Average rating:

4.5
out of 1620 ratings.

100

by Mooseman1313 on Jun 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Larry does such a great job of giving perspective.

Keeping it 100

by Sweetpeasowner on Jun 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Makes me laugh, makes me learn, inspires me, and opens my mind. Thank you, Larry. I am a white, middle-aged female and I think you are funny as hell! Keep bringing us all together through your honesty, comedy, and conversations.

Worthless

by Vega007 on Jun 07, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

He says “you guys” way too much. His guests are just his friends that agree with him. And he gets a raging hard-on for Trump every and I do mean every podcast opening. Pass on this nonsense.

Best Episode Yet

by Magik on Jun 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Dear Larry,This was a great podcast. Sabrina was one of my favorite shows growing up. Just to add clarity on the topic of black writers in the comedy late-nite world... I interned at one of the shows mentioned. Zero black writers, but the crew was great when they weren’t confusing me for the other black intern. Probably happens in a lot of offices but this was a big impact on my career path. I appreciated the opportunity to be on one of the biggest shows on Comedy Central at the time but the only people of color I see were IT or Exec. Assistants and I lost a lot of focus trying to break into that world.

Great to hear Larry “black on the air”

by Sonju93 on Jun 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Like a lot of his fans, I was very disappointed when Larry’s show was canceled. Now, I am very excited to hear him again on his own podcast.

Together Again!

by Boris Badinov on May 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I was bummed when Larry’s show got cancelled. I just recently got into podcasts and his was recommended based on my other selections. This 67 y/o white, Midwesterner is now joyfully catching up on what my brother has been doing now that the M-Fer has been convicted. Rock on!

Love Larry!

by EMO Philly on May 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I’m so happy that I get to listen to Larry again! I was heartbroken when he was taken off Comedy Central. I look forward to hearing him interact with his guests.

Larry = Awesome

by Gayle P on May 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this show. This podcast is SO much better than a 20-minute TV show, broken into 5-minute segments! Now we can actually hear detailed real and valuable insights, one guest at a time.Keep up the great job, Larry!Love you man. ❤️

I haven’t forgotten about you, Larry!

by Anonymou$ on May 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Four stars instead of five because of too much talking about basketball. It’s great to have Larry back! Larry takes a topic to a fair depth be it social commentary or something lighter. Well worth listening to on a regular basis.

Get the insight and the humor

by Vandystar on May 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Larry Wilmore is great, I love listening to him. I missed The Nightly Show, glad to get these podcasts. He brings a black man’s point of view to current politics, adding context and backstory for a wider perspective and a deeper understanding of today’s news. But he does it with big humor, he’s very funny. It’s an excellent pod. He’s a superb interviewer too, doesn’t make it about him, lets his guests get their message out.

You guys...

by Jenely on Apr 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love it when Larry says “you guys.” Great show, love the guest interaction, and Larry’s intros.

Larry is For Real

by Mongmedia on Apr 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you, Larry! In times like these, it's been nice to cope, laugh, and learn with insightful interviews and humor by a great comedic mind.

One of the best in the game

by Kim PR on Apr 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Larry Wilmore is one of the best (if not the best) interviewers in the game. He actually LISTENS to the people he is interviewing, he's smart, witty, and funny as hell. What more could you want? I love this podcast.

One of my favorite podcasts

by Heytonyk on Apr 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is brilliant. It helps me see current events through the lens of being black in America, and Mr. Willmore is as funny as ever. Some of the best discussions you’ll hear in any podcast.

Hit or miss

by Kaiser Soso on Apr 19, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I'm tired of the victim mentality

Not enough updates

by Doggface Killa on Apr 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I don’t know Mr. Wilmore’s schedule, but this podcast isn’t updated very much. It doesn’t have to be done daily, but once a week would be good.

Larry’s great with guests!

by Cubby C. on Mar 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Just listened to the episode with Daveed Diggs and loved it. I’m adding this to my list of podcasts. Thanks, Larry!

