Average rating:

5
out of 2111 ratings.

Cult Novella

by JesterDean on Dec 05, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I once wrote..."Great show... Been listening for years and it constantly delivers. Thanks!"My current opinion... The once skeptical innovators and a sanity check for thinkers has turned arrogant and agenda based. They use the name of skepticism to support a belief structure for which they have NO skeptical view. The show should be called "Church Novella".

Once Great!

by Jimi 1 on Dec 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

This podcast was one of my favorites but lately it’s changed with a new member. I find it hard to listen with the addition of the typical know-it-all West coast liberal feminist. Keep the politics to yourself and keep debunking.

Get your skeptic on

by limp_triscuit on Aug 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Yes there are other podcasts. But then, there’s the SGU. Dr. Steve Novella and the Rogues have been pushing out quality entertainment, popular science, and critical thinking since almost before podcasts were a thing. Today they are on top of their game - producing fun content with a level of intellectual challenge few other popular shows achieve. Also, the addition of Carla Santa Maria to the cast means we’re not just listening to a bunch of old white guys speculating about time travel and making Star Wars jokes (although we are). Listen and learn, nerdos.

Wholesome Podcast

by Skepticistrepreneur on Aug 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Incredibly good podcast, keeps you thinking and provides frequent golden nuggets of wisdom.

Think better

by fgibbcollins on Aug 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast provides rock-solid techniques for how to train your mind to evaluate claims critically, and how to see the red flags and intellectual missteps of bad arguments and credulous thought. If everyone was required to spend an hour a week listening to this podcast, the world would be a much better place.

Good on science, lousy and self-congratulatory on culture

by MetaMotivation on Aug 04, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I came to this podcast some years ago and have been a faithful listener since. Sadly, over the past year or so I’ve seen a intellectual complacency set in with the group. I had grown accustomed to the repetition of lines from Futurama, Monty Python and The Simpsons being referred to as jokes. (Note: repeating a line out of context because someone used a word from that line is NEVER a “good one” - it is the fan’s form of worship and should be beneath anyone attempting to put out a professional podcast.) But, possibly due to to loss of Rebecca from the group, I’ve seen more and more confidence in speaking out about culture, as though an expertise in a number of scientific fields elevates their uninformed opinion about movies and music and culture in general.I first realized this was a growing trend in the show in the movie review of Blade Runner 2049. I was looking forward to a discussion of the scientific or possibly even philosophical ideas the movie toyed with. (What possible catastrophe could have wiped out most data on the planet but NOT erased the data in the Las Vegas entertainment programs? Why is the main character usually the only one flying a car? What exactly was Jared Leto’s characters goal and how could it possibly make any sense?) Instead, I got two very bright men turning into fan-boys and talking about all the feels the movie gave them. As the makers of this podcast well know, when intuition and emotion lead in an analysis, personal biases and unconscious prejudice are necessarily stirred into the pot. Science exists to try to extract those biases and prejudices from our understanding of the world. When experts in neurobiology or physics approach genetic engineering or structural engineering, they don’t do so assuming their expertise crosses over. It’d be nice if the skeptics on this show would show the same humility when approaching fields outside their expertise.Finally, I just heard Stephen Novella proclaim with all seriousness that institutionalized racism has been addressed in the U.S., despite the harsh blows the advances made by Civil Rights movement have taken in the past couple years (remember Voter’s Rights Act, did you notice the Attorney General proclaiming that people should be able to discriminate if their religion tells them to?). All this done summarizing a deeply flawed study on expectations and the evaluation of success. (The study, as described, only went one way, from greater occurrence to less. This it was not measuring any possible tendency to correct for easier success, as much as it measured people’s expectations of a constant rate of difficulty. Run the study with both a steady number and an increasing number of blue dots, hostile faces, etc, and then you have a controls which might show something.)

Every week

by Jesusman82 on Jul 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Love the knowledge I’ve gained from this show over the years. Not funny but that’s not the point either. Honestly I’m writing because after 5 minutes of scrolling through reviews at maximum velocity it was still 10 years ago so just fun to shout into the void. 4/5 because sometimes steven dismisses things prematurely. Always qualifies his dissent adequately but i would like a bit more optimism.. and every feedback segment is framed as “this person is wrong, here’s why” often accurate — just bothers me

Did Watson come back?

by PhoenixSkeptic on Jul 07, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

SGU has gone back to the intersectional feminism of the Watson days. Stopped listening after Cara proclaimed “Mansplaining!” When someone disagreed with her. I waited 3 weeks for a retraction that never came. Good bye SGU.

