Average rating:

4.5
out of 31673 ratings.

My introduction to podcasts

by Gallio get out on Feb 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Glad tal was my first

The Most Inconsistent Podcast Around

by Mitchff on Feb 19, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

You never know what you're going to get with TAL. Sometimes you get a really well thought out, creative, poignant piece. And then there's the second segment of the "Map" episode, the one about the brothers. Who cares about these losers? I'll keep subscribing because who knows what will happen next, but I have to register my deep disappointment with this segment.

Why so many repeats??!!!

by Iindsaym on Feb 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Live for this pod. Been listening for all the years. But soooo many repeatsssssss.

Informative and Entertaining

by Chrisinatl on Feb 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast does something you don’t see much in journalism anymore when reporting on political issues . They tell a whole story from all sides.

Truly magnificent!

by Cinderskye on Feb 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This show is beautiful! It pulls you in emotionally and never lets you go. Another reviewer explained it perfectly with their “beware” warning. This podcast will take you on an emotional rollercoaster but it is a truly magnificent and enjoyable ride. I recommend every human being give it a listen. It’s not a podcast you’ll easily forget. I love this show! Keep up the great work.

Still A Top Dog

by Joseph Maltby on Feb 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

After all these years, this show still delivers.

Always interesting

by B&Bowner on Feb 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Big fan of this show and of the variety of subjects covered. Been listening for years and plan to continue. I have learned so much from these podcasts. Thank you to the amazing Ira Glass and the rest of the team.

Morning listen

by Ntarm on Feb 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Wonderful stories. Often this is my wake up listen. Great way to start the day!!

Just okay.

by AlilAlilA on Feb 16, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Diet NPR.

Keep it present

by Spellerstars on Feb 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great connection to struggles of real people.

Storytelling at its finest

by Nikkijohnson0919 on Feb 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

My number one recommendation to podcast newbies.

Love !

by Ruiiii_iiii on Feb 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

love love love !!

Rom com

by Ag2524225252 on Feb 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Rom com episode was awesome! Think about doing more love stories!

Wonderful

by juniormickey on Feb 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A treat

637 review

by Rubeniccus on Feb 12, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Not interested in millennial drama

Entertaining and relevant

by Culpeper2 on Feb 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I highly recommend this podcast. I have a long commute and have tried listening to a bunch of different podcasts, but this is one of the few that I come back to week after week. The stories are well-reported and engaging, and many times I find myself thinking later about a particular piece I heard. It's thought-provoking but also fun to listen to.

Lots of topics

by Thea O on Feb 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this show. It's always interesting, you never know what topic will come up next. And Ira Glass's delivery is engaging.

Offensive interview is basically religious bigotry

by Karebearluv on Feb 07, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I have usually loved the episodes I have heard from This American life, but I just listened to episode 653 called Chip in my Brain and the way this story and the interviews are conducted is incredibly offensive. You basically ridicule this black man for his, yes, strange beliefs and put him down the entire time. There is no objectivity in this piece whatsoever and it plays as a super right-wing story. What about the looking at how the mother’s anxiety and creating a traumatic situation where this child was torn away from his long-time friend with no healthy reconciliation added to his suffering? I’m honestly disgusted at the blatant anti-religious bigotry this episode purports without any efforts to see the other side of the story as well.

Words you can't sy

by Peter Lopez on Feb 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Before there were podcast there was This American Life.I have been listening for years..

Intriguing and Informational

by 8CarsLong on Feb 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I never miss an episode!

Just amazing

by JLMcA on Feb 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I wish I had the words to describe how good this is...but I'm no Ira Glass. No matter the story, it's told in a compelling way that makes you care and understand human nature in a way that can't be found anywhere else. I've spent years working my way through the archives and have yet to be bored by a single episode. I often find myself in tears, just as often from happy stories as the heartbreaking ones, even though I'm rarely one to cry. This podcast is truly a gift.

