Average rating:

4.5
out of 2588 ratings.

OBSESSED

by Stephmarie2332 on Nov 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm completely OBSESSED with the By The Book Podcast. It goes on the second I get into my car. I'm not sure what I'm going to do with my life when I get through all the episodes.

So fun!

by Pie-lattes on Nov 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the dynamic of these two ladies and I love the variety of books they review! It sounds like they have a good and respectful relationship off the episode as well which is endearing. And seriously the bonus episodes are also the best. We've loved getting book recommendations from this podcast!

So much fun!

by Vivamus33 on Nov 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. It’s funny, insightful, thought-provoking and inspirational. I’d love to hang out with Jolenta, Kristen, Brad & Dean!

I love you guys!

by MarvinDwayne on Nov 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is smart, and funny, and insightful. I feel like a part of the conversation and appreciate your authenticity. I feel less alone, and I can’t thank you enough.

Love love love

by AnnieRichmond on Nov 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I had heard of many of the books that Jolenta and Kristen review but hadn’t read them. This podcast has been fantastic for helping me choose what books I’d like to read and I’m hoping to get my own By The Book group of friends together to try them! Kristen and Jolenta are marvelous and I can’t wait for the next season!

Where are you?!?!

by My 6 year old on Nov 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I am waiting, not so patiently, to hear season 4. Love the funny, smart and thoughtful conversation between these two friends. Can’t wait for season 4 and your new beginning.

So entertaining!

by romanachick66 on Nov 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love Kristen and Jolenta’s perspective on the world, and the enthusiasm by which they live by each book! Hope the podcast finds a new home soon!

Obsessed!

by misslissa9 on Nov 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

By the Book strikes a really nice balance between being fun/easy to listen to, and hitting on some actual self-improvement topics - I’m always surprised at which episodes really resonate with me. I binged most of all three seasons in a week or so, and I will say some of the banter seemed stilted at first but PLEASE stick with it! I want to send Kristen and Jolenta so much love :)

Down-to-earth inspirational

by pop_up_gif on Nov 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I was one episode in and I told all my friends about this podcast. Whether or not you would ever read the book they review, you will be inspired and learn different perspectives, and that there are others out there wanting to be good, help others and be better.

Insightful and Hilarious

by LindsRawr on Nov 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

These two humans are giving such a gift by letting us into their lives. I find self-help fascinating, but I HATE reading self help books. This podcast is a godsend. My favorite road trip podcast. Introspective, inspiring, and laugh out loud hilarious.

Bullet Journal

by rachelnielson on Nov 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast! I have talked more about this podcast than any other. I’ve learned and been inspired by you two so much! Please do a podcast on journaling!!! I recently bought a book about bullet journaling and I’m hopeful that it will help me finally kick things into gear and get organized!! I love your podcast!!!

Omg I can’t do this ...

by smahnet on Nov 01, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Ok I am a guy here. And this show is like having The View for podcast. Even at twice the speed it is unbearable. Maybe it works for women... not for me. Those poor husbands of theirs must be perfect... Come on girls! More fun less useless chat.

Change your theme song

by mmp98 on Nov 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Entertaining podcast with a tragically annoying theme song.

Love these two!

by PiggyGarza on Oct 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I am a self-help book junkie so this podcast is a great way to see which ones I should actually dive into. Plus both of the hosts are so real and fun-I appreciate them struggling and being honest about each book’s rules. Which rules are actually applicable and which are just unrealistic! Thanks!!!

I love this show!

by Shanti217 on Oct 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love self help books so of course I adore this podcast. Hilariously honest, vulnerable, and deeply moving

Self-help book club

by Fwdlib on Oct 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the book club I didn’t even know I wanted to join. The hosts read the books so thoroughly that I feel like I really get the essence of a book. They are so vulnerable too with the audio diaries. One of my top 5 podcasts for sure! I used to only listen to episodes in which the book itself interested me but now I’m going back and listening to them all.

Jolenta and Kristen are awesome!

by lacelyn on Oct 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve listened to most of the episodes and I absolutely love this podcast! They are so in sync with each other and I love how real and authentic they are in how they live by the books and discuss how they impact their lives. Many excellent topics covered but I’m also engaged and entertained even if I don’t have a personal interest in the book of the day.

