Average rating:

4.5
out of 2838 ratings.

Self Help Cliff Notes

by Creative Queso on Jan 17, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Always love the show! Listened to the Girl Was Your Face episode today. I listened to a Rachel Hollis podcast/interview beforehand and needed further research. Loved all your feelings and those of your listeners- I had similar thoughts. Also, my parents are not divorcing but my mother recently passed and my dad already has a live-in girlfriend so I feel ya on the weird loss of home thing. Also just lost a big freelance gig this week too so I’m also resonating on that front. I decided to use the extra time to start my own podcast! Hoping you guys keep on keeping on so I don’t have to actually read these books 😜

Too Iconic

by Tait25 on Jan 16, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is my favorite and I listen to a lot! Kristen and Jolenta are so honest and funny and serious when it's appropriate and their mutually supportive friendship is so inspiring and a great role model for young women trying to make sense of all the bad suggestions out there of how we should treat our friends! This podcast is more fun than reading self help books and it's nice to know which ones they don't recommend so I don't waste time and energy reading them. I really like their socially conscious approach to the prescriptions of the books, and I feel especially happy when they point out the heteronormativity of the steps in a lot of the books. So glad they're continuing even though Panoply has folded its content arm!!!

Disappointing

by SCParr on Jan 14, 2019
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

This podcast was recommended to me, I love reading self help books so I thought this would be perfect.The first episode I listen to is “The 5 love languages” let me first let you know I have read this book, taken the test and truly believe in it. It’s help me in multiple relationships. I’m a couple minutes in when one of the women starts aggressively stating that if gifts is your love language then you obviously do not know how to receive love at all. <- instantly discredited what your podcast is about? Self help. In that moment you make people feel like that there is something wrong with them if gifts is one of their love languages. I personally know 5 people in my life that gifts is there #1 love language. They are not materialistic. She stated that as well. It might have been better later on in the episode but I didn’t feel the need to finish. If you haven’t read the book. Read it first before you listen to this.

Funny and real

by plum7 on Jan 12, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I have become quite a fan of this podcast. Jolenta and Kristen are interesting and real in a way you don’t get on a lot of social media “highlight reels”. I am also always on the lookout for self improvement books/programs/advice that actually work. The rub is I’m scattered AF and this show acts as the funny and inspirational teaser/Cliff’s notes for me. Thanks, ladies!

Love the Concept & the Podcast

by tracie_m on Jan 12, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I absolutely love the concept of reviewing non-fiction and trying out the suggestions! I have a list of non-fiction books that I want to read and these ladies are helping me take a few off my list! I love the discussions and I love the heartfelt additions from their own life experiences! Keep up all the good work ladies and I’ll keep listening!!!

10/10 favorite podcast

by nataliesolomon on Jan 12, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Come for the the vocal fry and vulgar language, stay for the Minnesotan accent and feminism.

Always a treat when new one arrives

by katebaby on Jan 12, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I love you girls...thank you for your intelligent and compassionate diligence with your materials and listeners..one day I hope to see you live!

Love this podcast!

by tmcmillan222 on Jan 11, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I absolutely love this podcast. Over the years I have bought a ton of self help books and it is so great to hear other people’s experiences with them. This podcast makes me laugh and at the same time pulls at my heart strings. I can relate so well to both Kristen and Jolenta. Thank you both for sharing you experiences with me!

The best podcast ever

by Dina6678532 on Jan 11, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Comedy + self help = 🧡

Quite a downer

by GeorgiaMakitalo on Jan 11, 2019
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I have gone from five stars to one. This show bums me out. Both women are bitter and angry most of the time. Every author they read is either entitled or privileged-unless it is a “real” housewife...or Shonda. I had to stomach half of “My Year of Yes” to get to the good parts...and it seemed that these two had blinders on here. Life is tough for all of us. We go to self help books to get kernels of wisdom. Perhaps if you both stopped complaining you could allow yourselves to change and find that although there is much in the world that needs improvement, you can still find happiness within. You both seem like nice enough people (although Kristen, the Kate shaming on your WMMH podcast upset me to no end as no woman should be compared on their beauty like this!) and it is clear that when I listen to you, my respect has gone downhill. And Jolenta, many of us manage to get through ADD...hang in there. I don’t take the drugs, I have altered my life to make this work for me. I actually find that my exceptionally high energy is an asset. Good luck to both of you. I would recommend Reading the master of self-help, RW Emerson, but you will surely ruin him for everyone. And if MLK had ignored what RWE had said and called him “White Privilege” then who knows if the Civil Rights movement would have ever happened. Instead of instantly accusing writers of being privileged, why not focus on promoting books etc of those you can stick that racist label on? (Btw I have always considered myself a liberal, but with each podcast, I found myself moving towards the middle. As the child of immigrants, I have experienced plenty of blind prejudice and bullying.

