Average rating:

4
out of 983 ratings.

Love it!

by Piggy knuckles on Nov 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

One of my favorite 2 podcasts. My other is The Westwing Weekly. I am entertained and informed. I often buy books based on what I hear. My favorite segment is “What I’m reading this week”. Paula is the best!

The Smartest Book Club Ever

by PamGNelson on Nov 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m addicted to this podcast! Pamela is a thoughtful & intelligent interviewer - she makes the most obscure topics interesting. And the ‘What We’re Reading’ roundtable is basically my dream book club of the smartest readers ever. Keep up the great work! 👍📚❤️

Love it!

by Sonianic on Nov 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I absolutely love this podcast. It’s enlightening and accessible - enriching and most of all enjoyable. I learn so much about books I want to read and even those I don’t. It’s like having coffee with your most well-read friends, that probably don’t exist in real life. Highly recommend!!!

Perfect podcast

by Kate Pittsburgh, PA on Nov 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I am so grateful for this podcast- I get book recommendations and learn something new in every show! I usually have to hit pause so I can request the discussed books from my library!

Regular Listener

by utgujjar on Nov 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

For a book lover like me, this is best that’s out there. Keep up the great work!

Don't have enough time to read? Listening to this podcast will help.

by JJR* on Nov 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

There will always be more good books to read than time to read them, but this podcast will help prioritize. The interviews will help you determine whether you will be interested enough to make that particular book a worthwhile use of your limited time, and even if you decide not to read a particular book, you'll know more about that book, and about related trends in publishing, making those hard choices a little easier. As other reviewers have noted, it's well worth the time it takes to listen (particularly if you have a lengthy commute like mine).

My Favorite Podcast

by ODebbie on Nov 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The New York Times Book Review is my favorite podcast. Pamela Paul is an excellent interviewer, and I often wonder how she comes up with such insightful questions. I learn so much about many different topics when I listen. Then there is my endlessly growing list of books to read based on those referred to here - no matter how obscure! I already had an addiction to books now it's just a constant battle to keep up. I wish I could join them sometimes to talk about the books we are reading I love all of the reviewers - the regulars and the visitors.

Required listening

by WillNedved on Nov 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Absurdly informative

Long Time Listener

by ame0608 on Oct 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As a poet, I tend to gravitate my to craft talk, but I started listening to NYT Book Review Podcast in 2012, and it has been my favorite podcast ever since. It’s made me start to read for enjoyment, not just for my craft. And in many ways that’s deepened my love for books and has allowed me to feel a greater sense of play with my own writing. This podcast is just fun!

Martin Amis didnt “get” Barbara Pym.

by jules a.c. on Oct 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Dear Pamela Paul,I’ve been listening to your NYT book review podcast lately and want to compliment you as an impeccable host. Your research is admirable, your questions are excellent, and you allow your guests to answer them (unlike Charlie Rose, who didn’t on his tv show. He’d ask a question to a celebrity guest and then proceed to answer it before his guest could. Drove me up the wall. I literally yelled at Rose because I wanted to hear his guest talk, not him! -an epitome of egotist.) Anyway, you’re just a fabulous interviewer I wanted also to mention Martin Amis’s comment in regards to Barbara Pym. Martin told me he couldn’t understand her appeal as a writer; he just didn’t get it!Your guest pointed out Pym’s novels never really went anywhere; but rather, they were about “excellent women” of that post war era. Martin (IMHO, an alpha man) could not connect with the female characters in Pym’s novels. I, having read most of Pym’s novels, quote or refer to her pithy words in my memoir “Visiting Martin Amis.” Kindly read a free sample of “Visiting Martin Amis” on Amazon.com or Kindle.com below. Thank you for your attention. Sincerely yours,Julia ClinchSent from my iPhone

I love this podcast!

by Ed Van Buren on Oct 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It's people who know about the latest books, talking about the latest books. They know some things about old books too, and one of the fun parts about listening is confronting those moments when they forget. Like in this latest episode (10/12/18): Pamela manages, by alluding to some recent successful novels, to persuade the otherwise brilliant Tana French that unreliable narrators tend to be female. If you're like me and enjoy arguing with podcasters as if they can hear you (or would ever bother listening if they did), moments like this give you the opportunity to yell back at your phone: "Really? So Huckleberry Finn should be trusted when he accuses himself of immorality? Sheriff Nick Corey really is the second coming of Christ?" It's a blast. And the rest of the time you get to learn about new books.

