Average rating:

4.5
out of 25593 ratings.

Great podcast

by rayt513 on Oct 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I typically do not like the journalist podcast because they are cheesy however I thought this one was interesting and well produced with great voice actors

Binged

by Jlo.iowa on Oct 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I loved this story! I found myself binging for hours and enjoyed the twists and turns.

I couldn’t get into it

by BrookeMariePlusOne on Oct 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I hate starting a podcast and not finishing the series but I tried over and over. I could not get into this one. There were points where the story dragged on over mundane not relevant things. I’d listen for a half hour and shut it off only to give it another shot. After 5 episodes I said no more.

Universally Adored

by mscan482 on Oct 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazing podcast for those who enjoy true crime AND those who don’t. It is more of a novel-style story about a very interesting man’s life. I did not expect to like it, but I loved it and so did everyone I know who listened (all from many different age groups and backgrounds). This story is mysterious and heart wrenching. It is universal.

Captivated

by JFoxHenderson on Oct 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This was my first ever podcast and I knew nothing about S-town. Little did I know it would be a mesmerizing story about people and places :45 min from where I live in Birmingham. An amazing story and storyteller...

“What is going on in my town?”

by tiny_03 on Oct 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I am from Bibb County and these podcasts have made me stop and think “what is going on in my town?” ,and they are making me want to know more about my town.

Entrancing

by Michelle McD on Oct 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I was hooked on this podcast from the get go. It was mentioned on Serial so after a binged through Serial’s first season I started S-town. I loved it. The mid season twist was like a gut punch. Can’t recommend this podcast enough

Very good!

by juuuuust.jancee on Oct 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This was a good one! You think the story is about one thing, but it keeps evolving into a much bigger conversation. Very good.Maybe a spoiler, but just a note: "died by suicide" instead of "committed suicide" please.

So good!

by blakeagan on Oct 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Simply one of my favorite podcasts to date. Started out one way and ended up in three other ways. I highly recommend the listen!

First Timer

by Exotic Army on Oct 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I had to listen and annotate the first chapter of S-Town as part of my college English class. I was skeptical about this. I had never listened to a podcast before. I do not regret it. This series is honestly so good, I had to finish it. It kept me on the edge of my seat wanting to know more about John. I was able to feel Brian’s emotions throughout the whole podcast. I am looking forward to listening to more from Brian.

Good story, terrible narrator

by Alyssa Di. on Oct 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

This guy is the worst narrator. Every sentence is ended as if he’s asking a question.

Eerily good.

by RabbitTush on Oct 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

You won’t regret it.

The best.

by highvoltage82 on Oct 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

OMG the best podcast I've listened to.

Heartbreaking

by Mac Jackson on Oct 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

You go through all the emotions listening to this series and still want more:)

Just wow.

by Sarah1234567890qwedcc on Oct 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I came for the rumored murder, but stayed for John’s story. This podcast hooked me from the beginning. I laughed, I cried, and I cried some more.

Everyone has a story

by Axolotl lover on Oct 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you for telling this story. You did it well.

....

by Pailei on Oct 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

This was a beautifully told poignant account of a man’s life and influence on his community. Definitely check it out.

Omg

by HCasey72 on Oct 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

LOVE

I’m hooked

by Sicaq on Oct 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I miss John B., even though I never met him. Good job telling his story, beautifully tragic!

Loved

by Kial.Shope on Oct 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I absolutely loved this podcast. It made me literally made me intrigued, I laughed, I cried, I was thoroughly invested. Great job!

Best Podcast I’ve Ever Listened To

by lenichol on Oct 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Hands down. Starts so small and then blows the **** open. Mindblowing.

S town

by Walking Wendy on Oct 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I was hooked... immediately. It wasn’t until the very end that it all came together. I highly recommend this as your walking buddy. The story is riveting.

Tedious and Long

by abs676 on Oct 01, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The podcast flounders after episode IV or so, when it changes from a true crime investigation to a meandering glance into the past of a sad dead man. The host claims that John's death "will expose S-town" around episode II, but this never pans out. Really it just pumps you up for a sick treasure hunt and scintillating scandal, but then completely drops the ball and just becomes a boring, desperate attempt be interesting for a few more episodes. I found it misleading and in the end, just a nosy, nothing story that goes nowhere.

Enjoyed the story

by Jaxxsj on Sep 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Such a sad but interesting story. Thank you for sharing a piece of John’s life. Truly enjoyed this podcast and great narration.

It pulls you in

by HD718 on Sep 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Unexpectedly Awesome

Disappointed with the ending

by ssmarii on Sep 28, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The story itself throughout was interesting, exciting at times, confusing in others, but all in all told very well. Yet in the end, it left me so disappointed!! For the reporter to go through the trouble of doing this whole series only to end it the way he did...was disheartening. I honestly feel like I would never listen to any podcast he does again! I wasn’t expecting the story to finish with a pretty bow at the end, but some sort of wrap up, resolution in some way, or even final thoughts! Very disappointed.

