Average rating:

5
out of 7424 ratings.

Absolutely unique

by flyingdics on Jul 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A listening experience like no other.

Human and humane

by angryundies on Jul 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Gives me shivers. It shines clear that people don’t cease to be people just because they’re incarcerated. Mandatory listening.

Definitely Listen

by CFMontonado on Jul 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I LOVE Nigel and E and Lieutenant Robinson. A wonderful podcast. Keep it up.

The best podcast

by Mikeyraw409 on Jul 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Shout out to tommy shakur Ross joker

Amazing!

by Dj pearle 23 on Jul 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a great concept and really gives some amazing insight into prison life. Love this show, if you haven’t subscribed yet, you need to stop reading this and do it!

One of the best

by SEBrokaw on Jul 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I've enjoyed both seasons of Ear Hustle. Some episodes are uncomfortable to listen to, but they still need a listen. Well produced with interesting topics.

Interesting, Heartfelt and Educational

by Orangegirl1976 on Jul 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast strikes the perfect balance of holding your interest, tapping at your heartstrings and teaching you something you didn’t know. Both hosts are smart and articulate and they interact well with one another. This has quickly become my very favorite podcast.

My favorite podcast

by Virginia Ellen on Jul 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I came across Ear Hustle after listening to Caught, WNYC’s short series on the US juvenile justice system. Funny, interesting, surprising—I listened to two seasons’ of episodes in two weeks. Can’t wait for the new season. Some topics I’d love to hear about: Can you have musical instruments in San Quentin? Are people loaned them or do they bring in their own from the outside? Are there times of the day when people practice? Are there any bands?What is the educational programming like in San Quentin? Is it conducted by a secular company? (Don’t a lot of prisons across the country receive educational materials from religious organizations?) Do a lot of inmates participate in it? What kind of job training does San Quentin offer?What is prison like for people with noncitizen status? How is San Quentin different for people of non-U.S. origin? Is there a significant multilingual community in San Quentin?

Wow

by Bunnymom16 on Jul 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m really mind blown by this podcast, i just listened the episode about the lgbt community in prison and it is so heartbreaking to listen to the stories. Really amazing podcast!

Privilege

by KKeller2 on Jul 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Well if this doesn’t make you think about how privileged some of us are just to be born in to a loving family with food on the table... Dirty Water episode will make you ugly cry on an airplane. Firsts episode will make you NEVER take hugging for granted again, ever. The escape story.... it’s SO GOOD.. all of it!

I need more

by jlwerd on Jul 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Give me more. Tell me all the things. I have never been to prison but I’m incredibly interesting in knowbwhat happens behind the bars and excited that more people will realize people serving time are more than their crimes.

Revealing, surprising, and very funny

by Vandystar on Jul 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Life in prison over the long haul, told through anecdotes from the men themselves. Their point of view is eye opening. It humanizes them for me, illuminates their challenges and their growth. San Quentin has implemented programs that help prisoners change their lives. This is not Oz. Great podcast, well edited, very entertaining, delightfully funny.

Inspiring

by Middlefishy on Jul 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I found this podcast from the tv interview and was instantly obsessed. What you guys are doing is incredibly important. You have inspired me so much, and have given me hope for my cousin, who is currently incarcerated. Thank you so much!!

Mind is blown!!

by Antny024 on Jul 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As a society I think we are taught to look at convicts in the simple terms. Terms that make us comfortable. To believe we shouldn’t care about their lives. We shouldn’t care how they’re treated. We shouldn’t care about their day to day lives. As a citizen and a husband and a father I have very little sympathy for convicted criminals. As a human being I have an enormous amount of empathy for your plight (self created or not). You have created a podcast that forces me make a choice. I can listen and empathize because you are a human being. Or I can disregard anything you say because it’s more convenient. I have chosen to listen. To learn, to laugh, to cry to be amazed at the stories, to wonder how you can get through a day. If I had to make a choice between criminals and victims. I’d choose victims every time!! But I can listen to you while still having a greater sympathy for the victims.

I am obsessed

by Kikiv22 on Jul 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is so interesting and pure I am so intrigued with every episode. The real ness and truth shine through and I am thankful to all your efforts.

