Average rating:

4.5
out of 2695 ratings.

Great podcast! more episodes?

by A photoshop learner on Feb 17, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Looking forward. Reid is a great host.

Must-listen for any entrepreneur

by nickmhc on Feb 12, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Primarily tech-oriented, this podcast features business leaders who have scaled successful businesses, with each episode themed around a specific lesson. I particularly enjoy the callbacks to key quotes from leaders other than the one in the current interview that fit the theme because they help reinforce the goal of the lesson plan. This is essentially a master class in business strategy, venture capital, product management, and organizational behavior. With the goal of having my integrity be such that my word becomes my reality with no doubt, I’d like to build a life altering product and company to scale that merits being on this show by 2023. What I learn from this show puts me one step closer.

Fabulous learnings and insights

by deesandhu on Feb 12, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

BIG thanks for your “Masters of Scale” podcast. Not only do I love the style of exploration & questions, but also what you bring on a cathartic storytelling level ...food for the curious!

Great Show!

by Upwardbound48 on Feb 12, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoyed the first season and they continue to be great. It' s a bit less personal and has more jumping around to different people than Gimlet's Startup (which I love). This is well produced with sound effects and what sounds like Reid's most over-the-top voice he can muster for narration. I only wish the show were longer. The in depth interviews especially are great. Great work.

Best podcast for entrepreneurs

by Mt.Vernon Resident on Feb 02, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I was really blown away by how tactical and practical the advice is. This is my new morning ritual. Reid - keep it up and please add more diverse guests. When I hear someone who is a minority like me it gives me more courage. Thank you for doing this even though you don’t have to.

Excellent Insights - and shows personality!

by ryandham97 on Feb 01, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I loved how Reid does his interviews. It seems like he works together with his guests to craft an interesting story that keeps listeners excited. He makes sure to include tactical advice, along with excellent stories to highlights those points. The thing I loved the most was the humor in his podcast- I found myself laughing out loud several times! Loved this podcast!

Very specific advice unavailable on any other podcast

by Lisa Lefebvre on Jan 31, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Reid, thank you for taking the time out of your busy life to do this podcast. I can’t tell you how helpful it is. I know how much work it takes to make something unique, specific and useful versus general and vague (and therefore not useful). Thanks also to the editing and production team. The magic happens as much in what is left out as in what is recorded. Well done.

Pompous at best

by Nickname1963028; on Jan 28, 2019
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Pompous. No real connection to reality. Won’t listen again

Not learning anything

by physiverse on Jan 26, 2019
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

He is inviting guests to interview him?! Reid! We know about you. Teach us new things (metrics, marketing, business canvas, distribution, etc.) thx

Loved it...then

by ReggieWrites on Jan 26, 2019
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I (tried) listened to the episode on Reid’s origin story and could only get slightly over half way through it before having to turn it off. It’s gross. As usual, and like most therapists, this show is actually all about the interviewer. I’m sure I’ll continue to listen to episodes where he doesn’t talk (or have other people from the cult of TED) talk about him like he’s the 2nd coming, but if this was a third date, there wouldn’t be another.

PLEASE STOP STUPID INTROS

by 321angiebee on Jan 24, 2019
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Just tell the story. Too overproduced.

Sounds fake

by Prfatal on Jan 23, 2019
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Sounds super staged and fake as fuc

Wonderful content for everyone!

by Eric S 1982 on Jan 22, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

This series really breaks through the noise. When I scale, I’ll thank this series!

Be inspired

by Aruezin on Jan 18, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

One my favorite podcasts to listen to. I’m a 29 year old young man that aspires to do something great with my life and the people they interview are inspiring to me. They discuss how a simple person came up with a simple invention or simple business and created an extraordinary life out of that. I never been disappointed with any of their podcasts they put out. I learned how to build confidence and be an original, to be me.

Cut the drama

by Chad 1111 on Jan 18, 2019
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Content is really good but I couldn't handle the forced drama from the host. Every sentence is like he's doing a movie trailer. 🙄

Inspiring Content

by Maven Skincare on Jan 15, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I thoroughly enjoy listening to these interviews. Keep them coming!

