Average rating:

4.5
out of 3002 ratings.

Not very well done

by Mookie12121441976 on Jul 14, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

There is very little concrete here. Random thoughts by the producers but not much of what the group actually believed or did. Pretty boring, frankly, and could have been done in about 3 episodes. A lot of fluff.

Glynn Johnson really makes this podcast!

by Yamsandwich on Jul 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

What a fantastic podcast! I loved that Glynn Johnson added his own experience and insight to the cult mindset after having experience in a cult. Wonderfully researched, and so interesting!!

Interesting and informative

by Amanda K T K on Jun 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast was excellent. Normally when you hear stories about cults it’s nothing but negative... it was incredibly interesting to hear the side of former cult members which made you remember that these people were humans too. I appreciate all of the research that was done and effort that was put into it... it really shows. I liked hearing clips from Heaven’s Gate members themselves while they were in the cult, ex cult members and family members of cult members. Just wow. Give it a listen! Even the host has his own cult story and I really enjoyed hearing that as well.

Amazing

by Tyler P Supa G on May 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast was bone chilling and in depth and wonderful. Please do this again about another topic. Thank you for the insight about this group.

Well Done!

by Confucius08 on May 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I like that you are showing them as moms, dad, sisters, brothers, daughters, pilots, stay at home moms and computer programmers. Seeking and telling the truth while respecting personal memories of the families.

Excellent

by WV_Nathan on May 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

My first time listening to a podcast on this particular topic. Quality. Left me wanting more. Excellent narration. Well told.And heck, maybe just maybe, they did make it to their destination, right?

Slow pace

by Greg5231 on May 03, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Most of this podcast was really slow and boring because they stretched it out too much. This podcast should of had about seven or eight episodes instead of ten.

Very Compelling

by Lauren Nettles on Apr 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Well told story by an amazing host

Great show!

by Sonofmydad. Dad? on Apr 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Really interesting to hear Glen Washington’s insight on growing up in a cult. Super well done show!

Outstanding narrator

by VeraSchrankung on Apr 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

An even-handed exploration of the Heaven’s Gate cult hosted by an incredibly engaging, relatable narrator who has his own personal experience of growing up in a cult. Excellent production and research

So good

by renegadebutch on Apr 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The level of research is astounding. I’m so fascinated by and impressed with this podcast.

Fact Check

by SteadyFly on Apr 24, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Might wanna check Glynns claims of being in a “cult”

Riveting

by Applies stupid on Apr 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Cults are fascinating. This podcast tells the story from both sides. And it was helpful to hear the host’s experience in growing up in a cult.

A+ podcast

by Breanne Vander Pluym on Apr 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Phenominal podcast. Glynn's voice is a joy to listen to. He explores the fate of the people in Heaven's Gate - including leaders Ti and Doe - as a tragedy rather than titillating gossip about a bunch of nuts.This podcast gives thoughtful insight into what began as a peaceful group and how it built - brick by brick - into a doomsday suicide cult.

Compelling storytelling

by Kathrynmargaret66 on Apr 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The mass suicide of Heaven’s Gate is a shocking and sorrowful story. This series deftly presents a nuanced telling by including interviews and recordings by family, friends, former members, and group members and leaders who ultimately perished by suicide. Glynn Washington provides intimate perspective by sharing his own formative experiences in a religious cult.

Excellent

by Just Mo. on Mar 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Glynn Washington's reporting and storytelling is always great, and this is a show that could only be hosted by Glynn. I couldn't wait for this to come out every week! I was really sad when the chronological narrative was over, and would appreciate an occasional insight on a specific topic around Heaven's Gate.

Great Pod

by LOD23 on Mar 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve always been fascinated with this cult/group and everything that went down. I’m excited for a more thorough analysis. Thanks to everyone involved in the making of this podcast.

So interesting

by Ttheta on Mar 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast was so fascinating. And it’s produced really well. I felt like I understood how the Heaven’s Gate tragedy happened and how all those people came to the decision they did.

addictive

by tweedycat617 on Mar 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

amazing binge-listen. glynn washington is a compelling host for a beautifully told, extremely creepy story. i couldnt wait to listen to another episode when one ended!

What a Story

by shakinhellsgates on Mar 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This show is fantastic. Its focus is to tell a story rather than sensationalize these truly tragic stories from defectors, survivors and parents. I’ve been enjoying listening to this rational approach to understanding cult mentalities and how people can get deceived by them. I’ve had a somewhat similar (though significantly leas extreme) experience after high school so this hits close to home.

Glynn can tell a story!

by Camz1313 on Mar 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This team is fantastic in their writing & how they spin a story. Riveting details from a story I vaguely remembered in my youth. Very educational. ICouldn’t wait each week for the new episode!!

Well researched, just enough intrigue

by Mlieby on Mar 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast. Glen Washington has a great voice and this podcast has it all. We know it happened but none of us understood why. In depth interviews and reporting, just enough foreshadowing to keep you wanting to listen to the next episode.

Gripping and very well narrated

by Jjppgexg on Mar 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

One of best I have heard in a while. Don't get me wrong, some of them out there r very good but this one is one of its kind.

AMAZING!

by Remotedestroyer on Mar 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It was amazing to be able to listen to this podcast. I was so captivated and neglected every other podcast to complete this one.

great miniseries

by Cindolin on Mar 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

the production value is wonderful and the host is compassionate and interesting. i love the way he conducts his interviews and i love his musings throughout the episodes. wish it didn’t have to end.

Interesting and educational

by Amybhermosa on Feb 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I had so many preconceived opinions (mainly negative) about the HG cult. This pod gave me so much more info and the other side of the story that the public at large never heard. Excellent storytelling and host. Thank you so much for doing this pod. I have a much better understanding now. And a lot of empathy!

