Average rating:

4.5
out of 3423 ratings.

Excellent storytelling

by ATL_ALT on Oct 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The content provides information most people would never know about well known brands. The storytelling is so engaging I binged my first episode from start to finish (4 hours). I’m now a subscriber and have downloaded the rest of the episodes. Hands down my favorite new poscast!

Great

by ajmcnutt11 on Oct 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Would love to see Boeing vs. Airbus.

Very entertaining

by JulieA72 on Oct 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast, well written and very entertaining!

Casey Kasem

by mnbvczzlkjhgfdsa.2 on Oct 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I’m probably crazy but the host sometimes sounds and reminds me of Casey Kasem. Also, I agree with people that the ads are ridiculous on this podcast.

love this show !!

by RyZeta on Oct 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I really love Business wars and American Scandal . Wondery does a great job telling these stories . The best part is you can't beat the price !! everything is top notch

Love it!

by miss300bwlr on Oct 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great story and great way of telling it!

Amazin

by Jonnnx22 on Oct 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Definitely one of the best podcasts out there. Consistent uploads and concise, informative episodes. As a craft beer distributor I would love to see a breakdown for Anheuser Busch and Miller/Coors rivalry along with its current trends vs the booming craft market. It definitely seems to be a topic where you may even be able to expand further, similar to the sony/nintendo wars.Regardless, much love!

Great production; great stories

by MDC-2015 on Oct 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The Nintendo/Sony/Sega rivalry episodes were excellent! Really like this podcast. It tells interesting stories about well known companies without any bias or agenda. Hope they keep the episodes coming. Plenty of great rivalries: McDonalds vs Burger King coming soon?

.

by chris.1994CG on Oct 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Cool stuff

Love it

by kbach020 on Oct 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Really enjoy these stories. Fascinating stories and such a great way to enjoy them.

Just Plain Love This Series

by Terp2008 on Oct 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This a great series for anyone who is curious about the day-to-day business warfare at the highest levels that goes on all around us to get our respective business. This is one of my favorite shows, and best thing about this podcast besides the great research is the fantastic host.

Great History Lessons

by Parachuter2006 on Sep 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I can’t get enough of their podcasts. These podcasts are well thought out and produced. The background instrumentals are superb. Check them out you won’t be disappointed.

I want to give it 5 stars...

by Beaker92 on Sep 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

...but can't for one reason. I do think it's very well written, well made and highly entertaining, but I'm surprised that with all the money they put into the production values, they can't get more actual audio footage of the people they're talking about. Steve Jobs at a public launch, Reed Hastings in a public interview, Kanye West addressing his fans at a concert...and they're all portrayed by the narrator of the podcast! It's cringeworthy to hear this smarmy white guy trying to convince us he’s Kanye. Fortunately, the producers decided to use the real voice of Adolph Hitler (or an actor who sounds like him), figuring it would have been just too ridiculous to hear Casey Kasem introduce the 1936 Olympics. Even the newscaster who pops up throughout the series is the same voice actress every time. There's no actual news footage they could have gotten a hold of instead? They do use some actual authentic audio periodically, which makes it even more confusing. It's too bad, because the podcast would be a whole lot less comical and distracting. Other than that though, it's very compelling.

Love it

by MadieMarie15 on Sep 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love these podcasts. It is so interesting to hear about different businesses and their competition! I am hooked!!

The Best Podcast Ever!!

by GreaterGamer🎮🤓 on Sep 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love business stories but this one exceeds my expectations! Please add a PlayStation vs Xbox or something like that but other wise i love this podcast!

Superb entertainment

by dez:/ on Sep 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Consistently good series. Wondery is the best!

Great story telling horrible use for advertising

by Brandoclay on Sep 20, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The titles are misleading. At times it seems there are more ads then story telling.

Awesome podcast

by throatpuncher_1 on Sep 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast that tells great stories in a fun format. Always look forward to the new series!!

Captivating

by J Dutch VFU on Sep 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The show is fantastic. Who would ever think that what amounts to essentially reading a Wikipedia page would be so fun to listen to. But it’s great!!Dutch - Voice from the Underground

Compelling Storytelling; Excellent Production Value

by dsalpern on Sep 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Well written, well produced, and David Brown has a soothing, comforting, storytelling cadence. I was referred to BW by a friend and hope this review inspires many of you readers to sample BW because like me, you’ll quickly get hooked too.

Stories are fascinating; presentation grating

by BoomerScott on Sep 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I’m sticking with this because the stories are really interesting—and I’m fine with the story format, but there are aspects of the narrative that are like fingers on a chalkboard. The worst of it is 1) obviously fabricated dialog 2) all performed by the narrator himself. Hire some actors or just describe what was discussed, please. The fake “news flashes” read by the same person (not the narrator, at least) are also annoying. I’d also suggest they hire someone else to read the ads. David Brown’s smarmy, used car salesman delivery makes me want to spike my phone. It certainly doesn’t entice me to buy what he’s selling.

More Wars

by Vic in the 310 on Sep 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Cellular WarsCircuit City vs Best BuyBank of America vs Chase Fast Food WarsGoogle vs Yahoo

love it

by ryanwolfwins on Sep 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I am a huge fan of this podcast. I am have gotten a lot out of my time listening. I am looking forward to more episodes. I like to save them up for long car rides alone. :-)

One guy, good voice...but

by Jo13Bo on Sep 03, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The podcast takes what could be a great series and stretches it out just a whole lot too long. Four or five episodes could be one. It’s exactly like the history court series on YouTube. One guy, one voice, several characters...personally I can’t take that, but you should give it a try. Especially if you’re into watching worthless television.