A calm, thoughtful way to end the day

by DK F-L on Oct 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is a perfect world where people talk thoughtfully about ideas in books.

Love It!

by The Stymied Chef on Oct 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

My favorite podcast of all time. I love the cast. They manage to be intellectually stimulating, clever, and funny—and not overly pretentious. (I'm not a big fan of the people at Slate Audio Book Club. They're a bit annoying; had to unsubscribe.) Pamela Paul is the best. She's a independent thinker and a winsome host who puts great questions to her guests. I love her perspective. It's fresh and not always what one might expect. Such a great range of authors, books, and topics. I wish the podcast were on more than once per week! I would tune in every day if I could. Keep it up, guys! Love,An American listening from London

No more marketing (ads) please !

by Jimbo Seattle on Oct 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I like the podcast, but since the podcast itself may be seen, by some, as marketing for the NYT I find it aggravating to have ads within it as well. Am sure that as the ads fail to disappear I will cancel my subscription as I have with every other podcast that markets to me. Thankfully CSPANs podcast do not look likely to go that route. Some music podcasts as well.

A window through which to share the world of books

by hoysalgoadelante on Sep 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Pamela Paul interviews and commentary and the NYTBR critics and staff guide incisive conversations with authors to give details about what inspires the making of books: they contribute key insights that are often not apparent reading the works. I look forward to the podcast every week.

The Best Podcast Ever

by Jean Lillquist on Sep 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is my dessert podcast. I save it so that I can savor it. And of all the interviewers on all the shows I've listened to, past and present, I really think Pamela Paul is the best. She listens. She does her homework. It is totally about the guest and not her. This is rare among many interviewers who use their captive audience as a platform to talk about themselves. I have discovered so many authors as a result of this podcast and learned so much about books and the publishing world. I also enjoy the camaraderie in the last segment when other people from the book beat join her and they discuss what they're reading or other contemorary literature. Thank you, Pamela and pals, and may you continue for a long, long time.

Great Podcast

by Vrcann on Sep 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I absolutely love everything about the NYT Book review podcast: interviews with authors, news from the publishing world, and reviewers comments about the books they are/have been reading. I think Pamela Paul is a wonderful interviewer and her questions penetrating.

Easily my favorite podcast

by Ewayland on Sep 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If the host, Pamela Paul, ever tires of editing the Book Review she could do this full time. And that is true of a lot of the people who work with her, apparently. My favorite part of this podcast is when she and other reviewers just chat. There are times, unfortunately, when you (and, I suspect Ms. Paul herself) must suffer through interviews with authors who...are not as interesting as their books let's say. But that is not the norm. So if you like reading and intelligent talk you need this podcast in your playlist.

Best Source For The General Reader

by dixie832 on Sep 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is my main source from which I choose books. A well organized podcast, informative and a very wide array of subjects.

What they are reading

by Argh!#%! on Sep 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the reviews and interviews with authors, but I especially like the end of the podcast in which the participants talk about what they are reading. It always gives me new ideas about books to look for… next on my list a new, for me, author, Shirley Hazard

fantastic

by kurtbat on Sep 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

is what it is

Pamela Paul asks great questions

by ttweety on Sep 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Lots of interviews are sort of soft, but Paul advances the conversation with each question. Really impressive.

