Average rating:

5
out of 14239 ratings.

Too biased

by Chris-132 on Oct 23, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I enjoyed the first season but the second season is terrible because of how biased it is. Though, this isn't too surprising because Slate is one of the most liberal podcast networks.

Clinton’s getting off easy

by angelle226 on Oct 21, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I think this is a paid for by the Clinton’s podcast to distract from the more messed up horrific things they’ve done. Do your research people.

Roped into believing this was unbiased journalism

by OMDoulas101 on Oct 19, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I listen to the entire season of Season 2, and was pleasantly surprised at how unbiased it seemed to be until the last episode. I was shocked that in the last episode Leon pretty much dismissed Wanita, because she has different views than he does. Pretty much said he doesn’t want to believe her on the biased of her political views. Isn’t that what happened to Christine?! This is so disappointing and in bad taste. I had planned on listening to other Slate podcast but won’t be after this.

Was a good investigative pieces... Until it got political

by Rick Snar on Oct 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

This was a decent series, but fell off the rails during the final episode. The way Broderick is described and her assault is ultimately dismissed by this producer is sad. Seems like the producer just wanted to make a political statement at the end. You can’t compare a Supreme Court nominee being labeled a “Gang Rapist”, to a sexual assault victim who was silenced by the same media to protect an office.

Really makes you think

by emilymle mle on Oct 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Ughhh Its hard to reconcile Clinton after listening. And the parallels to the presidency today. LOVED THIS PODCAST.

Excellent listen and very informative

by krosiej on Oct 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellent

Pulls no punches

by DawgsFan on Oct 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Lots of people would expect the host and producers to go easy on Clinton, but they probe deeply into the Lewinsky scandal and get to the heart of the issue. The first season is rife with details about Watergate and Nixon’s role but not over the top with partisanship.

Disappointing

by Rainlover9 on Oct 17, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

After interviewing Juanita Broderick and hearing clear evidence that she was raped. You victimize her again by saying it’s easy to dislike her because she’s a trump supporter. Her support of trump doesn’t mean she was raped any less by your beloved former rapey president!.

Good story telling, bad ending

by L S8 on Oct 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Loved this podcast until the end of season 2 when Leon reverts to being tribal and lizard-brained. Casting doubt on a sexual assault victims testimony because you don’t agree with them politically is the EPITOME of hypocrisy. Spoiler alert this pod ends with Leon more or less excusing Bill’s inexcusable behavior.

Good but I have one BIG issue

by joehog on Oct 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Good podcast but my big issue is that the presenter openly admits to wanting to discount Juanita Broderick’s rape claim simply because she has a different political view. Either we believe women - and especially those like Paula Jones and Juanita Broderick who both have corroborated sexual assault claims - or we don’t. Listen to this podcast and substitute “Trump” for “Clinton”, “Stormy” for “Monica” and worst of all “Dr Christine Blasey Ford” for poor, Southern, “Paula” and “Juanita”. How anyone can claim that Kavanaugh should not have been approved for the Supreme Court but can say that Clinton is ok to come back to the White House as First Gentleman is ludicrous, hypocritical and just plain sad.

Season 2 was great

by APA9 on Oct 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Haven’t listened to season 1 yet. Binged season 2 in two days! Hope season 3 continues with Hillary!

I’m addicted!

by Emmmmmmmmmmmm1234 on Oct 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A fascinating exploration of the politics, the history, and the untold drama of events I thought I knew. Especially powerful in today’s political climate.

Great podcast

by becomingInformed on Oct 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love it

Remember when...

by Harmonyetta on Oct 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I was in my late teens when the Bill/Monica story began. I never could understand why Monica got the rawest end of the deal. First of all, it takes 2 to tango! Second, He Was The President! I still have much empathy for Monica. She legally was an adult but her heart was naive in believing our suave Mr President. Great Podcast! Please keep them coming!

Sooooo good!

by Coralie S on Oct 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Well-researched, interestingly-presented, addictive! I can’t wait for future episodes!

