Average rating:

4.5
out of 22199 ratings.

Unfortunately a Let Down

by dolphins00000123 on Jul 17, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

This podcast is nothing like Serial which is where it was promoted. It was definitely a big let down after coming from such a great high on Serial. There are many other true crime / mystery podcasts that are way better than this one in my opinion.

Epic storytelling at its best!

by Sinks88888 on Jul 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The only thing that makes this better is that it’s true. My heart is broken but thankful that this story is forever preserved. What an amazing man.

I’ve only listened to the first episode

by odurden on Jul 16, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

But I really don’t like the narrator. I get that he’s skeptical (as he should be) but he’s being rude to John. Can’t respect that kind of journalism.

So good

by Am B P on Jul 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This did not turn out to be the story I thought I was going to hear. It was so good, you never know what you’ll hear next

Hooked

by Harper Doritos on Jul 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I started listening today, and I was hooked from Chapter 1!

S Town

by Stratoarks on Jul 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Hooked, a little sad but also very interesting. Great from all perspectives.

Amazing character! Well done!

by Jennth98th on Jul 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The main character is fascinating! Wow! His commentary is so vivid. An insight into a subculture that most of us have never been privy to.

Amazing

by dan27! on Jul 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one of the most amazing stories, about one of the most amazing individuals, I have ever heard. RIP John.

The Citizen Kane of podcasts

by Troyler shipper on Jul 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

👍

Outstanding

by Biff123 on Jul 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Such a bizarre but interesting story. Last 2 eps are kinda meh but the first 5 are incredible.

I didn’t want this to end

by raebeaming on Jul 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I got so sucked in to S-Town that I couldn’t stop listening and finished it very quickly, and am listening again! It’s hard to write a review without spoiling anything, but it’s a fantastic true story that leads you down paths you wouldn’t expect and it’s incredibly well told.

Best Podcast by far!

by amoschick on Jul 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

My favorite podcast to date. I loved every minute of it. I can't imagine anyone giving it less than 5 stars. Made a long road trip bearable.

Podcast that got me into more podcasts

by Bee_K1ng on Jul 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Loved it. This podcast opened up a new interest I have in mystery/crime podcasts

What now...

by Cbelectro on Jul 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast broke my heart in so many ways. So many levels of toxicity and so many versions of beauty. It forced me to touch in with an America I’ve been trying to ignore since leaving my childhood home. It also feels like a call to action. To practice tolerance even when it feels hard (tolerance for the intolerant) and to think bigger about endemic problems of hopelessness that turns to hate and despair. This isn’t in reference to John but to the world he lived in. He was beautifully complicated and painfully human (to paraphrase). On a very worldly level I feel indignant about the loss of his maze. Silly in the face of such larger losses but it seems to signify the unfairness and senselessness we’re witnessing daily. Thank you for sharing this journey with us.

Amazing!

by diddeebopp on Jul 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I devoured this story. The way it was told and unfolded, how it twisted and turned and the moral ambiguity of it all—totally blew me away. Just absolutely beautiful. Definitely going to listen to this multiple times.

Ok

by not serial on Jul 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The host sounds like he is about to cry all the time. Very annoying

Best podcast

by Sam23201 on Jul 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Best story I’ve had the pleasure to ever listen to. John B is the most interesting man I’ve had the pleasure of getting to know.

Good Story, Distracting narrator

by Runnerboy on Jul 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I really enjoy the storyline and how the show plays out. However, the narrator’s emphasis at the end of each sentence gets so distracting for me. The narration sounds like every other sentence is a question, because of how the narrator speaks.

I LOVED THIS PODCAST!

by rainabee123 on Jul 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I stumbled upon this podcast and it’s one of my top 5 favorites of all time. I laughed, cried and couldn’t wait for my 50 minute ride to work each day to listen. Excellent!!

Enticing

by Rosalena Bucciferro on Jul 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love his voice, the way the story unfolds, how the characters are depicted with his descriptions... It’s worth the listen

Every turn is a left turn

by mineking1 on Jul 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A true story so intriguing and well told, with twists at every turn.

