Average rating:

5
out of 434 ratings.

Smiling and thinking

by snumber1 on Feb 08, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the perspective of these conversations. They make me think long after they’re over. But in these times when everything in media can seem catastrophic and hopeless, listening to these two talk (and often laugh) together makes my day even when the topic is hard.

Listener for life!!

by Mama_GG on Feb 07, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I heard you guys for the first time today and I absolutely love the take on parenting and life y’all share! It’s so true to life! In the episode I heard first, Get‘cho Kieds, what y’all said about don’t embarrass me in public rule, I grew up with that rule. We are Italian and my grandparents were seen as poor dumb dark skinned who were dirty and uneducated, nothing could be farther from the truth but still the stigma stuck. We were raised with tremendous pride in our ethnicity and our parenting was very much like you shared, communal parenting within our group. My kids are now 21 and 25 now so I am out of the kiddy pool for now, grandkids to come! Thank you so much for sharing!! You are both very well spoken and I absolutely love you and this podcast! Brilliance!!!

One of my faves!

by merahood on Jan 03, 2019
Rating: ★★★★☆

Love these two - smart, funny and creative. I just wish the levels were set a little better - the voices are deeper and hard to hear and the music transitions are loud.

1 minor tweak

by i_crowe on Jan 03, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Never agree with everything they speak Into, however, can’t stop recommending this to everyone. Always has me thinking. The 1 tweak, editing: Prop, you loud and Alma’s soft spoken, mics volumes need balancing Leave out the sound effects and editing to make what you’re talking about sound more dramatic. Let what you say, speak for itself. No need for the echoing effect, it’s lame and overused in the podcasting world.

Fan

by Stacey Purdy on Aug 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It's hard to communicate how much I appreciate this podcast. The chemistry between Alma and Prop is undeniable. Their humor makes me laugh loudly and their intelligence challenges me to think deeply. I look forward to each release. The American church would be much better off if everyone listened to their podcast.

I love it!

by kasey.ann on Jul 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

So amazing! Propaganda and Dr. Alma are both so wise, knowledgable, and articulate. I learn so much from every episode. Keep it up guys!

Thankful

by cassielindaperonotanto on Jul 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Y’all have created one of the inputs keeping me sane these days—thanks so much for helping this white girl stay aware, awake, and some mix of angry/hopeful about the state of things. You break complicated things down so that they are very relatable to the average human, but at the same time, your analyses of things are deep and astute. I respect the way you process out loud and interact with each other. On top of all that, y’all make me laugh!

Yes.

by MrChingChongMan on Jun 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great supplement for current events. Alma & Prop’s voices are much needed in today’s larger sphere of politics. Should you listen to this show? Yes.

MISSED YOU!!!

by loveendures on Jun 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

So glAd you are BACK!!!!! ❤️❤️🤙🏽🤙🏽

Amazing

by tiffleww on Jun 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. It’s politics, Jesus, relationships, and more. Alma and Jason are so real. I can listen to them and hear their sincerity. They believe what they speak, and they actually live it out. Love being a part of their journey by listening. I love that the episodes are an hour or more. Perfect for driving, cleaning, etc. After every episode I want to hear more. Love them and what they’re doing! Definitely recommend this podcast!

Dope show!

by JVC88 on May 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Happy season two is out! I love the cultural talks. My favorite part of the show is the political hoodness. Thank you for putting effort into making a good show.

Fresh Air Indeed

by Azikiwe Calhoun on May 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Hey Prop and Alma,This is first time listening to this podcast, long time fan of your music. I got into podcast two years ago, and enjoy the variety of subject matter. One of things I find frustrating is the lack of people of color creating podcasts. Or I should say podcasts from people of color worth listening to. Often when searching for new podcasts from brown folks, I get a limited selection. It should be just as easy to locate podcasts like this, instead a barrage of white faces. I wonder if this just my thinking, but I believe there is more to this.Anyway, I appreciate the balance between you two and how you dissect the subject matter. It is well thought out and purposeful in its delivery. It resonates with my soul. So excited I found “The Red Couch”. Thanks so much for this.

