Average rating:

5
out of 447 ratings.

Interesting material

by Josh B Medic on Aug 17, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Interesting material. I didn’t know the story at all, and learned a lot. But my God, the self-righteous host is so biased I had to really listen between the lines to get some of the story. She mocks anyone who doesn’t seem to line up with her clear agenda. Interesting, but this is definitely not journalism. The entire podcast is her subjective summaries and judgmental opinions of a totally different lifestyle and viewpoint, that she passes off as ‘telling the story’. I would not listen to another of her pieces.

Well done

by Kcmyway on Aug 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

An interesting podcast. It moves at a good clip, stays interesting throughout. The host is smart, funny, and sounds like she’s invested in this subject. I binged it.

Brilliant, captivating, and a bit horrifying

by A mom and her kids on Jul 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Captivating deep dive into the cultural value of mistrust of government that pervades the rural west.

Review went from 5 to 1 star

by Magoobee on Jul 31, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

After the first few episodes, I thought this was going to be good journalism, showing both sides of the issue even though the reporter was clearly bias. I was set to give this podcast 5 stars. After that it went into editoral mode which of course has to go to White Supremacy. This is what I learned. This is an example of Federal Government overreach. Think about this. If the government did not go after Bundy, would any of escalation would have happened? Also, even if the Desert Tortoise were to go extinct, will it change anyone's life that listened to this podcast.I'm not anti environment. But where is the outrage of large cities getting larger. Impacting the habitat of animals. Why not build taller buildis closer to downtowns where public transportation is feasible. But no, more roads will be built. More car mileage will occur. Inefficient land use. Oh and why should Bundy's follow Federal Law, when sanctuary cities don't. Notice none of them get procecuted. Its selective enforcement that makes radicals.

must listen

by lakalinay on Jul 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This series is so well done and well researched, I'm recommending it to everyone. I live in the west, in Montana, and these particular issues of conflict over public lands and resources is daily fare. I wanted to know the background of the oregon ranchers recently pardoned by trump, and found this. Helpful on all counts.

Fantastic Depth and an Exploration of a Force in the West

by Mojourn on Jul 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The podcast and the depth it provides showcases why the Bundys matter and why that also might be terrifying. A fantastic, absorbing listen for anyone who cares about the future of our public lands.

Interesting but definitely biased

by lpejohnson on Jul 08, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

This was one person’s opinion on her experiences investigating the Bundy story and unfortunately not a deep dive into the two sides. Wish there had been more Bundy interviews played.

Worth a listen

by Pauleetoe on Jul 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Delves into some interesting backstory to try to offer context for the Bundys’ actions and what the family represents. Stick it out — halfway through I thought the host was too taken in by the Bundys’ veneer, but by the end she offers a more insightful take on why these narcissistic charlatans are so dangerous.

Hated it!

by Bellasweet on Jun 30, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Takes erroneous assumptions/ideas and presents them as “facts” to justify the behavior and actions of Bundy family. Clearly slanted and biased. Was hoping for a more factual presentation rather than biased speculation. Would not recommend and I am an ardent listener of all types of podcasts. Rarely do reviews but felt motivated to write one for this podcast.

Binge listened

by EmilyMartin on Jun 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Really great work. I finished the series in one day. Very compelling. Proud of you OPB!

Excellent.

by Snideron on Jun 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Good journalism and a good listen.

Solid

by d_rogue on Jun 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great journalism. I loved the sound design and music - helped created the atmosphere without being intrusive. Final episode wrapped things up - enjoyed the insights in episode 8. This whole event had me confounded as to the motivations and this helped clear some of the fog.

Good journalism

by Knownada on Jun 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Very well done and a good look at the different viewpoints. Explores the broader implications of what this historical episode means.

Rich, deep, and pertinent to our political times

by Cubafornian on Jun 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A must-listen for anyone curious about contemporary politics in America, Bundyville presents the latest chapter in the saga of the American West. Host Leah Sottile’s coolheaded reporting and sobering analysis leaves you wondering which side to take, or if there is even a side worth taking at all.

Great reporting!

by Hassled again on Jun 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

And great story telling. The recoded interviews and Bundy speeches really help tell the story. I learned a lot and in an impactful way.

