Average rating:

5
out of 3539 ratings.

Politics

by Thumper4066 on Dec 05, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

If you like a science podcast with a political agenda this is the podcast for you

The one that started it all and they keep it fresh!

by Tesla PRG on Nov 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The SGU has been providing excellent thoughtful content for years!

Top 5 easily

by JungleRanger on Nov 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've binged the entire archive and benefitted from the best education in scientific mindfulness I've experienced so far. The ability to distinguish reality from assumption is critical for a sustainable society. It's an excellent introduction to mental hygiene and ongoing discoveries relevant to reason.

For lack of a better term; perfect

by -Frank- on Nov 22, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Easily my favorite podcast. Funny, intelligent, entertaining. Just try it, you'll love it.Edit: I wrote that review several years ago. But Steve is clearly intent on pushing his politics, since last November. And I just can't take the weak "scientific" justifications to do so. I'll try back when a democrat is in office.

Sgu

by criticalmass22 on Nov 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Really enjoyed Nov 11 episode.

Curious about skepticism?

by boxofbirds on Nov 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Listen to find out what real skeptics think about the world. No cynicism, just critical thinking and science!

Best skeptical podcast

by cloudkap on Nov 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Been listening since 2010, and immediately went back and caught up on everything I had missed! I’ve learned so much from everyone’s hard work at the SGU. Thanks!

Science based

by Philip Copitch, Ph.D. on Oct 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Informative and fun. Gives me hope in the 24 hour news and gloom media frenzy. Science based podcasting.

Joshie Berger

by Hezzytayte on Oct 24, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

SGU has nothing to say about having known abusers on their show, so unfortunately I have to stop listening. Do better.

My Favorite Podcast-Bar None!

by Musashi1961 on Oct 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Steve, Bob, Jay, Evan, and Cara do a magnificent job as standard bearers of science and critical thinking. My commutes to work represent a time that I can absorb the quality learning that the SGU provides. Thanks Rogues! Cheers!

Great podcast!

by Charlan9 on Oct 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Favorite podcast! Keep it up Rouges!

It's a Hybrid!

by Skeptic Matthew on Oct 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One part skepticism. One part science. One part science fiction. Three parts Novella. One part Evan. One part Cara Santa Maria. Mix vigoursly and...hey, what's that noisy? The skeptic podcast against which all others are measured.

Highly Addictive!

by RobP1957 on Sep 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Since discovering this podcast, I have not only been listening to the new releases but also catching up from their first show at a rate of one or two a day. Never gets boring! Update: listening to the complete backlog of SGU episodes and then following up with other skeptical podcasts convince me to become a skeptical activist myself. I am now a member of Susan Gerbic’s Guerrilla Skepticism on Wikipedia project, helping to improve science content and fight pseudoscience on one of the worlds most visited sources of on-line information. I have even been in communication with several of the SGU rogues about their Wikipedia articles. How cool is that?

Had to unsubscribe...

by dhjimmyjam on Sep 29, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I've listened to every episode since the beginning, some of them twice or more, but finally had to give up. Cara's and Evan's vocal mannerisms have just become too annoying, I can't get into What's the Word, and when Bob, Jay, and Evan do their solo bits, they often just go off on what seems to be disorganized, unfocused, unedited rambles. Those presentations are in serious need of some tightening up. It's been a good time, gang, but I'm on to other things.

Overkill

by Mrdrsam2 on Sep 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

This podcast is generally ok but they have a tendency to spend too much time discussing some topics

This is my favorite show!

by Amandy0214 on Sep 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this show and all the hosts. Great structure (which is rare for podcasts) and love to play along with Science or Fiction every week!

Amazing Podcast

by Nickko d on Sep 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The group can be a little droll at times and the outline of the show lends to hearing one voice many minutes at a time. BUT overall the podcast is amazing and you will learn a lot about navigating through the BS that clogs the airways. The group is very intelligent and just listening to them do their best to speak rationally is refreshing in the modern world. Eye opening to the slew of pseudoscience that surrounds us.

All-time favorite podcast

by mrs. shadows on Sep 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is phenomenal. Superb coverage about a variety of topics!! Love it!

Excellent

by Tim Condon on Aug 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a great podcast. I have been listening to it for many years. Cara has been a perfect addition. This is the podcast I most look forward to every week. I have never not learned something from the show. I am not sure there is anybody I admire and respect more than Steven Noella.

