Average rating:

4.5
out of 27464 ratings.

Excellent quality stories week after week

by jesusina on Dec 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Glass and the crew look behind popular political rhetoric for human stories and also find obscure stories unrelated to current headlines. Always fascinating and human, though I do occasionally wish they’d find something debunking the other side of the political aisle.

Depressing decline

by Nate Olstad on Dec 12, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This used to be an amazing podcast and I would listen to this every single week. However, around September of 2016 there was an abrupt and drastic change with this podcast.Since then, almost every episode has been political and they’re now just as biased as MSNBC, which sadly, is not at all an exaggeration. It’s ridiculous how biased this podcast is now.

Great content. Bad delivery.

by Ablang5 on Dec 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I love the stories from TAL. However, in the last few months, they have started talking so fast it’s very hard to understand them. Frustrating.

The best podcast

by MilaMalakoff on Dec 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My favorite podcast by far.

Show delights and surprises!

by Jacobsxxxxxxxxxx on Dec 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the diversity of topics presented!

Solid Podcast

by Imnotmarvin on Dec 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great stories that will almost never be told through MSM.

eh

by gangi daddy on Dec 06, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

eh

Love this show!

by SFry9 on Dec 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I wish I could access older episodes through the app but it’s nice to easily access any new ones that come out.

Always fresh, well produced

by Lugal81 on Dec 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Been listening for years. The topics are relevant, current, and give a great dose of perspective on our times.

Disappointing

by jtmcftp on Dec 02, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This show used to be so good! Not sure why but it's really gone downhill. Sad.

Great... but

by Holodoctor1 on Dec 02, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The show is great most of the time. However, I hate the “I’m doing a poem from the perspective of a trash can” style bits. The factual “stories” are excellent, but those aren’t. It also really bugs me that they don’t mark whether the podcast is a rerun. I’ve gotten 10 minutes into a podcast before realizing it’s old.

So good.

by ArkansasSciGuy on Dec 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Unreal how good this podcast is. Listening as often as possible. I recommend you do the same.

Favorite!

by Ecg7684 on Nov 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Started listening to TAL in 2008. I didn’t even know what podcasts were before that. TAL changed me! I listen to podcasts everyday now. Every Monday morning I’m so excited to listen to the new TAL episode. Ira Glass is a master. I can’t say enough about Ira and TAL. Such a great podcast!

Wonderful!

by Brittcom on Nov 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This show is great! It's always well put together, always interesting, and always a great listen! Ira Glass is awesome and he makes one heck of a show!

Can’t imagine a world without

by R_Marie23 on Nov 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

When I first started community college as a teenager TAL was my first exposure to understanding the world through other people’s eyes. If it weren’t for this show, this small town girl wouldn’t have been as successful in college and ultimately in life. This show is wonderful. I recommend to all! (And you can cite their work in college papers too, an added bonus - think of every episode as “research” if you’re a social science major.)

Go Ira!

by SybillaM on Nov 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One of the best moving relevant podcasts ever. Saw Ira live in Saint Louis- so good when everything appeared to go wrong.

Great

by SirDuxAlot on Nov 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

No better listen anywhere

There is TAL, and everything else.

by ArtG1965 on Nov 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve been listening to this show on my local NPR station for many years. I cannot begin to count the number of times I’ve been in my car listening, only to find myself home, sitting in my driveway, with 20 minutes left... and I cannot recall once even considering turning off my radio to walk in my house. It’s THAT GOOD!

Good stories but unabashedly biased

by Leea1776 on Nov 27, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Just listened to the release of Harold and it was a fairly decent story just was pretty overwhelmingly biased to fit the metropolitan liberal audience. It was a self serving pity party about Obama being gone and trump being in office. I loved the irony that TAL didn't even realize it was drawing a direct comparison to the journalists response to Harold coming into office as when Trump was elected. The liberation theory and post modernist identity politics that was pushed in this episode is what continues to divide and weaken America.

Amazing

by ZacharyBorgman on Nov 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm thankful for all the work this group does to put this site together week after week.

Giant - with good reason

by calibre468 on Nov 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Look, this podcast is always the behemoth in the room, the OG of podcasts/radio shows in the 21st century as it were.... and it's a well-deserved title. Every single episode will draw you in, open your eyes, leave you more connected to your fellow Americans. In short, must-have on every podcast listener's list.

The Show

by wastelandcompanion on Nov 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Yeah, it's good. It's been good for pretty much forever. You pretty much have to try not liking it.

The one that started it all.

by djStace on Nov 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

If you’re new to TAL, subscribe and work your way though all of the back catalogue episodes. There are some amazing stories, I feel this podcast set the standard for the industry. As a decade long listener, I am anxiously waiting to see if they produce more new shows. Seems most of the episodes this year have been repeats or mashups of previous stories. I think many of the long time contributors have moved on to other projects.

4 episodes at a time?

by Hoopdrm819 on Nov 21, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

This may come off as very “first world problems” but Apple Podcasts only allow you to access the most recent 4 episodes. I’ve read that this is an option selected by the content creators. I would like to have access to all the archives to listen to. 5 stars on the content of the podcast. Overall only 2 stars because of poor curation.