Thank you!

by FindingFoxes on May 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I found this podcast maybe a month ago and quickly listened to every episode. I was so happy to hear about season 2 - right on time! This podcast has honestly allowed me to engage in politics for the first time in a while. It has also done so much to expand my perspectives and touch on issues that I’ve felt a growing passion for over the years. I’ve found myself referring to this podcast in so many conversations the past few weeks and binged all of Prop’s music! I love to hear your cultures shine through and your obvious chemistry. I also am encouraged that Alma is DR. Alma, because of the strange guilt I feel being one of the only in my family to be pursuing a degree.. Just so inspiring all the way around! I’d love to hear you all talk about mental illness as relates to the church and also those who don’t have access to affordable care. This obviously also is strongly connected to addiction because so many self medicate..Rambling now! Thank you all for doing this!

Lifegiving

by Karina.ab on May 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is truly just lifegiving. As a Hispanic woman married to a mixed man representation is so important and I’m so thankful to have stumbled on the red couch! These conversations are so important and I’m so glad they’re happening in spaces such as this.

Love it!!

by bethie_fleming on May 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the perspective. I learn new things on every single episode. (Side help: Alma is hard to hear sometimes compared to prop. The sounds levels aren’t even?)

Truth talk

by dr.strangelove! on May 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Loved the discussion about how our heroes disappoint us. Humans with giftings are like the book of judges- there are ups and downs, but God is in the book of Ruth in the little daily events- like when “mom pulls up a stool and we learn by doing” Let’s hope Kanye follows u2’s path.

Love this podcast!

by Ernie777 on May 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

So glad you are back! Look forward to each new episode! Alma needs a better mic. Most recent episode sound is all off. Cheers!

Lit

by leetuser2337 on May 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This show is lit

Great Art

by chefpat on May 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I listened to every episode last season. I was sitting on the edge of my seat. Waiting for them to start up!

Good Listen

by Sonnyishness on Apr 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Always thoughtful, fun, and informative

So good!

by ChrissyJoy11 on Apr 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the truth, openness and vulnerability in this space! Grateful for voices of color!!

Eye Opening

by CahonMan on Mar 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Dr. Alma ("refer to her by her prefix") and Propaganda are so incredibly humble in their expression and explanation of societal issues of our time. They have five segments in their show. They have helped me understand politics, race relations, social justice, and systemic issues so much better. It's deep and thought-provoking, but they do an excellent job of making it accessible. It's eye opening and heart wrenching at times, but they take a laid back and even comical approach to it. They share how they use jokes and relying on the Lord to help them with handling the emotional turmoil of some of these issues, and they bring that kind of vibe to this podcast. I listen to alot of different podcasts, and I have to say this is one of my favorites. It humbled me, and ridded me of a lot of bad preconceived ides; I loved it so much I listened to all the episodes in like 3 days, so I can't wait for the next season. Thank you Dr. Alma and thank you Propaganda! God bless you guys

Great podcast.

by Jacob Durall on Mar 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Super easy to listen to, truthful content packaged in an accessible way.

Insightful

by Joy215 on Feb 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoy this podcast. I caused me to think and learn and I appreciate the dynamic duo that makes it work so well. Thank you for lending your voices.

Red Couch where you at? Is there going to be a second season?

by Gzs4lfe on Feb 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Entertaining commentary!!!!

Just started listening

by Disco Don 1977 on Nov 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

You guys are great. I respect you as an artised and activist. I can't spell but I dug what I hear. Would love to covers with you all sometime.

I'm understanding whats going on

by Pattitattat on Nov 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Yo!!!1 i know whats happening in politics and yall are so funny. thanks so much for starting this.

Red couch

by Ntomblin on Oct 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Prop and Alma are so insightful and funny! I binge listed to the whole season!

Woke Podcast

by Caleb Mason (Ohio) on Oct 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast continues to expand my perspective and has fun while doing it.

BEST

by -TinaOh- on Oct 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast so much - I'm so thankful for the perspective they share and their wisdom. Hoping for season 2 soon!

Keepin it Real

by Yarn333 on Sep 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

So thankful for a different view/understanding/explanation of so many different things. Also I LOVE props laugh. Keep on keepin it real!