BTB

by Crb19832442569076899 on Oct 18, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I wish the hosts would not talk over each other. This is definitely not specific to by the book. It’s really rampant on other pods as well but I noticed it so much with the most recent episode of answering listeners questions. Jolenta interrupted Kristen so many times it made me uncomfortable. I also notice this in society where everyone is rushing to get their point across rather than listen to the other person speaking. I would enjoy more if each person was able to articulate their thought to completion. I’m finding that some of the pods I enjoy most are where people have their space to speak without the host or cohost jumping in making the audio experience messy.

Can’t stop listening.

by Doughnivor on Oct 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Why did it take me so long to find these two? How have I decided on any book to read before them? These women are gems and review books in the most genuine, fun, relatable way possible. Subscriber4life.

Fun Listen

by SuperSpecialK on Oct 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This show has a great concept and it’s both fun and enlightening hearing the hosts’ experiences living by the “rules” of a self-help or how-to book. I enjoy the hosts’ smarts and sensibility— they critique the books honestly, calling out privilege and bias where they see it, as well as noting where books (even if flawed) get it right. Bonus: incorporating highlights of goofy books I probably would never read into practice!

Love this podcast

by Jamie Roberts aka the.jame on Oct 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoy listening to these ladies! I think this idea is brilliant and I just enjoy listening to the process.

Wonderful, informative, cheezit-loving

by Anne in DC on Oct 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Oh my, this is one of the best podcasts out there! I listen to the marvelous Kristin and Jolenta on my morning walk, and they’ve had me laughing so hard that others step FAR out of my way. I love how they throw themselves into the book “for 2 weeks straight” and bring their partners, bosses, producer,family along for the ride. The big problem with self help books is that you are sitting there, reading them in a vacuum. How will this fit into my life? Is this author for real? Don’t you have to have a driver and a trust fund to actualize nirvana in this way? The By the Book Gals do all that road testing for you through their very real own lives. You get the helpful gems and can leave the useless advice on the plate. And you don’t have to buy the dang book.Two words: Miracle Morning. Hilarious! You will snort coffee out loud through your nose — and not even care if your boss is sitting across the room while you do.

Hit and miss

by Ken - - - - on Oct 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I like how they put themselves out there and challenge themselves. With that said, they actually do seem to throw around labels on people and they seem to enjoy putting people in boxes. I listed to 1.5 seasons. I am not am not easily offended, but their very randomly throw around profanity keeps me from sharing even their best episodes.

Love it!

by Judith Friddlesticks on Oct 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast! My daughter and I are super fans. We practice our power poses in front of our cats, listen together and pause to discuss. When she has a "moment", I ask, "What would Kristen and Jolenta say?" And logical empathy are immidiately restored to our household.

One of the best

by ylnorth on Oct 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

By The Book is one of my go-to podcasts. I find it to be both entertaining and enlightening. I have made improvements in my life based on books discussed on this podcast. What to Say When You Talk To Yourself, 5 Love Languages, Zero Waste Home are a few of my faves!

LOVE

by vvbk! on Oct 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Hands down my favorite podcast.

Laugh thru your self helping

by ellalaur on Oct 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is hysterical. I used to think my mom was super lame for reading self help books but as an adult I find myself sneaking them out of the library hoping for answers and then laughing that I’ve turned into her. Anyhow, I get a hilarious prescreen on all kinds of books here and I appreciate and love the humor in it all.

Great Concept

by kjs<3 on Oct 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love hearing how these two funny women work through books I’ve also read and very interesting to hear their many times differing opinions from mine. I laugh out loud every episode.

Podcast I most look forward to!

by ilovepodcastssomuch on Sep 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I enjoy each episode from start to finish - possible the season wrap-ups the most. It's entertaining, honest, and often quite helpful. I look forward to each episode and can't wait for season 4!

Rude

by mrlla19 on Sep 25, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I only got through one episode. Found the calling of people who like the secret to be stupid both rude and offensive. Who are you to judge books that make people happy? Bummed because this was a great podcast idea but these hosts (particularly the non-comedian one) are annoying.

Such a great podcast

by fairy_puke on Sep 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

These two women really give so much of themselves every week, and it is so touching and inspiring to listen to their experiences with these books. I hope it never gets canceled!

It is Self Help Help Afterall

by Jgghhj on Sep 19, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Entertaining. But stopped listening because they can be too harsh on a book that actually might help someone.

Funny, heart-warming, and a good pick-me-up

by Elsee703 on Sep 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The ladies of “By the book” are absolutely fantastic! I love this podcast so much! They make self-help funny and they are two very empowering ladies. Please don’t stop making this podcast! I look forward to listening to you both each week!!! And I’m guilty of re-listening to some of the best ones to cheer myself up on a bad day. Thank you for making this podcast!!!

