Average rating:

4.5
out of 1895 ratings.

So good

by Aravis3591 on Jan 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I loved listening to this podcast. It really went in depth and showed how heavens gate was more complicated and how it had evolved over the years. Interviews with survivors and family members made the group seem more alive and identifiable.

The Host ruins it for me

by Thelionfire on Jan 18, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The common flaw that can separate a great documentary from a bad one is the documentarians themselves and how much of their biases or they themselves seep into the subject matter.The Host of this podcast inserts himself into the story of Heavens Gate too often and with no real reason. He wasn’t a part of it. But his experience with an apocalyptic church that was guilty of segregation when he was young is constantly compared to the Heavens Gate cult. This is like calling Beliebers a cult that would all kill themselves if cult leader Justin Bieber commanded it. The fact that, no doubt, some would doesn’t make a fandom into a a dangerous cult. This constant comparison of his comes off ridiculous and he even dedicated an entire episode to his own experience...which is not related to Heavens Gate in any way.You can call a religion a cult and a cult a religion and some are very interchangeable, but the host saying that Heaven’s Gates extraterrestrial infused religious belief system is no more absurd than any other major religion is ridiculous. Most major religions are millennia old and have texts of antiquity to at the very least support them... Heavens Gate was a cheap byproduct of Scientology’s growing popularity, created by a failed Broadway star and was clearly made up and rewritten as it went along...their suicide pact and its relation to Hale-Bopp Comet abruptly and randomly coming from a late night Cryptozoological radio show in the mid nineties. The cult leader was a man who tried to seek fame before the cults inception and therefore the cult really was meant to only ever serve that means...he was a narcissist. A narcissist who lost control of his cult and he manipulated and murdered 40 people the second he saw an opportunity for a way out. It was easier for him to do that than admit he was a conman who just wanted to be famous.The host of this podcast consistently seems to defend this cult leader and frequently uses language and a tone as if he himself is disappointed to have not been a part of Heavens Gate. The podcast way too often defends and glamorizes Heavens Gate in a manner that seems to insult those family members and it eventually crescendos into a final episode that suggests that maybe Heavens Gate was right and maybe they’re in their comet tail space ship, ultimately slapping the face of everyone who was devastated by this cult suicide.

Glynn Washington is a star

by And 5,6,7,8 on Jan 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Such a good podcast with an amazing narrator. Bravo 👏🏽 👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽

Somewhat disappointed in the subjective-ness

by Mechanical-Turk on Jan 17, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I really wish this podcast was a little bit more objective instead of trying to tell me how to feel or what to think. Heavens gate is interesting enough without playing up certain notions or going overboard on trying to sell a certain idea or whatever.

Great podcast!

by Christian Zanni on Jan 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I was in college, living in San Diego when this happened. In fact, my journalism advisor was one of the first journalists on the scene and had written an article for the Boston Globe at the time. I remember thinking then that how could people give up on life collectively... however this gives me a great perspective on what happened, how they got there and what I believe was the manipulation of minds and desire and a false pursuit. They didn’t know any better and honestly I don’t think it was suicide the way we understand suicide.

Excellent podcast

by JSM1993 on Jan 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thought provoking, riveting and utterly tragic.

Outstanding Journalism

by Hummingberd on Jan 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Glynn Washington does a stellar job of investigating the history of this mysterious and misunderstood group and its members. It's very well researched, edited, and thoughtfully constructed.

Heartbreaking

by TrampLamps on Jan 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you Glen and the families for telling this story.

Outstanding!

by Darthblonde on Jan 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Well-crafted story. Suspenseful. Heartfelt. Thought-provoking. Terrific host. An audio documentary of the best kind. Thank you for creating quality work like this!

Cringe

by Jennimay on Jan 13, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Either poorly researched or shoddily presented. The time line presented here is impossible. November Art Bell piece does not come before September Heaven’s Gate statement of evacuation. Caster interjects self into an entire episode though his cult ties had no affiliation with Heaven’s Gate. To top it off after each heavy episode ends there is an insensitive piece of audio meant to poke fun at the cult’s participants. Terrible misuse of subject matter. Could’ve been something special.

I’m hooked

by Marci Twitches on Jan 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

One episode in and I’m scrambling for the next. I look forward to neglecting all the things I have to do to liste

Poorly done

by Nate Olstad on Jan 12, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

They clearly put a lot of effort into making this podcast, but most episodes are very boring. They should of done a much better job of planning the story.The first two episodes were the worst and I almost gave up on the podcast around the middle of the second episode. The later episodes were better but those also weren’t great.The majority of this podcast is dull and boring.