The BEST Podcast/Story Out There

by Tamar69 on Jul 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It’s still the best one I’ve listened to. Complex and crushingly beautiful.Update 7/1/18: Yup, still the best. Hands down.

Did I miss something?

by LJG456 on Jun 30, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

S-Town was so beautifully told. It was very obvious Brian’s connection to This American Life and Serial in the telling of this tale. I loved listening to it and was drawn into the story immediately...well actually I had to listen to the first two episodes twice as there were too many names, I couldn’t keep them straight. After that it was a joy. Until the end...***SPOILER ALERT***Seriously, did I miss something? It started off about a murder that it never tied back into. Yes, the father bought the land but was there something more to it? That was just the way they found a mysterious story about man’s suicide? Really? Forgive me for this and RIP John but without tying the story back to the murder it seems like all you did was air the dirty laundry of a man who was hoping you could do some good for his town. Pretty hideous stuff.

Got me

by Droptyne on Jun 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Right from episode 1 I was hooked . You drew me in and had my undivided attention.... thanks

My Favorite Podcast

by BombusFervidus on Jun 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is my 3rd time listening to this podcast, because the story is so incredible. I recommend it to everyone looking for something new to listen to. I laughed, I cried, it was better than Cats.

Outstanding Series

by LdyRidr on Jun 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm coming in really late to the ballgame so I can tell you that I've already listened to the entire series, all episodes. Each and everyone is outstanding! This is better than 48 hrs or 20/20 or just about most shows I've seen on TV within this genre. I finished this series just a few days ago and I can tell you that I'm still vested in this. Still thinking on this person, town, his friends, life. It's really pulls you in. The folks that created and made this are so very thoughtful and you can tell that no stone was left unturned when researching and facts as well as revealing nuances of each persons character. This is just outstanding. Cudos to all that made this!!!!!

Strange isn’t fake & heartbreak isn’t a liberal agenda...

by noteghost on Jun 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Can’t believe people think John’s accent is fake. They’ve never spent anytime in Alabama yet feel expert enough to claim it’s a voice actor. Regardless of what actually happens in the complexity of real life, the idea that someone’s troubles and obviously obsessive opinions are somehow the podcast’s “agenda” is what is reductive in so many of these negative reviews... having grown up in a very small town in SC, I can assure you there are a lot of people who have experiences somewhat like this who have NEVER had such a platform, even posthumously. The consumer mindset gives so many listeners the impression that they should critique the content and not the style; calling someone’s accent and experience fake or agenda-based, even though this is a free podcast and easily researched online. The south is weirder and more complicated than even southerners would have you believe, and this very sad and moving glimpse is so valuable for that.

Stretched thin

by LivingShell on Jun 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

After all my friends wouldn't shut up about this show I finally decided to give it a listen. After a couple of episodes I thought I'd struck ear-gold. But after a certain point in the drama (you'll know what I'm talking about if you listen to the show) they lost the most interesting component in the show and it spirals off into this whole long tangent about morally questionable (some downright repugnant) people fighting over someone else's property. Who needs that? I got my own annoying relatives. Finally bailed when I realized I didn't care who got the property... or what happened to the people. I was tired of hanging out with them. There's a reason I don't live in Alabama.

So good!

by kelleycr on Jun 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this so much! It was enthralling!

Creative but dark

by Iownna on Jun 26, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This podcast was from the beginning til end creative and intriguing and yet dark, very dark. It left little to no hope in it’s depressing view of life in small town America today. Would never recommend.

Was expecting less gay sex

by baconhall on Jun 26, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This was a complete waste of my time. It didn’t make sense to me to glorify a vulgar, suicidal, pessimistic, gay atheist. This show needs a * GAY SEX WARNING *

Ummm...pretty sure this is FAKE...

by Adub310 on Jun 25, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

...and all parties involved are terrible at voice acting. How has no one realized this? You guys are has beens

Tedious

by DisneyLeah13 on Jun 25, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I just wasted 7 hours of my life. Great storytelling, but nothing significant happened. Was just led on for 7 hours.

