Average rating:

4
out of 784 ratings.

My first of the day

by PaHiker on Mar 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is always the first podcast I listen every day, I only wish it was the full broadcast and not just the first hour. My only other problem (request) is that they give the date at the start of the podcast. When I travel I can’t always get the days podcast, so when I get to an area with WiFi I download a stream them, knowing what day it is really helps. Especially since Apple’s lasted update, sometimes the app picks up podcasts that I have already heard (takes a while to be sure it’s an old on).

Great info but Terrible Audio Quality

by Monte87 on Feb 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Gordon, Jennifer and the rest of the on air staff do a great job. But the audio quality of the guest reporters that phone in is so bad! It makes it very difficult to listen to. If they are in the field gathering news and writing pieces can't they find a land line for crying out loud? They must call in on cell phones because their audio is over saturated, muffled, has poor dynamic range, etc. It is really distracting to listen to. Otherwise thumbs up :)

I love this show

by Who did what? on Dec 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I discovered this show by mistake while living aboard. It was always my go to podcast everyday. I returned to the States and completely forgot about this podcast. Got up early one morning and found out that this show that makes it this podcast was on my local station. That morning at work is when I downloaded the podcast and it’s been on every morning since. I love the podcast. Gordon... Stay cranky my friend!

Entire Format

by D Humphry on Nov 09, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This podcast has become much too much liberal for my likings! Also has way too many commercials. I have been a long time listener.

My morning update

by TENN1S TMB on Oct 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Just what I am looking for in the morning. A quick update on what is happening in the world.

Has become very right-leaning

by JakeStarlite on Oct 03, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I used to enjoy this podcast, but the reports, comments, questions and contributors are now blatantly right-wing. It would be much better if it remained neutral and/or balanced.

News with just enough personality

by DesertEagle77 on Sep 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Gordon is a master. I've listened to this podcast (used to be WSJ This Morning) for probably 8-9 years consistently, every morning. Great way to get the facts, latest news, and enough personality from Gordon to keep it fresh. Keep going Gordon!

Just news

by Contactjd7 on Aug 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Just news - no agendas

Much

by jhjmgngnh on Aug 09, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

MmmmjNahnnghhhtmmhhmhmh

Must listen

by ethanhuntmi007 on Jul 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have four podcasts that I must start my day with, every day. This is one of them. They do a great job of providing not only up-to-the-minute news, but also interesting topical pieces. I find it to be an entertaining program, as well.

No podcast available

by LynnS321 on Jun 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast and I listen to it every morning - well, at least when it is available. Please sort out the dowloading issue to iTunes. I have already communicated this issue to the WSJ. Many days the podcast is not available in the morning!Thank you,Lynn

America's First Newa

by Gribblewitz on Jun 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Don't bother with cable TV or NPR in the morning just tune to Gordon and team for the morning headlines and more. I find myself telling people about stories I heard on AFN all day long. They have great reporters as guests a go deeper than just sound bites.For those wanting it earlier, you probably don't know that the show is carried by 100's of radio stations across the country who don't want to pay for a show that can be heard for free without commercials at the same time. My station carries it at 4am, plenty early for any early bird.

Best news podcast around

by LesMcP on May 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Smart, witty, and informative, @GordonDeal and team deliver every single day. No spin, no pontification, just the facts. And done with some fun. The absolute best.

Not WSJ

by JeffKelley on May 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The most disappointing part of the podcast is the audio quality of any "guests". They seem so amateur, background noise, um, oh, and hearing them breathing into the microphones. Poor quality.

Continues to decline in content and talent

by dougraycpa on Apr 14, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I enjoyed this podcast once upon a time a year or so ago. However, the show content has continued to decline and the quality of the news readers are below par. Please bring back the old version of the podcast. The new version is like a kids story with content provided by reporters who have no clue. Quality content, does it exist today?

So. many. ADS!

by MattWylde on Mar 08, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I've been listening to this podcast for a year and a half. The content is usually good, though sometimes it focuses a little too much on national politics for my taste. That being said, in general there about 5-6 news stories each day. There is an ad read between each and every one. I always hit the skip ahead 15 seconds button to blow past the ads, but is is still annoying to say the least. It seems the ads have only increased in the past 6 months. Almost 25% of the podcast in terms of time/duration is ads. It's too much for a 25-28 minute long podcast.

My favorite podcast...

by Scarp! on Mar 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I listen to it on the train going to work evertyday and am always the most informed person at work.Granted sometimes they don't get it up before 8 when I leave, but over all love teh show.

