Average rating:

5
out of 27169 ratings.

Website

by Gene02906 on Nov 13, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The website has been basically useless. Purchased episodes 1-49 will not download to my iPhone. I’m done pressing download buttons and ask for a refund.

Painfotainment

by 3rdlegtony on Nov 11, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

One of my favorite podcast - but you missed this one.

This is the best.

by Mad MACC on Nov 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have listened to several historical podcasts but these are by far the best. No monotone. No liberal bias. Very descriptive and well researched.

All of a sudden I like history

by MK_Boston on Nov 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

History has historically been my least favorite subject. That changed drastically once I started listening to this podcast. Dan is so engaging you can’t help but not missed a word.

Tropefest

by Friendlygamesquid777 on Nov 04, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Admittedly significantly better than most history podcasts, but ultimately relays on a conventionally liberal sensibility for is central vantage point — not always, but frequently enough to erode the real potential the podcast has to be truly and actually brilliant. The depth is excellent, the passion is engaging, but authentic insight is lacking.As a guide, Dan does not in the end take “history literates” to new or different places. With so much going for it, it is a shame.

Time travel.

by Thano the Piano on Nov 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Carlin takes you to the location and time period, puts you in the minds, and takes you for a accelerating ride through the stories of man kind.

Best History Podcast

by TheHistoryPages on Nov 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan Carlin is a brilliant storyteller who is able to take on epic topics. I’ve listened to every episode of this podcast, many of them more than once. Each story is entertaining and enlightening. History buffs will love it.

Can’t get enough

by Imabossbrobro on Nov 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I was never big on podcasts until a friend told me that I should check out Dan Carlin’s hardcore history. I am extremely glad I did!! I have listened to every single one of his podcasts on here and continue to crave more. I was never big on history prior to this because the way it was presented was always so boring and dull and it really seemed like memorizing the date was more important then what you can actually learn. I’ve literally learned so much I had no idea about and would have never thought I would be interested in learning through Dan! He is so enthusiastic on every single podcast and explains things in very relatable ways and to the point. He also has an amazing way of describing emotions for the different time periods I mean personally their were times I was mad, laughing, or on the verge of tears from some of the ways he’s described some of these events. It has humbled me personally so much by hearing some of these tragic things in history that have happened and it’s made me forget about my problems because they are nothing compared to some of these things that have happened or what people have been through. If you work mind numbing work and are able to listen to headphones or a speaker you should defiantly do yourself a favor and check these out. I normally listen to these at work and have found myself listening to them long after I get off of work at home! Thank you Dan for all the time you have put into these and please don’t stop putting out new content anytime soon! By the 1 percent chance you read these comments if you could cover world war 2 in the same depth you did with 1. I would be personally interested to listen. I couldn’t get enough of blueprints for Armageddon. I was sad when I actually finished it all and wanted more of course as humans we always want more, new and better!

Thank you

by Jasen Carlson on Oct 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love history yet I’m horrible at reading. When I listen to something I’m able to imagine it and retain it almost verbatim. You have helped me connect the dots of history and given me a whole new perspective on what really happened in the past. You have a great gift, thanks for sharing it.

Like a little kid waiting for a package in the mail

by DamnChucker on Oct 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Unless you’re a masochist, don’t ever start a series until they’re all complete. Everyday I “run” back and forth to the Apple podcast app praying the next episode will be there. Slow as molasses, but worth every moment.

Russian Revolution

by Ruru432 on Oct 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love your show. I’m deep into your WWI episodes and would love it if you had a Russian Revolution series. Keep it coming!

Thank you Mr. Carlin

by Ptsfgh on Oct 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A true masterpiece of history in audio form.

Tip-top, thoroughly illustrated for listening

by Skb2605 on Oct 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This show subject matter research is immersive and vividly explained. He makes it easy to follow a multi episode series (about 4 hours each) Giving depictions through a myriad of statistics, actual first hand accounts, historical documents and modern day discoveries, the WW1 series is narrated as if you were watching it on TV. As a listener, I have always appreciated the effort put forth in these works to try and put what may have been bland subject matter in to mentally tangible examples. A good example is the villagers first hand accounts of the German military marching through cities and villages as one mass of machine and man. I also appreciate the candidness with which subjective material is presented with. While listening more and more, you can tell he has done the research and has put much thought in to these episodes, yet he still (to the best of my knowledge) points out his personal opinions and related side-bar. The sharing of ones’ personal thoughts and opinions often provokes angles and perspectives you may not think to consider otherwise. In the beginning of a couple it may seem as if he is avoiding getting to the subject matter in the particular episode’s description. Don’t be swayed, ‘tis but another artfully crafted dialogue presented to the audience so that they won’t be in their cars on the highway or at work lifelessly plugging numbers in to spreadsheets at your desk; rather, they will be, in no more appropriate besieged by a barrage by the cliche, “in the trenches” of the Great War.

