Average rating:

4.5
out of 529 ratings.

Fantastic!

by Jayhawk Mike on Jun 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️Paul and Amy bring it every week on a film from the AFI Top 100 List (2007 edition).Both have a great knowledge of film history; good (Amy, The Canon) and bad (Paul, HDTGM). If you are a fan of film and enjoyed these lists when they came out then do yourself a favor and listen to this podcast!

Good times!

by csaxton13 on Jun 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is my summer jam! I am having a delightful time following along with Paul and Amy as they truck through the AFI Top 100.

Charming Show!!!

by TLWhite30 on Jun 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm all in...On with the show! Can't wait for 100 more! Cheers...

New Favorite Pod

by SFerrell on Jun 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Honestly, this is my new fav listen. Paul and Amy have a great rapport. I love the genuine curiosity that they have for the films. The interviews they get are from interesting points of view and really informative!

Great

by P1b1 on Jun 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast!

Great podcast!

by brodeob0 on Jun 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve been listening to how did this get made for years, so I was really excited when I heard about this new show! It’s great and I love learning about movies I’ve never seen before.

Watching along

by KCLHC on Jun 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve been enjoying watching along with them as they go through this top 100 list. As I write this, we’re only 5 movies in and I’ve already watched 3 movies I’ve never seen before! It’s fun to watch the movie then get a run down from people who are knowledgeable and passionate about film.

Love it!

by TIMRTROUT on Jun 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoy hearing these two talk about movies. I’m really looking forward to going through the next entire top 100 movies with them. Keep it up!

Love you guys sooooo much!

by TiddlyWinks239 on Jun 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Best. Ever.

A perfect way to revisit the classics

by Zehloani on Jun 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It’s hard to make a movie podcast that captures and keeps your attention. Good Paul and Amy and there will select the guests make it a lot of fun to go back through some familiar and unfamiliar celebrated films. It feels like a film club and a conversation I wish I was in the room for. So subscribe, cue it up and listen

More of a Great Thing

by Pomattovich on Jun 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I was already a big fan of The Canon and How Did This Get Made, so the pairing of Amy and Paul just allows for more great content of something I already know I love. As a devoted Canon fan I especially like the idea of debating the merits of a film already deified into AFI’s Canon. Amy and Paul are fantastic together and their pairing makes for lively discussions and enjoyable listening. Highly recommend it.

GEOSTORM!!!!

by Swamp Mollie on Jun 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is super enjoyable and insightful. Very mellow and it’s cool hearing so much of the behind the scenes facts. Well done!

Energetic, entertaining, and informative

by 70sWoodstock on Jun 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Just listened to the Citizen Kane episode and really enjoyed it. I’m in!

Follow Along

by naylori on Jun 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is great. I have wanted to watch these movies and now I’m actually doing it so I can follow along with the podcast.

This is good

by whycantthisappfixasimpleissue on Jun 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I didn’t grow up watching a lot of movies that wasn’t wholesome family entertainment distributed by “Feature Films for Familes” which had a VHS subscription service. My husband, on the other hand, is way into movies and has seen most of these. This podcast is a great way in to what can be a sometimes pretentious crowd (see the really mean 1 star rating guy) of “film” nerds and it’s helping me to learn more about something my husband really loves. We watch the movie they’re talking about every week, then listen to the podcast together.Paul and Amy are really endearing, especially Paul’s laugh. We’re here for it!

great if you love movies

by PhilPom1950 on Jun 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have thoroughly enjoyed this review of the AFI top ten. Well done, informative and always entertaining. I highly recommend it.

A great listen

by Samantha in DC on Jun 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love both Paul and Amy. Their conversation discovering these films and how they have shaped our film/pop culture is a delight. They may not be experts but going along the journey with them from their perspectives is really fun. I love that they bring in experts on different topics to discuss key touchstones in different episodes. This is a more entertaining version of my film studies class in college!

Great show!

by Pat Harry on Jun 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Good info. Good hosts. Fun topic.

