Average rating:

4
out of 621 ratings.

Definitely worth it

by cynical person on Feb 19, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Even though they don’t get totally in depth with the music, the things they do talk about really ruins bands for me. It at least worked for Queen, especially knowing most of their stuff was filler afterwards. So, I’d say they fulfill their purpose

Who Signed Off On This Podcast?

by S57hines on Feb 17, 2019
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I like the idea of digging into well know bands and their backgrounds with some humor to it and to challenge their fan base for 30 mins. This podcasts fails to do so. Their opening of the Sublime episode is pure speculation on the treatment of Bradley’s dog? Then to make light of his death. It’s a clown show to make fans angry with little to no evidence to back up their statements. Going as far as, many times may I add, to essentially say if we’re wrong we don’t care that’s how we feel. Who signed off on this garbage?

Do some research first!

by jtyroler on Feb 03, 2019
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I only listened to the first episode about The Beatles, which have plenty of reasons to say they sucked, but, it seems like they didn’t know much about them except that Helter Skelter was supposedly the reason for the Manson murders. They give the impression that they got together a few months before their first album and all agreed on a haircut.

Terrible

by Henrawr on Feb 02, 2019
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I can't tell if this is satire or just two autistic, SJW, Hipsters either way this isn't even remotely worth listening to.

Great concept, abysmal execution

by BoristheStar on Jan 29, 2019
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Arrogant attitude and lackluster research. Your average Guitar Center weekend-warrior drummer being better than Stewart Copeland? And then talking nothing about actual drumming technique, or supporting their claims? Give me a break. If they ever supported their bashing with actual facts, I’d be way more down (because a lot of these bands deserve bashing) but to just hate on these big bands for superficial, vague reasons just comes across as hipster BS. Hard pass.

Very good, entertaining podcast

by Enoch83 on Jan 23, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Being someone who feels that nothing is above criticism, even the stuff I love, I find this podcast funny and insightful. They covered a few bands I like and it’s hard to refute anything they say because of the research they do (you can google this stuff, they aren’t making it up). The only people who would take any offense to anything they said are taking themselves far to seriously and maybe in denial that something they liked when they were younger probably hasn’t aged as well as it should. Also, they do recommend lesser known bands that sound basically the same as the bands they do cover, which if I have one criticism, they don’t do nearly enough. Otherwise, just quell the rage and enjoy.

I subscribed. Again.

by Sam_eat6string on Jan 12, 2019
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Hey guys. I’m curious. I this a bit?If it is, then I get it. If it isn’t, then you two come off like adolescent fools. Beavis gets it.Addendum:Ok. Three stars.

this is great

by No improvement needed on Jan 10, 2019
Rating: ★★★★☆

As long as I’m listening to one about a band I don’t like, (Metallica, Sublime, etc.) this is a great podcast, and I don’t have to feel bad about trashing people. I’m not the one talking about it. I don’t want to even give you the idea but...please don’t make a Fall Out Boy episode. I will cry.

Pathetic

by squweh on Jan 06, 2019
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

A couple of entitled dicks trolling and vomiting nonsense. Boring! Get a job!

Thanks for the Laughs!

by Dr Fate on Dec 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Makes me laugh even when they take down bands I like. Stay away if you are thin-skinned or if you can’t take a joke. I Would love to hear episodes on Bowie, Nilsson, Van Morrison, Dr. Dre, Wilco, Bruce Springsteen, G&R or the Sex Pistols.

I’m trying to like this, really I’m trying

by BikeGirl9 on Dec 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I fell in love with Cocaine & Rhinestones! That podcast is well-researched, even cerebral. This podcast is a diamond in the rough and has solid flashes of brilliance,however it can come off as self righteous and judgmental without the substance to back it up.

Missed Opportunity

by Meg94499449 on Dec 27, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This podcast could have a lot of potential if the hosts didn’t try so hard to seem like cool guys who know way more about rock history than you do. The concept for this podcast is great but the hosts don’t have to be complete asshats. Hosts, please drop the whole “we don’t care if we upset you” act. Also, credit the sources you use when you occasionally state actual facts. Your Beatles episode was clumsy because you tripped up on commonly known facts. Like, beginner fan common facts. Your lack of this knowledge really lowered your credibility as rock critiques.