No words

by Triple Exclamation Point on Oct 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

what more can be said about how brilliant hardcore history is, it's already been covered in a million comments, in depth and entertaining but never dumbed down for the mainstream, you really can't get much better in terms of pop history, which comes across better here than in most books.

Amazing

by Darkredash on Oct 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I can’t tell you how much I’ve learned from Dan. Thank you for all the amazing stuff you cover.

Excellent Info Wish Donating was easier

by Urban Buff on Oct 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan and Staff,Outstanding history! I thoroughly enjoyed your WWI history series! I would like to simply make a one time $10 donation and it has proven to be a real challenge due to the website driving me down the road of a monthly donation. As wonderful as this podcast is, it is not the only pod cast I listen to and therefore I’m not wanting to make monthly donations to every podcast I listen to.

The very best

by 12 hws on Oct 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

When Dan finishes a series, everyone is so excited, sadly I become addicted to your storytelling.

Amazing

by Ajdoeubaohsbxid on Oct 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Super interesting podcast. Love the presentation. Only wish there was a series on WW2.

Fantastic

by danny kenn on Oct 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

There is a reason this show has glowing reviews. Nothing like lectures you’d hear in high school , dan focuses on the most violent and dramatic events in history.

There is only one drawback to Hardcore History

by A Listener and Teller of Tales on Oct 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

There is not enough. Totally understandable given how in depth each episode is, let alone a multi-episode arc. Otherwise, I love this show. As a history nerd and details geek, I recommend this podcast above all others. Gone so far as to buy some of the old episodes, all of them are great but Dan’s newest ones are just epic. Again, the only draw back is there isn’t more to listen to and have my imagination hijacked by Carlin’s historical storytelling and questions. 6 outta 5 stars.

Extraordinarily Human Perspective on History

by Mo Light on Oct 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan Carlin says, “I’m not a historian, but I read the best”. Boy howdy, does he ever ! And then he tells the tale.Mr. Carlin’s passion, talent, and humanity shine through his stories of times that shook the world- a world noticeably still shaking.I know I have found a GREAT podcast when I am unable to refrain from telling my spouse all about what I am experiencing . Yup. That happened.Passion is contagious when communicated effectively, and Dan is a pro.Thanks, DanYou are making the world a better place.

The Champ!!

by Cahill4225 on Oct 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan Carlin’s podcast is the best. I’m always excited when hints are dropped that a new episode is on the way. The best history podcast out there and there are plenty of other excellent history pods, but HH is in a class of its own.

Great but a little slow

by Popsumtags06 on Oct 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I love your shoes and listen to them often, the only thing I don’t like is the slow pace but you can just speed it up.😁 love it

Engaging

by reconlion on Oct 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan and team do the best history lectures within this realm. You will be on the edge of your seat for hours at a time. I have listened to some of these podcasts several times and will continue to do so, the effort with details provided are unmatched. You will be happy to give any of these a listen but be prepared to never leave Dan’s side.

General Review

by Mass and Damped on Oct 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I thought this was an incredible podcast. Danh is incredibly passionate and informative when delivering the content. I recommend this to anyone who likes history or just wants to learn more about certain events.

My first

by r11p11 on Oct 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This got me into podcasting. Dans insights and narrative bring history to a new perspective.

The Best Podcaster in the Universe

by ersmed on Oct 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan Carlin was born to Podcast. I listen to about 4-5hrs of podcasts 7 days a week. I have about 6 favorite categories of podcasts I enjoy, say 2 dozen podcasts I listen to regular, 50 different ones in total. Dan commitments more heart, soul and time to researching than any other podcaster, then he presents the material with more excitement and passion than anyone else. I can, and do, listen to him for hours on end and always come away marveling at his greatness. He’s the MJ (Jordan) of his genera.

Remarkable

by SamGrassi2501 on Oct 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is hands down the best podcast I am subscribed to. I have listened to every single episode available and they are all great. I highly recommend this podcast!

Storytelling

by alizaire74 on Oct 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A good friend kept recommending this to me. I finally listened to the first two episodes about WWI on a road trip. Fantastic! I'm hooked; I'll reach behind the pay wall.Not sure what poor reviewers are expecting. Podcasting is storytelling, making it entertaining enough to keep you there for hours at a stretch. This Dan does well. I'm glad he doesn't overburden with dates and numbers. You can find that stuff in history books. Instead, he places events in the context of other trends in history, making it more meaningful.

Please do not stop making these

by S. Clown on Oct 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I am not typically an avid listener of podcasts. I tend to favor terrestrial radio and listen to local stations and programs as they are relevant to me. Hardcore History is FAR and away one one my favorite programs (and is no doubt my favorite podcast) I have ever had the pleasure to listen to on any medium of media I have experienced in my life. Please continue to make this podcast until the literal end of time.

