Average rating:

4.5
out of 1398 ratings.

A view into a self-serving world of the Bundy Family

by Geargab on Jan 13, 2019
Rating: ★★★★☆

I enjoyed this podcast. The Bundy family are a fascinating but ultimately flawed version of American individualism. They pick and choose from the Bill of Rights or their religion and interpet what is needed to fit their own agenda and profit regardless of the effects on their supporters, law enforcement or the environment.

Great exmination of messianic religous impulse vs. the public domain

by pdx egh on Jan 04, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Deep dive into the underpinnings of the occupation of the federal Malheur Wildlife Refuge in eastern Oregon in January 2016. This podcast initially presents the Bundy's as somewhat sympatric figures then dismantles those foundations by asking deep questions about what actually drives them and their followers. The Bundy’s present themselves as "saving the country from a tyrannical government but the underlying impulses for their fight are much more about their out of control libertarianism which is rooted in greed.

Interesting stuff

by ThryllBilly on Dec 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Well done, well researched.

Legit podcast

by shahedalam on Dec 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Chyeah!

More Informed Oregon Resident

by Rachael from Oregon on Dec 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As an Oregon resident I remember hearing all the news from Malheur but not understanding the nuances, complexities, and history that sparked the conflict. I felt this was a well-reported, unbiased look at both sides of the conflict and helps me to better understand some of the extremist beliefs some hold in this state and country and what has lead them to hold these views. Very interesting series. It’s a sequential story so I’d recommend starting from the beginning.

I really wanted to like this but...

by NewtoWho on Dec 20, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

It’s so bias- she’s not telling me the story as a reporter should-she’s telling me her already formed opinion. That’s garbage.I’m an Oregonian and really wanted to understand a piece of our history but I want to understand all of it - not just a slice of an bias view.Frustrating as heck.

Welp

by hdhehdbdsj on Dec 17, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Loved it at first. Did a good job at being unbiased I felt. Not toward or against the Bundy’s because they are a bunch of hacks. But toward some of the political ideas behind both sides. Then it took a rapid turn for the worst and was almost unlistenable. I’m not saying I want to be fed my own view 24/7. I just want a podcast to tell me the story without talking about their beliefs on public land for full episodes.

One sided

by Gvwall on Dec 16, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Completely one sided. Like everything from liberal media.

Excellent example of letting the facts guide the story and journalist/m

by keyshawn_irvin on Dec 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Leah Sottile relays a factual and multi-faceted story of the past, present, and (editorially) future Bundys. If you imagine the family's story as a spoked wheel, each episode on the whole, and then within each episode is m of multiple spokes with the family at the center. History, religion, politics, the law, culture, and peaceful and violent protest are hallmarks. In the end, Leah intimates, if not, overtly argues, that the Bundys' story appears a microcosm of two things: (1) the dangers of creating a world around you where (self-focused) belief systems and outcomes (and not truth) are the primary ends, and (2) the inherent dangers that arise when folks craft a story (here one of abject government tyranny and individualized persecution) and lose control of the narrative (re: white nationalists, sovereign citizens, militia co-opting the Bundy tale for their own ends).To me, Leah editorialization is present though sparse in comparison to relaying of facts and painting the story — perhaps why, even though on the whole I have little support (and in some areas disrespect) for the beliefs/positions the Bundys hold, I found myself better understanding where they're coming from. As Leah states (I believe late in episode 6), we all to some extent craft our stories so that we are the hero...but the Bundys seem like an extremely self-indulgent/self-pitying example of a rather commonplace behavior/psyche — an example that has sway within dangerous-minded circles here and around the world.

Her opinion

by amckenna119 on Dec 14, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

You can tell the author is anti bundy. I want both sides not ur opinion

Grade A

by RollDamnTide on Dec 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

VERY fair and balanced. It is a fascinating look into this family and the sovereign citizen movement. As a conservative, I was expecting something with a hard left lean. This is how reporting should be.

