Average rating:

4.5
out of 858 ratings.

Absolute stunner

by RaphDS112 on Oct 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

We Came To Win is now my favorite football show and the team nails how to capture the human drama of the beautiful game. Every story easily fits into the canon of global sporting Great Moments and gives us the best fresh (American, which is rare!) take on the moment. Love it, can’t wait for a new season to kick off.

Love it!

by Bookshelves91 on Sep 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I absolutely love this podcast! I really enjoyed the episode on Maradona!

Great World Cup Stories

by spkane on Aug 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I only wish there were many more episodes.

The greatest pod.

by Jrob274 on Jul 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is like a favorite book, difficult to put down, easy to return to over the and over again, and with each revisit, something new is revealed. I binged this in one day and have already recommended this to all my football loving friends and to those friends who I wish would love football.

Great listening

by EnigmaAM on Jul 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

For soccer fans and non fans alike, these stories are fantastic. If you are a soccer fan, you may know some of the stories. They are told well, and even if you know the outcome, you are still riveted. I also really enjoy the variety— not just men’s soccer, but women’s soccer and refs are also covered.

Soccer mom gives two thumbs up!

by Spradlin on Jul 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This soccer mom barely knows the difference between a goal kick and a corner kick, and I love this podcast! It’s great storytelling! It’s well produced! Each podcast contains all of the character development, the villains, the victors, and the engrossing story that you want in any great tale. Seriously, listen to this. Mom says so.

Great to listen to during World Cup

by flyingdics on Jul 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great to listen to during World Cup. I didn't know most of these stories as a very casual fan, so these well produced ones were awesome.

Fantastic

by The savior 2000 on Jul 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

During his commentary on some of the soccer games I felt I was there.

A Goalazo of a podcast!!

by lmlineberry4 on Jul 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Stories behind the sport, the players, and the fans of the most popular worldwide sport.... Soccer, Fútbol. A Goalazo of a podcast!!

Please make more!!!

by Um supppp on Jul 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Loved this series, I binged listened to the entire series. Loved hearing about these amazing insights

Well Said

by jschweps on Jul 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I don’t like soccer. I have tried in the past to get into the hype of the World Cup but I couldn’t ever muster any real enthusiasm. These guys have helped me understand a bigger story about what it takes to win and how teams and players get to the World Cup. I’m definitely much more curious about the most popular sport in the world.

Simply Amazing!

by Arinze A. on Jul 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I LOVE this podcast. I can’t stop listening to it. Favorite episode hands down is the one on Zaire. Keep it up! 🙏🏾🙌🏾

Wonderful!

by Inkscribble on Jul 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Absolutely ignites my love of international soccer! Would be absolutely thrilled if it were continued!!!

Not a Sports Person, But...

by Luinmirel on Jun 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast drew me in! The stories and politics are so interesting. I really enjoy stories about people, and that's what this podcast is about.

Excellent storytelling about the best Known and Unknown World Cup Stories

by Dugdgsgsgshshshssgdvdvdg on Jun 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The Zaire episode is so good. These stories need to be told!

Love it!

by Empress ChaChanna on Jun 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I enjoy the World Cup but admit I don't know much about the game or the history. We Came to Win was an amazing collection soccer moments and the stories of the players who lived them. I especially enjoyed the stories of Zaire's and the Spanish women's national soccer team. I would love it if they continued, epecially for the Women's World Cup.

Great for soccer newbies and pros alike!

by Faith Kathryn on Jun 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

What a fantastic show! I’m only a casual soccer watcher (Olympics & World Cup) and I absolutely loved this show. It was so fascinating to hear all of these stories from soccer history, most of which I had never heard of before. I was very impressed by how many of the principal players they were able to get interviews with. I loved that they included a few episodes about women’s soccer (really wish there had been more) and was in particular really surprised by Hope Solo’s early-career story. All in all, this is a fantastic pod and I really hope they come back to make more episodes. I would love to hear stories like this year round and not just before the World Cup. Great job!

Great listen!

by wecametobinge on Jun 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellent stories to help build my soccer history knowledge. Very entertaining and got me even more excited for the World Cup. Hope they bring it back for the women’s World Cup next year!

Soccer Mom from Montana

by BZN Mama on Jun 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is the bomb! I love the stories, the personalities, the story telling ... all layered in history of one of the greatest sports of our time. My kids also love it. Gives them a greater sense of the game and how much passion surrounds the sport. You will enjoy this even if you are not a soccer fan.

True Soccer Fans

by Podcaster5 on Jun 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is excellent! Love the stories, love the enthusiasm. Too bad you made an episode about Hope Solo. She doesn't deserve to be apart of this, she's selfish and ruined women's soccer in the US.

No thanks.

by Fellacopter on Jun 18, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Soccer is dumb and boring.

Wow!!!

by werrcvb on Jun 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It’s really brought out the soccer in me #wecametowin for LIFE

Excellent

by Kyleo08 on Jun 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Bravo Gimlet! One of the most intriguing and entertaining podcasts I have ever listened to! Well done!

Soccer savvy podcast

by RLCpunk on Jun 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this show so much and it definitely succeeded in getting me pumped up for the World Cup. Hoping for more episodes, perhaps leading up to the 2019 Women’s World Cup. Loved the inclusion of Hope Solo and Vero Boquete. This podcast is such a fun, well researched and tightly edited gem. Plz give us more!!