Intense

by David Wray on Oct 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The vivid descriptions that Dan gives in these shows recounting historical events is hypnotizing. He puts much research and effort into each episode that if calling him passionate would be the understatement of a lifetime. At this point I’m certain that if he decided to upload a 5 hour episode on the history of the formula for Pantene shampoo, I’d be hooked on the edge of my seat well past sundown.

Thankful

by eliasdrew on Oct 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Such a great podcast, and they way he goes into detail and tells the story is so enjoyable and thought provoking. Ive learned so much and look forward to every one i get to here. Thank you so much.

Amazing.

by Airrrrick on Oct 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one of the best podcasts I listen to. I live in anxiety waiting for the next one to come out. I recommend to everyone!

Wrath of Khan?

by Eckral on Oct 03, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Why isn’t this up on the podcast. It’s the most talked about series from Carlin!!! If this series was available then more traffic would run though the other stories. Just stupid organization really. And no, I don’t want to buy it off of his website.

Dan is super detailed and honest...but only episodes 50-62?

by BASmith79 on Sep 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Seems like there where 62 episodes but only 12 are available. WTH?

Absolutely incredible narratives

by Scribe Rothschild on Sep 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Hands down my favorite podcast. Dan C.’s addiction to context make his narratives very thought-provoking and impossible to turn off once you’ve started.

Educational and Entertaining

by Cladmir on Sep 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This has to be the best way to learn history!

I’m Addicted to HCH

by PublicFriendemy on Sep 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is without a doubt one of the best podcasts out there. Every episode is so full of life and color, and Dan does such a good job being thorough and engaging. I find myself checking daily for a new episode and, while they’re sparse at times, each one is worth it. The Blueprint for Armageddon is absolutely my favorite, but it’s a daunting series to start on. I recommend some Blitz episodes to start. None will disappoint.

Best podcast I’ve ever listened to

by glennyboy329 on Sep 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I don’t know if podcast-binging is a thing, but I just did it. Blueprint for Armageddon was absolutely brilliant. More please.

Nobody does it better

by Nealo23112 on Sep 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

When a podcast is darn near 4 hours long and you wish it would never end, this guy is doing something right. I hate using the cliche but Dan truly makes history come alive.

Amazing storyteller

by smq6477 on Sep 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

He is a gift. Dont hesitate, just listen. Thank you dan.

Riveting and thought provoking.

by GaStateHistory on Sep 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great story teller who deftly relates the ancient and modern world and brings them together in a way that makes you feel as if you were there. Carlin can show how far we have come and how close we are to our forebears. Always look forward to his next show.

Get to the point

by jgp1963 on Sep 24, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Great idea.... but get to the point! No need for a 30 minute intro.

Great podcast

by TritonTrucking55 on Sep 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast, Dan can read the phone book and make it interesting! Do they have phone books anymore?

A Hypocrite leftist & hater to free speech

by Onenutjob on Sep 21, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

First I thought Dan Carlin was brilliant. Really well done, thought provoking stuff. until I started to find out his agenda was to ban other people’s content on other social media platforms. Like Sargon of Akkad of YouTube. Now I’m not left or right but I love to hear other opinions, so I’m a hardcore freedom of speech advocate. I don’t want anyone banned. I’ll make my own mind up as to what is or isn’t hate speech. I’ll draw my own conclusions, Thanks.I don’t need the Left or Right telling me what to believe or do. I don’t care if you’re Moses coming down from Mt Sinai with the holy commandments. Because of your agenda to restrict others I have decided to unsubscribe regardless of your content. If you can’t trust people to make up their own mind, then I can’t trust you to give me your honest opinion on anything you say. I believe in allowing the left and right to speak, anything less than unfettered speech is indeed an agenda that’s more harmful than bad speech itself and is nothing more than a police state- so who gets to be the police, you?

Brilliant

by Bychi on Sep 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Haven't been this entertained or engaged in any sort of media in a long time. Absolutely brilliant story telling, appreciate how thoroughly and unbiased Carlin approaches these subjects. Thanks for the education Dan

Thorough & insightful

by TreeMac4 on Sep 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is such a thoughtful and thoroughly researched podcast. I saved the 3 episodes about the King of Kings and have listened to them in their entirety twice. I am so impressed with the all I learn on this amazing podcast.

The greatest history podcast anywhere

by CWDaly on Sep 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I look forward to this show. Dab Carlin's views are always welcome. You can hear the passion in his voice in every episode.CWDalyPodcaster at Cybrcast, Bubblesort Show, Bubblesort TV, and Through My Lens with Clay Daly

I’ll check it

by Spoonylove5784 on Sep 14, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I’ll

Great Podcast

by Peacerenity1990 on Sep 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast. Very entertaining and well-researched. It’s famous for a reason.