Average rating:

4.5
out of 1431 ratings.

Disappointing

by Me905458427734 on May 21, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This podcast was disappointing. The host tries to make it seem as though she is adding insight to the cases but she is severely lacking. I had to stop listening when she referred to a detective’s dyslexia as a “superpower,” and that he used his “superpower” to repeatedly review a cold case file for more information. Is the host 12? Is this playground talk about a detective solving the brutal tape and nursery of a little girl? No. This is exactly what cold case detectives do - they review the file looking for anything that might have been missed or overlooked, which is what led to the case becoming cold in the first place. While it is amazing what cold case detectives do, it is by no means a “superpower.” Also, the podcasts are more like an armchair detective’s attempt at dramatization of the original episodes. Literally, the interviews and commentary from family and detectives is from the show. No new work has been done. It’s like reheated French fries. Soggy and unsatisfying.

I’ve tried to like this podcast

by Kristin Shawn on May 20, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

But I’m unsubscribing. The amazing Bill Curtis is not worth putting up with the host’s monotonous speech pattern, lack of substance, and misleading podcast title. Add obnoxious commercials and I’m out!

Disappointing!

by TriciaBlake on May 18, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I’m a few episodes in & while I like the length of each episode & the structure I don’t like the narrator. She’s biased which all made sense when she plugged her podcast. Not like the tv show. Disappointed. Will try a few more to see if it gets better or they get rid of her.

too many ads

by Kelsaayyy on May 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I think the podcast itself is great but there are way too many ads for how short it is. It feels like half the podcast is ads. If the podcast was longer this wouldn't feel like a problem.

Advertising gripe

by CrystleArdoin on May 08, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Decent content, but I find it annoying that they advertise a show called Murder Made Me Famous. I listen to Cold Case for the satisfaction of justice being done - not to glorify murderers. The ads are absurdly long on this podcast as well. I listen anyway, but prefer other shows like Casefile.

The Narrator

by Jwolfinbarger on Apr 29, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I understand that things need to be scripted, but this is honestly the worst narrator of all time. She sounds so fake and robotic. Also, whoever wrote the script thinks everyone listening is an idiot. You seriously thought you needed to have Brook explain what an idling car was to me? I tried really hard to like this podcast. I listened to several episodes, but I can’t handle the narration any more.

Great Stories, Terrible Host

by RPFroggy707 on Apr 29, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Brook, the host, sounds like a stuffed up pre-teen. She inserts her personal opinion in the stories, which is odd. “I don’t know what it is like to have a mass murderer kill my entire family, but I imagine it would feel like...” No.

Cold Case....Yayyyyy!!!!!!

by SooEz2Luv on Apr 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Finally Cold Case, I love this podcast! but the narrator’s voice, I have to get use to. It’s not one that I would want to listen to reading e-books to me though. You can’t start from the beginning and have them auto play up to current, you have to keep clicking them to play. There should be an option to ascend as well as descend while playing. It would be nice to play them in order. But I still love it, her annoying voice and all!

Amazing!

by Annie So on Apr 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

In all honesty I work for 10 1/2 hours a day and am listening for that long most podcast bore the hell out of me and get off topic and I loose interest. Every time you put out a new episode I will be listening to it that same hour :)Thanks for being awesome, Annie So

Great show

by BDopp76 on Apr 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love true crime and this is my favorite podcast by far. Well done, great topics, love Bill Curtis narrating.

Brooke’s voice is so childish.

by C Posey on Apr 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Podcast is great. Brooke Gittings is deplorable as a host. Thank goodness for Bill Kurtis biweekly

It’s Good

by KarentheWriter on Apr 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I love podcasts & true crime. When I saw the title, it brought back memories of the show. However, the pace was a bit too fast. The host sounds like a robot and talks very fast. Cold cases with resolutions, great. Pace, too fast.

Great story telling

by cominguproeses on Apr 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sad stories, but told with great story telling and respect. I listen daily.

Interesting!

by Megimango on Apr 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I really enjoy cold cases and it's great when they are solved! I like hearing news snippets and interviews with actual people. Cant stand the host. I could do without the musings and just stick to facts. If it’s Bill Curtis narrating all the time, I’d be thrilled.

