Average rating:

5
out of 17005 ratings.

Detailed History for the Masses!

by thinkubus42 on Feb 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m a theatre education major and by no means a history buff — but still I enjoy listening to every second of these podcasts. Mr. Carlin’s objective yet still passionate voice has become a staple of my commute every morning and afternoon. I am always impressed at his thoroughness in both research and in covering as many perspectives as possible. I recommend listening! His descriptions are riveting.

Just do it!

by Brant Galdwin on Feb 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Incredible!

Awesome!

by Ninja's kick butt on Feb 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If Christen Slater decided to go on a roadtrip with you to Vegas and decided to talk about history, this is what it would sound like. Really enjoyed thus podcast.

Best history podcast

by comechingones on Feb 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a mindblowing podcast, just listen to une episode.

Just Great

by Dhidkdmskdks on Feb 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. Deeply informative and engaging at the same time. He’s the best history teacher you always wish you had.

Best pod ever

by Scott18885 on Feb 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Seriously, best pod ever

Dig Into History

by Joseph Maltby on Feb 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A really fun investigation of different kinds of historical topics, where the host really digs into them and tells a story. You never thought learning about the Mongols for 12 hours could be this fun.

Simply the gold standard of historical podcast

by Schlichter1 on Feb 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan's research, organization, delivery and charm make this a must have podcast for anyone even vaguely interested in History & how we got to where we are today.

Worth a buck!

by Arizona Van Orden on Feb 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Well done and interesting - worth the one buck an episode asked for!

Favorite!!

by ReverendJake on Feb 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have never actually written a review for a podcast, and I listen to a ton, but I HAD to for Hardcore History. I love history, and learning, but I can get distracted and lose interest fast. Dan’s articulation and excitement for whatever topic is at hand makes it nigh impossible to do anything other than to be drawn in with anticipation of the next piece of the story. Great job!!! I only hate it takes so long for new episodes, but I also appreciate that fact know the effort put forth in research and production.

Very fun

by krdport on Feb 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Fantastic and like listening to the desert version of history at all points. Can’t ask for more from a history podcast.

Wonderful storytelling

by Byron Ransom on Feb 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan Carlin is the best storyteller podcaster out there. He gives incredible intensity and drama to the characters and their experiences. His WWI podcast was by far my favorite - if favorite is the right word for it. It took a subject that I thought I was passive about and made it shake me to my core - that's the Dan Carlin history experience!

History

by JDP#13 on Feb 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great telling of history. I especially liked the Blueprint for Armageddon.

Just great

by chris recio on Feb 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The pod that got me into podcasts. Still my favorite

A history must

by Killerace3 on Feb 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I really don't have to say anything, just came to drop a rating. If you like history and podcasts Dan is one of them setting the standards for all that have followed. If you get turned off by a subject - try a different topic and give it a go!

Utterly phenomenal

by Theif on Feb 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Utterly phenomenal

Woowwww

by VictoryLaps on Feb 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Incredible. Wish there was a new episode every week. Quality work worth far more than a $1 donation. Wish this had been a high school or college professor of mine. Feel like I’ve learned more from these podcasts than nearly all of my prior studies of history.

Imaginative and exciting

by Youcandobetterbuzzfeed223 on Feb 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the way Carlin looks at the world and brings to live major events in history. Be prepared to be immersed in the time period he is covering, great podcast

I CAN Breathe.

by TDP123TDP on Feb 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Every EP worth worth saving/sharing/replaying/and a 2-week emphasis per semester at Senior High School History class. I hold my breath for 4 - 7 months and lurk till the next #hardcorehistorypodcast releases. Then I feed myself for ten, 30, or more, or less --minutes at a time, as much as I can handle, depending, untill The End. Then I mark as unplayed.

It’s good

by Wally Nutpunch on Feb 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It’s good.

HIstory told as it should be told.

by Justin Calvinski on Feb 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If my history teachers would have taught history with a tenth of the enthusiam as Dan Carlin, I would have loved history as a child. Thanks Dan!

Love it

by rbibaud on Feb 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Eras and events of historical significance that I’m interested in filtered through Dan Carlin’s journalistic sensibility. He tries to get into the minds of the people through eyewitness accounts. I’ve really enjoyed all of them up to this point, but I especially loved the three-parter on the Persian empire.

Perfection

by Anna isn't Dead on Feb 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

AMAZING.

Superb. Relatable. Unpausable.

by ispypearson on Feb 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A fantastic 'every man' take on history, incredibly well delivered. The long run times might seem a little off-putting, but once you start listening Dan's presentation becomes so engrossing, time just flies and each episode leaves you wanting more. Just wish they came out more often!

A Staple of Podcast Entertainment

by DLHama on Feb 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

One of the forerunners of podcasting, Dan Carlin and his shows are first-ballot podcast hall of famers, especially for his service of Hardcore History. This show brings the best of audio entertainment by merging educational with downright addicting.

Fabulous

by Bristle cone on Feb 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazing content beautifully delivered. Thanks so much Dan for giving us so much for so little.