Consistently excellent podcast on ideas

by _______________-____—___—__ on Sep 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Perhaps my favorite podcast. Author interviews, critical discussion, and--something that I didn't imagine would interest me, but that does--publishing news. Its greatest value is as a quick gauge of what everyone--from NY Times reviewers to fans of young-adult-novel franchises in genres I've never heard of--reads, and of the ideas that come through. Well produced and edited. Interesting and topical every week. Thoughtful, consistently engaging host. Strong recommend.

My #1 favorite podcast

by LauraSSF on Aug 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The NYTBR podcast is my favorite, hands down. It's probably because I love reading, but it's ironic I like this one best since I actually have a podcast myself on a very different topic, and most of my mental energy is spent on thinking about that other, somewhat technical subject. But weirdly enough, despite the fact that I have to listen to podcasts on that other topic, I always, always listen to the NYTBR one first if a new episode is out. Through interviews with authors, you learn a ton about a subject you yourself may not have time to dive into, and I love the conversations amongst the staff about what they're reading -- it's like any conversation I might have with my other book-loving friends. Thanks, Pamela and staff, for doing such great work every week!

Keeps me sane

by SK*1978 on Aug 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is one that has kept me sane the past couple of years.

Dessert for Breakfast

by Page Larkin on Aug 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

My happy time is early morning - pre-coffee - listening to the New York Times Book Review. Elucidating, entertaining and inspiring. Joy!

My favorite podcast

by PEDPL on Aug 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Well put together. Love Pamela Paul, love her colleagues, and her writer guests. I've bought many books talked about on this podcast.

Best book podcast out there!

by Kad_Mad on Aug 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

My absolute favorite podcast. Pamela and her team present a wonderful hour of discussion and interviews about the most popular and interesting fiction out there today, complete with authors, historians, and critics. It's especially lovely to hear what the staff at the NYTBR are reading every week. What a lovely group of people, and what an engaging project!

My favorite podcast

by fanman0211 on Aug 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If you like to read you will love this podcast. Great ideas for what to read next.

Accessible and Challenging

by Katiescarlettpdx on Aug 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Don’t be put off by the idea of a book review podcast. It’s so interesting to hear authors speaking about their own work, and they are surprisingly humble and accessible. On the other hand, the podcast staff are so bright, articulate, and, of course, well-read, that being a regular listener has challenged me to step up my reading game. As a result of regular listening, I have now read more non-fiction, poetry, and modern literature. Finally, the podcasters have now begun to conclude each episode with a chat about what they’re reading, which is very fun!

NYTimes Book Review Podcast for Book Lovers

by Riddim Man on Aug 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is a weekly “must hear” podcast for me. I love books and find the interviews to provide more background on the books detailed than is provided in the book review. The interviewers ask great questions that augment the print review rather than highlight the published review. My favorite segment is the “What we’re reading” segment. I eagerly look forward to seeing where and what everyone is reading. It is also wise to place it at the end.

Stimulating conversations

by tomsutherland909 on Aug 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I split my time between London and Buenos Aires, both very literary cities, and this podcast is almost as good as having a stopover in New York along the way. Although I mainly read non fiction, I enjoy the conversations on fiction and poetry, as well as the discussion of books being read by the reviewers. The sound quality is excellent, even on telephone interviews.A great way to keep up on the latest in the book world, as well as a useful source for books that deserve a second look.Thanks and congratulations to the team that makes it happen!

Weekly treat

by Bafflef on Aug 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

My favorite segment is at the end of each episode, when assorted Times staffers talk about what they’re reading. Will Greg ever finish Ulysses?

Such fun to listen to this!

by KSV! on Jul 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast because I love to listen to people talking about books. A great balance to the political podcasts I listen to on a regular basis.

My Weekly Treat

by 38394$1@ on Jul 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I look forward to my Saturday mornings listening to this amazing podcast. It keeps me abreast of publishing trends, older books I missed, and, of course, new titles.

