Average rating:

5
out of 5405 ratings.

My Favorite Crooked Media Podcast

by The Poor Man's Aristotle on Dec 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast keeps it real while keeping me informed about countless stories that I might otherwise not hear about. Great energy and chemistry brought by the hosts.

Great Podcast

by whywhywhy@gmail on Dec 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Hosts are very well informed with thoughtful insights on topics we don’t hear about in other forums.One criticism: I don’t understand why DeRay says “ay ay ay” after his introduction every week. It’s annoying.

Simply one of the Best podcast!!!

by Tolkeinfan48 on Dec 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Enjoyed last three episodes immensely! Love you guys!

My favorite podcast

by koolesttttt on Nov 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is such an interesting podcast, it's compelling and nuanced and I learn something every week. It's absolutely worth the listen.

I’ve learned so much.

by CheffyMcLunn on Nov 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks to DeRay, Brittany, Sam & Clint for providing insight into racial/political issues that were not upfront and center in my life before now. I thank you all for sharing the realities of how this country operates and for awakening me to what needs to be fixed/changed/altered in order to make this country great for ALL. Thanks for sharing your knowledge, you are making a difference in at least one life.

Essential. Humane. Disturbing. Inspiring.

by Suevisa on Nov 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love Deray, Brittany, Cliff and Sam. Because of this, and their clear, critical and compassionate presentations and discussions, I HEAR more, more deeply. Every episode changes me.

News Worth Sharing

by Sr. Sam on Nov 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm finally subscribing because I always listen one episode at a time and I've been doing it for months. Love getting news here. Glad for the array of perspectives. Always come away with new knowledge to share with those around me!

Just so

by ....-.-..... on Nov 24, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Bad

Can't Stop Thinking about... episode

by Ozarkpeggy on Nov 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks to DeRay and Amy Campanelli for sharing criminal justice reform programs initiated in Cook County, Illinois. Having worked as a psychologist in maximum security prisons in Virginia, I believe we must jump to the beginning of the arrest process to make sure that those who make it to prison need to be there. Mental health issues should be dealt with early on. As a young white woman in a predominantly black environment, I saw that social injustice abounded. It was a previlidge to work with those incarerated men, and heartbreaking when mental illness made those men targets.

Great breakdowns of current events

by Illuminata1111 on Nov 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

and really interesting guests from relevant areas of study, expertise, etc join Deray for the interview discussions. Plus at the beginning it’s him and Clint, Sam, and Brittney hashing out the news.

Planting hope

by HollyMcG on Nov 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen every week, knowing I’ll get real news, and clear and direct opinions. Clint read one of his poems this week that said everything. Deray’s interview with the Cook Cty public defender had me in tears on the train. This cast does exactly what I need. They present our current reality, and they present it in a way that doesn’t crush, or frighten, but instead communicates, increases transparency, shares resources and information. I am strengthened in the always work of ending white supremacy, ending the wealth and resource gaps, and visioning a world where the people, not the plutocracy can realize their dreams. THANK YOU!!!!

Thank you

by parsniplady on Oct 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I really want to thank everyone involved in producing this podcast. It gives me some education about topics I wouldn’t get exposure to otherwise. I’m an old white lady living in rural Maine. I don’t get television. Like, at all. I get my news online (Washington post, the BBC, and The NY Times mostly) and from public radio. And podcasts. I appreciate the way the thoughtful conversations on this one widen my perspective.

The Best Political Podcast I’ve Ever Heard

by bstreff on Oct 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast (along with Pod Save America) is the best political podcast I’ve ever heard. Couldn’t recommend more!

Be Best

by RogueHacker on Oct 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Hey y’all, it’s a regular listener who appreciates your work and how much I learn about the underreported issues we’re facing from this amoral administration. I had to write and rate with less than 5 stars for the first time because I was disappointed in your commentary around Eric Holder’s “we kick em” comment. Your respective perspectives all omitted the fact that Holder himself amended those comments in that same speech to indicate he was speaking metaphorically and directly said he wasn’t advocating for violence. Maybe this news just broke at your time of taping and you all hadn’t had a chance to get fully informed on the situation, but your comments made it seem like you just read the headline, missing a chance to build on his comments and advocate for position for people of our mindset to “fight” in a constructive, non-violent way. I appreciate how well researched you all typically are so I just had to point this instance where I thought this less than fully researched commentary was detrimental to the argument of our side. Thanks for all you do and thanks for your commitment to the good cause.