Love it.

by Lalalestrange on Sep 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This show has *actually* improved my life. Jolenta and Kristin have a wonderful chemistry that makes the show feel like you’re having brunch with your girlfriends. I try what worked and leave the rest. Super fun. Thanks, ladies!

I’m not their demographic, but..

by r1121241444141 on Sep 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I knew Jolenta from a previous life and listened to the podcast on a whim. Kristen and Jolenta, with wit, laughs, and insight, take me into their world and the world of self-help in a way that amuses, surprises, and occasionally terrifies. I’m hooked!

Love these ladies!

by Lady Meshel on Sep 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one of my favorite podcasts. Such a great idea & these 2 always make me smile. I love how different they are & that they both bring their willing husbands into the game. Thoughtful, funny, vulnerable, & entertaining. I'm not going to live by a book, but I've picked up ideas from listening to this show.

Informative and fun look at self help

by lily314 on Sep 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

So helpful to hear these ladies takes on a variety of self help books. I either can put them on my list to read or know I do not have to read them! Jolenta and Kristen are so sweet and funny, and make a lot of great points. Highly recommended!

Who knew self help could be so much fun

by wanderingkirst on Sep 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is so much fun. I’m not even a person who reads self help books but the personal angle is the appeal. I like the real effort they put forth and their honest feedback! Jolenta and Kristin really grow on you and their friendship is such a big attribute to the podcast. Thanks for the hard work that we can all learn from!

I feel a sisterly love and support from this show

by Kimkim25436 on Sep 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve been binge watching since my first listen last week. I love both of these ladies. I appreciate that they live through these self help books so we don’t have to.I laugh. I cry. I feel a sisterly support from this podcast that I don’t get with any others. Thank you for making it!!! Keep going!

Saves me time and enjoyable

by Med04 on Sep 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I dont have to read all the self help books now! I can learn from these hosts which are actually worthwhile and I still get a few of the gems from them reading the lesser books for me.

Honest, Fun, and Helpful

by YamaDiallo on Sep 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is one of my favorites because the hosts are so honest and open about their lives and opinions. It’s like sitting down with a couple of friends and hearing about trying to live by a self help book which makes me laugh and helps me know whether that book is one I’d be interested in.

Witty, enlightening and important.

by lauraadele3 on Sep 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A podcast by smart ladies for smart ladies. Hilarious and my favorite part of my morning commute.

Not a regular podcast listener UNTIL NOW

by ClaireBear1112 on Sep 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I discovered this podcast after hearing their interview on NPR radio. Jolenta and Kristen are smart and funny. This podcast has truly helped me during bouts of depression. Thanks for producing such an amazing show!

Fun listen every time!

by Ado2pod on Sep 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is my go to commuting podcast. It is so well produced and Jolenta and Kristin are hilarious, authentic, and lift each other up. No dame shaming on this show! I sometimes disagree with the stances they take (Kristin would faint to know how not 100% green I am), but I love listening just the same. Great to hear smart, well-informed, funny women making their opinions known!

More please!

by wafflewhit on Sep 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve just discovered By The Book and I’m so sad I’m out of episodes. This podcast brings me so much joy!!

By the Book is Brilliant!

by jillimccoy on Sep 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve only just found this podcast, and have binged four episodes and epilogues in one day! I enjoy the hosts, the structure of the episodes, particularly when audio clips are edited in from their time living each book and, of course, the content. This is such a fun way to hear other’s experiences with self-help. Thanks gals!!

Love It!

by Shelbyloudelong on Sep 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast! So fun to hear about these self help books you might have wanted to read but are now glad you don’t have to... or you now have to buy because you know it will help you.

Simplifying Self-Help for Busy People

by Tamyfofany on Sep 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast because I constantly read self-help books, so much so that I needed a break and switched to fiction. The two hosts, Jolenta and Kristen, have great chemistry and offer insightful thought provoking conversation. Love that I get my self-help fix in a bite sized format!

Love this podcast

by Live in Your Truth on Sep 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

These women are so real and relatable. And they are taking me through all of the books I’ve bought and read but not implemented. Awesome. 😀

One of my faves!

by Jennmbell on Sep 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Have been listening regularly since the middle of season 1 and I’m hooked! I look forward to Kristen & Jolenta’s experiences and honest assessments about each book. I think it’s a great concept for a show.