Trash

by Ssez222 on Nov 21, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Don't waste your time on this. Instead listen to something that actually enriches your life and teaches you something. A terrible drag.

What happened?

by beccaboo65 on Nov 21, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I have absolutely loved listening to this podcast every week for the past year. Then suddenly there was a dramatic change that I don’t enjoy at all. One act in each of the podcast has been a dramatic narrative reading of a fictional story. I don’t listen to this podcast to hear that. I have Audible if I want to hear a story, of my choosing, read aloud. I want true human stories told to me during this podcast.

Welcome to the Smugfest

by theblackgecko on Nov 19, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

It’s been a few years since I’ve listened. Between Ira Glass’s smug voice, horn rimmed glasses, and general terrible human beingness and trying to figure of what David Sederis is doing, I gave up. If you’ve got an ironic moustache, this is your podcast. The rest of us can save our time.

Still the best

by myheartisinthemusic on Nov 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This American Life is the first podcast that I ever listened to. The stories are educational, heartfelt, and thoughtful. It’s the show that made me fall in love with the medium.

Fantastic

by JHamrick on Nov 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

can't wait for each new episode!

Deleting and won't be back

by Bytor123 on Nov 16, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

What has happened to this show? I will admit it was never great but it was at least interesting. The last 5 or 6 episodes have been awful and I'm done with TAL. I'm outta here. I might check back in in a few months but I've done that before and was always disappointed upon my return. I doubt I'll be back. The magic is gone Ira, time to move on to something else.

Best of the best

by Abigail Boslet on Nov 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Ira, Sarah, Julie, BRIAN.... Gifting journalists. I love ALL of your shows. Everyone should check out the “Cars” episode of TAL.... One of my faves! Bravo!

Great show

by blackdoll on Nov 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Great show

Awesome

by Sky hunter256780 on Nov 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love it, purest from

First and Best

by Mollyomigosh on Nov 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This was the first program to make me fall in love with radio (and later--podcasts!). "TAM" continues to impress me with the unique stories and voices it showcases, which not only leave me personally with food for thought, but also occasionally make an appearance in my ELA classroom. I am forever grateful for the voices and the brains behind this fine radio program.

Bad representation of a car dealership

by CraigWaikem85 on Nov 12, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Poor representation of a car dealership. They were extremely outdated. Wish you would have selected a dealer that has adapted to the real world.

Mesmerizing!

by Mochagawea on Nov 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Ira and the crew will take you on an engaging journey sure to penetrate your heart and thoughts, forever changing the way you approach societal issues.

So consistently good

by amylujo on Nov 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

How do Ira and his team manage it? There are some shows that are remarkably good and others that are only excellent. Like great authors, it seems simple and straightforward but only very talented writers can put stories together that feel so accessible but contain the secrets of humankind. Just a fantastic show.

So great

by Reese .m on Nov 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is so interesting

Boring

by Bilsta579 on Nov 07, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Not that funny honestly

From a 1st Generation Mexican American

by *ReYNaDrEYnAz* on Nov 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Keeping it Real! thank you!!!

An America icon

by LAJuice on Nov 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

What can you say about an American institution like Ira Glass and TAL? How about this- always poignant, always interesting, always important.

Love it!

by iTune-a-lot on Nov 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great show.

Classic! Still one of the best!

by Alezamarie on Oct 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast!

Biased

by 😳😓😛😒😛 on Oct 30, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

It’s a good podcast just every now and again they are so biased and pick and choose what facts they want and don’t report the whole situation just what proves their point.

As time goes on..

by Kbrhonda17 on Oct 30, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I love old episodes of this show. As of lately, I’ve been less than impressed. The stories aren’t as deep, interesting or politically charged. Make me sad to see a show I once loved go down the drain.

Vocal fry

by Deadfin on Oct 30, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The millennial women on this show just make it unbearable to listen to, with their vocal fry and upspeak.The stories are getting less interesting too.But seriously, the vocal fry is seriously annoying, to the point I can’t listen.

Yes, please!

by Teresa Y - Rumford, ME on Oct 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The “distinguished gentleman “ of the podcast world but manages to keep it fresh!

The Golden Standard of Storytelling

by Julia Pappas on Oct 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazed, touched, and inspired by the stories shared here and the way they are brought to life. And when done by a master, what not love!

Ira is great

by True2Form on Oct 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I’ve followed for a few years now and I can sense Ira’s ingenuity but not in the other commentators. Disappointed😏

Gold standard of podcasts

by Hope Marie M on Oct 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

What can I say about this podcast that hasn’t already been said?I love listening to new stories and insights of the beautiful and sometimes frustrating American experience.Sometimes, I am reluctant to listen to a podcast that may be addressing an issue that makes me feel uncomfortable or maybe doesn’t line up with my beliefs. These are the moments when I feel TAL is most vital and important to media and journalism.I will say that I do wish, at times, there was a slightly less liberal bias to give liberal listeners a better idea of the insights and beliefs of the right. However, NPR works hard to get to the truth and I understand Ira can’t hold back his opinions since this still is a podcast after-all.Thanks for the great story telling and eye opening information!