Average rating:

5
out of 356 ratings.

Best interview podcast out there.

by RansomedNBlood on Sep 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Ibarionex is a skilled interviewer. He has interviewed many of the great names in photography. He draws out the individual nuances of each of his guests. It not the same questions given to each guests. You can tell he thoroughly researchs each guest he has on. If you're into gear, this isn't the podcast for you but if you want to sit down with the greats of photography and get to know them you'll love this podcast!

Informative and Entertaining

by Boricua67 on Aug 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If you want to step up your game in the photography, then you must listen to this podcast. Hearing how established photographers got started and about their sometimes struggles is both informative and entertaining.I'm glad I found this podcast. I hope to one day be as awesome as many of Ibarionex's guests.Thanks.

Inspiring!

by Annabelle Hendersøn on Jul 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I´ve been listening to the candid frame for a while now and I´m finaly taking the time to write this review. As a photographer, working commercialy but exploring documentative narratives and with a background in street work, I simply adore to sit down at my desk while editing and listen to Ibarionex interview his fantastic guests. This is the podcast for you if you enjoy photography of anykind but especially if you are OBSESSED with photography and storytelling and have decided to invest yourself in it fully. I get true pleasure in discovering new, exiting photographers and their work and it has helped me become more determined in pursuing my goal to develop long term, meaningful projects. I find that most of the questions and doubts that run through my mind are being explored here and talked about in such a genuine way that it helps feeling better and more motivated about my own work after most episodes. There is a lot of good I could say but I think you just have to go ahead and start listening! I catch up on the newest podcasts regularly but also enjoy going back to the early ones. I basically can´t get bored anymore! Thank you Ibarionex for all of your efforts to do this to share with us and for your true love of the medium and of it´s people!

Great Podcast

by Fargo, ND on Jul 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast for all with a serious interest in photography and photographers.

Fresh and Current

by Not a go go on Jun 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a podcast that is timeless. I have been a listener for several years and I never grow tired of listening to the insightful and fresh interviews that Ibarionex has cultivated over the years and today. Do yourself a favor and listen in. You will be educated, entertained, delighted and happy that you did.If you're like me you will have to listen them all.

In search of the light.

by Ricardo Silva - Texas on Apr 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

After subscribing to the Candid Frame Podcast and listening all episodes on the itunes feed I was sad that I had to wait for the new episodes to keep listening to the podcast, I wanted more. By checking your website I found out about the app for iphone. I had a firm idea of writing this review after listening all the episodes of the podcast. You cracked me at the episode #138 and now I am writing this review while I’m listening again to that episode. The emotion brought to this episode emphasizes to me that is because of emotion that I take photos. It is because of the joy that I feel that I press the button saying yes to the image I see. What to say about to the journey that includes self-discovery with photography inspired by this podcast? It is a joy to listen to photographers and what they experienced when they took great photos. The last question that you make is the start of discovering images that I didn’t know about. That’s is what this podcast is about a body of knowledge from the feeling inside to the search of the light. May the light of Christ be with you in your journey, that’s the best I can wish to you.Thanks and Regards,Ricardo da Silva

I can't get enough!

by ThaRealDJ on Mar 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this show and look forward to each episode!

Career Development interviews

by Photo-enthusiast on Mar 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have always loved career development stories and photography stories. This truly outstanding podcast satisfies my hunger for both. Keep up the great work!

Thank you!

by Roland Matos on Feb 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

An excellent and serious approach to photography. Great learning material.

Master Interviewer at his Best

by Pachidragon on Feb 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Iabrionex is good at establishing a relaxed intimate atmosphere for his subject to tell their story. This works especially well with episode 359. Kevin Weinstien has a great story and it was a wonderful experience hearing him talk about the subjects of his photography. Thanks for the work you do. Both of you.

Inspiring Photography Podcast

by Jeffery Allen on Feb 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Ibarionex Perello interviews photographers from all walks of life, and the stories they tell are truly inspiring. He has a great interviewing style where he asks great questions and then listens. We get to hear in-depth answers from the photographers on a whole range of topics. On recent podcasts, we've heard Stacey Pearsall, a military photographer who is working on a project photographing veterans, and we've heard from Klara Plicanic, an upbeat and fun wedding photographer. These two interviews show the range of the podcast, from serious to fun subjects and everything in between.

