Average rating:

4.5
out of 46766 ratings.

Commute

by Lizard421 on Jan 15, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks to This American Life, my commute home from work is one of my favorite parts of my day. When I was younger, I associated NPR with “boring” ... I am so glad to have re-discovered it now that I can more fully appreciate all of the great podcasts and shows that it has to offer!

Best shows

by Brooklynalways on Jan 15, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

These are the best shows on radio. I love to listen to the podcasts even though I lose sleep while listening. Very well produced.

Gone are the days.

by JTray603 on Jan 14, 2019
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

For years This American Life has filled my days with joy. Unfortunately, the divisive political climate seems to have completely derailed the program that I feel in love with. It has morphed into a broken record that plays the same depressing tune over and over again.Please bring back the whimsical and diverse tales that highlighted the everyday beauty of our American story.

Christmas Episode is Hilarious

by NHSTAD on Jan 14, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a laugh out loud episode! Christmas is over and I’m still listening and laughing at this one. Absolutely hilarious!

Yes.

by xXAnnananaXx on Jan 11, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Pasta Batman.😂🤣😂🤣🤣😂🤣

Love this podcast!!!

by Averymatkinson on Jan 09, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazing show. It’s like reading a new novel or attending an amazing, intricate lecture. LOVE it.

A new favorite: Room of Requirement

by NPRpodcastfan on Jan 08, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

What a great episode to ring out 2018. I am sure some will accuse you of being too fuzzy and warm in this set of stories, but you had me at “library.” Thank you for a great, coherent yet diverse, and very moving end-of-year episode.

please new content

by clairetomato on Jan 08, 2019
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

i look forward to new episodes of this american life every week. unfortunately only once every month do i get new content. i don’t understand why you can’t produce new content anymore and you just play old episodes. please start making new content.

Great material

by JSchneid84 on Jan 07, 2019
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

As always, but this narrator tries so hard to imitate Ira, who happens to be the worst podcast host of all time. Every sentence begins at normal volume but trails off so quiet it is impossible to understand. To hear the end of a sentence or statement, the volume has to be uncomfortably loud at the beginning. Terrible audio quality can ruin even the best stories.

Late stage TAL

by Huthbot on Jan 07, 2019
Rating: ★★★☆☆

This American Life was the radio show that got me into talk radio and arguably created the market and set the bar for podcasting. I used to look forward to Sundays the way a kid looks forward to summer camp or a parent looks forward to their kids going to summer camp. But now with producers spread thin on side projects, contributors starting their own spin off shows and a plethora of reruns in the queue every month the show has just lost its momentum. Maybe it will rebound to its once great stature or maybe it will just fade away leaving a legacy to uphold its monolithic reputation. Either way hopefully something happens soon...before we get the “casino tour” were everyone shakes their heads and reminisces about how great of a show they used to put on.

Lost its way

by bmanning2 on Jan 03, 2019
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

This used to be the gold standard for rich, intelligent story-telling about everyday, extraordinary people in this country - people with original stories to tell about events both big and small. Once an intimate and moving show, it has become so politicized, doing the same, tedious pseudo-journalism that's everywhere else these days. Believe me, I'm sympathetic to their point of view in principle, but I don't listen to this show for that. Rather, this used to be a respite from the political noise - a show with the ability to temporarily mute all of that with stories that might best be told across a kitchen table. Simply, the stories used to unfold with less judgment, less pov, and less trailing politicians around with a mic. To listeners and producers - do yourselves a favor and listen to the old episodes. It used to be great.

batons

by batonla on Jan 03, 2019
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Lots of propaganda w: a hint of truth. Far left! Can’t stomach it anymore

The classic and the greatest

by Lilyredbaa1 on Jan 01, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

This is THE podcast...the classic...the podcast on which all others should be judged. If you are just starting to get into listening to Podcasts, This American Life is where you should begin.

Out of the park more often than not: a miracle!

by Bedros Afeyan on Jan 01, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

TAL, the podcast, not the magician from Riga, chess player, is my favorite podcast of all time. It is out of this world! It is human, humane, humanistic, and as wise as Hume or Locke, as brilliant as any crack stand up comedian, as touching as any Russian novelist up to snuff, as penetrating as French cigarette stained finger pointing post war existentialist street cafe philosopher, all rolled into one giant symphony of colors and sound! Also, as nimble as the Chicago Bulls in the 80’s, or as enduring as America and its ideals, despite recent notable Bush League or Cheetos dipped setbacks... I love This American Life, TAL. This grant astonishingly wise experiment animated and monitored by geniuses from public radio, no less! Ira Glass, his endlessly surprising crew. His flat nasal annoying voice not withstanding, his wit. All the endless crackling sparkle! One story beating the next. Week after week, year after year. Connections, resonances, sympathetic involutions and revolutions around literary heavens! Hooray TAL! A 1000 hoorays! You make America, three tales at a time, a shining beacon of hope for the intellect, the patriot, the brother at hand. Every week I say, well! They will never top that! And then, like magic, a new rabbit is pulled right out of the anthropological bowels of Uncle Sam’s top hat! You walk on stilts, TAL. You are great! Bedros AfeyanPleasanton, CA1-1-2019

Love it

by Bradley'sMommy07 on Dec 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one of my favorite podcasts. You tell interesting and “current issue” stories. Keep up the great work.

