Average rating:

5
out of 2646 ratings.

Love you buddy

by Josh dubs555 on Feb 15, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks so much, these are incredibly fulfilling. I will eventually listen to them all multiple times. You’re wrong about Star Wars, however.

Five Stars

by on Feb 14, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Tim’s scholarship is top notch. He uncovers scripture by uncovering the history, language, and culture of the Bible. He does not shirk from difficult, complex, or taboo scripture, but addresses it with open mindedness, grace, and the above mentioned refined scholarship.

My favorite bible resource ever!

by napper91 on Feb 14, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m so blessed to have the appetite for the Bible that I have and this podcast and the Bible Project Tim Mackie & team created have been so wonderful in helping me DELIGHT in the Bible and to access the transformative power of being with the word of God. Thank you for all the work and study that went into this library of teachings and for your willingness to allow God’s word to reach me (and my community) through you and your life 🙏💕🙏

Prepare to be amazed

by Jen B NYC on Feb 11, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I can’t get enough. I have loved listening to The Bible Project for over a year, but this is different. Rather than a discussion of a topic or theme, this podcast is an actual sermon, but in Tim Mackie’s style, it’s packed with OT history and brings me new insight to the scripture. Each teaching brings me closer to God. Thank you, Tim Mackie, for loving Jesus so well and for helping us see God’s beauty, mercy and grace (and more)!!!

Amazing teacher!

by hiihatefortnite on Feb 08, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I look forward to listening everyday! I learn new things all the time! You’ve made me call myself a Bible nerd and want to wear that title with honor. Thank you for sharing the Old Testament truths pointing to Jesus! I love the weird Bible!

A gift

by Skeptic turned enthusiast on Feb 07, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

In a place where I was utterly confused and angry about what I perceived the character of Yahweh to be, mainly due to lack of understanding of background/context when attempting to read the scriptures for myself (and due to spiritual warfare I was unaware of at the time), this podcast has helped me immensely. At a point where reading scripture was exhausting/enraging to me, all I could do was lie in bed and listen to these podcasts for some time, until I began to understand that G-D is truly merciful, loving, and just, as His character is revealed thru scripture, which finally opened me up to reading it again with an open heart and mind, and receiving the Holy Spirit as my ultimate teacher and constant companion, which has been life altering. THANK YOU Tim Mackie for your devoted scholarship, raw authenticity, not straying away from difficult topics, and humble manner of presenting the gospel, your podcast is an absolute gift!!! Listen to this podcast, and it will change your life (warning you beforehand!)

Episode 89, using the Lord’s name in vain

by JoshuaLa on Feb 06, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Tim, to be honest, I’ve never heard of you before. Every night I have a podcast or a YouTube play for me as I shower. Tonight I felt God’s nudge to search for a podcast of Biblical truth. That podcast did such a good job opening my eyes I stayed out of bed an extra half hour to hear the whole thing. Thank you!!

My favorite!!

by rnespinosa03 on Feb 05, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I LOVE this podcast. Tim is so smart and I love his love and passion for the Word. Jesus has revealed so much to me about himself and myself through Tim’s words and I am so happy I found this podcast. 200% recommend this to everyone!

Simple teachings

by Homebirthhoney on Feb 03, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

There is so much good here. So much simplicity. So much truth. Each teach prompts a deep soul check.

Thank you Tim

by JSlay33 on Feb 03, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Tim your teaching and style of teaching has been so encouraging. This is awoken so many thoughts and been a spark to seek our Creator with a stronger passion. Thank you for all you do.

Exploring My Strange Bible

by Shannybannany 1056 on Jan 27, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazing collection of Tim Mackie's Sermons and Lectures - so blessed by these sermons. Particularly love the Book of Matthew.

Brilliant

by Talesha on Jan 27, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this pod cast! I highly recommend listening.

