Average rating:

4.5
out of 3252 ratings.

Great podcast, please just one tweak

by ElleSeattle on Feb 17, 2019
Rating: ★★★★☆

Very informative, well researched. Great topics they cover. The pacing is good, very dense compared to some podcasts that I sort of half-listen to while doing other things. This one demands my full attention in a way that I really appreciate. I have one request of the creators: please have a female voice for the women in the re-enactments. As a student of history, I was always struck by the absence of women in both how stories of our past are told, and who is doing the telling [even the word, HIStory]. I feel it’s very important to recognize the role of women in this subtle way. It would be not only more accurate as a re-telling, but also easier to follow a dialogue of two different voices. Plus, it quite literally gives women a voice in the way this history is told. If you have trouble finding someone to do it, I’m available (: Thank you for considering!Love the work that you all do! We can only hope that making history more accessible reduces our chances of repeating mistakes of the past

Awesome!!

by Bbethab on Feb 16, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

All of the seasons are great!! What’s next???

Great podcast

by Seanagail on Feb 16, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve listened to the first four episodes of season 4 and I am hooked. It’s very well researched. Honestly, I’m truly saddened that 30 years later nothing has really changed to protect people and the environment from enormous corporations that only care about their bottom line.

CAN’T STOP LISTENING

by mlm85718 on Feb 15, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Currently on the third season and I’M LOVING IT!!! It’s super educational yet incredibly entertaining and interesting. It’s not too much information and not too little. It hits all the big points while also providing details and answering all of the questions the listener wants answered about the scandal at hand. Each time I’ve wondered if I’ll be that into the topic at hand, but each time I’m hooked and cannot stop talking about it!! I’ve already recommended this podcast to at least 10 people, and I absolutely recommend it to anyone reading this!!!

It keeps getting better and better

by RussellFranchise4life on Feb 15, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

The last episode of the Exxon series was a thriller! I love how this podcasts manages to empathize about the characters in the true drama battles.Lindsey Graham gives you an expanded view of the situation and puts you in the center! Good work, sir!Please do more sports or Hollywood scandals! I would love to get a deep dive into the Anna Nichole Smith trials!

Listen!

by Aidi805 on Feb 15, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellent podcast on a subject I don’t know much about. I was too young when it happened. But when Deep Water Horizon happened, I was horrified and obsessed. I appreciate your journalism.

Where have you been?

by myszka & mouse on Feb 15, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Love it! Why did it take me so long to find this.

Great stories great production

by yourDOsomeday on Feb 14, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

America is a cold heartless place sometimes. This podcast will tell you all about it. I wish they had a lot more of them.

Can’t get enough!

by drexblasties on Feb 14, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to tons of podcasts but this one is by far my favorite. The way it is put together, read and explained is perfect! I wish there were more like this one!

Hits very deep

by bubbles47 on Feb 14, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast touches on some very good subjects that make headlines and than fall out of them. The Exxon Valdez and the Iran Contra shows will make you realize that you need to look deeper into things than just the news. First shows about BALCO will set the hook, than you will go for a great ride.

Great show!

by Rod Vargas on Feb 13, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the history accuracy, and the reenactments. Please consider having female voices. Specially, when main character is woman (e.g Ricki Ott)

One of the best podcasts

by SN1085 on Feb 13, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Great narration and very well detailed. I felt as if I was living the story.

Great information, love the style

by Fab-u-Roach on Feb 13, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Just discovered this Podcast and it’s quickly become one of my favorites!! I love the way the information is presented in a sort of old-school radio mystery style with re-enactments and sound effects. Makes it interesting and the facts easy to understand.

Exxon Valdez reports

by Dynaglide 96 on Feb 13, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Journalists have a new standard. I read everything. I thought I knew this story. This makes it even more real and complete. We need you more than ever. Chip Shastid

Love it!

by zoos47 on Feb 13, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Great content, narration, production! Love this show!!!