Bad and irresponsible

by Monkeybull on Jan 11, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Started listening out of curiosity of what makes someone vulnerable to cults, but was soon shocked by how it legitimatized this behavior. I felt at first it was the over dramatic and annoying voice of the narrator and the fact that his own experience and bias was brought in, then I got to the last episode and how it normalized this behavior by comparing it to other religions and based on that, maybe they made it to the spaceship! Come on! Although I realize the thing to do today is to question Christianity, bottom line most religions (including Christianity) don’t encourage suicide. Quite the opposite, they teach life is precious and should be protected. To legitimize this cult is irresponsible.

Fascinating!

by Dorsey Grand on Jan 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I didn’t expect to find this as interesting as I did- great podcast done very well. Excellent quality- can’t recommend enough.

Nicely done.

by Ifresh pro on Jan 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I grew up in north county. I was 23 when H. Gate happened and it of course was a hugh story in our sleepy town (Then). I’ve been told the neighbor next to the “Mansion” purchased the house/property. Do you have any information regarding what happened to the house? I drive from Point Loma to leucadia to work everyday and pass the hotel (Holiday Inn) where the two tried to reunite with their friends I was told because the Holiday inn uses a swoosh in their sign. The hotel company has changed. Probably because the room was booked for I’m not sure how long after.Humans for centuries have had different versions of God.. Thank you I actually enjoyed your interviews with families. God bless them.

Fantastic

by VelociRosa on Jan 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Being so young when it happened, I was unaware of the grand scope of it even if it happened in my city and was all over the news. Now after going on this journey I realize how big an event this was and how incredible a story it is. Its such a well made pocast and definitely deserving of your time.

Well done

by Darabrooke on Jan 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This was an incredibly well produced and researched podcast. I also appreciated the respect and gentleness brought to the interviews with people who are still suffering.

Missing Key Information

by publicemilyD on Jan 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

An interesting take, but why zero discussion about how they got the supply of phenobarbital??? Did I miss something? Isn’t this critically important in terms of understanding the impact cults and their leaders can potentially have?

Heaven's Gate

by janfan3 on Jan 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Your podcast has gotten really interesting, and Glenn's input brings it to lfe.

Host makes it meh

by Mean dude bklsb djc on Jan 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I know this is a real story with real survivors, but having Glynn Washington host seems like a miss. He was in a cult when he was younger, so he has credibility for that, but his storytelling style sounds forced and fictional. It makes everything sound more dramatic than it is. Let the story tell itself.

Good topic, bad podcast

by Nick Storer on Jan 08, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Wish it was better. Narrator is trying too hard. Just give us the facts, don’t need your input. Let me interpret it on my own.

Glynn Washington Is Amazing . . .

by coldkooli on Jan 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Incredible! I came for the stories -- but I stayed for the host. Well done.

Good grief🤦🏻‍♀️There’s no there there!

by Juliannimal on Jan 06, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I listened to the whole first episode and I heard a LOT of ads sandwiched between “it could have been you, coming right up” and 30 seconds of dreamy trance music. So if that sounds interesting to you, then by all means, download and drink the kool-aid. Reminds me of the MSNBC joke: “we put 10 minutes of information into an hour!” I guess if you only have a high school education, this might be interesting to you? I’m really not sure. Maybe if you can’t read? The narrator has a really nice voice. Ooh! If you need something to listen to before you go to bed, this should do the trick. Maybe I’m just spoiled by all the tight editing & rich storylines from WNYC, Crooked Media & WBEZ. On the Media, Majority 54, This American Life, Freakonomics, Hidden Brain, Criminal, Embedded & Lovett or Leave It are killin’ it right now!

Mesmerizing

by Elisabeth Allen on Jan 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is so different from others about historical events, true crime, or cults. It’s more than just facts. It delves into the nuance of the people who joined and left. The host gets personal about his past and shows that the people of Heaven’s Gate aren’t as different from us as we think.

Great podcast!

by WheresCam on Jan 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoyed the way this event was told. It's easy to dismiss the members of this group or their beliefs until they dive in and humanize these people. Definitely something I binged on my commute.

Quality production but over-sensationalized.

by Lbcw on Jan 06, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Great story, editing, music, etc. but kind of feels like an info-mercial. Like they’re trying to sell me something. I love cults. I don’t need any convincing.

Refreshing

by Slushies9000 on Jan 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I am so pleased to hear how Glynn and the other reporters and researchers are sympathetic and understanding of the members of Heaven's Gate. I think that so often, when we talk about cults, we victim blame saying they should have known or that they knew what they walking into. This podcast peels back some of those layers and looks at part of what makes cults so scary, that you don't know what's coming or how the group will change. I really appreciate the tenderness and honesty with which these stories are being told.

Excellent all around

by roni221 on Jan 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Glynn is an excellent host. He is warm and personable. The podcast is interesting and informative. I loved the different perspectives brought in. Binged the whole thing in one night! ❤️❤️❤️

Love this podcast

by Enzo Lenzlediettleman on Jan 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The end wasn't as impactful as I had expected, but the bulk of this podcast is so intriguing, especially the questions you have to ask yourself while you're listening.