Must listen for film lovers

by BluepandaFox on Jun 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A true must listen for any film lover

The best hosts, the best movies

by DanielFord on Jun 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The hosts have great chemistry and a true love of films. This has become a must listen.

Kinda my favorite

by RissaD on Jun 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sometimes film podcasts can be way too high brow and it feels like they’re having a conversation you can only understand if you live in a coffeehouse and wear a scarf with thick rimmed glasses. But Paul and Amy are just as knowledgeable about film and twice as accessible in the way they break everything down. I especially appreciate when they don’t like the films they watch - it shows they’re actually providing an opinion instead of just going off public opinion. More episodes than just 100! I’m already dreading the day this ends.

Who is this for?

by Nick of Steel on Jun 10, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

It is difficult to figure out who this podcast is intended for. Certainly anyone with an average interest in American film history will find this wanting in content. And the hosts seem ill-equipped for the project. Paul Sheer seems totally out to lunch. In the first episode he begins by saint he had never seen Citizen Kane. So why not have him host a show reviewing the films on the AFI list of 100 greatest American films? After all, podcasts are not a medium for anything other than wasting time, I guess is Graywolf’s philosophy. Sheer seems to be the “fun” one of this odd couple. Amy Nicholson seems to be their for the “heft”; after all she claims to be a film critic. Before the internet people had to have some background before they could lay claim to some expertise. No more! Nicholson admits she had never seen “Swing Time.” She is dubious, having now seen it, that it could have been the “best” Astaire-Rogers film. So she floats the theory that it landed on the list because it had the most “reputation” because, after all, according to film critic Nicholson, it is doubtful that anyone would have watched all 9 Astaire Rogers movies; certainly not “critics” who made up the AFI list. The ignorance of film (much less how they fit into film history or American culture generally) has become so ingrained that there seems to have developed a “cute” come on. Listeners get to do just as Sheer did at the beginning. Explain what they thought the film was about before they watched it. What was a one-time time wasting part of the first episode now appears to be a permanent feature. This podcast seems to be designed to attract people who have no real interest in films and are around just to soak in the uncharming “chemistry” of Nicholson and Sheer. Who would I recommend it to? This with no friends, who don’t have cable access to TCM or a public library that lends DVDs/Blue Ray disks and preferably no friends. Because if you have to tune into these two for fellowship about classic movies, you are really scraping bottom. BTW, I give the podcast an extra star for its production values, not its content.

Automatic 5 Stars

by Mammon75 on Jun 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Haven’t listened yet but anything Paul does is great!!

Enthusiastic

by J. Steven on Jun 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Mistake-ridden and little understanding of history, yet wide-eyed enthusiasm and a fresh take make this podcast worth listening to despite the cringes.

Getting

by NotThatAlan on Jun 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Really good

Simultaneously critical and comedic

by BennyPack on Jun 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m really enjoying this podcast, especially the expert guests they have had. It’s a good honest look at these old movies.

Great!

by scarlett o'hara on Jun 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m a big fan of both Paul and Amy already, but I love the premise and execution of this show! So many of these movies have fallen out of the public eye despite being on the AFI list - it’s great to hear them get their due. What’s not to like?

Great Show

by cameramandan83 on Jun 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Paul and Amy have amazing enthusiasm and chemistry. Their love for the movies is infectious. The podcast is great. It's the highlght of my Thursday. Highly recomend.

Citizen Kane offers life lessons

by Molly1844 on Jun 08, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I knew I would dislike their review of Citizen Kane from the moment they both admitted to not having seen the movie. But, they both missed what makes the movie great and timeless. It's not the cinematography or the sound, it's the script. Even after mentioning that the only Oscar the film won was for "Screenplay" they never reference any of the timeless pearls of wisdom and life lessons sprinkled throughout the movie. . Two examples: "There's nothing particularly wrong with him just....Old age. It's the only disease you don't look forward to being cured of."And "It's no trick to make a lot of money, if all you want to do is make a lot of money."Perfect.

Great Movie Podcast

by Kat 82 on Jun 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Like movies and podcasts? You’ve got it with Unspooled! Amy and Paul are pros with differing viewpoints and keen insights into some of America’s best films. What’s not to like?