Opened Eyes to A New World

by ibrand23 on Jan 13, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcasts has been a game changer for me. I found it early in its debut, and from the beginning has blown me a way. It has open up so many new doors to insanely great ideas that I have applied in my profession. Reid and his team are amazing at finding, studying, and teaching SUCCESS META PATTERNS for building new products or services, and developing them into successful and profitable businesses. It is delivered in an awesomely entertaining way with high production quality. If you live in the world of innovation, or even general management in the modern landscape we all now live in, this is a must listen.

Good but way over produced

by Phancake on Jan 11, 2019
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I use to listen to every episode but the over production(sound effects, cut always, and voice overs) become to much. I felt more like I was listening to a kids program then a serious podcast on how to build world class business. Honestly, entrepreneurs don’t need all this IMO. Simply provide great content from great operators.

Great insights, hold the chipmunks...

by Ad'em on Jan 11, 2019
Rating: ★★★★☆

Firstly, this is a kickass podcast. The quality of contributors is phenomenal, Reid’s narration is insightful and episodes are cohesive. The general tone from contributing CEOs is one of honesty vs self congratulation and I’ve personally found many of the insights and stories meaningful, and at times inspiring. As a Brit, I don’t use that word lightly, or often! The only ‘but’? Whilst the sound quality has improved greatly since over time as production values levelled up, I find the over-used audio effects, cheesy chipmunk voices and cutesy jingles during the interviews grating, and distracting from the content. Please keep up the fantastic work, but dial back the singing chipmunks?

Survivorship bias on display

by texinmex on Jan 10, 2019
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Listens like a bad, over-produced business book. He interviews people who have been successful, who then tell the best version of themselves. Very little actual insight and no hard questions. As a finishing touch we get to hear about social justice virtue signaling... yawn.

Amazing and inspirational

by matthewclower on Jan 09, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

The Masters of Scale podcast is the single most inspiring podcast that I've discovered. It is a podcast about my life as an entrepreneur and a history of others and their successes and failures. The lessons learned in the series are invaluable and I often find that Reid and his guests have excellent ways to express things that I thought or knew already or that they are providing new perspectives on things I hadn't realized to the point that they seem obvious in retrospect. The wealth of knowledge provides very valuable insights when it comes to identifying good and bad ideas and behavior and emphasizing that building something to scale is never easy or obvious. Some things that can seem wrong intuitively are in fact not as wrong as you might think. I find the podcast extremely validating, insightful, helpful and inspirational.

Best Business Podcast

by PossumJankins on Jan 04, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to a lot of business podcasts, this is my favorite

MOS changed our thinking! Reid is my hero....

by Frumib on Jan 04, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Reading Blitzscaling and then listening to the 32 episodes of Masters of Scale has made a huge shift in our plan of how to shape the future of animal care globally. Realizing that Scollar has the three essential pillars - an innovative technology enabling innovative products and services with an innovative business model, we made the decision that fast-scaling was necessary. No one has harnassed the power of a full stack open platform to change the playing field and race ahead of any potential competition in the management of pets and livestock. Thank you Reid Hoffman for taking us out of the usual boxed in thinking! You are my personal hero!

Incredibly helpful insights!

by Bodie Kuntz on Dec 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast. I've taken a ton of great lessons from it for my work at the National Alliance on Mental Illness for Montana and the Center for Mental Health Research and Recovery at Montana State University. The lessons definitely cross fields and sectors. I've even referred the "Millenial" episode ot families to help better understand their kids.

Finest podcast from Silicon Valley

by Adnopars on Dec 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is how podcast should be. The production quality of this is high, makes it engaging apart from being very instructive. In fact it’s a great template for how a podcast should sound like

Great for young entrepreneurs!

by Parsa R Rezvani on Dec 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The beauty of Mr. Hoffman’s podcast is that it highlights the processes of thinking and reasoning in various situations as opposed to simply just stating conclusions. Listening to these podcasts and going for a run to start or end the day was always a pleasure, and I was bummed when I got all caught up with the episodes.A suggestion I’d have is to create a podcast series that caters to people (ie college kids) that may have a plethora of ideas but don’t quite know where to start.

Learn the back stories and be inspired!

by Thecla37 on Dec 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks to Reid and his team for giving such great interviews that inform and inspire. Great podcast!

Incredibly Valuable

by Shane_Neiman on Dec 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have listened to each podcast multiple time and I take away something new each time. Regardless of your industry, you can learn so much from Reid and his guests. People pay lots of money to hear and learn the lessons offered here on Master of Scale. Truly a wealth of knowledge and advice that’s well worth your time.

