Average rating:

5
out of 5054 ratings.

Awesome. Every USMNT fan should listen.

by Myzelle Jenkins on Sep 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Had no idea the DRAMA behind the scenes..! How has this not been made into a 2 hour “30 For 30” episode??! Excellent work.

Courage

by Progrockss on Sep 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Courage

American Fiasco podcast is anything but!

by Bud Fox 19 on Sep 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Roger - happy to write this review, excellent job on this podcast. My only disappointment was when I had finished the final episode. Highly recommend.

Not in the Farce!

by Pochettiknow's Best on Sep 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Horrifically amazing way to relive the disaster of World Cup ‘98 from an American standpoint. Im still waiting on the hug from Bob Ley that will banish the demons of watching the Americans capitulate to Iran through tears as an eleven year old...while my uncle laughed...

Loved it! Thanks, Roger!

by JxAx on Sep 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This was a fantastic podcast. Smart, funny, informative. Loved hearing about the Mayo at the Chateau. Thanks, Schaap!

Fantastic Podcast

by Connor Michael 987 on Aug 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Rog is a masterful storyteller with a deliberate and intelligent pace. This is a story any American soccer fan should know

Awesome

by aaaasddddxc on Aug 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great listen especially for casual USA soccer fan (FIFA/World Cup almost exclusively)

A great podcast story about football (soccer) in America

by spkane on Aug 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Funny and interesting!!

Wasn’t a soccer fan before this

by NebraskaSam on Aug 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast will truly change your perspective on USA soccer and if you’re soccer-curious like I was, this will put you over the top. I’ve listened to episode 3 multiple times because it will make you tear up for all the right reasons. In sports, there can be moments that transcend them, and make you feel emotions that only become possible with extraordinary events. This podcast contains what makes sports great and all the great things they can make you feel. This brought happiness and joy to my life and that’s all I can ask for. Thank you Roger, bill levy, Sampson, lalas, Eric, and all of the others. This is important journalism and i will tell everyone I can to listen to this.

Loved It

by BowlingPinPenguin on Aug 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoyed this series. The host (Roger) is a gifted story teller, and this had the right length, levels of humor, and was compelling. Well done.

Great For Sports Fans

by NYCSKIER on Aug 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

You don’t have any to be a soccer fan to appreciate and learn from this excellent podcast. Yes, lots to learn from here applicable to real life. But well researched and great interviews regardless.

Great listen

by JBBauersfeld on Aug 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I enjoyed the hell out of this podcast. Took me back 20 years to my HS days when our national team at least waited until the actual World Cup to crash our.

Incredible

by MMMSeattle on Aug 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If you lived, played and watched American soccer in the 90s this is more than a must - binge away cause you won’t be able to help yourself if you’re a soccer fan.

American Fiasco

by Perry-ChicagoStingForever on Aug 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

American Fiasco is not just a Podcast but a plethora of emotions that were felt again as in the 1980s and 1990s when we lived to find a Futbol/Soccer Game. When the NASL folded in 1984, I, who was from Chicago was crushed. I used to look at the Sunday Sun-Times to just find scores from the EPL as our only attachment. So, I say Thank You for telling the listeners(many who I am sure shared your feelings and mine as well) such a Great Personal Account of the 1998 World Cup Team and the History leading to that point. Thank You Again...

Awesome!

by StKa68 on Aug 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Loved it! I’m a big soccer fan and played against Agoos in high school. It hurts to watch the USMNT when you believe they should always be better, but aren’t. This podcast was therapeutic. Great story telling, characters, and even theme music. One thing about Americans and soccer that I can’t believe Katz didn’t address, especially considering his love for the NFL, is how unAmerican the US views diving, faking injury, and magic spray.

American Fiasco is a must for soccer fans!

by allcoolnicknamestaken on Aug 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I started listening this morning and am utterly hooked. If you watched soccer in the 90s, then you can’t pass this up. Stop reading this and get on with it. I’m out - still some episodes left.

American Fiasco

by FladagerS on Aug 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Fantastic series Rog. I grew up in northeast Montana, which is geographically as far as you can get from the game of soccer. You’ve provided a fascinating view of an unfamiliar and wonderful world. Thanks for your work. Good job!

