Average rating:

4.5
out of 520 ratings.

Distasteful

by Jezzaismyhomeboy on Oct 11, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

In the era of Donald Trump and fake news, misleading your listeners and not revealing your podcast as theatre not fact is gross and should not be allowed on this platform. Much worse, you tricked me into listening to advertising for your other shows. Bad form.

Soooo slooowww

by WDavis86 on Oct 04, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Caaaan...sheeee...taaaalk...aaaany...slooower???

“The Great God of Depression”

by baltimoregon on Sep 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Five stars specifically for your series on the relationship between creativity and depression re: William Styron and Alice Flaherty’s partnership. Would love to see this theme going to more episodes!

Narrator is toooooo slooooow

by Skdiendjckemlalandfn on Aug 18, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Could ... the depression ... narrator ... be ... any ... slower .... or .... more ... deliberate? Turned it off in five minutes.

So thoughtful

by Suitcase Murphy on Aug 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve been loving most of these mini-podcasts, but this is the first one I binged in a day. Beautiful and so helpful. Thank you!

Absorbing, not depressing

by HoldieLewie on Aug 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Don't be put off by a podcast series on the subject of depression. This isn't depressing to listen to. Pagan Kennedy is a wise, compassionate observer, and you'll care about the lives of the flawed, likable people she talks about and talks with.

Great God of Depression is the best showcase yet

by fileundereasylistening on Aug 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Please take time to listen to this great 5-part podcast. It will be worth every minute you spend with it. Yes. its an insightful, funny and beautifully told examination of depression but its equally a fascinating exploration of people's complicated relationship to writing (the process and the physical act).

Radiotopia? More like ‘Radiotoperfect’

by catalina666 on May 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m so glad I didn’t listen to these as they came out so that I got to binge! The first season appeals to my physicist nerdy side, and the second satisfies every true crime, 80’s nostalgia, and neurological interference conspiracy craving I’ve ever had. Seriously the first review I’ve ever written, can’t wait to find out what’s next!!

I'm in love

by The savior 2000 on May 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Fantastic selection so far

One hit wonder?

by Berfeito on May 12, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

After a fantastic first show, Showcase has not been fortunate in selecting its new ones. The proposal seemed to be to offer a channel to independent creators with talent and little opportunity, but it turned out to be a recycle bin for niche audience shows that did not succeed their first tome around. Five starts for “Ways of Hearing” and a hard pass for the others.

I Love Errthang

by Kat is drinking tea on Apr 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Errthang -- I really love Errthang and have been recommending it to everyone!Polybius -- It was interesting at first but I was kinda hoping the story would move further/get weirder. Overall, a bit on the boring side for an audio drama.Ways of Hearing -- As a fan of audio content, interesting to get some insight into the technology and history.Haven't listened to the other segments yet.

Ways of Hearing was amazing...

by johnnyrebel16 on Apr 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

...but Polybius conspiracy is a HUGE letdown. After the smart, artistic, engaging, and concise “Ways of Hearing” series that left you wanting more, “The Polybius” mess is a rambling bore that goes nowhere and you can’t wait for it to end. Spoiler - there’s no surprise ending to make it worthwhile. The first episode promises intrigue, but the rest is pointless drivel. HOWEVER, “Ways of Hearing” is enjoyable, and well-produced - an absolute gem.

Not true stories

by VeryExciting on Apr 01, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Just to let everyone know Radiotopia’s shows aren’t true stories. If they started as true and then took the sharp turn into fiction on the Polybius Conspiracy they made a very bad decision. I like fictional story podcasts, I listen to a lot of them, but those shows are not on networks that previously told true stories.

Really Amazing Work

by Coffeeld75 on Mar 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is some of the best stuff I've heard since I started listening to podcasts. Really intriguing subject matter--I've recommended to friends repeatedly. Can't say enough good things about this podcast--can't wait to see what's coming up next. Thank you!

