Average rating:

5
out of 338 ratings.

Amazing

by Crafty kzyle on Apr 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is honestly my favorite podcast. As a songwriter It’s amazing to hear other people’s journeys

Amazing Podcast for songwriters

by rlaperle on Apr 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

To get a peek behind the curtain from the greatest songwriters in the industry. This podcast does that I find the every episode so inspiring.

So Great!

by knd122 on Apr 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast. Will there be more?

Great insight

by Gotta love this. on Mar 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I had the pleasure of meeting Ross Golan, Max Martin, Shellback, Savan, and many others at a show I played in Napa a few months back. They bought my CD and gave me some great advice. I aspire to write with some of these incredible people very soon. Im thankful to have these insights from these guys, great podcast. Keep it up Ross!

Wholly inspiring

by lselig on Feb 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to these while I'm doing all the mundane managerial things related to songwriting and producing that don't require audio, and I'm always floored and inspired. Hopefully this podcast will be around for years to come.

So Good!!!

by gldksnan on Feb 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast!

And the Writer Is... GREAT story telling!

by vaslyfe on Jan 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Pen game proper, shout out to these authors, pen to page to pod, impressed with how they prospered!

Inspiring

by JohnBudnikBand on Dec 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If you’re an aspiring songwriter, then you need to listen to this podcast. No matter what genre you write, these interviews are valuable in the creative sense of the craft and the business as well.

This is a wonderful podcast.

by cwilliams333 on Dec 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Super stoked on this. You got a podcast going onnnn

great podcast

by Tyler Rohn Music on Dec 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

by far my favorite podcast!

Super Compelling

by Life-Changing Information on Dec 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

As the majority of reviewers have already said, this is mandatory listening for songwriters, and highly recommended for anyone who loves pop (or pop country) music. Unbelievable access to the stories of a range of songwriters. (Side note: I wish someone would create a visual web of all the guests who’ve been on, connecting them at least by their hit songs if not deeper into their catalogues.) You may not always learn a ton of technical tricks/tips, but there are so many pieces of wisdom, for songwriting and for life, in each episode. Ross is not a hard-hitting journalist, but he totally makes you feel like you’re “in the room.” Please get Sia soon!

All About The Stories

by Justin Bowen on Dec 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My favorite part of this podcast is that it gives us a look into the stories and lives of the successful and talented writers. It allows us listeners to relate to them as normal humans and see that they worked hard to make something of their talents. Thanks Ross!

Essential listening for true pop geeks

by pete beat on Nov 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

As a pop nerd, I love this show and I find myself appreciating the music these writers create more and more as I learn about the individual writers. Great job, Ross!

My favorite podcast

by MNFunky on Nov 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m a podcast junkie and a songwriting junkie. This is my fix. Ross finds fascinating guests and balances America’s two biggest songwriting cities (LA and Nashville). I learn something and have my mind expanded with every episode. Ross and team, thank you!

Amazingly inspiring

by Jenn Forsyth on Nov 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

As someone who wants to pursue music, this podcast is so insightful and helpful. I absolutely love Ross for providing us with this gold.

Inspiring

by jayboogie444 on Nov 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It’s great to hear these stories. Makes me feel less crazy.

OBSESSED

by Hilarious & intriguing on Nov 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The greatest podcast out there, so much love for songwriters and it is inspiring to hear their stories within and beyond the records! Can't stop listening ❣️

Entertaining and Insightful

by OneDollarWasted on Nov 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you so much for recording this incredible series! The insight into songwriting, business, music, and work/life balance that this podcast offers is wonderful. It's pretty entertaining for non-musicians as well, so it brings more attention to the teams of writers, managers, and other folks that help make the music and acts we love.

Love this

by Trey Lewis on Nov 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My favorite podcast by far!!

My favorite podcast!!!

by Travisthat90skid on Nov 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

As an up-and-coming songwriter, this podcast is super inspirational. Keep it going Ross! I'm a number 1 fan for sure!

Awesome.

by go_nino on Oct 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Just want to say thank you to Ross & all of the creators who contribute to this podcast! I love learning about your perspectives and processes with songwriting. I always feel inspired to learn and write more after listening. Keep 'em coming!

Thoroughly entertaining

by heylimes on Oct 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Ross is so charming and gracious with both his questions and opinions, and each episode leaves me inspired, entertained, and excited to not only listen to more music but to play more music.