Chilling and intruiging

by psyentologist on Jan 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Growing up in a cult and finding my way out has been tough. Hearing the interviews from former members was difficult but refreshing to know that others have survived and continue on. To the creators of the podcast: please make more series like this about other groups.

Stick with it!

by Chantel29 on Jan 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The podcast started a little slow for me. But by episode 4 I was hooked! Great interviews with former members as well as the narrators childhood in a cult.

Excellent

by Twainstown on Jan 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Very well done, the interviews, tapes and also hearing about GW’s cult experience. Paints a scary story about people willingly giving up their freedom for half baked ideas.

Bravo well done!

by btangerine on Jan 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I've listened to the entire series... well done! A very thoughtful, empathetic and well-rounded take on an intriguing and mystifying tragedy that captivated our nation decades ago. Bravo!

Fantastic podcast. So well done.

by Becky Mochaface on Jan 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Now that I’ve heard all 10 episodes, I’m going through withdrawals. Loved the podcast and the storytelling. Would have liked to hear more about how/why the surviving class members left the group. But other than that, it’s perfect.

Great

by Jarred's Queen on Jan 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the subject of cults. This podcast gives you an in-depth look at Heaven's Gate. Very well told and easy to listen to.

Hurts my ears

by Jessa Sparkles on Jan 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I love the topic and the narrator, but all the background noise and the music and the tonal shifts triggers my migraine and ear sensitivity... which kills me because I want to know more!

Soft Pedal

by Guadalajara75 on Jan 02, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This podcast normalizes major mental illness too much. The thesis that any of us could end up a member of HG (“There but for the grace of God go I...”) is naive, misleading, and—on the face of it—false. Most of us would not, in fact, castrate and/or kill ourselves to join a spaceship that we heard about on midnight radio. I think presenting the story in these terms is disrespectful to the families of these unfortunate people.

Amazing

by Cat_Eyed_Fox on Dec 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Glynns voice, compassion and original Take was a revelation. He sought out members of the Class, the families left behind and an expert, all of which are articulate authentic human beings. I cried a few times, but laughed a few too.

Awesome production

by Sarasel14 on Dec 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Quality podcasts are hard to find. This is one.

Unlike any other.

by The Jackball on Dec 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

An amazing deep dive into this group. A masterpiece in podcasting.

Well Done

by Sillycats68 on Dec 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is well done. Very interesting and well produced.

Exceptional Experience

by Stacie63 on Dec 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

One of the most compelling aspects of this story is in the telling of it. Only Glenn Washington could have brought this group into focus. Thank you for your thoughtful and honest take on this and the cult mentality.

Amazing

by siriuslystephanie on Dec 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One of the best podcasts out there. So informative, great storytelling, & Glynn Washington is such a great host - he brings a clarity and empathy to this disturbing topic that is so appreciated.

Not quite what I expected...

by babyturnsblue666 on Dec 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A real gem! This is a fascinating and compassionate look at the people of Heaven’s Gate. Glynn Washington is an enchanting storyteller who takes the time to reveal the humanity behind the identically dressed bodies found in a Southern California mansion. This podcast is more than a cult study, or true crime story- it’s an examination of the sociology and psychology that led to a certain sequence of events, and an examination of what went wrong (or right). Definitely give this a chance if you are interested- it’s not as dark as I thought it would be. It’s full of love and light and compassion.

Very good insight

by Yoshi 7 on Dec 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I learned so much more about this cult. This is an excellent podcast that looks into every area of Heavens Gate.

Worth the Time

by ski_addict78 on Dec 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast. Interesting, well narrated, and a great look into the cult Heavens Gate.

The Best

by MomoBuns on Dec 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This was a great series! Very well researched with captivating story telling. One of the best podcast on cults I’ve heard. With so much information, different perspectives, and handled with such respect on the subject this is an absolutely a must hear!

Disappointing

by JaneyMI6 on Dec 28, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

No new insights into the group, didn't hear anything that wasn't already widely known about the group. The most interesting component to the whole podcast (the host being raised in a cult) is mostly ignored and only brought up in one episode...seems like a wasted opportunity to bring an interesting perspective to this tragedy. Just surface level. Big disappointment.

Great podcast. Sad podcast.

by Tater888888887 on Dec 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My views on religion have been torn down to the foundation over the last year or so. This podcast added more clarity to my decision to give it all up. I was glued to every episode.

So great!

by chapstick is better than lipgloss on Dec 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Listen to this podcast, even if you think you might not like it! Glen has such a great hosting voice and he comes with great perspective. I love true crime stories but started listening because I needed a new podcast. This was SO INTERESTING and I felt so many emotions throughout this story! Very, very moving but also so eye opening! Definitely worth a listen to! Also, Ben Zellar is the man, he knows his stuff... I enjoyed listening to him!