Average rating:

5
out of 1812 ratings.

Phenomenal.

by Calvin Shoop on Jun 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

So well researched and well rounded. Great information with interesting perspectives.

The king of history podcasts

by sairajgallo on Jun 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan is a pleasure to listen to. It’s great to see him putting together a short format podcast together. It’s very enjoyable and I always am looking forward to hearing his new materials.

Breathe of Fresh Air...

by Gsgnkngtuxeb on Jun 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Came to this podcast after listening to Carlin’s Common Sense podcast “For Whom the Bell Tolls” podcast, which sounds like it might be the last for awhile. The amount of insincere certainty in the political media has made it in-consumable at best, and down right revolting at worst. I’m a long time Hardcore History listener and have been dying for additional interesting relevant content from Carlin, especially with the void that now fills the my time previously filled with political commentary. All I can say is thank you! I hope you keep the content coming, but if you don’t, you don’t. F anyone who says it’s your responsibility to create content. That fact that anyone condescends to tell you your responsibilities is really a sign of the times, use your freedom as you please Mr. Carlin. Again, thank you.

Love Dan. Not a fan of the interviews.

by @fosterdavis on Jun 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Hear me out. I love HH! Dan is tremendous, a gifted podcaster and epic storyteller. I’ve listened to every Hardcore History episode, some multiple times. Even at a buck a show I owe him hundreds of dollars, but I don’t like the interviews! And if not for the first episode, Germany vs Germany, which was brilliant...two stars. That’s all I could have gone. And I love his work. And it’s not that the interviews are bad, it’s just that the epic storyteller, the slow cook take your time let the history marinate Dan Carlin is missing. They seem rushed by comparison and a bit forced (sorry!) at times. At least to my mind. Though I’m sure I’ll keep listening.

As usual, FANTASTIC

by LionDing on May 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great idea. Great material..as usual, Dan brings it and opens your minds eye to multiple worlds and perspectives!

Music to my ears

by space_pizza on May 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Everything Dan's done has been great. This is no exception.

Outstanding

by Lord Newcomb on May 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan I really like your material, especially your audiobook, Thor’s Angels.” These interviews are really great. Might I suggest that you do an interview with a German historian to get the German perspective on the first world war, and the second. How Germany was fundamentally transform to buy both wars. I was stationed in Germany in the 1980’s along the east German border in the Fulda gap. I am especially interested in knowing how the modern Germans feel about the loss of so much territory in the east, such as East Prussia.

Great podcast!

by deadwolf04 on Apr 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

You know anything Dan Carlin puts out is going to be great, in depth and epic AF!!!

Dan is the best.

by alex5000jlkfhjklafsdjhgdhjfads on Apr 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve listened to almost everything Dan has done and has been a real inspiration for me to go farther into history topics I didn’t even know I’d be so interested in. Keep up the good work! Thanks Dan and team

Glad to have another Dan Carlin pod!

by Adam The MechE on Apr 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If you like Hardcore History or common sense, this is a no-brainer.

Goat

by Iz330 on Apr 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Goat podcaster

Anoher great podcast... I hope!

by PVBarbara on Mar 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Am thrilled to find another Dan Carlin offering and hope I will love it as much as Hardcore History. So far, I've listened to all of Episode 2 (Rome) and most of Episode 3 (4-Star Conversation). On that basis, my impression so far is mostly positive, but mixed. The topics and guests are great, and the Rome program is just about perfect. In Episode 3, however, Dan can't seem to curb his enthusiasm for the subject and ask succinct questions. Several times, he starts with a very salient question, then, before General McPeak can respond, Dan jumps in and rephrases the question; doing this twice or three times before he quiets down and let's the general answer.I'm begging you, Dan, don't go the way of Terry Gross! (i.e. become so long-winded and full of yourself.) Ask your brilliant questions based on your exhaustive research with your characteristic insight and enthusiasm, but keep them short--or at least under control.Please note: this critique comes from love!

Outstanding and insightful!

by Gdhrhfghffghydsgjjmike on Mar 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan provides outstanding and insightful commentary that makes you question history, philosophy and the human experience. Can’t recommend his podcasts enough.

Great for more Hardcore History

by Ben Gdog on Mar 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Stumbled across this after being a long time Hardcore History listener. Great complementary podcast on history topics to go along with the main HH channel. A must listen to if you like History, if you like to reflect on current politics &a issues, and if you like Hardcore History.

Greatness is guaranteed

by Sherman922 on Mar 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Greatness is guaranteed with Carlin. I’ve never listened to a podcast with his voice on it that I didn’t enjoy. Even if he was a guest on somebody else’s show. He’s a genius and listening to him will make you think smarter.

More more more

by Azul2342 on Mar 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I can't get enough. The interview with General McPeak was great. I guess I should be grateful that these only come out so often because the thought and display is excellent. Suppose I'll just listen to wrath of the Khans for a third time while I wait. Thanks Mr Carlin

Would listen Dan read a cooking book

by Lt.Buyus on Mar 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan is amazing. If you love history in anyway you will quickly fall in love with any show done by Dan. His passion bleeds through, doing a wonderful job brining history to life and has only helped grow my love for history. Thanks Dan for all of your hard work.

Love it

by Shducgwidnb on Mar 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the podcast along with everything else but I’m disappointed that we have to wait even longer for HH episodes and so far we went even getting at least one of these a month. I understand that Dan works extremely hard to make these podcasts perfect but I wanna Gino you should lighten up on your self we will still love your podcast if you don’t spend months making an episode we just want as many hours of your voice as we can get !! Anyway keep up the good work and this is by no means meant to be critical on the quality of the content .

great addition

by MichaelPicklePatrick on Feb 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this suppliment. Now I'm listening to The Fall of Rome and Tides of History. What else Ya got?........

