Average rating:

4.5
out of 22555 ratings.

The Venerable Mainstay

by SilverElf11 on Jul 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

You may or may not like the Ira Glass style of journalism, but you can't deny the power of yhis great instituution.

The Gold Standard

by ToddPleasanton on Jul 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This and RadioLab are in a league of their own. Just a great hour of content every week. Only complaint: wish they made more back episodes available on iTunes.

Always Entertaining

by CLCinMontana on Jul 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been a faithful listener to This American Life for years. The show's content is broad and widely appealing and is just so well produced that it's hard for me to listen to most other podcasts. Keep on, keepin' on Ira!

Engaging

by jenbbbbbbbb on Jul 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Powerful and provoking

Hands down, best diverse podcast ever

by Jeff Hofheins on Jul 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This American life is the best podcast of all of the podcast that I listen to. I initially was hesitant to download it because so many people were talking about it, I figured it would be mainstream and boring. On the contrary,this American life, without fail it keeps me on the edge of my seat keeps my brain and heart active. Incredible work guys. Never stop.

Why is this program classified as "explicit content?"

by Scuhtcu on Jul 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I know there are occasional episodes that have profanity, but most do not. I can't listen to podcasts considered explicit on my work-supplied phone, so I end up listening off the web site.

No

by Tdixson4 on Jul 19, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Talent shows are not for you, the parent/observer to be entertained, nor for a middle-aged man to "express himself." They are for children to learn and grow. Be an adult. You had your talent shows when you were a kid, remember?

Amazing!

by Phillymo 360 on Jul 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The best!

Take the long way home

by JaxterBoBaxter on Jul 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Good thing I drive a hybrid. I save podcasts listening for my frequent trips for work. If I haven't finished and episode of This American Life, I "accidentally" miss the turn to my neighborhood. It's that good.

So entertaining!

by kellylistenstopodcasts on Jul 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to this podcast every week and love the stories they do. Wide range of topics with fun story telling

The grand daddy of all podcasts

by Jkdhfgkjhdfgkjdf on Jul 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It doesn't get any better than TAL, a show that often has the power to move me emotionally like few others. Really, really brilliant, with a vast archive of episodes that I've been exploring for years. Fantastic.

LIke an old friend

by EthanABrooks on Jul 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been listening to this show for nearly 10 years. It's moved me to tears. It's sustained me through hard times. I once heard every story on This American Life summed up as follows: "I really thought things were this one way. Then I learned a little more about things and it turns out they were just a lot more complicated." For me, at least, that's a very reassuring sentiment.

It's the best

by Stkperc on Jul 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I feel like this podcast somehow sets the bar for all others ... they find the most interesting stories and people, and deliver it in such an honest and thoughtful way. And they've been doing it so well for so many years, you can tell they just have it figured out.

Love it

by LauraOleson on Jul 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love itI've been listening for two years now and I still love it!Every story is so engagingThank you!!

Fab

by AdairK on Jul 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My favorite podcast- I listen every week!

Addicting Human-Interest Journalism

by Eric Sentell on Jul 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great show for learning about amazing stories that you can't believe you never heard of before as well as deep dives into stories you thought you knew.

I'm a plumber

by ultrahesh on Jul 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

You being a teenage magician and having a business card is somehow equated to being a plumber?

Slow down

by sanfrancisco989 on Jul 11, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I Los this for real? I understand there are time restrictions on podcasts and editors are trying to fit in a tremendous amount of content but the speed talking on this series - and many other podcasts btw - is stressful and off putting and sounds ridiculous. I feel like I am listening to Alvin and the chipmunks. Please edit down more or break podcasts into 2 so the listener has time to absorb and reflect on what is being said and so the podcast doesn't just become one more stressful aspect of the listeners day.

Ira Glass is the man!

by Yellajacket16 on Jul 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One of my favorite weekly podcasts. Treasure trove of pods from over a decade on their website. Check it out.

Almost perfect

by Dreyliz on Jul 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Had to deduct a star because old episodes are deleted!! This is by far my favorite podcast channel and I enjoy the majority of the podcasts. There are a few I have listened to that I would love to save and listen to again or to share. Unfortunately, the episodes are no longer available!!! Let us search for older episodes!!! Otherwise, highly addictive and bought provoking series.

What else can be said? It's great

by TEHBROMS on Jul 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Still quality.

Incredible

by higginsona207826 on Jul 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The reporting is unparalleled. So many episodes have literally changed my life

Great podcast

by damsleck on Jul 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Yummy

Great podcast

by Mrs. Addison on Jul 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My chiropractor suggested this as my 1st podcast. I've been held captive ever since!