One of the best on VCs and Startups

by PVBBob on Nov 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Very well put together and produced. You are getting insights from a successful founder and VC partner at a top firm. I wish there more episodes!

Pure gold

by rahulific on Nov 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you Reid for taking the time to make this series. I find so much learning and inspiration in each podcast.

Great learnings to scale my business

by Erwinnnnnnnnn on Nov 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Few weeks after I relocated from Amsterdam to New York a local entrepreneur advised me to listen. This was one of the best tips I have received. The show gives me great insights and lessons learned and empowers me to immediately apply in scaling and building Speakap. Thank you !

One of my favorites

by The Ad Buyer on Nov 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I really ENJOY the style in which these interviews are done. Reid’s “storytelling” format really gives you sense of actually being there throughout the various points in the guest’s history as they’re walking you through their early days right up to present day at their company.

Great podcast

by nourbous on Nov 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast, thank you Mr.Reid for the great value, I found that the full interview makes it much easier for me to connect the points and understand the tactics and thinking behind a specific idea, while the short ones makes it a bit difficult with all the production and background effects, they are funny and interesting, but a little bit distracting in my opinion. Thank you again for all the great advices and effort, very appreciated.

Awesome Podcast!!

by Brooke Craven on Nov 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Reid, host of the Masters of Scale podcast, highlights all aspects of business, entrepreneurship and more in this can’t miss podcast! The host and expert guests offer insightful advice and information that is helpful to anyone that listens!

A young entrepreneurs guide to success !!

by ChefK.allen on Nov 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Hello my name is Kevin, I’m a 29 year old chef/future restauranteur from Atlanta, Ga. I absolutely love this podcast especially your episode with Danny Meyers, who I admire. This show is very moving and inspirational. I love getting applicable lessons to apply to my company and all aspects of life for that matter. Thank you so much for feeding my soul with knowledge and understanding of what it takes to truly scale a business.

Practical insights from tech leaders

by JOConnell on Nov 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Every entrepreneur should listen to this podcast. Learn the ethos and thinking that guides the most successful tech founders as they've led their companies through a wide range of challenges and market conditions. Some of the discussions can feel like revisionist history (it's easy to say in hindsight years later that you had a certain vision all along), but who cares... you get some really interesting insight into the contributing factors to success of the world's most interesting tech companies. Production quality, pace, and length of each episode is the best I've listened to for this type of content.

Amazing guests but to high level

by odedharth on Nov 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Asks easy questions and focus on high level topicsWould be more interesting to hear details on a specific topic with examples

Thank you +1

by Alex Torrey on Nov 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

One of my all-time favorite podcasts—listen on my way to work most mornings. Would be great to hear your thoughts on MBA: masters of scale with MBAs, the impact of having vs not from an investor’s perspective, co-founder, etc. Thank you.

Great Podcast, Good Advice, Terrible Sense of Humor

by W1llums on Oct 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

This podcast is a wonderful listen with great writing and structure. The two part Barry Diller episodes were especially high points. However, the episodes are punctuated by these pitched up, sort of “Greek chorus” voices that are meant to bring comic relief. They turn a great podcast into a kids show. Maybe I’m over exaggerating on these things, but to me it’s grating. However, I like this podcast so much I would pay for it (maybe I could get a special version without the voices, then).

Great content but why so many ads?

by Varun H on Oct 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

In a 45 min podcast there are about 7-9 mins of ads. That’s got to be the highest % among podcasts. You put out such good content and I don’t think you should provide it for no money. However there must be ways of improving the experience of serving ads. Perhaps charging more per ad slot and less slots. Thanks!

So Good!

by AngelaPugh on Oct 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast- it’s nice to hear the stories of other entrepreneurs. Sometimes it’s a lonely world, thank you for sharing insight and info!

Masters of Scale is part of my “kitchen cabinet”

by blahblah13 on Oct 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I think every leader needs a great team, a great board, and a great “kitchen cabinet” of experts – a group of unofficial advisors who generously share their experience and expertise. I use Masters of Scale as part of my kitchen cabinet. I love hearing Mark Pincus describe his process for creating and killing ideas (instincts are right 95% of the time but ideas are right only 25% of the time). I love hearing Stacy Brown-Philpot describe the humanity of good design (harnessing the community to train and develop people). I love hearing Barry Diller describe iconoclasm as a process of continual rediscovery (nobody knows anything including me). The Masters of Scale guests are great kitchen cabinet advisers: they don’t tell me what I should do – they tell me what they have done and let me draw my own parallels and conclusions.

