Average rating:

4.5
out of 2728 ratings.

Slow pace

by Greg5231 on Apr 21, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

This podcast was stretched out too much, and so most of it was really slow and boring. This podcast should of had about seven or eight episodes instead of ten.

No good

by nhthhftj on Apr 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The guy who is hosting is terrible. He has portrayed these whackos as semi normal by acting like the ridiculous exegesis of scripture by h.g. is normal in comparison to historical Christianity. The dude couldn’t tell sh*t from shinola.

Riveting

by Applies stupid on Apr 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Cults are fascinating. This podcast tells the story from both sides. And it was helpful to hear the host’s experience in growing up in a cult.

A+ podcast

by Breanne Vander Pluym on Apr 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Phenominal podcast. Glynn's voice is a joy to listen to. He explores the fate of the people in Heaven's Gate - including leaders Ti and Doe - as a tragedy rather than titillating gossip about a bunch of nuts.This podcast gives thoughtful insight into what began as a peaceful group and how it built - brick by brick - into a doomsday suicide cult.

Compelling storytelling

by Kathrynmargaret66 on Apr 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The mass suicide of Heaven’s Gate is a shocking and sorrowful story. This series deftly presents a nuanced telling by including interviews and recordings by family, friends, former members, and group members and leaders who ultimately perished by suicide. Glynn Washington provides intimate perspective by sharing his own formative experiences in a religious cult.

Excellent

by Just Mo. on Mar 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Glynn Washington's reporting and storytelling is always great, and this is a show that could only be hosted by Glynn. I couldn't wait for this to come out every week! I was really sad when the chronological narrative was over, and would appreciate an occasional insight on a specific topic around Heaven's Gate.

Great Pod

by LOD23 on Mar 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve always been fascinated with this cult/group and everything that went down. I’m excited for a more thorough analysis. Thanks to everyone involved in the making of this podcast.

So interesting

by Ttheta on Mar 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast was so fascinating. And it’s produced really well. I felt like I understood how the Heaven’s Gate tragedy happened and how all those people came to the decision they did.

addictive

by tweedycat617 on Mar 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

amazing binge-listen. glynn washington is a compelling host for a beautifully told, extremely creepy story. i couldnt wait to listen to another episode when one ended!

What a Story

by shakinhellsgates on Mar 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This show is fantastic. Its focus is to tell a story rather than sensationalize these truly tragic stories from defectors, survivors and parents. I’ve been enjoying listening to this rational approach to understanding cult mentalities and how people can get deceived by them. I’ve had a somewhat similar (though significantly leas extreme) experience after high school so this hits close to home.

Glynn can tell a story!

by Camz1313 on Mar 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This team is fantastic in their writing & how they spin a story. Riveting details from a story I vaguely remembered in my youth. Very educational. ICouldn’t wait each week for the new episode!!

Well researched, just enough intrigue

by Mlieby on Mar 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast. Glen Washington has a great voice and this podcast has it all. We know it happened but none of us understood why. In depth interviews and reporting, just enough foreshadowing to keep you wanting to listen to the next episode.

Gripping and very well narrated

by Jjppgexg on Mar 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

One of best I have heard in a while. Don't get me wrong, some of them out there r very good but this one is one of its kind.

AMAZING!

by Remotedestroyer on Mar 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It was amazing to be able to listen to this podcast. I was so captivated and neglected every other podcast to complete this one.

great miniseries

by Cindolin on Mar 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

the production value is wonderful and the host is compassionate and interesting. i love the way he conducts his interviews and i love his musings throughout the episodes. wish it didn’t have to end.

Interesting and educational

by Amybhermosa on Feb 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I had so many preconceived opinions (mainly negative) about the HG cult. This pod gave me so much more info and the other side of the story that the public at large never heard. Excellent storytelling and host. Thank you so much for doing this pod. I have a much better understanding now. And a lot of empathy!

So informative

by Desdymona on Feb 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I was way too young to understand this when it happened and I learned so much from this. The host is not only respectful but he brings a fresh perspective.

Heavens gate is amazing!

by mannequindentist on Feb 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

So good. Riveting and captivating.

Great storytelling

by mrrockybalboa on Feb 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is well researched, fascinating, and has radio quality production. This podcast took a cult I thought I knew about and made me realize I barely knew a thing about it. I went from thinking they were just lost souls and nutcases to feeling bad for everyone involved, even Marshall Applewhite (just a little bit).