Made me clean

by ajw5171 on Dec 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I cleaned my kitchen so that I could keep listening to this story

Want a free work trip to Vegas? Stretch a podcast

by NAME ISNT IMPORTANT on Dec 11, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

In fairness, I am from Las Vegas, so maybe I have a better understanding of the story than most. But I can’t help but get the sense that this “story” should/could have been a lot shorter. We’re teased with new information and told about tons of research that took place but I listen to episode after episode, commercial break after commercial break and I’m still waiting for this new info to come to light. I’m currently listening to episode 4 and can’t help but laugh at, “Back on the road toward Bundy Ranch, it’s starting to feel like we might not get answers to the questions we want to ask.” I’m sitting here wondering if they’re ever going to ask the questions in the first place. We did learn they own 100 heads of cattle to go along with some other baby animals. Hopefully I’m wrong and forced to update my review, but so far I’m still waiting. I will say that the podcast is very well produced and sounds great. I’ll also give credit to the Leah for allowing the Bundies to speak, even if it was riddled bias and preconceived ideas. This was more of an editorial than an investigative story. The irony here:“Dropping in on the Bundy family, we saw them do what all families do; tell stories they’ve told a thousand times...” -Bundyville Episode 4.

Thrash

by tylermiami on Dec 05, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I’m tired of podcast trying to explain why white right wing extremist do what they do, rules and law apply to everyone but them,kick rocks

Excellently done

by js940813 on Dec 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thoroughly enjoyed listening (binging) this show. The host did a wonderful job of towing the line between being critical and keeping an open mind in order to better understand the Bundy's. This show is timely and important as it sheds light on and attempts to understand an ideology that is becoming more and more mainstream in America. Can't recommend enough.

Valuable on many levels

by R3DS74R on Nov 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thorough investigation delivered in tautly-written, perfectly paced episodes, this series walks the listener right up to the brink of sympathy for the Bundy family’s stated motives before panning out and placing them in the context of society. Troubling, riveting and frighteningly relevant.

Informative

by Sullivan's on Nov 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If all you’ve seen or heard about the Bundys is the occasional news piece here and there, be prepared to go much deeper. The exploration of constitutional rights, religion, and greed get fully developed and insightfully told. Highly enjoyed the series and learned a lot.

Fascinating and complex

by dwillsdon on Nov 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Bundyville has the twists and turns, and narrator involvement of something like Serial, but these are not plot twists. They are the complexities of the antigovernment far right in the US.

Gripping and Well Produced

by rattlesnek on Nov 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Not something I think about so much in regards to podcasts, but this was not only fascinating but created its own sonic aesthetic that kept me engaged all the way through. Listened to all the episodes in less than 24 hours.

Fair and frightening

by Perisor on Nov 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The podcast does a good job uncovering the driving forces behind a small, but growing cadre of selfish, angry white men who feel they are entitled to more than they’ve earned and who are willing to take it by force.

Good investigation, like Serial

by americanswiss on Nov 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Fantastic reporting, very important information for those of us who don’t live in Nevada to understand. I did not expect to be too interested but I was absolutely amazed.

Very interesting

by crocdeezy on Nov 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have kept up with this story since 2014 and have always sided with the Bundy family and still do for the most part. What I found interesting about this podcast is the religious factor in which not even Frontline on PBS talked about. Great job!

Brilliant!

by Hvel1 on Nov 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Very well written, highly underrated show. Perfect background music, editing and narration.

Excellent!

by KMB06001 on Oct 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Really, really well done podcast. Just be warned that the beliefs of the subjects are so scary! The Bundys and their supporters are truly delusional.

Important to understand those you don’t agree with

by Soduguru on Oct 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

While I don’t agree with the Bundys this podcast helped me understand why and how they think. Very interesting and worth binge listening.

As fascinating as it is infuriating

by Joyous on Oct 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A story that may seem small in scope, but the reporting is so excellent as to make VERY clear the broader implications. A great podcast! I didn’t expect it to have cliffhangers, but it grabbed my attention and wouldn’t let go.

Real journalism

by lvfmk1 on Oct 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. It is interesting to look at the motivations of people that do things that I struggle to understand. She is an amazing reporter and I hope to see some other podcasts like this soon.

