Average rating:

5
out of 4288 ratings.

Men in Blazers for USA

by Professor B on Jul 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As a devoted Men in Blazers listener, this series has all the snark and keen observation of MIB translated into the American soccer experience. Whether you are a die-hard soccer fan or just dipping your American toe in the water, this is great listening.

Amazing!

by DaveArtist on Jul 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great story and podcast. Roger’s enthusiasm sets the tone for the podcast. Thank u!

Riveting and entertaining

by Cmsdmiller on Jul 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Roger does a stellar job. This is a nicely done podcast....well done! Give it a try

More please!

by Blakerbabe on Jul 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Could you maybe cover the women’s team in the same depth? Loved every freaking second of this!

Timed it perfectly

by Stalker from Colorado on Jul 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As I sit here on the eve of the World Cup final and about to listen to the last episode of American Fiasco, I do not know which one I will miss more. This podcast is brilliant. It is about more than football. It is about the complexity of the human condition in high pressure social situations. And mullets. Loved every minute of it. Thanks, Rog!And welcome to citizenship! 🇺🇸

Delicious Mayonnaise

by theresonlyonemello on Jul 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Over the course of 12 episodes, Roger Bennett led me though hotel rooms full of musical angst, a lonely chateau brimming with delicious mayonnaise, and the rise and fall of the USMNT over four years. And yet, somehow, with the very last words said in the podcast proper, left me with a smile on my face and a hope for the future of soccer in America. This. Is. An. Excellent. Podcast.

Outstanding

by procknow on Jul 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Just a really great podcast about the 1998 American World Cup team. Behind the scenes stories from players, coaches, and media. Great storytelling that had me listening to every episode as fast as I could.

Can’t stop listening

by friedenreich on Jul 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Rog presents an excellent review of the ‘98 USA team. Even though I knew the outcome, I had to keep listening to see how it ended. Production by WNYC was great. Solid podcast.

A sports fan’s treasure, a non-fiction lover’s pleasure

by Brianc73 on Jul 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Roger Bennet delivers one of the best audio sports docs ever. The humanity and boyish passion he brings to this story means the subjects have no choice but open up and relive the Fiasco. Add the authority and sensibility of Bob Ley behind the scenes and sprinkled through out. This is just fantastic. Share with your futbol friends. Share with your sports friends, share with anyone that loves human drama.

❤️

by Jh83856029171949582828505 on Jul 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve never left a review for a podcast, but Rog, this was fabulous. I was 10 during the World Cup in the US, and I grew up with this group of players as we as a nation tried to figure out what we were going to do with soccer. I was too young to really understand the politics of the 1998 fiasco.l, but this pod does such a great job of setting the scene. I laughed, I cried, I felt anger, I felt empathy, but most of all, I felt optimistic and excited for the future. Give it a listen.

Outstanding!

by T Basich H on Jul 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great pace and riveting story! Interviews are fantastic & even the music was the bomb. Through in a touch of Bob Ley for legitimacy and gravitas and I loved it.

Great listen

by RyanWilliamBaker on Jul 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I appreciated this enlightening look back at an important chapter in US Soccer history

Binge listen now!

by alib418 on Jul 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I was born and raised in Scotland playing football (soccer!) on the streets with my pals. We played "World Cup" every night. For 20 years I have been living in the USA.. Roger has the perfect intersection of being raised in the UK and also now living in the States to the cross cultural divide and communicate the love and passion we have for football to a US audience. Absolutely brilliant stuff. Not only entertaining this podcast made me think a lot out the (work) teams I am part of and how they work and the dynamics of leadership. Sobering stuff but hopeful also. A must listen.

Not a soccer person

by Dirtzy on Jul 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

My only experience with soccer is my 5 year old’s debut season last year. Despite this I am thoroughly enjoying this podcast. I love sports and a good story. Roger, you’re awesome.

Rog make my nipples tingle

by JGrizzly on Jul 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I cannot say enough good things about this podcast. You don’t need to be a soccer/football fan to fall in love with Rog. Give it a try!

Review

by Li'l Tim on Jul 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast

Great story!

by drjdean on Jul 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Whether you love soccer or not, but especially if you love soccer.

Excellent

by mstan529 on Jul 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the pod! Can you make one about the current USMNT? At least the ‘98 team qualified for the World Cup.

Addictive !!

by LuisVas2018 on Jul 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

What a story !! Addictive !!

Not what I expected - in an amazing way!

by angela_cake on Jul 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

After listening to Gimlet's "We Came to Win," I was expecting something similar to that podcast. But this is 10x better! So many interviews with players, staff, people who were there. I really hope there's more seasons where you go in depth with the World Cups following 1998.

A must for soccer fans

by C_Peat on Jul 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is such a great podcast with great guest. Roger’s passion for the sport is evident makes it so easy to binge listen to all these episodes. Great work thank you!

Hilarious and engaging

by NeoMarlowe on Jul 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I never knew the drama in the ‘98 Cup.As a kid I just thought we were out played and not good. Strongly suggest listening to this story. Rog is a great narrator and speaker, and look forward to more of his stories. Also, glad to know that he’s a fellow Toffee!!

Mezmerizing

by easy jogger on Jul 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Roger is a great story teller. Insights from all of the key characters. The inside story in all of its colorful detail on full display. Can’t wait to get to the next episode.

