Average rating:

4.5
out of 1044 ratings.

Great podcast!

by Kbizzle309 on Feb 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the podcast, especially the ones with Bill Curtis!!

Too Many Ads

by Stealesy on Feb 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I’m currently less than 14 minutes into the latest episode and 5 minutes of that was purely advertisements. One of the offers in the ad was even expired. It’s not as if you’re a small indie podcast that “needs funding”. Ridiculous. There are too many other, better researched pods out there with longer episodes and less ads.

Um where’s Bill?

by joycemf on Feb 13, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I expected to hear Bill Kurtis’ magical ASMR voice but no :(

Revisiting the A&E Show

by Jennimay on Feb 07, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This pod simply revisits the old episodes of Cold Case Files. The narrator on the episodes that do not use the original Bill Kurtis audio is highly unlistenable. A stale, vocal-fry, highly scripted style of presenting with no real investment. Another good idea ruined by unbearable commentary.

Good job

by Future.daydream on Jan 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

One of the better true crime podcasts. Really well done.

Potential

by Qzwxecrvtbynum2314 on Jan 31, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Unfortunately, this podcast alternates between the best true crime narrator alive, Bill Kurtis, and arguably the worst, some chick named Brooke who sounds like a bored Siri reading the phone book. She also seems to believe that her opinion matters to the story and that people care about what she thinks. How did this person get this job?! Cold Case files was an awesome show and this podcast can be just as good. Just lose the Brooke. The more I listen to this podcast, the more intolerable the Brooke becomes. She’s actually getting worse! Aren’t the producers listening to the show before they release it? The ability to simply read aloud doesn’t make a narrator.

Great podcast

by Aprilbaby744 on Jan 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the show, love Brooke, love it all. Most of all I love that the shows have ending. I love closure.

Love this podcast!

by Dave the Rave 10 on Jan 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to a lot of murder/crime/mystery podcasts - and have narrowed it down to about 5 I regularely listen to. This is one of them. Good narration & commentary, facts don't overload a good storyline, and nice background and social context adds to the story and characters.

Poor Host

by dellmichelle on Jan 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Thank God they have Bill Kurtis narrating some episodes now. Brooke Gittings is hard to listen to. She always sounds sick! First she read too fast, then too slow. She sounds like a high school student having to read her paper to the class. A&E can do better than this. She is not in the same league as Bill Kurtis.

Very interesting.

by yettalos on Jan 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Enjoying this podcast while I work. Makes time go by fast.

Hate the new voice

by BankerBrandy on Jan 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I Love, Love, Love this but now we have this new narrator and it just takes so much away from the actual story :(

Host ruins the podcast

by Smitty4160 on Jan 24, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The host inserts her opinion, guesses and theories. I’m not a fan of this. I like to hear the facts of the cases not a social worker’s take on the case.

Narrator needs work

by Charmanella78 on Jan 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I like this podcast; great content. However, Brooke needs to work on her diction and tone. She sounds like a child reading a news article in front of the class. One of the best out there, but she makes it difficult to thoroughly enjoy.

Love the story. Can’t listen to the narrator

by Jael-/ on Jan 23, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I love the stories. They’re really good.But no disrespect to Brooke, she can’t narrate. I couldn’t either if I wanted to. But you’d think A&E could afford to get somebody with a good narrating voice... unlike me and Brooke. I swear half the time she has the flu. It makes them nearly unlistenable.Also, all to often she pops in with her own opinion on the morals of a case or asks when the killer is revealed, “was justice served?”. It’s such a jarring change of direction from the rest of the episode that it just annoys the crap out of me. I listen to hear the facts of the case, not for the narrator’s (whoever it is) moral posturing. To all of a sudden switch to the first person is just really strange. Anyway, other than those things a pretty great podcast. Lol

Remove Bill Kurtis

by Drea2550 on Jan 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast. Brooke is the best. From beginning to end this podcast it's so easy to listen to.Not overdramatic, doesn't string you along for days. Can't find another podcast like it. Just one thing leave Bill Kurtis out of it.Had enough of his voice, love Brooke

Well done!

by Prema-AeriePeak on Jan 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I really like finally having resolution on cases that went unsolved. The show is well-written and presented. Thank you!

