Average rating:

5
out of 8541 ratings.

Excellent Podcast

by Jake1607 on May 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is amazing. Everyone has been epic in its detail and apporach.

Incredibly interesting!

by lacynoyes on May 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

He has a terrific knack for breaking down highly complex historic moments into fathomable situations which had great dependence or impact on so many others.

Best history podcast ever

by Joe-Zilla on May 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan Carlin's History podcast is the most interesting podcast I've ever listened to. He takes subjects from history and brings them to life. Keep up the good work.

I love this podcast

by budsalinger on May 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love love love this podcast. I've never been a history guy in any way. I truly love his storytelling and the perspective that he brings. This guy is amazing and we should all support him better than we do so he can make more podcasts more frequently. That last statement goes doubly for me.

Above and beyond the call of leisure.

by Esiaschdeprap on May 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan Carlin is now the primary history teacher of planet earth. As an amateur historian, he has the freedom to delineate and interweave each prominent historical perspective on a given event while concomitantly exhibiting his mastery of the age old craft of storytelling. Each episode seems to supersede the last in depth, breadth and entertainment value. My only complaint is that they are too perfect. I would prefer a great podcast every three months, to Dan's current 1.5 masterpiece's per year.Welcome to home room earthlings! The king is dead, long live the chronicler!

Hands down the best

by Mfell5000 on May 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan's take on history is second to none.

Fantastic

by patmagroin79 on May 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you Joe rogan and your fanatical curiosity for introducing me to this masterpiece of a podcast

Fan Of Dan

by F U!! on May 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the long format, all the detail; very well produced.

Favorite Podcast

by Stenway on May 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My absolute favorite podcast. Dan Carlin has turned me into a fan of history. He recounts history in a very personal way, reciting it like a story and describing the human elements: what were these people going through? what were their thoughts and experiences? Not just a bunch of dates and place names. I highly recommend this podcast to anyone curious about history.

Amazing

by Jacobbrandon1984 on May 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

He's good at what he does

Enjoyable delving deeper

by contextaddict on May 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

These episodes are entertaining, educational, and thought-provoking. I like his blend of storytelling, questioning, and consideration of themes/principles. I find I learn about a historical period (usually related to a military conflict) in greater depth than high school or college survey courses could provide. But they do tend to be a bit dark, as he tries to help us grasp what it might have been like on the field, in the moment. Great show!

Amazing

by Smythecliffe on May 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

4 hours has never gone by so quickly

Confirming all other reviews

by Aoco56 on May 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

What they said, plus his willingness to ruffle his audience

Everyone needs to listen to Hardcore History

by DorseyTV on May 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan Carlin is brilliant! Listen!

Quality, but Long

by Sunmoose on May 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Carlin relates history in a relatable way that is nonetheless faithful to the facts. He does tend to belabor certain facts a little more than necessary, leading to 5 hour + episodes. Naturally, these are hard to digest, and sometimes he tends to drone.

Just Incredible

by Not242 on May 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

By far my favorite podcast. Dan goes into an incredible level of detail.

Why wasn't history class like this?

by Nat 12345 on May 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I was always bored in history class, but I find this podcast fascinating and engaging. I am actually absorbing the material without even trying.

Great Detailed History

by Gajjaggd1234 on May 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great show.

Best history podcast out there!

by lagoattote on May 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One of the youth I mentor suggested this podcast and I'm so glad they did!It's informative, entertaining and accurate! It's also my new favorite podcast!

Deep deep deep dive into history

by AmazingDunkel on May 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Simply the best and all encompassing!

Simply the best history podcast

by hankmccoy on May 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Doesn't come out often but it's so good that I cherish the random day I download a new episode.

I don't even like history!

by mr's bond on May 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This show is bomb! Thank you Carlin!

Best there is

by Moack the Zulu on May 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I don't care that you hated history in school. This will make you love it. Period. Special bonus: You get to think!

Can't get enough

by AlmostGood on May 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I simply love this podcast.

Engaging and Enlightening

by TheTravelier on May 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The amount of work put into each episode of this show is staggering. Dan shines in each and every episode. If you enjoy history or masterful storytelling, you will love Hardcore History!

Best history podcast available!!!

by profit_sneer_and_relevate on May 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan Carlin presents history in a captivating way. I can't get enough! He is both detailed and entertaining while presenting multiple sides to the story. This is how history should be done.

