Average rating:

4.5
out of 15359 ratings.

Good but they should at least try to be non-partisan.

by UNC Blows on Dec 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Finished Season 1. Lots of good facts and interesting story lines in here but basically it will all boil down to the fact that you will like it if you hate Trump and you will probably hate it or be irritated if you support Trump. Bet you thought it was all about Nixon huh?

Fun Ride

by marinerjake on Dec 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellent piece of journalism and a really great intellectual journey full of fun twists and turns.

Well meaning, well done, but openly biased

by Thewiseacre on Dec 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Season 2 (Clinton Impeachment) is very well produced and compelling. Much of it is an excellent overview of the political climate, the historical timeline, and some excellent detours into questions of power and feminism. But as the season progresses, the series begins to rely on what amounts to be a defense of Clinton. The host and most guests acknowledge Cilnton's incredible recklessness, but never question the potential dangeer for a sitting President to be so reckless. And rather than take a very credible rape accusation (and yes, there were others not even mentioned by Broaddick and compare it to current #MeToo, the series folds with two dismal episodes of apologists and scolds. The hosts asks questions why people hated the Clintons so much...and comes away that it was mere personality. There are plenty of sane conservatives who would have been GREAT interviews to help answer those questions but instead, it's just panels of liberals like Ruth Marcus who still love President Cilnton. And oddly, the host doesn't bother to mention that Clinton was disbarred for his perjurious ways. It's astounding to hear so many journalists on this show--working, well regarded journalists--openly admit that because Cilnton is a Democrat and they like him, that the ends justify the means.

Unnecessary

by Viddyb on Dec 06, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This podcast is wonderful and eye opening, however, this last episode was unnecessarily lewd. Trying to get laughs by saying blow job soooooo many times was a real disappointment. I just turned the episode off.

Iran contra?

by johnny_butt on Dec 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great show, no doubt! But what happened to Iran Contra? As I understand the investigation was concluded just recently, so why not cover it here on the show/podcast? The Gipper was as ruthless and conning as Tricky Dicky... Oh, yeah! And there was no consequences!

I have lived through this history.

by BenPike on Dec 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I remember much of this but it is nice to have a concise and easily understood telling of such history.Season one was great and I am into season two. Leon's voice is clear and he narrates intelligently.

Biased

by VJeanneK on Dec 04, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Biased

DNC propaganda

by dylanator247 on Dec 03, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Liberal trash

Addictive

by Dru Beckons on Dec 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I need a season 3 ASAP. I blew threw both seasons - the episodes are tantalizing, well reported and SO entertaining.

Slow Burn

by dekummoore on Nov 30, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Great. True. But then you bring in this lady on the live show. I didn’t want to hear her opinion on the sitting President.5 Stars with out her!!!!

Fave

by juliokilpatrick on Nov 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Not only is the content thorough and well researched, it’s very easy listening. Some podcasts can have interesting content but the way people present the info or even their voice (bless their hearts, I know they can’t help that) make it impossible to listen to. I love this guy’s voice. I love the information. It’s my favorite thing to listen to.

Was good til they bashed a rape survivor for being a Trump supporter

by I've tried them all on Nov 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Was really enjoyable until the last two episodes where, most notably, they have one speaker who goes off on a lengthy diatribe about how perversely evil the “religious right” is, and even better, when our narrator says one can’t help but doubt the story of a rape victim because she’s now an insanely passionate Trump supporter. I voted for Bush, Obama, then Hillary. Yes, Trump is insane, but this was so much the epitome of stereotypical liberal elite as to be laughable. I’m as middle of the road moderate as they come. This was over-the-top bias that you hate to see from an otherwise good show. Obviously it’s Slate, so maybe you already know it’s coming, but it was such a good show right up until he suggests maybe a rape survivor isn’t worth listening to because she’s now a Trump supporter. Disappointed.

Partisan bias underlies season 2

by meards1988 on Nov 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The constant smoothing over of Clinton’s crimes and character flaws—paired with the casual digs at Trump (justified or otherwise) undercut Slow Burn’s effort to be a balanced, thoughtful work. The live episode after the season was particularly partisan, with the guest experts pandering to the liberal crowd.

You missed something

by EriPet12 on Nov 28, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Clinton was disliked because he was credibly accused of rape, sexual assault, and sexual harassment. It was his criminality coupled with his lack of moral character that drew ire. Think Weinstein in this case. He was good on some political issues but was a sexual predator when the cameras weren’t on. He is still given a pass. Even by this wide-eyed apologist who wishes Clinton was back in office knowing the witness testimony and the broader scope of history. Have her listen to your Juanita Broderick interview.

Too biased

by Chris-132 on Nov 26, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I enjoyed the first season but the second season is extremely biased. Though, this isn't too surprising because Slate is one of the most liberal podcast networks.

Slowburn, season 1

by allyh1959 on Nov 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Riveting. I binge-listened the whole thing Thanksgiving weekend. I was 14 when Nixon resigned. I have vague memories of the break-in, the Sat. Night Massacre, the hearings, because my dad hated Nixon and was gleefully obsessed. It made the period real to me.