Love your pod!

by abimichigan on Oct 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love your pod and listen every week! It’s very enlightening. I have one request for Brittany...can you tweet out all the books you recommend? I’m usually driving and forget them. I am @abimichigan

White people should listen to this pod

by A_yt_TryingToDoBetter on Oct 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Before this podcast, I was grossly unaware of many of the systemic and social issues people of color endure 24/7. Now I am not only kept up to date and directed to even more sources for news, but I'm also growing as an ally and activist. Thanks for the crucial work you do!

Hands down best podcast out there

by extrasuperkk on Oct 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast so much. I have learned so much. I count on this podcast to inform me of issues I don’t know about and to interview intriguing, intelligent people. I have shared this podcast with so many people. Thank you so much for the work you do.

Media approved Bigotry

by Swolavelli on Oct 05, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Delray spouts off from the view point of a professional victim

Awesome for the easily distracted listeners

by ornchgrrl on Sep 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. I tend to get distracted if important talks are too monotone and drag on, but this podcast isn’t like that at all! You are all very entertaining and smart and direct. Thanks for being awesome

Fantastic

by Max qwerty. on Sep 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a point of view I desperately need in my news consumption. Thank you, crew. I don't understand why it's labeled "explicit". They never curse!

Intersections with Disability

by 23JMarie on Sep 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I am grateful for the many instances when you all bring up disability rights as you discuss the news and how what’s going on will affect people with disabilities. We are often forgotten in such discussions. Sending non-creepy love and thanks to each of you hosts!

Content ≠ quality

by Mikaelahcm on Sep 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

So, this podcast has a lot of wonderful things: the conversations and information are really groundbreaking and important. But there are some “nitpicky” items that really do take away from the content. The sound editing is awful. The music is often layered over the speaking and it timed incorrectly, the different hosts have vastly differing sound qualities (muffled for one then blaring for the next) that distract and annoy the listener. And finally, the hosts often quote facts that are very interesting but do not share where they got the information and fail to list any facts in the episode description, which for me makes the facts disputable. Sources are the only way to prove your statement and for facts this important for their arguments, sources are vital. So I hope that the creators fix these very elementary problems because then the podcast would truly be great and more reputable for a wider audience instead of those who already agree with their viewpoints. I love how the hosts discuss the news with each other; they’re so kind and uplifting to each other and always let each other talk. I love the variety of guests and the diversity of the conversations. If the small issues were solved then I would be proud to recommend this podcast to anyone and everyone.

So much love

by Screynolds24 on Sep 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Pod Save The People is my all time favorite podcast, and I currently keep up with 5 weekly and bi weekly podcasts! Of all those podcasts, Pod Save The People is the only podcast out of all of those that regularly makes me stop to take time to transcribe something that was said so I can share it widely with my friends. I am so grateful for the incredible insight and the important news that this podcast brings to me weekly-THANK YOU so much and please literally never stop👍🏻❤️

Kamala Harris questions

by pmcity on Sep 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Why did she does continue to run K through the questions? She is a prosecutor and knows answers before asking. Did she not know the name of someone in that law firm? K was obfuscating. Get tough KH.

Learn something every week

by Nheartsfrogs on Sep 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the podcast where I learn the most about things that not on the front page of the news. As a white woman, I love hearing from these people of color on so many topics. The hosts are great to listen to and have terrific insights.

My favorite

by rainingintexas on Sep 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one of my favorite podcasts. I get smarter each time I listen. Thanks for covering the news that often doesn’t make “the news” and for showing many sides to complex topics.

Too Quiet

by Blake P on Sep 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Way too quiet - almost impossible to listen to unless I'm in a silent room with the volume turned all the way up.

Amazing pod, but please...

by Lestat45378 on Sep 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

You all wonderful and awesome people, the pod is fantastic and highly informative, but, please fix the volume. I work in a loud place where I’m only allowed to wear one earbud and I struggle to hear you folks every week. Thank you for everything you do to bring sanity to this crazy world.Sincerely, Jamie Broker P.S. educational movie every kid should see- “The Phantom Tollbooth”Real democrats need to run on the future, check out Roxanne Meadows and TheVenusProject.com

Eye-opening!

by terrilee_nc on Sep 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

The logo perfectly illustrates this pod-it will open your eyes to the news & issues that don’t make the front page. Deray & team are passionate and committed. BUT I took off one star because the audio quality on this pod is consistently poor. Why? The Crooked studio is a professional outfit-why is this pod so poorly recorded? Fix it & I’ll give you 5 stars!

Good content, dull delivery, poor mixing

by Somethingeye on Sep 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I want this podcast to be better, the content is great. However, the volume is lower that the other Crooked media podcasts so I have to crank it up just to hear it in my car. The most recent episode, “Tell Someone”, had an awkwardly long pause during one of the ad breaks. Brittany Packnett is the only contributor that is interesting. The rest, including DeRay, are a bit dull and monotonous.

