Average rating:

5
out of 7806 ratings.

Martha

by little auntie sally jo on Apr 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one of the best podcast ever! I was 7 or 8 when my older brother and I were spellbound by the Watergate hearings. It made us both democrats. My poor republican parents. Thanks to Rachel Madow for mentioning it on her show. Loved every minute!

I’m speechless

by CookiePusher on Apr 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve just finished listening to all the episodes and as soon as I can catch my breath, I’ll listen to them again. mygawd. People who think history is boring should listen to Slow Burn.

Great storytelling and production value.

by MidwestJames on Apr 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Very well done. What keeps me from giving it 5 stars is the continual efforts to pair Nixon with Trump. To say that Trump is a modern day Nixon is a little pre-mature. Good podcast though.

Great but stick to the story...

by Max Salmeron on Apr 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

The constant jabs at Trump were completely unnecessary and showed a lack of professionalism in this podcast. I didn’t vote for Trump either, I get enough of him and his antics in my daily life so the last thing I want to hear during a podcast, is more of him! I am smart enough to make the connections on my own and I suppose anybody listening to this type of subject matter can as well. Ridiculous and juvenile.

Listen to this podcast

by former AUSA on Apr 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast. Great lesson in history. The parallels to today’s political climate are eery.

Superb

by Golfer1966 on Apr 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I honestly didn’t think there was anything left to tell the Watergate story. I was wrong. This thoughtful podcast is absolutely fascinating with new details and a fresh perspective. The arc of the podcast is to relate it to today’s political landscape.

Great Review of History!

by AndrewBryce on Apr 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thoroughly enjoyed this podcast and learning even more about the moving pieces that were a part of the Watergate scandal. Well done, well done!

Great

by Greg5231 on Apr 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I enjoyed this podcast and they clearly put a lot of effort into making this. However, I didn’t like how there were a few occasions where they slightly showed a bias against Trump. They should of been more neutral.

Thrilling

by Rav93789 on Apr 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I finish this podcast in one day. I couldn't stop listening and had no idea how long the impeachment dragged on. This is amazing story telling and curated very well. You must tune in now! Can't wait for season two.

Terrifyingly Timely

by expectalot on Apr 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Beautiful blend of suspenseful story telling with perfectly selected supporting archival material. Captivating from the first to the last episode!

Fantastic Listen!

by C Orsini on Apr 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is such an interesting story and so well told. Very entertaining for someone not well-versed in Watergate.

Great podcast

by Patti the RN on Apr 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

After reading “All the President’s Men” I wanted to know more. Slow Burn rounded out my knowledge of this very complex scandal. It is very timely. Highly recommend even if you didn’t read the book or have previous information about Watergate.

Fantastic

by lookitsnikole on Apr 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I can’t get over the similarities between then and now. Slate does an awesome job of bringing to light the precedence this administration, and congress, set for the future.

Very Relevant

by BrotherYos on Apr 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The parallels to today are frightening. Worth a listen to see how history repeats itself.

Essential

by LLdaf on Apr 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Anyone following the #TrumpRussia probe wants to listen to this. It’s a play by play of what is happening in America today.

To understand the present you have to understand the past

by Nancy P OK on Apr 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A friend of mine encouraged me to listen to this podcast. I put it off for quite a while but I cannot say forcefully enough wouldn’t incredibly timely insightful and thorough discussion these podcasts were of the Watergate hearings and outcome. And, it could not be a better time to hear all of the things that went on in Watergate. Because, what’s going on now is incredibly similar. Excellent X

Slow Burn is engrossing!!

by whos_on_first on Apr 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I spent my summer as a 14 yr old watching the watergate hearings. I thought I knew the story... but wait there’s more!!! This podcast knits together the myriad of my own memories with additional facts and interviews.It’s very interesting and considering the current events gives me a sensation of deja vu

The Story Can Stand By Itself

by Jay Blokhed on Apr 12, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

He couldn’t just make it about history, but instead TRUMP! TRUMP! TRUMP! TRUMP! TRUMP! TRUMP! TRUMP! TRUMP! TRUMP! But it is Slate, so what is to be expected.

great deep dive

by Pistolwhipp on Apr 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a great deep dive into the scandle. It's so much more layerd then I was tought in school or shorthand via pop culture. Very informitive.

Absolutely fantastic!

by GammylovesPapa on Apr 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have listen to the podcasts more than once, and I'm sure I am not done yet. Just as I Google"mueller" several times a day, I am hungry to know the truth about the corruption which so many Americans deny.

More Please

by Spin737 on Apr 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I had to watch All the President’s Men to hold me over until the next podcast comes out.

Must listen podcast #1.

by Glacier1975 on Apr 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I could not stop. I lived through this era and I had forgotten much. But drawing the comparisons forward was just wild. I laughed out loud. I lived every minute. Looking forward to Clinton. Thanks for the awesome work. Loved loved loved it.

excellent

by Ruby CR on Apr 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

thorough, engaging, already have learned a lot, I'm not finsihed!

Couldn't stop listening

by Saws mama on Apr 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I was born in 1980, and completely ignorant of the Watergate scandal. I graduated from public school (nothing), got a Master's degree in biology (nothing), love to read (my own fault for not educating myself)... this podcast really was my first exposure to what happened during the scandal. I loved it. I couldn't stop listening, and finished the series in 2 days. Great history lesson, and dare I say applicable to today?

Holy Cow!

by news hog on Apr 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I lived through the original Watergate so this is a reliving of the scandal for me. But there are new details that I didn't remember which makes this a fresh retelling of the story which is so very needed now.What was chilling was the reaction of the Nixon supporters at that time, eerily similar to the hardcore Trump supporters of today. What ultimately did in Nixon was the tapes that he recorded. But there are no tapes today and so many people are willing to accept the "fake news" claims which is a scary thought.This is story telling at its best.