Aside from the Bible, the best study tool I have.

by JRSR1517 on Jan 26, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to and enjoy LOTS of podcasts, including The Bible Project, but this is the only one I have felt strongly enough about to actually leave a review. This podcast has been one of the greatest tools in helping me understand my Bible and beliefs, and in turn, has helped me understand God better than I did before listening. I have searched for a church or mentor who could just exegete for me—someone who knows the ancient languages and context well enough to explain to me, “Hey, I know as an American in 2019 this sentence sounds like this, but 2k years ago and beyond, it really read like this”. I’m a mom of small children in a rural area, so my searching could only go so far. Thank goodness it’s the era of podcasts, and thank goodness Tim is a card-carrying language and Bible nerd, because my thirst for more knowledge of Christ is both quenched and amplified after listening to each episode. I recommend this podcast to almost all my friends, I really love it. Thanks Tim for explaining things in an understandable, yet historically sound way. I can’t tell you how helpful it has been for me in my walk with Jesus.

Great Teaching on Matthew

by SRD58 on Jan 26, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

So far I have listen to about 10 of the teachings of Matthew. I have been reading the Bible my whole life and yet I’ve been learning a lot through this podcast. I would recommend it for anyone who is really interested in learning about the Bible and growing their relationship with Jesus Christ.

A wealth of learning

by Quite engaging on Jan 26, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

It is no exaggeration to say that this podcast has thoroughly revitalized my spiritual life. This podcast has become my favorite thing. I look forward to every minute of it.

Amazing Podcast

by Cambamalicious on Jan 25, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

This is my 2nd favorite podcast (right behind The Bible Project podcast 😂). I’ve learned so much from this! it’s helped me grow closer to God and challenged my faith. Thank you!

Awesome podcast

by Adelson M. on Jan 25, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Tim’s sermons have made the Bible come to life for me. God has anointed Tim with an incredible way of teaching and a great amount of knowledge that has changed my life. Thank you Tim for what you do.

Love Tim!

by Reese Tanner on Jan 23, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Tim always delivers a humbled and heartfelt message that leads every listener to Jesus

Great podcast

by Jasimawalakakabooooommmm on Jan 21, 2019
Rating: ★★★★☆

I like it

Best of both: PhD level information but easy to understand

by An expert sewer on Jan 18, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Sometimes with Bible study you must make a trade, either it’s easy to understand and listen to or you don’t get much real “study”, context or solid, accurate information and just feel good “level 1” devotional content. Tim gets both, every time I listen I am blown away by how he explains what’s going on in text in a way that I can understand ! However it would be really nice if the related passages of scripture could be listed somewhere, I like to read them before hand and sometimes It’s either not said exactly or I miss it.

Brings the Bible to life

by ljvanwingerden on Jan 17, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I have grown up in a bible believing family where I have heard many of the stories many times and can tell you many of them. Or so I thought. The way Tim speaks and teaches it brings the scriptures out from being a great story to bringing a change in my heart and life. He speaks in ways that are understandable and he brings you along the journey.

This podcast literally changed my entire life...

by lil'Orphan Annie on Jan 17, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I found this podcast just about a year ago in late 2017 when I was literally living in a pit of hell for me anyway, with no way out that I could find... well anyway... this podcast introduced me to this fantastic servant of Yahweh named Tim Mackie who teaches at a Bible college in Portland. I was in a different state at the time. Anyway, by March, I had found another podcast called The Bible Project and another awesome person to learn with named John. Together these guys quickly made me realize I never really understood all the things I thought I did, about God, and it also unlocked many doors blocked with confusion. Tim’s views and teachings have literally changed my life, let me out of a prison here on earth, and helped me feel the palpable world of the Kingdom. I pray for these guys every time I listen -which is most days -for their lives -due to the powerful influence they are having on the world right now- Praise Yahweh ! I moved to the Portland area in short order and now listen and study under Tim and Jon online free and use all of their gifts. The podcasts, you tube seminars and the videos - all of it. It’s unprecedented and has always been needed. Again, Praise Yahweh 😍😘 and thanks to this awesome group of our brothers and sisters for such awesome work! Completely 5 star all the way!

