Average rating:

4.5
out of 35132 ratings.

One of the BEST!

by Toby57548 on Apr 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this American Life. I feel like I’m listening to a friend. Amazing podcast:)

Too Biased

by Greg5231 on Apr 22, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I used to really enjoy listening to this podcast every week, but I’ve since unsubscribed because this podcast has greatly changed.There has been a very strong liberal bias in this podcast for about the last two years.

Made unlistenable by apple’s new podcast app

by kittenfajitapita on Apr 19, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The new iOS 11 podcast app has ruined the podcast experience. Moving to android.

Great stories

by 62551 on Apr 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is my favorite podcast. They do a lot of reruns though.

Always good

by Doodle! on Apr 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This show blows me away week after week. I appreciate how they put a fresh take on things and I learn something new. Highly recommend.

The best show ever

by billyinSF on Apr 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If you are listening to any podcast now. Y’all need to recognize that TAL invented the genre. They consistently produce the most empathy producing, entertaining and informative shows. Truly amazing people. Keep it up Ira. More Chicago shows please.

Good stories

by Citrus Sunshine on Apr 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

So many good stories about things I never knew I wanted to know about.

Trigger Warning For Conservatives

by Panmoxiu on Apr 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I like a lot of the content they produce. A lot of it though is heavily biased against people who identify as “conservatives” or “libertarians.” It’s hard to listen to sometimes, but when they avoid politics it’s usually very entertaining!

Great podcast

by Tomgebe on Apr 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love it!

GREAT!

by danimal303 on Apr 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

TAL is the highlight of my listening week.

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

by RMcGaha on Apr 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Love it

by The App-tastic on Apr 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Intelligent and well told

My #1 podcast

by AnnaKooshoo on Apr 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I go here before all others because it’s just brilliant ~ every episode is engaging for years now. Love it.

Captivating stories of real people and events

by c22831 on Apr 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This American Life tells amazing stories that captivate me every week. Episode after episode continues to impress.

annoyed

by straightoutofthebox on Mar 30, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

only 4 episodes available, even when you subscribe- where is the rest?

OOoooooffff!

by MnWreckingCrew on Mar 30, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Unimaginative cover = Bad Podcast. Unsubscribe immediately!!

Entertaining but...

by Jeromy W on Mar 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I listen to this podcast for entertainment. Unfortunately, I have to skip so many of the episodes - as the show’s political leaning bleeds through into the scope & content of episodes. I don’t want politics from my entertainers. It is a shame as the show has the potential to be a favorite.

Interesting topics with great presentation!

by Mel Murf on Mar 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love it! Thank you for producing great content(:

Review

by EssyColours on Mar 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Loved the first podcast but don’t really care for the second and third podcasts. Didn’t make it all the way through the third one. Got disinteresting.

Highlight of my week

by nyldy on Mar 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This American Life took me by surprise. It makes me laugh, it makes me cry. But each story is truly unique and always fascinating. It gives you new perspectives from a wide range of extremely talented journalists. I honestly look forward to it every day and usually save it for later in the week. Just knowing another episode has been released that I haven’t listened to yet makes me giddy. If I could access more downloadable episodes, I would. (Sadly the TAL app is not great). Try it out and you’ll get hooked. You will then be eternally grateful you gave it a shot.

always interesting and well done

by tradlover on Mar 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The episodes on this show are so well done that I make the time to listen to every single one, even if the subject matter does not interest me in the least.

This podcast has gone downhill

by PodcastAddict99 on Mar 17, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

This podcast used to be great years ago but its gone downhill in the past couple of years. Recent episodes are too political and not thought provoking enough.

Podcast

by ProudTexan4906 on Mar 16, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Podcadt

Lazy and unenthusiastic

by Connor90254 on Mar 13, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Everyone seems to love this show. It's been a year since I last listened, so I thought I'd give it another chance. Maybe I just picked a so-so episode, but I listened to Dog's Life. Hey I like dogs, I thought. This is a podcast for me! Wrong! After they lazily gave 8 uninterrupted minutes to a whiny David Sedaris monologue about his childhood pet, I was weary. It just got worse after that. I give up.I love Radiolab, Planet Money, but not TAL. And Ira, wake up! I'm sure you're brilliant. But you sound bored and monotone. Where's Sarah Koenig? Now that's a voice.

