Average rating:

5
out of 176 ratings.

It’s a decent pod

by James Grover Windham on Oct 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

It’s a decent pod. They do have tons of composers in the industry on, but I feel it’s not leveraged very well. I could do with the constant attempts to be “funny”. It comes off quite cheesy, but that’s just my opinion.

Incredible podcast about film scoring

by Adam (Muzikm4n) on Sep 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I just recently discovered this podcast, binged it (gonna listen to each episode more than once) and I am a massive fan of the work done by Matt, Kenny, & Robert! The interviews and insights have been super informative to my aspirations of being a film composer, moving from NC to LA in late 2018. Thank you all for your amazing hard work, as you are providing a very motivating podcast for lovers of film music and aspiring composers!Your Friendly Neighborhood Muzikm4n (Adam Robert Galloway)

I "Scored" finding this podcast!

by KatieStock on Sep 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I loved "Score: A Film Music Documentary" and was simply thrilled to see that they created a podcast! Matt, Kenny, Robret, and all their incredible guests make you laugh, and I have learned so much about film music, which is a true personal passion. Every episode in season 1 has been a joy, and I can't wait to see what they do in season 2! Thank you to the whole Score team for creating this!!

Needs More Substance

by PMarcy78 on Jul 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The beginning banter always overstays its welcome. The conversations with composers include too much name dropping, industry connections, etc. I wish they spent more time analyzing the processes and the actual music of these talented composers. The "Name That Score" game inevitably frustrates when the hosts fail to recognize obvious cues. Come on, guys. Aren't you supposed to be the experts?

AWESOME podcast

by Hannahmo15 on Jul 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is a great way to dive into the behind the scenes of movie composition and music in general. It’s entertaining, informative, and lots of fun. Listen to it!

My favorite podcast!

by Jlhuz5 on Jul 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Have listened to 13 of these so far and just absolutely love this podcast. A great mix of hosts ask intriguing questions and provide an inside look to scoring films that I am thankful to learn about. What a great spinoff of the documentary for those of us wanting more. Love “Name That Score” each week! Would love to have Jordan Bieber as a guest-host! Great job Matt, Kenny and Robert! Robert’s industry insight is amazing. Thank you for this podcast!

Such fun to get a peek into the world of film composing!

by filmscoregirl13 on Jun 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Score: The Podcast is truly a delight every week! Kenny, Robert (and Matt) are fun and funny (the drops are hilarious guys) and it’s an enjoyable inside look into the world of composing for film by the incredible composers themselves! As a film music fangirl, this is just fantastic! Keep up the great podcast!

Incredible and Inspiring

by Boonebm on Jun 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Every episode of this podcast leaves me inspired to write music. I love it.

SongAppeal

by SongAppeal on Jun 21, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Make sure to start from Episode 001 and go through in order. A lot of the chit-chat is based around inside jokes from 3 or 4 episodes earlier, so you'll miss a lot if you don't start from Episode 001.I hope they can find a way to take out some of the meaningless chit-chat so they can focus on the meaningful conversation.And I hope they can find a way to stop talking over each other.

Fantastic Soundtrack Podcast!!!

by TonyHaze on Jun 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the format. A little news, then they get down to the interview. Love the name that score contest! I appreciate that the people behind this podcast actually work in the industry. Keep up the good work. Looking forward to that John Williams interview, hint hint.

Wonderful!

by lettucefighting on Jun 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast so much! FINALLY a podcast about the real stars of the movies!

An excellent podcast with loads of insight on some of your favorite scores.

by RavenwoodFilms on Jun 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As a die-hard film fan and longtime score collector, I was thrilled to hear that someone was doing a doc about composers and their work - if a little jealous that I didn’t come up with the idea. Saw the film and loved it. Then, when I heard the filmmakers were doing a podcast, signing up was a no-brainer... and I haven’t been disappointed. The podcast is fairly new and has already done long-form interviews with some of my favorite current composers... and while they haven’t gotten the man who is arguably the big get (John Williams) yet, I’m confident it’s only a matter of time. I’ve met and worked with a lot of my cinematic heroes - from Spielberg and Cameron to Hans Zimmer, Dario Marianelli, and John Powell. I’ve had fascinating conversations with many of them over the years, but the conversations here are gold... even for the casual listener. Focused and fascinating... Dive in. You won’t be disappointed.

Fantastic

by charlottechuckcharles on Jun 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is the highlight of my work week. The hosts are incredibly knowledgeable and shed a lot of insight into the world of film scores and the guestscomposers/musicians are a huge bonus as well. I love being able to listen, discover new music, play along with the game, and then interact online with fellow fans after. I highly recommend Score: The Podcast!