A good yarn!

by dzgonis on Dec 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Be prepared to have your favorite bands smeared. The hosts tear into some of the most classic bands. You can only wish you were there to defend the musicians who you have grown up idolizing. But, it’s important to recognize it as satire and hyperbole. As well as a good bit of fun. Sometimes the music acts who we put up on a high pedestal need to be brought a step down and have the piss taken out of them. A good podcast for any musician who has a thicker skin than a piece of rice paper. Keep rocking in the free world Dimitri

Don’t get all in your feelings

by Aaroneouscharge on Dec 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

That’s right. They trashed OutKast and they still get my 5 stars. Funny stuff. Stop getting all in your feelings over this stuff people.

Nope

by im91804 on Dec 19, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Great for 15 year-olds looking for angst to back up why they dislike their parents music so much. Otherwise pretty annoying to listen to. Don’t bother.

Terrible

by bnodranele on Dec 18, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

A bunch of nobodies bashing stars that don’t even know who they are.

Challenging/hilarious

by Nucleargetaway on Dec 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

These guys completely rip apart some legendary bands. It’s hilarious. I find it challenging to listen to if they are talking about a band I like, but it’s still absolutely hilarious.

Hit and Miss

by Jill457 on Dec 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

They make some good points (even about bands I like), include interesting background info, and are occasionally really funny, but there are a few things holding YFBS back. Many of the criticisms aren’t even about the bands, but about their associates, fans, the music industry, or culture in general. That stuff isn’t useful or convincing. Like, we get it, Deadheads can be... a lot... but how much can you really pin them on Bob and Phil? John Lennon was singularly awful; no need to veer out of your lane and try to critique Yoko Ono’s art. (Seriously, everyone, we don’t need any more hot takes on FLUXUS.) They talk a big game about feminism, but little comments like the ones about how Yoko allegedly achieved fame reveal a different attitude. Also, I get that “mean” is a shtick and it can work well, but I’m starting to think Tyler is actually just a cruel person. It bleeds into everything he talks about, music or otherwise. He’s clever and had a unique upbringing, but it seems like he missed a lot of opportunities to learn that other people can be clever and talented, too, even if they’re not his personal taste. He says a lot of things that I suspect (hope?) he’ll regret when he’s older.Ultimately, there are some objectively bad things about the bands they cover, which are worth considering, but a lot of it comes down to personal tastes and priorities. I don’t care that Queen recorded vocals they couldn’t reproduce on stage. That doesn’t diminish them for me, but for YFBS it’s irrefutable proof of suckitude. If you can handle a sizable amount of criticisms like those, you’ll probably find the podcast entertaining enough.

Trolls

by HorseWars on Dec 13, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

TROLLS

Not that funny.

by Hendy Henderson on Dec 09, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Like listening to yokels discuss quantum physics. These two are way outside their depth. Hoping for some funny bits, but they seem to think they’re making valid points? Not that funny. Try listening to “Cocaine and Rhinestones” where Tyler actually understands the music. It’s a good one.

Snore.

by PJcrawfish on Dec 07, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

These two are annoying. Anyone can have a podcast but but not everyone should.

Finally...Someone said it!

by foxy_chalupas on Dec 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

THANK YOU! I have never liked the Beatles. I’ve never understood why everyone gave them so much credit! And the same for several other of the bands reviewed. Even if I like the bands I can laugh at the show. Hilarious. Also, Tyler, huge crush on your voice

Cringe worthy

by Grandma Burry on Dec 04, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Podcast is absolutely brutal. Host are very dry and arrogant. Don’t waste your time like I did.

Boring and lazy

by 420Trent on Nov 28, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Weak effort put into this show.