Truly inspirational and beautifully disturbing

by mister173 on Sep 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love every single second of this!!!

Disappointing

by Stone Davidson on Sep 27, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This was a terrible podcast. It was aimless and pointless. The first two episodes one story is chased. After that, another. Finally, the series concludes with a dull thud.

Ehhhhhh

by Johnny_turner on Sep 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Thought it was good, just kind of kept waiting for a twist. It was shocking that John took his own life but I was hoping to hear of a massive gold find or some crazy ending.

Amazing

by Velvet words on Sep 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Hooked. Listened and finished in a span of a few days. Beautiful story telling. Such a great lot of an event some will always care about.

Probably the best podcast series there is

by Mariana LP on Sep 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Its soo good I’ve probably heard it at least 7 times. Such a great story and so well made!

Listen right now!

by ruthginsburg on Sep 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is literally the best podcast I have ever listened to! Attention grabbing and so well written!

Omg

by Dena2684 on Sep 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I wish I knew John B.

Well done!

by Rickietikitavi on Sep 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Phenomenal, gripping, & seriously interesting! Binged listened to this podcast and was truly affected by this man and his story. I could listen to Brian Reed all day!!! When are you gonna do something else...like this! I've listened 4 times and just can't get. I didn't want it to end. Hands down, best podcast of all time!

Cannot Recommend Highly Enough

by gabetron3030 on Sep 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

One of the most engrossing podcasts currently available. S-Town is nothing like what you expect it to be.

Addicting

by lindzjo on Sep 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I finished this within 2 days... great story

Intelligent, Educational, Emotional, and Reflective

by Bored n Hungry in LA on Sep 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

John B was clearly a tortured genius. His story, as told by Brian Reed, laid bare the heart of man and how difficult finding your place in this life can be. Yes, it voyeuristic. Yes, it may appear exploitative. But I truly took from it the absolute necessity to get off the couch, open the door, get out, and LIVE!!!! Thank you S-Town and thank you John B.

Excellent Podcast

by WolfSlaynBlood on Sep 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I've listened and re-listened to this podcast, each time leaving me in awe and fascination, hinted with a tinge of overwhelming sadness as we witness the life of John B Maclemore unfold before our eyes. Reed does not fail to deliver and takes us through a compelling story that takes a 360 so fast, you'll be left spinning.

Sucked in within first 15 minutes

by Almader4195 on Sep 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast.... AMAZING. Everything about it is so well made, so well said, so well thought out. Descriptions are so vivid, it’s easy to put faces with names. It makes you feel like you are living within the podcast and like you actually know these people. This is my #1 favorite podcast of all!!!! (Serial is definitely #2 though)Update: No, this story is not fake. Do your research before you say accents are fake, story is fake, etc. I’m from Tennessee, and yes, some people’s accents do sound just like John B 😂

LISTEN!!!

by CJFranc on Sep 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast was so captivating. And I’m telling you, it won’t turn out anything like you think it will.

Wow... just wow.

by abadforce on Sep 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Y’all are in for an amazing treat! I couldn’t stop listening!

Genius

by lkarimi on Sep 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Incredible podcast and unbelievable reporting

Not as advertised

by ABz_11224 on Sep 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Came here cause I kept getting commercials for it on Up & Vanished. Sounded like another murder cover up podcast, but that storyline was gone by the end of episode 1. It went a totally different direction. It was okay overall; I did complete the whole thing. Not super satisfying or what I was looking for.

Had no idea what I was getting into

by Big Mundo 75 on Sep 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I heard about this podcast on an episode of Serial thinking it was another crime podcast. I started it in the morning at work. Soon I was enveloped in a complex story that I couldn’t stop listening to until it was over making this the first podcast I have ever binged. S Town is incredibly well put together and told.

Subscribe now

by anna_deck on Sep 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This was my first podcast of this genre and I can easily say I’m hooked by these producers. I’ve downloaded This American Life and Serial just after finishing this morning❤️

So good!!

by Kim Nash on Sep 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

One of the best podcasts I’ve listened to.

Must listen

by Augmommy on Sep 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great story...great storyteller...

Wonderful podcast!

by Amy Kennedy Chatt, TN on Sep 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Brian told this story with such compassion and kindness. My favorite podcast!

Bizarre but Good

by Dallasface on Sep 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I was hooked! The story starts out so mysterious but I lost interest with all the twists and turns

A podcast done right.

by jawBtan on Sep 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Such incredible story telling, incredible investigating so well done.