Had to stop listining because of Deal

by Bribou1 on Feb 27, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I love the content of the podcast. It's been the first podcast I listen to each morning for a couple of years now and my day doesn't freel complete if I haven't listened. That being said, Gordon Deal's commentary and story telling has gotten so bad to me I just deleted the podcast and am now in search of another morning podcast to catch me up. I do not tune in to hear opinions on the stories, I tune in to get the news. Deal's commentary and stories have gotten so long I've begun fast forwarding to get through them. Not only does he take up too much time, the things he says are usually irritating and sometimes crosses the line on the personal attack comments he makes. I like the other reporters on the show and feel bad for them sometimes when they get pulled in by him. Too bad that such a great place to get information is no longer a place I want to go.

Best Daily News Podcast - Period!

by SKYFLYR on Feb 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Long time listener and subscriber, I followed the show when it left WSJ and make this a part of my daily routine. Why get your news here? Well, they combine a thorough summary of current events with snappy analysis and interesting guest speakers providing a very well rounded overview of what's happening around the world and in your backyard. Next to my coffee, This Morning is an essential part of every day!

I listen everyday

by John.Madden on Jan 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thx Gorden and the rest of the gang!

Serious Attempt at Being Objective

by Cragman8 on Jan 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been listening to this podcast for around 4 years--usually with a waterproof speaker in the shower. If u like news that at least attempts to be objective and fact-based, this is the best US podcast I have found. There is generally never a liberal or conservative bias to it. If anything, it is more of a pro-business bias. But really, I have no idea whom Gordon Deal and his cohorts voted for in the last elections. They avoid political judging and editorializing.

Review and request

by Mhuzek on Dec 07, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

First, I enjoy your Podcasts. I listen to them most days when I am getting ready or in the car. Some of the special interest topics are skipable in my eyes, but everyone has a different taste. I heard Jen ask for reviews after the Podcast today. One question I always have while listening to your podcast is around the Michigan commercial. It would be interesting to run one of your special interest segments on their ‘burdensome regulations’ they removed in an effort to get businesses to move to their state. Some questions could include: What were the regulations that were removed? Did the regulations removed only apply to one sector of business (automotive is the sector that comes to mind)? Why were the regulations put in place in the first place? What will the state do to prevent future regulations if/when businesses move to their state with their own special interest groups and lobbyists? It may be bad for business critiquing a sponsor’s ad like that, but I cannot be the only person who asks those questions when hearing the same commercial every time, they listen to your podcast.

Gordon Deal for President

by JCwired on Nov 01, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Based on the current plolitical climate I nominate Gordon Deal for President rather than voting for the Sweet Metor of Death for President. Good job Gordon

Good despite the host

by Nymeria M on Oct 12, 2016
Rating: ★★★☆☆

This is my go-to podcast for news. I like their guests and the selection of stories. I could really do without Gordon Deal’s creepiness and mean-spiritedness sometimes though. He comments occasionally on women’s looks in a unsettling way, and he is not shy about being critical of celebrities. Honestly, I wish it were solely a news program without his commentary.

Great

by peppermb on Oct 11, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I love waking up with Gordon Deal. This is the best daily news podcast out there, very informative with the top story of the day and breaking news but also diverse stories related to personal finance, sports, social, etc. It's not all about politics which I personally appreciate. Thanks for a great podcast!

Best Daily Podcast

by Rockies325 on Oct 08, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Period. No better morning news podcast. Gordon, Jennifer, Mike and company are awesome.

This is how we start our day in SF!

by Impact Labs on Sep 28, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Quality content made interesting with a great team!

Gordon rocks!

by Cableview on Sep 23, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This is my morning routine out here in San Francisco. Thanks for a great podcast. Very Socially-Selective!

Cool and calm Deal

by Chris from NorCal on Sep 17, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Not quite a man crush, but I do find myself needing to hear Gordon every morning. Jenifer keeps him in check, especially when making college Twister remarks.

One of my favorite podcasts

by metalrob09 on Sep 15, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Great news podcast. One of the few I regularly come back to.

Great show

by mkorenbaum on Sep 09, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Great way to get the headlines and top stories but still fun. Also no apparent political bias which is refreshing

Too Much Politics!!

by Goopoo on Jul 08, 2016
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I am so tired of listening to a 10 minute commentary everyday on the presidential race and politics! What a waste of time. They are obsessed and can't seem to ever get enough. Other things happen in our nation besides this and it would be nice to hear more about them instead of about who will be our next Idiot in Chief.

