Average rating:

4.5
out of 1928 ratings.

The actual content gets lost among the ads!

by Manolia D on Oct 02, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The premise is great and the stories are usually quite good however I just couldn’t take listening to all the promos for other shows and ads at the start and the middle, it got to be too much. Unsubscribing.

So. Many. Ads.

by teawithv on Sep 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I think Brooke Giddings does a good job, and Bill Kurtis is a legend, but there are SO many ads on this podcast. Both from the narrator plugging products and external clips played, the interruptions are frequent and longer than any other true crime podcasts to which I’m subscribed. I fully appreciate the need for ads, and I am glad podcasts are available in the first place, but the duration and frequency in this podcast are jarring. Otherwise, this is a very well presented, succinct look at cold case files, and the cases chosen are always interesting.

I love the podcast but was shocked by political ad

by fingerlakes001 on Sep 25, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Although I like listening to this podcast, I was completely turned off today when the opening advertisement was a political ad with a racist slant against Anthony Delgado. No thanks :-(. Please think twice before you accept advertisements that are so slanted. It is beyond off-putting. But, if the ad was intentionally chosen by this podcast production then I guess it is good to know and I will take the hint and will need to stop subscribing.

It’s gone downhill

by mnmetal on Sep 25, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The amount of ads in this show make it almost not worth listening to. Nearly 10 minutes of a 30 min episode? Break up the story to talk to me about mattresses one more time! 🤬

I stayed for Bill Kurtis

by Marissa June on Sep 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I’ve been listening to this since it came out and what kept me listening was the stories being told. Some of these cold cases are SO interesting! It’s also nice to be able to listen to these cases since I don’t get around to watching it on TV as much anymore. The only negative thing about this entire podcast is the narrator. Brooke IS. SO. ANNOYING. Her input is so unnecessary and is childish. I cringe when she makes her comments. Thank god Bill Kurtis narrates some episodes because although I liked the stories being told, I don’t think I could have listened to Brooke for much longer. BILL SHOULD NARRATE THE ENTIRE PODCAST.

Potential

by Qzwxecrvtbynum2314 on Sep 20, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Unfortunately, this podcast alternates between the best true crime narrator alive, Bill Kurtis, and arguably the worst, some chick named Brooke who sounds like a bored Siri reading the phone book. She also seems to believe that her opinion matters to the story and that people care about what she thinks. How did this person get this job?! Cold Case files was an awesome show and this podcast can be just as good. Just lose the Brooke. The more I listen to this podcast, the more intolerable the Brooke becomes. She’s actually getting worse! Aren’t the producers listening to the show before they release it? The ability to simply read aloud doesn’t make a narrator. NO ONE CARES ABOUT YOUR OPINION, BROOKE!! No one cares about what you did, how you felt, what you googled, who or what you knew, or what you thought. KEEP YOURSELF OUT OF THE STORY!!

Great Stories, Terrible Host

by RPFroggy707 on Sep 19, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Brook, the host, sounds like a stuffed up pre-teen. She inserts her personal opinion in the stories, which is odd. “I don’t know what it is like to have a mass murderer kill my entire family, but I imagine it would feel like...” No. She ruins the podcast for me, her inflection and her speaking rhythm is very hard to get past.

Interesting, but has its annoyances

by ____JBT on Sep 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The content of the episodes is interesting, but I could do without the consistent reminders to check my biases when listening - just immediately makes me roll my eyes.

Too many commercials

by terrybeach on Sep 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The podcast is great but there are way to many commercials!!

“Rape isn’t generally about sex”

by Cmaerose on Sep 17, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I’m sorry rape is NEVER about Sex. The questionable nature of this statement was enough to make me unsubscribe:

Inflection

by BridgettJ on Sep 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I first started listening simply because it was about true crime. But now not only do I get to hear such informative narratives I get to hear your accent. Being a Southern girl I have always been fascinated by people from different states/countries of whom have a different dialect.

I wanted to like this...

by Cansd1 on Sep 16, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I started listening to this podcast because I loved the old Cold Case episodes with Bill Kurtis. This IS NOT that. Brooke imparts her uneducated opinion rather than the old way of just presenting the facts of a case. Her voice is terrible and she comes off as anti-police. I listened to many of these episodes with hopes it would get better - it seems very amateurish - but then they started throwing in the classic cases and I the differences are shocking. If this was presented like the classic episodes, it would be great, but Brooke is bad.