Educational and entertaining

by jacketsbacker on Feb 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is so well researched and produced, it could be a template for other podcast series like it. The producers use actual audiotape, interview members, former members, parents as well as their own extensive research. It comes at the subject matter from every angle. I especially appreciated Glynn Washington’s own interview on his experiences in a cult-like church as a youth. Mr. Washington hosts Snap Judgment as well as this podcast. Super job!

Amazing story, amazing storyteller

by Ang9418 on Feb 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Glynn Washington is one of the most gifted storytellers alive today and this story is absolutely fascinating on its own. So the story + Glynn together are mind blowing. Can’t recommend enough.

Has what most lack

by RCrantz on Feb 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm fascinated by cults, but am almost always disappointed by cult documentaries. Heaven's Gate ticked every box of my cult interests. Also as a Snap Judgement fan, it was great to learn more about Glynn's past!

Fascinating and Extremely Well-Made

by rifkil on Feb 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is skillfully and thoughtfully assembled. The story will have you on the edge of your seat, but it always senstive to, and never judgemental of, the people who lost their lives.

Stellar

by this_awkwardlife on Feb 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Absolutely loved this show and how deep a dive it takes into studying this cult. The live audio used takes it so far. Thanks!

heaven's gate

by solaricist on Feb 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

good series

Deeper Understanding

by Wmstchic on Feb 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I grew up in the era of cults receiving a lot of attention. They we “scary” and “evil” which always left me to wonder why anyone would join one. Glynn Washington’s podcast shed a different perspective I had not considered. I have a better understanding of why individuals might feel they’ve found their tribe.

Phenomenal

by Kimisthebest on Feb 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Loved it! Sad its over 💔

BEAUTIFUL!!!

by mpoorboy on Feb 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I was drawn here by a morbid curiosity. I think we all want to look at these like we are at the zoo. As though we are separate from these people who made such disastrous choices for the survivors, but through the eyes of an experienced narrator, we learn that there is no glass and cage. We r not separate from each of these individuals. It was beautiful. The narrator grew up in a cult and shows insight that we don’t normally get. He shows respect to the survivors, honors the fallen, and sympathizes with the families. A family member of mine killed themselves and life afterward is so different and painful. The honor that he showed was beautiful. It bought me to tears. But my favorite part, was the end when he presents the audience with a challenge, a challenge that in the beginning we would have scoffed at, but in the end, we scratch our heads. I hope his theory is true!!! Beautiful!!!!! Thought provoking!!!! Etc!!!!! Thank u!!!!!!!!!

Amazing. Fascinating. So well done.

by kgw76 on Feb 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Listen to this podcast. Trust me.

Glynn Washington make another series!

by Ninalaurence on Jan 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I loved this. The host was excellent: engaging, thoughtful, a great speaker, and even shared his personal story. The personal side is so important. I loved, too, that this podcast kind of showed a different side of the cult. It wasn't about the perceived weirdness or darkness. It was about the people, who, like every one of us, just wanted to be happy.

Glynn Washington Is Amazing!

by coldkooli on Jan 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Incredible. I came for the stories -- but I stayed for the host. Well done.

Ugh

by Dfigiebxuwix on Jan 30, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Bro stop saying “it could’ve been you”. You don’t know any of your listeners and even if you did, that is a RIDICULOUS leap. These people were NUTS. I’m gonna kill myself so I can go to Heaven. Sound logic🤦🏻‍♀️

Love Glynn Washington

by Beezee714 on Jan 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I would listen to Glynn host on a podcast on anything. I’ve never been really interested in this topic but found myself completely riveted.

Could’ve been so much better

by Addicted2TinyTower on Jan 29, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Super interesting topic, but loaded with so much fluff and repeat information. Narrator’s cadence also was distracting to me, took me a few episodes to get used to it.

So much I didn't know about this

by Ilikes00p on Jan 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Once I started I could not stop listening to this. An entralling and (almost too) compassionate look at the people of Heaven's Gate and their motivations. Seriously, if you are considering suicide, please reach out to the Suicide Prevention Lifeline.

Amazing

by globug42 on Jan 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Beautiful, fascinating, well-researched, and touching. Glynn Washington tells a complicated story about real people, that is both heart-breaking and uplifting. Fantastic podcast.

Great and thoroughly entertaining

by Mickaluba on Jan 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast really kept my attention. I cried in parts. The host was a kind and thoughtful narrator and storyteller. I appreciated his effort to cast a light on this sad story.

