Average rating:

5
out of 8656 ratings.

Great

by Ethan Stupka on Jun 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Best history podcast

Incredible!

by FiresDave on Jun 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Don't let the fact that these are 4, 5, 6 hour podcasts deter you. Dan explains history better than anyone I've ever heard and makes it easily digestible and compelling

Outstanding

by Tedros1 on Jun 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Best historical podcast hands down! Look no further.

Hang in there, it's worth it.

by Hillary Pierce on Jun 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The most charismatic, gripping 30 hour-long exposes of historic topics ever made!

GREAT

by BenReading on Jun 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Best show of its kind

Loving it

by Bostonchick1017 on Jun 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love his passion about the stories, they are phenomenally researched and sometimes I laugh out loud because his commentary is funny. The stories relax me and I feel like I'm learning about history!

Insanely great

by SubliminalBrad on Jun 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If you had told me years ago that a 23-hour audio series on World War I would be absoutely riveting, I would have been skeptical to say the least. But Carlin's ability to present historical events in context, human drama and all, is unparalleled in the podcasting world.

Wow, just wow.

by Mipiace61 on Jun 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Just finished listening to the “Blueprint for Armageddon” World War I series of podcasts. I still can’t believe this held my interest for roughly 20+ hours. Simply the best.

Must listen for any history lover. Great podcast regardless of basic use of primary sources

by Jakelax21 on Jun 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

As there are many other "history" podcasts, Dan's HH is by far the best. His style is engaging and thought provoking, keeping you engaged for his lengthy 5 hour episodes. The storytelling delivery is good for the podcast format. I have reccomended this podcast to many of my family and friends (those who mught not be as facinated by history as I am) and they love it. As a student of history, I do have to say I am a little dissapointed with the useage of primary sources. Dan does a good job integrating primary sources into his story, but more are needed to support his "analysis". The sources are not used to support any argument and used more to guide his reflective account.Overall, this is a very solid podcast. Highly reccomend over any other availble. Dan's work and analytical ability has grown over the years, but he needs to make better use of primary sources

Thanks Dan

by targunp on Jun 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Why wasn't school like this growing up, this is too good.

Best podcast around

by Ifnrkckvc on Jun 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan adds more color to history then anyone. He truly brings it to life and does a wonderful job of really capturing the essence of the times and people he talks about. Highly recommended.

Sorry... I can't.

by Tcd99 on Jun 19, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The giggling sorority girl tone kills me. I have tried multiple times. No facts, rambling. 😬😜 Just bad.

Dan the Man!

by KandyMakesYouDandy on Jun 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the show. I enjoy the specificity and intricacy used with describing very minor details that paint the most vivid images of the broader period/topic. Highly recommend this podcast for history buffs and people that enjoy a good account of history through an amazingly well researched and organized account.

Worth your time

by some guy 12 on Jun 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Give it a listen

Awesome

by ThE+SaInT on Jun 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very thought provoking and educational. His passion makes it all that much more enjoyable, and it's down at a pace where you don't feel you'll be bogged down with so much information. Highly recommended.

HiSTORY how it should be done

by Most Giant Vanilla Bear on Jun 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Too often, history is presented as timelines of events and facts. Dan, being a journalist and not a historian, changes that. He is able to give an outside perspective and truly tell a STORY. Even through the marathon series with 3 hour episodes a piece, you'll be hooked the whole way. I would often lie in bed, stay at the ceiling, and just listen. It's intoxicating. Once you start, you'll want to buy the rest ($70 and SO worth it).

Dan the Man

by jlunsfo on Jun 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This dude is straight awesome.

Great stuff

by Hoffamania3000 on Jun 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast. The topics and and discussion are second to none.

Totally awesome insights, delivery and passion

by SalatheMan on Jun 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love Dan's insights, relevant comments (e.g., to today's events), and how historians developed their perspectives/theories. LOVE IT! Yes, I donated to his endeavor and can't wait for the next installment.

Fantastic sense of history

by irvinecanadian on Jun 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan does a great job telling incredible stories that are actually history. Who would have thought a 25 hour series on the Khan's would actually be interesting?

Preeminent History podcast

by Robespierre__ on Jun 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Impossible to recommend more highly.

Podcast of podcasts

by mehatch on Jun 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Episodes 27-30 "Ghosts of the Ostfront" (now only avail in iTunes) are the finest works of art in audio I have ever experienced. Including music.

The best

by Peachtree Street on Jun 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan Carlin has an astonishing capacity to integrate a ton of historical research into a riveting narrative. He loves his subjects (and they are wildly varied) that you will, too.

A National Treasure

by Dylan.R.Andersen on Jun 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Whenever I have the opportunity to share my excitement about podcasts with someone, Hardcore History is always one of my first recommendations. I don't have the literary skills necessary to convey how important this podcast is to me, and should be to all those interested in learning about the past. The emphasis that Mr Carlin puts into nuance and context related to the lives of the actors or the events being covered is nothing short of brilliance. Had this podcast been available when I was in high school I can almost guarantee it would have provided me with the fire to become a professional historian myself. This podcast is so great. Thank you to everyone involved in bringing it to us.

Great storytelling

by ChadCross on Jun 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan is a great storyteller. He makes history interesting but not in a silly, goofy sort of way. He is serious in his quest and that's what I appreciate

History in the Making

by catsandbinders on Jun 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan Carlin puts so much work into each podcast that I have to applaud him on Effie alone. His research and commentary make for an engrossing listen. I look forward to each new episode, knowing my commute will be perfect for the next few days.

