Average rating:

4.5
out of 2204 ratings.

Potential

by Qzwxecrvtbynum2314 on Jan 16, 2019
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Unfortunately, this podcast alternates between the best true crime narrator alive, Bill Kurtis, and arguably the worst, some chick named Brooke who sounds like a bored Siri reading the phone book. She also seems to believe that her opinion matters to the story and that people care about what she thinks. How did this person get this job?! Cold Case Files was an awesome show and this podcast can be just as good. Just lose the Brooke. The more I listen to this podcast, the more intolerable the Brooke becomes. She’s actually getting worse! Aren’t the producers listening to the show before they release it? The ability to simply read aloud doesn’t make a narrator. NO ONE CARES ABOUT YOUR OPINION, BROOKE!! No one cares about what you did, how you felt, what you googled, who or what you knew, or what you thought. KEEP YOURSELF OUT OF THE STORY!!

Not good

by Ingr1d65 on Jan 16, 2019
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The narration is just plain not good. The host sounds like a child reading an essay. And the writing is less than average. It’s annoying see a 4.5 star because there are truly great podcasts with this rating that are leaps and bounds above this. A&E... I usually love everything you are involved with. What were you thinking?!

Awesome

by Kmbyo on Jan 15, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Brook your voice is awesome. Let the haters hate. Love this podcast!

Need a new narrator

by cannotpublishnegativereview on Jan 15, 2019
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I really want to continue listening to these interesting case files - especially because you get the satisfaction of resolution..... but unless Bill Curtis is narrating I have to skip the episode because Brooke’s diction , voice quality and speaking style are NOT meant for “ prime time”. I feel badly about the negative personal review- but it is a detriment to an otherwise fascinating podcast subject

Overall pretty good

by JavkieGamezs on Jan 07, 2019
Rating: ★★★★☆

I feel like this podcast is pretty good and I can do with Brooke’s voice, but what makes me cringe is how Brooke will respond to her own questions to the listeners like “Want to know who the killer is? Me too.” But overall pretty good with details! There will be times where I will forget who’s who and Brooke will do a small review of the person that will make me remember who they’re talking about!

Too many ads

by Amos81 on Jan 06, 2019
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I know podcasts have advertisers to fund the show, but this one has waaaaaaaay too many for a show that averages around 30 minutes in length. Commercials at the beginning, in the middle and at the end. Pretty sure I hear more about socks and home security than I do the cases. Super annoying. Unsubscribing.

My New Favorite

by jtjldean on Jan 03, 2019
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I really appreciate the simplicity of this podcast. The host does not try to make it about herself but interjects just enough to engage the listener. Well done.

Two thumbs up!

by padraigmccue on Dec 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The stories covered on this podcast are extremely interesting and I love that the crimes shared are those that have been solved! Keep up the great work!

Love the original series but..

by Jaaaa1234321 on Dec 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Lady, could you please leave your politics out of it? Anyone with a brain can make their own decisions without a partisan opinion.

Interesting

by •1listner on Dec 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It’s different to hear a solved case... in a good way. Brooke adds an interesting aspect with the social worker lens.

Great podcast but not so great narration.

by i hate ring tones on Dec 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I love true crime and I love hearing about good cases being cracked. So of course I was very excited to start listening. I’m not giving up and I was hopeful that Brooke would take listeners advice and change her delivery. Nope! The podcast should not have the same tone as its ads! Please add some intensity Brooke! You’re clearly a successful podcaster but the bland delivery is so boring. This could be a number 1 podcast without a doubt.... but Brooke’s voice is holding it back.

Great podcast

by nycfluxster on Dec 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to a few true crime podcasts, and was very happy to find one that discussed cases (mostly) not covered by others. I like the host’s conversational style and the show has a good rhythm that keeps me engaged.

Please stick to stories

by Agtyuio on Dec 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Overall the podcast itself is great but we all hear enough about politics in our every day life and don’t need reminders at the end of every episode. Please stop 🛑 not everyone cares about what anyone feels about What The President is doing wrong every single day.

Pretty predictable for a real life mystery show.

by broberts436 on Dec 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I’m enjoying the content but would like to see some more stories that don’t go: murder/rape, trail goes cold, 15 years later DNA found at scene was ran, gets a hit, arrest made, case closed. This is the story line for 60+% of these cases.