Enriching content

by Alejandrosaurus on Jun 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I listing to podcast while at work (drywall/custom interior) and I found Ear Hustle in the suggested list of podcasts. I gave it a try and was hooked! I listened to both seasons without hesitation because the content was so engaging, the E and Nigel have a terrific way of sharing details and feelings inside SQ. I highly look forward to the next season and I hope many more after. Thank you!

Wow

by Oggump on Jun 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Absolutely awesome

Amazing

by ColbyBeer on Jun 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Unbelievably insightful!

Love this podcast!!

by KDDFERG on Jun 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I discovered your podcast this fall. I commute past SQ every day and so very much appreciate the stories you share. It’s been really great to listen to what you have to share! I talk about it with my students, co-workers and friends. I WILL be order a shirt and can’t wait to wear it! Keep up the amazing work!

I love this podcast!

by TeRe1972 on Jun 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

You all are going to be pivotal In changing how we see justice through

Highly recommend!!

by SreviewsS on Jun 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is great and fascinating!!!!

Podcasting Behind Bars

by Alexander Gates on Jun 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Ear Hustle is a generally positive look into the US prison system, specifically San Quentin. The hosts, one volunteer, and one inmate, pick a topic of life in prison to talk about and interview other inmates. The podcast is supported and approved by an officer and I appreciate that he doesn't always like the topics. It's a great way to hear about a life that many of us will never experience or understand first-hand. It's a short-form podcast, so very easy to listen to and catch up on old episodes.

One of the best!

by KateSos75 on Jun 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one of the best podcasts out there!

So good

by beckers1990 on Jun 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast blows my mind. I’ve cried to some of the stories because it’s sad. You just don’t think about any of this stuff when you are in society. Great podcast.

Love everything about this

by DJMD76 on Jun 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love everything about this podcast. Hearing from the different people and their stories on the inside makes you realize even people in prison are still people. One of the most thought provoking podcast I’ve heard. Please keep them coming.

Great storytelling!

by Tay Fig on Jun 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I heard about this podcast on CBS Sunday Morning. The storytelling is great and reminds us that we are all human, on either side of the bars. Look forward to new episodes each week.

Not what you expect, but better

by danjger on Jun 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The production quality and topics are superb. Each episode covers another interesting aspect of prison life. The episode on fatherhood was fantastic with some very touching and difficult moments. This show really makes us think about humour and humanity in extreme and mundane situations. Great work E, Nigel and team.

Human and eye opening

by scharles23 on Jun 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Fantastic stories not only about life on the inside, but on what it means to be a human being and how we define ourselves

Best podcast I’ve ever listened to

by TastyAngel on Jun 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Listened to every episode available so far yesterday at work. Amazing content that really made me stop and think. Can’t wait to see this podcast go far. Keep up the good work.

Genuine stories about real human experiences

by Drewdes87 on Jun 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a great podcast!

Awesome perspective

by pekelly_ on Jun 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. The hosts do a wonderful job narrating and coming up with new content! It is so important to humanize these inmates and allow them to tell their story. My only wish is that the episodes were longer.. can’t get enough!

Can’t get enough

by Tucky03 on Jun 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I get easily irritated by annoying voices and I love these 2 hosts. The content is great and I wish there was an endless supply to get me through each work week!

Amazing!!

by irieirene on Jun 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you for for this program, thank you to the volunteers, staff and the inmates for letting us peek into every day life for inmates. Our mindsets went from perps to actual living breathing people with opinions, experiences and thoughts. It’s changed the way we perceive incarcerated people...... again thanks to EVERYONE!!!! And keep it coming!!!

Great idea to tell the other side of things

by Happy2use on Jun 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This show is a good insight into the life of a prisoner. The stories, truths, and life experience of these inmates definitely shines a light on what works and doesn’t work in our society, in and out of the prison. I look forward to each episode. The production of this show, with the host and all those who work in the background, show that people given the proper chances; can reform, and do want to make something of themselves. And to have value. Thanks for what you do and keep up the great podcasts!

