Average rating:

4.5
out of 2137 ratings.

Fantastic podcast.

by mma matt88 on May 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A must for fans of business and fans of story driving podcast.

“Behind The Music” for Businesses

by Swordfish_262 on May 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Such a fun, interesting show—I highly recommend it to anyone who’s curious about the goings on behind these iconic companies and the tactics they use to excel/destroy the competition.

Best podcast

by Kico021 on May 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

BW is that best podcast. Because of it, I began the habit to listen to podcast.

Two favorites

by Rob Stewart (correct spelling) on May 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Of the 12 or so podcasts I subscribe to, without a doubt Business Wars and American History Tellers are my favorites. So much great historical information made super interesting by great writers and great hosts.

Merely a catalyst for commercials?

by SniperSpecOps on May 17, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Would you like some podcast with your commercial broadcast? This show seems to be a mere catalyst for which to convey commercials, stretching short stories over six 30 minute podcasts, so as to fit 15 minutes of commercials within each mini episode.

Interesting

by 2018njnj on May 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Really enjoying the podcast!I would love to hear a coke, Pepsi, Dr Pepper season.

Wonderful idea!

by Marilyn Ricca on May 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I’ve thoroughly enjoyed all episodes to date! Keep it up

Great Podcast

by Dakysb on May 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this Podcast! Anyone who likes to learn about some of the biggest businesses, and how they started, a must listen! I would like to hear about maybe Pepsi vs Coke, we’ll really anything! I can’t wait for the next season!

Addictive

by OakParkIrving on May 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Truly a great podcast series with crisp storytelling and meaningful insights. Goes onto my all time favorites.

I’m

by EeeBitch13 on May 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

In Love!Great podcast!

Love this show

by megs78 on May 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I am obsessed with this podcast...I really enjoy the storytelling aspect of it combined with the big personalities, just brings the history fully to life. Keep them coming, please!

Very entertaining

by aspiring!!!! on May 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Very entertaining and enjoyable. I like to be to get a view on what occurred and brought these companies to where they are today. Thank you.

Smart and conversational

by Personality Mom on May 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I like this podcast and have listened to all the episodes. It’s very well written and I love the story telling aspect of the show. It adds a personalization to business that is very refreshing. Keep up the great writing and storytelling. I’m anticipating the next story. Maybe Wendy’s and McDonald’s (I wrote a paper for a business class on these two with suggestions for Wendy’s) Love the show!

Terrific

by Sean1001 on May 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a real gem and I am so glad I found it. Thoroughly entertaining with great production values. Full of nostalgia and interesting information. I will love it for years to come - hope it has a long life.

Fav!

by Westbridge4 on May 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is an awesome podcast, it’s the podcast that made me like podcasts!

Excellent Podcast!

by Rocker1025 on May 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

David Brown knows how to take the events and stories behind these business showdowns and rivalries and craft them into a compelling narrative that keeps me coming back for more. Can’t recommend this show enough!

Awesome Storytelling!

by Pugzrkewl on May 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

:D

Terrible

by Greg5231 on May 03, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

It’s very irritating they waste so much time by constantly describing each little thing with as many adjectives as possible. Additionally, there isn’t much substance to each episode; a lot of each episode is just fluff.

Top Shelf

by MidwestJames on May 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Top shelf storytelling. Easily one of the best new podcasts out there.

Fun fact very well delivered

by JGregV on May 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve enjoyed this podcast from the beginning. But this latest one made me want to write a review. I’ve been involved in the computer industry since 1977. So I’ve seen a lot of changes. To hear podcast about the machines I worked on has been fun. But the best part is to hear the stories about RADM Grace Hopper. I had the opportunity to listen to her talk at the Washington Navy Yard back in 1983. She’s always been my computer hero. What I won’t forget the most was her saluting me that day. It almost felt like she was passing along the torch. While I’ve never accomplished anything like she did, I still have the same drive and willing to learn to this very day. Thank you for the memories. By the way, can’t wait to hear the story of the IBM 360. I worked on the 360/30, as well as the 370/158. I also worked on the Amdahl 470 and 470/V7A which were made by Gene Amdahl who was the Chief Architect of the IBM 360. Talk about a rip off on IBM computers. Anyway, thank you.