The Path To Truth

by AdamPettus on Jul 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If you don’t like being fooled; if you yearn to know what's real; and if you can take an honest, critical look at your own beliefs and assumptions, skepticism is for you.

Skeptics? More like uneducated cynics

by The Real Zen Boy on Jul 03, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

They pull bad headlines from the internet and proceed to discuss them, then immediately begin “tearing them down”. They talk like some reporter’s take on a study is authoritative, and tear that down, not the study, which is obvious they never read. They don’t even finish the original story. In trying to tear it down, they misrepresent science and use obvious logical fallacies (one of them actually said “if it was worth it, we would already be doing it” yeah, that bad). They don’t know their subject matter. They think they do good research if they go to the second page of Google results. Some of the basic science mistakes they make are things you would have learned in 2nd grade science. Don’t understand how they hold themselves up as experts, when their knowledge is recently obtained from the internet, superficial in nature, and often erroneous.

Think better

by fgibbcollins on Aug 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast provides rock-solid techniques for how to train your mind to evaluate claims critically, and how to see the red flags and intellectual missteps of bad arguments and credulous thought. If everyone was required to spend an hour a week listening to this podcast, the world would be a much better place.

Good on science, lousy and self-congratulatory on culture

by MetaMotivation on Aug 04, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I came to this podcast some years ago and have been a faithful listener since. Sadly, over the past year or so I’ve seen a intellectual complacency set in with the group. I had grown accustomed to the repetition of lines from Futurama, Monty Python and The Simpsons being referred to as jokes. (Note: repeating a line out of context because someone used a word from that line is NEVER a “good one” - it is the fan’s form of worship and should be beneath anyone attempting to put out a professional podcast.) But, possibly due to to loss of Rebecca from the group, I’ve seen more and more confidence in speaking out about culture, as though an expertise in a number of scientific fields elevates their uninformed opinion about movies and music and culture in general.I first realized this was a growing trend in the show in the movie review of Blade Runner 2049. I was looking forward to a discussion of the scientific or possibly even philosophical ideas the movie toyed with. (What possible catastrophe could have wiped out most data on the planet but NOT erased the data in the Las Vegas entertainment programs? Why is the main character usually the only one flying a car? What exactly was Jared Leto’s characters goal and how could it possibly make any sense?) Instead, I got two very bright men turning into fan-boys and talking about all the feels the movie gave them. As the makers of this podcast well know, when intuition and emotion lead in an analysis, personal biases and unconscious prejudice are necessarily stirred into the pot. Science exists to try to extract those biases and prejudices from our understanding of the world. When experts in neurobiology or physics approach genetic engineering or structural engineering, they don’t do so assuming their expertise crosses over. It’d be nice if the skeptics on this show would show the same humility when approaching fields outside their expertise.Finally, I just heard Stephen Novella proclaim with all seriousness that institutionalized racism has been addressed in the U.S., despite the harsh blows the advances made by Civil Rights movement have taken in the past couple years (remember Voter’s Rights Act, did you notice the Attorney General proclaiming that people should be able to discriminate if their religion tells them to?). All this done summarizing a deeply flawed study on expectations and the evaluation of success. (The study, as described, only went one way, from greater occurrence to less. This it was not measuring any possible tendency to correct for easier success, as much as it measured people’s expectations of a constant rate of difficulty. Run the study with both a steady number and an increasing number of blue dots, hostile faces, etc, and then you have a controls which might show something.)

Every week

by Jesusman82 on Jul 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Love the knowledge I’ve gained from this show over the years. Not funny but that’s not the point either. Honestly I’m writing because after 5 minutes of scrolling through reviews at maximum velocity it was still 10 years ago so just fun to shout into the void. 4/5 because sometimes steven dismisses things prematurely. Always qualifies his dissent adequately but i would like a bit more optimism.. and every feedback segment is framed as “this person is wrong, here’s why” often accurate — just bothers me

Did Watson come back?

by PhoenixSkeptic on Jul 07, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

SGU has gone back to the intersectional feminism of the Watson days. Stopped listening after Cara proclaimed “Mansplaining!” When someone disagreed with her. I waited 3 weeks for a retraction that never came. Good bye SGU.

The Path To Truth

by AdamPettus on Jul 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If you don’t like being fooled; if you yearn to know what's real; and if you can take an honest, critical look at your own beliefs and assumptions, skepticism is for you.