I can't get past the host's voice

by Jillgtv on Mar 19, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I really wanted to listen but I had a very negative reaction to the host's voice. (maybe I'll try again without earphones)

The Polybius Conspiracy letdown

by osnyder1 on Mar 06, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Friends: I love Radiotopia, and The Polybius Conspiracy had me hooked and obsessed to the point that I recommended it to several people with wide-eyed enthusiasm and awe. There were a few moments in the story where I felt like something seemed off, but I chalked it up to the inherently unbalanced personalities in the story. Imagine my horror when one of the friends that I recommended it to told me many weeks later, with some hesitation, that he and his wife had listened to three episodes, loved it, researched out of curiosity, and found that it is partly fictionalized. WHAT? I literally was like: nope no way, and went and quickly looked at some reviews online and still had trouble finding evidence that it was not straight-forward journalism. I went back and forth with my friend for a bit, and ONLY WITH DIGGING were there some mentions of it being a "hybrid of fact and fiction." Added to the confusion, there are places in the actual Radiotopia website that do not state this, and others that do. So now I'm super bummed and wondering what else I have heard through Radiotopia is not real, particularly from Love & Radio, which is my desert island podcast, mainly because the stories are so outlandish and wonderful, and such a rare look into the mysteries of the human psyche. I feel violated! My twisted reality is now in question. Shame on you, Radiotopia!

Fake news...

by callmesalticidae on Mar 01, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Good story and production values, but I really don’t like fiction that tries to convince the audience that it’s fact. We have too much of that already in the world.

Martin Johnson’s Voice... Arggggg!

by Albert Cipriani on Feb 20, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The super-sleazy, ultra-confidential, breathy, staccato delivery of this show’s narrator and producer will have you climbing the walls. What an amazing testimony to my perseverance that I made it through 5 1/2 of the six episodes. I advise you not to bother. It’s not worth the effort of listening to this man’s exaggerated attempt to sound like he’s constantly divulging an extended secret. Note that all the positive reviews of the show are vapid and hollow endorsements, not critiques. The positive reviewers don’t dare actually say anything substantive because there is nothing substantive they can honestly say. That is why they are reduced to simply gushing about how much they love the show. So don’t be fooled by their ridiculously high 4.5 rating of this one-eyed peep show. — Albert Cipriani

Thought Provoking

by Kdjlkcl on Feb 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This program pulls you in by telling real stories about secrets. It does an excellent job of understanding why and how people keep secrets. In most cases, it pushes you to think about solutions and wonder how you would react in the same situation.

Had to stop bc of the narrator

by acecarollagirl on Feb 03, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

For the first time in my podcast listening history, I had to stop bc the narrator was so intolerable. Seems like it was/would’ve been a great story, hopefully you’ll be able to make it through the narration!

Polybius Conspiracy

by Pianocook on Feb 02, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

OK. If I'm listening to a compelling story, told in a This American Life style, I assume it's real people telling their real story. If you're doing a radio drama in the style of real interviews, investigation, etc., give your listeners the courtesy of letting them know at the outset that it's a work of fiction, or "partial" fiction. I listened aptly (naively, I now know) to each episode, and it was only when I looked for more information on the topic that I found out this was fake news. Shame on you. Radiotopia, you are better than this.

Great Stories, AWFUL NARRATOR

by NaomiStrange on Jan 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

The stories are wonderful and the concept is compelling. The podcast is also well produced. The thing I can’t stand is the narrator’s voice/cadence.... is he trying to be super dramatic? either way it’s incredibly irritating and I wish he would talk in his normal voice. And if that is his normal voice... maybe find another narrator. Thankfully the focus is more on the stories and less on the narrator.

Terrific “documentary”

by sir andrew grantham on Jan 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It’s obvious that fiction has been woven into this storytelling - but how much is fiction? The writers have seeded their fiction with reality, and crafted a drama that is compelling in its believability. It’s never been this easy to suppress your disbelief. Unfortunately, I may never be able to truly believe anything I hear on Radiotopia again.

New Years Resolution: Leave Podcast Reviews

by Khglynn on Dec 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

New Years Resolution: finally leave reviews for at least your top 50 podcasts. They give you way too much free entertainment. The least you can do is leave them a quick review.New Years Reality: I listen to 50+ exceptional podcasts. I don’t have time to write that many reviews.New Years Solution: Leave this cookie-cutter review for the few(ish) podcasts you love. Only review the ones you would (or have) recommended to people in real life.Review Note: I have listened to hundreds of podcasts, this is (in my humble opinion) the best of the best. Download, enjoy, and then recommend widely.

Dishonest

by Was my favorite on Dec 23, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

After The Polybius Conspiracy, I won't trust anything these guys put out again. You can't present a "documentary," and then reveal only in the show notes it was fiction. If you need a ruse like that to get people to listen to your stories then you aren't a good enough writer of either fact or fiction to be worth my time. Unsubscribed.

