Average rating:

4.5
out of 37908 ratings.

Old Episodes???

by micah porter on Jun 18, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Why delete then, seriously

Delete old episodes?

by The qwerty eht on Jun 18, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Why do you have to delete old shows. I don't want to go to your website to listen to past shows. LAME

Thegaslampkiller

by hey abot...... on Jun 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Was featured once on npr. He is my son and has been falsely accused by one woman of drugging and raping her. He has been in the L.A. music community for 20 years, and now is an untouchable, unable to earn his living since Sept. He is suing this woman for defamation and for $5,000,000. I don’t know when his trial date will be given. He has used all his savings, sold his stocks, is selling his record collection, anyway to earn a buck honestly.In 20 years of being a headliner in world music festivals, he has never been accused of anything harmful to anyone. Can you help him by giving voice? I am part of the #me too, and do understand how beastly men in power can be. Not this time.

Awesome!

by MistyBlue16 on Jun 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

One of my top 5 podcasts!

Democrats know best blah blah blah

by Koliebug on Jun 14, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Maybe someday Coastal America will pay attention to the rest of us. Not everyone is a Democrat, we aren’t racist, we aren’t ignorant.

Great podcast

by Andrewralph11122211111 on Jun 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

One of the best shows out there.

Radio edit request

by MD_RN on Jun 13, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Would it be possible to publish the radio edit as a podcast again (maybe have two channels - the beeped and the un-beeped)? This show used to be suitable for all audiences, but now every episode is marked explicit content and finding the ‘clean’ version on your phone is convoluted. I love the show, and the stories that are told, and I would like it see it back in my podcast library.

A national treasure

by Bernard_Henry_Manning on Jun 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This American life does what it's named and delivers compelling stories from all walks of the American experience.

Un-beep, you don’t speak for others

by Newsrookie on Jun 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Can’t help but respond to the person who DOES NOT WANT their podcast UN-beeped— guess what? The UNEDITED VERSION is the version that the artist and participants made, take it or subscribe to something else.

Thank you for making sense of the chaos

by Melissa Berges on Jun 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Also for being my go-to podcast before bedtime.

Un-beeped Podcast

by JES32091 on Jun 10, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Please stop un-beeping podcast. If the language is too objectionable for the radio, please do not subject me to it on the podcast. I think if you were to poll subscribers, you would find most people prefer beeps to crude language. Let people subscribe to the “clean” version; and if someone must hear the unedited version, let them work through the difficult task of downloading that version from the website.

More LaDonna!!!

by YourVoteMatters on Jun 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

LaDonna’s story is amazing, one of the most gripping episodes. And she’s such an inspiration. I hope she continues to find people who appreciate her honesty and action to promote supportive work places. I hope the program does a show that digs even further into the phenomenon of entrenched sexism and racism that is reinforced in some places up and down the chain of command. Like, what do HR departments REALLY do—protect the companies not the employees? Thanks for the grogram

LaDonna

by Mey Mey 21 on Jun 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love to hear stories about women who stand up for what they believe is wrong! Upset and hurt to hear that Alli thinks they have done nothing wrong. Wish there was something “we the listeners” could do to help LaDonna and the other women. Love LaDonna’s spirit and drive to never giving up! 💓

Starting from scratch

by gd5161 on Jun 07, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Your starting from scratch episode was terrible. Especially the puppy story. I don’t know what made you think any of that mess was worth listening to. I don’t need a time filler because I don’t have a lot of it. When I listen to podcasts they need to be interesting informative etc.

LaDonna❤️💜❤️

by Rimo woman on Jun 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this story. Love LaDonna. She is every woman’s hero. Love how she is just allowed to share her story with little narration.

LaDonna

by Mazric26 on Jun 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The LaDonna episode is a familiar story told from a very interesting perspective. LaDonna did exactly what she should do to protect herself and her employees. Once again the people in power protect the “powerful” and assume all others are lying. In the end the racist, rapist, sexist employees are now someone else’s problem and the company is not held accountable for harboring horrible employees. Why not fire them and hire new people and set a new expectation?

Favorite

by bleeker12 on Jun 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

My favorite show to listen to. Entertaining, informative, relevant, and the episodes are just the right length of time.

A winner

by cathyeide on Jun 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this. It is funny, heartbreaking and touching . I like to hear the old ones over and over cause they are so real. I like Ira’s funny scratchy voice, too.

Needs Voice Work

by Darin Couples on Jun 04, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The stories are great. The host needs some voice help. He sounds like he has a mouthful of marbles when talking.

Blah, over it.

by Viciouslikeme on Jun 04, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Reporters frequently interview their own friends and family for obscure random stories that ultimately don't go anywhere (except maybe a loose intro to the theme). In recent weeks, TAL episodes seem to largely serve as a platform to plug other podcasts. It was fun while it lasted. Unfortunately, I'm unsubscribing.

Ladonna

by minimuffin410 on Jun 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Awesome I love her!Go LaDonna!!!!!! I have your back!!

Marginalizing and irresponsible “journalism”

by JamieMarieDP on Jun 02, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I listened to Episode 645 for the first ten minutes. Nothing new or interesting.

Great podcast

by imalilboy on Jun 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been a huge fan of This American Life for years. Love it!

Fantastic

by Dml9f on Jun 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

So well done. I always enjoy every show. It is well researched and always makes me think.

Why repeat?

by listenerloyalty on May 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I guess I should be grateful. I love the show because I love people.One thing thing that annoys me is that there are so many repeat shows. If I look forward to the show as it comes out and find it’s one I listened to before...it bothers me. I get it. Quality takes time and work. Please not so many repeats though.

