Average rating:

4.5
out of 22431 ratings.

THIS SHOW IS WHY PODCAST EXIST

by TommyLikeDaGun on Jun 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This show is the exact Reason Podcast have become so popular Enough Said!?

Essential

by somebody that's rlly cute on Jun 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is my go to podcast. The creators are always finding cool ideas to report on and it brings up so much great conversation throughout my life.

Really the best podcast. Period.

by Mary82345 on Jun 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This American Life is one of the best podcasts, if not the best. Recently I have very much appreciated the timely and poingant polical episodes. I have lived all over the country and I appreciate the effort made to share our stories.

Always interesting

by marla1ks on Jun 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Always great topics and a variety of views.

Amazing

by Cravedalo on Jun 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My favorite podcast, and I listen to A BUNCH of podcasts.

Classic

by Marie Paul on Jun 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

When they talk about the best classic podcasts, this will be #1 on the list.

Used to be good -- Now just Virtue Signaling & Propaganda

by Sylicious on Jun 18, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

As a slightly left leaning moderate who never got involved in politics besides voting in elections, I am so dissapointed with This American Life and other NPR and shows in the past year. It's all a bunch of virtue signaling. I understand that NPR has programming that is left leaning, but they used to do it in a way that made the shows enjoyable to the moderates and they were the background to my life on a daily basis. That is no longer true and now all it has done is make me want to be more politically active and pushed me to the right because they don't realize how they are being perceived by most of their middle of the road, level-headed listeners. They took a show that I looked forward to every week and have ruined it with their far left regressive spin. I hope they wake up and see they are pushing away a core audience of people who just wants to listen to a show without a political agenda. So disappointed and I truly mourn a show that used to be interesting, thought provoking and enjoyable.

One Of My Favorites

by PodcastFan0701 on Jun 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one of my favorite podcasts of ALL TIME. I never miss an episode and often listen more than once. It's a MUST.

The best podcast around

by Jmpoodle on Jun 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is THE podcast that all other podcasts come from. Enough said there.

Always Brilliant!

by Fisutherland and drew on Jun 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Always brilliant and entertaining.

I look forward every week

by JanetZag on Jun 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I can't wait until Mondays when I am doing something that I need to thoroughly engage me. This podcast is so good. I love the structured way they do it with Acts.

Biased

by Ams999999 on Jun 13, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Used to love this program but sick of politics and liberal bias creeping into so many of the episodes. Every time I try to come back I am reminded of why I left.

The OG!

by nomusclerussell on Jun 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast was the first podcast I listened to that got me into all other podcasts! One of my first things I put in my docket every Sunday!

And we are sat

by redman2636 on Jun 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

R That's eq of the year we're re srRees erase w with seearefer draw a redeeetaew and es the sewwwe we er rt w rrr tryingw and the rewww er are rthe Eric

Top Notch

by Ranknfyle on Jun 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Such interesting material. I've listened to this program on the radio for years. Now I listen to the podcast.

Still the best

by Sjhdhsjsj on Jun 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Come on. If this isn't 5 stars what is?

Still great - how do they keep doing that?

by Jb1031 on Jun 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast - how do they still come up with interesting content? Amazing.

Used to be the gold standard

by BJ Slater on Jun 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Last year or two TAL has slipped in my perspective and has way too many repeats and low energy shows.

There's an overly liberal bias

by Jimbobys on Jun 09, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I consider myself to be moderate, and independent. This show advocates the acceptance of pretty much every alternative behavior. Which is not that big of a deal. But for example, they had a show where the were pushing the idea that being obese is okay. And the main story teller claimed she was "coming out" about being fat. She literally says in the episode that she just started tricking herself into thinking being obese is fine. Look being fat has nothing to do with quality of your humanity, but it is unhealthy and the idea of pushing acceptance is not okay for public health. Listen to this podcast for awhile and you'll eventually see that the claim or make statements with no support. They had to publicly state that my favorite episode (at the time), one about changing people's minds was in fact false information. They don't investigate enough or look at both sides enough.

This American Life

by Living in Accident on Jun 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A great podcast to listen to while on some boring exercise machine. I might actually exercise long enough to get in shape!

Fair and balanced

by Kyleandalaina on Jun 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The New York Times doing what they do. Facts. Sources. Information. Not for those that don't like to hear the truth.

Listen!

by Testkiji on Jun 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

So good!

A

by Marios construction on Jun 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I didn't e zone for a sa r

One of the Best

by RitaKamna on Jun 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Just keeps getting better and better. The episode titled Tell me I'm Fat was powerful.

