Average rating:

4.5
out of 22724 ratings.

Road Trip Favorite

by MissyRissy on Aug 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I always download two or three This American Life episodes before I go on a road trip. I like how conversational the material is-- and if you don't like one story, it shifts to another fairly quickly:)

The Best of the Best

by D.sonoma on Aug 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My favorite podcast! The most amazing thing about it is that they manage to make every episode interesting; I almost skipped "How I cheated my way into Harvard" but it turned out to be a favorite.Best line in a podcast ever: "As it happens, I know someone who writes minimalist operas."

Exceptional. Ira Glass is a national treasure.

by cben on Aug 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Interesting topics, thoughtful discussion, just the right amount of emotion and down to earth reaction. Thank you very much for making this, makes my sundays more enjoyable

Always Excellent

by GrandMasterJ125 on Aug 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Such wonderful storytelling. Brings so many aspects of our whole world to life. Always intriguing, beautiful, and inspiring.

This Unamerican Agenda

by Resounding Music on Aug 18, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Coached within the beautifully written stories of these broadcasts are values which, the patriotic title notwithstanding, are directly contrary to the Christian family values that have distinguished America since her founding. This American Life would be more aptly titled This Hollywood Life, for rather than Rockwellian portraits of America at her best, rather than sun- and sweat-soaked vignettes of the hard work and the hardened workers that built this country, you will hear engaging and delightful presentations of everything that America was not- and is becoming, to her great loss.

Power of Radio

by Bobster66 on Aug 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Best podcast- have lost count on number of times that I have arrived at my destination but was simply so into it that couldn't get out of the car. Ira and his staff are simply amazing. Thanks for the laughs and yes sometimes the cries. Cheers

Essential listening

by RG_gamer on Aug 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If you have a set of go to podcasts and this isn't on it, fix that.

I have loved this show for a long time.

by Pacman5633 on Aug 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

You can not find a more interesting look at life in America and all of the fascinating forms it comes in. Only getting better!

Our friend David = worst episode

by Dylan1492 on Aug 14, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Who is this pompous, uninteresting loser? I don't care about him or his story at all.

Top rated for a reason

by moo9893 on Aug 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This show has made me a better conversationalist. I love the wide variety of subjects and it consistently keeps me entertained and fully immersed.

Road trips & more

by MoGiovanna on Aug 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One of my favorite things during road trips is to catch up on This American Life. Always a great show.

Awful

by RajonTheDon9 on Aug 13, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Boring.

A Must-Have Podcast

by R8chelletters on Aug 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I cannot imagine the world without This American Life, the river from which all the podcast streams you adore were born. However you get their episodes don't miss them and deep-dive their past catalogue. Truly life-changing, thank you Ira Glass!

Horrible

by Zekkod on Aug 12, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This show is for idiots.

Going on year 4

by polkadotgiraffe on Aug 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love walking through the dog park on Sundays listening to this podcast

Amazing!!!

by dakarjp on Aug 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love TAL! I was hooked from the first episode that I listened to. Thanks for the great show, and keep up the good work!

A classic

by Smalize on Aug 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Always great

This show changed my life

by Emperor Podpatine on Aug 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Like, in a good way. Thanks, TAL.

Still the king of radio shows

by Ginermp on Aug 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

TAL is the standard by which other podcasts and radio shows should measure themselves. Unrivaled in story telling, editing, production, and value.

This is definitely a lot of American's lives, but it's definitely not a lot of American's lives.

by Reyno Tapia on Aug 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I've listed to every episode of this podcast, and the best moments were never by the narrator, producer, or writer. All the people who are behind the scenes are extremely interchangeable. The same POV each week, at its best, is comforting--and at its worst, boring and discouraging. You should definitely listen to this podcast, but I would encourage the production team to finally switch it up after 600 episodes. It's time for diverse Americans to welcome diverse Americans to the table.

Liberal propaganda

by Tfhfnxiao on Aug 06, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Eh

Always great

by slowhand_6 on Aug 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks!

Just awesome!

by Kikasoid on Aug 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love listening to this show!

Amazing content

by PhD diddy on Aug 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

That last story on the "babysitting" episode really blew my mind. I just wrote my first review earlier today, so I tonight I'd jump over here to say a quick thanks for always finding such incredible stories.

Tops in my book

by Benny the Blade on Aug 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm ashamed to say how many times this podcast has touched me and made me cry. A truly great show and what every other podcast should aspire to.

I love to listen each week

by Gr8t Lakes Teacher on Aug 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My family and I enjoy the great stories every week. Thank you!

All-time great

by mburkey32 on Aug 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The benchmark for storytelling podcasts, really wonderful stories told in compelling, deep, and profound ways

Love Love Love This Podcast

by Heisenberg Merino on Jul 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been listening to this podcast for many years now and it is still my favorite of all time. I think I have heard all of the 600+episodes they have made. This American Life has been my companion on many road trips, runs, house cleaning, and many other tasks. Keep up the good work guys!Bye the way love the spin off shows as well!

Love

by KJRAZ on Jul 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One of my favorites. I look forward to each new episode.

A American institution

by kevinpaulconnor on Jul 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

What can you say? The radio show that models all others

Best podcast ever!

by Tango Amy on Jul 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love Ira Glass et al.

