Average rating:

4.5
out of 15172 ratings.

A man ahead of his time and stuck in his environment

by paulatomhart on Jan 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The story of a unique and complex man, who was both a product and victim of his environment. It also reminded me of the good, the bad , and the ugly of my experiences as a yankee in my early 20s working for the paper industry in that region of Alabama. There are freedoms of rights, lands, and property; along with a sense of family and what America truely stands for that can only fully be appreciated in the south. However, there is also an unwillingness to allow for social change, racial equality, and basic human rights which continue to plague the region. Hopefully, in the next 100 years a man this wise will be allowed to live in complete freedom, in the land that formed all that he was.

This gave me anxiety.

by Cortneyl308 on Jan 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I hated this show because it reminded me so much of people I know and gave me intense anxiety. It told a very real story about the mentality in the American south. It has stuck with me for a long time.

Wow. Can't stop listening tragedy.

by plaidpants2000 on Jan 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a can't stop listening tragedy. Initially John B reminds me of my father, but with each episode this is less so, until it's not at all, with exception of his intelligence and accent. Wish I had known the man. Thanks for doing this story on him.

Great story

by Purduemeg on Jan 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sad story but so good. Wish it never had to end.

Good, without the last 2 episodes

by Zacclovis on Jan 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

i was hooked by the end of the 3rd episode. last 2 episodes were run on, and really had no structure. Save yourself 2 hours and dont even listen to them. listen to the last 15 minutes of the last episode and youll get your closure of the podcast. LISTEN TO CUMTOWN

Binge worthy

by Jlatons on Jan 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This was the only thing I listened to on a recent long road trip. It was incredible. This story is really brought to life and so captivating that I was on the edge til the very last few minutes for the story to full circle. Definitely a must!

Enjoyable but not perfect

by Nate Olstad on Jan 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Episodes two through five were well done and those were very interesting.However, the first episode was slightly boring, and then the last episode was awful. The last episode was significantly different than the rest of the episodes.They should of kept the podcast more consistent across all of the episodes.

Captivating

by janetsjigsaw on Jan 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

One of my favorite podcasts to this point. I found myself completely captivated by the story and listened to it straight through on a long summer road trip. I gave always loved time and clocks so I was drawn in and then learning John’s story kept me engaged. I laughed and cried and felt simultaneously satisfied and angry at the end.

Got lost, in a good way, in the story!

by Lisie Piecie on Jan 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This was such a beautifully told story. I immediately fell in love with the main character and was so touched by the authenticity of the narrator. Do yourself a favor, take a listen and get lost in the story like I did :)

S-Town is Binge Worthy

by SAMUNINJARI on Jan 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I got sucked in on the very first episode and couldn't stop listening till it was finished. I can tell how interested I am if although I suffer from severe insomnia and sometimes use podcasts to try to put me to sleep, this one kept me awake and engaged from start to finish. I laughed out loud and cried also. A rarity for me. Very well worth the listen. Will most likely listened again just to make sure I didn't miss anything. I definitely recommend this podcast to anyone interested in the human condition.

Very interesting!!!

by highrider02 on Jan 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

My first Podcast. I really like S-Town. I live in Alabama and can relate. Only on part 2.

Beautiful

by Captaindingbat on Jan 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

So fascinating. Lots of twists I didn’t expect!! I hope they do more like this.

Heartfelt and full of mystery

by Staciajane on Jan 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I loved this podcast and was so pulled in from the beginning.

Noice

by Socialsiege on Jan 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one of the only "serious" podcasts I've ever listened to and WOW what a good choice. The twists and turns of this nonfiction multi-layered story kept me enthralled for the whole week or two it took me to consume. Brian did a really good job, everybody. Great work.

Wonderful

by orange perfume on Jan 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Both the investigative journalism and storytelling here are immersive. I listened over the span of a week while doing everything from snowboarding down a mountain to doing laundry. Now I don't know what I'm going to do with my free time. More podcasts like this please!!!!!

What a story!

by nxv7 on Jan 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I shared this with number of people and all of them loved it

Binge-worthy

by Heart this!! on Jan 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m late to the game but this was so go- I couldn’t stop listening!! Great story telling - with a captivating story! Thank you for introducing us to this intriguing man - definitely makes you stop and think before you assume.....

So addicting

by Mama Ajones on Jan 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I wish I could give 10 stars!!!

Awesome awesome

by cmbass on Jan 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Such a well-told, impressively organized and captivating true story. We loved it.

Binge Listened

by Ankicadeenka on Jan 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I binge listened to this whole series in two days. Loved it.

Good

by R.C.4.H on Jan 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It's very good. I was like, is there more??

Couldn't stop listening...

by josheby on Jan 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

From the start of the first episode I was hooked. Absolutely intriuging story.

Binged it!

by Carlately on Jan 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

So so so good. You think you know where the story is going and then it completely changes course. Worth a listen!

Soo Good!

by briosa10 on Jan 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Done so well! Brain is such a great storyteller!

Wow

by Bsuth301 on Jan 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

What an incredible story from a seemingly un-incredible neck of the woods. Thank you for the legwork you and your team did. I can’t tell you how much I’ve enjoyed listening.

Seriously?

by 47isthenew32 on Jan 02, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

How can this even be remotely connected to serial? The main character rambles on and on and desperately reeks of needing attention

Truly amazing

by Abcxyz peoples on Jan 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazing account of Macklemore’s life. So captivating and heart wrenching.