Amazing content. Poor audio quality

by This American for Life on Sep 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Wish the recording was higher quality, especially since this is a Crooked Media production. DeRay’s voice is hard to hear unless the volume is loud. This is challenging for me because I like to listen on my Sonos at night. 5-stars easy based on the content!

More of this please.

by LuluTruckee on Aug 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This episode gives me hope for humanity. To hear of the struggles, healing processes, and ideas for activism from a powerful male in recovery from toxic masculinity is heartening.

The conversations on this podcast feed my intellect as well as my emotions.

by Melissa Wojcik on Aug 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast does a great take on the news and how it affects people of all races and sexes in America. I appreciate that there is talk about news that are not always on the front page. I personally appreciate how Brittany touches on psychological issues as well as the political. Thank you all for your work.

Terry Crews

by Cbr213 on Aug 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I enjoy the pod and have learned a lot but especially enjoyed Terry Crews. I loved his insight into himself and #MeToo and personal change.

Truly an informative, and inspiring cast of people.

by RL WA State listener on Aug 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This pod has opened my eyes, my mind, and my heart to honestly a world I never knew. I have traveled this country in my youth. I have met, worked, served, and lived with a diversity of people. Unfortunately I never heard any of the topics in which this cast discusses. I never knew what questions to ask or where to begin looking. Now I listen, and listen, and then listen some more. The whole cast are some of the most genuine, educated, poetic, heartfelt human beings I ever had the honor to listen to. So much more to learn, and because of the people on this pod I will.

Relevant and well done

by need to learn more on Aug 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I enjoy the weekly news and interviews. I learn so much. Very smart group!

Activism and interesting news

by iPad student on Aug 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Deray, Brittany, Sam and Clint talk about topics that usually get swept under the rug or go into more details about hot topics. I’ve learned so much more about criminal justice reform, activism and generally understanding more perspectives. I love how they bring up long held standards of believing and deconstruct them beyond just broken windows but stuff like the million word gap, etc. Only complaint is episodes haven’t been consistent lately...

A different look

by O cito on Aug 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This pod is amazing because as a straight white male it really gives me a different viewpoint on a lot of issues.

My favorite podcast

by Meiberry on Aug 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Rigorous and full of energy, this is my favorite culture and news podcast. This is always the most attractive episode on my list of podcast episodes - never disappointed.

Wonderful podcast

by Jsr2844 on Aug 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. I love that some of the hosts have been teachers! I also feel like they help me better serve my students by educating me on a whole range of issues that I’m not familiar with and need to be!

Love!

by bsullivan3014 on Aug 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast really helps me see topics in a whole new light. Great breakdown of the news and great guest! III

Highly recommend

by Jaskler 2006 on Aug 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I always learn something new or gain a novel perspective on an issue. DeRay, Brittany, Sam, and Clint all do the work and come with valuable insight and experience. Great stuff.

Weekly self care

by RosaCole on Aug 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The News on PSTP each week keeps my eyes open to things going on in the world outside the usual mainstream coverage. It’s maddening that much of this coverage might be otherwise overlooked, but thankfully Brittany, Clint, Sam and Deray are out here bringing it! I look forward to each episode. Thank you!

Gives me hope

by troyskione on Aug 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Makes me have hope for our future that compassionate, frustrated folks are looking for solutions. Keep it up and know people appreciate your efforts.

A revelation

by Podcasto on Aug 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Smart, substantive takes on news stories we need to hear more about. Mandatory listening for the intellectual citizen activist.

Waiting Patiently!

by Beckyloowho on Jul 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I wait patiently every week for a new episode! Thank you each and every one of you! ❤️🙌🏻🦄❤️

Will see you in Austin!

by Peggiedoodle on Jul 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love all your podcasts and your penetrating questions and commentary. Cannot wait to see DeRay when he comes to Austin for book signing and loved seeing Brittany when she was here. You ALL are doing great work!

I love this podcast

by BeeBee3080 on Jul 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As a white woman in America I have been looking for podcast that talks about current events from a black perspective. I'm hoping to learn more about what I can do to help dismantle (or at least begin to understand) the systems and infrastructures that are propped in place due to racism. Thank you for a thoughtful and thought-provoking podcast.

Very informative!

by NVaughn on Jul 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I really liked the first episode! I wanted to listen because I don’t know a lot about the issues in criminal justice reform and the first episode was really informative without being pedantic. They explain it a really straightforward and easy way. Definitely give it a listen!

I was clueless

by Winobeast on Jul 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Just subscribed and soon to be a patron. What a great show! DeRay has the BEST voice. The show is Informative and intelligent, with excellent guests and a top notch crew!