Average rating:

5
out of 8208 ratings.

Polished Work...Always

by Jperry79 on Feb 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

While my politics lie with The Dangerous History Podcast, Dan is simply a master. His work is refined, polished and sourced incredibly. He is a master story teller and I have listened to his podcasts multiple times....

Spectacular

by gnolFgnilF on Feb 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The WW1 series was absolutely spectacular. A chilling account of a world-changing event, expertly told.

Excellent Podcast

by Dr. Idea Lady on Feb 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Intense and well articulated narrative of a powerful historical event. The references to current events were insightful and appreciated. We are destined to repeat history without an understanding of the past dynamics. Although we have come so far, so many primitive similarities remain for power and control. Thank you for creating the podcast! Well worth the effort. And thanks thanks to Ben for helping to get them on iTunes.

Engrossing

by Mythrilspade on Feb 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the only podcast I listen to that can make me miss my turn on my morning commute.

Excellent

by J dingle on Feb 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Detailed and balanced looks at historic events

Amazing!

by Jarredb2 on Feb 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I recommend this to everyone. Great subjects, well-researched, and well told!

Podder

by Fyfrod on Feb 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Oh man..... If you like history you're in the right place. Dan and company are awesome. Possibly the best podcast, period.

Dan Carlin

by Libby.Brown on Feb 22, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

What a blow hard! A lot of people I respect like this podcast and I do not understand why. It's too authoritative with no actual authority. It's WAY too long. It might be listenable if each episode were a normal length...could just be divided every time Carlin takes a breath...

Hardcore history

by Gabemaster1928 on Feb 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Can't recommend highly enough to anyone who loves a great story

Amazing Show

by Floyd867 on Feb 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Best history podcast for years

Outstanding Historical News

by MadameHatter on Feb 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan Carlin takes you on a journey through time to observe history as you've never seen it before. All that stuff you learned in your required history classes comes to life with vivid detail of the characters, politics, and sudden realization that we are all are part of the mark the history of our world has made upon our own present. How will we shape this community for our future successors?Best podcast yet: Wrath of Khans.

I Love This Podcast

by Meantea on Feb 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Best Podcast out there. Great stories on topics that are unknown. Sometimes it hard to see where the story is going from the start but he does tie it in to her main story. BEST PODCAST OUT THERE!

Fantastic audiocast

by Shevs DC on Feb 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Educative, entertaining and thought-provoking! Hard to stop once you start.

The best

by Jimmer TP on Feb 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I follow 10 or so podcasts, and listen to most if not all their episodes. When Dan Carlin comes out with a new Hardcore History, everything else waits in line. For a while. I'll listen to his podcasts twice or more. They are so informative, well said, and fascinating. I only wish there were more, but I realize one can't sacrifice quality for quantity. Thank you, Dan Carlin, you're amazing.

Addictive and informative!

by Dans lost in music on Feb 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A terribly addictive podcast that is riddled with facts.

Gripping

by SCott12335 on Feb 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The only bad thing about this is I end up staying up for an addition 4-5 hours every time one of his shows comes up in my feed.

Storytelling

by Trooper9 on Feb 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the greatest history podcast ever. Dan Carlton asks amazing, thought provoking questions, paints unforgettable pictures with his historical accounts and will teach you so much. The show about WWI (Blueprint for Armageddon) changed the way I think about war forever.

Brilliant!

by AieaChris on Feb 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If you are looking for a quick soundbyte to teach you about a period in history, this isn't it. This is the one where you take a look at all of the pieces that make up a puzzle. The episodes are long but they don't feel long. It's history but he makes it approachable and interesting. The way he presents this is by giving the big picture of what was going on in the world that makes the topic happen the way it did. If history was taught like this in schools, we'd all be history buffs.

Great!

by Tinkerbolla on Feb 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great!

wow, just wow

by Camanoape on Feb 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Who knew a podcast could hold your attention for hours. This is how history should be told.

Best podcast out there

by Lefty5string on Feb 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Nothing, I mean nothing compares to Dan Carlin's series on WWI, Blueprint For Armageddon. It is by far the best information out there on the horrors of this war and how it changed the world. I've listened to most of his podcasts. You just can't ask for more

What else can be said?

by cwbednarz on Feb 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is with out a doubt the best history podcast available.

General Shoup's Role

by Huckleberry Kowalski on Feb 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have one addition that I believe ammends the record slightly regarding this outstanding look at the missile crises. Dan Carlin reports that all the Joints Chiefs of Staff, opposed the President's softer position. It is worth considering the outlier position of General David Shoup, Commandant of the Marine Corps. While he may have favored a blockade plus bombing of missel sites on the the island, He forcefully expressed adament opposition to invasion of Cuba. My father was on the Armed Service Committee of the US Congress at the time and observed one of Shoup's presentations. In a time when technology was less developed, Shoup would carry a mapborad with Cuba on it. He would pull down the first transparent overleaf, a map, demonstrating that Cuba, although an Island, was a big one, streching from the Eastcoast of the US to Ohio. The next overleave was a red dot. General Shoup would explain that the dot represented the Island of Tarawa, where the bloodiest Marine battle of WW II was waged and where he earned the Medal of Honor. Then, he would rhetorically ask, "How many Marines will we lose in an invasion of an Island the size of Cuba?

Lost episodes

by Brianrigs on Feb 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Does anyone know why I can't see the first 47 episodes? I want to go back and listen to them all again

Great Great Great

by Bizmuth on Feb 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Yeahhhh, subscibe to this if you love informative history told in away that is a fine balance of density and listenability!! I was a little put off by the title, as I'm not super into anything, "hardcore"... or "extreme"... or "overly dramatic for no good reason"... but!!! Dan Carlin really kept my attention and respects the subjects he speaks on, and respects the listener. Great stuff, now where do I get the rest of the episodes??

