Average rating:

5
out of 442 ratings.

One of the best photo podcasts out there

by Crystalsaurus-rex on Oct 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve spent the last couple weeks binging photography podcasts and this is one of if not the best ones. Deeply satisfying content, interesting guests, thoughtful interview questions, and quality sound production :D

A powerful podcast

by Rafael de la Uz on Oct 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Photography, to me, is more about the vision than he gear. This Podcast is dedicated to the vision of real photographers, and I love to have the oportunity of listening to them.

Incredible conversations!

by Craig Engelking on Oct 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A continuous source of knowledge and inspiration in compelling conversations with a wide variety of photographers. For me photography is a way of exploring, connecting and sharing, and Ibarionex does exactly the same thing with his podcast. Exploring different aspects of photography, connecting with his guests and listeners, and sharing the journey. So much to discover!

Most Thoughtful Podcast

by Bizman Japan on Oct 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the most thoughtful podcast on photography I have found. The interviews with artists deep dive into how the photographer thinks, what motivates their art, and their philosophy. The questions are excellent.

Worth every single second of your time.

by Keenon Perry on Sep 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A fellow photographer introduced me to this podcast several months ago and I instantly became a faithful listener. Not only is each episode insightful, but the interviews are well balanced dialogues between Ibarionex and his guest.

Interviews with Substance

by -M-W-S- on Sep 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Engaging conversations with photographers about their work and why they do what they do. No camera gear reviews or meaningless babbling. I just found this podcast and am listening every commute to years’ worth of episodes. Quite interesting and entertaining.

Golden Standard

by dukevinter on Sep 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As a fellow photographer and podcaster, I cannot recommend The Candid Frame enough. Such an exhaustive archive of inspirational conversation. Massive thanks to Ibarionex for the heart and soul poured into this program over the years. To many more years!- Wes Bowker(First Person Shooter Podcast)

The "Fresh Air" of Photography Podcasting

by huntkian on Sep 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I found "The Candid Frame" by chance about a year ago as I began to seriously try to improve my ability to express myself through the medium of photography. Ibarionex is as much a master of the interview as his guests are master's of the photographic medium. When the two masters meet, the listener is granted access to, what I would argue is, the soul of photography. I cried as I listened to John Free and return to that interview everytime I feel my work is losing it's meaning. I return to the many of Joel Meyerowitz's interviews to be reminded of how to rekindle passion in my life. Ibarionex deserves a seat next to Terry Gross and Charlie Rose. Ibarionex's legacy will be that he has preserved, just like a photograph, a moment of deeper understanding in which the contemporary master's of photography opened their souls so that we can become better photographers and human beings.Ian Huntwww.ianhunt.space

Excellent, informative and inspirational podcast for photographers

by k5kj on Sep 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I've listened to The Candid Frame for more than a decade and find it to be as informative and inspirational today as it was when I first started listening all those years ago. Ibarionex's style, insight and low key approach is refreshing and keeps his guests at ease. I highly recommend The Candid Frame podcast to anyone interested in photography.

Incredible Podcasts

by Summilux1.4 on Sep 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I just learned about Ibarionex and The Candid Frame. No matter what you level of photography you will enjoy these in depth interviews. Ibarionex is a skilled and empathetic interviewer.

Awesome Podcast!!

by Brooke Craven on Jun 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Ibarionex, host of the Candid Frame: a photography podcast, highlights all aspects of photography and more in this can’t miss podcast! The host and expert guests offer insightful advice and information that is helpful to anyone that listens!

A Key Part of Any Photographic Education

by afogg on May 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The Candid Frame is almsot like a contemporary history of photography, from established photographers and elite photographers of our time like Joel Meyerowitz and Donna Ferrato to young photographers like Castro Frank among others. I love that the discussion is about photographically centered lives and explores the liffe paths of photographers. There is so much diversity in cultures, genres, paths its such a wonderful education. With over 400 episodes, you will drive yourself crazy trying to decide where to start! One of the best podcast in any genre and definelty the best in photography. I cant recommend it enough.

Great interview with Alex

by BrodahhRay on May 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Your questions were fantastic, keep up the great work!