Highly recommended

by gatorgolfmike on Feb 13, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Host Lindsay Graham is outstanding. Interesting, relevant, and very listenable. 5-Stars!

Amazing podcast!!

by maranello italia on Feb 13, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazing podcast!! As good as my years at school! The best use of my mobile..Thank you

Exxon Valdez

by Zolt55 on Feb 13, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

This series really hit hard. After The second episode i had to stop my car and think how it must have been for the fishermen. Kudos for bringing this horrible tragedy alive. I love this format and the narration.

Awesome!

by 4Christian&Mena on Feb 12, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Having been a child during this time it has been just a memory in history for me but this podcast has brought this extraordinary disaster to new light. I will be sharing this with my grade school age children and hopefully continue to foster environmental awareness and advocacy in the next generation! Thank you!!

Hits the mark.

by Danny2tone on Feb 12, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

These are fantastic and I can't get enough of both the stories and the narrators amazing voice. Love the re-enactments that are able to put me in the moment.

My weekly enjoyment!

by cAsBx on Feb 12, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I look forward to seeing AS pop up in my downloads each week, and every series I say this ones my favorite but to be honest I love them all!!

Great job!

by Jrock7689 on Feb 12, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I don’t usually listen to this things like this but this is one of my top five podcast I really like his voice and the way he presents his information very accurate from what I’ve checked great job all around if I could get a 10 stars I would

Better than any history class I ever took.

by Thesenicknamessuck on Feb 11, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Maybe my small town education failed me, or more likely I was a terrible student and didn’t pay attention... but I’ve learned more by listening to this riveting podcast than I ever did in class. I truly appreciate the depth of the stories.And my 5 year old now wants to be a marine toxicologist when she grows up, because she is so inspired by Rocky Ott.Thank you for inspiring minds both young and old.

I love every single podcast from Wondery

by julmasdes on Feb 10, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

They don’t put out a bad podcast, and this one is no different!

Legendary narration

by teige_spoth on Feb 10, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Every season will captivate and inform listeners about these American scandals beyond all expectations. Stories we all know peeled back and told in such a colorful way. The audio is clear, back ground music and sfx is minimal in the perfect way. Each episode has a story build and an exciting climax. At the end of each episode you are left with a cliff hanger of sorts. This being a show not released all at once it has a nostalgic feel of a weekly sitcom you would watch on tv. 10/10 would recommend

Skipped track

by Izzet32 on Feb 09, 2019
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Iran Contra ep4; Walsh has a track skip at 24:15, breaks up mid sentence and doesn't make sense

Riveting

by ump58 on Feb 08, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I enjoy your podcast immensely. Even though I thought I knew the story of the Valdez, I didn’t. I knew the spin version. Can’t wait to always get the next one. Thanks so much.

Great storytelling

by erinannie17 on Feb 08, 2019
Rating: ★★★★☆

I’m in my mid-40’s, and grew up in the Washington DC suburbs, with a too young to truly comprehend POV on Iran Contra and Exxon Valdez. I was aware of them, but didn’t really know what was happening. It’s interesting to listen to these stories now, aware of how they impacted people I knew and the country at large, and get a fuller picture. Its all very well done, and thus far, feels unbiased. (I’m up to date on Valdez, and halfway thru Iran Contra.) But I do have one small bone to pick. You said Fawn Hall was from a small town called Annandale, VA, and implied it was a small, nowheresville kind of place. Sure, Annandale might not be very many square miles, and is one of the smaller suburbs (more a neighborhood than a town), but it is also inside the beltway, and just minutes from DC. Maybe not even 10 miles from the White House. It’s also a very diverse suburb, with areas known as Little Vietnam and Little Korea in it. (And home to some violent gangs.) Being from Annandale doesn’t make one from a small town. It means you grew up very close to DC, and in a very diverse and multi cultural community. (And for the record, I’m not from Annandale. I’m from Fairfax- the next town after Annandale.)