Another level of learning...

by Darlyn Hart on Jan 17, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I have really enjoyed listening and learning with Tim on these podcasts. I kept praying and searching and I’m so happy I found these teachings. I love the full perspective, the incorporation of culture and history and language. I guess I’m a Bible nerd too. Lol. Anyway, I’m almost caught up with you and anxious for more. Many Blessings!

Jonah Veggie Tales

by Fairlyamazing72 on Jan 13, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Growing up in church and watching veggie tales (which I absolutely love) I totally agree that the stories get so watered down but I found from the Veggie Tales Jonah- though it had pirates and craziness, it hit the story dead on being satirical and Jonah not actually being that great of a guy, I remember the movie ends with Jonah being sad and alone, and a song that’s stuck with for so many years calls him a prophet, ‘but he really never got it.’ I remember that being such a weird ending, “it wasn’t all blue skies and rainbows in the end for the Bible hero?” I love all the ways Tim has explored what’s been missing in this story in the English translations, all the nuances and play on words it had in Hebrew.

Awesome

by Credible Falcon on Jan 11, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I will be so sad when Tim finally runs out of old sermons to post. Thanks Tim, these are great!

Skateboarder Preacher?

by HVAC Hunter on Jan 09, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Since I found The Bible Project I have roamed through all of the teachings of Tim Mackie and all of them are amazing. I have powered through most of the God Series, but these old teachings are amazing and I love the simplicity of the "Page 1" references which gives the whole teachings of Tim and Jesus a newness. Thank You Tim for helping us English speaking americans to understand that the Bible must be understood through Hebrew eyes and hearts. Thanks also for the Bible reading app, it has been amazing since September when i found you. Go Tim, Thanks John, Thanks BP Team!

The best

by Charlie in Hawaii on Jan 04, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

This strange bible podcast is fantastic! Exactly what I have wanted in bible teachings. It has given me a much deeper understanding of the bible, from the language and the meaning of words to the cultural norms of that time. It has helped me internalize the teachings of Jesus and the prophets. Given me a nuanced understanding of the parables. Allowing me to talk more confidently and with better understanding about our salvation.Will you make your maps and other visuals you reference, available?Thanks Tim Mackie and team for putting this out there.

Great resource

by NateBuzz83 on Dec 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I Discovered Tim via His involvment in the Bible Project, I'm someone who has recently grown a great passion to Study my bible, and I have been so eternally Grateful to Tim for sharing these rich teachings. I Have learnt so much from these podcasts which has not only helped me engage in far better Conversations with Both believers and non believers alike, but also my own relationship with God, Commit to each series and you will not regret it! Thanks Tim, please keep Teaching and sharing those teachings!

Awesome!

by yerrende perrende on Dec 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

What a gift to people who want to study the Bible!

Absolutely amazing

by Jillian Adcock on Dec 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Every episode blows my mind, breaks down any preconceived notions I had, forces me to look deeply at my life and leaves me feeling hopeful and at peace with the profound love God has for me.

Thanks to Tim!

by Robert Lackie on Dec 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Tim Mackie has assembled rich and relevant teaching that is laced in the Bible, as his messages are wholly about the amazing story of the Bible. What I love most is that the scripture is not merely leveraged to make a point Tim wants to make. He adeptly lets the Bible do the speaking to its readers/hearers, and he adds context and a spotlight on the key points in the text. His humor and transparency both add so much as well. But it’s never “about Tim” but rather about the “Strange Bible”.Robert L.

Life saving

by KayJayEss! on Dec 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The Exploring my Strange Bible and the Bible project has changed my life. My love for the Bible has grown sooo much. This was something I didn’t know I needed, but now I want to support and make sure this continues. I’ve been donating every month for a year and I can’t wait to give more.God bless!

