Average rating:

5
out of 1066 ratings.

Important to understand those you don’t agree with

by Soduguru on Oct 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

While I don’t agree with the Bundys this podcast helped me understand why and how they think. Very interesting and worth binge listening.

As fascinating as it is infuriating

by Joyous on Oct 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A story that may seem small in scope, but the reporting is so excellent as to make VERY clear the broader implications. A great podcast! I didn’t expect it to have cliffhangers, but it grabbed my attention and wouldn’t let go.

Real journalism

by lvfmk1 on Oct 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. It is interesting to look at the motivations of people that do things that I struggle to understand. She is an amazing reporter and I hope to see some other podcasts like this soon.

Wow what an enthralling podcast

by cede liing on Oct 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I happened to be catching up on 99pi when they aired the first episode of this show, and was sucked right in. There was just no way I could just listen to the first chapter. So I immediately downloaded all the episodes of Bundyville and just could not stop listening. I binged all 7 episode in one sitting and honestly am sad it had to end. Great story telling on a super interesting and seemingly still ongoing story. After listening I feel like I have a great understanding of the situation from an unbiased standpoint. But not only do I understand this story but I feel like I better understand our entire current political climate better than before I listened. Definitely worth the listen.

Lost my interested halfway through

by Nullity on Sep 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Lost my interest halfway through.

Wow

by MrSmith79159 on Sep 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is probably the best podcast I’ve listened to. The ultimate conclusion is right what I have come up with. Fantastic work!

Really Interesting

by Stunned speechless on Sep 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been academically interested in the sovereign citizen movement for some time. I found this story on the Bundy’s to be engaging, eye opening, and fairly even handed in spite of the show’s overall opposition to the political and philosophical leanings of the clan. Being a Mormon I was also curious how they would treat the Bundy’s more eccentric understanding of Mormon doctrine. FWIW, the show presents a good foundation for the psychology of early Mormon pioneer’s, their distrust of the Government, and how the Bundy’s faith has influenced their movement. Overall the show is less about their faith as Mormons and more about the nexus, meaning, and results of their movement. Unique topic for sure, and worth a listen.

Thumbs up

by Beccabop88 on Sep 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Such an awesome show and great sound quality

Solid reporting

by Erik Salgado on Sep 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

In general, I hate the "let's understand these terrible people" genre, but this is an exception because it focuses on understanding the community they come from, their legitimate reasons to distrust the government, and while it attempts to articulate their position, it never ceases to frame them as a threat to American democracy.

Gives S-Town a run for its money

by Celloguy06 on Sep 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Incredibly well researched and written podcast about the Bundy family and the impacts surrounding the Bunkerville and Mahuel standoffs. Could not stop listening.

Excellent

by PhelineCat on Sep 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The people who need to really hear this won't. Sure, some may listen and become angry but they don't want to know who they are in reality. Try listening to episodes and explaining pieces to your sane friends to see them struggle with the cognitive dissonance they'll experience.The discussion of the flag should make everyone take a look at it and then accepted vexillological standards. Nevada ranks low for US flag design: flags should have no words and should be simple enough for a child to draw (yeah Cliven, your 67 grandchildren, you and all your kids should do it) because a flag needs to be easily identifiable. Flags most definitely should not have the name of their "state" as in nation, governing body, etc because the flag has failed if it needs to be labeled.Slight spoiler alert: Imagine the hell "the only people who matter" (you know, the Bundys 🙄) would raise if a movement to change the flag started? The elements of the flag may be salvageable unless the actions of a domestic terrorist group has killed off the yellow flowers. … That could make the flowers more relevant in light of the selfishness of this (what if they aren't so lily white- eh, that's the militia's thing)family with apparently thin connections to the state. I feel sorry for the kids getting brainwashed.

An attempt at fairness

by MDC-2015 on Sep 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Such a polarizing story that it is hard to report fairly. They gave it a valiant effort to report it fairly, but the reporter does seem to form an opinion through her investigation. The production quality is pretty high, and it held my interest through the entire series. I just wish it would have stayed a bit more balanced because all parties involved have problematic approaches to very nuanced issues.

Must listen

by D16 not so happy on Sep 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazing view into a movement I didn't know existed. Really well done. Hope there are updates in the future as this all plays out.

Excellent

by zzz808_ponyX on Sep 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great reporting. Really in-depth on a topic that doesn’t get enough correct media.

Fantastic long form journalism

by Steve H. from West Chester, OH on Sep 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If you thought the stuff you saw on TV news about the Bundys was unbelievable, wait until you hear the rest of the story. Leah Sottile does a fantastic job of peering behind the curtain on the Bundys and their cowboyized white people's BS. Really interesting (and fairly horrifying) stuff.