A Movie Lover’s Show

by PRBurns on Jun 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

And by movie lover I’m talking about folks who enjoy watching all types of movies. From silents (Dr. Caligari’s Cabinet was mentioned briefly in the Citizen Kane episode) to 4K, multi-screen blockbusters.I like listening to anybody talking about movies I like & respect (Citizen Kane), that I love (The Wizard of Oz) & that I’ve seen but don’t really care for (Ben Hur).Nit pick: Paul Scheer surprises me in that he perports to love film but had never seen Citizen Kane until cramming for this show. Huh?!Paul said that the viewers knew the secret of what “Rosebud” was from the beginning of the film. He thought Orson Welles let the cat outta the bag in the first scene featuring adolescent Kane. Wrong. Welles is better than that. We don’t find out the sectet of Rosebud until the sad end of this great movie.Whaddaya expect from discussing a dense film like this after only on viewing? I’ve the advantage of having seen this epic perhaps a hundred times & reading multiple articles & essays about it.Nit pick: Are Amy & Paul ever gonna disagree? Remember Siskel & Ebert? The best times on their show was when they disagreed. Ebert would get condescending while Siskel got defensive & sometimes snippy. Who didn’t love this show?! Yo, Amy & Paul, mix it up, why doncha? Accolade: I enjoyed interviews of folks connected (tenuously) to the films. But get a little more in depth. Accolade: I like when they talk about what was going on in the world at the time of the film’s release. Though I already knew almost every fact discussed in the first three eps, I hadn’t really considered the political, economic or cultural climate that the films were birthed into. I gave an extra star in my rating for this alone.Bottom line: I like this show. I like the hosts. I’m gonna hang in there to see if they get through all 100 movies. I say they don’t make it past 60.Whaddaya you think?

Limited charm

by Movie Dad on Jun 05, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The AFI 100 is a fun challenge, but I'm not sure this series will do it justice. I don't know if I can endure a full 100 episodes of Paul not knowing things, or of the hosts agreeing on almost everything. The interviews are very amateur. A particular nitpick: There is no real reason for this program to be flagged as Explicit, aside from the lack of self-control resulting in an occasional swear by either of the hosts. Was hoping for something more kid friendly.

Informative and fun

by Zasds on Jun 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love all the trivia and the variety of guests invited to discuss all aspects of the moviemaking/moviegoing experience. Excited for the rest of the “miniseries”

IMDB trivia page remix

by feathered on Jun 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

This podcast isn’t particularly funny, but that’s okay. The premise is worthy: an anti-How Did This Get Made, a show to appreciate and explore the best (or supposed best) of film. HDTGM spawned an army if mediocre imitators that it’s refreshing to see a new podcast (with a woman cohost!) that breaks that mold. What isn’t good is that it retains the pacing of HDTGM, a style that’s fine for a show that’s just a string of jokes about material that nobody cares about. This podcast acts like a show that wants to take its source films seriously, a goal that is furthered by choosing Amy Nicholson, a semi serious and possibly respected (if you’re into the Alamo Drafthouse circle of nepotism) film critic, as Paul Scheer’s cohost. But it doesn’t really. In the early episodes it just doesn’t work. The show presents a lot of interesting facts and observations about these great films, but it’s scattershot and disorganized. Interesting points are brought up and rushed past on to ... another interesting fact or point that is similarly shallow in its presentation. It’s rapid-fire joke pacing without the jokes—and without much chemistry between the hosts. Trivia flies about without being connected to any larger points. Complaints about the films never become critique because the hosts don’t challenge each other to defend or expand upon them. It’s maddening. Without time and thought and engagement there really isn’t anything here that I couldn’t get from reading Wikipedia and the IMDB trivia page. The guests are pretty great, though. There’s some potential, but after 3 episodes there is also a LOT of room for improvement.

Thanks

by Reformed Baptist on Jun 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

My new favorite podcast! I love both hosts! Only suggestion: favorite line of the movie?

Unspooled

by Borgmom on Jun 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love these type of podcasts. So many interesting facts and little things that the average movie watcher wouldn’t know. Can’t wait for many, many more.