Professor Oller’s view on Dan Carlin

by Professor Oller on Feb 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve listened to the Celtic holocaust the king of kings part one and the segment on the destroyer of worlds. I Think Carlin is so good, that while his people ask for a dollar for listening, I’m going to go to his website and give 50. And that’s not enough for the pleasure I found in listening while I was driving to these podcasts. the man is fabulous

The best history podcast imaginable

by Irene.top on Jan 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I don’t have enough words to express how amazing this podcast is. Dan Carlin is a walking encyclopedia (a set of encyclopedias really) on any subject. He’s extremely knowledgeable, but at the same time so entertaining and charismatic, that his podcasts are suited for anyone - whether you’re a history buff or know nothing at all. I can’t get enough of it, and I’ve learned SO MUCH on so many different historical events, and in such a fun and engaging way, that I just couldn’t be happier.

Everything I miss about being a college student

by Beer_Meat_Pancakes on Jan 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan Carlin's love of history is infectious. He's a powerful narrator and storyteller, and an original thinker.

Dan, you are the best!

by linbq1992 on Jan 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

There is something in your voice, sly delivery, and humanity which makes you my favorite historian (and you are an historian). Too many of us know nothing about ancient history nor care to learn. But there is an audience who devote their lives to scholarship. I listen to, say, the King of Kings series again & again. Once I completed the WW1 series, I listened to it again. Were I not a retired pensioner with a condo under foreclosure, I would send you money. I feel guilty that I take so much from you and give nothing in return.

Historical TREASURE

by Calderon12 on Jan 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan , his crew and catalog of work is if nothing else a treasure to all people if this time and to those “still in the womb of time”.🏆🏅🎖🥇🏵🎗⏳

Love this podcast!

by bcbs5280 on Jan 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is an amazing podcast. The telling of the history is great. My husband and I get super excited when a new episode comes out. It’s our topic of conversation for months!

Hard R history

by george h. w. bust on Jan 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I demand dan Carlin’s hard r history be taken off the air. That’s not how you should say that word

Painfotainment?? Seriously??

by Pickletickler on Jan 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Dan's podcasts are usually great, but the latest episode is just awful. It's just rambling for 4 hours, no plot, no story, no organization. It seems like this podcast was just thrown into the mix as a filler episode.

The Best

by docjkm on Jan 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

the rest are the rest. Thank you, Dan, for taking your skill and enthusiasm, and making something for us.

Yes!!!

by TannerBush on Jan 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A new Hardcore History show just released! Thank you Dan.

Blueprint for Armageddon

by skook_dogg on Jan 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast reminded me of my best college history professors. It was riveting and humbling.

Hard Core History

by 2fast4UR1 on Jan 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Loved it! No Mono tone, It kept me interested and his effect was not one to put me to sleep. Job well done. Thank you for keeping History interesting(at least to me) 👍

My favorite podcast. Such good storytelling

by jackmove69 on Jan 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan Carlin is such an inspiration. He is very good at telling stories that happened thousands or hundreds (or tens) of years ago and making them relatable and easy to undertand. I especially love the multi-part episodes (Wrath of the Khans, Death Throes of the Republic.After listening to the episodes he has available here, I recommend checking out his website to purchase all of the rest of them – super cheap and tons of great content.

Amazing and detailed- keeps you on the edge of your seat!

by -MJL- on Jan 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan does a spectacular job of putting the listener right in the middle of it all. I cannot recommend any other podcast as much as this one. 👏bravo!

My favorite history podcast

by AggieVet2018 on Jan 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan Carlin has a gift for relaying history in an engaging and passionate way. I love listening to his podcasts on flights and long car trips. His series on World War I is my all time favorite podcast series, I cannot imagine a better way to absorb history than the way Dan Carlin tells it.

Absolutely amazing

by Hilaryous14 on Jan 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The best history podcast out there. The time, care, and passion put into this is truly astonishing. It's such a joy and privilege to listen.

Outstanding example of what this medium can do!

by Shepherd 404 on Jan 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a perfect example of how some one can use this medium!

One of the Greats

by TomMikeIke on Jan 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Hardcore History is what we all wished high school History Class could have been. Fun, passionate, engaging and packed with a treasure trove of information.

Clint Eastwood? Gimme a break.

by (((why))) on Jan 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Herodotus is amazing; the Bible isn’t pulp fiction. Don’t reduce these ancient beauties to cheap popular culture.I really liked “Celtic Holocaust”. This is unbearable. Darth Vader? You are lowering the high. I don’t think I can listen to much more of this one. Awful.

Mr Carlin Tear down the wall (of silence and give us more content)

by The.Mad.Slav on Jan 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Probably the best history podcast out there. Dan Carlin combines historical accounts and facts with story telling that can only come from somebody who passionately loves learning history.If this man was a professor I’d have my Doctorate in history thanks to him.

What a voice.

by A. J. Watson on Jan 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Mr. Carlin,Will you come back and tell me another story?

Long winded and boring

by danielle_lyra on Jan 18, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I love history, and I’d be ok with a longer podcast on a single topic...if it were conducted by multiple voices and was somewhat organized. Dan Carlin’s speaking is boring despite yelling every other word, and he just repeats stuff over and over and over again that a 6 hour podcast should really be 2 hours. Also why are the only reviews shown from a decade ago? Anyone else wonder if these reviewers would say the same today or if they’ve long ditched this long winded podcast.

Can’t stop listening

by LV59 on Jan 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

These pods are so engaging and real I can’t get enough. Listened to the entire library in the last two months. Now hungry for more. Great job Dan. It brings humanity to an in human condition. Thank you

Hardcore History is Hardcore!

by TRGlosser on Jan 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan is a great story teller. Every show is well sourced, and extremely interesting. The only thing I don’t like is that it takes 4-6 months to get a new show, but it’s always worth the wait.