Larry is just too good

by jupauls on Mar 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is my favorite podcast! Not because it’s the first I listen to, in fact sometimes I’m a few weeks behind. Every time I listen I am amazed by how wide of net Larry’s knowledge and conceptualization casts. It makes me jealous. I would have never thought I would like a Forrest Whitaker interview but because Larry is so well versed he could relate to many deep issues as an interviewer that he knew he would connect to the deeper side of Forrest. Thanks Larry for the hang. Epilogue: My favorite episode was the one with Dan Rather.

Incisive, intelligent, funny & friendly

by AvalonM on Mar 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It’s so great, having Larry W. on the airwaves again, after the sudden, lousy cancellation of his NIGHTLY SHOW. One good thing is, in some ways, I enjoy this podcast even more. I listen to every episode, and wait impatiently when they take a break. It’s like visiting with a good friend, and one who introduces us to such interesting guests, with lively conversation. Larry even makes me interested when he talks about sports. I was kind of in heaven when he announced Malcolm Gladwell as guest—my two favorite podcasters (and two of the greatest, most thoughtful guys in the public eye today) together! Bravo and thanks, Larry! (Yes, in my mind, we’re on a first-name basis.)

Love Larry!

by clibrandi on Feb 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

What a great show!Love Larry’s take on things and he always has great guests!

Greatness

by Diggers6 on Feb 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Larry, I look forward to your show every week. Your insightful, humorous, honest, and, intelligent—I appreciate it all! Your latest episode with Katie Couric was excellent. Thank you for your voice, talent, and opinion!

One of my favorite people

by Mikeylauf on Feb 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love Larry Wilmore! Sad when his TV show we was cancelled. So awesome to have him back. Great podcast

Mr. Common Sense

by Jose Suerte on Feb 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It is so good to have Larry's voice back on the air or computer or whatever. He is a such a stable voice of reason with a balance of good humor. We all need to hear Larry. Now i hope Larry has more podcasts. He is like a good cup of coffee. Reassuring and helps you wake up.Plus he is a Lakers fan.(yes)

You heard me Larry

by Ally Means on Feb 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Two women back to back😱. Do what your pal Bill Maher can never do, have nothing but women on the show for the rest of the season. Make us proud Larry!🤓

Unique voice

by xrywinx on Feb 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this weekly podcast. Even here in rural Maine we find and appreciate a unique voice to listen to from all the way over in the opposite corner of the country.

Brilliant

by Bethdigsit on Feb 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Just so good

Appreciate this pod!

by Ma Joad on Feb 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As a middle aged white woman I crave knowledge about how to be a better co-citizen with ppl of all colors and cultures. This is one of the shows that helps me get that information, I love hearing Larry’s perspectives and humor.

Unique!

by Coloradoorbust18! on Jan 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Larry strikes a perfect balance of intelligent commentary and humor.. totally enjoyable! Every episode is a total surprise & delight!

I should have watched the Nightly Show

by Ryan StoveTop on Jan 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Life’s all about mistakes. I made a huge one by not watching and supporting the Nightly Show when Larry was on Comedy Central headlining his own show.Larry gives such insightful opinions on the stories at hand, offering a comedic and critical analysis. He goes over the line with his comparisons and analogies, which is the job of a comedian. To take risks and say the things everyone is thinking, but don’t have the courage to let out.Thank you for holding it down Mr. Wilmore and Go Lakers!

My favorite podcast

by Approaching old ladydom on Jan 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast - can't wait for each new episode and really miss Larry on the off weeks. Great commentary before his interviews.

Thank you Larry

by roo-tical on Jan 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Just found this and listened to 6 in a ow and am so grateful Larry is doing his thing. Everyone needs Larry Wilmore

Humor and intelligence!

by Lss659 on Jan 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

What else could you expect from one of the funniest and smartest people ever? He has great insight into many issues affecting ALL of us, including this 66-year old white woman. The conversations with his guests are always intelligent and stimulating with humor and wry observations. I'm forever grateful for The Bernie Mac Show. Thanks for the great podcast and all the great stuff you do 👏

Takes up where his TV show left off

by North Jersey Rock Fan on Jan 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I really feel that if they had given Larry’s TV show 6 more months it would have a large following now. But this is great - he gives good commentary at the beginning of an episode that doesn’t necessarily need to go for the joke (but often makes me laugh out loud). My complaint is it is not consistently coming out - I’ve wondered “was it cancelled”? Actually I’ve got too many podcasts saved already so why am I complaining?

racist banter

by Bochettesnot on Dec 31, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

cause brown on the air was already taken

Smart and Funny

by sundriyogini on Dec 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I miss the nightly show but so glad Larry got into podcasting.