Great show

by Sarahkate622 on Oct 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This show is equal parts well told history and juicy political gossip. I loved season 1 but I just finished season 2 and had to write a review immediately. It was a fantastic story and the ending was incredible. Can’t wait for season 3!

Superb

by AstroboyMN on Oct 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Both seasons are beautifully researched and narrated by Leon Neyfakh, who knows just when to conclude each season. The final espisodes of each season are haunting me still.

Indelible

by Jem7star on Oct 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The last few lines of the second season were brilliant! I so look forward to the next one!!! As a Preachers Kid raised in LR during this time I was fascinated and horrified at the same time!

Outstanding

by Yospa1 on Oct 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Deeply researched, fair and fun. Obvious relevance to political scandals and polarization of today - but the host doesn’t overstate it either.

Informative listen

by Anthony Marciano on Oct 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve listened to seasons 1-2 and it has been my most anticipated download weekly. Great story telling and format with a soothing voice.

That was stupid!

by tornadosilverado on Oct 12, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Great podcast, but next time leave your political views out of it. The end of the last episode absolutely ruined the tone of the series. Definitely won’t be listening anymore.

Mind blown

by Flamebo08 on Oct 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Season 2 episode 8 is the best podcast I’ve heard all year. I’ve never experienced such a perfectly delivered look at the past through the jaw-droppingly - and unpredictably - relevant present. So nuanced, so thoughtful, so good. Truly hungry for more.

Had me hooked but....

by Ams999999 on Oct 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

This podcast was very well done and had me on the edge of my seat wanting more. Listened to both the Watergate and Clinton seasons and really liked both. BUT it’s very obvious that it leans heavily to the left. When can we all simply acknowledge that wrong is wrong is wrong no matter what political party you support? Bill Clinton was and is a predator and a disgrace. Hearing about him being celebrated by feminists and hearing the podcast try to justify disbelieving Broderick is a denial of reality and hypocrisy at its finest. I look forward to more unraveling of histories’ presidential scandals in the next season! With political tensions at their highest in the country, I hope that there is another president (not Trump) to pick on and dissect. Let’s save Trump for season 4 or 5, when he is out of office and we can lay all the evidence on the table. I fear that if there is a Season 3 and if it’s on Trump, it will be with incomplete information and will alienate lots of listeners.

Educational

by KlondikeKate12345 on Oct 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm surprised that I like a more historical podcast, but it's really well done. I'm learning a lot.

One of the best Slate Podcasts around

by Eddy Tony on Oct 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is superbly made in every regard, from the extensive research, engaging narration and impeccable editing. In my mind, it’ll serve as the definitive exploration of the Nixon and Clinton impeachments for a long time, and done so in a very objective and non-partisan manner. Both seasons are produced with very professional quality, and represent the best that Slate has to offer.

Fantastic show

by Critime on Oct 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This show is so well researched, and logically and methodically presented. It’s the only podcast I actually enjoy listening to because the narrator doesn’t make it about him — the show focuses on the factual deep dive into the material. I only wish the RFK Tapes had continued with this approach, instead it reverted to the “ain’t I witty” narrative.

