Average rating:

4.5
out of 518 ratings.

Great variety of books!

by NHflatlander on Feb 13, 2019
Rating: ★★★★☆

Every epiosde begins with "what makes this a great book?" The answers launch some interesting discussions. Sometimes an episode will nudge me to re-read an old favorite, while another will introduce me to something new.

Familiarize yourself with great books - easy

by Steve Mess on Jan 16, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

John J Miller brings knowledgeable guests on the show and questions them as to why should this book be considered great. Fun and insightful - has led me to read (or reread) classics with new set of eyes.

Great Books episodes ... are Great!

by WoodMorger on Jan 12, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I try not to miss a single episode.

Perfect Fit

by rick_jr3 on Jan 07, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the podcast! Gives great overviews of classics.

Love the variety and guests

by LoisinKeizer on Oct 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I enjoy the broad swath of books Miller selects. It’s great to get an overview of unfamiliar works and perhaps be inspired to read them. It’s also satisfying to enjoy a favorite with another who clearly enjoyed it as much as I did. Outstanding podcast!

Super

by Bill koeppe on Sep 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast. John nails it. I pass on some of these podcasts to our son who is an active duty Army Infantry Captain.

Great show

by GMac1776 on Sep 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Looking forward to each new episode.

Back Episodes

by Rudy888888 on Sep 04, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Can anyone explain how to get back and listen to Episode 32 Gallic Wars? I told my 13-year old son all about it but we can’t figure out how to listen to earlier episodes.

Need to work on sound

by jeffmed9191 on Aug 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If you are going to do remote interviews the sound engineering needs to be optimized. Content is great but hard to listen to because of garbling and variations in volume

A most enthusiastic YES!

by fucknothx on Aug 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This has easily become one of my favorite podcast. I have only read maybe less than half of the books reviewed, but I still find the ones I haven’t read to be really interesting! I may finally read Brothers K now ;) My favorite episode though is on Marcus Aurelius’ Mediation’s. SO good!

THE podcast

by Jeffbrunk on Jul 17, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Books I would never have even considered seem intriguing after a podcast with John & his guest. If you appreciate literature & enjoy intelligent discussion about it, listen to this podcast.

Tremendous

by jp002259 on Jul 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Just tremendous

J.P. Elymian

by JoeMedford1 on Jul 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Mr. McCarthy’s observations regarding the current legal scene are indispensable for all fair minded citizens.

One of my favorites

by irishspy on Jun 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a great podcast from Hillsdale College and hosted by John J. Miller. Each week Miller discusses a highly-regarded book with an academic and always begins with the question, "What makes this a great book?" Miller casts his net widely, from Homer to Willa Cather, and each week's episode is worth listening to, even if the particular book isn't to my tastes. If you have any interest at all in books and good reading, this podcast should be on your list.

Great reintroduction to many gems!

by Iloveowls92 on Jun 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Just finished the podcast on The Autobiography of Benjamin Franklin and learned so much! I read this several years ago and can’t wait to get it back down off the bookshelf with a new set of eyes

Nice!

by asclepius89 on Jun 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

My comments are threefold.1. I’m using the books in these episodes for my Christmas wishlist.2. I’d love to see C.S. Lewis or Dietrich Bonhoeffer discussed3. Imagine my surprise at hearing one of my own Great Books professors from Faulkner University, Robert Woods, discuss Fahrenheit 451. I had to rewind to make sure I heard correctly!Anyway, great show!

Keep up the good work!

by Evan B from Austin on Jun 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The only downside about this podcast is that the episodes aren’t longer. So much great stuff. It would be cool if there were a sort of longer, uncut option for each show, though I know that would interrupt the natural flow of the shorter format you use now. Regarding suggestions that John asks for at the end of the podcast, it would seem that The Great Gatsby and The Sound and the Fury can’t be put off for too much longer right? Ginsberg’s Howl would be another very interesting one in the poems category.Thanks for doing what you do!Evan Butts

The rare book-chat podcast that doesn’t fart around

by RodneyWelch on Jun 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Podcasts devoted to books and movies tend to be awful — usually a pair of giggly, self-absorbed English major fanboys or fan girls blabbering on for an ice age about what they did or didn’t like. Great Books, by contrast, brings in experts who know the work in depth and have some intelligent perspective as to where it fits in the author’s life or in world literature; at the end of 30 brisk minutes, you feel you’ve learned something. Keep up the good work.

Great podcast!

by Sannah McDonough on Jun 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I always enjoy what the guests have to say. Love the podcast!

Listen to this!

by Sharon Herbitter on Jun 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great intro to many “great books.” More Patricia Bart, please — I could listen to her all day. One of my can’t-miss podcasts.

30 minutes that can’t be beat

by @JennaLynn88 on Jun 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

John Miller hosts an excellent podcast for those interested in learning something new-even about books previously studied. Excellent guests, great insight, and even a few laughs for good measure. Many thanks to Mr. Miller and National Review.

Another point of view

by zeta20twu on May 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Discovered this wonderful podcast recently. Huge Jane Austen fan.

worth listening to

by Rick Volk on May 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Always infomrative.

Thank you!

by Julez783 on May 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love everything about this podcast - great (and diverse) choice of subjects, and the perfect length. Keep it up!