Gimlet you wonderful people you!

by Lb Amigo on Jun 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The kind of stories that transport you, inform you, and leave you wanting MORE!

Great World Cup Stories!

by Pdxhen on Jun 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As a newer World Cup fan I loved the interesting stories and background. Was especially great to hear stories about both World Cups - Men and Women.

Whether you like soccer or not, awesome storytelling

by nsmontoya on Jun 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is by far my favorite Gimlet podcast. The stories they've chosen to tell are so interesting and cover many other subjects than just soccer. Good mix of history, humor, reporting and overall storytelling.

A non soccer lovers intro into a beautiful sport

by Drbe4t on Jun 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

As a lover of soccer this has been pretty sweet way to learn about old World Cups and how they have changed the game before I even become a soccer lover. If your someone who has struggled to understand soccer this is a great show to get started. The stories will spark the interest in the game.

Fire!!

by Alexminiswole on Jun 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great story's to get you ready for the 2018 World Cup

Too long boring

by IronArt on Jun 13, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

These should b mins long. Trying to make a deep story out of small occurrences

Wish this was more than a mini series!

by Rachiewins on Jun 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This show is so great, I loved the historical approach. I would definitely keep listening after the World Cup. I hope they make more episodes!

Awesome

by SeanKD on Jun 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Very well done podcast and very entertaining. Thanks for creating this!

Best Soccer Podcast ever !!!

by Carlos TOR on Jun 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is definitely the best soccer podcast that was ever made!!! The stories that are reported here are so interesting and amazing !!!! I hope you continue this great work for a long time !!!

Great, but...

by KAPPA TONY on Jun 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Fantastic job on this podcast, but Vila should take it easy on the over-dramatic pronunciations. He sounds very pretentious when he chews the scenery in those instances.

Awesome storytelling

by Tcc0128 on Jun 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love that they give an inside look to some major events in soccer history.

Just in time for the World Cup

by the5kfamily on Jun 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Key moments from the global game. Don’t miss it!

Another goal for Gimlet

by DannyRed 17 on Jun 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I recently started following soccer and when I heard about this new podcast through Startup, I had to give it a listen and I was not disappointed. The way the narrative lays the backdrop of the each story and sets up the listener to be lured into a roller coaster of emotions that are to follow as the stories are being retold by those who lived them is a work of art as the beautiful game itself.

Incredible podcast !

by Pedro Henrique Amaral on Jun 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Hey guys, keep up with the amazing work. Only one thing: To be talking about soccer for so long and yet not mentioning Brazil, is a sin. I expect very soon an episode about Pele, or Garrincha, or Ronaldo, or 1970, or 1982, or ..... Just please, skip the 7x1....

Never stop

by hallycoco on Jun 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I sure do hope you continue to record this podcast past the World Cup. It is fantastic! Thank you

First Class Podcast

by BlueOvalBrat on Jun 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I don’t know or watch soccer but seriously love this podcast. May be my favorite in the Gimlet Media stable. I dearly hope I’ll be listening for years to come.

excellent soccer pod

by Rankin' Rob on Jun 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

All of these have been really good. I've only followed soccer/football closely for about a decade, and these are some great stories re-told. Glad to see them being told by a diverse group. Great archival sound usage and re-creation.

Awesome podcast

by Raibman on Jun 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This review relives glorious moments of futbol. Love it!!!!

Where is Season 2, we want more!

by MassRox on Jun 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Keep this delicious podcast going please!

Great Podcast - Even if you don’t like soccer

by Mandy4blue on Jun 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is great!! It’s a review of some of he most iconic moments in football history. I really like the layout and editing and at times it made me so emotional. I am Portuguese and Brazilian and grew up watching football all the time. I can't wait to see what emotions this world cup stirs up!

Awesome

by Steezy bro on Jun 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve never followed soccer much but this is a great way to hear about the amazing history of soccer and is very well edited both in music and content. Great job keep it up !

Over all great!

by 7467Soto on Jun 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

One thing they got right is they put you right in the middle of the action.. even if it was 30 years ago.. the downside is the 1st grade like soccer lessons they throw in.. but I get it..

For everyone, and no one

by bskbroiler on May 31, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This is a good example of what can happen when you set out to make a sports podcast for everyone and it comes out as something ultimately for no one. Big and esoteric topics alike, of interest to many, but presented as if the listener had never seen a football in their lives.

Easily my favorite podcast

by Zaphod_groupie on May 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love soccer, I love podcasts and particularly enjoy titles from Gimlet, so I was excited to hear about WCTW and it completely lives up to my high expectations! Fascinating stories, fresh perspectives, well crafted storytelling and skillful but unflinching approaches to problematic parts of history. Wish this wasn’t just a miniseries!

The Loris Karius of Soccer Podcasts

by coolhandgb on May 30, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Gimlets We Came to Win is like a first graders “See Spot Run” introduction to learn how to read when it comes to soccer. It’s banal and basic stories and generic storytelling is about as bland as it gets. As someone who’s been to three world cups and watched the game all over the world this doesn’t even hold a candle to Game of Our Lives or The Guardians podcasts. You do an entire episode on “Dos a Cero” and do one on Maradona without mentioning his club career. This podcast clearly loses when it comes to soccer intelligence.

Amazing Show

by ShonnieKS on May 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This show has turned me into a soccer fan. I find myself looking up the players and games mentioned in the episodes. I don’t know how I’ve managed this far in my life without the game. Thank you for this!