Sometimes fine, sometimes not

by AlexisPinPgh on Nov 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I was on board with this up until the Zeppelin episode. Not even necessarily a Zeppelin fan, but this was an embarrassing episode to listen to. I enjoyed a lot of the previous episodes, but after Led Zeppelin I had to wonder—who is this podcast for? I get that the point is just hating on these bands, but they spend a lot of aimless, drunken-sounding time not hating on the bands at all. I think the podcast could do with more planning and less ranting, and a better focus.

finally!

by PLUR violet on Nov 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

i LOVE many different types & genres of music but could never find a music podcast i could relate to since music writers/critics are such blow hards. these guys tell it like it is

Your favorite band drunk

by Peyote Shivers on Nov 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

For those of you tapping one star, please go back and listen to every episode of this podcast at half speed. If you are cool, you will instantly recall every blacked out moment of your twenties.

Don’t bother

by djeiwndjea on Nov 15, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

These guys are egotistical jerks who think they know more about music than they actually do. Their analysis of different bands is weak. Don’t waste your time

beavis and butthead became intellectuals

by carlosomaña on Nov 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

You need to listed to this podcat is you like rock. Pure genius. Keep an open mind and realize that these guys do their homework. Their common thread is that rock is simply dumbed down blues, insome cases recycled vía England. “queen is like if Elton John joined the band Yes”. Hilarious and profound. I will never listed to rock gods the same way again.

Love the Stones and Zeppelin and this show!

by Rbhughes1016 on Nov 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

So entertaining!Hilarious the way you take down the bands I love and so much fun to pile on the ones we agree on! Please continue. When taking apart Keith over snorting his dad, thought you might label him a cannibal.

Pretty miserable

by Harryjanks on Nov 01, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Informative or not the pretty miserable says it all. Disgraceland does it much better.

Onion.com T-Shirt turned podcast

by Luskmonster on Oct 30, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Uncritical super fans of mediocre music are definitely in sufferable but these two guys are doing nothing but wasting time. Most of the arguments I heard in the few podcast I listen to don’t really make any sense and they never really seem to get specific about anything other than ha ha that’s dumb. Even great artists have numerous things about them which you can mine to comedic affect buy roasting the hell out of them. You will not find anything like that here instead it’ll probably just be them relentlessly ridiculing an artist for something that they aren’t even actually doing or have done that doesn’t make any sense.

A+

by rocknrollsabummer on Oct 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Yes and more please... ITS A Joke people!!Stop taking yourself and your music so serious all the time......

Entertaining even if...

by guacadoggie on Oct 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I don’t hate all the bands they talk about, but their ridiculous banter is still very entertaining, and I think that’s the point. I think the intensity of the way they talk makes this show great.

Meh

by PNW-Dude on Oct 24, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I tried, seems like a missed opportunity. First one was somewhat entertaining, the rest seemed like rinse and repeat. A lot of ranting with little or loose facts to back anything up. Seems to be more about entertainment and shock value than substance. I got bored and stopped by the third episode.

No false advertising here!

by iflgñefshk on Oct 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Not exactly good-faith criticism but I’m guessing that’s the entire point.

Eye Roll Inducing Yet Entertaining

by warrior possum on Oct 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

It’d be a whole lot cooler if y’all avoided the low hanging fruit and cover the Clash, David Bowie, Prince, black Flag, anything Steve Albini was ever involved with, REM, or any of the other educated middle class sacred cows. I enjoy the podcast even if the host who does the most talking sounds like a right wing radio host trying to reach out to the kids.

Missed opportunity

by josieh on Oct 14, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Love the concept but these guys rarely back up their hubris with any convincing arguments.

Parental advisory

by Tipper-G on Oct 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I’ve really been enjoying this podcast. The guys are very knowledgeable and have some great insights, but their vocabulary can get a little explicit. Not the kind of podcast you’d want to accidentally start playing on speakerphone in a quiet office building. Aside from that, the guys are mostly spot-on in their analysis. I listened to many of these bands growing up and it’s kind of refreshing to hear an honest perspective. I would like it if they added a list of recommendations at the end of each episode as an alternative to the bands they dismantle. Looking forward to more episodes.

Skip this one

by Bored at work. on Oct 10, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Just comes off as insufferable sniveling.

probably the best podcast i’ve heard in ages

by carlyhackett on Oct 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

at first, i really couldn’t believe how idiotic mark and tyler sounded, but i soon got addicted to their terrible reviews of some of the most popular bands in history. i would listen to this podcast over and over again.

