Average rating:

4.5
out of 2639 ratings.

One Of Us. One Of Us.

by RAlisterBrown on Jan 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I read Savage Love in the Stranger when I lived in downtown Seattle. Now that I'm outside the delivery area, it's nice to have Dan's voice in my ears every week. I enjoy few things more than being indoctrinated by the radical liberal cult of personality :)

My favorite podcast.

by Gao Shan on Jan 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan is responsible for so much of my education and perspective. Whether you already have an open mind or are in desperate need of developing one, this podcast is for you.

Love this!

by Amy5626 on Jan 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The podcast is a great way to learn about all types of sexuality and expressiveness. Dan savage knows his stuff but also isn't afraid to admit when he isn't sure about something.

Dan is my relationship life coach

by Sarah19999999 on Jan 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I discovered Savage love in the back of a printed copy of the onion one day in high school and I've never looked back. Dan and the tech savvy at risk youth showed me there's so much more to be discovered in a relationship than the high school drama I was experiencing and that sometimes I should question my gendered expectations of what a healthy relationship looks like. I've grown so much as a person by listening to this show.

Dan is great

by Cableguy1 on Dec 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

And runs a great show, I’ve been listening for years. Sometimes he goes on and on and makes his point again and again two or maybe four times. But that’s ok, I just zone out, he has a really hot husband.

Top of the episode = 👌🏽

by Vonwolfe on Dec 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love Dans advice but I honestly love his political rants at the top of each episode. He’s smart, funny and has a soothing angelic voice.

<3

by LALALA__88 on Dec 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan is brilliant

Good Advice

by JessyHere on Nov 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is juicy, funny, and insightful.

Subscriber since episode one - can’t listen any more!

by Western Electric 302 on Nov 19, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I’ve grown up with the lovecast, since the days of the iPod, before the commercials, before iPhones were around. I’ve learned much from Dan about human nature. I’ve appreciated the rants on the hypocrisy of political operatives and fundamentalists using religion as a cynical appeal to voters. What I can’t get past, however, are the frequent references to God as a non-existent imaginary figure, and blanketing of the real people of faith as somehow ignorant or complicit in the rise of Trumpism. Many people of faith are your natural allies in the struggle for social justice, equality, and peace, and against religious fundamentalism, Trumpism, and corporatism. I think Dan has met enough of these people to know that they are out there, and deserve some respect for living their faith.

A highlight of my week

by sophianj on Nov 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Savage Love is one of the smartest podcasts around. I love Dan’s opening monologues to each episode, where he breaks down political issues so intelligently and in a way that makes them so digestible. In his answers, he is radically honest, and always tells the caller what they NEED TO HEAR, even if it’s not what they want to hear. Dan has also made me consider the American societal norm of monogamy, and how that isn’t the answer for a lot of people. He’s made me examine my romantic and sexual life in a way that I think will even save future relationships. If I could give this a 6, I would.

Hatecast

by 1911KC on Oct 23, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I'm relatively new to the gay community and thought this would be a good podcast to learn something, but I was very wrong! It is nothing but a hate-podcast for Trump. I get it you don't like the guy but do you really have to start very podcast like this? You can't honestly say that all of your listeners think exactly like you!

Been a fan for decades

by sean808080 on Oct 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been following Dan Savage for decades! He is a sharp intellect and a terrific communicator. This podcast is a must listen every Tuesday.

Exposure

by PeterBucket on Oct 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I do not agree with all of Dan’s political points as I think they are sometimes driven by emotion instead of facts but I appreciate being exposed to them. I love the sex and relationship advice section and find myself a little excited every Tuesday to get down and dirty with Dan. Most of all I am grateful for a glimpse in to a world I would otherwise have close to zero exposure to.

Best sex/women advice this straight guy ever got.

by Michael Moncrief on Oct 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan is terrific and understands the complicated human psychology that underlays human sexuality. Sometimes I don’t like his vitriolic political positions and hate the same from the other side. But in terms of this podcast I won’t take a star for it. Just a mild heads that if the beginning rant pisses you off or generalizes you/your values into a into a vapid caricature of a less-than-human hate monster who just wants oppress anyone you don’t agree with.....just keep listening for the sex/relationship advice. Thanks for everything you’ve taught me Dan!