Too many ads for short podcast

by TXBecki on Apr 11, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Ridiculous number of ads for such a short podcast. Storytelling seems half-baked at times with cherry picked details.

Great stories

by Tomgebe on Apr 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love it

Anti Airbnb add?

by DRex212 on Apr 10, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I hardly think true crime podcasts are the place for cheap political advertisements, and one from the hotel lobby no less. You look desperate Podcastone. I will be unsubscribing from all of pc1. This is so disappointing :(

Cold cases

by Federal st on Apr 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve been listening for a while and this is fantastic. Some podcasts drag on and on , not this. I disagree with the reviews saying derogatory things about the narrators voice. I find it great. Easy it listen to . Some are asking where’s Bill .... he passed away so no he won’t be doing it. Yes we all enjoyed him. Brooke does an outstanding job. 👍🏽

A+ but I want longer episodes

by Bhjsgshs on Apr 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Well done podcast! Makes my commute not feel like a commute!

50% ads

by jessievondair on Apr 04, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Love the show but it’s becoming more ads than anything else.

Good but annoying

by AfireCracker on Apr 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Commercials are intrusive and too many for such a short program.

Great!

by Thisisthe4thnicknameivetried on Mar 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I love the storytelling and that there is resolution to each episode. I would give it 5 stars if Brooke was the only narrator. Not a big fan of Curtis. I wish they’d stick with Brooke!

Trauma informed podcast? Love it!

by Bridgesfree on Mar 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the first time I have found a true crime podcast that offers the story through a trauma-informed lens. As a social worker, Brooke speaks about the brain and the trauma that the perpetrator may have experienced that led to their behavior. As a trauma-informed therapist, this intrigued me! Very well done!!!

Hideous radio ads

by Sam V Adams on Mar 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Great podcast but with FM/TV style ads I’m ready to unsubscribe. I love podcasts but hate FM radio because of the ads. Change this or lose a subscriber.

Well produced, but host distracts from the story.

by radiounited on Mar 01, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The podcast is good, well produced, good storytelling. My criticism is about the concept of the show. I would prefer just to listen to the story unfold more in the words of those involved rather than our host’s sometimes distracting and uninformed commentary on everything. I don’t know why I should care what she thinks about police methods, or her personal opinions on the statements by the families of missing or murdered people. The show is her injecting her feelings into an already laid out story so if you’re into that, you’re into that. Also, maybe this is petty, but she sounds like she’s reading a children’s’ book most of the time- very juvenile sounding with some occasional uptalk and that really betrays the mystery and heaviness of the subject matter a little bit, especially when compared to Bill Kurtis, the voice of A&E’s Cold Case Files.

Stick with Curtis

by miketallica on Feb 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Good idea for a podcast, but the female is terrible. Stick with the original narration.

Love this podcast

by Mrcool312 on Feb 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast but think the narrator should share less of her opinions on certain matters. I think it should be the facts of the case, what happened and how it was solved. When the narrator starts to share opinions it takes away from the case. It becomes less about true crime and more about a persons opinions on what happened. But overall I enjoy it.

Needs a new host

by Walkerr81 on Feb 23, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I don’t like Brooke’s voice. She has a weird inflection. Sorry, if Bill did every episode it’d be 5 stars.

Great podcast!

by Kbizzle309 on Feb 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the podcast, especially the ones with Bill Curtis!!

Too Many Ads

by Stealesy on Feb 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I’m currently less than 14 minutes into the latest episode and 5 minutes of that was purely advertisements. One of the offers in the ad was even expired. It’s not as if you’re a small indie podcast that “needs funding”. Ridiculous. There are too many other, better researched pods out there with longer episodes and less ads.

Um where’s Bill?

by joycemf on Feb 13, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I expected to hear Bill Kurtis’ magical ASMR voice but no :(

Revisiting the A&E Show

by Jennimay on Feb 07, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This pod simply revisits the old episodes of Cold Case Files. The narrator on the episodes that do not use the original Bill Kurtis audio is highly unlistenable. A stale, vocal-fry, highly scripted style of presenting with no real investment. Another good idea ruined by unbearable commentary.

