Average rating:

4.5
out of 39257 ratings.

Where are the rest?

by Sideshow Tom on Jul 16, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I subscribed to this podcast after hearing it on the radio and finding out how many years it’s been on. Perfect for listening at work, right? After signing up, I find only THREE episodes available. Where are the rest of the 640+ shows? Sorry, not for me... so disappointed...

Love this show!!!

by biggest non-stalker fan on Jul 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It’s always a story I didn’t know I wanted to hear. So well done and absorbing. There have only been a couple of episodes over the years that garnered a “meh”. I’m just grateful that I don’t have to organize my day around MPR and can listen to it anytime as a podcast. The only real negative is not being able to access all the earlier shows. Great work!!!

Not enough episodes

by Julia0820 on Jul 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Only 4 available episodes?? Incredibly disappointing. Where can I find the rest?

Thank you for getting me into radio

by sarahjordan89 on Jul 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love you guys.

More Episodes on podcast

by whatisopenfornickname on Jul 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast but is there a way to listen to more than just 4 or 5 episodes on the podcast app??

This American Life

by Jack101116 on Jul 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is by far the most interesting and reliable show I have ever heard. It discusses a full range of topics in a way that all can relate to. Thank you

Interesting but missing something

by marisatombmay on Jul 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Almost every episode is thoughtful and insightful. It is great to hear these stories and understand all the connections to each story and even ourselves. So thought provoking!!!But why can’t we listen to more than the last 5 episodes on Apple podcast at a time???

All of them.

by Ant.the.knee on Jul 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Very clean great stories.

So SICK of the politics

by jluttallday on Jul 10, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

So NPR has mastered the art of reporting but I am really struggling to find any given show that isn’t saturated with political propaganda. TAL used to be my refuge, now they are just another program on the political bandwagon. There’s more to life! Very close to deleting this program that has been on my phone for years because I haven’t been excited about an episode in months. Trying out Studio 360 with cautious optimism

Fermi’s Paradox

by igneous2x on Jul 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Act I: There was one reason I didn’t hear as a possible reason why we haven’t heard from any extraterrestrials yet—maybe they’re holding off until we get our act together as a world; you know, universal peace, unity, justice. We’re pretty immature right now, not so appealing.

Tons of repeat episodes

by UGH Reviews! on Jul 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

It would be great to know at the top of the show if the episode we are about to hear is a rerun. I’ve wasted many a commute listening to an episode partway through and finally realizing, hmph sounds familiar.

This American ‘Life’-er

by Gregslisa on Jul 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve been listening for years. This show is a steady stream of good investigative reporting & stories for our souls that will give you laughs, cries, moments of amazement, bliss, extreme sadness. I love it.

Abdi and the golden ticket

by lablue69 on Jul 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This an amazing story that explains what refugees go through to get to the US

I got here by accident.

by Daniel Casey Hopkins on Jul 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love podcasts and I’m kind of a snob about it... My favorite nerd, Roman Mars did an interview giving props to TAL... It’s like LeBron being your favorite player then, someone shows you highlights of Michael Jordan... you think, “Oh! That’s where this started” ..

So glad I found this!

by Dr.Drea on Jul 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m so glad I finally listened to this podcast. Amazing story telling about all of us. I am super disappointed that as soon as I started listening the back log of episodes disappeared. Hoping there is a plan to bring them back. I would love to hear the older episodes!

Incredible

by that1guyy on Jul 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Everyone who works on TAL deserves a ton of credit for the wide array of stories that are told on a weekly basis.

Not what it once was

by Ddtgfaff on Jul 01, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Once a great, even epic, radio show. Now entirely too political. Believe it or not “American Life” has little to do with federal elections. I miss the old days of TAL.

All about episode 649 / it's my party

by Pop Rouge on Jul 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This episode is so timely and informative about the tension within the Democratic party. It's as fascinating and timely as the midterm elections are looming large...

My favorite podcast

by AuntieBeast on Jun 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast! I only have the free app and sometimes my available downloads do not keep up with my listening habits, but I have to say this podcast is a fantastic with story telling. I love the range of episodes from global issues, political issues to an individuals story. It has something for everyone and really gets to the heart of the human condition. I recommend to anyone who wants to understand and explore humanity from all aspects and walks of life.

Disappointing

by Hifab on Jun 27, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Use to love TAL but their recent unbalanced reporting has led me to unsubscribe. TAL is not suppose to be a political podcast yet that seems to be what they’re trying to do and guess what, they aren’t that good at it. Leave the in depth political reporting to those who understand politics and stick to what you’re good at which is reporting on interesting stories about every day life. This podcast shouldn’t be an hour long in kind donation to a political campaign.

The best!

by Foxtail111 on Jun 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I subscribe to many podcasts, but TAL is the one I am impatiently waiting for on a weekly basis. The stories and people are always so interesting and entertaining. I’ve laughed and cried, and felt like friends with some of the guests. Even though I’m not big into politics, in those episodes TAL has a way of turning the topics into a very human thing, and not disgustingly boring (and they seem to stay impartial as well) Ira Glass is awesome to listen to as well- great voice, and a funny guy. Keep up the good work guys!!