Soccer is only part of it

by Mitcocpyuccp on Jul 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Like all great sports reporting, you don’t have to be an expert, or even a fan, to enjoy the human drama. Great to see Rog from Men in Blazers stretch into a long-form podcast. He is excellent - the sense of impending doom is palpable. And you get to hear Bob Ley say Bon Iver, so there’s that. The only misstep is the bonus episodes which seem more of an attempt to use some good leftover interviews than to shine light on the ‘98 USMNT crash and burn.

Great listen

by troyerlaw on Jul 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Listened to this on a friend’s recommendation. Glad i did. Carefully reported, entertainingly told.

Not a soccer fan

by MatthewSimon7 on Jul 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I am not a soccer fan. I listened to this because I love America and I enjoy Rodger Bennett’s British whit and brilliance in storytelling ability. This podcast series provides an onion of an intriguing podcast with its outer skin of a look behind the curtain at the ‘98 US men’s national team to the layers of peeling ever closer to answering the ultimate underlying question of “why soccer isn’t more popular in the US” through intimate conversation. I have already recommended this series to soccer enthusiasts and soccer atheists alike. I urge you to do the same.

entrenched mediocrity

by detroit express fan on Jul 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great fun re-living this period with Bennett, but depressing that the underlying problem with U. S. Soccer—entrenched mediocrity (not on the field, but as an organization)—remains so prevalent.

So good, and I knew nothing about soccer!

by Imafor3 on Jul 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This series is fantastic even if you know nothing about soccer, or even professional sports. Loved it!

Great show

by PDS Kirk on Jul 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Listened to the whole series in 1 day! Just couldn’t put it down

Incredible!

by MobitzTwo on Jul 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If you have any interest in soccer at all stop reading this and just start listening!

Great pod

by Canary lover j on Jul 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the pod. Rog does a brilliant job with the narration. A sprinkling of his British wit and passion for American culture gives it a nice flavor. The editorial and production teams behind this one clearly have done stellar work on this podcast. Everything is well researched and packaged nicely for the audience. There's a level of quality you can always expect from WNYC. Thanks for entertaining us. A must listen for soccer / football fans in the US.

Amazing Podcast

by zaque1213 on Jul 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As someone who has only been a soccer fan since the 2014 World Cup, I thoroughly enjoyed getting a very entertaining primer on an important part of American soccer history. Thanks Roger! Looking forward to hearing more from you.

Excellent storytelling

by Vocab Master on Jul 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Agonizing, thorough, & funny retrospective on the disastrous experience the US had at the 1998 World Cup

Can’t get enough

by dhchjfhgfj on Jul 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Was so good I listened to it in a week!

Love it!!!!

by DPS74 on Jul 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Awesome podcast. Great insights and excellent humor!

American Fiasco

by lmeyer44 on Jul 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This was awesome! I would recommend to any football fan. This is an incredible story!

Deep Dive

by judmac003 on Jul 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As a young soccer obsessed fan in 1998, I knew the names and watched the games of USMNT, but not until this enthralling story did I learn the intricacies and drama behind the scenes. This is one of those podcast that grab ahold of you instantly. Rog does a incredible job, as he usually does, painting the picture of what ultimately lead to the 1998 “Fiasco”. All while still being an Evertonian. YNWA!

Smashing!

by Pinchy on Jul 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Roger,This podcast is outstanding. It has it all—ethos, pathos, and humor. I hope you find another squad that you are interested in chronicling next. Cheers & thank you!

Missing the USMNT this World Cup?

by UPtownPilot on Jul 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Fills the void of US Soccer coverage this World Cup. Great storytelling! An exciting, interesting and nostalgic journey through US soccer history.

A National Treasure

by caudillmiller on Jul 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Rog is best thing to sail to this side of the pond since Columbus.

Amazing

by N. Blake on Jul 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love everything about this podcast! Roger Bennett is brilliantly witty while leading us through the story of the US Men’s National Soccer team! I can’t wait for the next Roger podcast!

RCullen

by rc19999 on Jul 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Intriguing, fun take on a forgotten topic

:)

by The fricken best on Jul 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Super fun interesting podcast!

A MUST for US Soccer Nuts

by Dan Murillo on Jul 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is an exceptional podcast for anyone interested in US soccer. Having watched a lot of US soccer since that first glorious goal from Paul Caligiuri in ‘89, this podcast takes me down memory lane to relive all the great moments from this and learn about many moments I didn’t know about. I love it!

Great for getting into the World Cup (late:)

by jamiecalkinart on Jul 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As billed, this podcast helped this ‘u. s. american’ really get into this World Cup. Better late than never:)

Excellent

by jdswag987 on Jul 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Very entertaining. My husband really enjoyed listening and he is very picky when it comes to podcasts.

Addicting tale of poor leadership

by irishcav on Jul 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Takes a few episodes to hit its stride, but stick with it. Rog does a good job with the storytelling and the interviews are very compelling. Hindsight may be 20/20, but there were a boatload of questionable decisions between 1994-98. And that is being generous.

Sad to be done

by CJWtrombone on Jul 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I was crushed when it was over. So well done! Courage!!!

Great History Lesson

by hurt3333 on Jul 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It’s nice to get some backstory on the current state of US Soccer. It’s not comprehensive, but it fills in quite a few blanks...for me at least. It’s also funny.

Fascinating story told with fantastic story-telling by Roger Bennett

by TetsToy on Jul 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I recommend this story-podcast to anybody and everybody, you don’t have to like soccer to appreciate and get hooked into this story. Roger Bennett is a great story-teller and has a way with words that hooks listeners in. Give this podcast a listen, you won’t regret it.