Like a good meal

by Bahiahonda76 on Feb 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

What a show

There's TAL...and there's every other pod

by JML16652 on Feb 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

That's it. This is just the best podcast. Now and ever. Ira & co. dominate.

Favorite podcast!

by Laurellou92492 on Jan 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the every story. I learn so much!

Amazing show

by Jay-nice! on Jan 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The host of This American Life, Ira is the bomb. What he's created with this show is one of a kind. I can't say enough good things about this show. Even episodes that sound like they'd be boring somehow keep me glued to the radio/phone not wanting to put it down.

Love this show but this app is a disappointment

by SFry9 on Jan 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I thought that charging for this app would mean that it would be user friendly but it is not. To access older episodes, you have to literally scroll through ALL the episodes! And if you are listening to them from the beginning (which I am because I’m up to date on all the ones from the last 5 years or so, it is a pain in the butt at best and impossible at worst. Right now, I can’t scroll past episodes from 2018. And they also changed their website so you can’t access old episodes there. Finally, I miss their old episodes as it seems so many of the recent ones are about Trump and his politics. Ugh! Thumbs down!

Amazing

by Kernzen on Jan 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The best stories and storytelling. Love this and can’t believe it took me so long to discover it.

One of the best

by ceebeavers on Jan 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Never boring and full of information. I love Ira’s voice and his reporting!

Favorite Podcast

by BlueSkyKevin on Jan 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

So interesting and fun. I look forward to every episode!

Gold Standard

by CoachBetts on Jan 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Always excellent.

Thoughts on the Show

by NPRreviewer on Jan 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Good show. Informative and thoughtfully dedicated to reporting on human interest.

Continuing the excellence

by ToddMyers on Jan 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have loved this show on Public Radio for years and years. It is wonderful having it on demand in podcast form. I hope it never goes away.

Silly, serious, spiritual

by Jscabz on Jan 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love when mama ru gets spiritual and when Michelle has to teach her annunciation to words. The episodes with just Michele and ru riffing back and forth are probably the funniest. Dey so funfay!

Sad thing is the computer isn’t real but the rest...

by jrad949 on Jan 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The sad part is what about all the parts that are true. It’s almost like swinging the pendulum all the way to the other side and make your son become an atheist please Jesus did die for our Sins. And there will be a day of the rapture. But nobody knows when that’s going to happen I feel bad for the mom for the day God asked why didn’t want your child to be baptized. Have a relationship with Jesus Christ. He sent his only Son to die for all of us. Gay, straight, black, white sex before marriage, murderers is doesn’t matter. We all can have free wilt and have the choice to have eternal life because of Jesus. And I do see a lot of Christians be judge mental towards others which makes them want to turn away from getting to know God but I’ll tell you this it doesn’t matter who you are what you’ve done who you lay in bed with every night we all can go to heaven. Into every judge mental Christian we all fall short Jesus gave his life for all of us to be in heaven. So yes some super computer and that he has some special one on one connection with God is BS. Christ said beware of false prophets... but don’t let one man’s actions turn you away from getting to know God you want to relationship with them all you have to do is ask. Into his mother you sound like a very sweet and caring and loving mom take the opportunity to talk to Christ also he’ll listen. And it’s OK circumstances you were put in 95% of us parents would’ve never known either and to the parents to think they would have you about your children are doing stuff right now you have no clue and would’ve never thought in 1 million years. Love you all God bless

Male vocal fry

by Srakaptan on Jan 16, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Episode 635 was extremely difficult to listen to due to the vocal fry of David Kestembaum. I constantly had to adjust the volume because David kept lowering the tone/pitch of his voice so much that he became inaudible. Then someone else would speak and I would get my ears blown out.

If you aren’t listening to TAL...

by TLA4488 on Jan 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

...are you really alive? This is the jewel in the Public Radio (and podcasting)crown.

best non-history podcast

by -diam- on Jan 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Ira Glass and his team are doing terrific job. This is the journalism as I dreamed on (when I got disappointed in realities of it and went to medical school). Series about "my town", "schools in Chicago" and I still keep "one last thing before I go" because it's just a piece of art.