Great podcast

by HolafromHawaii on Jun 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

My cousin is incarcerated, this podcast really reminds you, that just because people are incarcerated, they still have feelings, needs and love. It’s made me reach out to my cousin a whole lot more, Thank you

Binge-ing at its best/Just People

by KnowJoy on Jun 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I binge listened to both seasons in less than two days. I think Earlonne and I would be besties if we met IRL. Except, my nickname for E would be “Indeed” My mom always told me that there was no such thing as bad people or good people. We are all people, and sometimes people do bad things or good things. This podcast embodies that belief and shows the world that incarcerated people are just people. Not bad people. Not good people. Just people. Or folks. Keep up the great work, Nigel and Indeed!

Where was this when my step dad was younger

by DeathStar1369 on Jun 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I was born and raised in Southern California. My parents divorced when I was 2, my mom met a guy later on who has alway been in and out of jail bc of his actions, which have lead my sisters and I to drift off from communicating with him. I just wish that maybe if he faced stories or was introduced to this, his ways might have changed. We have tried. I’ve taken my kids to the jails and prisons to visit ppl and let them know that there’s so much to life and sometimes convictions are wrong but for them to know not to mess up or be with the wrong ppl. Thank you for this podcast. Keep your head up

My favorite podcast

by bdfyi on Jun 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to podcasts regularly (The Daily, 1A, Embedded, Reveal, Caught, Trump inc, to name a few). Ear Hustle is my absolute favorite. The segments humanize the inmates, giving me insight into their thoughts, struggles, dreams, and regrets.

So interesting!

by pamscout on Jun 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast! I’m very ignorant about what goes on in prisons and people that are in prisons and this really illuminates that experience for me. It also humanizes felons for me, which I think is an excellent thing for all of us who’ve never had a loved one who’s served time. Thank you for this. I can’t wait for the next season!

One of the best podcasts out there

by Learrs79 on Jun 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

There’s not enough positive things to say about this podcast. Vulnerable, timely, informative, entertaining

Alumni

by B-87615 on Jun 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As an Alumni of SQ from 76-81, I New about the SQ News paper, and was amazed when my brother told me about your podcast Ear Hustle. People on the outside have no idea what goes on inside the minds of the incarcerated men of SQ. Thank you for sharing your lives with us and giving people a glimpse into the daily lives of men who are serving Life inside the walls of San Quentin Prison.

Prisoners are human too

by barr55 on Jun 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m very impressed with raw and candid interviews with prisoners and there real struggles being in prison. Thank you guys

Absolutely amazing

by Snickers4life023 on Jun 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I had actually never listened to a podcast before until I heard about this one on CBS Sunday Morning. I thought it was very interesting so I took the time to listen. I really love how everything is so real and that the people listening can connect with the speakers.

Real and vulnerable

by MKCBAEL on Jun 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you for this podcast. I am thankful for your human perspective on life inside and for your work to humanize those locked up. I hope in season three we can hear even more individual stories, maybe a little more in depth. The long ones you have done so far have been so well done I’ve thought about them for months afterward. A big piece of ending recidivism is for people to truly be given a second chance when they get out. Your podcast helps to show how inmates are people, not their crime(s). Please keep up the good work. We need it!

So

by liverpooldude13 on Jun 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Incredibly well done. Outstanding work, truly something I look forward to so thank you

One of my favorites!!

by RISINNB on Jun 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I LOVE it when new episodes come out!

This show is awesome

by MzNapps on Jun 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve never written a review before but I must say how much I love this show. It’s heart warming, insightful, eye opening and interesting. It gives dignity to people who are often overlooked and it doesn’t glorify violence or prison culture or anything. It just tells stories about interesting individuals and I’m HOOKED!

Great

by Antenbunny on Jun 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this show. It’s just fabulous, I enjoy it so much.

This is amazing

by Misanthropic1 on Jun 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m riveted and I just started my first episode. I feel a binge of listening coming on. I appreciate this important work being done here. This is truly meaningful! Thank you! Best wishes!

Fave!

by Justine Nicole Bosio on Jun 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

love driving to work and home listening! My fave