Ladonna

by janfan3 on May 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

OMG!!! Please give us an update. I LOVE this woman. After the '' Me Too" movement, maybe LaDonna can get the attention this needs. Keep up the good work, LaDonna, and TAL!!! Great pocast.

Ladonna

by Mira406 on May 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Loved the podcast however how could it end like that???? Please tell me that Ladonna finally received some sort of justice!

Amazing

by PLAF:):):):):) on May 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is one of the most interesting podcast I have ever listened to. It covers very interesting stories, and I have already recommended it to my all family and friends. The stories told are well covered and do not bore me throughout the 40-60 minute long episodes. I am only a teenager and I love it. The timing and the way that they tell stories is very on point. For any new listeners I recommend that you listen to the podcast episode “random acts of history”. This episode is my favorite I have listened to, and I think it will get you hooked on the podcast too!

Thank you

by sanga3 on May 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This show is an example of the absolute best of everything that a podcast can be.

LaDonna

by LaAsPr on May 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This story spoke to my core. Thank you for being this story to my attention.

Enjoy the stories immensely.

by Txn DON on May 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Right after the last presidential election I thought they should have renamed the show “This bitter that my candidate lost life”. Every week it seemed like it was an exercise in new and creative ways to ridicule or mock the president or anything even remotely considered conservative. Thankful that the politics has died down a lot lately and the show is more unbiased. I enjoy the show a lot.

Quit downloading

by WBWeeks on May 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Don't know why but this podcast quit downloading to my old Ipod. I really enjoy the show each week but have to play it while online. Don't understand why it will not download anymore. Wish this could be fixed! Would rate it 5 stars if it would download.

What happened to the other episodes??

by Brassgirl1 on May 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I was listening to a podcast episode the other day and went back to listen to the same one and it's gone... :-(

Moving

by Jax Rez on May 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This American Life has taught me how to silently cry at my desk at work

Used to be the best, now not so much

by Lbmont on May 19, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I’ve listened to every single episode over the years, but now they’ve lost their way. We don’t want to be reminded of how horrible life is since trump was elected. Please go back to people’s stories and stop being political.

The GOAT podcast

by Dossaji on May 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Absolutely fantastic, every week is utterly captivating and the stories are all so relatable and heart warming, all brought together by Ira Glass who is the keystone that holds the entire show together! A must for keeping the Monday morning blues at bay!

Don’t miss

by K-ride 4902 on May 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I never miss it

Ira Glass, talk me to sleep

by TheTan_Man on May 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great and intersting stories with phenomenal production. Kudos to Ira and team!

Literally dumb, weak and antithetical.

by Southernlight1980's on May 16, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Come on, is this your best effort? Your affection for the “intellectual elites” comes off as ridiculous and out of touch, seeing how obviously pretentious, intolerant and hateful this professor is. You should be shunning this type of behavior as it moves the movement backwards.Pretty disappointed at this point as someone who is honestly on the fence about all of this.

I have loved this show for a long time.

by Pacman5633 on May 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

You can not find a more interesting look at life in America and all of the fascinating forms it comes in. Only getting better!Not sure how I could live without it!

GREAT SHOW!!!!

by Robert-DEN on May 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

keep em coming....

When it’s on, it’s the best podcast out there

by allstoriesmatter on May 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

When TAL is on, it’s the best there is; when it’s off, it’s just another maybe-you’ll-listen-this-week-maybe-not podcast. Lately they’ve been trying to make big political points (just like everyone else), and while their observations are accurate, and could be helpful, they’re presented in fashion that add to the very problems they’re pointing to. In turn those episodes are very annoying and lose their punch. When they stick to the unique stories, they’re much better.

Loved Break up episode

by Briguyrox on May 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Always listen to This American Life and it is great, but I especially loved the Break up. So real life, raw, sad, interesting and funny. Getting Phil Collins involved was genius. Thank you!

This used to be my favorite podcast

by Adnilul on May 12, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I always loved the show and looked forward each week to the new episode. It was truly honest stories of every day America. In the last six months or so I am finding a strong political overtone that does not fit with the original premise. When I'm listening to a podcast, I'm looking for an escape as well as an informative show that will teach me something new or at the very least afford me an enjoyable life story. Lately I feel Ira has taken this program a direction that I want to avoid. If I want controversy or a host's personal opinion, I can watch the news or a late night show. Sadly, I do not enjoy this program any longer. Until you return to your roots Ira I will miss you.

Staying connected for busy people

by mmoxx on May 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is even better than reading a good story about our people. I’m always working or being a parent so podcasts like this help me stay connected. Thank you for such good work!❤️

Great

by kelswelsey on May 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love every episode!!!

Act One: Great intro

by WA Woodworker on May 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Act Two: humor and great information combined.Act Three: Satisfaction

Getting Too Political

by Shaina Kennedy on May 10, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I used to love this podcast and the wonderful variety of topics and stories. Such an interesting structure and you never quite know where the episode will take you. Over the past year the show has taken a turn towards political bias, which I don’t care for. Unfortunately, it’s becoming more and more difficult to find much of anything to listen to without overt political bias. I’m sad to unsubscribe but I really don’t want to listen to politics.

Unfortunate

by Mandoog006 on May 09, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The bias ruins it completely. The regressive bits are impossible to miss. Unlike communists, I appreciate difference of opinion, but it’s hard to sit through mindless regressive drivel.

Used to be great

by TFB1984 on May 08, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I know NPR is a left leaning program and despite that I loved TAL and listened weekly. It used to have more of a balance or at least a far less overt left bend. If this is how the show will be going forward, please remame the show This Liberal American Life, we people can avoid wasting thier time.