Polybius

by NYC7949 on Dec 21, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Waste of time... made up drama!

The Polybius Conspiracy - A Mystery for The Podcast Age

by Mr.Carlin on Dec 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Not sure how much is fact or fiction--maybe it's better I don't know! Flowed like a classical mystery--I was a little apprehensive of its ability to last 7 episodes, but I readily ate them up. I am not normally prone to podcasts, but this series of 7 had distinct narrative punch. More of these please!

Blair Witch no more.

by Brigliadore on Dec 14, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Been a fan of the show from the first season. But a few episodes into season 2 somethings just weren’t sitting right. So imagine my surprise when i did some research and learned that a season billed as a documentary turns out to be in large part a fabrication and basically The Blair Witch but in podcast form. I enjoy the teleplays like homecoming and the like but I also appreciate that those shows tell the truth about what kind of podcast they are. I won’t be subscribing to showcase anymore since they can’t be relied on to be upfront about what kind of truth telling they are presenting.

Four hours of my life I won't get back...

by J'sG on Dec 13, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Totally lame. Their only consistent leads (all both of them) basically told them to F-off and the series ends with them stumbling around in the woods, "mystery" no loser to solved than the first episode. No wonder they couldn't get backing for a movie and had to settle for a self-produced podcast. Nice to learn it was all fake anyway.

Polybius is a great listen

by arae12003 on Dec 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Well I just binged all the episodes in a day. It's so good! The producers Todd and Jon really knocked it out of the park and uncovered all the layers of the Polybius urban legend in a compelling and suspenseful way. They examine the dark underbelly of 80's arcades, internet fanboy culture and the eccentric Pacific Northwest and keep you coming back for more. Suprised Todd and Jon are getting a little blowback because creatively its so strong and the blurring of fact vs fiction is so prevelant right now with FINDING FRANCES, JIM AND ANDY, AMERICAN VANDAL etc in the zeitgeist. This pod deserves to be in the same conversation. Right on Showcase!

Disappointed it's fake

by Uses? on Dec 08, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

It's an interesting story, but as it progressed I was disappointed to realize that it's mostly fiction. It's categoriezed as "society and culture" not "performance" or "fiction" so one would think...

Polybius

by McLister on Dec 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I didn't really know how to feel about the hybrid storytelling. Sort of like Exit through the Gift Shop but in podcast form. I'm giving it four stars because they tipped thier hat at the end rather than keeping the audience guessing. Blair witch was a lot better movie when you thought it was real.

a delight

by TJ23564 on Dec 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This series was a delight. It had mystery and intrigue and access to a unique subculture. It totally feels like an NPR piece with its thoughtful host and peculiar subjects. I found the whole show facinating, as it was very self reflexive about stories and entertainment itself. Which aspects are real and which ones are fabricated or distorted.

Came here for video games, stayed to listen

by MagicBeano on Dec 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Came here for Polybius, in wake of reading about its "twist." I think what these guys have done is pretty awesome, taking actual aspects and facts and blending it with their own creation. Similar to Black Tapes, but stronger. This directed me to Ways of Hearing, which I gobbled down in seconds this weekend. This may seriously be one of the best finds of 2017. What an original idea for a series. I only wish there were more episodes.

Misleading

by warmchattered on Dec 03, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I don’t object to fictional storytelling. I do object to a fictional story presented as actual journalism. Really disappointed in Radiotopia for the decision-making here.

Polybius Conspiracy

by unangelino on Dec 02, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This applies only to the Polybius Conspiracy and NOT to other shows from this podcast. Rather than engaging in any substantive investigation the hosts chose to follow a group of clowns around and simply hoped that a coherent and engaging story would result. It didn’t. They did, however, manage to assail the character of the origin of their subject.

The polybius conspiracy is an unequivocal lie

by anadl917 on Dec 01, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I listened to the polybius conspiracy, which is presented as a series of documentary style interviews with key players in the story. After, I did some research into the characters and found out that these people are ACTORS. The show producers lied throughout the entire show to the audience and manipulated the listener. This is NOT the type of work that I expect from radiotopia, which has a reputation for quality FACTUAL work. If radiotopia is going to put out a work of fiction and present it as fact, they should apply an explicit warning during each episode. Do you know how many people I casually told this "factual" story to? Now I have to fix that. I'm sure the producers are amused at their meta art project's success (and consider this review proof of that), but in an era of fake news and alternative fact, this was literally the last thing we need. My trust in radiotopia is shot and i'll be unsubscribing from showcase.