Refreshing and relatable

by lizgregstu on Jan 11, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

One of my absolute favorite podcasts! Kristen and Jolenta keep me company on my commute each week. I love their honesty and their life-inspired humor. I have gained some great tips to improve my life and saved reading time on some over-hyped duds. Thanks for creating such fun content each week!

Great Premise, Sometimes Off-Putting

by nutellakell on Jan 10, 2019
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I love love the idea of this show and love hearing about the tips in the books. But sometimes the ladies come off as very judgmental, hateful, bitter, and bratty. And they don’t seem to take criticism well when they dish it very easily on other people (mainly authors). I sometimes get so aggravated listening.

One of My Favorites!

by Kehess213 on Jan 09, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

It took a few episodes to get into this podcast but now I find myself moving it to the top of the list when a new one shows up. Listening regularly is like being in a book club with your two most interesting and intelligent friends.

Funny and insightful

by Hasey1999 on Jan 08, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast. I’ve never read a self help book but I have listened to all of this podcast. Super funny and makes me think outside of my own privilege.

Love this Podcast

by hehehehehehehehehehehehe on Jan 08, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the concept! These amazing women present the best parts of self-help books in the funniest way. Can’t stop listening.

Vocal fry

by J_215 on Jan 07, 2019
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The host with the nasal vocal fry and vulgar mouth is horrible. Puts me in a crappy mood just to hear whiny vocal fry. Ugh. Pass on this mess.

My favorite podcast

by missaliss07 on Jan 07, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I love self development books so the premise of this podcast is perfect for me. Kristen and Jolenta read, live and review each book. They mix in humor, friendship and reality to each episode. Thanks ladies for making such a useful and entertaining podcast. I’ve found new books to read based off your show and loved that I wasn’t the only one who absolutely hated the Men are from Mars Women are from Venus book.

Like listening to your best friends!

by Brenster_SG on Jan 06, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

These two have such incredible chemistry, wit, raw honesty and an amazing sense of humor. Not only do they do a great job summarizing the book, but they’ll stop at nothing when talking about how they were able to apply the teachings to their own lives.This show for anyone who’s ever wanted to improve (hopefully that’s everyone!)Here’s hoping the ladies get picked up by a new podcasting network ASAP ❤️

I love this podcast

by Kris A.A on Jan 06, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I always look forward to listening to Jolenta and Kristen discuss a new book. Even if I think I’m not going to be interested in the book the show pulls me in every time. Thanks for making such an amazing podcast!

They take on self-help books so we don’t have to

by Rollins250 on Jan 05, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

The show is a bit flat due to the hosts hitting the same emotional notes so frequently, and I am very grateful that they do such a great job in encapsulating the self-help books they take on. I do not want to read the books myself, but i’m very curious to learn what they are about.

Love this podcast!

by julibean76 on Jan 05, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

These ladies are so funny and inspiring. I have enjoyed listening and laughing with them throughout my commutes. I have learned a few tips, tricks, and even a few things about myself. Great listen.

Um yes please

by BackByNoDemand on Jan 04, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I feel like I’m speed reading all the self help books I was curious about. I love the consistent format of the episodes and the witty banter between these two. Also props to both women and their partners for some really vulnerable moments and letting us listeners into your personal lives. Keep em coming!

Loving it

by Megicus on Jan 03, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. Kristen and Jolenta review the books in the same way I would with my friends. I have actually read a couple of the books based to off of what they had to say and they make every episode entertaining, even if they weren’t loving the book.

You actually keep my attention!!

by batmanchickgc on Jan 02, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I am known amongst my peer group as the person who loses interest in things very quickly. Books, video games, craft projects, you name it - I start it and don’t finish it. However, you ladies have kept my interest and intrigue with each episode. I have no idea how you did it but give yourselves a hi-five (if you look at the elbow of the person you’re hi-fiving you get a perfect hi-five every time :) btw) You ladies (and husbands) are funny, smart, entertaining, and inspiring. I might go write an ebook. I bet I won’t finish it though.

