Average rating:

4.5
out of 4206 ratings.

Good podcast

by kjh071112 on Jan 21, 2019
Rating: ★★★★☆

This podcast is really interesting, but the main guy doing all of the voices in different accents is so incredibly corny.

Impressive

by almost-a-pear69 on Jan 18, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I learned a lot and am satisfied with these podcasts. Thank you creators of business wars👍🏽

Ko-Nay-Mee

by Hodgebaba57 on Jan 17, 2019
Rating: ★★★★☆

I really like hearing about the history of each business, but the narrating of each person in the same exact voice is pretty awful. Also, who pronounces Konami “Ko-Nay-Mee???”

Interesting Topics, Poor Format

by cbulzoni on Jan 14, 2019
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I’m very intrigued by the topics, but can’t get past the format (fake conversations, sound effects, etc.). It feels very cheesy and makes me question the legitimacy/truthfulness of the info being presented. It’s a bummer because it’s clearly well-researched, and I think it could be really interesting if they just told the story in a more straightforward manner.

Enjoyable

by Plainpat1990 on Jan 14, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I enjoy this podcast. The length per episode fits nicely into my commute, and though I see many criticisms here on the storytelling style, I enjoy it. I don’t want facts read to me in a monotone voice, I enjoy getting the facts interwoven into a story that ties everything together. Great podcast!

Almost

by AmazinMalaysian on Jan 10, 2019
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Love the content but the “storytelling” format is annoying and is preventing me from continuing to listen. Could make this way shorter without all the unnecessary descriptions and voice acting.

Love it!

by MN Beer Guy on Jan 09, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I am hooked! The episode length is great and very fun format. I would love to hear one about Budweiser and Miller or something along those lines.

Too many long ads

by hell is empty on Jan 09, 2019
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The show is good. Very interesting. I started with the McDonalds Vs Burger King storyline. TOO MANY ADS! The ads are long and frequent. It’s awful. I can barely get into an episode before an annoying ad starts again and I forget what I was even listening to. I probably won’t continue listening. I hate ads.

one word.. BRILLIANT!

by Tiki Bear on Jan 08, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

This is absolutely one of my favorite channels. Everyone should listen to this! It’s modern, insightful, enlightening, and an absolute joy to listen to. David Brown does an amazing job of depicting the story. I randomly came across this channel and I’m so thankful that. I’ve gotten several family members and friends hooked on this as well. I sincerely thank you and your team for all the work you guys put into this. keep up the good work!!

Great listen

by Blmonroe12 on Jan 07, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Learning a ton of history and business strategy.

Excellent quality!

by Haybrook on Jan 07, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is great. I asked myself “what would make this podcast better?” If it were more in depth and longer but I know that would lose some listeners. I love it. Next topic, Under Armour vs. everyone.

Business Wars

by whijazin on Jan 05, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Very well put together. Both entertaining and informative.

The best

by MP2020 on Jan 04, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Absolutely brilliant. Great narration, writing and content. The only downside may be how addictive the shows are! I’ve sent this to countless friends and business associates- they all love it.

Koch ads :(

by wegmanswater on Jan 04, 2019
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Had to stop listening the moment I heard a Koch ad 👋🏼👋🏼👋🏼

Nike vs adidas episode 3

by pissedoffmillenial on Jan 03, 2019
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

What’s up? Every3 minutes this episodes starts over. Didn’t want to pay for professional editing or production? I thought wondery was a big timer in the podcast realm. Very amateur if you ask me. Unsubscribed

Informative

by west coast Ben on Jan 03, 2019
Rating: ★★★★☆

I enjoyed this insight into Netflix and how they will compete in the future against Disney, Amazon and Apple in the original content space. I will say the worst part of this 25 minute podcast was having to endure a 1 minute ad in the middle of the broadcast by the Koch brothers. I may have a hard time streaming any more of these podcasts knowing that they are sponsored by a company that actively and vociferously promotes right wing candidates and agendas.

Better than some ratings suggest

by Majormager on Dec 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

This podcast tells interesting stories that I found myself to enjoy. The detail and length actually appeal to me. I like that the information is presented so thoroughly. The people complaining about the length and detail must really hate books. Now the reenacting scenes can get annoying, as it’s clearly the same person reading hastily strewn together lines. It lacks depth and is sometimes annoying. The ads are also annoying, but I usually just skip them anyways. Other than some minor tinkering needed, I think this is a top notch podcast.