Great discussions

by LBkirkwood123 on May 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

So enjoying these discussions on wonderful books. Thanks to Mr Miller and National Review for making it possible...I need to check out this NR Plus membership! Just wonderful!!

Interesting discussions that spur more reading

by horngary on May 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I wonder if you would consider discussing Patrick O’Brian’s ‘Aubrey-Maturin’ series?

It's Fine

by mz792 on Apr 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Awesome conservative analysis on some of history's best literature

The Great Books

by Will 061552 on Apr 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

So many things I never got around to reading, but now (in retirement) I have time for! Working now on The Gulag Archipelago, sitting on my shelves for years.Suggestion: Don Quixote (Including a brief biography of Cervantes).

5 stars for content, 1 start for marketing

by CharsPapa on Apr 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

These podcasts are so great, so why limit the podcast feed to only the latest 10 episodes? Please expand the access!

Fills a niche, admirably

by TDixens on Apr 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I hadn't realized it, but we need just this: concise yet substantive conversation about great literature by informed admirers who appreciate (in both senses) this art form. Few things in today's world can unite swaths of people in that deeply human act of praise, but John J. Miller and his guests direct our gazes to literary beauty with competence and good humor. Thank you!

Finish Them!

by Chav Jonah on Mar 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

You’ll need to do one show per book for LOTR and The Hobbit now.

Very good

by Flint wing nut on Mar 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

There is art and skill in being a good interviewer and John J Miller demonstrates both as he asks questions of his guests. Many podcast hosts and TV show hosts make an interview about themselves and their opinions - interrupting the guest and ‘stepping on’ the response of the guest. Pleasantly John doesn’t do this.John asks his guests insightful questions and then let’s the guest answer. Consequently you learn a lot about the the book and the author.

Great way to explore the great books!

by tenncommentator on Mar 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

John J. Miller does a fantastic job exploring and explaining the great books. Each episode is so full of information, you have to listen more than once.

Excellent

by Ron LFP on Mar 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Very well done. Miller is very good at interviewing and I like the choice of books.

Interesting and thought provoking

by juicesux380 on Mar 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great content. Great interviewer.

Great short book discussion

by Æthelgar on Feb 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

My favorite new (about six months old at this point) podcast. Good selection of books with good discussion of each. Miller and his guests pack a lot into just half an hour.

Engaging Podcast

by themom1982 on Feb 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks for providing such engaging conversation around great literature.

One of my favorite Podcasts

by MegFletch17 on Feb 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great Podcasts for classic lit lovers! I wish it was longer but at the very least I want more! A request for a future episode would be something from my fellow Californian - John Steinbeck. Thank you so much!

So enjoy these discussions. Thank you and keep it up!

by Chrysalis1026 on Feb 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to these while exercising. I enjoy that time with you! Learning about books I may or may not have read from people who truly know and are passionate about the author, the book, and the message. I hope you continue this for a long, long time.

Good program but can't listen to John Miller scrambling with words

by incognito82 on Feb 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I have been looking for book reviews on classics like this. Finally found it but just can't listen to John Miller. Listening to John Miller makes me want to scream "will you please get it out of your mouth?". He goes on forever "the, the, the, the, the, the" then ended up saying "so what, what, what, what about them?". Just kill me now. I am sorry but I have to look for something else.

Well balanced

by FridayNightEcon on Jan 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is a great mix of introductory material for those unfamiliar with a work or author and deep, thoughtful comments for those already familiar. Never miss an episode.

Great 30-minute podcast

by S O'Donnell on Jan 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is truly a useful introduction to great books. So much so that I've picked up one or two after hearing the podcast. I hate the introduction music, so I also give the fast-forward feature of my iPhone five stars.

Jane Eyre

by Dog painter on Jan 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Of course most of us know this book, but the professor gives us an in depth analysis of why it is so beloved. Excellent!!

Book Request

by CaseyTurner on Dec 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I’d love to hear an episode, or two, about Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace.

Wonderful Moments

by TheSubro on Dec 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

As a person who runs around so much and doesn’t have the time to think back on things he’s read or things that he wanted to read, I love this podcast. It brings back memories of some of the best reads I’ve ever had, and has caused me to pick up books that I missed along the way. Miller is great in his interaction with the variety of Hillsdale professors, and I wait for a new episode each week.

Great alternative to politics

by MRB in Ohio on Dec 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I follow multiple conservative podcasts, and recently discovered The Great Books. It’s a thoughtful and educational alternative to politics; a good-for-your-mind-and-soul discussion of what is truly great in literature. Highly recommended.

Very interesting—makes great literature accessible

by Stevenucci on Nov 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very good way to spend some time

THE Adventures?

by jimmysjr on Nov 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The original is "Adventures of Huckleberry Finn." I don't know how "The Adventures ..." came into use.

Incredible!

by Monkey McGee on Nov 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I am a voracious consumer of podcasts (I subscribe to dozens of them), but this one has quickly become my favorite. I had been looking for something that would help serve as a primer to overcome my inertia in starting to engage with the great books, and this is exactly what I've been looking for! It also helps me to engage with my daughter in discussing these works as she reads some of them for school.

The Great Books is Great!

by JT Dennis on Nov 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast! It motivates me to read all these great books. I hope this podcast continues for years and even decades to come. Keep reviewing great books.