Thoughtful - Even More So

by fafield on Apr 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I discovered this podcast about a year ago and have now listened to all the past issues. Ibarionex is a thoughtful interviewer of photographers. Unlike most media interviewers today, he has the uncanny ability to draw out the person he is interviewing without himself interrupting or dominating the conversation. His interviews are about the interviewee and not some ego trip about the interviewer. I look forward to each new podcast and wish Ibarionex continued success.Update: after all these years, listening to nearly all of the 400+ podcasts. Ibarionex continues to get better and better and better as an interviewer. He can ask leading questions, he can ask probing questions, but he never gets in the way of connecting us to the interviewee. No one does it better. If you listen to just one photography podcast, make it The Candid Fram.

Outstanding Resource!

by DaveinDelaware on Mar 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Insightful interviews with photographers about their art and ideas are going to be a big help in upping my photo game!

Ibarionex is Terry Gross for Photographers

by david horton/observe on Mar 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Ibarionex's thoughtful and perceptive questions are what takes these interviews to another level. Don't expect discussions about cameras or gear. These are in-depth discussions about what photographers—known and unknown—value most about their work and the photographic process in general. This is a thinking man/woman's photography podcast. Drink it up.

For the serious photographer

by Mike S 77 on Mar 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Ibarionex not only has wonderful, insightful guests, but his interview style concentrates on the creativity and emotion which motivate the photographer. This is not an F-Stop and shutter speed discussion. Rather, it addresses how we create, why we create, and how to move forward. Plus, Ibarionex is very responsive, replying to emails about the podcast.

Subscriber

by David Fehrman on Jan 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Always a great presentation, offering views and perspectives that inspire new and different avenues for my own photography. I am fortunate that listening to various podcasts while at work is an option, and there are many photography-related efforts. As I cull the list to a managable selection, quite a few have been deleted- this one stays. The problem is the need to purchase a couple book after listening to your interviews recently, so no down side at all, really. It is an outstanding subscribtion.

The People Behind the Lens

by Kay O. Sweaver on Jan 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A great podcast that doesn’t get stymied in the muck of f-stops and ISO, but instead talks to photographers from a wide variety of backgrounds about their work, their lives and what photography means to them. I’ve learned so much from this podcast its hard to overstate it.Ibarionex is a masterful interviewer who asks questions that really get to the heart about what it means to be an artist in this medium today.

A must listen.

by JVGR on Dec 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If you are a living a photographic life, The Candid Frame is a must listen! Ibarionex always has great guests whether they are some one I’ve never heard of or a photographic hero of mine. The podcast is insightful, informative and inspiring. Thank you for what you do Ibarionex!

Tyler Bervy

by NewAnalogPhoto on Dec 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

By far one of, if not the best, photography podcasts. Ibarionex interview style is brilliant, he does not focus on what gear is used, although that does come up at times, but who the photographer is and how they work. I have not listened to all of the Candid Frames extensive library but each one I have so far has tought me something new, and inspired me to go and create.

The Best!

by Woodrufftr on Dec 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is by far the best photography podcast out there. This is what you should listen to if you want to improve as a photographer.

Food for the Photographer’s Soul

by tonyakimbo on Dec 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The Candid Frame is essential. It inspires, entertains and informs in a way no other podcast is quite able to do. Most importantly, it keeps my camera in my bag and mind constantly searching for new ways to push the boundaries of my craft. Thank you!

A Master Class in Appreciating Great Work

by RGP_Podcast_Review on Nov 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Ibarionex gives you a seat at the table as he interviews a who’s who of photographers spanning subjects and sensibilities. Both insightful and empathetic, he explores the most fascinating details of the masters and encourages his listeners to apply lessons learned to their own creative journey.Not to be missed.

A must listen for any photographer

by ashanishinaabe on Nov 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

For the amateur, hobbyist, and professional photographer alike, this podcast is informative and inspiring. Since I began listening to The Candid Frame earlier this year, I have learned an immense amount on the creative, technical, and business sides of photography. Besides being entertaining, I truly believe this podcast has helped me become a better photographer. Because of information I have gathered from the guests and host, as well as feeling motivated after each episode I listen to, my work has improved. Ibarionex is a compelling host with a great voice for radio. He asks guests informative, thought-provoking questions. In turn, the guests give provocative answers. This is the type of podcast I keep a note on my phone that stores helpful quotes and tips from the various guests. It is not just one of my favorite photography podcasts, it’s one of my favorite shows of all time. If you have any passion for photography, I wholeheartedly recommend this podcast.