My Favorite

by ElzAlvarez on Jun 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

There are few podcasts I have continuously listened to and this is one of those few. Ira glass has a beautiful voice and produces beautiful stories. These stories have made me laugh out loud, made me cry out loud, and made me think about the life I live. It's a beautiful hour that i can't imagine living without.

One of my favorites

by plazamom on Jun 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Can't get enough, I wish new episodes came put more often! It's Glass is a great storyteller and the producers always come up with fascinating topics.

The best

by rbrtsusi on Jun 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This American Life puts out the best content. Love the podcast, I wouldn't miss it.

Needs some fresh material

by Zedulon on Jun 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Almost every other week for the last six months, there has been recycled material. Stories I have heard before. My heart sinks when I get in the car Monday morning to listen to the new episode only to realize it is another re-run.

First and best

by Lib in SC on Jun 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My very first podcast, years ago. Still one of the best shows, every week. Amazing stories and great reporting, plus a lovely host.

I can't stop!

by dmarteng on Jun 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The only time I don't like the show is when it's a repeat, and then I feel a little hurt.

Amazing!

by Sarasmiles66 on Jun 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is my all time favorite podcast.

Over acting

by LiberalCentrist on Jun 01, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

It has been 10 weeks since I heard of any remotely interesting story. Too much politics and agenda being driven. Especially after November. Sorry, I plan to invest my time elsewhere.

Always great

by BatRatMobile on May 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Seriously love this

Back at it!

by Katie Vsetecka on May 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been a listener of TAM since before I can remember, riding in the back of my parent's Subaru to and from the suburbs within and around Portland, Oregon. The waves of the show's tone, stories, and production have ebbed and flowed, and I have enjoyed each phase/"season" of the show. This past week's episode and and initial interview was the first time in a while where it felt like a human being was chatting with Ira -- not over-curated or polished. Hoping for more of this style and true glimpse of the diverse and interesting people and stories!

Y

by Hunitajan on May 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

W

No Science-"Tell Me Im Fat"

by Sam Mascari on May 30, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Tell Me Im Fat episode didn't state the "why" behind why some people are fat, even though they don't eat more than others. Sam Harris's most recent podcast "What to Eat" covers some very important information that should be public knowledge. A calorie is not a calorie, fat is not the culprit etc. I am disappointed that this American Life did not take the opportunity to inform the thousands and thousands of listeners of the whole truth and the science- the "why" behind it all.

Best Podcast

by epjoyce on May 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Always a great listen. Everything Ira Glass touches turns to gold.

Tried-and-true favorite

by Arizwa on May 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I especially appreciated the way that this podcast covered the refugee crisis, the issue of refugees in the US, and the election. Very few other podcasts, news agencies, or writers/journalists were covering those topics in the same way—personal, exploratory, engaged, compassionate. Thank you, TAL! I always hear interesting new ideas and thought-provoking tidbits, many of which make their way into my writing and thinking.

WAY TOO POLITICAL

by kd19 on May 27, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This podcast used to be delightful. Great, interesting stories on several different topics. Now every episode is about Trump and politics. Ok we get it, you're a liberal democrat - I don't freaking care. Can you please talk about something else besides political pukes??? I don't listen to your show for politics, there is enough of that snooze fest out there. GET CREATIVE because right now you are soooooo BORING.

Captivating

by Mr chefneem on May 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This program is everything.

Best of the best

by anth85 on May 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The first time I heard it I was hooked. I quickly burned through their entire backlog and haven't looked back since. Excellent storytelling and journalism.

The absolute best

by Kdeinlystykb on May 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Couldn't love this more. Six stars.

Amazing

by Freedomsings on May 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love every episode, and I've listened to them all!

Love it!

by Hans-S on May 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great story telling.

The Best Hands DOWN

by Myself3000 on May 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Will always love this show. Amazing stories that stick with you forever. Too many moments and memories to go through them all. The only disappointment is when an old episode is repeated instead of a new one as I've heard then ALL. Love this show.

Always great

by Matty BP on May 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One of the best out there

ZEfabyebhz

by aw8'vyww on May 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

SZl Xmmns?'wx,bzcsoinzA

Absolutely love it!

by Ang.V on May 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast.

Love this show

by elye999 on May 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Long time listener, first time reviewer! Love This American Life!

My favorite podcast to listen during when cooking

by Jamandymoo3 on May 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast! Their reporting and story telling is so compelling. I love the diversity and openness of their topics. I have a serious case of FOMO when I miss one episode.