Best of the best

by ecars42 on Jun 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This was SUCH an amazing podcast. It completely hooked me in after the first 10 minutes and left me wanting another Brian reed story. One of the best I have ever listened to.

Great time waster

by mp_tx on Jun 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Rose for Emily is perhaps the worst buffer song I have ever heard. Big build up, but the story left we wanting more.

When I am gone, mark not the passing of the hours, but just that love lives on.

by gsnapp on Jun 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Brian Reed captures his meeting and getting to know John B Macklemore. John is someone we should all know or do know someone party like him. An insightful look into life in a small town that twists around itself and the people who live there. Don’t expect a fairy tail with the podcast, but it is a tale for sure.

So good

by MiaMariaMae1234 on Jun 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is an awesome series. I listened to it on a long solo drive through the Rocky Mountains. It was addicting and fascinating. Surprising twists and turns, and so eloquently told. If you’d like to dive into a story that will change your perspective and introduce you to a different life view, check this one out.

Unfortunate

by lou201& on Jun 23, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Horrible & boring! It’s just a biography, I felt lied to about what I was going to listen to. Why do I care about a man’s entire life in a podcast who’s just nuts/sad/depressed/strange? Not worth it.

Captivating

by ColorfulOT on Jun 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I loved the story telling. It was like being a part of the story that I couldn’t wAit till the next chapter.

Captivating

by Austin Hunz on Jun 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Absolutely one of the best podcasts ever. A year later and I’m still wanting answers and still wanting more. The main character is fascinating. I love this podcast!

Riveting

by Mlless12 on Jun 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This was the most captivating podcast I’ve heard. It left me wanting more. More John B, more stories, more answers. I truly hope there is a follow up.

Twists and turns

by PangoTango on Jun 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Fascinating, can't stop listening, character driven, well produced story that is easy to relate to while staying suspenseful. Unlike any podcast I've heard.

Incredible

by StephanieD8666 on Jun 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast made me feel emotions I hadn’t felt in a long time. Sometimes I find myself feeling the negativity John B had about the decline of society. This podcast allowed me to meet a man who not only was incredibly complicated but also so simple to relate to. When it all comes down to the end, never forget the silence and things that gave you peace.

Excellent Podcast

by Mharden87 on Jun 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love listening to podcasts, mainly true crime, and finally dove into this after hearing it recommended again and again. I have never been so sucked into a podcast. I am on the 4th episode and I honestly have no idea which way this is going to go! For awhile I didn’t even know where they were trying to head with this but still I was completely sucked in. I feel like I can picture it all so well and the descriptions of everything is excellent. Thank you for a great podcast! Also, the music is perfect. I had to come edit my review after I found myself smiling as they were playing the opera music. The music is all wonderfully picked and is a breath of fresh air during the story.

Top Notch

by glassesoptional on Jun 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the gold standard when it comes to podcasting. Incredible story telling. Amazing and tragic story. It ran the gauntlet of my emotions. This is one of the best podcasts out there.

Fascinating

by Dkcraw on Jun 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The story begins with a pretty interesting murder inquiry, but quickly takes a turn and builds up such an intriguing human, John B. I could not stop listening, I kept wanting to dive deeper into the S***-Town, the people of it, and the stories that came from John’s life. Def recommend.

Absolutely Amazing

by caitiefking on Jun 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the most amazing podcast I have ever heard. I had no expectation and once I started the first episode I was hooked! I finished all of the episodes in one day!!! Definitely worth listening

Riveting

by Gtungsy on Jun 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Absolutely Incredible. I could not stop listening. Best podcast I have ever heard.

Boring.

by Bringer of trueth on Jun 17, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Waste of time

Interesting

by malleyalley25 on Jun 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Brian does a great job narrating and explaining his research of such an interesting story. Keep up the great work!