Truly exceptional

by Zach Kalman on Feb 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The Candid Frame is the best photography podcast out there, and, frankly, it's not close. The guests are world-class talents from all corners of the world of photography. And Ibarionex's interviews are graceful and natural, always bringing the best out his subjects. No gear reviews. No tips or tutorials. Just passionate, creative photographers saying really interesting, educational and inspiring things.

Great conversation!

by Lance.Ross on Jan 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Quite simply great conversations with great photographers. Not to be missed!

More than you expect

by ML/WP/CO on Jan 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I spend a lot of time in my vehicle for my work and I listen to a lot of photo podcasts. This is one of my favorites, it's way more than a photo podcast. The human interest element runs high. It's one podcast my wife enjoys and she's not a photographer.

The best there is

by joebhn on Jan 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The title says it all.

Never A Dull Episode

by 86steelers43 on Jan 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Easily one of the best photography podcasts out there.Informative, enthusiastic conversations between a superb interviewer and talented shooters.CAUTION: May be habit forming!

Excellent show for photographic inspiration!

by romarosie on Jan 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Ibarionex Perello has taken the photography podcast to another level with his excellent interviewing style and questions. This is not a typical conversation where photographers talk about their favorite images and how they made them. Ibarionex dives into the history of a photographer's work, how they approach their career path, what inspires them to be more creative, and so much more. His questions are insightful and the guests are at the top of their game. I am likely to be consdiered incredibly biased because I was featured on this podcast but I was a listener long before being asked on the show. I hope you'll subscribe to this very inspirational series!

About time.

by Trapaniphoto on Jan 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast! I'm so glad I stumbled on it. Thank you.

"Wow what a great question"

by the-iJeep on Dec 08, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

The answer : 'The Candid Frame". What was the question? Pick any episode and give it a listen, the question will be asked. Any familiar listener is knowingly smiling right now. If you have any intrest in photography as an art and by-the-way, you don't even have to be a photographer, I encourage you to listen to one or two of these interveiws. Find a familiar name or an interesting subject in the show notes and soon you will be knowingly smiling too.

The Best Around... Seriously, just subscribe.

by **Meatpants** on Sep 30, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

What a great podcast. In a disposable world where it seems everyone and their mother has a podcast, Ibarionex has put together a simple, straightforward program. It is great to go through the archives, not only to hear from some really great photographers, but to hear Ibarionex develop as an interviewer. The interview with Estevan Oriol is not to be missed. Great job, please keep up the studied, insightful work...

AWESOME AND INVALUABLE!!!

by Matty C Bradford on Jul 18, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm constantly looking for resources to improve my photography, amazing people in the industry, and diverse thinking on the subject of photography and the role it plays. All of that is here. I'm so lucky to have stumbled on this podcast and can't wait to recommend to others.

Something for every photog

by gkvaughn on Jul 08, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

No matter what genre of photography you're into, you'll find great interviews with the best photographers on The Candid Frame. Got a long drive coming up? Load up a few TCF podcasts and learn a thing or two while the miles fly by. Ibarionex is a great interviewer, and enables his subject's personalities to come through.

He'll put you to sleep

by DoIreallyhaveto? on Jun 30, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Not because his show is boring, far from it! Ibarionex has such a smooth voice it's almost hard to listen to him without drifting off. The content of the show is incredible from an inspirational standpoint and the variety of guests bring viewpoints and wisdom from so many corners of the photography world. This is one of my favorite podcasts, keep up the great work!

Great Interviews

by Liddybird on Jun 28, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. I never skip an episode . If you are into photography , even casually, you can pick up great ideas from listening to the different photographers!

One of the Very Best Photo Podcasts

by Bluegrass Reader on Jun 28, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Ibarionex puts out an exceptional podcast, with an emphasis on the artistic side of photography. His approach is a highly welcome change from the gear-gear-gear theme of many of the popular podcasts, which either review last week's camera gear, or the latest updates in technology. Plus, he has one of the great expressive voices, to boot. Two thumbs up.

#1 in My Book

by MakeMovesEnterprises on Jun 23, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the best photography podcast, hands down in my opinion. I've listened to others, but they've fallen by the wayside. None of them hold a candle to Ibarionex's style and quality of interviews.

The Candid Frame

by JP Myskowski on Jun 08, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

One of the best photo podcasts out there, and getting better all the time. Great guests, great topics, no nonsense.

Meet the people behind the photographs

by RedFCU on May 27, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Ibarionex has a talented way of producing excellent questions and (here’s the important part) stepping out of the way to allow his interview subject to tell a story. Another fine ingredient to this successful podcast is his ability to bring in such talented and legendary people in the photography community. With such a catalog of interviews produced with extreme quality, The Candid Frame is an important history of the people behind the photographs. Well done.