Simply excellent

by Reader in STL on Oct 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If you’re interested in what makes photographers click, how they go about creating their work, how they run their business, then this is the podcast for you.

JUST LISTEN!

by amgeyer on Oct 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Ibarionex is a sincere, unpretentious, curious and engaged listener- which makes his questions natural and the interviews informative and entertaining. Though I shoot primarily in the documentary genre, I'm interested in what photogrpahers from all genres have to say about process, motivation, doubt, failures, revelations and peak moments. I often listen while driving, cooking or getting dressed for the day, and I always learn something-- which may be about humanity or emotional states- or something more specific to photography like a unique way to edit - but the podcast is always thought-provoking. Just try the most recent interview with Alastair McLachlan- an incredibly humble, clear thinker and articulate speaker - and experience for yourself Ibarionex's enthusiam and ability to take the conversation where it needs to go. (I'm also a monthly donor through Patreon.)

A never ending source of knowledge and inspiration

by Victor Trasvina on Oct 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is by far one of the best podcast available right now, deep, insightful, highly inspirational and highly educational, the amount of knowledge you can acquire from it it’s simply mind blowing and invaluable, focused much more on understanding what drives some of the most talented photographers ever out there rather than geeking out about gear or fads this podcast will feed your soul as a person and the artist in you. Victor Trasvina

Best interview podcast out there.

by RansomedNBlood on Sep 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Ibarionex is a skilled interviewer. He has interviewed many of the great names in photography. He draws out the individual nuances of each of his guests. It not the same questions given to each guests. You can tell he thoroughly researchs each guest he has on. If you're into gear, this isn't the podcast for you but if you want to sit down with the greats of photography and get to know them you'll love this podcast!

Informative and Entertaining

by Boricua67 on Aug 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If you want to step up your game in the photography, then you must listen to this podcast. Hearing how established photographers got started and about their sometimes struggles is both informative and entertaining.I'm glad I found this podcast. I hope to one day be as awesome as many of Ibarionex's guests.Thanks.

Inspiring!

by Annabelle Hendersøn on Jul 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I´ve been listening to the candid frame for a while now and I´m finaly taking the time to write this review. As a photographer, working commercialy but exploring documentative narratives and with a background in street work, I simply adore to sit down at my desk while editing and listen to Ibarionex interview his fantastic guests. This is the podcast for you if you enjoy photography of anykind but especially if you are OBSESSED with photography and storytelling and have decided to invest yourself in it fully. I get true pleasure in discovering new, exiting photographers and their work and it has helped me become more determined in pursuing my goal to develop long term, meaningful projects. I find that most of the questions and doubts that run through my mind are being explored here and talked about in such a genuine way that it helps feeling better and more motivated about my own work after most episodes. There is a lot of good I could say but I think you just have to go ahead and start listening! I catch up on the newest podcasts regularly but also enjoy going back to the early ones. I basically can´t get bored anymore! Thank you Ibarionex for all of your efforts to do this to share with us and for your true love of the medium and of it´s people!

Great Podcast

by Fargo, ND on Jul 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast for all with a serious interest in photography and photographers.

Fresh and Current

by Not a go go on Jun 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a podcast that is timeless. I have been a listener for several years and I never grow tired of listening to the insightful and fresh interviews that Ibarionex has cultivated over the years and today. Do yourself a favor and listen in. You will be educated, entertained, delighted and happy that you did.If you're like me you will have to listen them all.

In search of the light.

by Ricardo Silva - Texas on Apr 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

After subscribing to the Candid Frame Podcast and listening all episodes on the itunes feed I was sad that I had to wait for the new episodes to keep listening to the podcast, I wanted more. By checking your website I found out about the app for iphone. I had a firm idea of writing this review after listening all the episodes of the podcast. You cracked me at the episode #138 and now I am writing this review while I’m listening again to that episode. The emotion brought to this episode emphasizes to me that is because of emotion that I take photos. It is because of the joy that I feel that I press the button saying yes to the image I see. What to say about to the journey that includes self-discovery with photography inspired by this podcast? It is a joy to listen to photographers and what they experienced when they took great photos. The last question that you make is the start of discovering images that I didn’t know about. That’s is what this podcast is about a body of knowledge from the feeling inside to the search of the light. May the light of Christ be with you in your journey, that’s the best I can wish to you.Thanks and Regards,Ricardo da Silva

I can't get enough!

by ThaRealDJ on Mar 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this show and look forward to each episode!