Great pod

by kimm702 on Sep 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

After going through a a lot of these podcast. (I’m a podcast newbie) The way they tell these stories - you can picture what there saying. Brooke is great! Her voice is very calming yet keeps you interested in each case.

Get a different narrator please

by britttanymtullinen on Sep 14, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

LOVE these stories but I’m not a fan of Brooke. I stopped listening to the other podcast she was on because of her narration and really sad she’s over this one. I wish they just played the actual show. I’d like to listen to these stories and form my own opinion not be forced to listen to this delivery.

Needs a new host

by MannyCurry on Sep 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I like the podcast, great stories, but the host isn’t very good. She sounds like she’s reading a script badly. A better host would make this podcast better.

Cold Case Files

by Mirzie Cornbread on Sep 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

One of my favorite shows.

More commercials than content

by SamsonMom on Sep 06, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

If you want something to listen to and your hands are free to use skip through numerous ads, go for it. Otherwise, this podcast is missable.

Great content but not a great narrator

by Jessielynn93 on Sep 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Cold case is my favorite TV show! It’s so well put together with plenty of clips. However, the podcast narrators voice is not great. The valley girl accent brings the professionalism down by miles. It reminds me of when i was in high school and someone was asked to read from a book out loud to the class. I love the cases covered but sometimes i cant take the voice so much I’ll stop listening for weeks until I’m desperate again. Please change the narrator or put in more episodes covered by bill and i would give this 5 Stars.

One Issue

by Long Jong Wong on Sep 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Love this podcast! Only thing I don’t like is the host. She is very annoying and always puts her opinion in and it’s not necessary.

Boi

by JasonCnKy on Sep 01, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Boi

So. Many. Ads.

by Yxhfujgg on Aug 30, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The content of the show is great but there are way too many ads. A 30 minute podcast should not have 6 minutes of ads.

Unbearable narration

by mkindr20 on Aug 29, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The narrator's voice sounds like Sid from Ice Age. Some people just do not have a voice for podcasts and should choose other professions.

Worst narrator EVER

by sandy cell on Aug 29, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Dear podcast producer, why do you want to torture your listeners with the worst narrator ever employed in podcast history. Are you deaf? Is Brook family and that’s why you hired her for THREE AGONIZING SEASONS? Is there really NOONE ELSE YOU COULD POSSIBLY HIRE to narrate this show?! Every time I hear her terrible, god awful, monotone, lifeless voice I feel like cutting my ears off. I pray you’ll find some sense and hire Bill Curtis.

Only one complaint...

by NOsollo on Aug 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Love the podcast, but can’t stand the narrator. Very amateur. Not a good voice for narration.

Equal parts podcast and ads

by Alibearrawr on Aug 26, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

So, I get that sponsors and ads are needed. However, recently Cold Case Files is about 18 minutes of episode and 12 minutes of ads. The ratio is way off. It's hard to get into the podcast when after only minutes of a story being told we're back at another ad. I totally support podcasts that are brought to us for free needing to make coin, but this is ridiculous. It used to be one of my favorite podcasts and now I find myself starting an episode, getting sick of all the ads, and listening to something else. I'm bummed. 😕

Good but

by uugii on Aug 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Its interesting to listen to but the ads are so long. I dont mind ads, i understand why but why so long and 2-3 ads at once ?

Pass......

by draj33 on Aug 24, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The "host" is awful..... please leave.

Okay filler

by Bachelorettes everywhere on Aug 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Normally a filler between my other favorites but it’s become so ad heavy it’s almost not worth listening to

Well written pod by too many ads!

by henixhemnahd on Aug 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I have to skip through a third of the show due to so many ads. The first 5 minutes are just straight ads. Not a fan

Feel like this is being told by a valley girl.

by rachrae on Aug 23, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I feel like this podcast *should* be amazing but Brooke’s voice is grating and she takes no time for diction. I love the Bill Kurtis episodes, but when she does an episode I feel like I am listening to a tenth grader’s school report.

