Average rating:

4.5
out of 22274 ratings.

Always great

by Matty BP on May 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One of the best out there

ZEfabyebhz

by aw8'vyww on May 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

SZl Xmmns?'wx,bzcsoinzA

Absolutely love it!

by Ang.V on May 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast.

Love this show

by elye999 on May 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Long time listener, first time reviewer! Love This American Life!

My favorite podcast to listen during when cooking

by Jamandymoo3 on May 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast! Their reporting and story telling is so compelling. I love the diversity and openness of their topics. I have a serious case of FOMO when I miss one episode.

So good

by Excedringirl on May 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love it!

Awesome

by Sandyyyy! on May 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This American Life is a classic that never fails

Like going down a rabbit hole

by sgummadi on May 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Every episode teaches me something new. I feel like I'm a better more empathic person after listening to this American life.

G.O.A.T.

by Capybara Snout on May 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The greatest of all time.

Diverse and Excellent

by Kakechik on May 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

You know know what you're going to get, but you always know it's going to be good!

The best

by Mitter P on May 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

TAL was my "gateway drug" to podcasts. Between the variety of topics covered, time spent/dedication of reporters, inclusion of those typically not given a voice, and brilliance of ira glass, This American Life is truly broadcasting at its greatest.

Podcast HOF

by Mathew - on May 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

THE podcast to get into podcasts

Pregnant pause

by P.fitz on May 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm a long time listener that picked up this new podcast pregnant pause. They said they have almost as many reviews as TAL. It's a good podcast but it's new. lol so I came by to write a review here.

Too political

by theyllneverguessthisone on May 13, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I used to absolutely love this show when they just told stories. Now it's become too political for my taste.

Amazing Show, Longtime Listener

by krispychap on May 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have so many favorites -- the gold standard in podcasting!

Meh

by smellie_bellie on May 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

This podcast is really hit and miss for me. Sometimes it's really engaging and sometimes hard to listen to.

I heart TAL

by KRD Dallas on May 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm an obsessive binge listener. I love Ira Glass and his team. Excellent journalists, interesting topics and unique perspectives.

Pure storytelling, not journalsim

by jon111111111111111111 on May 12, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Pure storytelling, not journalsim like the show would have you believe. Constantly burying the lead.

The best

by Dianad51784 on May 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My number 1 Podcast! Everything is excellent about it!

It'll Make Sense

by Kklo623 on May 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

What a fascinating bunch of interviews - (even catching a new side of Ira--as he gets interviewed during his days off) - exploring how people's values change over time. I love this podcast. Thank you!

Hit or miss

by hh941 on May 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

There are some great 1s and some not so great. 1 of the best things about this podcast is that they have transcripts for each episode on their website so you can go thru the transcript to determine whether or not to listen in to a particular episode

Turned into an NPR junkie

by Jedibrat on May 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Was recommended this podcast and started my fascination and total addiction to NPR. Such good quality and the stories are powerful and make me question. Can't speak highly enough of TAL and NPR.

Do you really need a review at this point?

by r_a_1 on May 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Just subscribe.

Great inspiration

by Mshao24 on May 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one of the few podcasts that have directly inspired ours, How the World Should Work. We can only hope to one day reach the same number of people. Thank you for providing such a great example!

Usually great, sometimes striking and sublime

by Gumpster2010 on May 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This American Life is consistently very good. The viewpoint is clear and I enjoy the variety. And every once-in-a-while there's a true gem, a story or episode so poignant, well-told, and novel that it affects me deeply (in a way that very few things can). The best example is the two episodes on Harper High School. I always appreciate the show's open-minded attitude, and it has taught me how to be a more understanding person with more nuanced views on the world and others.

Good, great, goofy... and everything in between!

by 4CsnFun on May 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Episode #615, "The Beginning of Now", is a real eye opener, but more than that, it's a superb piece of writing and reporting that is pure gold. And to a lesser degree, so, too, is episode #614— "The Other Mr. President". In short, both episodes are expertly produced, written and presented, and this has real impact, and real meaning for those of us who care to stay informed about crucial issues, and who rely on professionals like the TAL team. Thank you, one and all! (P.s. It seems completely wrong of Apple iTunes to sort reviews in "ascending" order! New listeners trying to assess a podcast by way of its listener's reviews should not have to scroll past (down) hundreds—or in TAL's case, THOUSANDS—of old reviews to get at the much more salient, up-to-the-moment reviews; reviews that tell a person far more about a program's current relevance and currency than 5, 8, and 10 year-old reviews! (It makes writing a review essentially meaningless)

Awesome Work

by Hankster218 on May 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Always fun to hear.

Addictive

by evie1585 on May 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I can't really add anything that the other reviewers haven't already mentioned. Great stories that pull you in and stay with you.

Addicting

by jenifaohjennie on May 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

So good!

Still the best

by A Poker on May 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Has been for years.

Who could not love this

by Sheabyrd on May 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One of my favorite podcasts. Always great stories

Cartel Land

by JacksonAAS on May 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I suggest everyone watch the Award winning Independant Documentary called Cartel Land.

Intelligent listening

by MC Cosmo on May 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast explores different topics relevant to our current time while keeping the topics fresh and informative. I love it!

Fascinating and Brilliant

by Saura9876 on May 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Master storytellers unwind the complexity of America today, and reveal the path that got us here. It's incredible how well they capture the different and diverse perspectives of Americans.

Excellent!

by Calyx79 on May 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Always gives me something to think about until the next episode.

Fantastic!

by R.M.S.Flood on May 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Everyone should listen!

Great podcast.

by atxthexmartin on May 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A must listen

Can't listen to Zoey Chase

by Zdavzdav on May 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

She ruins every podcast 😩

One of my favorites

by Crane-e-um on Apr 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Been listening for years...always look forward to new episodes!

Flawless.

by Didyousaycookies? on Apr 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Captivating, riveting radio. Thankful for this piece of wild truth.

Blah, over it.

by Viciouslikeme on Apr 28, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

TAL has been posting blah reruns for awhile now. Reporters seem to frequently interview their own friends and family for obscure random stories that ultimately don't go anywhere (except maybe a loose intro to the theme). In recent weeks, TAL episodes seem to largely serve as a platform to plug other podcasts. It was fun while it lasted. Unfortunately, I'm unsubscribing.

Flawless

by annadelsavio on Apr 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Really just what all podcasts should aspire to be.

fascinating

by mollyculous on Apr 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great topics, presented in an interesting way. I often have heavy traffic in my commute, but I don't care anymore when I get to listen to this podcast on my drive!I feel like I've learned so much from this podcast, thanks!

A Classic

by Luke7777777 on Apr 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been listening to This American Life for as long as I can remember and it's rarely let me down.

Amazing

by 😍😁😘 on Apr 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A podcast staple.

Great storytelling, important topics

by Mplantvzom on Apr 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoy this podcast for the variety of topics and well researched nuggets

Great

by Oaken007 on Apr 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Always learn from this Podcast. You know Ira Glass got this.

Infinity stars

by Juliannimal on Apr 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If you haven't subscribed...what are you waiting for!! Ira glass has got what you need! And there's decades worth for you to catch up on!! Best show in the universe. I hold all radio shows to the This American Life standard, and none can top it.

The Podfather of podcast

by Dansalazar on Apr 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love

I love this!!

by kylexlife on Apr 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Makes my life just a bit better