I want to hear more about the process

by dividedbyzach on Oct 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast and appreciate what Ross does. It's really interesting to see a name you may vaguely recognize and then hear about their life and how they came to be a successful songwriter. As a 40 year old rock songwriter myself, I'm not a big fan of a lot of the actual songs that are talked about, but it's fascinating to hear about how much hustle, education, and thought goes into writing and producing these pop songs. I've gained a lot of respect for pretty much every guest after hearing their life stories.My only complaint is that a lot of time is spent on the backstory, but I'd actually like to hear more about the actual specifics of songwriting. Charlie Puth probably comes the closest, with his crazy perfect pitch stream of consciousnes, but it would be cool to hear more about the actual mechanics of songwriting.I'd also love to hear more from rock/legacy songwriters if Ross can get them in the room. Pop and hip-hop is fine, but how about Elvis Costello or Ryan Adams or Jeff Tweedy or Dave Grohl or Taylor Goldsmith or Beck or Frank Black or James Mercer or....Tom Waits? C'mon Ross! You can do it.

So rare

by jakedavisband on Oct 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

So rare to get this kind of insight when most of pop music is handled behind the scenes and the stories stay within the inner circle. Thanks for the inspiration Ross.

obsessed!!!

by navaaaaaaaaaa1 on Oct 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I may or may not have just listened to every episode in a week...obsessed! So excited for more!

Kickass baby

by Anderspiano on Oct 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is DOPE AF! Big fan over here. Love hearing songwriters and producers talk shop from an in depth industry perspective! :)

Obsessed

by Collin DuPree on Oct 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Can’t get enough of this podcast!

A Great BTS Look into the Songwriting World

by matfretschel on Oct 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Being a supportive (and clueless) husband to my singer-songwriter wife, Ryann Lecklider, we started looking for helpful information on how to best navigate the songwriting world. Almost immediately, we learned about Ross and his podcast when he spoke at the Los Angeles Songwriters Collective. His willingness to share his experiences and processes with the group made obtaining this much needed knowledge easy and digestible. He continues to do this every time he brings a new artist in.Ross, his guests, the information and even the quality of the recording are all top-notch.I joke with my wife that with this info I should be a legit songwriter any day now. I won’t be. I’ll stay a muggle. She’s the real talent.

Know where your music comes from!

by Sacdaniel on Sep 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

As an aspiring songwriter, I love the casual (and funny) conversation of Ross and friends as they shed light on the background, trials and tribulations of some of the most successful songwriters/producers. Stoked for season 2 come up soon!

Amazing podcast about songwriting

by songwritergirl on Sep 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been using this to teach songwriting, to inspire my own writing, and to help artists I'm producing write songs that are more connected, more real. It's not just about "pop" songs, so all you indie writers---don't write (yuk yuk) this off. Skip your boring news feed and listen to this to jump-start your creativity and get you listening....

Can't get enough

by madman_2030 on Aug 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love hearing that we all go through the same things especially from the top songwriters of our generation. Thank you for this podcast!! So many ah ha moments!

Everything I need.

by musiclover8790 on Aug 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Ross Golan's podcast is everything I need. His behind the scenes conversations with cream of the crop songwriters are are particularly fascinating to me as a writer, and the podcast is informative both from business and creative angles. Writers can have agency in this industry, but they get little public attention, and I can't believe that a podcast like this didn't exist before now. Thank you, Ross Golan, and everyone that's worked on this podcast, for shining the light on such interesting, talented, and hardworking creators. If they let me give more than 5 stars, I would.

Excellent Podcast

by Steves9524 on Aug 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Ross does a great job interviewing some top people in the songwriting industry. It is really interesting hearing their stories. I can't wait until Ross tells his own story....

So good.

by chainsmokersarepathetic on Aug 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If you work in music this is gold.

Interesting stories, but host talks over guests

by tarachurley on Aug 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I really love this insight into the music industry and the world of songwriting, but Ross talks over his guests too much and interrupts them. I know that he has interesting stories, too, and I'd love to hear them, and I know that these are more conversations than interviews, but they're still his guests and it's just frustrating to listen to him talk over them and interrupt their stories with what are sometimes only somewhat related anecdotes. He needs to practice listening a little more, and just wait until the guest is done with their story or thought, and then he can have his turn to speak. It just makes for a frustrating listening experience.