Dan I love you, man!

by Brett Jameson on Sep 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great show. Time to catch up on listening!

Garbage

by Puddn76 on Sep 10, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Garbage podcast

Never a dull moment!

by NYCLG on Aug 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the openness and caring advice he provides! I don't always know all the acronyms used but you can figure it out :) it's a judgement free zone!

Authentic & Empowering A's to Q's, & Much More!

by Cmariewebb on Aug 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My advice is simply to listen to and enjoy this podcast, frequently!

Love the Show!!!

by Ohiapo001 on Aug 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Please keep it up. My Mom was a pioneer of Sex Ed/AIDS Education in Hawaii beginning in the 80's. I lost a lot of really great friends and "Uncles". I'm a straight male 45, and my home was the stop, on Fri. and Sat. nights, for all my friends to get condoms and astroglide. I'm proud of how many lives she effected in her pursuit of education to the young people in school during the AIDS epidemic in Hawaii in the early 90's. It was an uphill battle all the way. But saved many lives. Love your show. Mahalo Nui

Good buuuut

by Busy employee on Aug 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Dan is a very knowledgeable person who in touch with not only United States society but societies around the world and in the past. I just don't agree with him on some things or when I do I feel like he's being rude about helping someone as if they were an idiot. I don't feel that judgement has any place in therapy or advising, I mean maybe with the criminals that are brought up sometimes. Thanks Dan but I'm out but #impeachthemotherf%#*er

Great podcast

by regan8or on Aug 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

For years this has been one of my standby podcasts. Dan delivers interesting commentary and insights, and even when I don't agree with a response he gives I still really think about why, what I do think, and what that means. Great for those looking to really think.

Love this show!

by parsleysage28 on Aug 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Covers a wide variety of LGBT+ relationships

A mind for the times

by papertiger29 on Aug 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Put simply, Dan Savage is one of the wisest, smartest, most compassionate and funniest figures of our time. Have been listening attentively from the beginning without pause.

Honest Clarity

by MichelleTheDragon on Jul 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan really has the gift of clarity and insight when seeing to the heart of issues and conflicts, and his directness is refreshing. In the process of listening, I have found that I've received a great deal of education and my outlook on sex and relationships has benefited as a result.

Guilty pleasure

by Jtimmer on Jul 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I love hearing Dan's take on love! I don't always agree but his perspective is always edgy and with a lot of heart! Keep it up!!

Dan Shreds

by hansenthehawkboy on Jul 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm a literal wood hermit who spends a lot of time alone working in the wilderness but when I'm back in the city I can whip out little tidbits of Dan's advice that always seems to jive with those of whom I'm giving it to. It's also very nice to be reminded that we all have problems and that they're worth listening to.

Love love love

by JL718 on Jul 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the podcast that got me listening to podcasts! Been a huge fan of Dan and his column since I saw my first stranger at 16-still have my first clipping😍 just a matter of time before I move up to the Magnum. Nancy and the tech savvy youth-Thanks for being awesome.

So Fun

by Aunika07 on Jul 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love listening to Dan. He's raw and real. I love listening to people's questions and Dans answers.

Good, Giving and Game

by Carhootel on Jul 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have learned so much about how to be a good partner, great podcast!

RealArtNerd

by RealArtNerd on Jul 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

To describe Dan Savage as "no-nonsense" would be an understatement. His pointed advice based on his decades of experience in the sex advice world is both cutting and kind. Dan's rants at the beginning of the podcast contextualize his philosophies of relationships and sexuality within contemporary social issues. He is a wonderful teacher and the kind of friend who will encourage you to challenge yourself while also telling you when you're being an idiot. When his advice becomes contentious he opens dialogue with listeners and reminds us that with a few guiding principals (GGG, Campsite Rule, DTMFA, etc.) we can take care of ourselves.

Vile

by Jmiller0313 on Jul 10, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This show is vile and disgusting. Certified garbage.

Best Advice!

by Erick Suarez on Jul 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been listening to Dan Savage and the tech savvy youth for years now. I am not one for writing these reviews, but I kind of have too. They are great and podcast is amazing. Get the magnum for best longer interviews!!!

Dan Savage changed my life

by Gnomer84 on Jul 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

For me, Savage Love is the ORIGINAL podcast; it was the show that got me hooked on the podcast medium. No looking back; I'm a podcast addict now. Over the years Dan has educated me, made me laugh, and changed the way I approach queer issues, relationships, and paella.