Snowden's Secret

by Snowden's Secret on May 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Carlin is a master of storytelling. He tells history like it's the first time you've heard it, and in a dramatic fashion that makes me feel like I'm sitting around a campfire.

Addicting!

by 12u Coach on May 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast reminds me of a book you can't put down. Every episode turned into a listening marathon. Great work!

I want to listen but...

by Odysseus321123 on May 08, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The audio is awful. Whenever quotes are read, dan's voice is extremely loud and I'm constantly turning up and down the volume. Also he can tone down the dramaticism a little which is a turn off.

The best way to digest history. Period.

by r_a_1 on May 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I go back these like some go back their favorite books. This series should be in everyone's "subscribed" list.

History is cool

by Grimmonster on May 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Awesome work!

High Production Value

by husker in austin on May 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazing narrative, huge fan Dan Thank You for your work. You cannot crank these out fast enough. Wonderful work

Fantastic history podcast

by universalworst on May 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Well-sourced, well-delivered, and fascinating. The pacing is great, in my opinion, because of the background and context Dan gives on every topic he covers. Definitely worth the recommended dollar-per-show donation (and then some). I'd recommend this podcast to anyone interested in military history in particular, but I'll add that going in, I wasn't that interested in military history at all.

Compelling

by NickH, MI on May 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan has such a compelling way of presenting history that you will find yourself still sitting in your driveway hours after you get home because you couldn't turn it off.

Love love love

by j_stolzen08 on May 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Started with WWII and the WWI apocalypse are my favorite podcasts of all time. Love history these are great.

Really well done

by ChristianLemon on May 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very deep, very interesting and worth your time (Hope you have a lot of it!!!!). Long form, but they don't really get boring. Carlin's mixture of fact and ability to tell a story, leave the listener of hooked from beginning to end.

Gold standard of history pods

by A Poker on May 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Download it, listen, love it. And give the guys a couple bucks!

Just Incredible

by humpnastee on May 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan has a real gift. He brings life to stories from the past like no one can. I've always believed that when it comes to history- the subject matter is only as "good" as the one presenting it. If you've ever had a boring history teacher then you know how negatively he/she can impact your ability to retain the information or even care about it at all! That is not an issue with Dan's Hardcore History. He is so passionate about history that is infectious and really brings the story to life right in front of your ears. I listened to "Wrath of the Khans" (a 12 hour+ podcast series on the mongols) 4 times to completion in the last 3 years, its that good!

Awesome for any history fan

by creamshow on May 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

5 Stars

Can't get enough of Hardcore History

by Fiderfider on May 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan Carlin's love of history and story telling talents shine through with these truly captivating bits of history. I can't recommend it enough!

Thank you!

by Tylerjenkins89 on May 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is what History class should be! Thank you for this incredible podcast! I listen to each episode more than once. Keep it up, Dan and team, and I can't wait for the next episodes!

Well thought out and perspective giving

by DeltShakespeare on May 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Been listening for over 3 years and have never been disappointed by Carlin's work!

Greatest podcast ever

by Inga11s on May 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It's great!!!!!

Wow

by XxRyanxX on May 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It's like I'm listening to an audio book about history but it's free.

Hardcore history

by Jbgipetto on May 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the best history podcast I have found so far. Dan's style is way more entertaining and engaging than many others who seem to just "read from a textbook". I only wish there were more episodes and more that focused on parts of history other than warfare. But that's hard to find anywhere.

Amazing series!

by U.P.S. Guy on Apr 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Having randomly heard go check this out once, I have since never been able to put it down. It is perfect for listening to at work. And Dan has spoiled me so much it's hard to find another podcast to listen too.

best history podcast around

by D.M. Evans on Apr 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great work Dan. My only complaint - like everybody else - is that I wish you could come out with them more often.

My first podcast ever

by AdmiralGrey on Apr 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I started listening to this podcast before I even had a dedicated podcast app. Last week, I finally had to buy an iPod because my podcast library and playback time was too much for my phone to handle.Ghosts of the Ostfront made me cry

It's simply the best!

by Senorstash on Apr 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Can't recommend this and anything else Dan Carlin does enough! Thank you for teaching me about the history of all things big and small.

Amazing

by Crimson Empire on Apr 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I didn't ever think I'd be sitting through dozens of hours of a man talking but Dan has made history so inthralling I think everyone should listen to at least one of his podcasts.