The best podcast ever!!!!!

by a podcast listener!! on Dec 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I really like this podcast. If you get the This American Life app you get all the episodes. But i love all the variety of the episodes. It is so fun to learn new things on this podcast. The narration is sooo good.

The dreaded vocal fry

by MK on LI on Dec 28, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I found it impossible to listed to the episode "Words" because of the speech affect of the host, Alix Spiegel. Her over reliance on vocal fry [creaky voice] was distracting to the point of overwhelming the content of the podcast.

One sided

by jmo1271 on Dec 28, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Too bad this podcast only has a focus on bashing republicans and men.

My companion

by Fitnes Mom on Dec 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

When first we met I was smitten. Thank you for the years of company.

Why E rating for Explicit?

by SeedB on Dec 24, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I love this show but am unable to listen on devices that block explicit content because all episodes are rated E. Why the blanket rating? Would it be possible for TAML to rate by episode as other podcasts do?

My podcast gateway drug....

by Gina L-L on Dec 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I will always have a special place in my heart for Ira and This American Life. I would be sad to miss it or catch only parts on NPR (the *radio*, so old school) and when I discovered I could listen on demand...I binged HARD. Now I’m a podcast junkie and I have this pod to thank for it. I may find new podcasts to binge, but I this show will forever be my first true love.

Time

by gd5161 on Dec 19, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Your shows eventually become interesting. The problem is it takes too long to get to the meat of each episode. Cut your podcasts to 25 minutes or less. I listen to shows while driving. Rarely am I in the car more than 20 minutes. You have too much wasted time and material.

Political garbage

by donutva on Dec 19, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Trying to tell a story but always comes back to “bad republicans!”. Example: healthcare is expensive... cuz Trump he says. Votes are rigged... cuz republicans etc... your show is biased... slanted... one sided....and deleted

AMAZING

by @podcastgy on Dec 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Best podcast (or one of)

solid podcast

by castlelavender on Dec 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

always a pleasure to listen to these stories

Vocal Fry for the Lose

by PhillyPanda on Dec 18, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I've enjoyed this podcast for years, but had to abandon "Words" 10 minutes in due to the vocal fry. (And thanks to an earlier TAL episode, I know what to call it!)

Amazing!!

by JulieGulie0 on Dec 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The episode of this show titled “Return to Childhood” is by far the best podcast episode I’ve ever listened to. The first 5 minutes are absolutely heartwarming and asks very serious questions about our human memories. I will definitely be a long time listener!

I love the vocal fry

by !S~(ara)~H! on Dec 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The female reporters on This American Life kill it. Stephanie Foo, Sarah Koenig, Hanna Joffe Walt, Elna Baker, Alix Spiegel - they are literally the best voices in radio journalism today. All their voices are excellent and if you are complaining about vocal fry you clearly haven’t listened to the 2015 episode where they talk about vocal fry. You are complaining into a void. No one cares.

Used to be a very interesting podcast

by MakeTALGreatAgain on Dec 17, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

This podcast used to be very interesting, now it has just become another political podcast. And I’m sorry but I can’t stand the way Zoe talks, it sounds like she’s talking to a little kid or something and accentuates words in an odd way. It seems like I’m passing over more episodes than I am listening to them now.

Couldn’t Bear Episode “Words”

by msnh08 on Dec 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love “This American Life” but the female reporter in “Words” had such irritating vocal fry, I stopped listening and don’t know if I’ll ever make it through that episode. Grrr...

Words

by ms potpie on Dec 17, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Very nearly unlistenable due to the vocal fry of the young woman presenting the piece. I do not understand why this particular podcast is riddled with non-professional broadcasters that have either a speech impediment (Ira Glass) or unlistenable vocabulary’s ( sort of, kind of, like).

Impossible

by tigerpaw07 on Dec 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I just want to say that is is impossible not to read any of the previews without hearing Ira’s voice and pausing where he would pause. Also, the show is incredible. Keep up the good work.