Covering the Most Important Aspects of Photography and Photographers

by Ted Vieira on May 19, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

If I could only listen to one photography podcast each week, this would be the one. Ibarionex is a fantastic and insightful interviewer and host, and his guests are always interesting. From the experiences and information shared by Ibarionex and his guests you'll learn the important things about photography - far more than you could get from gear-centric shows (which I also love, btw). This show focuses more on the inspiration, motivation and personal stories that shed so much more light on being a creative photographer than you'll get from any other show out there. That's what makes The Candid Frame such an important resource. Thank you very much, Ibarionex!

A smorgasbord of talent found her!

by Janthephotoman on Apr 20, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Five stars to Ibarionex for bring us so many talented photographers. A most worthwhile Podcast with insightful interviews that really help us get to know these artists! Thanks I.

Outstanding!

by Ron USA on Apr 19, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Brilliant interviews!

Interviews With Interesting Artists

by Paulie [eatl/ga] on Apr 08, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I learn of, and about, so many photographers from this podcast. Each week I look forward to Ibarionex’s insightful questions to his guests, as wells as the answers that each provides to him.

Wow!

by mccutcr on Apr 01, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I stumbled upon this podcast after listening to Valerie Jardin's interview of Ibarionex on her podcast, Street Focus (another terrific listen). What a great compliment the two are to one another in terms of content. Ibarionex is a really terrific interviewer and has gotten access to some stellar talent in the photography world to create compelling, educational, and highly inspirational pieces that are perfect for a drive to work, a long plane ride, or just to sit and listen. Please keep up the good work Ibarionex!!

If everything else is pop music, this is The Blues...

by AnimatorJim on Mar 31, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

It's a podcast about the love of the craft of photography, not about the newest shiniest gear...although that's fun too sometimes, but this isn't that. Thanks Ibarionex!

Engaging and Inspiring

by Xiaoranz1986 on Mar 12, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Found my way to the Candid Frame through another Twip show and this is honestly by far the most inspiring photography podcast shows I’ve ever had the honor to listen to and enjoy. There are a lot of podcast out there about gears and skills, this one is all about passion and pursuing dreams, I love that each episode really going into the stories of the very diverse paths of the brilliant photography guests and how they converge to pursuing their dream of doing photography. Ibarionex is a fantastic host (and an amazing street photographer) for the show and his pure passion for photography always comes through thoroughly in each show. The interview are casual but in depth, because he really gently nudge the guests with his probing questions but also let them express their passion for photography in many directions. In many ways, this will serve as an audio history of photographers in the decades to come.

Top Notch

by ding777 on Feb 16, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m not a big podcast listener, but as a photographer, I couldn’t help but gravitate towards this one. If this were just about gear and technique, I would’ve lost interest long ago; but Ibarionex really does his homework and asks all the right questions, often delving deeply into the history of the art form and each photographer’s personal philosophy and approach. If you’re a photographer and you’re not hip to this podcast, well, get on it! You’re really missing out on something special.

Best Photography Podcast Ever!

by Alan Flowers on Jan 28, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

If you’re a lover of photography there’s no better show you’ll find on the internet.

Pure sophistication

by JJ Marfa on Jan 04, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Ibarionex’s interviews are thoughtful, revealing, and perceptive. The host is a photographer and it shows. Wonderfully crafted podcast without the gimmicks, plugs for gear, and “it’s all about me” that so often takes over in this genre. You’ll meet some of the world’s best photographers and visual artists on this show. Listen.

Photographer

by BEGIN Image+Design on Nov 17, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Ibarionex provides in depth and insightful interviews with an insane amount of extremely talented photographers. I go in waves whether I am listening to podcasts or not, but whenever I look for motivation and inspiration the Candid Frame always provides that and more.

Great balance

by gregofissaquah on Nov 06, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoy Ibarionex' style of interviewing as well as the amazingly interesting people that he interviews. His interview style gets to what drives an artist to do what he or she does. I always look forward to his next interview

Essential photog listening every week!

by jonenorris on Oct 30, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Ibarionex’s interviews are engaging, insightful and inspiring. Unlike the vast majority of photography podcasts there’s no mention of gear, settings, post-processing etc. Ibarionex gets photographers to open up about their lives and what makes them tick - talking about what’s behind the photos that they create and the passion that drives them. The Candid Frame is essential listening each and every week. There’s really nothing else like it in photog podcast land!