"Gay rant"

by Greatestislove42 on Jul 04, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

As others have shared, it's become his soapbox for all things liberal and gay. Ranting. No positivity.

Dan is fantastic!

by taylo393 on Jun 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast, it's made me recognize my own ignorance and prejudice to things outside the "norm" and really made me more accepting and inclusive. Thanks, Dan!

This podcast is GGG

by Totally derechos on Jun 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been listening for years now and it's truly one of the best podcasts out there. I love Dan's advice and sense of humor and his news at the top of the show. I truly feel that listening has made me a better person. More compassionate and empathetic, and obviously encouraged me to have a better sex life. Keep up the good work!

SUBSCRIBE FOR FULL EFFECT

by mdb1632 on Jun 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The host Dan Savage is a pioneer in so many fields, and he's brining his amazing relationship perspectives into peoples ears & lives every week with his call-in relationship show. Absolutely life changing - can really bring perspective into your world.

Love it

by Kamarall on Jun 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan Savage has been such a huge influence on cultural attitudes towards sex and dating, at least in my circles. I've listened to other advice podcasts, but Dan's is distinguished by how logical and compassionate he is. He has a framework of views from which his advice arises, not just his gut. Also very entertaining. Love the rants.

Pretentious sensationalist like a click bait ad

by foolish flobberworm on Jun 15, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I feel his advise to be pretentious, full of ego. like a populist movement, he would say anything for the sake of getting someone to listen and comment just to get attention, never mind that is obscene, inappropriate or sensationalist. he is creating useless melodrama just so he can get some form of response of any kind. Similar to Facebook click bait ads, it's quite hard to tolerate.I suggest get better podcasts, like this American life, or nytimes modern love. Instead of this pretentious and sensationalist invention.

Racist, misogynist, can do better

by hagnewsv on Jun 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

A man who clearly thinks his status as one minority allows him to ignore his status as a person with privilege in every other aspect of life. He has given some excellent advice but he needs to work on growing his empathy and expanding his worldview.

Informative

by Sonja TB on Jun 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I started listening to this podcast recently and it provides useful information on what to say and how to say it in uncomfortable or. new situations. I love this podcast!

My favorite thing about Tuesday

by Karissima on Jun 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I look forward to every Tuesday because I know Savage Love will be updated. The first 5-10 minutes is usually dedicated to commentary about an important political issue. In the past 6 months this has become quite an infuriating few minutes but I appreciate his smart, coherent arguments.

Favorite pod

by Sekhmet66 on May 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Funny, snarky and informative. Thanks Dan

Dan "Maddow" Savage

by Lrh0000 on May 12, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Dan's column and podcasts were great...back when they were about sex and relationships. But now he is more leftist political hack than entertainer. Thanks for poisoning my escape from the news.

Hold on and put in your headphones

by Jorgman on May 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Hilarious and entertaining. Dan brings the noise and doesn't pull punches. Dan is a bleeding heart socialist and he preaches from this platform... often. If you can get past that, the content is gold.

yay Dan

by RLTuy on May 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Where would I be without Dan Savage? I'm a better person for reading and hearing his advice to others for years and years. I don't always agree with him and you don't have to either, but he's always amusing and passionate and informative.

Love

by Shelleylynnk on Apr 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

So great

Loooove

by Kylieadams on Apr 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm so in love with the Savage Lovecast. What Dan is doing for people is amazing and I love his sometimes snarky comments. If you want to listen to some serious advice and sometimes hilarious conversation, this is the one for you.

Maybe a new title is in order?

by Luna Ohio on Apr 19, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Perhaps this should be the "Savage Intolerant of Not-my-beliefs and Also Some Advice Lovecast?" I used to enjoy this podcast every single week. I unsubscribed some time ago and check in periodically to see if Dan has stopped opening with political hatred. It hasn't happened yet. I muscled through the political propaganda rants for as long as I could to get to the good part of the podcast when he takes calls, answers questions and does what he claims to mean to do in this podcast: give love and sex advice. I finally gave up when I couldn't stand the political hatred anymore. Be better than the people you criticize, Dan.

Love it

by Jessyt3 on Apr 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great show