Check please

by Ninja Trooper on Jul 29, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I've enjoyed TAL for years I'm hearing more stories regarding how certain conservative values are wrong without any counter arguments or justifications regarding the material. Three stories over 45 minutes doesn't prove a point if there is no counter argument to a one-sided political rant. I don't believe the world is country is blind to our issues regarding President Trump, just as they weren't blind to Mrs. Clinton.I had never heard of Brietbart before NPR, and I still don't think I've ever seen an article from them or visited the website, but TAL talks about them like it's run by Cobra Commander and the Joes are no where in sight.Bias reporting got us to where we are now, eventually someone has to try and pull us back together. I've always appreciated TAL for providing reasonable conversations on with various view points, but if a conservative opinion is to be found you get Ann Coulter? I'd hope she's not the voice of reason for conservatives anymore than Antifa the voice of liberals.

The King

by SaraLM on Jul 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the OG and they still hold the crown. The gold standard for radio (honed over decades), this show is what makes this country great. If you haven't listened I must warn you: it will be a gift to yourself, and will become the standard by which you measure all other pods. Most others don't hold up.

great!

by Dev Berr on Jul 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

awesome!

Love the Show, Hate the Agenda

by WallStPrncss on Jul 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I really love the stories and the way the show is put together, but I really wish they'd leave their obvious political agenda out of the show. We get enough of that in the news.

This American Disgrace

by Chef KWIA on Jul 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. Great in depth stories that show all sides and give everybody a voice. It is, however, a stark reminder that we, America, as a country have a looooooooooooong way to go, but at least there are people out there fighting the good fight. ✊🏼

Love it

by Lil456245 on Jul 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

❤️❤️

Humanity

by Arielska on Jul 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

These stories bring us together - with laughter or in tears - they open you up to other perspectives and ideas. They remind us that as people, we are less divided than we may think - sometimes we need to just stop and pay more attention. I love this radio show tremendously.

Worse than listening to NPR

by Nwdub on Jul 24, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I've enjoyed a few select episodes of TAL and subscribed after enjoying S-Town but honestly it's hard to stomach most episodes as a political moderate. So much bias and misunderstanding that still hasn't been addressed. I feel like this podcast is run by people who still don't understand half the US population and it shows in every single episode. I tried hard to enjoy the episodes but found myself frustrated with most all of them, some I couldn't get more than a few minutes into without deleting it.

The best of the best.

by Newtwitteruser on Jul 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It seems rediculous to rate the best podcast of them all. Keep with the relevant stories.

Don't hesitate

by Kurm0n on Jul 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Always interesting

Extremely Underwhelming

by cachappmania on Jul 23, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

There's an hour of my life wasted!!!

Interesting window into US culture

by Music Watch von Deutschland on Jul 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I cannot get enough of this podcast. It often opens my eyes to other worlds parallel to my own.

Used to be good -- Now just Virtue Signaling & Propaganda

by Sylicious on Jul 22, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

As a left leaning moderate who never got involved in politics besides voting in elections, I am so dissapointed with This American Life, Radio Lab and other NPR and shows in the past year. Lately it's all a bunch of virtue signaling. I understand that NPR has always had programming that is left leaning, but they used to do it in a way that made the shows enjoyable to the moderates and they were the background to my life on a daily basis since 1993. That is no longer true and now all it has done is make me want to be more politically active and pushed me to the right with your over the top (and at time intelligence-insulting) preaching. Does NPR not realize realize how they are being perceived by most of their middle of the road, average American listeners?They took a show that I looked forward to every week and have ruined it with their far left regressive spin. Just an FYI most of us liberals are moderate and progressive and don't have the same ideologies as the far left regressives. We are your core audience and you are alienating all of us by focusing on your extreme left (and lately violent) demographic. I hope you wake up and see you are alienating your core audience who just want to listen to a show without political propaganda. So disappointed and I truly mourn a show and a station that used to be interesting, thought provoking and enjoyable. I'm homesick for the old NPR. :(

The Venerable Mainstay

by SilverElf11 on Jul 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

You may or may not like the Ira Glass style of journalism, but you can't deny the power of yhis great instituution.

The Gold Standard

by ToddPleasanton on Jul 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This and RadioLab are in a league of their own. Just a great hour of content every week. Only complaint: wish they made more back episodes available on iTunes.

Always Entertaining

by CLCinMontana on Jul 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been a faithful listener to This American Life for years. The show's content is broad and widely appealing and is just so well produced that it's hard for me to listen to most other podcasts. Keep on, keepin' on Ira!

Engaging

by jenbbbbbbbb on Jul 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Powerful and provoking

Hands down, best diverse podcast ever

by Jeff Hofheins on Jul 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This American life is the best podcast of all of the podcast that I listen to. I initially was hesitant to download it because so many people were talking about it, I figured it would be mainstream and boring. On the contrary,this American life, without fail it keeps me on the edge of my seat keeps my brain and heart active. Incredible work guys. Never stop.

Why is this program classified as "explicit content?"

by Scuhtcu on Jul 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I know there are occasional episodes that have profanity, but most do not. I can't listen to podcasts considered explicit on my work-supplied phone, so I end up listening off the web site.