Super insightful and excellent storytelling

by Mrslonelyhearts on Jun 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As a Mormon, I was very appreciative of good research and respect paid to my beliefs—which are not comparable to Mr. Bundy.

Very bias left wing radical

by ChrissyS787 on Jun 09, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Very inaccurate and bias...the “so called” journalist consistently refers to good people as right wing extremist. It’s sad how she justifies the killing of innocent Americans citizens trying to voice their grievances to the government. In addition she believes everything g the government tells her And states that Bundy is lying and telling the story they want to tell. She is very ignorant and naive ..It’s not journalism when your a left wing hack!

Great story and well-produced

by C013man on Jun 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Headline says it all

Great informative narrative

by Gossamer_Wings on Jun 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

In depth coverage of dangerous group of people. Hope to see more podcasts like this.

This is why I support public radio

by gpd209 on Jun 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Top notch journalism. Thanks for making it!

Fascinating

by Jenjelang on Jun 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a terrific podcast! I learned so much! It is presented in an engaging manner. I loved it.

Very Interesting.

by picksteve on Jun 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m hooked.

Fascinating story about the Bundy family

by ILovesMeMusic on Jun 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I thought I knew just about everything about the Bundy story. This great podcast shed new light on a strange American legend. Does make me wonder what is going to happen in the next chapter if he Bundy crazy story.

Fascinating show

by 27giselle on Jun 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I really liked the way the reporter didn’t assume anything. In Oregon there was so much publicity about the Malheur occupation that to start at the beginning added so much. Binge listened to this.

Captivating true saga!

by Full timer dreamer on Jun 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This series was captivating and entertaining, laying out the story details (the facts). Excellent journal work. Fantastic way of telling the story with music, the narration and reporting the facts. Please give me more! I get the Bundy position but like to GET ‘EM the H**L out of Oregon - and other pristine wilderness spaces. Land use for all shared by all!

great story told well

by songaia2 on Jun 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is great, detailled reporting of an important story. Goes in depth, gives context, and stays entertaing and exciting on a very important story.

This could the next Serial!

by Seamusdd on Jun 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Granted I’m only on the second episode BUT this has all the makings so far of the next Serial sensation (I’m talking the original Serial too btw)! The host is fantastic. Great voice- really engaging and intelligent. The content is fascinating to begin with and there’s so much we don’t know about all the entire story and history. So far they have done a phenomenal job on background and creating interest. I totally see myself binging on this this weekend!

Excellent

by ARJMN on Jun 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I couldn’t stop listening! Absorbing combination of interviews, history, facts and commentary. More like this, please!

Fantastic Reporting on the Intersection of the Far Right, Public Lands Management, and Religion

by Danielle M.A. on May 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This series is SO. GOOD. Through an in-depth look at the Bundy family, their experience in the American West, and their extreme take on the Mormon faith, we can learn A LOT about a once fairly unknown group of self-proclaimed Patriots--the Bundys and those compelled to support them--and how they've gained momentum over the years. This is a story that needs to be told and better understood, because if I've learned anything from our current President it's that's simply ignoring a vocal minority won't make them go away.

Bundyville is worth your time

by Brad R_PDX on May 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It's a great podcast. The storytelling and pacing balance nicely, so you rarely feel like what you're listening to isn't an important part of the story. The soundtrack is cool.

Bundyville

by 123UncleSam on May 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I found this podcast to be very informative and a little disturbing. It was a very well-done and goes into a great deal of detail. It’s very disappointing what humans will do under there religious beliefs and their constitutional rights when it’s really nothing more than greed, pier and simple greed.

Excellent reporting on a fascinating movement

by Jstewartr on May 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The events surrounding the Sagebrush Rebels defying the government in Oregon and Nevada are fresh and still unfolding. They may seem like crazy gun toting militiamen, but they can’t be ignored. And they’re breeding like rabbits out there in the Nevada desert. The Bundys already have 69 grandchildren and counting. Scary! Great investigative reporting that answers a lot of lingering questions about Why.

