Average rating:

5
out of 4064 ratings.

Get your skeptic on

by limp_triscuit on Aug 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Yes there are other podcasts. But then, there’s the SGU. Dr. Steve Novella and the Rogues have been pushing out quality entertainment, popular science, and critical thinking since almost before podcasts were a thing. Today they are on top of their game - producing fun content with a level of intellectual challenge few other popular shows achieve. Also, the addition of Carla Santa Maria to the cast means we’re not just listening to a bunch of old white guys speculating about time travel and making Star Wars jokes (although we are). Listen and learn, nerdos.

Wholesome Podcast

by Skepticistrepreneur on Aug 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Incredibly good podcast, keeps you thinking and provides frequent golden nuggets of wisdom.

Think better

by fgibbcollins on Aug 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast provides rock-solid techniques for how to train your mind to evaluate claims critically, and how to see the red flags and intellectual missteps of bad arguments and credulous thought. If everyone was required to spend an hour a week listening to this podcast, the world would be a much better place.

Good on science, lousy and self-congratulatory on culture

by MetaMotivation on Aug 04, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I came to this podcast some years ago and have been a faithful listener since. Sadly, over the past year or so I’ve seen a intellectual complacency set in with the group. I had grown accustomed to the repetition of lines from Futurama, Monty Python and The Simpsons being referred to as jokes. (Note: repeating a line out of context because someone used a word from that line is NEVER a “good one” - it is the fan’s form of worship and should be beneath anyone attempting to put out a professional podcast.) But, possibly due to to loss of Rebecca from the group, I’ve seen more and more confidence in speaking out about culture, as though an expertise in a number of scientific fields elevates their uninformed opinion about movies and music and culture in general.I first realized this was a growing trend in the show in the movie review of Blade Runner 2049. I was looking forward to a discussion of the scientific or possibly even philosophical ideas the movie toyed with. (What possible catastrophe could have wiped out most data on the planet but NOT erased the data in the Las Vegas entertainment programs? Why is the main character usually the only one flying a car? What exactly was Jared Leto’s characters goal and how could it possibly make any sense?) Instead, I got two very bright men turning into fan-boys and talking about all the feels the movie gave them. As the makers of this podcast well know, when intuition and emotion lead in an analysis, personal biases and unconscious prejudice are necessarily stirred into the pot. Science exists to try to extract those biases and prejudices from our understanding of the world. When experts in neurobiology or physics approach genetic engineering or structural engineering, they don’t do so assuming their expertise crosses over. It’d be nice if the skeptics on this show would show the same humility when approaching fields outside their expertise.Finally, I just heard Stephen Novella proclaim with all seriousness that institutionalized racism has been addressed in the U.S., despite the harsh blows the advances made by Civil Rights movement have taken in the past couple years (remember Voter’s Rights Act, did you notice the Attorney General proclaiming that people should be able to discriminate if their religion tells them to?). All this done summarizing a deeply flawed study on expectations and the evaluation of success. (The study, as described, only went one way, from greater occurrence to less. This it was not measuring any possible tendency to correct for easier success, as much as it measured people’s expectations of a constant rate of difficulty. Run the study with both a steady number and an increasing number of blue dots, hostile faces, etc, and then you have a controls which might show something.)

Every week

by Jesusman82 on Jul 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Love the knowledge I’ve gained from this show over the years. Not funny but that’s not the point either. Honestly I’m writing because after 5 minutes of scrolling through reviews at maximum velocity it was still 10 years ago so just fun to shout into the void. 4/5 because sometimes steven dismisses things prematurely. Always qualifies his dissent adequately but i would like a bit more optimism.. and every feedback segment is framed as “this person is wrong, here’s why” often accurate — just bothers me

Did Watson come back?

by PhoenixSkeptic on Jul 07, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

SGU has gone back to the intersectional feminism of the Watson days. Stopped listening after Cara proclaimed “Mansplaining!” When someone disagreed with her. I waited 3 weeks for a retraction that never came. Good bye SGU.

The Path To Truth

by AdamPettus on Jul 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If you don’t like being fooled; if you yearn to know what's real; and if you can take an honest, critical look at your own beliefs and assumptions, skepticism is for you.

Skeptics? More like uneducated cynics

by The Real Zen Boy on Jul 03, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

They pull bad headlines from the internet and proceed to discuss them, then immediately begin “tearing them down”. They talk like some reporter’s take on a study is authoritative, and tear that down, not the study, which is obvious they never read. They don’t even finish the original story. In trying to tear it down, they misrepresent science and use obvious logical fallacies (one of them actually said “if it was worth it, we would already be doing it” yeah, that bad). They don’t know their subject matter. They think they do good research if they go to the second page of Google results. Some of the basic science mistakes they make are things you would have learned in 2nd grade science. Don’t understand how they hold themselves up as experts, when their knowledge is recently obtained from the internet, superficial in nature, and often erroneous.