Really enjoyable, easy to listen to.

by Pokerandguns on Jan 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I really like this podcast, the narrator is very well spoken, and the stories are very informative.

Meh

by BettiSpaghetty on Jan 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Stories are interesting; the retelling of said stories is less than stellar

Sniffles

by bp0206 on Jan 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Does she constantly have the flu or why does she sound like that? Please get a new narrarator.

Needs a new host

by Wolfgang meowmadeus on Jan 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The content is wonderful but Brooke Is not a very good narrator.

Always interesting

by Purduemeg on Jan 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great

Review

by kidca on Jan 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Love the content, but Brooke Gittings needs lessons. She sounds like a Valley Girl who is about 12 years old. Honestly, I have kids in school who can read with more drama and especially enunciation. It is so annoying that I have to turn it off sometimes.

Awesome podcast!

by Stevosloan on Jan 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Absolutely everything that I was looking for in a podcast! I am a welder, and I spent quite a bit of time, with my welding shield down and alone with my thoughts sometimes. This is a great podcast to listen to while working. It definitely helps speed the day along!

Thank you for ditching Brooke

by ThatKittyCatMatt on Jan 10, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

For the love of god, please don’t put us through anymore Brooke. Why did A&E ever think that was a good idea. She sounds like a 12 year old with braces.

Superficial, amateurish, disappointing

by Rob-Nee on Jan 08, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I’m surprised A&E would put their name on this. The narrator’s robotic monotone machine gun delivery is devoid of dynamics, and hard to listen to, and makes it hard to follow the story. I gave it a try.

Thank you for adding Bill!

by Buzzfanmom on Dec 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I really love this podcast and appreciate the fact that they brought Bill on the narrate. Brooke seems like a nice girl but she does not have a good narrator’s voice. She sounds like a kid reading a book to her classmates.

Great podcast

by MandaCost on Dec 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I really enjoy Brooke’s narration. I know it’s sacrilege, but I like her episodes way more than the classic ones with Bill Kurtis - no disrespect to him, but his is a very different narration style and the switch was jarring. I wish the episodes were longer, but that may be because I went through them all so fast!

Great podcast

by Emmiecanada on Dec 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast !

It's good but...

by R.C.4.H on Dec 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Intro commentator speaks so SLOW.... in the beginning, says one word then a long long pause then another word followed by another long long pause. I'm like okay, then I'm like she's not done yet? Wow REALLY?? Finally it starts and I'm thankful she's done talking. Finally.

Can't stand the host.

by Sense-ay on Dec 14, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I really like the cases this covers. I wish they weren't all jammed into the same half hour and could go longer to get more info if needed. (Edit: I was wrong some are longer.) Now about the host. I don't know if it's her writing herself into the commentary or someone else and she just interjects when she feels like it. Either way I don't care what her opinion is in these stories. The cases are solved. I just want facts from this story. I could NOT care less if you feel this way or another about what someone felt or thought. Get out of the story. It detracts from the narrative and feels like you are pushing an agenda in some of these "opinions". I will say at least it doesn't happen often but it seems to be more prevalent in some stories than others.

Like stories, not Brooke

by ph24 on Dec 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The Show is good to listen too...except when Brooke is hosting. Doesn’t have the right flow or drama that makes me want to listen. Take for example the BTK episode last week. She didn’t even have the whole story to tell the audience, had to go “research “ the 1st four killings of this murderer. She sounds like a high school drama student doing an internship.

Great Case Studies but ...

by Steve Dubya on Dec 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

The SCRIPT is very informative but the narrator needs to slow down and add some inflection to her voice. It should sound more like a professional production based off of the TV show and less like a High School speech.

great show, better than watching (please improve the ads)

by Tr6wap on Dec 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the podcast and look forward to listening every Tuesday. Nostalgia at it's best. A little contstructive critique: The commercial length for a single product is excessive. Specifically the Quip toothbrush ad that went on for several minutes in the 12/12/17 episode. It drove me to make this post.