Well researched unbiased research...except for the last episode

by andreajustice on Oct 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Unlike yourself, I grew up in a very conservative household. With that said, I also grew up with a family who believed that Clinton should not have been impeached because of his private life—regardless of party. With that in mind, I was interested in delving deeper into the Clinton/Lewinsky scandal out of nothing more than interest and pure curiosity. I was 10 years old when this news originally broke. I remember my family following it on TV, and watching parts of it for myself. I also remember several conversations between my grandmother, and my mother and aunt. My mom and aunt felt that Lewinsky was victimized, while my grandmother believed her to be something other than a victim. Different generations I guess. But I have always been interested in knowing further details, as this was and is an event that truly defined my generation. I appreciate your in-depth research and analysis, and I found it fascinating and compelling. To be completely honest, my intrigue was more from that of a historical standpoint than anything else. It’s an event that occurred within my lifetime that may never happen again, and I wanted to know more. While listening to this, I left my political beliefs at bay, because I believed that you did as well (I would have been just as interested in an Abraham Lincoln, Richard Nixon, or George Bush affair). It’s sex. Everyone wants to know—regardless of party. You had me hooked until the very end, when you let the current political state come into play and influence your conclusion of this very real story. Prior to that, you gave almost certain credibility to a woman claiming to have been raped by the soon to be president of the United States. You insinuated that you yourself believed her. More than that, you provided evidence and interviews of people who found her to be credible and also believed her story. You also reported that this alleged rape was only left out of the Star report and overall media because it didn’t fit the political agenda at the time. You all but admitted that you felt compelled to believe her and that under any other circumstances you would have sided with her. But then you revealed her political alliances as the reason for your doubt in her??. Even though she was formerly a huge Clinton supporter, and volunteered for his campaign—which is how this all started? Even though she has absolutely nothing to gain from her political position in 2018? The fact that she supported Trump and did not support Dr. Ford’s accusations in the Kavanaugh hearing seemingly made up your own mind as to whether or not the president raped an otherwise credible (to you) victim in 1978. This thought process is no more acceptable that me stating Ford’s accusations towards Kavanaugh are not credible because she’s a liberal. .Let me say that I thoroughly enjoyed the podcast. So for anyone out there who is looking for pure entertainment, I would be happy to recommend this as a great story and account about a very *true* political sex scandal. You are reporting on a corroborated event of a president in a position of power using that power to take advantage of women. The fact that you would question one of these otherwise sincere woman's credibility (your words) because she herself found Dr. Ford’s accusations less than credible (among other reasons) is unbelievable. I invested in this show with an open mind and an unbiased mindset. I expected you to do the same until the end.

Excellent reporting, spooky timing

by agmxkk on Oct 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Particularly this second season seems like it should be required listening for everyone. I was too young to follow the news during Clinton’s administration, but even though almost 20 years have passed, the seeds of our current events and conversations seem to have been planted in the stories which are brilliantly clarified by the host. Excellent sense of balance in the delivery, allowing the listener to hold the facts in the mind without proposing an easy conclusion. Thank you very much for your work.

Torn

by MRenRog on Oct 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I’ve really enjoyed listening to the Clinton story and the research behind it. It’s very well told and interesting- especially being that I was born in 1990 and don’t know a whole lot about the Clinton scandal. However, I am super disappointed in the politically biased sprinkled throughout the podcast. I understand Slate is a liberal leaning media source, but the outright hypocrisy is astounding at times.

Biased Host...

by KevinShutter on Oct 10, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I listened to all of Season 1 and was annoyed with the hosts bias. I kept an open mind and listened to all of season 2 and was quite dismayed with the hosts bias. I understand this is a Slate production, but again I kept an open mind in hopes that this podcast could be right down the middle. It is not.... I won’t make the mistake again.

*vomit*

by thechameleoncafe on Oct 10, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

So incredibly bias I threw up in my mouth a little.

Fascinating

by cthomestead on Oct 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Due to my age, the Nixon season was a little over my head but interesting nonetheless. However, I was FASCINATED with the Clinton season. Great show.

Superb

by VivaBarista on Oct 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Each season has been an amazing, in-depth look at some of the biggest moments in our time in a way that makes me feel like I knew nothing to start with. Kudos to the team who put these together.

Great Podcsst But...

by Boogi388 on Oct 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great Podcsst love the content that is being provided ....but don't like how you're forcing the slate plus package. Let the content drive the promotion of signing up for slate plus. Having random episodes to give me FOMO just doesn't do it.

Eye opening

by Jlpan2 on Oct 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Brilliant journalism. So through. Very very relevant for today

Time Warp

by loretta loveless on Oct 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m 41, spent my teen years in Arkansas and can’t get enough of this podcast. Every episode is a blast from the past. Tiny details that bring huge awakenings in a crisis that’s ripple effects have become crashing waves in our current time. As my womanhood was budding, this scandal has shaped my of my perspective regarding balance of power and hypocritical leaders. Quality storytelling and packed with amazing interviews with the heavy hitters.

Very good

by June126 on Oct 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Very well done. Enjoyable to listen to.

