

by AcmeApps on Jan 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

From Driveway moments to Podcast constant. Ira Glass has intriguing delivery and the show is masterful at creating curiosity.

Simply the best

by Chad Z. Ray on Jan 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Nobody does it better.

Best podcast out there

by RobCath on Jan 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Ira Glass is a great storyteller. This show has kept me interested for years and I still find every episode riveting. And it's a great oral history of Americans!

The best

by John Beeson on Jan 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Ira Glass continues to go strong. TAL is a must listen, even if you only listen to a few podcasts.

Great

by markb252 on Jan 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this show.

How

by b hackel on Dec 31, 2016
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

How is it that the worst podcasts are so highly rated?

Highest quality - Always interesting

by TheJudge1971 on Dec 30, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Great production and consistently engaging content. This podcast should be at the top of your list.

Almost 5 star

by Carjar on Dec 30, 2016
Rating: ★★★★☆

This is a great program. I love listening to it on my long drive to work. Lots of shows are funny and some are very serious, but all are put together very well. Ira has wonderful command of this show. So why not 5 stars? One simple answer. I can't get older episodes. I'd like to share an episode with my kids or husband and the next thing you know it's gone! My computer even erases them. It's a shame.

The best!

by Jaszd22 on Dec 29, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I love, love, love this show! Smart, funny and relevant. A must listen!

Essential listening

by Quixotism22 on Dec 29, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I once loaded the first 300 episodes on my iPod Shuffle and listened to it exclusively for a few months. It's that good. (I'm caught up now :)

Irreplaceable

by Sohrikz on Dec 26, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Thoughtful, provocative, kind. TAL is a time capsule of our thoughts and feelings. Amazingly done, cannot say enough.

Great show!

by Tvrrrr on Dec 26, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Love it

So good!

by beatriceseale on Dec 23, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is great and you can learn a lot!

Ira is the best

by BeKuriouz on Dec 23, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Well, I think Ira is a good mentor and have grown a lot of talent out there... his narration, content, voice and topics and super intriguing. I listened to the "Seriously?" Episode like 10 times, I wish there was a follow-up to that. Ira is also involved in other podcasts like Serial, just a show of how much talented these guys are... love the content

Thank you, Ira!

by Fdbeeeee87 on Dec 22, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I think we have Ira to thank for all of the amazing audio content currently being produced in the TAL tradition. That being said, TAL is still (arguably) the most consistently good show out there. I really wish they would have aired the episode on HRC's email more than TWO days before the election, but if that's my biggest complaint, they're doing a good job.

Good, when the bother to do new content

by Cameraperson lady on Dec 22, 2016
Rating: ★★★☆☆

For the past year it seems, it's just all old episodes. Maybe their update or replace one act, but otherwise it's all stuff I've heard before. Disappointing.

Love!

by neuRoxy on Dec 21, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This is my favorite podcast! The stories on This American Life are intelligent and enlightening. If you're looking to gain a new perspective, give this one a try!

#1 Podcast

by keelyboley on Dec 21, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the This American Life podcast. I look forward to each new episode and listen multiple times. The quality is superb and the stories are intriguing. Thank you Ira and team!!

Sunday staple

by Jocas486 on Dec 17, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I always listen each Sunday best way to end my weekends before gearing up for the work week!

OMG - Did we just become best friends?

by Vic Ferrari Lives on Dec 14, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast. Stories are imminently interesting and evocative. Pathos pours out.

Love TAL!

by Awesomemathteacher on Dec 13, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Podcasting is such a great format for TAL. Started listening to it several years in after it was podcasted. This show has remained one of my all time favorite podcasts. Although not every episode is cracker-jack, most of them are superb. NUMI and Petty Tyrants come to mind as some of the best. Ira Glass, you totally rock! And TAL is what started it all off with Planet Money and Serial which led to Undisclosed which led to a total BOOM in awesome podcasting.Thank you This American Life!! Ira, please don’t every retire...

From Micro to Macro

by Tori in China on Dec 12, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I recommend this podcast to all of my Chinese students who are curious about American culture. This American Life takes a big topic, focuses in on one small facet with depth, diligence, and due respect, then explores the interwoven implications of that on society. The episode that has stayed with me a long time was the episode about Michael Brown's high school. The entire episode inspired by Michael's mother, who while she was grieving on camera, yelled about how hard it was to get a kid through school in that area. Amazing investigation, a work of art.

Gold Standard in Podcasting!

by sfredhead on Dec 12, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast always goes to the top of my feed. I honestly think the world would be a better place if everyone listened to this show. Informative, thought-provoking, intelligent, accessible, funny...the list goes on and on. Sometimes I get a little frustrated with the clunkiness of the TAL app, but then I listen to old episodes and am reminded that you used to have to call WBEZ and pay $10 to have them send you a cassette tape if you wanted a copy of a show. Current listening options are much improved. TAL is the greatest!

Amazing show

by linda-in-texas on Dec 10, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Some of the best NPR has to offer

Listened for years but....

by Chkrblu on Dec 09, 2016
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I've enjoyed this show for years (so if you just must listen, listen to the old broadcasts - the ones before, say 2014).But today, TAL just went too far. I've been seeing an increase in biased reporting ( slash/ storytelling) with this podcast but it's to the point now that I actually simply finally deleted the entire subscription and no longer intend on giving them the benefit of the doubt.To be more specific, TAL exhibits a shameful anti-law and order bias. It's disgusting that people who are otherwise reasonably intelligent folks such as work for TAL can so easily succumb to the present drivel coming out of biased media sources.Shame on you, This American Life

Disappointed

by Tina cakes on Dec 07, 2016
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Heard so many great things and have listened to a few of the episodes. Completely turned off by the nearly 1 sided interpretation of the presidential election. I truly am disappointed at how people play the victim, and how the media supports it for a story. Sorry, but you lose my subscription.

The granddaddy of them all!

by stoobush on Dec 07, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

TAL's signature formula, originally developed for public radio, is the standard for modern podcasting, and it's often imitated but never matched (except by itself in its collaborations like Planet Money). Someday these episodes will define America from the mid-1990s until Ira Glass hangs up his microphone.