Wow what an enthralling podcast

by cede liing on Oct 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I happened to be catching up on 99pi when they aired the first episode of this show, and was sucked right in. There was just no way I could just listen to the first chapter. So I immediately downloaded all the episodes of Bundyville and just could not stop listening. I binged all 7 episode in one sitting and honestly am sad it had to end. Great story telling on a super interesting and seemingly still ongoing story. After listening I feel like I have a great understanding of the situation from an unbiased standpoint. But not only do I understand this story but I feel like I better understand our entire current political climate better than before I listened. Definitely worth the listen.

Lost my interested halfway through

by Nullity on Sep 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Lost my interest halfway through.

Wow

by MrSmith79159 on Sep 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is probably the best podcast I’ve listened to. The ultimate conclusion is right what I have come up with. Fantastic work!

Really Interesting

by Stunned speechless on Sep 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been academically interested in the sovereign citizen movement for some time. I found this story on the Bundy’s to be engaging, eye opening, and fairly even handed in spite of the show’s overall opposition to the political and philosophical leanings of the clan. Being a Mormon I was also curious how they would treat the Bundy’s more eccentric understanding of Mormon doctrine. FWIW, the show presents a good foundation for the psychology of early Mormon pioneer’s, their distrust of the Government, and how the Bundy’s faith has influenced their movement. Overall the show is less about their faith as Mormons and more about the nexus, meaning, and results of their movement. Unique topic for sure, and worth a listen.

Thumbs up

by Beccabop88 on Sep 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Such an awesome show and great sound quality

Solid reporting

by Erik Salgado on Sep 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

In general, I hate the "let's understand these terrible people" genre, but this is an exception because it focuses on understanding the community they come from, their legitimate reasons to distrust the government, and while it attempts to articulate their position, it never ceases to frame them as a threat to American democracy.

Gives S-Town a run for its money

by Celloguy06 on Sep 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Incredibly well researched and written podcast about the Bundy family and the impacts surrounding the Bunkerville and Mahuel standoffs. Could not stop listening.

Excellent

by PhelineCat on Sep 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The people who need to really hear this won't. Sure, some may listen and become angry but they don't want to know who they are in reality. Try listening to episodes and explaining pieces to your sane friends to see them struggle with the cognitive dissonance they'll experience.The discussion of the flag should make everyone take a look at it and then accepted vexillological standards. Nevada ranks low for US flag design: flags should have no words and should be simple enough for a child to draw (yeah Cliven, your 67 grandchildren, you and all your kids should do it) because a flag needs to be easily identifiable. Flags most definitely should not have the name of their "state" as in nation, governing body, etc because the flag has failed if it needs to be labeled.Slight spoiler alert: Imagine the hell "the only people who matter" (you know, the Bundys 🙄) would raise if a movement to change the flag started? The elements of the flag may be salvageable unless the actions of a domestic terrorist group has killed off the yellow flowers. … That could make the flowers more relevant in light of the selfishness of this (what if they aren't so lily white- eh, that's the militia's thing)family with apparently thin connections to the state. I feel sorry for the kids getting brainwashed.

An attempt at fairness

by MDC-2015 on Sep 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Such a polarizing story that it is hard to report fairly. They gave it a valiant effort to report it fairly, but the reporter does seem to form an opinion through her investigation. The production quality is pretty high, and it held my interest through the entire series. I just wish it would have stayed a bit more balanced because all parties involved have problematic approaches to very nuanced issues.

Must listen

by D16 not so happy on Sep 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazing view into a movement I didn't know existed. Really well done. Hope there are updates in the future as this all plays out.

Excellent

by zzz808_ponyX on Sep 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great reporting. Really in-depth on a topic that doesn’t get enough correct media.

Fantastic long form journalism

by Steve H. from West Chester, OH on Sep 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If you thought the stuff you saw on TV news about the Bundys was unbelievable, wait until you hear the rest of the story. Leah Sottile does a fantastic job of peering behind the curtain on the Bundys and their cowboyized white people's BS. Really interesting (and fairly horrifying) stuff.