Just human life

by Purduemeg on Jan 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love it

I wish they would just talk about people and not be so politically motivated

by Irish Sharky on Jan 13, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

So I was listening to this for a while. The episode that got me to subscribe was about a guy that as a teen ran away to go live with a fantasy writer he enjoyed. He was returned to his home but it was great to hear the stories of real people. Then when Trump began his campaign, they began to get political. I know which way NPR leans as far as politics go. They did a show where it seemed that they pointed to a gay teen that was favoring Trump as being wrong and mislead. I stopped listening to the podcast after that. I am not for Trump, but they didn't do anything on Hillary who is also corrupt. She stole the Democratic Vote from Bernie Sanders.

Bar none the best

by Kerks28 on Jan 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The podcast that defines what podcasting should be.

Three miles

by becks_xo on Jan 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This episode is really captivating! Great listen! I can directly connect and relate. Hate podcasts but absolutely love this!

Usually good stories but extremely liberal

by jnelli27 on Jan 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I find the stories typically interesting but one out of every four or five are boring. The reporting and producing on the podcast are done well and very professional. Topics and stories are from a very liberal viewpoint which is not surprising since it is out of Chicago. Listen with that in mind.

Depressing Decline

by Nate Olstad on Jan 11, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This used to be an amazing podcast and I would listen to this every single week. Plus, this used to be the podcast that all of the other podcasts would get compared to.However, around September of 2016 there was an abrupt and drastic change to this podcast.Since then, almost every episode has been political and they’re now just as biased as MSNBC, which sadly, is not at all an exaggeration. It’s completely ridiculous how biased this podcast is now.

How To Empathise

by S. Sterlonious on Jan 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I understand how the atmosphere of This American Life feels smarmy, kind of like café Liberals who take themselves too seriously ; however, as authors and producers, Ira Glass and the staff of TAL are often self-deprecating and well aware of the social dens they have built for themselves. This self-reflection (also noticeable in Serial and S-Town) allows them to weave stories without condescending or manipulating the people involved. Whether speaking to veterans, 6-figure attorneys, the impoverished, protestors, or Tea Party Republicans, I never feel as if somebody has been patronised or misrepresented in their interview. This manner of empathy is not necessary to social functioning : I understand how it feels to be highly opinionated and impatient with those I believe to be "the enemy", so to speak. What This American Life achieves with its style, though, allows people such as myself to begin to understand how others think and live without insulting any involved party.

Should be required listening for the general public

by Scmami83 on Jan 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I only started listening to This American Life about 18 months ago. I wish I’d known about it years ago! This podcast touches on many parts of American culture that I never would have been exposed to otherwise and every one is fascinating. The producers and investigative reporters do a wonderful job asking just the right questions and finding just the right people’s stories to tell. I’m going to introduce it to my teenager going off to college. It’s the best riding companion I’ve found!

Good luck...

by Cbell79 on Jan 08, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Good luck finding an episode that isn’t about race.

Love it

by NickNumbr1 on Jan 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great Podcast if you are interested in exploring crazy subjects, and not interested in politics. I love it for it's relaxing/informative nature.

Pro illegal immigration commercial

by Sacoboy on Jan 07, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The authors produced a show to support their agenda. Although they say they set out to find if illegal immigration is detrimental to uneducated Americans they already had their answer before they started. If you don’t care about the truth this is an interesting and entertaining propaganda piece. They did get a fair amount of Trump bashing in the end. Everything you would expect from NPR. I gave it an extra show because it was well produced. They do like the phrase anti immigration when they men anti illegal immigration. But hey facts don’t matter when you’re pushing an agenda

Great stories, too many repeats

by Jemimie5 on Jan 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I love the stories on This American Life, but for the past some time everything has been repeats. I just get started and realize I’ve heard it before. Please, some new content!

Probably the best Podcast ever!

by Milo1984(69) on Jan 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great show. Great variety of interesting topics and stories. Love it.