Love it

by A Double on Jul 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

What an incredible and insightful show! Ross Golan has such a great style and truly connects with each guest, leading to dynamic interviews full of interesting stories, anecdotes and insider experience. Cannot recommend enough!

SO INSIGHTFUL….

by sirblaketh on Jul 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the insight and the real life truthful stories from some of my “didn’t-realize-I-already-loved-their-writing” writers.

Great Concept

by lee579 on Jun 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I LOVE THIS. I have always had such a fascination with the music industry and all the interworkings of it. There's a lack of pop music podcasts i feel so i'm glad i stumbled upon this from listening to the Switched on Pop episode where Ross was a guest. Before this podcast I hadn't really though much about the songwriters/brains behind the major artists and how much work they truly do. This is such a cool concept and It's well executed. I love listening in every week to learn about so many highly influential writers it makes them seem more human. I think Ross does a good job, I like that the podcast is more conversational rather than still and interview like. It makes the podcast seem more authentic. Highly reccomend you take a listen if you have any interest in pop music and the music industry.

Very informative

by thesosofia on Jun 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I ABSOLUTELY LOVE THIS PODCAST- ONE OF MY FAVORITES BY FAR. I’M REALLY HOPING ROSS WILL DO AN EPISODE WITH JULIA MICHAELS.

Gold Solid GOLD!

by FBacch on Jun 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Ross Golan has opened the writing room door for us wannabes to listen in and learn the swag it takes to get an invite and stayin invited. I'm so grateful for this and can only hope the guests stay at this level. Hoping for the day yoda (aka Max Martin) grace us with his presence. Thank you Ross, from a songwriting wannabe in Buenos Aires, Argentina

Great podcast

by Lljhfsazb on Jun 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Really insightful podcast. I love hearing the songwriters' stories of working in the industry. Bonnie McKee episode ❤️

Amazing perspective

by DeejMcJam on Jun 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Awesome interviews. Must listen for songwriters.

Nothing Quite Like It

by Hufitu on Jun 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If I could ever have a 45 minute "coffee talk" with a pro writer this is how I would want it to go. Ross has a unique way of making you feel like you're the one asking the questions and leaves you with a caffeinated-like buzz. If I only I could get a cup of And The Writer Is... every morning.

This is a hidden gem

by Djkokomusic on Jun 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

There was a void in this space and this podcast filled it, perfectly. A must listen for any aspiring songwriter interested in the creative process and what goes on behind the scenes of your favorite massive songs and the industry in general. Well done 👌🏼👌🏼

love it!

by Chikobarajas on May 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

i love how you guys tell the stories of us writers, the strugles and all, i wish you had a segment where you ask the guest to give for example , what are your 3 tips for writers that want to follow your foot steps or want to get to the level where you are right know

Master Class in Songwriting

by MaxTheTraxx on May 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Incredibly well-done podcast -- "And the Writer Is... with Ross Golan" shows a side of music that is rarely seen, taking you behind the song, revealing how the tunes we enjoy on the radio come together. Great look at both the art and business of song-craft. Host Ross Golan is an A-list writer who shares his deep insight, interviewing his friends and coworkers. The first half of these hour-long interviews is more human interest, and the second half more industry shop talk, but all of it is fascinating. And it's beautifully produced and easy to hear. Highly recommend.

Amazing!

by Popcorn mall on May 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Ross and guests provide great insight on the music industry for aspiring songwriters. Every morning while commuting to work I listen to an episode and it motivates me more to continue pursuing my passion. Thank you guys for this!

inspiration errrr day

by Rainangel17 on May 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Feels like sitting in a room with people at the top of the same game I'm playing...a precursor to actually sitting in a room with them that is SO inspiring and much appreciated. Thank you, thank you.

Inspiring

by Songstowrite on May 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

So great to hear songwriters from all genres and walks talking about their process and how they got to where they are. Really appreciate you doing this Ross.

There is nothing like this out there for pop songwriting!!

by Hot Ryder on May 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

As a songwriter and producer who aspires to hit the levels of success of Ross and his interviewees have attained I have picked up so much useful info from this podcast. I love how Ross dives into the details of the behind the scenes stories and everyday life of these songwriters. It seems like so many interviews with songwriters, artists and producers go straight from "I was playing the guitar one day" to then "I had after alot of work I had a hit". They skip the nitty-gritty they aspiring songwriters need to hear and learn from. He dives into the work, the knowledge, the challenges and the struggle in only a way that someone who has been on a "Hero's Journey" in songwriting could understand.