Very thoughtful and thorough however could’ve left us to make our own opinions

by rich ziz on Sep 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellent! Shows a part of America that gets overlooked . Leah, it is more powerful to end by asking questions to the listener and let us make our own opinion. Is the Federal Government overreaching? Is Cliven allowed religious freedom? Is there a middle ground where both ranchers and environmentalists could both be satisfied? America was built on pioneers who did not want to be governed by a distant, out of touch English king who collected taxes to be sent back across the ocean. Any similarities to the Bundys point of view ?Shouldn’t the states be deciding on land use ? Just hearing the Bundys speak is already powerful and speaks volumes .You did a really good job showing us to this part of the world . More stories about the west and other ranchers . Liberals that own guns wow ! Eastern Liberals need to hear about what goes on in these places . Keep it going !! Congratulations and THANK YOU !

Excellent In-Depth Look at the Bundys

by artvarck on Sep 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I had been curious about the history of the Bundys and what led to their supporters' armed stand off with federal law enforcement. More than meets the eye.

Was excellent until The end.

by Go away liberals on Sep 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Excellent and insightful story telling. Then she beings making lofty connections and inferences. Well this must mean that, this is dangerous..... etc. Last 3 episodes are all opinion. Could have been so much better without the demonization of this family.

Appreciate the depth of reporting

by vaccineinjuryquilt.com on Sep 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I followed the Oregon occupation closely so I thought that I was well informed about the case. Your podcast was very valuable to me because it filled in the religious and supremist roots of the story that were completely left out of most reports.

Great piece of journalism

by Brisat on Sep 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Since they made news, I’ve been fascinated by the Bundys’ ability to rally followers to what seemed clearly to be a patently absurd and self-serving cause. Leah Sottile’s 7-part story is objective, open-minded, comprehensive and ultimately searing as she traces the origins and entanglements of this family of dangerous ideas and the domestic terrorists they attract.

so well done!

by pchfysh980 on Sep 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

i enjoyed the way this story was told, but honestly what stood out to me most was how they handled the often annoying practicalities of podcasting. the ads are very brief and infrequent - often shorter than my 15 second skip ahead button. this is an amazing compromise, because it makes me more likely to listen to the ad because i don’t want to miss content, and i don’t get frustrated with long ad breaks. another great method - ads are read by a male voice, which makes it very easy to delineate when the ad is over because the female narrator takes over. i find it’s a great way to mark off ads, without needing specific ad music. i also love that there isn’t any “previously on” and usually only a sentence of “next time on” at the beginning and end of each episode. this is great for binge listeners (like me) who find it annoying to listen to a 30, 60, or 90 second recap of what they’ve JUST heard, and who don’t need a spoiler of what is to come.again, the content was well researched and reported, and the story was interesting from beginning to end. as someone who listens to podcasts for up to 12 hours a day, getting the nuts and bolts right really makes a difference to the overall experience, and i think Bundyville nailed it.

Insightful

by rrosenbl on Sep 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I so appreciated this podcast for giving both sides to a very complicated story that unfortunately leads to the mistreatment (all the way up to murderer) of people because of bias, greed, lack of insight, racism, and let’s face it the old ways are not always better. Certainly not in this case.

Intriguing

by Danananda on Aug 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

At places, jaw dropping.

Brings a story to life

by MoMatt77 on Aug 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I remember when these guys hit the national news, but never understood anything about the story other than a few talking points. This podcast sheds so much light and brings context to the story. I love how it came across balanced to me. I understand the motivations of both sides so much better. Super enlightening. Super engaging. Give it a listen!

Amazing

by yung heartburn on Aug 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Vital and urgent reporting. A must-listen.

Gripping and Informative

by AndySchroeder on Aug 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Leah Sottile is a gifted story teller and she takes her listeners on a layered journey that dives deeply into the veins of what makes us at once uniquely American and universally human. Understanding the complexity of the modern political landscape requires the search for motives, and in this story they are illuminated in a way that will help the curious among us understand the demons that inhabit the dark corners of our fellow citizens’ hearts. Bundyville is at once a confirmation of what you already know, and a reminder that no small event can ever be discounted as the catalyst for a landslide.

A Good podcast

by Voldy24601 on Aug 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a good podcast. It takes an open and honest look at the Bundy's and what happened in 2014. I would call this a must listen.

Not white privilege and all of the other catch phrases

by History Podcast junkie on Aug 30, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

White privilege is such a go to tag word now days. It’s an easy cop out on deeper discussions. Please don’t just go to this as your point unless you want to dichotomize complex issues. I enjoyed the podcast but was disappointed with the lack of information on states vs federal states rights discussion. Lots of talk on the constitution but not federalism. Do I agree with the Bundy reaction to this issue? I do not agree with there actions. However, they scratch at an underlying issue that needs to be talked about. Disappointed that with all of the episodes and not really discussing this as much as how they violated Federal law. My assumption, yes I know, is that the reporter did not agree with this point of view. If we were having a beer and discussed this issue my guess is that she would admit this.

Educational

by Nicholasgermer on Aug 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is just what I needed to learn historically concerning the Bundys.