Skeptics? More like uneducated cynics

by The Real Zen Boy on Jul 03, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

They pull bad headlines from the internet and proceed to discuss them, then immediately begin “tearing them down”. They talk like some reporter’s take on a study is authoritative, and tear that down, not the study, which is obvious they never read. They don’t even finish the original story. In trying to tear it down, they misrepresent science and use obvious logical fallacies (one of them actually said “if it was worth it, we would already be doing it” yeah, that bad). They don’t know their subject matter. They think they do good research if they go to the second page of Google results. Some of the basic science mistakes they make are things you would have learned in 2nd grade science. Don’t understand how they hold themselves up as experts, when their knowledge is recently obtained from the internet, superficial in nature, and often erroneous.

The only podcast I always listen to

by Ndjdks agusnsj on Jul 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to a lot of podcasts, but this is the only one I've listened to consistently for several years! The SGU consistently puts out quality content, and have been for something like 11 years; I don't know how they do it on top of full-time jobs. Their intro, "Your escape to reality" was literally an escape to reality for me when I was working on a biodynamic farm, and surrounded by woo.This is a great podcast for staying up to date on science news, honing your skeptical chops, and just enjoying the comraderie of people I've never met, but who've come to feel like friends. Do yourself a favor and give it a listen. Even if you don't like the topics of the first episode you try, all of them are different, and I promise you will ultimately learn tools to better evaluate information for yourself.

Five stars

by drewbacca421 on Jun 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Good informal podcast

Great content, issues with presentation

by Qsoundrich on Jun 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I’ve been listening to this podcast for over 10 years and have learned so much from the SGU. I also contribute to their Patreon. However it’s getting difficult to get through the podcasts when Cara is on the show. She’s constantly interrupting the others, and her know-it-all manner of speaking irritates me to no end. I wouldn’t discourage others from listening because the content of the show is so important. Steven is a great host and I love Science or Fiction. I just wish they could even out the presentation so I don’t have to fast forward through segments.

Used to be my favorite 😔

by JonChrisG on Jun 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Now with 100% more discussion of important topics like “mansplaining.”

I’m struggling to remain a listener

by Stanley Point on Jun 06, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Sorry guys. After over ten years you’ve begun to lose me. I hate to point the finger but I’ve noticed it was after Cara joined the crew. She’s clearly very intelligent and well spoken but I believe she is too dominating and it kills the vibe I’ve always enjoyed. If it’s not your segment and what you have to say isn’t earth shattering, let the segment leader speak.

Cara has to give the others a chance to talk

by CC Ryders on May 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

She thinks every podcast (even other ones) are an interview about her. Everything leads back to her, somehow. It's getting tiresome.

The most intelligent podcast I’ve heard

by Wet Chet on May 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Dr. Steven Novella (the host) has become my intellectual hero.

Highly recommended

by TLCole71 on May 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Hey guys. I can’t recommend this podcast enough. Really enjoy listening each week to allof the segments. Science, skepticism and laughter. Keep up the awesome work STEVEN, BOB, JAY, EVAN and CARA!!

Political Echo Chamber

by RickyGranger on May 03, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Like most forms of media today, this show has turned into just more Trump-hating, liberal propaganda. Sad.

One of the best

by Danarra on Apr 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Longtime listener, since the first lineup of rogues. Birds vs. Monkeys and all that. You get science and info, a primer on critical thinking, and it's fun along the way. All around dang good show.

One of the best

by OldManRocket on Apr 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Amongst the best pod cast available, a great selection of content, supportive and informative community. Keep it going rouges.

Best skeptic podcast

by Error Operator on Apr 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

My favorite skeptical/ science podcast. Each host is great and i love the guests they have on. Full of interesting content and you end up learning someting to boot.

Listen to episode 666

by jaymezzy on Apr 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Y’all silly.

Good podcast

by coastalpanda on Apr 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Healthy dose of skepticism, no Sam Harris style racism.

Amazing Podcast

by Nickko d on Sep 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The group can be a little droll at times and the outline of the show lends to hearing one voice many minutes at a time. BUT overall the podcast is amazing and you will learn a lot about navigating through the BS that clogs the airways. The group is very intelligent and just listening to them do their best to speak rationally is refreshing in the modern world. Eye opening to the slew of pseudoscience that surrounds us.

All-time favorite podcast

by mrs. shadows on Sep 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is phenomenal. Superb coverage about a variety of topics!! Love it!

Excellent

by Tim Condon on Aug 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a great podcast. I have been listening to it for many years. Cara has been a perfect addition. This is the podcast I most look forward to every week. I have never not learned something from the show. I am not sure there is anybody I admire and respect more than Steven Noella.