Hood Perspective

by NATO Poppins on Sep 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Its beautiful to hear perspectives from people like me. I’m a young Latino who struggles to find podcasts that relate to me. This is one that scratches that itch, while also providing a insight from fellow people of color.

Refreshingly challenging

by Psimp on Sep 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. The hosts consistently challenge my own perspective and experiences. It's hard for me to find that challenge in the real world, so I'm grateful for the opportunity they give me. Keep it up!

Two thumbs up!!

by Sunny Shae on Sep 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Preciate y'all!

❌❗️💯

by Dansalazar on Aug 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This👏🏿is👏🏿the👏🏿best👏🏿couples👏🏿podcast👏🏿period👏🏿

Real Talk

by MSJmn on Aug 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Appreciate the real talk about a range of social, relational and spiritual issues

More Honesty Would Be Nice

by @josiah4311 on Aug 23, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The hosts seem well educated on topics discussed at first, but there's not much substance beyond the normal talking points I hear from other political podcasts. I would suggest that the hosts honestly state their biases before pretending not to be left-leaning. I understand that your audience is most likely right-wing christians, so you feel like you need to act unbiased to get through their wall, but I see right through it. I'll keep listening and change my review if my opinion changes. I think that's fair.

Blow my mind

by BlueGroove_25 on Aug 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Prop & Alma are amazing! This podcast has been amazingly thought provoking. As a white male in our society, I don't always realize how privileged I am. This podcast has helped me gain perspective and an understanding that something's I will NEVER understand because of my background/culture/gender/race.

Love it!

by Superwomanunderwear on Aug 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is bold and in your face. I enjoy the discussion and the engagement of this couple. It's funny but also very truthful and because I am not black or Latina, I get a different perspective from what's going on in my head. I very much love expanding my thoughts and my viewpoint by having Prop and Alma in my head on a weekly basis!

Necessary words, spoken gently

by Young Pastor’s Wife on Aug 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

What you have to say is so good for me. You challenge me, educate me, and help me understand what the crap is going on in the US! As a white woman raised in a middle class conservative Christian environment, I needed this. Keep loving Jesus and speaking truth without hate.

Entertaining, insightful, & educational

by bjeckstein1 on Jul 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If you are looking for a podcast that encompasses current events, politics, hip hop, racial issues, social justice, and religion then this is the perfect podcast.

Bored

by Seems alright on Jul 13, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

2 episodes in and I'm legitimately bored. Sorry. Great chemistry and great occasional dialog when they actually get down to the meat of topics, but aside from breaking down/getting into things, it seems like they babble and beat around the bush a lot.

Recommend.

by KaitlynHall on Jul 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I only get my news from Prop and Dr. Alma. maybe that's not good. But I like them so who cares. They're fun to listen to! Listen to this podcast if you want to laugh and get a little less racist.

A unique view

by WhistleP on Jul 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I SO appreciate Propaganda and Dr Alma opening up about their multi ethnic marriage, their experiences growing up as minorities and their deep insight into culture and community. It's just what a WASP girl from the suburbs needed.

Essential listening

by Hassluke on Jul 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I learn so much listening to Alma and Propaganda. I cannot recommend this podcast highly enough.

Love it!

by _xotm on Jul 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I absolutely love listening to this every week! Definitely puts what's going on into an easier way for me to understand haha. My favorite parts are definitely How's your heart and the vocab! Great job friends!!

Love the perspective and info

by Marietta Stechmeyer on Jul 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love listening to this podcast with my husband. It's definitely cool to have the male and female perspective on all these heavy issues. Also good to hear perspectives from Prop- a black man and Alma- a Latina woman. That's importance for us as privileged white folks... we're trying our best to listen and learn, so I love the way they speak with grace and honesty. I like listening to a convo between people I respect. It makes me think about what I think about. Prop and Alma, thanks for putting this out!

Meh

by Jmedallion on Jul 06, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Nothing special.

Great

by Review beaaaaassstt on Jun 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast

Great Thoughts & Perspectives

by liza in chicago on Jun 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Such a good podcast! Dr Alma & Prop = 🔥 Relevant info with great thoughts and discussions. Living in the hood in Chicago, I personally love the Hood Politics section. 🙌🏽