The episode Dr Gilmer and Mr Hyde is amazing!

by Jarshush on Dec 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Part medical mystery, part investigative reporting and part homage to a remarkable young doctor who tries to help a man he did not know, this episode is an example of the best form of journalism. Hats off to everyone involved.

Stop mumbling Ira!

by 5762097632 on Dec 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

We want to hear what you are saying

Share, share, share...

by HotRod412 on Dec 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

What else is there to say about TAL.... Send a podcast to someone who has a hard time reading... They will thank you.

Stop Playing Business Schooled Ads

by behappy1105 on Dec 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this show! But can you stop playing those AWFUL and RIDICULOUS Business Schooled ads for the Synchrony podcast?

It doesn’t get better

by Meat genius on Dec 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Ira is gripping. I love the broad subjects, it covers everything. Some weeks it’s super funny, some weeks it’s super sad. Every week it’s really good. Bring Sarah Koenig on more often!

Overall good

by VoluntAaron on Dec 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A very good show and the repeated failures that the hosts display in the criminal justice system makes one wonder why they trust the state as much as they do.

Little war on the prairie

by LonnieB2 on Dec 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Although very disturbing and nauseating, I found this episode very educational. Thank you

Important and interesting

by Mallorz44 on Dec 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It's hard for many other podcasts to compete with the storytelling skills of Ira and team. This show is a classic and a must listen. It's something most everyone can agree on and I find myself retelling the stories I hear from this show because they're fascinating.

That's odd.

by Clevefan55 on Dec 03, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Why did Sarah Koenig host of the Serial podcast narrate the TAL episode Dr.Gilmer and Mr.Hyde? After all the case didn't involve supposed law enforcement/ race injustice???

Gripping! my favourite podcast

by brusselsmix on Dec 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This American Life is not pretentious despite the outstanding quality of the journalism. This show brought me to tears more than once because of the heartbreaking stories they bring to the audience. I was also inspired by so many people on this show. Thank you This American Life!

Ick politics and campy

by Kaitsies6@ on Dec 01, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I have listened to every TAL podcast and saw Ira Glass speak in the past. This show is best when it is talking about individuals, telling stories of Americans. It is really bad at politics. Reached fever pitch of crap in show about Newt Gingrich. They have mastered the public radio version of mansplaining and use this same rhetorical device ad nauseum. It is disingenuous. It is super campy (and not in a good way). I am a bleeding heart liberal but I am getting tired of listening to TAL’s facsimile of what should be open-minded and probing inquiry. Instead, there is always a garden path where we are being lead, with increasingly less charm. Stop mansplaining TAL. Get back to individuals and stop trying to explain to hand feed us trite interpretations of current history which are not saffron-coated truffle caviar but little “journalistic” turds.

But that’s what happened

by assfault! on Nov 29, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I am not a chauvinist have great respect for the female of the species, but I am getting dam sick and tired of women always crying the blues. In this case where docs are learning, these women would rather end up with an uneducated surgeon working on them. I’ve not heard any guys complaining about anything like this. It seems women today are just out of control. There’s bigger problems in the world that effect all colors and genders. Just saying.

Who doesn’t

by podcast for kids! on Nov 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this American life?!

Please fix the repeats issue

by D.F. Barnacle on Nov 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I have listened since for a decade or so, but please stop broadcasting repeats, especially without any signal that they are repeats. Firstly, the format of a podcast rends the idea of a repeat completely anachronistic. Great news - we have a feed with back episodes! Secondly, by trying to disguise repeats as new episodes this just means that we all waste time listening to the start, only to realise 5-10 minutes in that we’ve heard it all before.

Read This Review

by TheRealGrinch on Nov 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

All the people that gave one star complaint about something stupid, political, or lazy. People complain about the cussing, when there is an edited version that takes only slightly more work to listen to. People complain that the show got to political, if you understand that this is an art form and the stories are meant to inspire the far and alt right to change there views, the other complaint is that they delete the older episodes but for only 4$ you can get the app which has every episode

Extremely biased

by Chris-132 on Nov 26, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This used to be an amazing podcast but it dramatically changed during 2016, likely due to the rise of Donald Trump. Ever since then this podcast has been as biased as MSNBC.

Too many ads = difficult to follow

by PodPositive on Nov 24, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I want to like this, but every time I start getting into the story there’s a break.

My favorite podcast that disappoints regularly

by magicdusk on Nov 22, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

This used to be my favorite podcast, period. Now it’s my favorite podcast that disappoints me regularly. Too many stories about how bad Trump is for the country (even though I whole heartedly agree), and too many insults or smear jobs on my faith (Elna just can’t leave it alone). 2 out of 5 is about right these days, and it’s too bad.