Great show

by Wogggieee on Jul 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The best show I've found covering matters of skepticism. The banter is fun, the discussions great and the information excellent

My favorite skeptics podcast.

by The_One_And_Only_Shane on Jul 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

12 years these guys have been doing this. Best Skeptics podcast on iTunes.

My Family

by rick hw on Jun 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this Podcast above all others. Better even than Radio Lab. I have been a long-time listener of many podcasts and this is the one I cannot live without. The cast of this show are my only real family. The SGU has made steady progress over their career and that is a pattern which we can expect to continue. While most folks would find it difficult to imagine their lives without their birth family, my life would border on meaninglessness without the SGU. I don't merely value it, I truly love it! Each cast member, with all their faults, are so very dear to me, just as they are. Long live the SGU, they are sorely needed!

Good stuff!

by Jerm vvarfare on Jun 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Probably in my top 5 (and I listen to a lot of podcasts). I use it as a regular update on matters of science and skepticism.

12 years a fan!

by feefingirl on May 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I was an early adopter of podcasts and when I started in 2005 I was a "true believer" of everything pseudo and woo. I had always, however, been a seeker of truth and knowledge and was a natural skeptic. My intellectual evolution took a huge turn in direction when I came across several "skeptical" themed podcasts, including the SGU. I soon discovered the correct way to think and then went on to learn all about the "real" world through this and other great "teaching" podcasts. Jay, I've heard you say that if you can help turn a single person from a credulous fool to critical thinker you will feel like your work here is worthwhile. Well here I am, so thank you! All these years later this podcast is still my all-time favorite. Cara Santa Maria, you are brilliant, thoughtful, charming and they couldn't have magically conjured a more perfect "skepchick rogue"! You ROCK! All of you are my heroes!

Great podcast for critical thinkers

by cdpeters01 on May 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Must listen for anyone interested in thinking critically about science and medicine.

My Saturday afternoon delight

by Reaper4507 on May 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I look forward to Saturdays mostly because of this podcast. I have been listening for 3 years. I have drawn my son into the fandom as well. Our best conversations are about topics discussed on this podcast.

One of my favorites

by Kurtz1988 on Apr 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast. I wish there were more like it and am surprised to see it way down here on the charts. Jay is my favorite.

Rebel Scum

by Pol570 on Mar 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I agree with so many of the other reviewers that one can find definitive, nuanced information on this podcast, which I've enjoyed for years now. I get much "science" reporting that is neither of those and am so pleased when the headlines are brought up in the podcast and all is made clear. The warmth and good humor is a wonderful plus as well!

Great show

by Chrishoiff on Mar 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great discussions about science and skepticism. I'm always looking forward to the next episode.

Great!

by Enough to know better on Feb 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Well done!

Favorite podcast

by Biogeek91 on Feb 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Funny and interesting, as always.

Informative, Sciencey Fun!

by Schrodingrr on Feb 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The absolute best way to stay up-to-date with breaking news in science. The rapport between the hosts is fantastic, and the interstitial segments (Cara's "What's the Word," Steve's "Science or Fiction," etc.) sneak knowledge into your brain under the guise of entertainment. Highly recommended! One of the rare podcasts out there which just gets better and better with age.

I've listened for years and I'm done

by stanthejeep on Jan 22, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

You guys used to aggressively look for truth among all the bs out there, but since caras arrival the show has drifted more and more to the left. You are very aggressive about rebutting positions from conservative outlets, as you should be, but you embrace liberal positions without the slightest question. I came for the escape to reality, but leave sad that reality is dead in this world.

A wonderful new look on things

by Sethroti on Jan 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast has helped with my entire outlook on life. I've been listening for a bit over a year and I cannot recommend it enough!

Typical Liberal Dogma Masquerading as Skeptics

by Bart Clark on Jan 01, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

One star for the entertaining value of listening to them TRY SO HARD to deny who they are.... Another star for the fact that...considering who we've elected this time around....it may be a GOOD thing to have five cookie cutter liberals tearing down our elected leader whilst pretending they're 'neutral'.Now that I've agitated EVERYONE on this topic...let me conclude with a unifying thought: I so miss the balancing presence of the fine Mr. Perry J! This show was much stronger when -gasp- the all to often hollow left mantra of 'diversity' was real....the way the others worked w Perry's often differing views was....endearing and a credit to them all... long live DeAngelis!

Awesome!

by cm31t on Dec 23, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

What a brilliant podcast! If you are a skeptic about anything in the universe, look no further this show is for you!