Good job

by Future.daydream on Jan 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

One of the better true crime podcasts. Really well done.

Potential

by Qzwxecrvtbynum2314 on Jan 31, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Unfortunately, this podcast alternates between the best true crime narrator alive, Bill Kurtis, and arguably the worst, some chick named Brooke who sounds like a bored Siri reading the phone book. She also seems to believe that her opinion matters to the story and that people care about what she thinks. How did this person get this job?! Cold Case files was an awesome show and this podcast can be just as good. Just lose the Brooke. The more I listen to this podcast, the more intolerable the Brooke becomes. She’s actually getting worse! Aren’t the producers listening to the show before they release it? The ability to simply read aloud doesn’t make a narrator.

Great podcast

by Aprilbaby744 on Jan 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the show, love Brooke, love it all. Most of all I love that the shows have ending. I love closure.

Love this podcast!

by Dave the Rave 10 on Jan 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to a lot of murder/crime/mystery podcasts - and have narrowed it down to about 5 I regularely listen to. This is one of them. Good narration & commentary, facts don't overload a good storyline, and nice background and social context adds to the story and characters.

Poor Host

by dellmichelle on Jan 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Thank God they have Bill Kurtis narrating some episodes now. Brooke Gittings is hard to listen to. She always sounds sick! First she read too fast, then too slow. She sounds like a high school student having to read her paper to the class. A&E can do better than this. She is not in the same league as Bill Kurtis.

Very interesting.

by yettalos on Jan 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Enjoying this podcast while I work. Makes time go by fast.

Hate the new voice

by BankerBrandy on Jan 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I Love, Love, Love this but now we have this new narrator and it just takes so much away from the actual story :(

Host ruins the podcast

by Smitty4160 on Jan 24, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The host inserts her opinion, guesses and theories. I’m not a fan of this. I like to hear the facts of the cases not a social worker’s take on the case.

Narrator needs work

by Charmanella78 on Jan 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I like this podcast; great content. However, Brooke needs to work on her diction and tone. She sounds like a child reading a news article in front of the class. One of the best out there, but she makes it difficult to thoroughly enjoy.

Love the story. Can’t listen to the narrator

by Jael-/ on Jan 23, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I love the stories. They’re really good.But no disrespect to Brooke, she can’t narrate. I couldn’t either if I wanted to. But you’d think A&E could afford to get somebody with a good narrating voice... unlike me and Brooke. I swear half the time she has the flu. It makes them nearly unlistenable.Also, all to often she pops in with her own opinion on the morals of a case or asks when the killer is revealed, “was justice served?”. It’s such a jarring change of direction from the rest of the episode that it just annoys the crap out of me. I listen to hear the facts of the case, not for the narrator’s (whoever it is) moral posturing. To all of a sudden switch to the first person is just really strange. Anyway, other than those things a pretty great podcast. Lol

Remove Bill Kurtis

by Drea2550 on Jan 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast. Brooke is the best. From beginning to end this podcast it's so easy to listen to.Not overdramatic, doesn't string you along for days. Can't find another podcast like it. Just one thing leave Bill Kurtis out of it.Had enough of his voice, love Brooke

Well done!

by Prema-AeriePeak on Jan 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I really like finally having resolution on cases that went unsolved. The show is well-written and presented. Thank you!

Really enjoyable, easy to listen to.

by Pokerandguns on Jan 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I really like this podcast, the narrator is very well spoken, and the stories are very informative.

Meh

by BettiSpaghetty on Jan 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Stories are interesting; the retelling of said stories is less than stellar

Sniffles

by bp0206 on Jan 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Does she constantly have the flu or why does she sound like that? Please get a new narrarator.

Needs a new host

by Wolfgang meowmadeus on Jan 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The content is wonderful but Brooke Is not a very good narrator.

Always interesting

by Purduemeg on Jan 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great

Review

by kidca on Jan 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Love the content, but Brooke Gittings needs lessons. She sounds like a Valley Girl who is about 12 years old. Honestly, I have kids in school who can read with more drama and especially enunciation. It is so annoying that I have to turn it off sometimes.