I am becoming a better person

by Hopefully Growing on Jan 02, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Who doesn’t love a story? You learn best and retain more information through a vibrant, charismatic narrative. By the Book has introduced me to new and diverse world views. I remember the most relevant and thought provoking advice through the entertaining and genuine narrative presented by the show hosts. I already recommend this podcast so it’s time to give it the official 5 stars⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

thoughtful AND funny

by jandall on Jan 01, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the hosts - they are genuine and vulnerable and provide thoughtful opinions about books I'm interested in but will probably never get around to reading. Love the follow-up podcast for each book where they include listeners' feedback that might contrast or add a perspective they hadn't thought of.

Love this podcast

by MelindaHandy on Dec 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I hesitated to listen to this podcast initially since I don’t always have interest in actually reading the books but I am so glad I did. I love Kristen and Jolenta’s friendship and their commitment and passion for the subject. My commute is better with you two along for the ride. Thank you!

Influential and informative

by DinaLove on Dec 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve quite literally (no pun intended) purchased—or not purchased—most of my self-help books this year because of this podcast’s verdicts. Thanks for living the rules and breaking them down for the rest of us, Jolenta and Kristen!

My Favorite

by lisa_505 on Dec 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love these ladies so much! I look forward to every episode and hope for many more seasons of By The Book.

Great but could be better

by Evander E on Dec 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I enjoy listening to this podcast for the most part. Great to hear about the books and listen to the hosts. I think Jolenta could work on not talking over and interrupting Kristen. Seriously, Jolenta should listen to this podcast once in a while and count how many times she interrupts and talks over Kristen. I don’t know how Kristen stands it! I would be able to listen to this podcast more smoothly with less Jolenta.

Love it!

by LadyRevolution on Dec 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one of my favorites, I recommend it to everyone. The hilarious commentary, the thoughtful reviews always make my day better. I get excited for every episode!

Brilliant

by hb20hb on Dec 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Lovely show! Amazing hosts and they get into the complicated aspects of really trying to better yr self such as impact on personal life and relationships. They also question the experts of these books who come from places of privilege and get into who gets to give life advice. Really thankful for this show!!

Love!

by Angela Vogel on Dec 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

This podcast is really fun! I love a good self help book, as I’m always on a self-improvement kick. Kristen and Jolenta keep it real, provide valuable insights, and add a good dose of humor. Highly recommend!

I Love this Podcast

by Marxy511 on Dec 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

These women are so great at taking on these self help books. They follow the directions and give honest feedback on how everything went. I am smiling every time I listen to them. I love their openness. Would love for them to do even more books!

Love this podcast!

by Bra Size Curious on Dec 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Podcast subscriptions come and go on my phone but this one is a keeper. Even when discussing a book that I have absolutely no interest in following or reading, I'll listen to these two ladies. Funny, practical and REAL, it's a blast and often I find myself practicing what they talk about-like writing thank you letters.Thank you for the show, ladies, and I look forward to your next adventure!

Recently disappointed. Still a solid podcast.

by Livster on Dec 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

90% of the time I simply adore this podcast. I have made many of my friends and co-workers tune in. The hosts are highly intelligent, driven, and witty... not to mention relatable! However, I came away feeling disappointed and honestly upset after listening to their recent episode of "Girl, Wash Your Face." Everyone is entitled to their own beliefs, and I try hard to accept and understand those viewpoints that might not be my own. So when Jolenta and Kristen began to criticize the book due to the author's religious affiliation and the fact that the author's dad was a religious leader, my heart began to sink. The hosts are fine with covens, crystals, and atheistic views (and I think that's great) but I have noticed a pattern on this podcast that when Christianity is brought up in a book - even prefaced by the author at the beginning that there might be some religious undertones - Jolenta and Kristen cannot seem to accept these viewpoints. Or worse, they belittle someone because they are Christian or believes that Satan exists - such as Rachel Hollis (the author) did in Girl, Wash Your Face. It was tough to hear them denounce this book because one of the reasons being they did not like the author's dad was a religious leader of a sect they do not follow. If the author and her dad were Islamic, Buddhist, Jewish, Hindu, Agnostic, Atheist, or Mormon would Jolenta and Kristen have said such critical words? Jolenta and Kristen - you are better than that. Please be mindful of your words when denouncing other's religions or views, even if they are not ones you share. It's all our differing opinions and perspectives that make this world as amazing, and yes complicated, as it is. Thank you for sharing your lives with all of us, I have walked away many times reinvigorated after your show. You two are amazing women!