Slow burn

by Jseven1 on Apr 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I listened to much of Watergate Hearings. Still learned a lot plus interesting to recall it all again.

Captivating!

by LoMerc on Apr 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It revealed parts of the Watergate story I hadn’t heard.

Slow burn

by Llkkkklllj on Apr 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is absolutely binge worthy. A listening must for our current times.

Slow Burn - Watergate

by Jamesiepie on Mar 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I was in the Hospital at Walter Reed In 1973 and left D.C. in September 1974. I read The Post everyday and have read a few books about Nixon and about Watergate. Slow Burn revealed events I had never heard of and insights I’ve never considered. Outstanding. More!

That was then and that is now

by Happy Maui on Mar 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Well done, a very good listen. Worthwhile during these times. So many young folks are clueless about watergate. This is a great overview for them and a good reminder for those of us who lived through those days. I have shared this podcast many times and will continue to do so. History comes alive in Slow Burn.

Yes

by DannySkarka on Mar 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As a kid during Watergate I remember most of this but not all of it. This podcast serves as the bookend on the other side of the stack of volumes that is my memory of Watergate. One can only wonder how much we are we living history now.

citizen

by dancerboots on Mar 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

In my thirties when this part of our history was unfolding and its revelations evolving, I watched the hearings on a floor model TV encasing a 20 inch black and white screen, eating a dagwood sandwich and was mesmerized. Ex-VP Spiro Agnew had been the governor of Md, my home then...so I was aware of his forced resignation...The tapes and their transcripts are available at the nixonlibrary along with those played in open court trials U.S. vs Mitchell and U.S. vs John B. Connally...Connally was an influential Texas Democrat and its governor that was injured during the JFK assassination sitting in the same car of the motorcade....He became a Republican in the 1970s and appointed Sec of the Treasury under the Nixon Administration... Nixon's downfall was his tapes...trump's downfall will be his tweets...both men convinced the presidency has unlimited power and above the law...

Slow Burn

by 10miletone on Mar 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Very Informative.

Amazing

by Kbiz12425784 on Mar 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

What a compelling story. Can’t wait for season two!

Great History Lesson

by Alaska Sarah on Mar 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Fascinating, educational, and relevant.

Deep into lesser-known facts

by Blasternaught on Mar 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I began listening because (pure honesty here) I simply did not know a thing about the watergate scandal, other than its name and that it had something to do with Richard Nixon. Now its parallels with current politics are chilling to me, and I find myself more drawn to learn more about not only current politics, but those of the past.A very interesting and entertaining podcast.

Twice

by Riderok on Mar 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve listened to this twice. I’m in awe.

Fascinating. Enertaining. Relevant.

by WeeDram on Mar 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I wish this would be turned into a dramatic limited run series on Netlfix or whatever. More please. I heard there's Clinton treatment in the works, but there's so many more topics. Iran/Contra please.

History Repeats Itself

by Tillymcgee on Mar 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

After listening to all episodes, I am gobsmacked by the similarities between then and now. I thought we had reached a new low in American politics, but this point in history was just as low.

Pandering...

by KAPPA TONY on Mar 27, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The first podcast is very good, but only 10 or so minutes in, they start trying to drop in references to Trump associates, comparing Anthony Scaramucci to Martha Mitchell. It’s so predictable a jump in logic, and unnecessary since the Watergate spectacle has enough colorful characters and surreal twists and turns without having to pander by comparing it to the current Russia investigation to please their target audience. Please keep your eye on the ball going forward, and just tell the story without trying to forcing ties to the current administration. The cheap shot comparison between Nixon’s daughter and Ivanka Trump is not even worth the weak laugh you thought you might get.

Amazingly informational

by izzay(: on Mar 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As someone who barely learned about Watergate in any of her history classes, this podcast allowed me to really piece together a scandal I’d never fully understood before. The production is great, narration is wonderful, and it really pieced things together! I’ve recommended to all of my friends.

Deep and thorough

by Dtayatl on Mar 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Can’t wait for the next season!

What a history lesson

by Krimpetgirl on Mar 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Where were you when I studied watergate on school. You’ve done a wonderful job with a topic I didn’t have much interest in Can’t wait for next season

Superb Historical Deepdive

by Fulano D. Tal on Mar 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you!

Just WOW!!

by ashcat310 on Mar 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Now I know what all the Nixon-fuss was about, and why parallels are being drawn to Trump - thanks for this!

Great history w/ clear modern lessons

by Kerry in VA on Mar 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoyed the first season of this podcast. Great history with a clear eye to what we can learn today from the Watergate scandal and impeachment of Nixon.

Amazing job- must listen

by Ex USA Today App user on Mar 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

What a great podcast- high production values, masterfully layered audio and story lines.I was in a politically active family as a child and lived Watergateyet I still found this story utterly compelling.In these Trumpian times, we forget how long Watergate took and the stress it created in our lives. It is also too easy to forget that Nixon might have survived...LISTEN TO THIS PODCAST!

This has been a fantastic listen

by Hrhment on Mar 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m listening to episode 5 now and I love it. Masterfully produced.

Stick to watergate -revised

by JordonJN on Mar 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I like this podcast. The first episode the host spoke about Trump a few times but in subsequent episodes it’s all accurate history. Great work.

Brings Watergate to life in dramatic fashion....

by Zipzippity on Mar 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A fantastic oral history of one of the most monumental events in US political history.