Average rating:

4.5
out of 24226 ratings.

That voice

by Ebinator on Oct 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Everyone who narrates on this show is amazing! Clean, crisp speaking that pulls you in. I have listen to the episode about David Rakoss so many times. Truly amazing work.

It's the best podcast in America

by D-Roobz on Oct 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It really is

Nicely done

by Empero6 on Oct 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Splendid podcast. I wish the previous episodes were also added, but I am satisfied with the current line up.

Best podcast

by CJ Lightbeing on Oct 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I look forward to new episodes of This American Life & I’m always delighted by this podcast.

Slow but sure

by Big Daddy 112 on Oct 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Slow to start but usually ends up entertaining. Most of the time it covers stories I’m not interested in but when it does it’s good.

Used to be the best podcast around...

by tsc9982 on Oct 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

...but I feel like the subject matter in recent seasons has just been less interesting. Sincerely hope they turn it around.

Deep, original. Thrilling.

by lmoore87 on Oct 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

❤️❤️❤️🤙🏻

Informative and interesting

by Carrot friend on Oct 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

When I started listening to podcasts this was one of my first podcasts I chose to subscribe and it continues to be one of my favorites. ❤️ the little short stories about people. Interest stories!

Cool

by msanrekddid on Oct 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Cool

Recent episodes have been disappointing

by cheychey1993 on Oct 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I've been a huge fan of This American Life ever since I first started listening in 2016. I look forward to listening to this podcast every week, however, lately this podcast has been focusing A LOT on race. I'm sure race is an interesting topic for some, I just personally don't like it when some topics of race seem to divide or worsen race issues, rather than bringing hope or joining races together. I would like to listen to topics less about race and more about people please.

Hit or miss

by Jf funds on Oct 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

This podcast can be really good, but MANY “miss” episodes.

Classic

by kumquatdynasty on Oct 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Great podcast. Excellent reporting and production. Some stories are better than others but the quality is consistently high

All of life

by Pegangel on Oct 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The range of topics and the variety of takes on a topic are amazing. I look forward to this podcast every week.

Fantastic

by klr320 on Oct 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Real journalism with humanistic storytelling that leaves you a more informed and better citizen of our planet. This radio show brings empathy and understanding to the issues that we all face.

EXCELLENT

by I like music but.... on Oct 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

They’re legends for a reason.

My fave PC

by Sde 719 on Oct 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is my favorite podcast. I love the way they tell their story and how the theme is thread throughout the show. Thank you for all you guys do to keep us listeners entertained!

This is THE Podcast.

by E.m.mcc on Oct 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

TBH, it took me a little while to get into This American Life - I think mostly because I wasn’t accustomed to the format. However, when I got over that hump, I discovered a whole new, amazing world. It’s not just that I love this podcast, moreover, it makes me happy (and sometimes relieved) just knowing that it exists - and I say that from the bottom of my heart.

Great writing and great audio.

by Joeblofromidaho on Oct 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one of the best Podcasts ever made because it is from one of the best radio shows ever made. If you never listen to this before enjoy binging on it for a couple of weeks.

Essential

by Bubba McNookie on Oct 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The best radio show and the best podcast. TAL has shifted in recent years from slice-of-life looks at aspects of American culture (which it still does plenty of) to deep dive investigative reporting. The Giant Pool of Money remains one of the best explanations of the financial crisis. Other essential shows look at segregation in education, schools in Chicago, and the refugee system. And Notes on Camp is my personal favorite.

Facts Don't Have Biases, People Do

by T. Fraser on Oct 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

There are some great, well-written stories here, but the omnipresent politicizing of topics wears on you. I might expect this of a more overtly political podcast, and I could certainly forgive it if there was an attempt at balance, but there isn't. The show has become more strongly—and openly—left-leaning over time. Still a great podcast, but the polemics are tiresome.

Great Show

by crmreeder on Oct 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The best podcast!

Excellent, Heartbreaking, Educational

by VOSanders on Oct 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love listening every week - anticipate the release of new episodes!!! Excellent. One of my favorite podcasts.

Cream of the Crop!

by Mamumimi713 on Oct 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

There isn't a better hour on the radio.

Inspirational

by J. Renee on Oct 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love hearing the incredible experiences that people have had and how they endure. Not always a happy ending, but always inspiring.

Always Good

by Mrs Broom on Oct 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

There will never be a This American Life that I won't enjoy, even if I don't always agree with everything. In depth, thought provoking. Always good.

13 Years Later I haven’t missed an episode

by Simokmodi on Oct 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I first listened to This American Life in middle school as a class assignment back in 2004, I haven’t missed an episode since.