I love this radio show

by Juggzorz on Mar 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

really remember this on Sunday's in the early 90s like rounding out a good day.

Ira please slow down

by Trying to do this on Mar 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I have been listening to This American Life for a while. I love the show, but my one complaint is that Ira, the host, sometimes talks too fast and his words run together and I miss what he’s saying. I imagine this is especially challenging for people who do not speak English as a first language. I appreciate the cadence of the show, and Ira is a phenomenal host, so I don’t mean this as a criticism, just an opportunity to help people receive the content easier. I’ll always be a listener, and I don’t want to miss a single word!

My #2 Most Listened to Podcast

by Downriver Brian on Mar 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to this show addictively. It seems to lean liberal but the producers try to hide it. The variety of interesting topics really keeps you coming back for more though.

Love these stories!!

by dmsnyder on Mar 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the last #Metoo episode. Thank you Chana Joffre Walt!

So Many Stories to Hear

by The Former 786 on Mar 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this pocast because it introduces me to new stories and makes me care about them. I just wish they didn't make you go to the website for the bleeped version.

So wonderful

by ModCloth Lover For Life on Mar 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

We need more shows like this. It makes my days and thoughts better.

Like nothing else

by Pupper on Mar 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have probably reviewed TAL before but feel compelled to now after reading The Five Women episode. (Go listen to it NOW if you haven't) Chana Joffe-Walt is so talented. I have thought so since her Planet Money days. CJW: if I met you in person I would drop to the floor and declare: "I'm not worthy!" This episode, like so many others of TAL, manages to delve into the complexities of the weird human experience. Every story has layers and Ira Glass and his team just know how to peel them back for all of us to witness, sometimes delight in, sometimes be disturbed by. Thank you for your hard work in producing this show.

A Reckoning

by RambleRoot on Mar 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I am so over come with an incredible sense of gratitude that I get to listen to this episode. Thank you all for doing what you do so well.

Oh Donny Boy, the flames, the flames...

by Chris Ht on Mar 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

^

White male oppression? Really?

by wendyo530 on Mar 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Unbelievable. This rhetoric about ‘white oppression’ etc. America is a ‘white country’? On how many levels is that just wrong. Ummm, native indigenous tribes? Bringing slaves here then saying this isn’t their country? White supremacy is a ‘liberal myth’? Just unspeakably wrong.

Simply outstanding!

by Connieco on Mar 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the “radio show” that started it all for me. I loved the television series as well. Other shows try to come close, but This American Life is still, by far, the very best there is in listening.

This show is what American needs

by The last Mimi on Mar 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

When you see that there is a new episode of This American Life, you have too look into your soul and be 100% sure that you’re ready for what the next hour of your life is about to be. Are you ready to cry? To feel enraged? To feel helpless? Totally hopeful! Be filled with joy and triumph? Are you READY THOUGH? Just, ugh. Ugh. I love this show so much.

Can't live without this

by Beeffw on Mar 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Ira and company bring the best momoents of my day. I look forward to time that can be filled with his voice, insight, and humor. He has introduced me to many wonderful people. David Sedaris is just one that I find hysterical. Don't miss In Dog we Trust. Bravo to TMA and all who help create this oasis.