Great Podcast...

by decostanza on Apr 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Have become a a HUGE fan of this series. Keep up the great work!

MySpace vs Facebook please!

by Jared1989 on Apr 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Absolutely in love with this podcast!

Great content, distracting delivery

by Maxnan on Apr 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Excellent content, but a little too colloquial, chatty and car salesman-like delivery. SUPER annoying and obtrusive sponsored content in the middle of the podcast.

Great Podcast

by JacqFrith on Apr 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoy this podcast. Always interesting. Great host. Very well put together.

New to it

by Paulie bbbb on Apr 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

4 episodes into Business Wars (Neftlix vs. Blockbuster). Really enjoy it. I am not a business person and only listened from promo on Wondery. But, very, very glad I did. Great story so far. Good prodcution value. Thanks!

My new favorite

by Jayzuflow521 on Apr 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Absolutely love this podcast and it’s presentation is great. Only one criticism, the ads to total time is far too high. It’s 7-10 of ads and 20-23 minutes of content. I’m cool with the amount of ads if they increased the length of the episodes. Most podcasts I listen to that have this amount of ads are 1 hour plus.

A great find

by BoominSystem on Apr 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a really well written, well produced show. Entertaining from start to finish. They find compelling situations, giants of industry that go to war with each other that result in epic battles that have shaped our world. This is a show I didn’t know I was waiting for. Well done 👍👍

Mesmerizing

by Podcaster5 on Apr 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Seriously if you listen to Marvel vs DC and aren't hooked you're a fool. It's wonderfully captivating and the narrator's voice is super captivating. Thank you, thank you for this!!! It's beautiful!

Brilliant Idea, Expertly Executed

by Great Comics Podcast on Apr 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Fast, insightful information on business rivalries through the ages. The host is interesting and keeps the show moving at a brisk pace. It's a riveting listen.

Wow. I’m shocked!

by eniolaanna on Apr 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It’s been a while since I’ve been this entertained and inspired. Thank you for the detail and creativity put into this podcast. I could listen to the Marvel vs DC Wars over and over again. I’ll definitely be sharing this. Thank you again. I’m sooooo inspired.

WAY TOO MANY ADS!

by Khunter on Apr 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Production quality and subject matter is great, but there are a ton of ads, and the host is porbably the cheesiest ad reader of all time. MAkes me want to barf.

I LOVE This Series

by Mansy168564467 on Apr 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I randomly decided to start looking at podcasts one day, and this was one of the first I looked at. Somehow I managed to pick up from episode one and I have been hooked since.It’s educational, but the speaker has such a great story telling voice that it makes it feel more like a movie without picture. The I don’t care about Nike or Adidas in the slightest, but the facts, the in depth ideas they talk about, and the way it’s told makes it interesting. I should be a trivia king in no time!More than 5++++ stars. Don’t change anything your doing! Great work so far! -Austin from Ohio

Great podcast horrible use of a time machine

by Gpataki1 on Apr 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

This podcast is incredible but there is one problem. The ads are so outdated in tone and length that there can only be one logical explanation. Wondery has created a time machine and has used it to bring back an agency guy from 1990’s discount radio. How else can you explain such outdated and dense ads? Did Wondery not listen to the Blockbuster v Netflix season? Why would Wondery not do something better with a time machine?

Entertaining

by Manfredx on Apr 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the stories and the host is really personable. I just wish they would put the ads all at the beginning or end. Really kind of hokey listening to the umpteenth plug for zip recruiter and blue skillet or whatever ... causes my skin to crawl.

Dc verse Marvel

by mitchec06 on Apr 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Crazy question, why was the Christian Bail Batman movies not even mentioned?? Best DC movies.