So informative

by Desdymona on Feb 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I was way too young to understand this when it happened and I learned so much from this. The host is not only respectful but he brings a fresh perspective.

Heavens gate is amazing!

by mannequindentist on Feb 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

So good. Riveting and captivating.

Great storytelling

by mrrockybalboa on Feb 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is well researched, fascinating, and has radio quality production. This podcast took a cult I thought I knew about and made me realize I barely knew a thing about it. I went from thinking they were just lost souls and nutcases to feeling bad for everyone involved, even Marshall Applewhite (just a little bit).

Educational and entertaining

by jacketsbacker on Feb 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is so well researched and produced, it could be a template for other podcast series like it. The producers use actual audiotape, interview members, former members, parents as well as their own extensive research. It comes at the subject matter from every angle. I especially appreciated Glynn Washington’s own interview on his experiences in a cult-like church as a youth. Mr. Washington hosts Snap Judgment as well as this podcast. Super job!

Amazing story, amazing storyteller

by Ang9418 on Feb 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Glynn Washington is one of the most gifted storytellers alive today and this story is absolutely fascinating on its own. So the story + Glynn together are mind blowing. Can’t recommend enough.

Has what most lack

by RCrantz on Feb 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm fascinated by cults, but am almost always disappointed by cult documentaries. Heaven's Gate ticked every box of my cult interests. Also as a Snap Judgement fan, it was great to learn more about Glynn's past!

Fascinating and Extremely Well-Made

by rifkil on Feb 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is skillfully and thoughtfully assembled. The story will have you on the edge of your seat, but it always senstive to, and never judgemental of, the people who lost their lives.

Stellar

by this_awkwardlife on Feb 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Absolutely loved this show and how deep a dive it takes into studying this cult. The live audio used takes it so far. Thanks!

heaven's gate

by solaricist on Feb 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

good series

Deeper Understanding

by Wmstchic on Feb 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I grew up in the era of cults receiving a lot of attention. They we “scary” and “evil” which always left me to wonder why anyone would join one. Glynn Washington’s podcast shed a different perspective I had not considered. I have a better understanding of why individuals might feel they’ve found their tribe.

Phenomenal

by Kimisthebest on Feb 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Loved it! Sad its over 💔

BEAUTIFUL!!!

by mpoorboy on Feb 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I was drawn here by a morbid curiosity. I think we all want to look at these like we are at the zoo. As though we are separate from these people who made such disastrous choices for the survivors, but through the eyes of an experienced narrator, we learn that there is no glass and cage. We r not separate from each of these individuals. It was beautiful. The narrator grew up in a cult and shows insight that we don’t normally get. He shows respect to the survivors, honors the fallen, and sympathizes with the families. A family member of mine killed themselves and life afterward is so different and painful. The honor that he showed was beautiful. It bought me to tears. But my favorite part, was the end when he presents the audience with a challenge, a challenge that in the beginning we would have scoffed at, but in the end, we scratch our heads. I hope his theory is true!!! Beautiful!!!!! Thought provoking!!!! Etc!!!!! Thank u!!!!!!!!!

Amazing. Fascinating. So well done.

by kgw76 on Feb 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Listen to this podcast. Trust me.

Glynn Washington make another series!

by Ninalaurence on Jan 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I loved this. The host was excellent: engaging, thoughtful, a great speaker, and even shared his personal story. The personal side is so important. I loved, too, that this podcast kind of showed a different side of the cult. It wasn't about the perceived weirdness or darkness. It was about the people, who, like every one of us, just wanted to be happy.

Glynn Washington Is Amazing!

by coldkooli on Jan 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Incredible. I came for the stories -- but I stayed for the host. Well done.

Ugh

by Dfigiebxuwix on Jan 30, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Bro stop saying “it could’ve been you”. You don’t know any of your listeners and even if you did, that is a RIDICULOUS leap. These people were NUTS. I’m gonna kill myself so I can go to Heaven. Sound logic🤦🏻‍♀️

Love Glynn Washington

by Beezee714 on Jan 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I would listen to Glynn host on a podcast on anything. I’ve never been really interested in this topic but found myself completely riveted.

Could’ve been so much better

by Addicted2TinyTower on Jan 29, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Super interesting topic, but loaded with so much fluff and repeat information. Narrator’s cadence also was distracting to me, took me a few episodes to get used to it.

So much I didn't know about this

by Ilikes00p on Jan 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Once I started I could not stop listening to this. An entralling and (almost too) compassionate look at the people of Heaven's Gate and their motivations. Seriously, if you are considering suicide, please reach out to the Suicide Prevention Lifeline.

Amazing

by globug42 on Jan 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Beautiful, fascinating, well-researched, and touching. Glynn Washington tells a complicated story about real people, that is both heart-breaking and uplifting. Fantastic podcast.

Great and thoroughly entertaining

by Mickaluba on Jan 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast really kept my attention. I cried in parts. The host was a kind and thoughtful narrator and storyteller. I appreciated his effort to cast a light on this sad story.

Grand!

by FunFeti on Jan 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Loving this! It’s amazing the information they have found and are sharing. I love the tapes and hearing the people who have been touched by it all in some way or another.

Absolutely flawless.

by yogurt fairy on Jan 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Heaven’s Gate is astonishingly well-done. The attention to detail, production, and narrative are engaging and accessible. Glynn Washington is an amazing host who treats every interviewee, narrative, and detail with reverence and reliability. Stitcher and Pineapple Street Media really did well here.

Couldn't stop listening!

by Buddy_McCue on Jan 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This empathetic and in-depth look into the Heaven's Gate cult was so interesting and compelling that I wound up downloading and binging them all.