Way too many commercials...

by Crump, T. on Aug 22, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Great show, but this new season has too many commercials. I know they need advertising dollars, but this 30 minute show has more than other 1 hour podcasts I listen to. I will stay subscribed, but will shuffle to the bottom of rotation. It’s almost comical when it comes to the adverts.

True crime

by ColeCaseClay'sMom on Aug 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Nice mixture of small and big stories.

just tell us how they solved the case

by Ellie1010fb on Aug 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Don’t care about jury bias or Brooke’s lack of legal expertise.Longtime fan but- The Golden State Killer series let me down. Skipped huge parts of the case that are very interesting, like why the guy was a suspect in the first place, and spent more than half the air time discussing victim impact and what juror bias means. This is supposed to be a show about solving cold cases- stick to that. Show would be greatly improved by having a host that speaks professionally and without their own personal takes that do not speak from experience.

Juan corona

by dirkNpit on Aug 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

One of the most notorious crimes in the 1970’s was in Yuba City, CA. Please do a story on Juan Corona, it is a very interesting story with such a sad ending.

Long ads short podcast

by No Koch on Aug 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

This could be a great podcast but there are some issues. Who wants to hear 3 minutes of ads before the show. Always do your ads at the end and please just rush through them. Otherwise a pretty good show.

Too many commercials

by Nursegirl306 on Aug 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Way way way too many commercials. To the point that I’m really close to stopping listening. Enough with the commercials already.

Terrible narration

by Btchplz6799 on Aug 21, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

How can you go from Bill Kurtis to this valley girl? I’ve tried several times to listen, but can’t do it. She should be narrating a podcast about celebrity gossip or something, rather than true crime. Ugh. Terrible!!

3/4 commercials 1/4 poor content.

by HUD50N42 on Aug 20, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Sooo many commercials. The content is not worth the long waits between ads.

Cold cases and sometimes Bill Curtis

by Citrus Sunshine on Aug 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sometimes it is a ‘classic’ case from Bill Curtis and sometimes it is the host, Brooke. I like the mix of voices and the story.

Work On Speaking Voice

by naskiddn on Aug 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Does the host have a permanent cold? The Golden State Killer episode was soooo hard to listen to!

Good content, horrible host

by Thwidbai on Aug 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Did the host get braces or something? The slurring and lack of enunciation is driving me crazy!

My favorite podcast!

by Codered112 on Aug 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellently produced and right in line with the style of the TV show. True crime at its best!

👎🏼

by Esy218 on Aug 14, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The frequent (LOUD) advertisements make this totally not even worth listening to. Use to love it.

It’s not that good

by Nijha B. on Aug 13, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I strongly dislike Brooke’s commentary on some of the episodes... she comes off as defending the perpetrator and majority of the cases have DNA evidence. I get her other podcast addresses the dysfunction in the criminal justice system but this podcast should address when we get it right... Also her voice is just ridiculous...

If it wasn’t for the narrator...

by Seka2458 on Aug 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I am very interested in the subject matter and the actual investigation work however, I am not a fan of the narrator Brooke. I get a feeling she is very critical of the investigators and frequently injects her own values into a subject matter that doesn’t require for the narrator to do so. Just my humble opinion. Sometimes I just want to yell at her like no you are wrong stop just stop!

Richard B.... L.I., NY

by Richard. B LINY on Aug 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Nice listen and Brooke is very good

Podcast

by stephen_58 on Aug 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellent podcast

Interesting!

by Megimango on Aug 10, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I really enjoy cold cases and it's great when they are solved! I like hearing news snippets and interviews with actual people. Cannot stand the host. I could do without the musings and just stick to facts. A little less “middle school news” type voice/delivery would be great. As well as refraining from the “I don’t know what I’d do if” and other unnecessary comments. If it’s Bill Kurtis narrating all the time, I’d be thrilled. Honestly, if it’s not read by the “insert ridiculous adjective here chosen by a 13 year old with a thesaurus” Bill, I delete it.

Not updated nearly enough

by Beautiful anonymous fan on Aug 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

There hasn’t been a post since 2017. I’m disappointed

More please!

by Stephy_A.M. on Aug 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I started listening to this podcast about a month ago. It is literally the only thing I listen to on my 30 minute commute to work. I finished it, but now I want more! When are new ones going to be released?