Average rating:

5
out of 53 ratings.

A Must Not Just for K-12!

by missjenniferanne on Jun 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This should be a required podcast not just for K-12 educators, but also for public historians and museum professionals. Historic sites and museums usually completely leave out the enslaved people’s narrative, so listening to this podcast could greatly help learn the tools to integrate their narratives into interpretation and programs.

Incredible

by GonzJenn on Jun 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is so well-done! I'm learning so much, not just about our country's history, but about how to teach these topics with sensitivity, depth, and integrity. This podcast is a must-listen to anyone who teaches American history.

Inspiring and insightful for teachers and lay folk

by Technology worker on Apr 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have listened to all 8+ episodes and have learned a lot as a lay person. I have shared this podcast with many teachers, book groups, and friends. The episodes provide unique approaches by a variety of educators to talking about the issues of race in the US. It helps me educate myself about the facts and in turn I’m better prepared to have factually accurate and thoughtful conversations with Co-workers, my children, clients, and others. Thank you and please continue to create these podcasts.

Remarkable work

by CivicsEngaged on Apr 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This work benefits adults and students and helps teachers take their game to a new level. I appreciate the expertise shared and new avenues for teaching this important part of American history AND current world issues. Thank you SPLC!

Teaching Hard History

by Li'lmom on Mar 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m so glad I stumbled upon this podcast. It’s a very well done look at a piece of history that many of us have little considered. Thanks for the good work!

Very Important

by AriTheWarrior on Feb 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a wonderful and carefully curated podcast that delves into integral American history. Great tool for students and educators alike.

Excellent....

by bbobnyc on Feb 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you for creating this great resource. Very helpful across the board.

Excellent!

by MolW on Feb 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I just listened to the first episode and it was extremely well-done and informative. I teach 8th grade and just this episode includes several tips for teaching the material in class. Every teacher of U.S. history should listen to this! I’ve already downloaded the framework put out by teaching tolerance, and I’ll be downloading the primary source docs and sample lessons as well. I’m looking forward to continuing to refresh my own knowledge so that I can more effectively teach about slavery in my classes. Thank you for this important podcast!

Great resources for teachers!!

by Brad Austin—Littleton on Jan 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I've already listened to all three that have been posted. These are fantastic resources--full of great information and useful teaching ideas. Thanks!