Binge-able!

by devtrev on Feb 08, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I discovered, downloaded, and binged all of Season 3 in one afternoon. This morning I’ve started the current Season 4 and I’ve been transported back to 1989. It’s like it’s all happening again, right now. What a fresh take on historical events that shaped our world.

Great podcast

by diamond_dog102 on Feb 08, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a great podcast. The stories are well researched and well told. This podcast and Business Wars (also from Wondery) are among my favorite podcasts.

Exxon

by Capt Sharkey on Feb 07, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

WOW

Fantastic

by miss300bwlr on Feb 07, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. I like hearing about all the stories with just the facts. Nothing about how he feels or what should have been done or anything else, just facts. It’s very refreshing and very informative. Keep it up!

Love, love, love this podcast!

by KarenVermont on Feb 07, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

And it gets better each season! Highly recommend. It’s a great way to learn, in depth, about some really interesting parts of our history. Keep going!

Just Found Wondry

by C Hofbeezy on Feb 06, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Currently devouring American History Tellers. Love the way it puts ME in the story! American Scandal is as good too. Great podcast!!!

Exon Valdez

by Dr Nitpic on Feb 06, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Fair and balanced reporting. Well documented and presented in an easy to follow format.

I even like the commercials

by JonoLong on Feb 05, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast. I started on season 1 episode 1 and have binged and love this podcast! Even the commercials are engaging.

Go to podcasts

by 3rdesigns on Feb 05, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I love these podcasts I listen during work. I usually listen to Apple podcasts but because these are so good along with 1865 I joined stitcher premium!!!! Keep up the great podcasts

Best season yet - Exxon Valdez

by mom5437 on Feb 05, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I have liked every season of American Scandal so far, but this season! This season is so well done, so emotive, so descriptive! I will have my kids listen to this! Social Studies teacher should have their students listen to this and write essays on what they learned!I’ve teared up with the descriptions of the spill victims, shouted at the villainous characters, cheered with Dr Ott. Completely engrossing!! Well done!

Best season so far!

by mhenriques526 on Feb 05, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve been listening to American Scandal through all of its seasons but this one is the best so far. It’s fascinating to hear about such a big event from the perspective of “the little people”. Dr. Ott is my hero.

Powerful!!!

by clpearce15 on Feb 05, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I am currently listening to the episodes on the Exxon Valdez disaster. THIS is the very best in podcasting!! I listen to literally hundred’s of podcasts and the quality of this production is unsurpassed. Excellent programming, thought provoking, powerful and emotional. All podcasts should be this high quality!!! Great job!!

Awesome

by JKKern18 on Jan 30, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is such a good one! I’m hooked!

Trump, Trump, Trump

by connievc on Jan 29, 2019
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

If you want to hear how you get from Iran Contra to more Trump references where none are needed, here ya go.

Excellent

by 1776nathan on Jan 29, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this show. It is absolutely excellent!

Great story telling

by Yogarae on Jan 28, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Absolutely love this podcast. Real life scandal told beautifully by Lindsay. Always happy when it’s Tuesday and new episode is released.!!

Great listen

by noaveragejo10 on Jan 28, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast! Thoroughly enjoy each episode. Well written, produced, organized and voiced by Lindsey Graham.

Great pace and research

by FitzDad on Jan 26, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I get the criticisms about the cheesy acting but it is endearing. Well researched and fast paced. I feel like I finally understand the basics of Iran Contra.

Hooked

by M.S.EE on Jan 26, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m a big fan of this podcast. Yes, some of the re-enactments are a little cheesy but it’s extremely well researched and informative. Almost finished with the Iran Contra series and I’ve learned more about politics at the time than I ever did in school.

Smart & Entertaining

by NatX76 on Jan 26, 2019
Rating: ★★★★☆

I really appreciate the way this podcast is put together - using quotes, narrrative and re-enactments. A nice and smart way to tell stories.

Fantastic

by brkona on Jan 25, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

So smart and well done. I love this podcast.

Captivating format

by Bravo_Serratus on Jan 23, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Re-enactments switch it up for long form narration. It’s like an audio documentary.