Great entertainment

by tfarmer1 on Sep 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to a ton of podcasts and I was looking for something new. You can only listen to so many motivational speakers. This is a very entertaining for business people. Especially being a child of the 80s.

👍👍

by CHIEFJTG on Sep 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

👍👍

Great writing & presentation

by Walter T Mellon on Sep 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the top of a small handful of podcasts I await each week. They take tales both familiar and new and turn them into radio drama worthy of the Golden Age of Radio. I enjoyed listening to the Beats one-part story, as well as the Blockbuster v Netflix saga while driving long distances through Spain & Portugal. A perfect, engaging travelling partner.

History made Fun!

by Iralo on Sep 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I enjoy listening and learning... and bringing things the pase íntimo our lives!I Love the podcast. So far, my favorite is Coke vs Pepsi!

Very Interesting

by wlw1csr on Aug 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This very well researched podcast provides really interesting commentary on previous business wars and the people involved. It's fascinating to get an understanding of how these industrial titans battle each other through differents epochs with different tools but largly the same methods.

Business Wars is Great

by Historian by Trade on Aug 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

David Brown does such a good job tying history and economics together. I throughly enjoy the episodes and listen to them while working or commuting. My favorite seasons thus far are Netflix/Blockbuster and Coke/Pepsi.

This has become one of my favorites

by Joel F on Aug 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I knew I was really hooked when I didn't see the feed on the way to the gym, then realized it was Wednesday instead of Thursday.Business Wars has covered many of the industries I've been in. I've especially been enjoying the Coke vs. Pepsi as I worked for one of the local Coke bottlers during the New Coke release.

Awesome Podcast!

by PtEthan on Aug 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Business Wars is probably one of the best narrative podcasts out there. Every season they release is always interesting and I’m always excited for the next episode.

Best Competitive Business Storytelling

by Jgway2be on Aug 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Absolutely LOVE listening to these podcasts. I don’t listen to much Wondery, more of a NPR guy. If you like The Indicator or Planet Money on NPR, you’ll love Business Wars from Wondery. In case the developers want more ideas: Parcel and Mail Companies, Domestic Airlines, Fast Food Chains (burgers, pizza, coffee), Social Media Giants

Brilliant

by Allansantie on Aug 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I never knew I would enjoy it, but I am now a fan for life.Great production! Thanks.

Great Stories

by Jruss443 on Aug 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a well done podcast. The storytelling keeps you interested and you really learn a lot in each podcast. As a businessman, I feel like I learn something I can take to the board room after each listen.

Great

by Catahoulatexas123 on Aug 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast!!!

Entertaining if not always factual

by Burningtime on Aug 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Some of the facts stated in this podcast are wrong. Some of the names used are mispronounced completely. That being said, it’s a good podcast and has interesting episodes. Maybe have someone edit it a bit closer.

Great pod!

by podguy99 on Aug 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one of the best podcasts of 2018!

Great

by Poopchute696969696969696@3 on Aug 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The season on Hearst V Pulitzer is so entertaining. I learned so much and the quality of production is very high!

Love the chosen topics!

by vrael28 on Aug 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast and the rivalireis chosen. Would love to have some reading material from the research if possible.

Amazing, but...

by h2oplyer7 on Aug 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Old Review: My new favorite podcast. It is really well produced.New Review: Still a fan of this podcast but I removed two stars. The last series featured Kara Swisher who advocates censorship on social media platforms. I have no problem with her having the right to this opinion, but the host fawned all over her and failed to push back. Specifically, she praised the recent social media movement to ban Alex Jones. True, the man’s views are a pile of human waste, but I would hope in this day and age private communications platforms would choose not to censor any voices. It’s ironic that Kara Swisher does not see the hypocrisy in her own views. She is clearly afraid of the power Silicon Valley has over social media, yet she supports their banning specific voices. What a shame.

Quickly becoming my favorite podcast

by wcole200 on Aug 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love how Business Wars crafts the stories of these battles between companies

Fantastic Stories of Business All Around Us

by Ukengineer on Aug 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

These stories are well written and very engaging. It's really neat to see how businesses which impact us every day have fought, failed, and persisted through time.

One of My Favorite Business Podcast

by LineSlayer on Aug 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the storytelling in this series - great podcast!

Cringeworthy

by Mikelley85 on Aug 09, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Interesting subjects...low quality “storytelling”. Overproduced effects ruin what could have been a great idea.

Insightful and compelling

by JDL from Tampa on Aug 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this show because it breaks down decades-long business stories into palatable podcasts. Writers and producers clearly put a lot of research, thought and effort into putting together a great product. Strongly recommended as a break from the opinion-based podcasts out there.

Riveting!

by WibbleQuibble on Aug 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Business Wars has me absolutely riveted. The stories are fascinating and the story telling excellent!! Wish you could release a new chapter every day!Still loving this show. Just wish it was available more than once a week!

Interesting Idea with Poor Execution

by Meeks30 on Jul 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Love the idea of this podcast! Unfortunately, there are WAY too many commercials and the stories get a little too dragged out with all of the dramatization. It's hard to stick with it. Hopefully, they can make some changes to finetune it.

Love it

by yoomnguyen on Jul 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If you’re into The Art of War, this podcast is for you.

Love the concept, like the content, weird delivery

by Glen Cornell on Jul 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Worst ads of any podcast I’ve listened to. Otherwise - It’s kinda nice how much production they put into this, but I don’t like the execution much. They overdo dialogues and basically make up cheesy replacements. Worst is the ads. I don’t know why, but the way the host talked about these companies that pay for ads makes me not like these companies at all, it’s just over the top promotional