So whack

by pillowman3:16 on Dec 12, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I was hoping to have an awesome narrator like on the old school cold case files show, but I got curveballed! This is amateurish and not very listenable

Bias Brooke.

by J. Fano on Dec 04, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I can barely stomach the bias that comes from Brookes mouth!!! Just finished listening to a podcast where Brooke dam near defends a babysitter who murdered multiple baby’s because the suspect was a woman!? I’m used to that kind of bias with the way things are now a days but the day before Brooke did something similar with a serial killer just because he grew up in government assisted housing and was black! Keep your personal opinions out of the podcast. Facts not feelings.

Good but could be better

by HLynnB8 on Nov 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I really love true crime & cold case stories that have an ending are really exciting. But I cannot stand the narrator Brooke. She constantly interjects herself into the story (no one cares), and has horrible tone & delivery. I don’t listen to the episodes she’s in & only listen to the episodes narrated by Bill Kurtis (which is normally every other episode). A new narrator would make this a 5-star, can’t miss podcast.

Love the host

by Bridges722 on Nov 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Her voice is so comforting to me, best part.

Good But Download is Spotty

by Gmajilly on Nov 28, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I like this podcast, especially when Bill Kurtis is the narrator. However, the download is spotty at best and half the time I only get the commercial introduction and then nothing.

Great crime podcast

by Jgi85 on Nov 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I always loved Cold Case files and these are done interestingly. Some are narrated by Brooke and some are classics. A favorite podcast of mine

Night Shift

by TXDrummer81 on Nov 25, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

In response to the "Night Shift" episode, it was disheartening how this episode coddled the murderers' actions.There are some things that have no excuse, and holding a person's legs while your buddy stabs him in the chest with a screwdriver is one of them.Surely, we must show mercy and forgiveness to even heinous acts, but this episode called into question whether there was any punishable element to assisting in murder, if one did so out of fear.

where is bill kurtis?

by the harleen quinzel on Nov 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

in info area at top of the screen, it mentions that this is narrated by Bill Kurtis...sometimes it is...most of the time, it is narrated by a woman. I love Bill's voice, so this is disappointing.

C’mon ADS

by leeroy jenkens on Nov 17, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Average is about 1/3 or less actual show and 2/3 ads or some drawn out into or recaps. Used to love it, now can’t stand it. Unsubscribing

Love this podcast!

by kcarp1992 on Nov 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast, Brooke and her perfect diction!!!!!

If only a different narrator

by rrdeleon on Nov 14, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I can barely stand the narrator. Just does not speak well and uninteresting to listen to.

Love the podcast, narration needs work

by mari_b3 on Nov 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Love the content, can’t stand Brooke’s voice. I agree with the other reviews that she makes it sound like a school project at a community college and her diction is off.

Brooke Gittings is a joke

by gypsysoul4ever on Nov 12, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This podcast has nothing to do with Brooke Gittings!! She is stealing an A&E show and stamping her name to it!! Talk about riding someone's coat tales! She is tying to take credit for work and a show that does not belong to her!

Podcast One is NOT your friend!

by Tangle70 on Nov 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Brooke, don’t listen to the naysayers; your podcast is great. However, your “friends” at Podcast One are NOT your friends. Their introduction is loud and jangly and hardly works with the serious nature of your subject matter. Tell them to come up with something more appropriate for you.

Interesting cases but hard to listen to

by OMG nickname not available on Nov 06, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I really enjoy listening to the cold cases and how they came to be solved. However, the narration is awful. Childish voice, nasaly/congested, just overall hard to listen to.

Please get rid of Brooke

by Reeeeebeecka on Nov 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I love the stories but I can’t stand Brooke’s voice. There’s been times that i skip over her narration because it makes me cringe. It sounds like she needs to blow her nose or that she just got done doing a work out and is out of breath. Please get rid of her. I would rate this show higher but can’t because of her.

Stop

by Barbi Roddam on Nov 04, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I just want to hear about the cold case. Please stop inserting your opinions about psychology and social justice.

Jeeze Brooke, learn how to pronounce

by Hdhxisjdb on Nov 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I can't listen to the episodes narrated by Brooke. Seriously... Being able to iterate is crucial for podcasts

It’s only a tease

by kabcocam on Oct 29, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Being a fan of the original tv series, I subscribed hoping to hear Bill Kurtis. Very disappointed with whoever it is that narrates this podcast. She is not a good choice and does not do it justice.