Hilarious and thoughtful

by shireenship on Dec 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I absolutely love this podcast. It makes my day when I get to listen to an episode on my drive into work. It’s almost like listening to an interactive audiobook. They ladies are hilarious and I love hearing their adventures through the self help books.

A Public Service

by Frischlette on Dec 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Kristen and Jolenta are stunningly brave in the vulnerability they share in each episode. They do the hard work of reading and sampling the self help practices, so you can determine if it’s worth your time. They go deep and address real issues with family, colleagues and friends. I hope it is as cathartic for them as it is inspiring to those who listen. Bonus is anytime their spouses, Dean & Brad, are involved in the pursuits and there are never enough Frank voice overs.🐕

Just reminds me of being in a room with my best friend

by KatreeenaVee on Dec 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I appreciate how in this podcast, we have a great example of how as women to empower, encourage, challenge, and support other women.

SO GOOD!!!!

by Steph1234567890 on Dec 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Wow I love this podcast! Kristen and Jolenta are great, and their different perspectives balance each other well. I benefit from this podcast by getting the scoop on some of the books I really want to read but can’t seem to get to. Six stars!

Love this show

by jorgess on Dec 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

.It’s one of these shows where I look forward to hearing every week. These girls seem like they should be my good friends. Love this show. Great concept. Actually helps my life. I laugh I cry I learn. Good times

It’s great

by Hs heilf on Dec 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the only podcast I consistently listen to. I don’t write reviews on things and I am only here because I’m worried the show will stop getting produced! Don’t let that happen. This is a great show. It’s funny, it’s relatable, and Kristen and jolenta are really thoughtful great women who I’ve learned a lot from.

Wonderful Podcast

by Louiesrunninngbuddy on Dec 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have listened to every episode and live this podcast. The host are funny and enigmatic in their own right but also work lovely together. It’s always worth my time even if it’s not a book I am interested in. 💜

I Love This!

by mertoots on Dec 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoy this podcast so much. Your hosts are fab and I feel like they are women who bring a lot of information, advice, and entertainment. I love the sweet letters and conversations with their partners. 5 STARS!

ADORE

by identicallme on Dec 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

love the premise. love the hosts. the hosts’ husband appearances. love they say what they think when they think it, share their lows and highs in real time rather than only rehashing their experiences, LOVE that they call out and talk about various kinds of privilege and how they are impacted by/benefit from said privilege, love that they are confident enough to take and share listener feedback. keep doing what you do, please please keep making these episodes no matter where you land. thanks for existing and inspiring me to be ok with just being a person who is doing their best!! ♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️♥️

My favorite podcast

by amyleee217 on Dec 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast because I love self help books but now as a mom with 2 little kids I just don’t have the time and energy to read a book. But I can turn on a podcast in my ear with my handy wireless earbud any time day or night, or in the car.. I love how these ladies not only summarize the books they read but they also live their life by the book and then discuss how it went! It’s so helpful and I always come away with something positive after every episode. Please keep making new episodes ❤️

Like making two good friends

by jilliana60 on Dec 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I found this podcast during a rough patch and binge listening to the first six episodes turned my mood around. Seeing a new episode in my podcast feed still brightens my day.

My friends Jolenta and Kristen

by emilyhallrn on Dec 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Kristin and Jolenta are so fun and their self-help adventures inspire me to think about how I can appreciate people and things in life and about my self more!!

Binge-worthy podcast

by AliDelWI on Dec 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love listening to Jolenta and Kristin (and their long-suffering partners) try out then break down different self-help books. Many LOL moments but also very serious stuff too. Highly recommend!

I appreciate being caught up on what’s fashionable in self help

by Moestlight on Dec 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

These two friends read and digest into actionable steps the latest/ most famous from the self help genre. A genre I have no intention of reading, yet I am entertained. They take opposite positions and work through them. Lots of real life examples in a show that shows you inside a real friendship. I wouldn’t call them reviews as much as personal opinions and experiences, which is more entertaining anyway.