Great storytelling! Want more!

by Kanye Asada on Nov 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I really liked the characters and story. I’ve read posts that say it’s a blend, and if so, they’ve done a real good job at keeping people guessing what’s what. Unique way to present the facts about an urban legend and breath some new life into an old internet mystery. The storytelling is a good representation of the themes of the podcast. Could easily see this as a movie or show!

Really cool idea

by Jerren Lauder on Nov 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This was engrossing, well made and just all around fun to listen to. Legitimately creepy in parts. I'm a bit surprised to see some negative reaction to the fact that this is mostly fiction. This kind of thing has been going on since Blair Witch, if not even earlier! Personally, I appreciated the blending between fact and fiction. To take that even one step further, I felt this was an innovative commentary on digital media in the current era. Besides, if you AT ALL thought this was real at any point, doesn't that mean the creators did an amazing job? Cheers to the makers of this and Radiotopia for an entertaining listen.

Fiction Facading as a Investigative Podcast

by GRH8372916 on Nov 26, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

If you do a quick Google, you’ll discover that Bobby is a fictional character, the newspaper that employed the journalist who received a mysterious tape never existed, and that Radiotopia confirmed with Slate that this is a “hybrid of fact and fiction”. Fictional stories are still interesting, but this misleads listeners into thinking it’s an audio documentary. Not great, Radiotopia.

Scripted Material

by ufomike1970 on Nov 24, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Disclaimer should be made on intro on the format. Characters are fictions, ect.

polybius

by mknmvis on Nov 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

they totally did the subject matter justice. as someone who knows more than most about the legend, there is quite a bit of fact wthin... and the stuff to accompany it is very well executed. this series is a unique and masterful reflection of our biases and beliefs in the digital age. a decade from now, we'll look back on this to realize it was ahead of its time.

Polybius Conspiracy

by mister topps on Nov 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This show is like the podcast version of an escape room. Where our junior detective narrators follow a breadcrumb trail of clues through the woods outside of Portland, just trying to solve a mystery from the 1980's. I loved how intrigueing the story was-- and that you never knew what was true or untrue. I wasn't at all aware of the urban legend this was originally derived from, nor am I a big fan of videogames, but it didn't matter-- the story was just so bizarre and interesting. Highly recommended.

Check out The Polybius Conspiracy

by artrulz on Nov 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Whether you're familiar with the Polybius urban legend or you're new to this strange story, The Polybius Conspiracy series is an intriguing look at arcade gaming's biggest mystery. Like any urban legend, there's a mix of fact and fiction that the producers combine and enhance to create a series that is a lot more than just a rehash of anecdotes and details that have been passed around for years. Fascinating, entertaining and a little bit spooky. Polybius is not just a game, and The Polybius Conspiracy is not just a podcast!

Blair Witch of Podcasts

by Siobhanmahoney2013 on Nov 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

What a great listen and (spoiler alert) I totally bought it hook, line and sinker. Kudos to the creators for blending urban myth, fact and fiction for a great ride.

Deeply dishonest

by morphy232 on Nov 21, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Polybius Conspiracy, in addition to being poorly made, should make clear that it's fiction

A Winner!

by Tigger4200 on Nov 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

There are so many podcasts that it's hard to keep track but this one is unique, creative and the production values are solid!

Good show

by Rydawg78 on Nov 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoyed The Polybius Conspiracy, even though I started to doubt its authenticity in Episode Four. The whole show puts a magnifying glass on a culture that allows stories like this to spread, and think their ending with the black game screen really drives this point home. This isn’t Pizza Gate, rather it’s about a artful analysis about how a video game named after a fact-checking philosopher took form in the internet age.

Polybius Conspiracy is fake

by Mrmatthew on Nov 20, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This series sounds fake, and it is, but they sell it as a true story. While they incorporate real interviews with real people re a real urban legend, massive parts of the narrative in this podcast series are completely fabricated, including the central character. I really wish they'd just been up front about this - I would have enjoyed it a lot more had known that from the start.

Well worth your time!

by BUTTSEXT on Nov 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great story, great music!