Fantastic

by CindyMcK on Dec 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is such a great podcast for anyone in business or want to be in business. It captures the drama and excitement of the business world with amazingly well told stories. I use for inspiration on how i might might steer my company in the right direction when faced with these classic business challenges.

I usually love the Business Wars podcast

by Morefha on Dec 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

So many of the Business Wars series are great. However, I was prompted to post this review after listening to the Waze vs Apple Maps “bonus” podcast which was an over-the-too advertisement for the Lincoln MKZ. The content about Waze was weak (could have been a really good story), but it was the purpose of this podcast was just to promote Lincoln as much as possible, including within the story (e.g., the journalists supposed trip to city hall). I’m really disappointed by this podcast.

Interesting material but delivery is lacking

by Candyfloss1 on Dec 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The information is super interesting, But when the narrator quotes/re-enacts others it’s just incredibly off-putting.

Too many ads

by Antwhite624 on Dec 23, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Good podcast, but I am irritated with the amount of commercials. 6 minutes worth of ads in a 22 minute podcast is outrageous.

Overall good but enough with the corney "Lincoln Motor Company"

by James China dude on Dec 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Overall i like the podcast but the advertisting is pretty exteme. I'm getting to the point where I am about to unsubscribe and delete it because it seems each advertisting segment is over 2 minutes now!!!! On the latest episode the shameless plugs/advertising for Lincoln was a whole new level of ridiculousness.

Product placements

by James Iry on Dec 21, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I was subscribed for months. A pretty solid 3 to 4 star podcast. But then they started doing product placement. I don’t mean ads in between segments. I mean throwing a reference to a car sponsor right in the middle of talking about the smartphone war between Apple and Google with the flimsy cover that the car embedded Google Maps. Look, run ads. Fine. You need to make money. But product placement just turns the whole show into an ad.

Enjoyable if you can tune out the the tone deaf product placement - I can’t

by Leftcoast1963 on Dec 20, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Enjoyable business dramas in the first few series but recently they’ve sold their soul to Lincoln and descended into product placement hell.Evidently everyone drives Lincoln MKCs in the biz world and each mention, IN THE STORY mind you, must come with a 2 minute description of LINCOLN’S features. We discuss the way google maps work by having the actors demonstrate using ALEXA which of course is FULLY INTEGRATED WITIN LINCOLN’S MKC! The narrator takes time out from the narrative to discuss how THE LINCOLN MKC is his favorite car. It’s pretty obvious stuff, painfully awkward and not much fun. I’ll check in again later next year to see if they’ve figured out how to monetize their once enjoyable podcast a little more gracefully.

Great show!

by stillfaded2 on Dec 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Very interesting and descriptive. Good job.

Good content, awful advertising tactics

by Glen Cornell on Dec 18, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

You’ll never know if you’re listening to history, or an advertisement. The host has no problem with making slight changes to history to insert an advertisement for a Lincoln car. They also trick you by keeping the same style of story telling during the ad segments. Really really frustrating.

What’s up with the Koch advertisements?

by Kootnerb on Dec 18, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Please don’t advertise for Koch Industries. Don’t accept that money. What are you doing? It tosses your credibility to the wind. I’ll bet there’s a ton of subliminal messaging Koch-approved

Only listenable once I cut the commercials

by UmmmKara on Dec 18, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I like the podcast, but the monotony and length of the ads was ruining it for me, and others seemed to agree. I understand and would normally support sponsorship in exchange for otherwise free content, but the constant ads that are even sometimes disguised as part of the story is insulting to the listener. So without going in to detail, I now listen to the podcast unperturbed by those annoying ads, which are now cut completely from the show. There's a lot of us who listen to this particular podcast without the ads, so a quick search will return simple instructions from a number of sources.

Boeing v Airbus

by Adgilbert1 on Dec 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast. Boeing v Airbus should top the to-do list

Amazing

by mdeeee on Dec 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast! I feel it is very interesting and also informative, which is what I love in a great podcast. Great job and I can’t wait to hear more seasons of business wars!