Great show

by Wogggieee on Jul 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The best show I've found covering matters of skepticism. The banter is fun, the discussions great and the information excellent

My favorite skeptics podcast.

by The_One_And_Only_Shane on Jul 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

12 years these guys have been doing this. Best Skeptics podcast on iTunes.

My Family

by rick hw on Jun 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this Podcast above all others. Better even than Radio Lab. I have been a long-time listener of many podcasts and this is the one I cannot live without. The cast of this show are my only real family. The SGU has made steady progress over their career and that is a pattern which we can expect to continue. While most folks would find it difficult to imagine their lives without their birth family, my life would border on meaninglessness without the SGU. I don't merely value it, I truly love it! Each cast member, with all their faults, are so very dear to me, just as they are. Long live the SGU, they are sorely needed!

Good stuff!

by Jerm vvarfare on Jun 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Probably in my top 5 (and I listen to a lot of podcasts). I use it as a regular update on matters of science and skepticism.

Make me a smarter person

by Fruit Juice on Jun 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Always great. Such a wonderful podcast.

A little less giggling please

by Beauuuui on May 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Good podcast. Would prefer more info and less incessant giggling. You're more interesting than you are funny.

12 years a fan!

by feefingirl on May 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I was an early adopter of podcasts and when I started in 2005 I was a "true believer" of everything pseudo and woo. I had always, however, been a seeker of truth and knowledge and was a natural skeptic. My intellectual evolution took a huge turn in direction when I came across several "skeptical" themed podcasts, including the SGU. I soon discovered the correct way to think and then went on to learn all about the "real" world through this and other great "teaching" podcasts. Jay, I've heard you say that if you can help turn a single person from a credulous fool to critical thinker you will feel like your work here is worthwhile. Well here I am, so thank you! All these years later this podcast is still my all-time favorite. Cara Santa Maria, you are brilliant, thoughtful, charming and they couldn't have magically conjured a more perfect "skepchick rogue"! You ROCK! All of you are my heroes!

Simply the best

by LSchmal on May 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

SGU is without question the best single resource for keeping up with science and skepticism in the universe. Dr. Novella and the gang are knowledgeable but human, and they will make sure you learn and laugh and come to love them all. Each week is devoted to recurring segments including "What's the Word" with the newest Rogue, Cara Santa-Maria and "Who's that Noisy" with Jay Novella. Important items from the week's news are discussed from a scientific skeptical perspective, going beyond the headlines and cutting through hype like butter. Finally, Dr. Novella challenges his panel to pick scientific fact from fiction in "Science or Fiction". Seriously, just subscribe already.

Excellent Science and Skepticism Podcast

by Sunmoose on May 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I would recommend this podcast to anyone and everyone who has an interest in science or skepticism. While I myself am a bit more science-oriented, I nonetheless find their explorations into quackery insightful and non-superfluous. While none of the rogues are clasically charismatic, their enthusiasm and approachability make them charming nonetheless. The single biggest arguement I can make to watch this show is that it is directed by Dr. Novella. Steve has a way of cutting away superfluous information and getting to the heart of an issue with clarity. The intellectual rigor he brings to the show is, to my knowledge and experience, unsurpassed in the science communication world. A couple of months listening to the show, and you'll be equipped with a bevy of skeptical tools, improving your critical thinking skills and general scientific knowledge.

Great podcast for critical thinkers

by cdpeters01 on May 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Must listen for anyone interested in thinking critically about science and medicine.

My Saturday afternoon delight

by Reaper4507 on May 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I look forward to Saturdays mostly because of this podcast. I have been listening for 3 years. I have drawn my son into the fandom as well. Our best conversations are about topics discussed on this podcast.

Informative and Entertaining

by csdPagan on May 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the show. I am a retired Electrical Engineer and look forward to this podcast every week. They entertain and inform while chalanging the listener to think critically.Great work.

Steve Novella Is The Bill Nye You Don't Know

by Gino DES Orlandini on Apr 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Host and practicing Neurologist Steven Novella is truly America's great undiscovered science communicator. He belongs along with Neil Degrasse Tyson or Bill Nye - but he's more restrained and pedantic than his peers. Novella focuses on HOW we think, rather than what, in pursuit of science and truth. Gimlet or NPR would be wise to snatch him up and build the next Freakonomics.