So Much Better than 5 Stars

by SouthAfricanGirl on May 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I absolutely love this podcast. I listen to podcasts all day at work and Tuesdays are by far the best days as I'll have new Score episodes to listen to. The hosts are engaging, the content is excellent, and Name That Score is super fun. Can't recommend this podcast enough.

Best day of the week

by The Zen monk on May 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I look forward to this every Tuesday. I love hearing the composers talk about their films and what inspired them, it gives me hope for the future that one day I can do this too.

Excellent Film Music Podcast

by MikeB_Composer on May 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Just subscribed the other day and binge listening. Love all the interviews and the name that score game.

Great, unpretentious discussion with my favorite composers

by Jaytay1996 on May 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Just found this podcast and love it already. Perfect balance of casual banter and discussion, pieces of the composer's work, and interesting trivia. A must for a film score lover, but worthwhile for those who are just film fans in general.

My New Favorite Show!

by DigitalDerek on May 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is truly a wonderful show for anybody who has intereset or a passion for music written for film. I always thought I was odd for loving film scores. Listening to the hosts of this show makes me know that I'm not alone and there is a community out there that can hear music from wonderful composers and get goosebumps from the orchestral sounds that are put to film.I love the guests that are on the show. The hosts are great! Name That Score game is a great time in the car on my commute. Perfect formula for a show. Thanks guys!

Amazing!

by Robbykkb on May 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been listening to Score: The Podcast every week since the start and each week’s episode is just fantastic! The Podcast is like an extension of the documentary, which I could watch a whole bunch of times and still learn something new. What I love about the podcast is that every week there is a new composer/ musician guest and they talk about their start in the industry, what it’s like collaborating, and much more! It’s great for aspiring and established composers. Behind the Score is another amazing inclusion to the podcast. Around the middle of each episode, we get a quick peak at something perhaps outside of the episode. I love learning about the psychology of the music!I also love the Name That Score game that is played at the end of every episode. If someone gets all 5 scores (played backwards) correctly, an audience member on twitter can enter to win something from that particular episode. You just need to use the hashtag #NameThatScore. It’s a great way to get the audience involved! Kenny, Robert, and Matt are just fantastic on the show.I highly recommend this podcast to anyone interested in podcasts, movies, music, or just entertainment in general!

Amazing

by Sapphire_Jones on May 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I loved the documentary and I love this podcast. Perfect 😁

The Interviews Continue!

by nclsta on May 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the perfect continuation of the documentary.The conversations I feel on this allows more insight on the subject of scoring.I listen to it every week on my morning commute.

Excellent!

by Tyler1984 on May 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the podcast that I have been waiting for. This has great insight into the often overlooked world of film music.

Awesome Interviews

by Desmonfro on May 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Such great insight hearing the experiences of these composers. Especially for young composers or anyone going into media production, it’s just great to learn from these Master’s of the craft of composing for film. The hosts are down to earth and also add their own insight, and it’s just all around such a fun podcast to listen to, while being really informative. Keep it up guys!!

Awesome Podcast

by Brenttttttttttttttt on May 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Really enjoying this podcast. Always felt like I was a “nerd” for being into film scores, so it’s nice to hear people talking about them with admiration. Only wish the episodes were longer so we could hear more from each composer!

Amazing!!

by happybrowneyes on May 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The fact that I can learn from these musical giants while doing errands or working out is thrilling. Thank you guys so much for delivering such incredible value to young, aspiring composers like me.

Thank you

by b.berg4 on May 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

These podcasts are really enjoyable to listen to with great insight. I want to become a film composer so this is amazing.

This is a podcast I’ve waited for

by PlasticMoonRain on Apr 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I know that sounds over the top but I have scoured the web for a solid informative podcast about soundtracks with great guests. This is exactly what I wanted.As a matter of fact, I wish each podcast ran a little longer. (hint, hint).My one minor quibble: the “Name That Soundtrack” quiz segment has been way too easy so far. Who can’t identify Don Davis’ “The Matrix” score backwards?

Film Music Nerd Haven

by Habityallycongregating on Apr 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Anybody obsessed with film, TV, and video game scores needs to listen to this podcast. The guys talk with the biggest working composrers and everybody is knowledgeable and it makes it a delight to listen in. Scores often seem under-appreciated, and this podcast delivers lots of goodies for those like me who need to know more.

My favorite podcast to date

by XdearagonyX on Apr 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

After waiting what seemed like forever for the film to come out, i now also get to listen to a wonderful podcast about my favorite subjects. I love where this industry is going and where it will go. I am very happy I am not alone in the love I have for film,tv and video game music 🎵🎵🎵

Must listen for music buffs!

by dmitch4031 on Apr 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a great podcast for people who like scores and getting background info about the process. Music transforms what we watch, and more attention should be paid to it- this podcast is a good place to start. Also, I happen to love trivia so #NameThatScore is an awesome treat.