An eclectic podcast about all kinds of life experiences

by Odetta von Kasek on Mar 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been a long time listener of TAL, & it's definitely one of my favorite podcasts. The subject matter changes from week to week, & there are very few episodes I've skipped because they sounded boring. TAL has made me laugh, made me mad, & made me cry. I have learned so much from TAL. Sometimes they'll repeat an episode, & I'll realize that I've already heard it. I usually end up listening again because it was so good the first time.

used to be great

by what happened tal?? on Mar 02, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

lost any sense of complexity. now just political one sided blah. even as a liberal it's just exhausting to listen to.. Used to be addicted to the real arc of the story in these episodes. keep trying to go back and get addicted once again. Opened up Our Town, within the first 30 seconds you knew eactly how it was going to end. You knew it the whole narrative. Refuses to consider objections, to entertain intelligent questions from both sides, to anticipte questions. Just echoing the same glad-handing voices back to themselves. Fox news for liberals. Just one long affirmation, virtue signaling, look at how woke we are, preaching to the choir claptrap. If this is really opening you up, opening your eyes to the world then you need to get out more, otherwise, it's... uh,...yeah here's a story about how minorities are not bad... um... duh... and people who fall alseep makes mistakes... people in the military are human like you and I... oh man.. jesus... obviously. Yawn. Maybe it was always this borning and I just got old.

In dogs we trust

by Tooth fairy 2015 on Feb 28, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I use to enjoy this podcast until the recent episode “In dogs we trust”. This episode tells stories of people and how they have abused their pet animals. It almost try’s to normalize terrible things people have done to their pets. Disappointed by the irresponsible content in this episode. Promoting bad behavior and abuse towards animals is not entertainment.

Used to be great

by etherdog on Feb 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Ever since S-town, the wind has gone out of TAL. The subjects now seem so banal. In episode 639 the animus against pets was so unnerving that I was ill. I think This American Life has run its course.

Episode 639 got way too dark.

by Nicky tick on Feb 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Warning to those who are sensitive to violence, the last of the three segments in episode 639 was incredibly dark. The dark imagery accompanied by violence toward an innocent animal will stick with me longer than I would like.

TAL

by Weezball on Feb 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I am a liberal living in my liberal bubble in Seattle Washington. I love TAL because it’s always been there for me. Speaking into my feelings and thoughts every step of the way. Lately I’ve been noticing that TAL has been offering a different view on life than the one I am submerged in day in and day out. They’ve been going to the South they’ve been talking to Trump voters and they’ve been reporting back. There’s a lot of corporations trying to keep liberals and conservatives apart but This American Life feels like it’s trying to pull us together. At first when I listened to episodes like Our Town or I Thought It Would Be Easier I was offended by some of the opinions I heard on there and they also felt like they’d been made for someone else, but then I realized that Facebook is trying to divide us, Twitter, Instagram all keep us in our little bubbles. We are all Americans. We need someone to do a little stitching together. I now really appreciate hearing the opinions and thoughts from rural Alabama and from conservative lawmakers. I almost never hear them outside liberals making fun of them. Please do more stories like this. I’d like to understand them more.

Good

by ygbybg on Feb 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Its good

Most of the time

by whid-glor on Feb 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I look forward to the show. AND perhaps I am too critical but I think enough is done out there to explore the darker side of the human experience. How about more light comedy and happy endings that exclude drowning the armadillo and stand up detailing abusive and neglectful pet care. 👌

This American Life - Human Error Episode

by Astronuggetsandfries on Feb 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast it’s always interesting and worth listening to . It starts conversations with my teens enough for them to take out their headphones and listen with me 😀

You Need This

by The Burnetts on Feb 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

No other podcast has taught me more about how it’s OK to change your mind. Without change, we can’t be better. Sit back, relax, and enjoy.

Interesting

by Trinkydink on Feb 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Well done, smart, interesting topics

Not the same

by Cat chicken on Feb 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I have been listening to this show for nearly 15 years. It was one of my favorites on NPR. I would get so engrossed in an episode, that I would sit in my car and continue listening until it was over. I don't listen to it much anymore, because it has changed. I used to love the unique stories that were so entertaining, and gripping, and did not have anything to do with politics. I feel the show now has evolved into expressing a political viewpoint. I used to escape into the stories, now I run away from them. It's very sad. I wish they would leave politics out of their stories and move back into being more engaging, and entertaining.

Beautiful

by Flando Maltrizian on Feb 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This show is just beautiful