Teeming with wisdom

by dwesworley on Dec 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Tim’s teaching has been so extremely helpful to me. My wife said I look like a teenager because I always have earbuds in listening to an episode!

A Great Theologian

by J-queso-graauw on Dec 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Tim Mackie’s understanding of language and scripture cuts right down to Jesus’ message in a palpable, under-an-hour sermon. I listen everyday.

🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥

by Chronological snobbery on Dec 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The most lit Bible podcast I’ve heard, like ever

Wonderfully accessible

by Ruthsmtz81 on Dec 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast because it helps me understand aspects of the Bible I’d never thought of before in such an easy and relatable manner. THANK YOU for your hard work and dedication

Simply amazing

by Pastorslehman on Dec 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve learned so much through these teachings. I’m so thankful to Tim and the team at the Bible project for all of the content that they released for free. It’s greatly helped me as I learned to explore this strange Bible

Discovery

by Levite79 on Dec 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you for helping spread the Truth!

Exploring the amazing rabbit holes of the Bible with Tim

by KTsui on Dec 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Tim’s trips down the rabbit hole of the Bible are fun, entertaining, but more importantly have opened my eyes and mind to the rich depths of wisdom of Bible and Jesus Christ. Tim has helped me deconstruct my preconceived ideas of what it means to be a Christian and has given the tools understanding to build a new foundation to walk with Jesus.

Launch out into the deep and let down your nets

by IBCOREYB on Dec 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The lessons are pure butter man. Thank you for letting the LORD use you like that!

Let’s goooo!

by daltoncurrin on Dec 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast rocks! Enjoy learning from Tim and his appreciation for literature!

Wow

by The real samiam on Nov 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

God is good. Hard to believe that someone teaching the Bible could be new information and so invigorating after attending Church more often than not for most of my life. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

This Podcast is a gift!

by Jmackks on Nov 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast as well as the Bible Project podcast is an incredible gift to the world. It is amazing to listen to these clear “stories” from Bible.

Fantastic teaching.

by Mr Cherry on Nov 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you Tim, for teaching me to remove my language and culture when I approach the scriptures. I've never been more excited about the Old Testament, and started the long journey of learning ancient Hebrew.

Honored to be able to learn from a great Bible scholar

by Anne loves God on Nov 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you Tim for using this your great gifts and talents to teach. The way that you teach is enlightening. May God continue to bless you in that way until your work is done. 🙏❤️

Eye opening

by _saradelsur on Nov 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve never heard someone teach the Bible quote like Dr. Mackie does. These sermons are eye opening.

I love Dr. Mackie's approach to the Bible.

by Seafous78 on Nov 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Looking at the Bible from a cultural and historical perspective was not a focus for me or at any church I attended. I highly recommend listening to this podcast if you want to get an understanding of scripture.

Truly Incredible

by Tim_Nye the Science Guy on Nov 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Wow.. this podcast is amazing! I was introduced to it by a pastor friend a couple months ago and I have already listened to all of these, many of them multiple times, and it has totally transformed the way I see and follow Jesus. Tim brings such a clarity and cohesiveness to the entire storyline of the bible as it continues to shape our lives today. His insight is profound and yet he is humble and sincere about his own brokenness; we are all in the same spot when it comes to our need for Christ as well as our invitation to follow Him and produce fruit in the kingdom of God here and now.

Amazing Understanding of the Gospel

by maggiechap08 on Nov 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast has completely changed the way I read scripture now. I wish more people could hear it. I wish more people taught the message like this! It makes so much more sense!!’

Mind blowing !

by MWatson1084 on Nov 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It’s a pleasure and privilege to listen to Tim’s podcast . I have been binge listening to his episodes like they were tic tac’s. As a follower of Jesus, I am blown away by Tim knowledge and understanding of the Bible . Tim has such amazing way of taking the most complicated parts of the bible and explaining them in an easy way to understand. Thank you Tim for your amazing dedication to understanding the scriptures and sharing your heart for Jesus with me!