One of my favorites

by Kurtz1988 on Apr 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast. I wish there were more like it and am surprised to see it way down here on the charts. Jay is my favorite.

Stupendous content & informed, informative individuals

by Mr. Musically-Eclectic on Apr 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Really great podcasts for all you science nerds & enthusiasts out there. I personally love Cara Santa Maria. She's bae and I wish I could go straight for her. But really, this is a great podcasts for lovers of science & science news.

Long time listener

by jtothekidd on Apr 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the podcast I recommend to friends and family when I explain what podcasts are.

Awesome programing

by Pher_Zacek on Mar 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great content and very dynamic, I enjoy listen to and also learn... Thank you

Rebel Scum

by Pol570 on Mar 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I agree with so many of the other reviewers that one can find definitive, nuanced information on this podcast, which I've enjoyed for years now. I get much "science" reporting that is neither of those and am so pleased when the headlines are brought up in the podcast and all is made clear. The warmth and good humor is a wonderful plus as well!

Lefty

by Cemetery Joe on Mar 09, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The show has gone from a good science type show to a "bash the right" politicl show...too bad, it was fun to listen to them

Great show

by Chrishoiff on Mar 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great discussions about science and skepticism. I'm always looking forward to the next episode.

Great!

by Enough to know better on Feb 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Well done!

A Fun Celebration of Critical Thinking

by TheAmazingAndy on Feb 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A group of 5 hosts from various backgrounds discuss scientific news and curiosities. Weekly segments, occasional interviews, and engaging discussions. Addictively interesting and entertaining with hosts you learn to love.

Favorite podcast

by Biogeek91 on Feb 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Funny and interesting, as always.

Science.....BUT

by Sausage King on Feb 19, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I started listening because I consider myself science-minded, and wanted to keep informed of the lastest goings on. But it turns out they only back science when it conforms to their political views. Politics should not be part of science.

Too annoying and long winded

by cc192000 on Feb 15, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Initially I enjoyed this podcast but lately it's gotten too annoying.For one thing, they often spend lots of time discussing topics in which none of them have any expertise (recent examples - spaceflight and electronics). They often make errors discussing these topics extemporaneously without any prior research.The host has a segment called "Science or Fiction" where he describes three news items, two of which are true and the third made-up. Each of the other panelist will spend a wildly inordinate amount of time in turn discussing the three items before picking the one they think is false. The host often plays tricks with the wording of the items to turn a Science item into a Fiction item on a technicality (or vice versa). This is very irritating.I'm going to look for a new podcast.

Informative, Sciencey Fun!

by Schrodingrr on Feb 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The absolute best way to stay up-to-date with breaking news in science. The rapport between the hosts is fantastic, and the interstitial segments (Cara's "What's the Word," Steve's "Science or Fiction," etc.) sneak knowledge into your brain under the guise of entertainment. Highly recommended! One of the rare podcasts out there which just gets better and better with age.

I've listened for years and I'm done

by stanthejeep on Jan 22, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

You guys used to aggressively look for truth among all the bs out there, but since caras arrival the show has drifted more and more to the left. You are very aggressive about rebutting positions from conservative outlets, as you should be, but you embrace liberal positions without the slightest question. I came for the escape to reality, but leave sad that reality is dead in this world.

My favourite podcast

by How-dee- on Jan 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

The addition of Cara to this group makes this one of the most informative thoughtful podcasts.

A wonderful new look on things

by Sethroti on Jan 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast has helped with my entire outlook on life. I've been listening for a bit over a year and I cannot recommend it enough!

Typical Liberal Dogma Masquerading as Skeptics

by Bart Clark on Jan 01, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

One star for the entertaining value of listening to them TRY SO HARD to deny who they are.... Another star for the fact that...considering who we've elected this time around....it may be a GOOD thing to have five cookie cutter liberals tearing down our elected leader whilst pretending they're 'neutral'.Now that I've agitated EVERYONE on this topic...let me conclude with a unifying thought: I so miss the balancing presence of the fine Mr. Perry J! This show was much stronger when -gasp- the all to often hollow left mantra of 'diversity' was real....the way the others worked w Perry's often differing views was....endearing and a credit to them all... long live DeAngelis!

Awesome!

by cm31t on Dec 23, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

What a brilliant podcast! If you are a skeptic about anything in the universe, look no further this show is for you!