Meh

by dangerspork on Oct 06, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

This podcast blows. What happened to Cocaine and Rhinestones?

Best podcast.

by tdwolfe on Oct 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is such a freaking hilarious podcast. When they go into the singing impressions, I can't keep it together. Keep up the great work, fellas.

great concept - poor execution

by soulman20 on Oct 03, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I was so hopeful when I heard about this podcast and saw some of the bands they were discussing. I couldn't agree more there are many successful bands who are wildly overrated. Fleetwood Mac probably tops that list. But when you take on successful and popular bands like Mac and many others, you best do your research and you better have some credentials and or music chops to back it up. More importantly, at least conduct an objective analysis of the music you are critiquing instead of spending most your time on personal attacks of the band members and their fans. There is very little actual breaking down of any particular band's instrumental ability or songwriting acumen. This podcast is more about backstage and offstage drama and even then it's over petty issues that hardly impacts the quality of music the band might produce. Everyone somewhat familiar with the industry knows that some of the best music has been produced during a band's most tumultuous times. Look at Abbey Road, Fair Warning, Sychronicity, etc. Do I think the Beatles are overrated? Yes. Their early years were rife with bubble-gum pop music that any toddler or preteen could love. Do I also acknowledge they wrote some really, really good groundbreaking stuff in their later years together that would influence a plethora of great artists in years to come? Yes. And the Rolling Stones "essentially copied black, amercian blues artists and dumbed it down?" Are you insane? What they did was take blues music that was previously UNpopular and filled it out and rocked it up and made it better. Led Zeppelin did the same and arguably lifted more from other artists than the Stones, yet oddly, Mosley and Coe don't acknowledge that while they praise the former and trash the latter. The entire genre of rock and roll owes a debt to the original blues artsists. How do these guys not know that? Maybe because they are failed country-pop artists who are really just bitter, wannabees who happened to stumble upon a good idea for a podcast and yet don't have the chops to deliver. Sounds a lot like the accussations they lodge against the Beatles and other bands they love to envy....I mean hate.

Entertaining but useless

by justwanttowwriteareview on Sep 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

These guys are fun to listen to, and I often myself holding back laughs at the office. At the same time, they have the analytical abilities of small children. They cherry pick pieces of information from a band’s entire history and specific parts of specific songs to make a statement about an entire band. I would recommend listening, but take their opinions with a bag of salt.

There are 2 sides to every story.

by T_Bo_Max on Sep 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

We generally only hear one side of the story about bands and their music through a negativity filter that only allows complimentary views of a band to pass through. When listening to this podcast, keep in mind that the hosts are merely giving you the other side of the story through a positivity filter...Only the bad flows through. That’s the whole point...And the results are hilarious. Don’t take it too seriously. It’s not that deep.

self righteous clowns

by gatorade15 on Sep 25, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Love the idea of this podcast but its execution is awful. They are trying to trash some of the best bands to ever play. Not only that, but their arguments are not based in fact or even musical taste. These guys aren’t funny or entertaining.It’d be one thing if they went after bands that actually sucked, but, like I said, they’re going after some of the best in history. Hey, I’m a reasonable guy who appreciates challenging the standard. But, if you’re going to challenge that standard, at least present a logical and reasonable argument. This podcast has none of that. Just a couple of self righteous clowns that think they know better than the rest of the world of music. Wouldn’t reccomend.

Finally

by derekthedreaded on Sep 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

My long-held beliefs about RHCP, Interpol, Rolling Stones, U2 etc finally have some form of justification. Thank you.

How is there not yet an episode about the Clash?

by O-tiZzle on Sep 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Get on it. Writes itself. Love the show though. Donald Fagen>JoeStrummer.

Obnoxious & Sophomoric

by gbewing on Sep 12, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Everything Cocaine & Rhinestones is this podcast is not. I made it through half of 1 episode, it's not I was offended that they took down an artist I like, hey that's the premis, I even agreed on some of the points but they exaggerate and hammer home the same points repeatedly, then run out pf ideas so resort to just insult and make fun of the people they think are reacting on other side. These 2 are like a pair of teens who got a hold of their first microphone and start making fart noises into it so they can giggle. Just not enough time in life for fake shockjock