Riveting Show

by MadalynB on Aug 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I am a huge fan of the USWNT, but had never followed the men’s team too much. This was an absolute joy to listen to. I didn’t know all of these stories at all, and the dramatic and thoughtful way in which the events are told is completely entertaining. PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE give the USWNT the same in depth treatment! I’d love to listen to that podcast!!!

Transcends sports fans

by MicheleL15 on Aug 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I don't follow or honestly understand soccer/football but Roger makes the subject so exciting and interesting. This is a beautifully told story that I would have never had interest in before this podcast.

Amazing story, well told

by rjacklos on Aug 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a gripping account of how American soccer went wrong in 1998 World Cup by the inimitable Men in Blazers’ Roger Bennett.

Love it...and I don't even like soccer/football/whatever...

by Murray_NYC on Aug 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Don't let the soccer-y-ness of this podcast deter you from binging. This is a podcast for anyone who has slowed down to view a car crash - for those who are interested in human endeavor and the ways things fall apart. Throw in a dash of Hart to Hart (Roger is right - someday its brilliance will be understood), mullets and Bob Lee and you can't stop listening. Loved Roger's storytelling, explanations, and interviews. This one is for everyone.

Classic Rog

by Waddles0508 on Aug 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If you like Rog Bennett you will enjoy the telling of this story. There are a number of interesting things in the story I did not know about as the coverage of this team in the 1990s was hidden even from those who were interested in it.

Oh the nostalgia

by Biggity Billy on Aug 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

So much fun to revisit the MNT and the players of the 90s. Roger Bennett tells the story beautifully and he’s just so bloody likable.

Listened to in less than 12 hours

by stevie bk ny on Aug 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Brilliant stuff Rog...EVVVVVAAAAAHHHHHTON

Great Host

by Chips At Random on Aug 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Roger is such a fun host. His enthusiasm is great. I listen to this while editing photos and it helps make time fly by.

Absolutely riveting

by Palmer Haas on Aug 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Absolutely loved every moment. The build up and the let down, the joy and disappointment. Every moment was a joy to listen to.

Very well done.

by Iamseamus on Aug 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Flows, Funny, and a great perspective. I recommend this hands down, especially to any US soccer fan born in the 80’s. So rad to hear these behind the scenes stories and interviews. Before the internet was what it is today, It was so different to find out what was going on. Once you start, you will be hooked.

Perfect

by Ira Joel on Aug 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great story great storytelling. Learned a lotEven as someone who watched every fam the 98 Cup.

Soccer: The Sport of the Future

by sisyphus216 on Aug 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is fascinating reporting and perfect storytelling. Whether you have any interest in soccer, or really in sports at all, this is just fantastic storytelling. Given the tone of Men in Blazers I was surprised how serious this was - not at all the slapstick of MIB. (Although MIB is amazing!! This is just different. Can not recommend strongly enough.

Fascinating Narration

by Stu A. on Aug 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I listened to this podcast while running my long runs and I was finished with the run befor I knew it.Roger Bennett does an excellent job of spinning the tale. Excellent research and first-hand comments by players and coach.After finishing last in the 1998 World Cup, it would be fascinating to hear a series on the USMNT 2002 World Cup performance. Last place to knockout rounds...especially after 1999 WWC.Well done Roger, Bob Lea and crew.

The inside of the 98 WC

by qwaszxetdfcv on Aug 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great in depth understanding of all the complications that lead up to the 1998 USA men’s national team. All tragedies are made up of a number of smaller mistakes and the same is true of the USMNT in the 1998 World Cup.

For fans of human drama

by mrgreendinosaur on Aug 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Expertly paced, well-written, and wonderfully produced, this series was gripping. You really don't have to know much about soccer or even really remember the '98 World Cup US Men's team to be engrossed by this. This could be adapted into a fantastic documentary.

Great show

by Simon Bolivar 123 on Aug 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Giving it 4 stars instead of 5 for some over dramatization throughout (losing to Germany in the World Cup is normal, not the end of the world) and specifically for some hateful comments towards the Russian soccer team in the last episode. Drop the hate.