Exactly What Is Says on the Tin

by AZ Pharmacist on Oct 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

There isn't one real word that perfectly describes This American Life, but someone made-up one.Sonder - the realization that each random passerby is living a life as vivid and complex as your own.I find renewed stores of empathy and compassion after each episode for everyone. EVERYONE. Even the guy who cut me off on the highway while I was listening to the podcast.

Thank you Ira

by Nurseus maximus on Oct 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you, Ira, for helping me feel less alone after moving to a new city and trying to adjust to a new life. I turn on TAL and it feels like I have someone in the room, walking down the street with me, trying to cheer me up with stories that are meaningful and give me hope. I don’t know what I would do without this podcast. It helps me get going in the morning and relax in the evening.

Yes

by Pottamuss on Sep 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The standard bearer for all other podcasts. TAL is golden. Thank you for the great work!

Politically correct nonsense

by Anewdaytotri on Sep 29, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Production quality is outstanding and I genuinely enjoy the presentation. There are times when this show surprises me with how fair and balanced it is. But the vast majority of the time the pieces are nothing but politically correct talking points wrapped up in nice stories. I can't do it any more. I have unsubscribed.

Paint by obfuscation

by Pdxfullerton on Sep 28, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

By highlighting the Proud Boys alongside racists and asking leading questions, then ‘letting the audience decide’ you’re simply trying (hard) to force that round peg in the square hole. And for those that aren’t knowledgeable enough about the topic and lack enough critical thinking skills, this podcast may have accomplished your goals. Leading people to believe the Proud Boys are a racist group.

If you haven't been listening

by WDElucas on Sep 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Where have you been??

Refreshing

by serendipity4life on Sep 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Always makes my day better when I listen to this podcast! So much raw emotion and uncensored truth

Growing up TAL

by MayaReviews on Sep 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love TAL ever since I was a kid when my mom used to listen on our way home from school! Now as an adult I never fail to miss an episode.

My absolute favorite

by CaseyJPaul on Sep 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I work from home with 2 little ones so life is incredibly busy but I always find time to sneak this podcast in. I love listening to the stories and interviews! So so good!

o.p.

by djespeleta on Sep 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

FLANNERY RD

Best Podcast Ever

by Kttttttt7 on Sep 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been listening to the podcast for some years, but have felt in particular that the podcast from this past year have been so insightful and thoughtful. I wish everyone could listen to them. I listen to a number of podcasts, but this is by far the best. I am often deeply moved it. Keep up the fantastic work, This American Life, and everyone else, please support public radio.

I’m done.

by Yvonnem2000 on Sep 26, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I used to enjoy this show despite the obvious political leanings. After White Haze, I’m out. Act 1, just like the guy claims, you are blaming his group for attracting members who take things to extremes. Groups with strong beliefs can’t always control who they attract or how members act. Now, his next step needs to be kick out anybody who displays racism, strongly explain that’s not what they’re about. If he does that, what’s the problem? Just like Muslims say they are peaceful and terrorists aren’t true Muslims. Many religions have kooks who use religious teachings to justify extreme behavior. That doesn’t mean religion should stop teaching anything.Act 2, I agree with Wes. Why give this guy a platform? A voice? I’ve been hanging on to this podcast by a thread since the election. You cut the thread this week.

Always look forward to new episodes!

by Skivvv on Sep 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The stories are so beautifully told.

Intriguing

by Sjcorey25 on Sep 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast never fails to challenge me personally, professionally, spiritually, or all of the above. Love hearing these stories and really enjoy Ira.

I love this show!

by Granola225 on Sep 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

By far the best podcast

Great stories told well

by Katie BP on Sep 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Lovely podcast. Stories are interesting, thought provoking, and well done.

One last thing before I go

by insane from barking dog on Sep 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Sobbed over this one. Fantastic listening; I've recommended TAM to all my friends. Keep up the good work, Ira and crew.

Great just great !!!

by Sargedizzy on Sep 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

As above !!

One of my favorite shows

by Happy2use on Sep 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Awesome listening!

Ben B

by Benwaaaaaaaaa on Sep 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

love it!

I keep coming back

by Daisy if you do on Sep 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

The biased reporting forces me to turn off several episodes but I keep coming back. I think it may have changed a little in the past few years in that regard. Did they always have this many reruns?

Great stories about real people

by Syxx006 on Sep 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

First podcast I've ever subscribed to, and still one of the best

I love this podcast

by NPRgrl on Sep 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Can’t say much more that hasn’t already been said by other reviewers; just had to say that this is one of the best radio shows out there, if not the best. Oh and yes, it will often make you cry...

Quite bad.

by Bonita Laguna on Sep 20, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This show is boring and has a low production quality.