The only podcast I always listen to

by Ndjdks agusnsj on Jul 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to a lot of podcasts, but this is the only one I've listened to consistently for several years! The SGU consistently puts out quality content, and have been for something like 11 years; I don't know how they do it on top of full-time jobs. Their intro, "Your escape to reality" was literally an escape to reality for me when I was working on a biodynamic farm, and surrounded by woo.This is a great podcast for staying up to date on science news, honing your skeptical chops, and just enjoying the comraderie of people I've never met, but who've come to feel like friends. Do yourself a favor and give it a listen. Even if you don't like the topics of the first episode you try, all of them are different, and I promise you will ultimately learn tools to better evaluate information for yourself.

Five stars

by drewbacca421 on Jun 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Good informal podcast

Great content, issues with presentation

by Qsoundrich on Jun 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I’ve been listening to this podcast for over 10 years and have learned so much from the SGU. I also contribute to their Patreon. However it’s getting difficult to get through the podcasts when Cara is on the show. She’s constantly interrupting the others, and her know-it-all manner of speaking irritates me to no end. I wouldn’t discourage others from listening because the content of the show is so important. Steven is a great host and I love Science or Fiction. I just wish they could even out the presentation so I don’t have to fast forward through segments.

Used to be my favorite 😔

by JonChrisG on Jun 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Now with 100% more discussion of important topics like “mansplaining.”

I’m struggling to remain a listener

by Stanley Point on Jun 06, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Sorry guys. After over ten years you’ve begun to lose me. I hate to point the finger but I’ve noticed it was after Cara joined the crew. She’s clearly very intelligent and well spoken but I believe she is too dominating and it kills the vibe I’ve always enjoyed. If it’s not your segment and what you have to say isn’t earth shattering, let the segment leader speak.

Cara has to give the others a chance to talk

by CC Ryders on May 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

She thinks every podcast (even other ones) are an interview about her. Everything leads back to her, somehow. It's getting tiresome.

The most intelligent podcast I’ve heard

by Wet Chet on May 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Dr. Steven Novella (the host) has become my intellectual hero.

Highly recommended

by TLCole71 on May 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Hey guys. I can’t recommend this podcast enough. Really enjoy listening each week to allof the segments. Science, skepticism and laughter. Keep up the awesome work STEVEN, BOB, JAY, EVAN and CARA!!

Political Echo Chamber

by RickyGranger on May 03, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Like most forms of media today, this show has turned into just more Trump-hating, liberal propaganda. Sad.

One of the best

by Danarra on Apr 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Longtime listener, since the first lineup of rogues. Birds vs. Monkeys and all that. You get science and info, a primer on critical thinking, and it's fun along the way. All around dang good show.

One of the best

by OldManRocket on Apr 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Amongst the best pod cast available, a great selection of content, supportive and informative community. Keep it going rouges.

Best skeptic podcast

by Error Operator on Apr 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

My favorite skeptical/ science podcast. Each host is great and i love the guests they have on. Full of interesting content and you end up learning someting to boot.

Listen to episode 666

by jaymezzy on Apr 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Y’all silly.

Good podcast

by coastalpanda on Apr 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Healthy dose of skepticism, no Sam Harris style racism.

Great podcast

by Discipuli on Apr 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

One of the top podcasts in my library!! Helpful, interesting, informative, fun and skeptical! Love the show and well worth the time.

These rogues are the best!

by Minifloper on Mar 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Pure unadulterated science and skepticism. These rogues are always current and relevant. Great topics and interviews.

My favorite podcast

by Sarah M., RN on Mar 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love love love this podcast. I have learned so much and I appreciate all the work Dr. Steven Novella and the others have put into making this weekly dose of science and logic. I’m not kidding when I say it’s changed my life. Thank you!

Great podcast!

by TheyCallMeFernando on Mar 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Loaded with intelligence, information, and humor. Good interpretations on science reporting without getting political. While politics is important, I have plenty of other podcasts to go to for that. This one is just good, well-rounded, fact based discussion. Keep up the good work!

Your escape to reality

by Rjsslp on Feb 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

That tag line says it all. If I could listen to only one podcast, this would be it. I have listened for years, and never get bored with this one. I’m so grateful for the work of the SGU.

Skeptics guide to the universe

by Puttham on Feb 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A stellar presentation every week ! Every skeptic in this podcast shares such superior high quality information during each episode . They are truly amazing & are the Rock Stars of the skeptic community!!! Thank you SGU!

Standout

by Lumbering Memebot on Feb 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I started exploring the skeptic podcast world no too long ago. This one stands out in its focus and tenor.