Easily one of the best Photography Podcasts

by En0s0nE on Oct 28, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Ibarionex Perello has one of the most engaging set of interviews with photographers from a variety of disciplines and makes it more than just their latest project or a talk about gear. Perello dives deep into the creation process and helps listeners find their own inspiration along the way. At least it had for me.

Best interview photography podcast available.

by Block109 on Oct 23, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been listening for several years and I still remember being so refreshed the first time I listened. Ibarionex is such a great interviewer it gives you the impression that he has known his guest for years. If you're looking for a photography show about gear this isn't it. I really believe this show is very underrated.

Thank you Ibarionex!

by Bgrax on Jun 21, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you for your wonderful podcast! I’ve listened to your show for years now. Getting at the heart of why and how we have the desire to photograph is the big take away from this podcast. For the most part this craft of photography is a lonely endeavor. Having other photographers speak about a lifetime of work is worth more than most colleges can deliver. Listening to other photographer efforts puts our own into perspective. Most podcast listeners only seek the ups but it’s just as important to hear the downs from experienced photographers. For the freelancer or creative it’s very important to know that a creative life is met with a lot of serendipitous chances to grow your craft. It’s important to stick with what you feel is creative. This show gives you the opportunity to listen to photographers that have made that journey. You can only grow your craft by listening to or learning first hand from mentors. Not many of us have the opportunity to speak at length with the quality of photographer that Mr Perello interviews. You can learn a lot from the influences other photographers. Some could assume that Ibarionex makes a good living off of these interviews. I know from 25+ years in the freelance film business that you’re not going get rich from making documentaries. You have to love the subject matter to put this much effort into a podcast. Some of my fav photographers are interviewed here. I thank you Ibarionex for your efforts. Gray Pictures LLC

Intoxicating Show

by Mrtaco65 on Jun 17, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

I started listening to TCF about 18 months ago and its a truly inspirational, heartfelt and thoughtful conversation between Ibarionex and his array of guests. The format is freeform but organized and it seems the guests feel as they are talking with a peer, a friend and an accomplished photographer and author in his own right. Time flies when I listen to the program. Its a “must listen to” upon the release of each new show.

Great Podcast

by Facebook won't works on Jun 10, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the questions Ibarionex asks during the interview. He always asks the raw questions I would ask these great photographers. The guests he has on the show reflect so much more about themselves other than photography.

National Treasure

by Starlunious Lootski on Mar 22, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been listening and relistening to these interviews as a way of reacquainting myself with photography. At first I was listening to learn about technique, but then my listening became about much, much more. Ibarionex Perello is a skilled interviewer, and as I’ve listened to these intelligent, enlightening conversations about art and life, and the lives of artists, and their ways of viewing their paths in the world, and also of making images, I’ve come to see these interviews as a kind of archive, a national treasure, something on the order of what you might find in a museum. Well done!

A Photographic Goldmine

by latinhorror on Mar 18, 2015
Rating: ★★★★★

I only recently discovered The Candid Frame podcast and have become a true fan of the show, which is saying a lot considering how picky I can be about the things I allow occupy my leisure time.Turns out the program has been around for 9-years now with hundreds of episodes to its brand, so for me it’s like finding a goldmine of information and support. It’s a casual but no-nonsense program that provides loads of inspiration and encouragement, primarily thanks to the laid-back but authoritative approach of its host, Ibarionex Perello. The program also has a related Flickr account where both photographic themes and member work is discussed via a visual counterpart to it audio podcast. A fantastic tool for getting photogs out the door and shooting!All in all, worth the time for either an emerging shooter looking to learn more about the creative craftwork, or a seasoned pro keeping on tap of who’s who and what projects they are doing. Kudos.

Great Interviews

by mvanec on Dec 19, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Great interviews with a wide variety of photographers. Ibarionex excels as an interviewer and poses insightful questions and intelligent conversation, centering on the philosophy of photography and art. This is not a how-to podcast, but delves more into the meaning and experiences of the photographer being interviewed. The interviews are more like conversations, most times.

Best Photography Poscast

by Martin Beebee on Nov 11, 2014
Rating: ★★★★★

Hands down the best photography podscast out there. If you've had enough of f-stops and ISO noise comparisons, and want to get some insight into what makes some amazing photographers tick both personally and professionally, subscribe now. Ibarionex asks truly insightful questions , and really tries to get at the heart of photography and being a photographer across many different genres.