Fascinating Details about Impeachment

by Corey2b on Oct 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

So many details that I had never heard about the impeachment of Nixon and Clinton. I couldn’t stop listening to season 1. Season 2 is equally intriguing (trying to savor it.) Can’t wait for season 3.

Understanding our times

by IPJen on Oct 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I only wish this podcast had existed prior to the election… But of course it couldn’t. I was too young when this all went down to really understand what was happening. But had I understood the deep and visceral hatred for the Clintons, I would’ve known that Hillary could never have won... The worst part is the hypocrisy of the Republicans standing behind Trump who is 100 times worse than Clinton ever was.

Worth the listen

by Millennial mom 87 on Oct 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

So well done!

Love this podcast

by JDiz409 on Oct 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It’s so interesting to hear these stories told from the perspective at the time, as they unfolded, and to learn how history repeats itself.

Outstanding

by A Merback on Oct 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The season 1 parallels to the present day are hilariously depressing. Well done.

Mostly good but biased at times

by heiditamopias on Oct 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

This was a mostly well-done podcast. However there is some bias. I lived through the Monica Lewinsky scandal. I was a political scientist major at the time and then Law student, so we digested this information and discussed it at length. The episode where he talks about the religious right and Starr being an evangelical was biased. Little attention is paid to the real issue most of my peers and I had: perjury. Morality, religious fanatics, this right movement to condemn him for his immorality... that was not really the main point for anyone I knew. Sure, it was a factor, but THAT wasn’t the catalyst. Most everyone was grossed out by his antics but did not care until he violated the law that he swore to uphold. It was the violation of the law, not God, that was his undoing. The abuse of power was what upset us more than anything. That didn’t really get aired out well. Starr also got criticized for detailing the sex acts, but truly, he had to. Legally we debated this. After all, if sex isn’t oral sex, then there was no perjury. This detail got a very brief mention that was dripping with bias. It wasn’t just Starr— all the media outlets were debating the act as well to determine if it was perjury. So mostly good, but the bias in reporting the religious right fervor as the main catalyst was silly. Mentioning Starr’s religion was also unfair-many people have a belief system, doesn’t mean it affects their job.

Clinton

by Gizzyme on Oct 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Your story on President Clinton was incredible!!! As I listened intently I realized after all these years I feel the same now as I did then. “None of my business, it’s between him and Hillary, has no bearing on how he runs the country”. Thank you for always putting out wonderfully interesting stories. Keep up the Great Work!!!!

Love and hate

by Love SB, hate S+ on Oct 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love Slow Burn. Both seasons phenomenal! Loved the Extra episodes purchased through Slate Plus membership. BUT website is horrible (why oh why no search feature???!!) and accessing S+ members only versions (sans commercials) requires frustrating and lengthy searches. Not worth the money and effort. Listen to the regular episodes. You’ll miss good stuff but save your phone from being hurled into traffic in a fit of rage

Phenomenal

by Smcase00 on Oct 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

So relevant. So compelling. One of the best podcasts I’ve heard.

Who Knew?

by GarfieldG on Oct 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

"History enables bewildered bodies of human beings to grasp their relationship with their past," historian Allan Nevins wrote. This riveting series does that in spades, allowing -- perhaps even compeling -- listeners to see a hugely consequential piece of the American experience in a whole new light. Like LBJ's War, a similarly fresh take on a story I thought I knew, Slow Burn puts us in the room where these big events happened, and sends us home possibly sadder but definitely wiser. Kudos.

That didn't take long.

by Vesloc on Oct 03, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Maybe you should keep your unsolicited political views out of it.

For political junkies

by dpg220 on Oct 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

And even 90s nostalgics (season 2); a great listen.

Good info, please lose the political slant

by Dexter80 on Oct 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I really appreciate the detailed podcast on what I find to be important and critical historical events. But can you leave out the partisan snippiniess? For example, when discussing the Monica Lewinski scandal, you said several times that Bill lying under oath is ‘technically’ illegal. As if the subject upon which perjury is committed is relevant. If I’m suing my wife in divorce court, is she allowed to commit perjury on some things so long as they are personal? Nope. The entire justice system demands an unequivocal rule of law and testifying under oath must remain sacrosanct.