Keep me’ coming.

by visualust on Dec 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I appreciate this series and listen to every episode. At times episodes are very repetitive or jump around a narrative and timeframes that is annoying to follow. I really wish the quality consistency, release schedule, and organization of the shows was better.

PLEASE just make each season 1 longer podcast

by Nick19123 on Dec 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Love the podcast and the stories told but please just make it one longer podcast rather than 6 smaller, disjointed podcasts!

Please hire other voice actors

by AmBADASSador Brandon on Dec 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Please hire other voice actors. You only have four types of voices and they’re all yours and they all sound the same. The female impression you do is truly cringeworthy. You’re not Robin Williams.

Somewhat annoying

by Caddis 44 on Dec 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

This would be an excellent series, were it not for the completely unnecessary fabricated dialogue. It serves nothing, except to take up filler space. The other annoying aspect is the inordinate amount of commercials.

Can’t miss a detail!

by LW8365 on Dec 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If I get distracted I find myself going back and replaying the audio so I don’t miss a detail.

Koch Industries

by bossonova1990 on Dec 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I loved this podcast until I heard an ad break for Koch Industries. I cannot support a thing taking their money.

No more Koch ads please

by JimInNYC on Dec 07, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I love the content of the podcast but I won’t be listening again until you stop taking money from the vile Koch brothers and stop running their ads.

Ugh

by jillybean62802 on Dec 05, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I really liked this podcast, but I am unsubscribing from all Wondery podcasts because of their continued support of Mike Boudet of Sword and Scale.

Apple Vs. Microsoft.

by DogCow617 on Dec 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

For the next series I’d like to explore Apple Vs. Microsoft.

Business Wars

by TwitchStremerBTW on Dec 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast it is informational and I learned so much facts. I just wish that the videos came out faster.

Fascinating

by Djmcheme on Nov 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

They really do a great job with this. It’s very entertaining. I love how they narrate the story. Would love to see WCW vs WWF

Love it. Great investigation reports w/ great layout

by static_switch R15 on Nov 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great stories. Stories that we should all know. This history. This is the new times and these stories should be heard. awesome investigations with great story layout. I really like the re-enactment and the dude has a great voice. That makes the the podcast. Really professional and awesome writing. Wish all podcast were layered this way. Keep it the same but add some real actual recordings of conversation from the real life event that took place. You guys are killing it. Wish I could be apart of your team. (StaticSwitch) Nor California. Can you guys do stories from old timers (people) from the 40’, 50’s 60’s, a lot of those folks have many great stories. Also old time mob stories for men that are still around. These are all good great projects for wondery.

One of my favorites

by avhvb on Nov 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the format of this podcast. It’s very informative

Format and Style all Wrong

by MistaFortune on Nov 28, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Couldn’t make it past one episode. This seems to be a cross between an investigative journalism piece read aloud and dramatizations of past interactions. Just play the interviews with relevant subjects or write a piece. It’s a distracting style with unnecessarily included details like subjects’ preferred styles of dress.

Informative

by densminger on Nov 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this show and the backstory of all of them, that’s what makes this podcast so unique in my opinion. I’m waiting for they do Kellogg’s vs. Post!

Excellent

by kabcocam on Nov 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one of the best podcasts I’ve ever heard. It’s fascinating and full of interesting stories behind some of the most iconic companies. Keep it going!

Unsubscribe

by LMM2056 on Nov 21, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Won’t support any podcast funded by Koch family. Listener since beginning. No more. #boycottbusinesswars

Best podcast I’ve ever listened to

by MD1214121 on Nov 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve been an avid podcast listener for years, and BW just takes the cake. High quality, interesting, educational, and all around immersive.

Judge them by the friends they keep

by Nottherealstephencolbert on Nov 20, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I really enjoyed this podcast but unfortunately had to unsubscribe when they started advertising for Koch Industries. The Koch Brothers have done everything in their power to subvert American democracy and I will not support a program that takes their funds.

Koch Industries is Your New Sponsor- yikes

by COMP@NION_ROSE on Nov 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the content and shows. Not the sponsor. I feel like that’s a big misstep. Less inclined to support this podcast or network.