Woof

by JEFFARGH on Aug 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Episode one - a fine episode of public radio - episodes two and three - absolutely crazy, interesting, weird af public radio!!! More to come - go Leah, this show rulez

Well Done

by chienpo on Aug 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I first heard about the Bundy standoff when a relative, who is related to them somehow (relative of a relative kind of thing), shared their take about it on Facebook when the standoff had just happened. I grew up in the region (in nearby southern Utah) and am very familiar with anti-federal land sentiments (and I’m also LDS like the Bundys). For the first day or so I gave my relative the benefit of the doubt and “liked” their post... and then regretted that as soon as I heard the full news report and actual background of what transpired. Since then I’ve followed the news of Cliven and Ammon and friends, annoyed at them not only because of their illegal acts but because of how they reflect on those of us connected/related to them and the region, however tangentially. I was baffled when they slipped through the court in Oregon and Nevada.This was a very thorough and well done podcast that provides a lot of the background and context that you need to really understand these events and the motivations of the actors involved. It was well researched and is very interesting. You won’t be bored.

Amazing storytelling!

by SahilNJ on Aug 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Stranger than fiction! Great and incredibly insightful reporting.

Well worth the time

by Noeta34 on Aug 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Well done podcast that looks at how the mix of religion, atom bombs, urban & rural clashes, and cows have launched a quiet revolution that has yet to truly catch fire.

Fascinating and Balanced Yet Critical

by GMcKim on Aug 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The author/narrator gently tacked back and forth, sometimes seeming very sympathetic to the Bundys and alternately critical. The code at the end was particularly scathing, possibly not quite to the degree justified by the reporting. But overall a fascinating report about a set of incidents that received mostly simplistic coverage in the media. I could easily listen to another 7 epsisodes of this!!

Goebbels would be proud of this propaganda

by Lije69 on Aug 27, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Surprised (but not shocked) that this hateful podcast is publicly funded. Producers are not shy about what they think of the Bundys--the same that they thinks of conservatives: crazy, white-supremacist, terrorists. This propaganda fits the leftist narrative perfectly: the USA was founded by "white radicals" rather than principled men whose unalienable rights to life and liberty were being violated. Ammon Bundy and his family are proud Americans and are bold advocates for the constitution, in spite of the attempt to erode its truth. This prop simply brushes over the fact that many familys' entire livelihood are being ripped away by an over-bearing federal government that has gobbled up and regulated the majority of western US land. In the name a desert tortuous? Imagine the ancestors of these people: they crossed the unknown and carved out a life in the wilderness only to have it taken from them two generations later in the name of some turtle. I'm sure they would've just hunted down every turtle they could've found if they'd have known. As the federal government continues to press itself into our daily lives and become more autocratic, it's evident this issue of states-right is a fight that isn't over.

the misplaced reasoning behind nutjobs in America

by asdfghjkl;kjhgfds on Aug 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

- and the historical precedents

Must Listen!

by stockholmbeijing on Aug 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This ought to be a must listen to anyone living in the US, and a strong recommendation to listen to anyone else. It’s a compelling, sad story of the USA in 2018....

Couldn’t stop listening

by indicali on Aug 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Intoxicating and absorbing. Left me thinking long after I was done.

Fantastic

by TheThirdVopat on Aug 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

An essential podcast about the growing anti government movement sweeping the US.

adds depth to a story you thought you already knew

by Herr Doktor Professor on Aug 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

worth your time

Fantastic Reporting

by Sunfish Moon Light on Aug 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve been waiting for a story like this about the Bundy family, as it’s still totally absurd to me that they are not in prison. Riveting, and disturbing, stuff.

Riveting journalism

by Johno6468 on Aug 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I felt the full force and weight of the authors effort to get at facts in a challenging story. So grateful to the work, effort, curiosity and insight that drove the work.

A great and informative listen!

by Guardian06 on Aug 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Well produced and easy to get sucked in to. A truly fascinating topic.

Captivating listen from the start!

by kbnjb on Aug 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Living in the rural west, the ideas, fears and biases of the Bundys are not unfamilar to me. This podcast helped me understand better the transformation of idea, fear or bias to unlawful and militan act. If anything this series serves as a study in our own perceptions leading to believing our own lies and the consequences when we act on that belief.

When reasonable concern goes too far

by The Window Whisper on Aug 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Fair take on this story. Like any social justice topic, a kernel of truth can be blown outta proportion and form into a paranoid and dangerous victim culture that can turn violent.

Well reported

by Just Froggie on Aug 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The reporter does a good job of reporting all perspectives. Whether the Bundys and their supports scare or inspire you, this is a comprehensive look into the story. That’s just my opinion. Listen and make your own decision. Always do your research and decide for yourself.

Excellent

by Dooner1975 on Aug 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This series is really well done. I’m hooked. Was only somewhat aware of the Bundy’s story. This podcast does a great job of breaking it all down.

Culture wars

by Andy_kidsinthe_hall on Aug 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

America has been struggling since Reagan to in a culture war that brought us to 45. Each side of the debate has been talking past each other because they perceive the world through different lenses. This podcast gets right down to the first shots of that culture war. Belief vs Truth. Amaze balls!!

Quality reporting

by MacBook Pro Home on Aug 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellently presented. Journalism at its best.

Really good story telling!

by Reyno Tapia on Aug 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This was appropriately long. Very tight reporting.