Fascinating & Well-Reported

by Stevesnyc00 on May 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A fascinating and well-reported deep dive into a far right wing family that looks far beyond their patriotic stance to a complex web of motivations.

Outstanding series!

by liz beth NY on May 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one of the most fascinating and engrossing investigative series I’ve found since In The Dark. The reporting, fact checking, production and story arch are top notch. This is an unflinching illustration of the expanding divide between rural and urban America, and the alarming polarization that’s come to define who we are as a people and a nation. Thank you for taking such a deep dive into a subject matter we should all take at least some time trying to better understand.

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

by RSH789 on May 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Ironically binged this series while wearing a National Public Lands Day shirt... anyways, I feel this issue doesn’t get the attention it deserves and this reporting gave much-needed back story to the battle over public lands. Thank you for the fearless and informative reporting that I thought was very fair to all parties

Interesting but also very biased

by Derrick702 on May 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The journalist has no real experience in the West. She makes some valid points but in the end she’s so pro government it’s sick. Both the Bundy Family and the government have legitimate gripes but she always falls back on that the government is always right. Interesting podcast none the less on a very complicated issue and while I don’t always agree with the journalist I respect her views and her trying to understand. Definitely worth a listen.

Addictive!

by jleuschke on May 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great storytelling of a very unusual subculture in America.

Compelling

by brockmon on May 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

You can dive into details of the 2016 standoff in more detail, but the background on these conflicts and its historical setting is an important aspect that isn't always well-illustrated. This show does that in compelling comprehensive reporting and great audio production.

Engrossing

by grailer_ on May 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As an Oregonian, I thought I’d had enough of the Bundys. Guess I was wrong. Great series.

Bundyville. A chilling portrait of an American religious extremist group

by brispy5 on May 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Yes.

Connecting the Dots

by POC in Oregon on May 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Very deep dive into the back story connecting, fear, race, and religion driving the Separatist movements in the US. Powerful podcast!

Loberal Bias

by Gsr seven8 on May 20, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Obvious left leaning perspective

Fascinating look into the Bundys

by allthegoodnamesaretaken2 on May 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm half way through and so far its riveting. Digs deep into the story.

Absorbing, well researched, for our time

by k.hooper on May 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a methodically researches podcast that looks at the Bundy family’s crusade from every angle. Over the course of the podcast, it raises excellent issues to ponder. It is so timely with all that we are wrestling with as a nation, too.

Podcast host comes across as a butt hurt jackass

by gypsysoul4ever on May 19, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

It's evident the Host of the podcast has a strong dislike for Bundy family. The Host definitely had an agenda part of which was to portray the Bundy family in the most negative way possible.

Outstanding podcast documentary

by BrksRnge on May 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The people who made this series should be proud of what they’ve accomplished. I followed the Bundy saga closely and I listened to each of these episodes with great interest. They got the facts right and offered new insights I hadn’t heard before.

Great storytelling!

by amandabdavis on May 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Loved the podcast - I binged it so fast and I’m so bummed it’s over. The Bundy clan has such a fascinating/weird story to begin with and I learned so much more about their weirdness from you. You rock Leah!

This series better tells the history behind the Bundy's.

by Also a flag flier on May 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Leah and Ryan go in depth to tell us why the Bundy's are in this fight and why, at the moment, they're winning. They are beguiling and many of us can agree with much of what they say. But they are shrouding their misogynist, racist, radical, me first inclinations in Jesus Christ and the American constitution. Listen carefully, people, they will call you to defend them, but you will not win in their fight.Thank you for going deeper to help us understand.

Great insight!

by Hillsboro Willie on May 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I enjoyed the insight and new information presented. As a Portland resident and ex-Mormon this interests me on several levels. It was interesting to hear the "Mormon speak" that outsiders won't recognize. A bit too many conclusions drawn for an informational podcast but I agree with the conclusions so (in this day and age...) that is OK!

Great Podcast About Bad People

by Mike Draperino on May 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If the Bundy's were African-American, they wouldn't have gotten away with a tenth of the crap they pulled. And remember: Whenever they say that the land is for "the people," they mean ranchers, miners and oil companies. Public lands are for EVERYONE, not just privileged, racist white guys.