Deep Insights You Can Actually Act Upon

by RIcardo Frequent Traveler on Oct 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a masterclass in building excellence in a business, not because the amazing guests talk only about the results they achieved, or even just the process by which they achieved it, but because they described how they felt about it, what their doubts and fears were, the mistakes they made, and the fact that they sometimes just got lucky. All these amazing visionary entrepreneurs are on covers of magazines and headlines of tech business, but those articles gives you the idea that just because they had access to a lot of VC money they just magically just made it work. I have been helping entrepreneurs scale for 15 years in all sorts of businesses, and these stories of scale I believe are statistical outliers. The people who built these companies are special, but for the first time, they come across as truly human. And I can finally relate to them because even though my company doesn’t have a gazillion users or is a Unicorn, they connect with me as a person.Reid is a masterful storyteller and dot-connector. His experience deeply enhances the interviews because his commentary weaves together the lessons learned.The production is outstanding: sound effects, storyboard...just brilliant, and entertaining!The length of the episode is just right: about an episode a car-ride or 5k run. I love Tim Ferriss’ podCast but sometimes I need 3 or 4 sittings to get through it.Finally, without exception, I find the episodes so deeply relevant to building my company, that 1. I usually listen to the episode twice, the second time with a notebook and pen so that I can write down the insights 2. Each insight, I try to turn it into an action item 3. I share them with my team, not as a directive, but as a conversation. I feel it has allowed me to approach culture-building in a unique, but effective way. Plus, our values and norms are being shaped collectively as a team and the podCast’s insights have really helped me achieve that, where as before, I would just told people what I thought we should do.Finally, I love the sponsor stories. It’s not just in your face advertising, it’s actually something valuable and I have even looked up several of the sponsors.I really appreciate all the time and effort Reid and his team have put into producing this gem. Onwards and upwards!

Phenomenal!

by Alex_inpdx on Oct 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have taken to leveraging these podcasts as mini professional development tutorials for my colleagues and friends. It is rare that there are insights shared in each segment that don’t correlate to the work I am doing. But most importantly and what I like best is that I feel like I get to piggyback on Reid’s rolodex and network. Well done!

Very Well Produced

by CPeteDaddy61 on Oct 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Handsdown this podcast does the most editing out of any of the biz podcasts I listen to... Really like the story-telling aspect. One of my favorite podcasts, for sure.

Great to listen to. And learn

by mjsanson360 on Oct 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have enjoyed this podcast for great leadership lessons on high growth companies. Very informative and great companies featured. I always learn something!

Not just for CEOs!

by NatashaKay on Oct 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

While Reid Hoffman has successfully started, and massively scaled, LinkedIn (a company that has changed the world), this entertaining and interesting podcast is not just for those who aspire to do the same. A busy stay at home mom can hear about the importance of rest, and strategies to achieve more of it, while learning from the experiences and research of Ariana Huffington. A hungry salesperson may suddenly see the conventional wisdom which has been holding him back in the inspiring interview with Danny Meyer, the self-aware founder of Shake Shack. And of course, CEOs and other leaders can glean incredible insights that many of us pay thousands of dollars to obtain through personal mentoring and training. Expand your horizons, adopt a growth mindset, and take notes — there is gold in every single interview!

Great!

by Rtwilly on Oct 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Awesome podcast. I never know what great lessons I will take away.

Reid is a guide in our search for meaningful entrepreneurship

by andaro74 on Oct 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Reid takes us to a world that he knows very well. He has the connections, the experience and the playbook to give us real insights into entrepreneurship.Throughout his books, lessons and guests I’ve evolved into a person with a purpose. I’ve learned that providing services that customers actually want is the key to success.Failure is not anymore a word to be afraid of. It is part of the growth and a component for success.I am so grateful to live in this time when people like Reid share their knowledge and really care for the industry.No matter your field, you will get a lot of good content and advice from listening this podcast.Congratulations on your new book Reid. Can’t wait it to get it.

Love it

by Greenquinoa on Oct 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I like that the team go above and beyond to produce it and you can tell how many throughs are put into it but the background sound can be distracting.