New York Times Book Review

by Ggggbggb on Jul 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Every week, I look forward to hearing Pamela Paul and the entire book review team. From interviews with authors to hearing what they are reading, this intelligent group brings us along as they share what has held their interest. Books, old and new, are shared and my interest is always piqued.

Companion Piece

by Christiephile on Jul 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I find this to be such a great companion to the book review itself; often one or both of the guests are authors whose works in that week’s review I wanted to know more about. Paul’s easy conversational approach to all her interviews and discussions works nicely here, too. As a writer I find it keeps me up-to-date on the latest in the literary world without overwhelming me, either with information or attitude! It’s a keeper.

A Good One

by ashayward on Jul 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been listening to the NYT Book Review Podcast since Sam Tanenhaus hosted it - I loved it then and I love it now. Pamela Paul is insightful, engaging, and gets to the heart of the matter.

Highlight of my podcast week

by dwchandl on Jul 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I look forward to The Book Review podcast all week. Pamela Paul is an excellent interviewer, welcoming and open but not afraid to ask revealing questions. The format is interviews about two different books, usually with the author but sometimes a reviewer, followed by a brief exchange on the world of publishing, and conclusing with Pamela and several editors discussing what they are reading. A newer feature is to alternate the discussion of current reading with presentations by reviewers. I hope you love it as much as I do!

Addictive!

by harringtonhound on Jul 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Be careful. You will buy more books. Deadly.

So Refreshing

by Mark54s on Jul 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Simply the highlight of my week; great interviews by Pamela Paul (far-ranging, open-minded, in-depth and such a great variety of topics) and excellent discussions by the critics. Always enjoy the brief updates on the book business itself, too. All around, refreshing and very thoughtful. If there is a better interviewer around than Pamela Paul, I'd like to know his or her name.

Great podcast

by Joel in NC on Jun 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one of my favorite podcasts. I especially enjoy the discussion near the end of the show with different reviewers about what they have been reading on their own time. Civilized, informative discussion led by a personable host. I get a lot of good book tips from it.

Great Listening

by Jobnirvana on Jun 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen every Sunday morning to this knowledgeable and interesting set of conversations Very well done.

Great Podcast!

by nycjrp on Jun 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I look forward and listen to this podcast every week. Keep up the good work Pamela.

A Must-Listen Each Week

by TuckyJG11 on Jun 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Interviewing isn’t necessarily a skill set one would associate with the editor of a book review— yet Pamela Paul is one of the best interviewers I’ve come across. Can’t wait to listen every Friday on my commute home to start the weekend.

Highly Recommended

by Jborths on Jun 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I find this podcast to be a breath of fresh air. Interesting, often funny, I finish each episode feeling more connected to the world. It does not have a left wing bias: it has a “human interest” bias.

Politically Infected, Sadly

by jlf224wwa on Jun 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I recently stopped my subscription to NYT after 40 years because of left-wing extremism and blatantly false reporting. Unfortunately liberal bias has infected the podcast and made segments hard to listen to. Jill Abramson was intolerable—what an annoying individual. I will still listen because the podcast is amazing good....but will stop if infection gets worse

Hate the commercials

by JJP1963 on May 25, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Recently I have been forced to listen to Bayer commercials. In print I can avert my eyes or adjust the page to obscure the ads but in audio format I can only fast fwd if I have my device in hand. Otherwise, I am captive and the entire experience is ruined.Is there no refuge left in our culture? Must everyone sell out? Do you never make enough money?

Loved NYTBR but..

by Gailhi on May 25, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

No more ....tired of listening to the left wing book reviews of left wing authors.Done

Love the segment on what you are reading!

by harleypol24 on May 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I look forward to this podcast every week. Great interviews and I’ve found a lot of my favorite books this way. I love the segment at the end when they talk about what they are currently reading. Lately they have only been doing that every other week though and on the off weeks they have the critics talk about what they have been working on. I don’t like those weeks. I usually turn that segment off.