Horrible Narration Ruins the Entire Podcast

by Vegasrunaway on Dec 09, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

In reading the other reviews, I see many of us share the same opinion. This podcast has a lot of in-depth information which appears to be carefully and accurately researched-exactly what you’d expect from A&E; however, the entire thing is absolutely ruined by the poor narration. This classic true crime based on A&E’s program hosted by Bill Kurtis is great in theory and content; however, I’ve been unable to listen to it because of the narrator’s voice. The female, who takes turns with Kurtis in doing the narration, has a nasally voice that sounds like she is always on the cusp of a breakdown. The wobbly nasal unsteadiness and uneasiness of her voice makes my teeth grind and sets me on edge. Her voice inflections and diction is quite poor making her sound uneducated and amateurish. It’s truly a shame because her voice destroys what could be a great podcast. Her warble-like tone with all its other weaknesses makes me nervous and is so unpleasant that I have stopped listening. It may be time to take some voice lessons or get a new narrator.

Meh

by Lemonsucker on Dec 06, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

This podcast has so much potential! There is so much dead air when they transition that I think there is something wrong with my phone. Definitely could use some help with the technical issues and this would be a really good podcast.

This Narrator <

by cakers999 on Dec 06, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I love Cold Case Files, but this narration has completely ruined this podcast for me. I tried so hard to like it, but I cannot listen to the monotone Narrator read the (terrible) script off the page into my ears any longer.

Amateurish Narrator

by Joeyr75 on Dec 06, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I couldn’t get through the BTK episode. Narrator sound like she’s reading the morning announcements in high school. No emotion or proper inflection. Not professional sounding.

Love!

by JoJoIsenhart on Nov 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love listening to this podcast. I like the host. She’s got a great voice and I like how she tells the story. And an added bonus is Bill Kurtis does a show every once in awhile. I love listening at work. Thank you for doing the show!

Great Show

by nanoflower68 on Nov 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I like Brooke. I can’t wait to see how she will develop. Gets better with every show.

Love this podcast!!

by ladybugcutie99 on Nov 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Brooke does awesome job in telling these stories.Very well produced. Good selections of stories.

Ruined

by Alice's Daughter on Nov 21, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The content is good, but I can’t listen to Brooke’s voice. Good production is tough, but why use someone who sounds like a 5th grader doing a book report? C’mon, A&E. You can’t be okay with this.

Bill Kurtis!!!

by @nthonyA1286 on Nov 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I literally used to look for a bill Kurtis cold case files podcast so freaking awesome more episodes with him would be great!!!!

good content-bad host

by meh1124 on Nov 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Brooke.... stop talking through your nose.... the other host makes the stories bareable but geez.

Okay wait.

by Antie annes on Nov 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

So I love this podcast but that guy narrator has to go. Keep Brooke. Her voice is so much easier to listen to. please keep BROOKE ON ALL PODCAST

Pretty Stimulating

by LoyalBaseballFan on Nov 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Bill Kurtis is the GOAT! I’m going to try to get into the audio only side of this...

Love

by M19C78W on Nov 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The podcast. Always looking forward to the next episode.

Good but sometimes abrasive delivery

by Joeshmowjoe on Nov 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

This podcast would be so much better without this sweet girl sharing her safe opinions and millennial worldview. I know that is harsh but the subject is often murder and she spends so much time talking about how learning about the murder made her feel, etc.

Strong listener!

by Kingkey33 on Nov 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love listening to the show while I’m driving to work. The stories are told so well that I can picture them as if I’m actually watching on tv. I do not watch it on TV so it makes it that much more interesting when I hear the outcomes. Keep them coming. I’m listening... and be safe.

Great show and great narrator

by keacam on Nov 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It’s not always that you get a great story and podcast with a narrator whose voice and communication style doesn’t drive you crazy. Brooke does a great job telling these stories and moving the narration forward. They’re intriguing!

Sad fan but still like the crime stories

by Notchoz on Nov 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Don’t like that the fact it’s a different commentator now. Miss ya Brooke !