Great listen

by Timbo-Slice14 on Apr 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is such a great idea to have a podcast and talk about to help and inform others. The story is always very well told and keeps you interested the entire time. I have listened to the first two topics (Netflix vs Blockbuster & Nike vs Adidas) and loved them both and learned a lot of things I did not know about. I am excited to see what topic discussions come up in the future and will definitely continue to listen.

A Must

by BMSmith81 on Apr 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A must for any podcast fan. Binge the seasons working OT. Thank you bring more please!

Great content and presentation

by DynamicMom12 on Apr 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the DC vs Marvel series in Season 3! I love the super hero movies (especially the entire Marvel Universe and DC’s 2017 Wonder Woman) and only casually knew there was a rivalry between the two brands. This series laid it all out in an easy to follow and entertaining format. So glad it popped up in my NPR one app. I’ll be listening to other episodes as well! Good job :)

Great rivalries and great format!

by Jingle pants on Apr 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I can’t say enough great things, i have enjoyed every single episode of this mans business wars! Netflix and blockbuster was a great start with some great history and some modern understanding of the rivalry.Adidas and Nike, another battle that i knew of but never truly knew of. And at the time of this writing, DC vs Marvel. This one hits close to home and he really sets up the story that even i didn’t know about. He gives a history along with first person character acting. Overall, BW does a great job of breaking conflicts down and showing you the history of some major companies that affect us on a daily basis.Please keep it going.

Interesting Topics. Awful Show

by Pat723 on Apr 08, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The topics themselves are interesting and the only reason I’ve still been listening. However, the presentation of them and the show itself are awful. This show isn’t presented in a documentary/journalist style with someone stating facts and intercutting with interviews from experts or the actual people involved. Instead, the creators approach it as a story, or like a historical fiction audiobook, and they do a really bad job at it. They include unnecessary details and sound effects to add dramatic effect and the host with “act” as some real-life people with the only differences between his voices that being of the acoustics. It doesn’t fit the material, it comes off as very chessy and cheap, and it sounds much worse than if you were to just listen to an actual audiobook read by a professional actor. Wondery seems to have this style with a number of their shows, and they consistently sound like cheap fictional knockoffs than if I were to listen to something done in a more journalistic style by people who sounds like they’re actual journalists.

Great but the ads are very irritating and intrusive

by shapiro, Ben Shapiro on Apr 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I know you gotta make money but take some notes from how Shapiro does ads

Everybody in the car can agree on this podcast

by stevenhowell on Apr 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast! It is the rare podcast that a 14 y/o son and 43 y/o father can agree to listen to nonstop on a 10 hour car ride. Keep up the good work! We appreciate your work.

Boycotting Wondery

by Tshirley67 on Apr 06, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I will not listen to any Wondery podcasts as long as they are associated with Mike Boudet.

Good, but too many ads

by Big Bird Bomber on Apr 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I came here from American history tellers and only about 1/20 of the 50 minute show was ads. But about 1/5 of this 30 min show is ads. But otherwise, it makes learning about businesses really fun. I smile every time a new episode comes out.

A Must Listen

by CKArms on Apr 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It’s so interesting to know how these giant businesses got where they are - and to put in perspective how long and intricate many of these “overnight success” stories really are. This podcast wraps things up neatly and tells these stories in a really fun and easily digestible way. One of my favourite podcasts!

Love this podcast

by dbahado on Apr 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great story telling about fascinating stories!

More interesting than I thought

by Lilchief18 on Apr 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Just finished Nike v Adidas - entertaining and informative. Cool show

Great ideas but....

by Jgsghjvbhh on Apr 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The content to add/breaks is out of control. Maybe you get 15 minutes of content per episode. My interest in following this podcast is dropping dramatically and I'm only in my second series.

Love it!

by wreck.it.resell on Apr 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Would love to hear Amazon vs Walmart

Interesting content and enthusiastic host

by mrigdon on Apr 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

At first I thought the show was a little cheesy with the overly-intense music and David Brown’s re-enactments of scenes, but after a few episodes I started loving it. It’s really interesting content and Brown makes it all the more fun to listen to.Overall it’s a super easy podcast to listen to and you walk away with some cool new knowledge.