Great Listen

by notsohappycostumer on Jan 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

S-town was captivating is thrilling. The story telling and attention to detail in providing the best possible understanding of the characters makes this podcast easily one of the best of 2017!

Randomness

by Fckyouforneedingnickname on Jan 01, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This podcast goes in so many directions. One could go to any small town (north or south) and drum up similar stories. John has many talents for sure and I am not taking anything from him. I rate this podcast as a one star, not John.

Amor vincet omnia

by Banner toast on Dec 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

True audible perfection. Gah bless🖤

Waste of your time!

by Torch1986 on Dec 31, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This series is devoid of any useful content. The producers/writers manipulate the listeners into believing there is some sort of story here and there is not! At the conclusion you don’t feel educated or informed just tricked into investing time you will not get back. They trade on the Serial name but the quality is laughable.

A touching podcast

by JennaWoosley on Dec 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I laughed, I cried, I related. Worth a listen.

Really well done!

by Mamajill on Dec 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Most excellent reporting. Thank you for taking us on this journey.

YES

by georgewashingdonewiththisapp on Dec 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I don't understand why I loved this podcast so much, only that I binged it within two days. Yesyesyes. Very thought-provoking.

Absolutely amazing

by DanitheamaZING on Dec 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Started out with Serial podcast. Was not disappointed by this series. Well done.

The best

by romka123 on Dec 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the best podcast, ever.

This is an amazingly complex story with so many turns!

by Randomactsofjoy on Dec 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Violence, intrigue, love, family, clocks, science, hidden treasure... this story has t all. It’s an amazingly well told story with so many surprise twists that it kept me riveted straight through from start to end on my recent road trip.

Wow

by photowife88 on Dec 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Three chapters in and I’m hooked.

Bait & Switch. No story here

by Greg631CWS on Dec 27, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This is a simple bait and switch situation here, the story starts out with some shady activity pertaining to a murder in a small town, and ends up (within a few episodes) going off track all together. Now all of a sudden we are listening to this dude ramble, and then his lovers and his friends and his acquaintances. So now it’s a podcast about a guy suffering from the side effects of mercury poisoning and his treasure map for his hidden valuables??? What the f**k just happened? Wasn’t this a podcast about a murder? Anyway, I feel like I wasted many hours of my life listening to this only to be let down in the end when there is nothing regarding the original plot point resolved. ONE STAR.

Interesting

by DroneOutlaw on Dec 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Kept my attention while working in my Hobbyshop. Wish there were more PC like it...

Interesting but pointless

by Amberjominime on Dec 26, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

A podcast about the everyday life in AL. Pretty twisted, not like the other serial podcasts I was hoping for.

Story dissolved. A big let down.

by rsaunders on Dec 26, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

First five episodes were very interesting. But the reporter seems to have hit a wall and couldn't get through, so the story of the first five episode was dropped in favor of a tawdry digging through of a life. Quite a let down. Wish I'd quit after 5.

Boring

by RLB is my nickname on Dec 26, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Just not good. Even if it is real, it honestly sounds like Chip Baskets is reciting a bad parody of Serial. Only in an incredibly boring way. Also, I've noticed a lot of the 5 star reviews are from people who hadn't even listened to it yet.

Unparalleled Storytelling & Listener Experience!!

by ac84rams on Dec 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

S-town weaves together disparate tales of a series of characters from Alabama in a raging tour of American woes, lost treasure, and precarious circumstances. What begins as an investigation into the conspiracy theories of a local mad scientist spins wildly out of focus as the reporter Brian Reid makes his way down to "Sh*ttown." The depth of investigation goes incidentally even deeper due to hard-to-believe-its-real synchronicity and the unraveling of news throughout the series. I wouldn't want to spoil anything here, but let me HIGHLY recommend that if you are eager to listen, S-town delivers a deep experience that will absolutely move you in all possible ways. I am incredibly impressed with the fluency, the quality of audio, and the total listener experience! A++ awesome work on this one!!!

Offensive

by tbgwriter on Dec 24, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I listened to this entire story and while fascinated by John and his life, I was horrified by the irresponsibility of the writers. Allowing a thief and ne'er do well--who benefited from John's generosity and kindness--to have the last word on John and his life sickened me. This program and Brian Reed did a profound disservice to a man who had no ability to respond to claims made against him. It was gossip, not journalism. Very disappointing.

Wonderland Came Out of the Whole... or so it seems

by saddlebomb9 on Dec 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is an educated look at what is, not a dramatic one. Lots of twists to the story keep it flowing and interested, but in the end who-done-it doesn't exist... which you find out very early in the series. Still, every time you think it's solving something about the town & people it gets cirled to a new direction. They did a great job at exploring all sorts of connections, but when you get down to it, the answer is a lot simpler than imagined. I do like how well the research was about every aspect, from the people's relationships to the legacy of the clock master. As anti-dramatic as the result was it was not anti-climatic because you do get to see a whole twisted world that one man is trapped living in without ever knowing he was. Imagine living that!

Who was paying? (spoiler alert)

by savantofillusion on Dec 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

John was a social reject who somehow legally or illegally had the ability to hustle up enough money every month to pay the bills. I think he was casually asking closeted lovers for cabbage and fixing clocks and scraping by.

More!

by JustAnotherMartinez on Dec 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Loved this podcast. When's the next one coming?

No questions asked...

by gatorgolfmike on Dec 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Just subscribe and listen. You won’t be disappointed.

Beautiful Story

by MrsMacdonald🙋🏼 on Dec 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

What a wonderful story- so well done. Bravo!