Better than Serial or S-Town. A real American tragedy

by SuperDangerDave on Aug 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

That review title is probably too long. But I was trying to do it justice.Any American sports fan should hear this story, even if they don’t like soccer. It is a truly unfortunate series of events that led to a catastrophe whose repercussions are still probably felt today.I’ve never plowed through a podcast series so quickly. It took me months to listen to Serial, and I never even finished S-town.But this story... (possibly more up my alley as a huge sports fan, albeit a bit soccer naïve) is so well told and such a fascinating story of what most people just viewed as a bad two weeks for a soccer team. It was so much more complicated (and interesting) than that. Roger Bennett is as gifted a storyteller as he is a quick witted Radio personality.

You don’t have to be a soccer fan...

by CasaRosada on Aug 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

To love this story. Love Rogers story telling —his tidbits and personal flair really made this podcast a blast to listen. He was so charming that i hope he makes another podcast! Highly recommend even if you don’t know a thing about futbol!

Wow

by Maur-rice on Aug 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Absolutely fantastic show / podcast I really wish this was on video form it’s that good.

So so good

by Bounceswer on Aug 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Best podcast serial I’ve listened to in months. So engaging and electrifying. Some hints of tears too.

World Cup Withdrawal & PL Primer

by josephmilleriv on Aug 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Rog brilliantly spins a compelling and raw account of USMNT's failure in the 98' World Cup. From the players, to the manager, to federation executives- you get a perspective never heard and an insight into what those dark days in American Soccer history held behind the scenes. I can't wait until Rog documents the USMNT's most recent failure to qualify for the 2018 WC. Was a great listen to help me move on from the WC and prepare me for some PL action.

Even better than I thought it would be!

by alltimelover(: on Aug 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I heard his interview on Freakanomics and thought AF sounded interesting, but I couldn’t imagine how hooked I’d be! This is fantastic!

Had to binge listen because I couldn't stop listenting

by theinboundguide on Aug 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great story, great insight, great storytelling.

Thorough, insightful, gut-wrenching and funny

by E-lite Doughnuts on Aug 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Roger's knowledge and passion coupled with all of the voices from this history make for a terrific podcast. You'll wish the team had gone farther just so there could be more episodes.

So good!

by El Patay on Aug 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast! I'm not a soccer fan, player, or soccer-mom, but I CANNOT get enough of this podcast. It's educational (for someone like me), it's got suspense, personal stories, insight, and one of the best hosts I have ever heard. I would watch this if it ever goes to screen. I've been telling everyone about it. Roger - Thank you for this podcast!

Fiasco is fantastic.

by MM#11 on Aug 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Roger Bennett speaks about this team and this sport with the same giddiness as a teenage boy band fan. Probing into an American failure he finds a way to empathize with the characters without casting blame or wallowing in negativity. I love this time in American soccer and Roger and his team have reinforced that “for better or worse” love you must have to be a fan of this game, in a country obsessed with being the best.If you love story telling or ever wondered how David Regis ended up playing for the Stars and Stripes or if Frankie Hejduk is truly as nice as that time you ran into him in a Columbus market and invited you to have a drink sometime, your questions will be answered. Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!

insider view

by daycd on Aug 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

So many inside perspectives. From the manager, from the burotcrats, and from the players themselves. Lots of surprises in this tale of hope and success (success in copa america) to one almighty crash and burn (france 98). This chronicals it all, along with insightful opinions from the narrator. It is binge worthy, very well done.

A Podcast Golazo

by JSSimons on Aug 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Hoping Roger does more of these! Fantastic storytelling and very insightful!

Outstanding

by ChalfordMan on Aug 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Really a terrific series and worth listening to. Excellent work!

Great Soccer Drama

by evodon84 on Aug 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A real must listen for any US Soccer fan or a fan of soccer in general. Great insider look and I couldn't stop listening.

Superlative

by FutLuke on Jul 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you so much for this, Rog and the WNYC team.

Great Podcast!!

by a_small_axe on Jul 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast combines two of my favorite things, soccer and history. The information and stories are truly interesting and easy to listen to! Keep it up!

Trip Down Memory Lane

by Jay Gehlhausen on Jul 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I am enjoying this series a lot. Very high quality with even its own theme music. I lived all these events from afar and now I know the full story. We Americans are never boring. Just a suggestion: a 12 part series on 2018 qualifying. The title possibilities are limitless.