Interesting, Educational, and Funny

by Grady.S on Jun 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

To be honest I would have never watched or wanted to watch most of these (at least the older stuff) films but after listening to the first two podcasts my wife and I have decided to go though the list and will watch the films before they discuss them. Amy and Paul have great chemistry and both bring a slightly different view to the films. Just take a listen and I bet you’ll love it.

Best podcast ever!!!

by omarfarrer on Jun 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

AFI best review of the 100 best movies ever! Can’t wait for the podcast of the AFI best 2,000 movies ever made. 5 stars!!

Occasionally interesting

by Tokimo on Jun 01, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The best thing that can be said about this podcast is it makes me miss “you must remember this”. It’s an interesting idea but the two hosts are not terribly engaging or well-informed about the history and detail of the films they’re talking about, at least not beyond whatever Wikipedia page they’re reading while they are recording. Any insights are obvious to anyone who knows even Basic details. The number of really bad errors or lame comments don’t add to the enjoyment. I hope they step up their game and do a little more fact checking and stop just being in love with the sound of their own voices.

Wicked of oz archetypes.

by SammyLovesDavis on Jun 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great great show! Can’t thank you enough.

Pop-cultural health food for our flabby minds

by Grebo Guru on May 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Good show! I love “How Did This Get Made?”, Red Letter Media’s “Best of the Worst,” and “Mystery Science Theater 3000” — who wouldn’t? But it’s valuable and maybe even important to revisit and understand the great movies, the ones we all share as part of our collective culture. Paul is mah man, and he’s hit another home run here.

Awesome podcast

by BUHHDAA on May 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

So much fun and a great deep dive into movies you maybe thought you knew like the back of your hand!

I dig it

by Ziggy90000 on May 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Expected rambling conversation on popular films, but great discussion and you learn some great stuff. Cool guests.

Paul and Amy rule!

by Ryan from Denver on May 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I am here because ‘ how did this get made’ is incredible. I have become a much more intelligent movie watcher thanks to Paul. Adding rewatch value to so many movies for a plethora of reasons. Keep the thoughtful analysis coming!!!!

Super-fun film studies

by Patrik6 on May 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

These delightful 'film sherpas' do a great job guiding us through film classics. Fun to familiarize myself with movies in the film canon. Can't wait for next episode.

Great for movie lovers!

by Bhutan on May 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoy the guest perspectives in the show. So far we’ve heard from really interesting people I never would have know about. Keep making a great show!

The dumb reviewing the smart

by Bearly44 on May 29, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

When the first thing out of the guy’s mouth is, Gee, I’ve never seen Citizen Kane, you know you’re in trouble. The trouble with this podcast, like so many podcasts, is that it’s hosted by morons, who somehow got the gig based on what??????? They have “podcast” voices, which basically means they either over or under compensate for sounding like used-car salesmen. You really just wanna reach through Apple horrible app and tell them to shut the hell up and get on with it. This isn’t Pod Save America l, that’s for sure. Watch the films yourself. Don’t bother with these bozos.

Paul Scheer is my movie hero

by hamTunes on May 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

When Paul announced he was doing another movie podcast, I couldn’t wait to subscribe. It’s even better than I thought it’d be (and I had high expectations). I love all the research and interviews with experts. I’m also enjoying adding a “top” film viewing to my weekly “bad” film watching ((if you don’t listen to the sister “How Did This Get Made?” podcast, what are you even doing?)). At this point, Id follow Paul on any podcast venture he does.

Huzzah!

by Vagabundoloco on May 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A perfect podcasting team-up for the perfect movie project! This is my new favorite podcast! (I coincidentally started watching all of the top AFI movies on my own last year, so I'm looking forward to hearing them all reviewed.)

Excellent duo

by Chris improv fan on May 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Really enjoy the commentary on these films. Very interesting guests. I've already seen most of these movies, but I'm still eager to hear the host's takes on all of them. The Citizen Kane episode did a fantastic job at addressing a lot of the things that made it great. Can't wait for more episodes!