Career Development interviews

by Photo-enthusiast on Mar 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have always loved career development stories and photography stories. This truly outstanding podcast satisfies my hunger for both. Keep up the great work!

Thank you!

by Roland Matos on Feb 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

An excellent and serious approach to photography. Great learning material.

Master Interviewer at his Best

by Pachidragon on Feb 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Iabrionex is good at establishing a relaxed intimate atmosphere for his subject to tell their story. This works especially well with episode 359. Kevin Weinstien has a great story and it was a wonderful experience hearing him talk about the subjects of his photography. Thanks for the work you do. Both of you.

Inspiring Photography Podcast

by Jeffery Allen on Feb 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Ibarionex Perello interviews photographers from all walks of life, and the stories they tell are truly inspiring. He has a great interviewing style where he asks great questions and then listens. We get to hear in-depth answers from the photographers on a whole range of topics. On recent podcasts, we've heard Stacey Pearsall, a military photographer who is working on a project photographing veterans, and we've heard from Klara Plicanic, an upbeat and fun wedding photographer. These two interviews show the range of the podcast, from serious to fun subjects and everything in between.

Truly exceptional

by Zach Kalman on Feb 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The Candid Frame is the best photography podcast out there, and, frankly, it's not close. The guests are world-class talents from all corners of the world of photography. And Ibarionex's interviews are graceful and natural, always bringing the best out his subjects. No gear reviews. No tips or tutorials. Just passionate, creative photographers saying really interesting, educational and inspiring things.

Great conversation!

by Lance.Ross on Jan 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Quite simply great conversations with great photographers. Not to be missed!

More than you expect

by ML/WP/CO on Jan 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I spend a lot of time in my vehicle for my work and I listen to a lot of photo podcasts. This is one of my favorites, it's way more than a photo podcast. The human interest element runs high. It's one podcast my wife enjoys and she's not a photographer.

The best there is

by joebhn on Jan 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The title says it all.

Never A Dull Episode

by 86steelers43 on Jan 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Easily one of the best photography podcasts out there.Informative, enthusiastic conversations between a superb interviewer and talented shooters.CAUTION: May be habit forming!

Excellent show for photographic inspiration!

by romarosie on Jan 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Ibarionex Perello has taken the photography podcast to another level with his excellent interviewing style and questions. This is not a typical conversation where photographers talk about their favorite images and how they made them. Ibarionex dives into the history of a photographer's work, how they approach their career path, what inspires them to be more creative, and so much more. His questions are insightful and the guests are at the top of their game. I am likely to be consdiered incredibly biased because I was featured on this podcast but I was a listener long before being asked on the show. I hope you'll subscribe to this very inspirational series!

About time.

by Trapaniphoto on Jan 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast! I'm so glad I stumbled on it. Thank you.

"Wow what a great question"

by the-iJeep on Dec 08, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

The answer : 'The Candid Frame". What was the question? Pick any episode and give it a listen, the question will be asked. Any familiar listener is knowingly smiling right now. If you have any intrest in photography as an art and by-the-way, you don't even have to be a photographer, I encourage you to listen to one or two of these interveiws. Find a familiar name or an interesting subject in the show notes and soon you will be knowingly smiling too.

The Best Around... Seriously, just subscribe.

by **Meatpants** on Sep 30, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

What a great podcast. In a disposable world where it seems everyone and their mother has a podcast, Ibarionex has put together a simple, straightforward program. It is great to go through the archives, not only to hear from some really great photographers, but to hear Ibarionex develop as an interviewer. The interview with Estevan Oriol is not to be missed. Great job, please keep up the studied, insightful work...

AWESOME AND INVALUABLE!!!

by Matty C Bradford on Jul 18, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm constantly looking for resources to improve my photography, amazing people in the industry, and diverse thinking on the subject of photography and the role it plays. All of that is here. I'm so lucky to have stumbled on this podcast and can't wait to recommend to others.

Something for every photog

by gkvaughn on Jul 08, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

No matter what genre of photography you're into, you'll find great interviews with the best photographers on The Candid Frame. Got a long drive coming up? Load up a few TCF podcasts and learn a thing or two while the miles fly by. Ibarionex is a great interviewer, and enables his subject's personalities to come through.