Sexist

by David Gibbs Portland 4444 on Dec 29, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I stopped listening to this show because I cannot stand how Larry refers to everyone as “guys”.Guess what Larry - more than half of your listeners don’t identify as “guys” - so your language around this is pretty sexist and thoughtless. It’s 2018 - wake up Larry.

Black on the Air

by Sunny Wunder on Dec 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Larry,Your podcast keeps me sane. I always look forward to listening to your humorous and intelligent insight on current events. I am a 66 year old white female that is grateful for a male of your sincerity and wisdom!Namaste,

MUST listen!

by Peter in Hawaii on Dec 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It’s so great hearing Larry ‘Black on the Air’! He has great guests and thoughtful commentary on stuff that matters!

Old School/New School

by saddlebomb9 on Dec 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Larry says it himself, he loves old school and podcast is just the modern version of old radio programing. And I can only see podcasting becoming more popular with time due to 1. access is more conveinent that TV, 2. it is more affordable to produce. 3. People need more mental stimulation than visual. Exciting to have him back out sharing issues and views that the public is concerned about and trying to figure out. Podcasting is a wonderful medium for his humor and content as he uses inflection and metaphore with most his humor and expression on issues, both audio based. Look forward to years of listening to great discussions and realistic views on what the country/world needs to be looking at. Thank you for the quality along with the entertainment.

Larry's Back!!

by LoracEvol on Dec 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Larry Wilmore: Black on the Air has quickly become my favorite podcast. I missed his very much when he left Comedy Central and am so glad to have another forum where he keeps it 100.

So happy to hear Larry on the air!

by PazMD on Dec 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Your voice is needed!

Glad for Larry’s return

by Jbfan1981 on Dec 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This gives Larry more creative control and opportunities to have engaging conversations for longer than 30 minutes.

A contination of excellence

by kwong3 on Dec 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I came to Mr. Wilmore's show on Comedy Central late.However, I quickly got into it and couldn't get enough; shortly thereafter,however,the show was cancelled to my dismay. In any event, I was happy when Larry resurfaced with his candid discussions, filled with his trademark humor, and eclectic subject matters and guest. I listen to a number of podcast, and Black on the Air is easily one of my top 3.

Best podcast ever!!

by Dargies on Dec 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I had been looking for a podcast for years actually and nothing hooked me. I listed to good episodes, but I never found one to continuously listen to. However, Black on the Air is amazing!! Everyone should try this podcast! I promise it’s 💯!!

Top-Rate Information

by Quasi_Tomasi on Dec 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

From a highly respectable and valuable perspective. Listen and you won't regret!

We Need More Shows Like This

by Pdl826 on Dec 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Larry is so insightful and had such a wonderful sense of humor. Some of the guests, I’ve never heard of before but I end up being a huge fan by the end of the show. Larry has such a soothing voice and my only complaint is that he needs to create more episodes more often. I need more Larry!

Love Larry

by Glubglubbarf on Dec 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

We love Larry. The podcast is great, but I have one criticism. It's very self indulgent. We all want to hear Larry's opinions and he has some great guests, but what we REALLY love is his comedy. Insider info about how comedy is made is about as exciting as watching grass grow. More comedy! Less analysis. Please?

Wow

by Kamasimi on Dec 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This guy is one of a kind. The best! Gives me hope. Thanks Larry!!

Larry’s Black

by NerdyBlackLady2017 on Nov 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Called out the 2016 Presidential election for what it was “The Un-Blackening”. One of the many reasons I was so bummed when The Nightly Show was cancelled. Excited Larry’s found a format to express his voice. Funny, thoughtful, conversations intersecting race, comedy, politics feminism, sports....Glad to have you Black On The Air Mr. Wilmore.

Talented

by Johnson7 on Nov 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Funny and smart! Great combo!