I hated History...

by ArtLess on Feb 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

...until I read other reviews of this podcast. Started late into the podcast, and am completely in-tune! I know nothing about history other than yesterday, maybe, and I'm now super interested. Thank you! I needed another podcast to fill up my workday while on the jobsite. Cheers

Perfect

by Orrome on Feb 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have never written a review for a podcast before. But after listening to every hardcore history dan ever produced I want to yell into every corner of the earth that this podcast is a masterpiece. Each episode is an absolute work of art and pain and glory and history. Your listening time simply does not get better then this. Dan has changed my life, history is so important, and he makes it not only consumable, but addictive.

Best of the Best

by 8Pod8 on Feb 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Solid. Destoryer of Worlds may be the best yet. Listen. Now.

Shockingly engaging monologues

by The Sarrrge on Feb 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I find myself not wanting to get out of the car at times because I'm really caught up in what he's saying. Well produced and delivered to really keep you in the story. Well researched as well.

Completely entertaining

by Jm05346 on Feb 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Even as a "history buff" I've learned so much from this podcast. Dan Also gives a fresh perspective I haven't heard before.

Just amazing

by Ggreet on Feb 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

An amazing story teller. Dan is just the best.

First and the Best

by LdF13fgg on Feb 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan Carlin's Hardcore History podcast was the first podcast I actually listened to. Thank you Dan for your great content and introducing me to the podcast world!

Historical, Factual Entertainment

by B.E.Meistro on Feb 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It's Rated 5 Gold Stars for a reason.If you've never liked history but wish you could like it then this is the show for you & if ur a history lover, then this is your paradise. PURE GOLD!!!!

Priceless

by The Infamous Jrod on Feb 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This should be included in middle school, high school, and college history classes.

LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this history podcast

by JeremyZ13 on Feb 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have listened to every show made. I love them all, and I espcially love the big ones that have been made over the years. Punic Wars, Genghis Kahn, the Roman Republic, WWI, WW2 & the Eastern Front... They are al great!

Why is this so highly rated?

by JoshuaDeLung on Feb 08, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Are people actually listening to the words coming out of this guy's mouth or do they just need something to put them to sleep at night?He just sounds like a drunk guy rambling aimlessly with no point. If you need six hours to make your point, you obviously have no clue what you are talking about.

Best Podcast Around

by Trevlowski on Feb 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I learn so much from each episode and Mr. Carlin keeps you engaged the entire time.

Benchmark in Podcast Excellence!!!

by Rxavier1979 on Feb 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan Carlin is the master at tackling some of the toughest topics in our history and presenting with mountains of detailed facts and in such an exciting and passionate way. What I love the most are his attention to detail as well as his knack to consider the events through the eyes of the people during that time period and how they were thinking at the time. He is amazing at painting the stage and showing you all of what was going on at the time to better understand the reality in that time period as much as he possibly can. Some people may not like the long episodes but I am grateful that Dan gives you 100% of what he has before tapping out. I've listened to 30 minute podcasts from others that felt way longer than a 5 hour marathon from DC! Keep it up Dan!!!

Favorite podcast

by Markhehe on Feb 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Always look forward to the next one!!

Great job!

by Waittwutt on Feb 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Awesome!!

The best history podcast

by Tamponfetish on Feb 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Oh my god I love Dan Carlin

Incredible

by Martek44 on Feb 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Simply the best history pod out there.

The best of both worlds

by ChelseaShea24 on Feb 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

As a history student with a degree in English, I am in love with Dan Carlin's Hardcore History. Not only does he give you the references that he used (see dancarlin.com where you can see literally all his research books for each podcast), but he uses the sources from all over and blends them so masterfully in his tellings of history. He claims to not be a historian, but I have learned more from him about World War I (Blueprint for Armageddon series) than I ever did in a history class, and my emphasis before I switched majories quite late in the degree was on World War II, which would never have happened without the first war. The series is, quite literally, about 22 hours long and I have honestly listened to it from start to finish over 10 times now and, despite being able to quote parts, am still learning new things and picking up on things I missed on previous listens and it never gets old. King of Kings is another fantastic series that grabs and holds your attention from start to finish, which, as someone who has always struggled with anything other than modern history (US Civil War forward tends to be where I have always concentrated my efforts), it is exciting to be able to engage and care about this older bunch of history that I've always just kind of brushed off before. I would recommend Dan Carlin to anyone looking for something both entertaining and engaging in a heart beat!!!

History the way it should be!

by Binkbinker on Feb 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Comprehensive yet somehow never boring. Simply the best way to dip into history.

Don't be intimidated

by Nesta4595 on Feb 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My new favorite podcast. I did not know I could listen to some many hours of a podcast about a single subject

Sweeeeet!

by Wrthfxdhjnnhv134467 on Feb 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan has a way of telling the story like you and him are standing in the shadows watching it happen. Thanks, Dave.

Bar setter.

by ViejaCalifornia on Feb 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast sets the bar for history programs. Intensively researched, coherent, and with quality recording. Every episode is worth a listen.

The best history podcast on iTunes

by zbullek21 on Feb 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan Carlin gives the best, most in depth history podcast around. I've learned about WW1, the khans, and other topics I never knew I would enjoy. It's a fantastic pod.

Great podcast for paperwork

by Barnabus Witherby on Feb 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is great if you are having a boring day and need a jolt to the brain!

The best

by Jbelvery on Feb 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is simply one of the most entertaining and well done podcasts out there. Incredibly comprehensive in its attention to detail and its information. I have never felt that history is more applicable to my life than after listening to these episodes. I unequivocally recommend it.