Wonderful!

by preventivist on Apr 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I never really got into podcasts, but I subscribed to this one after listening to two episodes today! Loved listening to the composers I admire so mcuh. Thanks for bringing this program to the virtual airwaves!!

Been Waiting My Whole Life For This

by m.colby.reed on Apr 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

That may sound drastic, but it’s not an overstatement to say I’ve been a fan of movie scores as long as I can remember. Some of my earliest memories include holding the microphone of my little Sing-A-Lodean up to the tv speaker to record the scores of Apollo 13, The Lion King and ET. My obsession never ended. This podcast is a place of safe harbor as we get inside looks, sounds and knowledge to my favorite artistry of our time. Can’t thank you all enough for the time and effort put in. Looking forward to many, many, many more episodes.

❤️

by belschie on Apr 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I studied music in college and orchestral film scores have always been my favorite. Even if my teacher did not agree, so this podcast is a treat.

The greatest music podcast....period!

by TheRealJohnny_D on Apr 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Score the Documentary was brilliant look at film composers. My only complaint was the doc wasn’t longer. Score the Podcast has basically picked up where the doc left off. Gives us an even deeper information on the film composers that are on each week and it’s funny, insightful and fascinating. I hope this podcast goes on for many years. I’ll never get tired of it. Great job guys!

Coming full circle.

by llyrwanderer on Apr 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Discovering the Score documentary was so exciting for me. I’m a lifelong fan of movie music, but I always had to explore and enjoy it alone. Score sent me on a hunt for film music podcasts and, not only did I find many enjoyable ones, I found others as passionate about the art of film music as I am! Now it comes full circle as the documentary that sent me on my podcast hunt now has a podcast of its own. And what a great podcast! To listen to composers share their experiences and expertise is such a thrill. I look forward to listening to this podcast for many years to come!

Excellent!

by johnboylindsey on Apr 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Loved the documentary and am so excited their keeping the momentum moving forward. They’re only a few episodes in and this is already one of my favorite podcasts.

Incredible podcast!

by delatrig on Apr 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is a like a dream come true for serious film score fans. It is so insightful to hear from composers themselves and get meaningful stories & insights. Love it!

Wonderful Show

by lovin'daska on Apr 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

These guys know what they’re talking about! They’re bringing in the best in the industry to share their stories and the production value is high! Excellent new show.

Perfect for film score fans!

by Smart and funny on Apr 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I gobbled up the first 3 episodes, and I can't wait for more! It's so great to hear discussions between people who not only work in the field, but genuinely love the genre of film music. It's especially nice to hear composers speak candidly about their work and their peers' work. Looking forward to a hopefully long-running podcast!

What a treat!

by Fairfield Mac on Apr 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If you’re a fan of film music, this is required listening. It’s like being a fly on the wall listening in to some remarkable conversations that, until now and prior to Score, have only existed behind closed doors. The hosts are relaxed and very informed. The guests are so gracious and care very much about their craft, and want to let the world in on it. The podcast is a wonderful idea and feels like a continuing bonus material chapter of the film. This is my kind of conversation.

Movie Buff Heaven

by ryan holmes on Apr 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

.

Great addition to the SCORE documentary!

by 907Daniel on Apr 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I loved the SCORE documentary, and wanted more content. A new official podcast is a great way to do that! Listening to composers talking candidly about a variety of topics is always fascinating. Honestly, I just wish it were longer!

Brilliant Idea

by M.A.Denney on Apr 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Every once awhile I find a fellow film score lover, but now I have a place to “geek” out with fellow film score lovers. The documentary was fascinating and if it’s an indication of what’s to come this will probably be one of my favorite podcasts!

Nice to have an "official" film score podcast

by mdewater on Mar 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm not a huge podcast listener, but film score podcasts are ones I usually keep coming back to, and I'm sure this will be no exception. First episode is great so far, very cool to have the composers on as guests. One thing I would like to hear more of are the actual scores that are being discussed. In the first episode you talk at length about a few of Debney's scores, but don't play any cues from them. This is a film music podcast after all - let's hear some music! Really looking forward to more!

Great Podcast

by maccabelle67 on Mar 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast already! Hoping future episodes will be MUCH longer😃 Really a cool look into the world of film composing. I can’t wait to see what else they do!

SCORE: A Film Music Documentary

by Gmhpink on Mar 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Loved the film. It changed the way I watch movies. So excited for more behind the scenes on this podcast.