Loved First 2 seasons

by BL018 on Nov 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellent podcast. Both seasons very gripping. Cannot wait to start season 3. Thank you for your excllent work.

Outstanding!

by JAM Justice on Nov 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Superb podcast; really went deep on Clinton & Nixon impeachment history!!!

Informative. Biased.

by momofkai687 on Nov 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I would love to give this podcast 5 stars, because both seasons are super interesting and informative. But the commentary in the last episode of Season 2 on Juanita Broadderick’s current political activity and how that raises unasked questions of her credibility were unnecessary. It’s sad that in today’s climate, a sexual abuse victim’s political party are the final determination of credibility.

Fantastic journalism!

by Jaykellis on Nov 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Both informative and entertaining! I’ve always been interested in Watergate because I didn’t live through it, and I’ve been able to learn so much about the smaller details that aren’t typically talked about. Almost as good as being there firsthand!

WoW Report on Radio Andy...

by Lonamalia on Nov 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The podcast was plugged today on WoW/Radio Andy, I’m so glad it was! This has been a fantastic adventure . So many parallels to today’s political climate and I feel smarter for having listened.

Top notch

by Ctfeher on Nov 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The second season on Clinton was really really great. So much important detail that put a completely different spin on what I thought I knew.

Great! Until the end...🙄

by Sarie002 on Nov 10, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I enjoyed this podcast, however, it is heavily biased, which is obviously not a surprise. I wanted to find learn more about the Clinton scandals, which I had known about & heard of, but not in detail. We all know the ending of the podcast so that was sort of anticlimactic (not the reason for my negative review). My negative review is about the podcast host’s opinion at the very end about him thinking Juanita Broaddrick “making it up” and her social media posts saying she supports Trump. First of all, as an anti-Trump supporter, this is what aggravates me about the left - Juanita had several witnesses corroborate her story. Then the host goes on to say that Juanita Broadrick thinks Christine Blasey is lying about the Kavanaugh scandal via social media (whom by the way has not ONE person to corroborate her story), therefore, the host thinks she’s a nutcase. You had a 5-star review until the very end. Keep your deficient opinion to yourself.

The narrator talks too fast!

by timidreviewist on Nov 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Great content and well produced, but I can’t listen as the narrator talks so fast I can’t concentrate. Seriously it’s as if there’s only so much time and he’s trying to squeeze it all in. I tried using the 1/2 time function to slow it down but that just sounds wrong. I found this also to be true of Season 2. I feel so pounded with info at such a speed I can’t process—so I can’t follow and lose concentration and interest. Really it’s a shame.

One of my favorites

by Banks TN on Nov 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This series is one of my favorite podcast. With today’s polarized political climate, it is difficult to get the facts without the information being biased. My wife and I have found ourselves diving into political history more for this reason. Leon and the Slate crew do such a great job with the unbiased factual information they present. I really am looking forward to a third season and what other political topics that I can learn more about. I know that another series about impeachment would be difficult at this time but would love to hear about other interesting political events such as the Reagan Iran Contra or the Bay of Pigs. Thanks and keep up the good work!Ben

Excellent!

by ElixabethNYC on Nov 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Tightly edited and riveting. Full of interesting characters yet doesn’t loose focus. There are elements of what made the first season of Serial so popular without the annoying parts. It has the pacing of a political thriller and leaves unsaid the scary parallels to our own political moment which only builds the tension. Loved it!

Fabulous storytelling

by sjcccg on Nov 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The host is an incredible storyteller. I couldn’t stop listening.

Fantastic, binge worthy podcast

by wild4gadgets on Nov 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I didn’t think it was possible to want to binge listen a podcast, but Slow Burn accomplished this in spades. The first season listens like a suspense novel—except it’s all true and based on exhaustive research. I particularly like the interviews with key people that lived through Watergate. I’m looking forward to bingeing season 2 next! Take a listen — if you’re a history buff, you won’t regret it.

I love you Leon 😍

by lifeofachris on Nov 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazing Podcast. More Moooooorree!!! 😫😫😫

Nothing but kudos

by KTSavage on Nov 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I wasn’t sure I wanted to take a deep dive into the Clinton mess so I didn’t. Until I did. And then I couldn’t turn it off. Kudos to Team Slow Burn.

My favorite podcast!

by Crys-Tbelle on Nov 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Journalism is excellent! Bipartisan reporting at its finest!

Ruby Ridge

by needs the truth on Oct 31, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

No. The guy is a Nazi. It starts and ends with him being a Nazi. He belongs in prison.

Great look back

by Is this only happening to me!? on Oct 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I was too young during watergate to have a clear understanding. This is very well researched and told in an interesting fashion. The second season was really good as well. It made me see Bill Clinton in a very different light.

Last episode was disappointing

by Kate Cant Like It on Oct 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I’m not sure why more video tape account of the rape allegation was not used. It wasn’t nearly as convincing to hear it summarized than to hear it first hand. What was said in that interview? What wasn’t? Why wasn’t it used? Maybe it was a strategy to get ppl to sign up for slate plus. If your a fisherman looking for listeners you let this fish get away. You held out on the most important detail.