I’ll give a few more episodes a shot

by Ashexx_ on Feb 14, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I really wanted to like this podcast, but there is too much random nonsensical chatter.

Consistently great for the 4+ years I’ve listened

by thejones912 on Feb 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As long as this show is, I always make time for it every week. Nothing has done more to make me a more critical thinker and be aware of how science works than SGU. The chemistry between the brothers grows on you and Cara has been an awesome addition to the show.

Easily the best podcast

by Nerdcore33 on Jan 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I eat up podcasts and this is easily my favourite. Fantastic science news, brilliant hosts, and great sceptical content. Can’t wait for the book!

Politics

by Thumper4066 on Dec 05, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

If you like a science podcast with a political agenda this is the podcast for you

The one that started it all and they keep it fresh!

by Tesla PRG on Nov 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The SGU has been providing excellent thoughtful content for years!

Top 5 easily

by JungleRanger on Nov 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've binged the entire archive and benefitted from the best education in scientific mindfulness I've experienced so far. The ability to distinguish reality from assumption is critical for a sustainable society. It's an excellent introduction to mental hygiene and ongoing discoveries relevant to reason.

For lack of a better term; perfect

by -Frank- on Nov 22, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Easily my favorite podcast. Funny, intelligent, entertaining. Just try it, you'll love it.Edit: I wrote that review several years ago. But Steve is clearly intent on pushing his politics, since last November. And I just can't take the weak "scientific" justifications to do so. I'll try back when a democrat is in office.

Sgu

by criticalmass22 on Nov 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Really enjoyed Nov 11 episode.

Curious about skepticism?

by boxofbirds on Nov 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Listen to find out what real skeptics think about the world. No cynicism, just critical thinking and science!

Best skeptical podcast

by cloudkap on Nov 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Been listening since 2010, and immediately went back and caught up on everything I had missed! I’ve learned so much from everyone’s hard work at the SGU. Thanks!

Science based

by Philip Copitch, Ph.D. on Oct 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Informative and fun. Gives me hope in the 24 hour news and gloom media frenzy. Science based podcasting.

Joshie Berger

by Hezzytayte on Oct 24, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

SGU has nothing to say about having known abusers on their show, so unfortunately I have to stop listening. Do better.

My Favorite Podcast-Bar None!

by Musashi1961 on Oct 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Steve, Bob, Jay, Evan, and Cara do a magnificent job as standard bearers of science and critical thinking. My commutes to work represent a time that I can absorb the quality learning that the SGU provides. Thanks Rogues! Cheers!

Great podcast!

by Charlan9 on Oct 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Favorite podcast! Keep it up Rouges!

It's a Hybrid!

by Skeptic Matthew on Oct 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One part skepticism. One part science. One part science fiction. Three parts Novella. One part Evan. One part Cara Santa Maria. Mix vigoursly and...hey, what's that noisy? The skeptic podcast against which all others are measured.

Highly Addictive!

by RobP1957 on Sep 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Since discovering this podcast, I have not only been listening to the new releases but also catching up from their first show at a rate of one or two a day. Never gets boring! Update: listening to the complete backlog of SGU episodes and then following up with other skeptical podcasts convince me to become a skeptical activist myself. I am now a member of Susan Gerbic’s Guerrilla Skepticism on Wikipedia project, helping to improve science content and fight pseudoscience on one of the worlds most visited sources of on-line information. I have even been in communication with several of the SGU rogues about their Wikipedia articles. How cool is that?

Had to unsubscribe...

by dhjimmyjam on Sep 29, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I've listened to every episode since the beginning, some of them twice or more, but finally had to give up. Cara's and Evan's vocal mannerisms have just become too annoying, I can't get into What's the Word, and when Bob, Jay, and Evan do their solo bits, they often just go off on what seems to be disorganized, unfocused, unedited rambles. Those presentations are in serious need of some tightening up. It's been a good time, gang, but I'm on to other things.

Overkill

by Mrdrsam2 on Sep 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

This podcast is generally ok but they have a tendency to spend too much time discussing some topics

This is my favorite show!

by Amandy0214 on Sep 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this show and all the hosts. Great structure (which is rare for podcasts) and love to play along with Science or Fiction every week!

Amazing Podcast

by Nickko d on Sep 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The group can be a little droll at times and the outline of the show lends to hearing one voice many minutes at a time. BUT overall the podcast is amazing and you will learn a lot about navigating through the BS that clogs the airways. The group is very intelligent and just listening to them do their best to speak rationally is refreshing in the modern world. Eye opening to the slew of pseudoscience that surrounds us.

All-time favorite podcast

by mrs. shadows on Sep 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is phenomenal. Superb coverage about a variety of topics!! Love it!