Very thoughtful and thorough however could’ve left us to make our own opinions

by rich ziz on Sep 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellent! Shows a part of America that gets overlooked . Leah, it is more powerful to end by asking questions to the listener and let us make our own opinion. Is the Federal Government overreaching? Is Cliven allowed religious freedom? Is there a middle ground where both ranchers and environmentalists could both be satisfied? America was built on pioneers who did not want to be governed by a distant, out of touch English king who collected taxes to be sent back across the ocean. Any similarities to the Bundys point of view ?Shouldn’t the states be deciding on land use ? Just hearing the Bundys speak is already powerful and speaks volumes .You did a really good job showing us to this part of the world . More stories about the west and other ranchers . Liberals that own guns wow ! Eastern Liberals need to hear about what goes on in these places . Keep it going !! Congratulations and THANK YOU !

Very thoughtful and thorough however could’ve left us to make our own opinions

by rich ziz on Sep 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellent! Shows a part of America that gets overlooked . Leah, it is more powerful to end by asking questions to the listener and let us make our own opinion. Is the Federal Government overreaching? Is Cliven allowed religious freedom? Is there a middle ground where both ranchers and environmentalists could both be satisfied? America was built on pioneers who did not want to be governed by a distant, out of touch English king who collected taxes to be sent back across the ocean. Any similarities to the Bundys point of view ?Shouldn’t the states be deciding on land use ? Just hearing the Bundys speak is already powerful and speaks volumes .You did a really good job showing us to this part of the world . More stories about the west and other ranchers . Liberals that own guns wow ! Eastern Liberals need to hear about what goes on in these places . Keep it going !! Congratulations and THANK YOU !

Excellent In-Depth Look at the Bundys

by artvarck on Sep 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I had been curious about the history of the Bundys and what led to their supporters' armed stand off with federal law enforcement. More than meets the eye.

Was excellent until The end.

by Go away liberals on Sep 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Excellent and insightful story telling. Then she beings making lofty connections and inferences. Well this must mean that, this is dangerous..... etc. Last 3 episodes are all opinion. Could have been so much better without the demonization of this family.

Appreciate the depth of reporting

by vaccineinjuryquilt.com on Sep 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I followed the Oregon occupation closely so I thought that I was well informed about the case. Your podcast was very valuable to me because it filled in the religious and supremist roots of the story that were completely left out of most reports.

Great piece of journalism

by Brisat on Sep 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Since they made news, I’ve been fascinated by the Bundys’ ability to rally followers to what seemed clearly to be a patently absurd and self-serving cause. Leah Sottile’s 7-part story is objective, open-minded, comprehensive and ultimately searing as she traces the origins and entanglements of this family of dangerous ideas and the domestic terrorists they attract.

so well done!

by pchfysh980 on Sep 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

i enjoyed the way this story was told, but honestly what stood out to me most was how they handled the often annoying practicalities of podcasting. the ads are very brief and infrequent - often shorter than my 15 second skip ahead button. this is an amazing compromise, because it makes me more likely to listen to the ad because i don’t want to miss content, and i don’t get frustrated with long ad breaks. another great method - ads are read by a male voice, which makes it very easy to delineate when the ad is over because the female narrator takes over. i find it’s a great way to mark off ads, without needing specific ad music. i also love that there isn’t any “previously on” and usually only a sentence of “next time on” at the beginning and end of each episode. this is great for binge listeners (like me) who find it annoying to listen to a 30, 60, or 90 second recap of what they’ve JUST heard, and who don’t need a spoiler of what is to come.again, the content was well researched and reported, and the story was interesting from beginning to end. as someone who listens to podcasts for up to 12 hours a day, getting the nuts and bolts right really makes a difference to the overall experience, and i think Bundyville nailed it.

Insightful

by rrosenbl on Sep 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I so appreciated this podcast for giving both sides to a very complicated story that unfortunately leads to the mistreatment (all the way up to murderer) of people because of bias, greed, lack of insight, racism, and let’s face it the old ways are not always better. Certainly not in this case.

Intriguing

by Danananda on Aug 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

At places, jaw dropping.

Brings a story to life

by MoMatt77 on Aug 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I remember when these guys hit the national news, but never understood anything about the story other than a few talking points. This podcast sheds so much light and brings context to the story. I love how it came across balanced to me. I understand the motivations of both sides so much better. Super enlightening. Super engaging. Give it a listen!

Amazing

by yung heartburn on Aug 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Vital and urgent reporting. A must-listen.