WWI was great!

by ggallin13 on Jun 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

All are really good, but the WWI series has no comparison.

Absolutely amazing

by Thestewside on Jun 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Hands down my favorite podcast. Dan brings historical events to life in an entertaining, understandable and emotional way. Love to listen and learn from this amazing podcast.

Incredible

by Briand528 on Jun 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan Carlin is the single greatest podcaster ever. Nobody can give a gripping historical narrative like him.

Informative

by Bobyvvvv on Jun 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Always a good listen

Best history podcast ever!

by drysz on Jun 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The episodes are so well researched. Dan put so much effort into each episode and it shows!

Awesome

by Drweberlovesmia on Jun 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great show.

Top of the food chain

by this might make you mad on Jun 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the way he brings a story to life often times parts of stories that have been ignored by history or forgotten very informative and entertaining

The best podcast I've ever listened too

by smoothRinkles on Jun 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast can't get enough. I think it is important to listen to every detail, this is the only podcast I have rules for: 1. only in the car or while grilling 2. Only alone3. If my mind wanders into a point Dan makes, stop the podcast, mull it over, complete thought, press play.

Very repetitive

by Jay Gerard on Jun 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Honestly its good and interesting but extremely repetitive. Ive listened to about 10 episodes and the blueprint for armageddon series is extremely repetitive especially. There is no historical significance, you only learn 3 things A LOT of people died (obviously), it was horrible (obviously) and it was gruesome(obviously). You cant have 6 episode on WWI about 3 hours each just talking about the death numbers. But some other episodes are pretty good. Youll hear him repeat the same exact line over and over again.

My favorite podcast

by XtraCheddarGold on Jun 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I adore Hardcore History and have listened to every episode multiple times. These are some of my favorite pieces of media I've ever encountered and I always try to recommend Dan's work to anyone I can. Great starters are Destroyer of Worlds and Prophets of Doom.

I can't get enough

by !!jake0004!!? on Jun 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have listened to and enjoyed this podcast so much. I've been listening for a couple years now. I never leave reviews on anything but I felt I owed to these people. Extremely well researched. It has a good tempo without getting bogged down too much in the details despite the long show times. The human element Dan adds every episode is great. He really found his voice a year or so in to this.

Every episode is a masterpiece

by WHITE OGA on Jun 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is the best example of how to make learning interesting and fun. Dan is a master story teller and every episode is a journey or exploration of a topic. Not only is it produced at the highest level...but the way Dan weaves in and out different threads and leads you to a place where all those threads come together...is not only masterfully done but it also gives you certain satisfaction in getting to end of the story along side Dan. Truly, this podcast is a gem. We have to wait a long while between episodes, but man...it is worth it every time!

Love it

by Rogert Theist on Jun 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I was slightly daunted by the format at first, but I find myself devouring whole episodes with unflagging interest. Dan Carlin's enthusiasm is infectious, his narratives are gripping, and the show's bound to be a treat for history fans and anyone who enjoys a good story.

Captivating

by gumbisco on May 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan is a storyteller first, historian second. I never want my commute to work to end when listening to HCH because of the great drama of his stories. Dan also has an amazing ability to take the listener on a journey into the life and mind of our ancestors, helping us to think about the human experience in new ways.

Bring history alive

by epjoyce on May 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I just listened to a 6 part series on WWI. Each part lasted from 3-4.5 hours. I could not believe that I would be interested for all those hours, but I was. Dan Carlin knows how to tell history!

Unbelievable.

by Mister Ecks on May 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm a history lover, but I've never really been into podcasts. This show was recommended by a friend of mine and I've been listening to Dan for the last month and a half straight. I haven't even listened to any music.. I can't get enough of it! If you enjoy history, this is the holy grail of historical storytelling.

Best Podcast

by RENdell13490$ on May 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been listening to podcasts for over five years and started with Hardcore History.Every podcast after Carlin's has been a let down. He set the bar so high. He inspired me to be a historian. Simply wonderful.

Amazing Podcast

by oakpack4 on May 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My only complaint is that the older episodes, by virtue of being on iTunes or the store, are only easily synced through the music app on my iPhone, and iTunes does not sell the bundles, only single episodes.

Excellent Podcast

by Jake1607 on May 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is amazing. Everyone has been epic in its detail and apporach.

Incredibly interesting!

by lacynoyes on May 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

He has a terrific knack for breaking down highly complex historic moments into fathomable situations which had great dependence or impact on so many others.

Best history podcast ever

by Joe-Zilla on May 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan Carlin's History podcast is the most interesting podcast I've ever listened to. He takes subjects from history and brings them to life. Keep up the good work.

I love this podcast

by budsalinger on May 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love love love this podcast. I've never been a history guy in any way. I truly love his storytelling and the perspective that he brings. This guy is amazing and we should all support him better than we do so he can make more podcasts more frequently. That last statement goes doubly for me.

Above and beyond the call of leisure.

by Esiaschdeprap on May 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan Carlin is now the primary history teacher of planet earth. As an amateur historian, he has the freedom to delineate and interweave each prominent historical perspective on a given event while concomitantly exhibiting his mastery of the age old craft of storytelling. Each episode seems to supersede the last in depth, breadth and entertainment value. My only complaint is that they are too perfect. I would prefer a great podcast every three months, to Dan's current 1.5 masterpiece's per year.Welcome to home room earthlings! The king is dead, long live the chronicler!

Hands down the best

by Mfell5000 on May 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan's take on history is second to none.