Great

by Bathe great on Oct 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Awesome

Keep it up Brook!!

by michaelmary3 on Oct 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

You are awesome at what you do!!! I love listening to all your podcasts Brook!! Great voice!!

Please don’t make this into something political

by Nanismo79 on Oct 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I enjoy listening to the show, but when Brook makes her little comets about politics an makes excuse for the crimes, it totally ruins your credibility!!! So pleas make sure just keep to facts!! And save the political agenda for the news and stupid Actors, around us, we have tons of those trying to telling us how to be.

Commercials

by andread666 on Oct 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I really enjoy this podcast but I cannot stand the commercials and how long and inconsistent with the sound they are.

Bad Narration

by kfam1980 on Oct 24, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Interesting stories but the narration is so bad!! They should stick with the original Bill Kurtis narration.

All about the narrator

by cmd.cincy on Oct 24, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Content is disturbing & intriguing but narrator seems to find plenty of time to talk about herself. At times her voice is challenging.

eh

by TAEPHILIACS on Oct 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

i like the cases but if brooke could just work on her diction, the podcast could actually go places. she sounds congested at all times and it really takes away from the listening experience.

Was a good pod

by nfl88 on Oct 23, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

This was a good podcast till the host decided she needed to inject her political beliefs into the show, and her moral superiority to everyone who believes killers deserves our sympathy. Just download the old case shows with Bill Kurtis

Great Stories, Terrible Host

by RPFroggy707 on Oct 23, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Brook, the host, sounds like a stuffed up pre-teen. Is she sick? She inserts her personal opinion in the stories, which is odd. “I don’t know what it is like to have a mass murderer kill my entire family, but I imagine it would feel like...” No. She ruins the podcast for me, her inflection and her speaking rhythm is very hard to get past. Why does Brook enter herself into the story? “His birthday was on the 24th, mine is the 25th” WE DON’T CARE! WWBCD? (What would Bill Curtis do?) You are a narcissist if you need to enter yourself into every story. Please pick a different host!

Commercials?

by DEW2706 on Oct 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I had been enjoying this podcast until the commercials started. Two minutes at the beginning of the episode. I’m not a fan of the commercials.

Cut back on so much advertising

by dj vs I fb NBC CNN n on Oct 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The cases are very interesting, but the advertisements are getting annoying. That's the only reason I'm doing the three stars. 1/3 of an episode is advertising.

Too many sponsors not enough content

by Victoria Boreing on Oct 17, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Podcast is amazing, oratory also amazing but a 28 min podcast that dedicates almost 8 minutes to sponsors or advisory notices, I know it’s free but goodness.

Great stories but more ads

by Han, J.D on Oct 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Man, so many adds. It’s like 10 mins of great stories and the rest is ads 🤮

The actual content gets lost among the ads!

by Manolia D on Oct 02, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The premise is great and the stories are usually quite good however I just couldn’t take listening to all the promos for other shows and ads at the start and the middle, it got to be too much. Unsubscribing.

So. Many. Ads.

by teawithv on Sep 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I think Brooke Giddings does a good job, and Bill Kurtis is a legend, but there are SO many ads on this podcast. Both from the narrator plugging products and external clips played, the interruptions are frequent and longer than any other true crime podcasts to which I’m subscribed. I fully appreciate the need for ads, and I am glad podcasts are available in the first place, but the duration and frequency in this podcast are jarring. Otherwise, this is a very well presented, succinct look at cold case files, and the cases chosen are always interesting.

I love the podcast but was shocked by political ad

by fingerlakes001 on Sep 25, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Although I like listening to this podcast, I was completely turned off today when the opening advertisement was a political ad with a racist slant against Anthony Delgado. No thanks :-(. Please think twice before you accept advertisements that are so slanted. It is beyond off-putting. But, if the ad was intentionally chosen by this podcast production then I guess it is good to know and I will take the hint and will need to stop subscribing.

It’s gone downhill

by mnmetal on Sep 25, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The amount of ads in this show make it almost not worth listening to. Nearly 10 minutes of a 30 min episode? Break up the story to talk to me about mattresses one more time! 🤬