One more reason Chgo is a great city

by D712M28J26 on Jul 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I could listen to almost any subject matter given smart, insightful writing and hosting, and this is the best.

I love you, Levar

by A. Tek on Jul 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm so happy this show exists. I'm one of those millennials who wished for Levar to come back from Reading Rainbow, and my wish has come true.

Awesome

by amie podster on Jul 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great stories, great host, awesome podcast. Very unique and interesting stories. My favorite podcast

Still the best

by slightningbolt on Jul 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Still the best in the game. As Ira Glass once said about someone else (paraphrase) "Everybody who holds a mic up to hear the stories of those who aren't rich and famous work in his shadow"

An interesting and awesome podcast

by Amk7719 on Jun 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This American Life is interesting for all ages, and has a wide range of episodes for people of all interests!

Love at first sight

by Iphone6plususer123456789 on Jun 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Listening for more than 7 years. Always amazing.

There's only one word that describes this podcast

by Redcedarkid on Jun 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Phenomenal

Duh

by MegWally on Jun 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the first and best "podcast". TAL started the entire format and they do it the best. Thanks for all you do!

THE Best.

by JuellesC on Jun 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Nothing compares - stories are the best I've ever heard on a podcast.

Love the show!

by callen loves podcasts! on Jun 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Always compelling content that inspires deep thinking and reflecting on the topic of the podcast.

THIS SHOW IS WHY PODCAST EXIST

by TommyLikeDaGun on Jun 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This show is the exact Reason Podcast have become so popular Enough Said!?

Essential

by somebody that's rlly cute on Jun 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is my go to podcast. The creators are always finding cool ideas to report on and it brings up so much great conversation throughout my life.

Really the best podcast. Period.

by Mary82345 on Jun 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This American Life is one of the best podcasts, if not the best. Recently I have very much appreciated the timely and poingant polical episodes. I have lived all over the country and I appreciate the effort made to share our stories.

Always interesting

by marla1ks on Jun 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Always great topics and a variety of views.

Amazing

by Cravedalo on Jun 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My favorite podcast, and I listen to A BUNCH of podcasts.

Classic

by Marie Paul on Jun 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

When they talk about the best classic podcasts, this will be #1 on the list.

Used to be good -- Now just Virtue Signaling & Propaganda

by Sylicious on Jun 18, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

As a slightly left leaning moderate who never got involved in politics besides voting in elections, I am so dissapointed with This American Life and other NPR and shows in the past year. It's all a bunch of virtue signaling. I understand that NPR has programming that is left leaning, but they used to do it in a way that made the shows enjoyable to the moderates and they were the background to my life on a daily basis. That is no longer true and now all it has done is make me want to be more politically active and pushed me to the right because they don't realize how they are being perceived by most of their middle of the road, level-headed listeners. They took a show that I looked forward to every week and have ruined it with their far left regressive spin. I hope they wake up and see they are pushing away a core audience of people who just wants to listen to a show without a political agenda. So disappointed and I truly mourn a show that used to be interesting, thought provoking and enjoyable.

One Of My Favorites

by PodcastFan0701 on Jun 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one of my favorite podcasts of ALL TIME. I never miss an episode and often listen more than once. It's a MUST.

The best podcast around

by Jmpoodle on Jun 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is THE podcast that all other podcasts come from. Enough said there.

Always Brilliant!

by Fisutherland and drew on Jun 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Always brilliant and entertaining.

I look forward every week

by JanetZag on Jun 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I can't wait until Mondays when I am doing something that I need to thoroughly engage me. This podcast is so good. I love the structured way they do it with Acts.

Biased

by Ams999999 on Jun 13, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Used to love this program but sick of politics and liberal bias creeping into so many of the episodes. Every time I try to come back I am reminded of why I left.

The OG!

by nomusclerussell on Jun 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast was the first podcast I listened to that got me into all other podcasts! One of my first things I put in my docket every Sunday!

And we are sat

by redman2636 on Jun 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

R That's eq of the year we're re srRees erase w with seearefer draw a redeeetaew and es the sewwwe we er rt w rrr tryingw and the rewww er are rthe Eric

Top Notch

by Ranknfyle on Jun 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Such interesting material. I've listened to this program on the radio for years. Now I listen to the podcast.

Still the best

by Sjhdhsjsj on Jun 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Come on. If this isn't 5 stars what is?