Since when is this a political podcast?

by CFW94 on Jun 27, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I used to absolutely love This American Life. The quality and variety of storytelling was unparalleled and it offered a perfect mix of escapism, fiction, and more topical content. In the last year or two it has completely devolved into constant commentary on our current political situation which is never why I listened to TAL and utterly eliminates its value as a form of media that doesn’t simply track current events. Most tragically, it reverses TAL’s perhaps greatest quality: the ability to show the common humanity of Americans across countless locations, ages, races, backgrounds, and beliefs through storytelling. The new unrelenting political focus has sacrificed this incredible quality to become divisive and polarizing.

Used to love it...

by kitty_elise on Jun 27, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I used to love TAL, but nowadays it’s so mind-numbingly boring I end up turning it off before ever reaching Act 2. Hopefully someone can right the ship...

Older podcasts

by Testsubject45 on Jun 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is such a great podcast, I love all of it but for some reason all the older episodes disappeared. Please fix this so everyone can listen to previous episodes.

American Life

by jnotjohn on Jun 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

AMAZING

A staple in my podcast feed

by Marcymarcydarcy on Jun 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The best podcast to recommend to a friend. I look forward to every episode 💗

The best podcast

by ashleyeduncan on Jun 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Ever of all time. Love the stories, love Ira Glass, love the music.

Older episodes!?

by RaySly on Jun 23, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Where are the older episodes!?

Old episodes

by polistenertg on Jun 23, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Allow more older episodes

Awesome

by yèét on Jun 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Daddy I don’t like green beans

Where did the old episodes go??

by Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa! on Jun 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Just discovered this podcast and was catching up on old episodes. Where did they all go? I’m so disappointed!

Old episodes

by MoradoMO on Jun 22, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Is there anyway we can listen from the beginning?

Agree with previous review

by liketonlistenlayer on Jun 22, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Please allow all previous episodes to be accessed

Deleted old episodes

by xofoxy on Jun 21, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I wanted to listen to the old ones but they were deleted!

So good

by Steve H. from West Chester, OH on Jun 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Some of the best storytelling around, on an incredible array of subjects, this is the show that made me an avid NPR listener and the podcast lets me stay caught up when I can't catch it on the radio (radio? What's that?).

Where did the podcast go?

by 171482348 on Jun 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I’m confused! Where did the podcast go? Is it getting revamped or renamed or something?

Past episodes?

by Brizzybabe on Jun 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Im in love! So much so I’m sad there are no more past episodes. What happened ?

Wanted to re listen

by Peterbarker on Jun 21, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Where did they all go! Bummer.

I need more!

by Sarahlwvu on Jun 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I wish this was on every day! It is one thing to look forward to on a Monday.

Want to give 5 stars, but...

by Fritzio on Jun 20, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

...hiding old episodes is a 1-star move. Although their reason might be because they want to even more frequently rerun said old episodes (something they often don’t have the courtesy to mention in the details—another 1-star move). Too bad.

Consistently great storytelling

by Alewat on Jun 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this show. I have been a listener for over 5 years and the consistency in the quality of the story telling is amazing.

Whatever happened to the rest of the episodes?!?

by Tales Lover on Jun 19, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

What happened?!?

Old Episodes???

by micah porter on Jun 18, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Why delete then, seriously

Delete old episodes?

by The qwerty eht on Jun 18, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Why do you have to delete old shows. I don't want to go to your website to listen to past shows. LAME

Thegaslampkiller

by hey abot...... on Jun 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Was featured once on npr. He is my son and has been falsely accused by one woman of drugging and raping her. He has been in the L.A. music community for 20 years, and now is an untouchable, unable to earn his living since Sept. He is suing this woman for defamation and for $5,000,000. I don’t know when his trial date will be given. He has used all his savings, sold his stocks, is selling his record collection, anyway to earn a buck honestly.In 20 years of being a headliner in world music festivals, he has never been accused of anything harmful to anyone. Can you help him by giving voice? I am part of the #me too, and do understand how beastly men in power can be. Not this time.

Awesome!

by MistyBlue16 on Jun 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

One of my top 5 podcasts!

Democrats know best blah blah blah

by Koliebug on Jun 14, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Maybe someday Coastal America will pay attention to the rest of us. Not everyone is a Democrat, we aren’t racist, we aren’t ignorant.

Great podcast

by Andrewralph11122211111 on Jun 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

One of the best shows out there.

Radio edit request

by MD_RN on Jun 13, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Would it be possible to publish the radio edit as a podcast again (maybe have two channels - the beeped and the un-beeped)? This show used to be suitable for all audiences, but now every episode is marked explicit content and finding the ‘clean’ version on your phone is convoluted. I love the show, and the stories that are told, and I would like it see it back in my podcast library.

A national treasure

by Bernard_Henry_Manning on Jun 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This American life does what it's named and delivers compelling stories from all walks of the American experience.