Good headlines recap but back away from microphones

by Ms P 2017 on Jun 20, 2016
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Content is decent - I use as recap of day's newspaper (WSJ) - but Gordon really needs to tell a few of the regular content speakers to back..away..from..the..mic and stop spitting and beatboxing; sounds gross; I don't see how they do not hear that feedback; it really ruins the audio.

My favorite morning podcast!

by DJ4265 on Apr 22, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I start every day with this podcast. It's a nice summary of headlines with a few interesting interviews thrown in. Gordon is great but my one complaint is that many of the female reporters he interviews need to learn how to speak more professionally. They sound like teenagers. You would think if you're writing for the Wall Street Journal, Marketwatch or the Boston Globe you could talk like an adult.

Great podcast but unpredictable

by GLASSENIOR on Mar 09, 2016
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Love the content but they apparently have issues with dropping the casts consistently.

The morning news, period.

by W Morgan on Mar 01, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This is your best choice for morning news, and has been for years.

Podcast app

by Navigatorson on Jan 24, 2016
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This is very disappointing. It used to be my favorite app but now I cannot get it to play and there is no way to fix it. I do not even have the option to delete the podcast app and reload it. This app and all of the bug guess it is supposed to play does not work at all anymore. It plays the first 15 to 30 seconds and then starts over every time every podcast.

News highlights

by Sttcarrie on Jan 06, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to Gordon each morning. I love how it's just quick hits on a variety of news and the guests are consistently interesting. And I find Gordon relatable. It's a nice change of pace from standard newscasts.

News with out the bias hype

by Daily.Listener on Jan 06, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen daily. It’s a great summary of the news - presented straight forward, and without all the hype. For the most part, Deal takes a non-partisan position an the news. His occasional snarky comments are oak by me, and typically reflective of a rational thought process. Good job, glad to see many of the WSJ carryovers.

Great podcast

by KRRICHEY on Jan 06, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Enjoy starting the day with these guys.

Required Listening

by FSUBulldog on Jan 05, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the best podcast out there to get a rundown on what is happening in the world. It's daily required listening.

Great news show!

by Morpwr8 on Dec 08, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Gordon's got the perfect personality for a news show. Serious, founded news, with a personable delivery! Great job Gordon.

Great podcast

by Katelynn0965 on Dec 07, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

I love starting my morning with Gordon Deal! Great 30 minute podcast. Perfect way to get a quick daily dose of news.

Essential part of my morning commute!

by fala12 on Dec 06, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. Gordon Deal gives the news brief each day with a great selection of news-worthy items that make my morning commute fly by! Well worth downloading every day!!

Please fix the podcast

by Jess K1130 on Dec 01, 2015
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I've been listening to this program for years and love it, but it's too often that it's not available until later in the day. Why can't this be available EVERY day before 8am, instead of sporadically? I've been trying on the stitcher and apple podcast apps, and neither have been working consistently.

Consistent and Valuable

by marcusg123 on Nov 17, 2015
Rating: ★★★★☆

As far as I'm concerned, there's no better way to get my morning commute news fix than with Gordon and whatever they're calling this now. Have to admit, I miss the former WSJ affiliation but the format is the same - and let's be frank - this IS Gordon Deal's show. He deserves a MUCH larger forum than this podcast, but until that happens - I'll just selfishly enjoy his news schtick on my drive.

Good, concise daily briefing

by Equalizer524 on Nov 12, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Stumbled onto This Morning last year on radio. It’s very timely (always available early AM) and wonderfully concise! I rarely miss it!

Been listening for years

by mjm2001 on Nov 07, 2015
Rating: ★★★★☆

I like this podcast better now than in the past. I enjoy listening to Gordon Deal and think he is smart, asks good questions, and funny. I also like the other regular news commentators and enjoy the interaction that Gordon has with them. Most of the interviews are worthwhile, yet occasionally I do not feel they are very interesting. I am glad they talk politics and sports. I do wish they would talk more college sports and not just professional sports. The amount of advertising seems like it has increased. I like the amount of time of the podcasts and feel I get the most important headlines of the day.

Essential part of your daily news podcasts

by DanBlocksom on Nov 04, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

If you have time to listen to only one news podcast a day, this should be it. If you have time for two, listen to this plus the BBC global news daily podcast. Gordon Deal's coverage is great and useful for listeners on either side of the political aisle. I'm both a lawyer and policy analyst, and I've been listening for over 4 years. Excellent coverage - I hope he never quits!

"This morning" is a good way to start

by elktondad on Nov 04, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Two things needed to get going Gordon Deal and breakfast. They go well together. This has a good mix of news and entertaining hosts. Gordon Deal is topical and funny while Jennifer Kushinka is a good new reporter. Friday features trending google searches which is always fun as well!