The human dimension...

by Leftahead on Oct 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This show does the hard work of seeking out and identifying the individual people who create the conditions for the ‘scandals’ that define the powerful institution of the Presidency. It’s not explicitly interested in ‘changing your mind’ about any individual actor, but I suspect the mere activity of hearing so many of their voices may have that effect anyway.

Great

by Cryllica on Oct 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m learning so much about some of our worst presidents.

FANTASTIC

by coxfamily on Oct 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is podcast is a fantastic piece of investigative journalism styled as a political thriller. Upon starting, it was impossible to stop listening, and I have since recommended it to all of my friends, who are just as hooked. It’s doesn’t require a lot of prior political knowledge on the issue, so don’t be scared off if you’re not very into politics. Five stars!

Dud....but hey, I’m conservative soooooo

by DonLemonSux on Oct 25, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The buildup and subsequent destruction of Juanita Broaddrick’s credibility at the end is evident that liberal leaning journalist’s are not interested in substance, but rather hinging credibility on minuscule details of a political affiliation and personal opinions that in no way detract from her accusation of rape by then AG Bill Clinton. This Slow Burn ending, in my opinion, is essentially a singular, opinionated effort to further distance the truth. Furthermore, to create an illusion of analogy between JB’s/Christine Blasey Fords story is completely ridiculous and irresponsible. The additional fluff is readily available in many books and online readings. This was my first podcast to download. Very disappointed.

Well done

by shougekinojp on Oct 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A really well done n put together podcast on a specific point in history, first season 1 being about Nixon and season 2 being about Bill clintons impeachment. It was so fascinating how much information and thought was put into each episode that it really truly makes you want and crave more. Really well done n hope more seasons come

Superb

by Brimstin on Oct 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Hooked immediately after the first episode of season 2 was shared on an off-week of Dickerson’s Whistlestop. Fantastic long-form journalism with a well-executed narrative arc.

SO GOOD

by Ajdoeubaohsbxid on Oct 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Really enjoyed this podcast! Very thorough and interesting. It included some great interviews and stories of these events.

Clinton’s getting off easy

by angelle226 on Oct 21, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I think this is a paid for by the Clinton’s podcast to distract from the more messed up horrific things they’ve done. Do your research people.

Roped into believing this was unbiased journalism

by OMDoulas101 on Oct 19, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I listen to the entire season of Season 2, and was pleasantly surprised at how unbiased it seemed to be until the last episode. I was shocked that in the last episode Leon pretty much dismissed Wanita, because she has different views than he does. Pretty much said he doesn’t want to believe her on the biased of her political views. Isn’t that what happened to Christine?! This is so disappointing and in bad taste. I had planned on listening to other Slate podcast but won’t be after this.

Was a good investigative pieces... Until it got political

by Rick Snar on Oct 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

This was a decent series, but fell off the rails during the final episode. The way Broderick is described and her assault is ultimately dismissed by this producer is sad. Seems like the producer just wanted to make a political statement at the end. You can’t compare a Supreme Court nominee being labeled a “Gang Rapist”, to a sexual assault victim who was silenced by the same media to protect an office.

Really makes you think

by emilymle mle on Oct 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Ughhh Its hard to reconcile Clinton after listening. And the parallels to the presidency today. LOVED THIS PODCAST.

Excellent listen and very informative

by krosiej on Oct 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellent

Pulls no punches

by DawgsFan on Oct 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Lots of people would expect the host and producers to go easy on Clinton, but they probe deeply into the Lewinsky scandal and get to the heart of the issue. The first season is rife with details about Watergate and Nixon’s role but not over the top with partisanship.

Disappointing

by Rainlover9 on Oct 17, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

After interviewing Juanita Broderick and hearing clear evidence that she was raped. You victimize her again by saying it’s easy to dislike her because she’s a trump supporter. Her support of trump doesn’t mean she was raped any less by your beloved former rapey president!.

Good story telling, bad ending

by L S8 on Oct 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Loved this podcast until the end of season 2 when Leon reverts to being tribal and lizard-brained. Casting doubt on a sexual assault victims testimony because you don’t agree with them politically is the EPITOME of hypocrisy. Spoiler alert this pod ends with Leon more or less excusing Bill’s inexcusable behavior.

Good but I have one BIG issue

by joehog on Oct 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Good podcast but my big issue is that the presenter openly admits to wanting to discount Juanita Broderick’s rape claim simply because she has a different political view. Either we believe women - and especially those like Paula Jones and Juanita Broderick who both have corroborated sexual assault claims - or we don’t. Listen to this podcast and substitute “Trump” for “Clinton”, “Stormy” for “Monica” and worst of all “Dr Christine Blasey Ford” for poor, Southern, “Paula” and “Juanita”. How anyone can claim that Kavanaugh should not have been approved for the Supreme Court but can say that Clinton is ok to come back to the White House as First Gentleman is ludicrous, hypocritical and just plain sad.