One of the greatest podcasts out there

by donnie125 on Feb 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Anytime I’m asked to recommend a podcast, hard core history is always my very first suggestion. These shows are well thought out, well researched, and entertaining as hell.

More from my favority podcaster

by jonjay on Feb 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan is my favorite podcaster. I am particulary a fan of Hard Core History. The Hardcore History Addendum is a welcome addition and a great way for us to receive additional content while he is developing his epic Hardcore History episdoes that we enjoy so much.

Great use of Dan Carlin’s time

by Potential Diamond Buyer on Feb 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The show acts as a throwback to the very early days of Hardcore History. Good opportunity to hear Dan Carlin’s views on something he’s sincerely interested in without the months of prep time on his end. Very grateful for the extra content.

Great

by Vicfof on Feb 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Show that’s all you need to know

Much appreesh

by Jo da blonde on Feb 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks for thinking of us Dan!

I'll listen to anything Dan puts out

by Gigligimli on Feb 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazing storyteller with an interesting point of view.

Dan Carlin please run in 2020

by Winnie the poo poo dong on Feb 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If Dan Carlin doesn’t run for president in 2020, I will be upset.

Never Enough!

by Irackkkk on Jan 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I am so glad the HH team launched this feed. Finally we can get a dosage of Dan between the chasms that separate each main episode. I can’t wait to see how HH innovates through this new channel.

Another hit! HH 2.0

by Scott Udas on Jan 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love it. It's neatly wrapped together and very concise and dropped more often. I'm looking forward to see this platform grow in the future! Thanks Dan and "Ben"!

Dan

by docjkm on Jan 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This listener is happy and grateful you're sharing additional content. I doubt any stressing about format really matters to many of us. Just... more, of whatever you WANT to do. Your engagement will carry it, as it always does. Thanks

Another Carlin skill

by jmcp on Jan 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan always brings his best, and his interviews brings out the best of his guests.

Get Your Fix

by Von Steinhoist on Jan 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m a history junkie. Dan Carlin is my heroin.

Great stuff

by L. Blownapart on Jan 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m rolling with Dan till the wheels fall off.

This shorter form content is preferable

by DCC2014 on Jan 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The shorter format is more easily consumable and never a bore. It can be difficult to find time to finish the 5 hour podcasts. It's interesting to hear Mr. Carlin's own opinion and perspective.

Another great podcast

by TRGlosser on Jan 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan Carlin is my favorite history podcaster. This show looks to have some amazing potential. Looking forward to the next episode already!

Another Winner

by Ptolemy91 on Jan 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I don't think Dan Carlin can make a bad podcast.

Will this was surprise.

by IAmLifeLoverOfLiberty on Jan 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I was so happy and surprise that dan Carlin had this. Christmas came early.

More please.

by vincecrisis on Jan 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve slowly drifted to other podcasts over the years since his podcast can be inconsistent in output. However, finding this and re-listening to his old content reassured me that this one of the greatest experiments in the new media age. As always, looking forward to his work.

Excellent

by ewh22 on Jan 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Any he does is excellent!

Please keep doing these!

by Derectous on Jan 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan, we love these! I know you mentioned you were unsure if you would keep doing these shorter HH-lite pods. Please keep them coming!

Let Dan Carlin introduce you to what podcasting should be.

by Double nope on Jan 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If you haven't ever heard a podcast do yourself a solid and listen to Dan Carlin first. His incredibly well-researched topics are always very informative and easy to absorb. But it is his voice that will be what sets him apart from all others. It is very easy to listen to, clear, and always appropriate it seems flows from him yet is never overbearing. In this era of podcasting where everyone with a simple setup seems willing to take a shot at it; took often loud or rushed or hesitant, Dan has years of practice along with an innate talent for setting up scenes in history you wont forget.His other podcasts "common sense", and "Hardcore History" (this series' parent) are essential Dan Carlin. Enjoy, and see for yourself that you will be wanting to share these wonderful series with others.

Thank You

by Dr.RamsFanCK on Jan 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is great!

Great new podcast from Dan Carlin

by RubenC85 on Dec 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Already addicted his new show, hopefully he keeps updating with new shows!

Great Addition

by henrystcl on Dec 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It's great to hear Dan Carlin take some time to muse over side questions. Hopefully there's more to come.

More knowledge nuggets from the Master!

by JHinHMB on Dec 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan Carlin is the best. Now we get to enjoy him somewhat more often. That's a win in my book. Thanks Dan!

It's Dan Carlin.

by volfandan on Dec 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Dan Carlin's program goes above and beyond the competition. He puts incredible thought and time into each episode, reading 40+ books. Lets put it this way: IT SHOWS.

More HH!

by RomulisC on Dec 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Just found this and love it!

Thank you, Sir!

by PopperG on Dec 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Could not ask for a better host. He always has an interesting perspective, and his delivery is silky smooth. 10 stars.

Love the New Form

by Nolongerlistening on Dec 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Really love the new shorter form of Hardcore History. Please keep the episodes coming

So glad this exists.

by Ajloreck on Dec 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love Dan’s hardcore history and common sense. Go back and relisten to some of the series and have bought series from his site as my way of supporting the show and enjoying stories I haven’t heard. I started listening about a year ago, so him deciding to basically cancel common sense hurt me inside. Keep em coming Dan. I’m a huge podcast fan and you are a Giant, if not the best podcaster in the world.

Dan = Genius

by Schlypdog on Dec 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Everything he does is gold. If you have any interest in history then you need to subscribe because he does such a wonderful job of making history both relatable and interesting.