Grand!

by FunFeti on Jan 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Loving this! It’s amazing the information they have found and are sharing. I love the tapes and hearing the people who have been touched by it all in some way or another.

Absolutely flawless.

by yogurt fairy on Jan 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Heaven’s Gate is astonishingly well-done. The attention to detail, production, and narrative are engaging and accessible. Glynn Washington is an amazing host who treats every interviewee, narrative, and detail with reverence and reliability. Stitcher and Pineapple Street Media really did well here.

Couldn't stop listening!

by Buddy_McCue on Jan 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This empathetic and in-depth look into the Heaven's Gate cult was so interesting and compelling that I wound up downloading and binging them all.

Awesome

by Ihatethisstupidnicknameshit on Jan 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A well done and intriguing podcast.

Well-researched and very kind.

by CsmitteIC on Jan 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This was very interesting and well done, lots of information that didn't really come out at the time the events happened. It was also very kind and fair, to the cult members and their families.

Fascinating & Brilliant

by Lord Ruphus on Jan 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Fascinating story. Brilliant, sensitive and thoughtful reporting. Bravo!

Best of 2017

by Henry89 on Jan 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

There were a lot of great podcasts this year but in my own very special awards(which I am sure will soon be attended by many gowned stars) Heaven's gate was by far my favorite. Wonderfully presented with the right balance of explanation, context and clips from the people involved. I am only sorry it is over. I just finished my second listening and I hope this team is back soon with a new topic. Thank you!

Great podcast !

by Raphael L on Jan 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love Senhor Washington ! Always listened to his show on NPR/PRX , so this podcast has the same feel.

So well done

by BBexxx on Jan 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Glynn Washington is phenomenal. This is such and engaging and well researched account of Heaven’s Gate.

So good

by Aravis3591 on Jan 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I loved listening to this podcast. It really went in depth and showed how heavens gate was more complicated and how it had evolved over the years. Interviews with survivors and family members made the group seem more alive and identifiable.

The Host ruins it for me

by Thelionfire on Jan 18, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The common flaw that can separate a great documentary from a bad one is the documentarians themselves and how much of their biases or they themselves seep into the subject matter.The Host of this podcast inserts himself into the story of Heavens Gate too often and with no real reason. He wasn’t a part of it. But his experience with an apocalyptic church that was guilty of segregation when he was young is constantly compared to the Heavens Gate cult. This is like calling Beliebers a cult that would all kill themselves if cult leader Justin Bieber commanded it. The fact that, no doubt, some would doesn’t make a fandom into a a dangerous cult. This constant comparison of his comes off ridiculous and he even dedicated an entire episode to his own experience...which is not related to Heavens Gate in any way.You can call a religion a cult and a cult a religion and some are very interchangeable, but the host saying that Heaven’s Gates extraterrestrial infused religious belief system is no more absurd than any other major religion is ridiculous. Most major religions are millennia old and have texts of antiquity to at the very least support them... Heavens Gate was a cheap byproduct of Scientology’s growing popularity, created by a failed Broadway star and was clearly made up and rewritten as it went along...their suicide pact and its relation to Hale-Bopp Comet abruptly and randomly coming from a late night Cryptozoological radio show in the mid nineties. The cult leader was a man who tried to seek fame before the cults inception and therefore the cult really was meant to only ever serve that means...he was a narcissist. A narcissist who lost control of his cult and he manipulated and murdered 40 people the second he saw an opportunity for a way out. It was easier for him to do that than admit he was a conman who just wanted to be famous.The host of this podcast consistently seems to defend this cult leader and frequently uses language and a tone as if he himself is disappointed to have not been a part of Heavens Gate. The podcast way too often defends and glamorizes Heavens Gate in a manner that seems to insult those family members and it eventually crescendos into a final episode that suggests that maybe Heavens Gate was right and maybe they’re in their comet tail space ship, ultimately slapping the face of everyone who was devastated by this cult suicide.

Glynn Washington is a star

by And 5,6,7,8 on Jan 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Such a good podcast with an amazing narrator. Bravo 👏🏽 👏🏽👏🏽👏🏽

Somewhat disappointed in the subjective-ness

by Mechanical-Turk on Jan 17, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I really wish this podcast was a little bit more objective instead of trying to tell me how to feel or what to think. Heavens gate is interesting enough without playing up certain notions or going overboard on trying to sell a certain idea or whatever.