Average rating:

5
out of 294 ratings.

This is just Lore

by SiddTC22 on Jan 18, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Seriously. It's Lore. From the subject matter to the presentation the host -- her cadence and vocal patterns are exactly like the host from Lore. Just listen to Lore.

I hope there will be more

by Melbanie on Jan 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I really like this podcast. The stories are very interesting. I hope more are to come as it looks like it's been a while since the last episode was done.

Quickly becoming one of my favorites!

by sarahthelyd on Jan 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Murderino here, referred over to you from MFM’s Georgia Hardstark. I’m only three episodes in, but I love the stories and production elements. Wonderful podcast, Mme Horrocks. Please keep it coming!

Well done!

by Wiggyface on Jan 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the combo of story telling and history

Love this!

by Jennifer Terry on Jan 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I only just heard of this podcast via a recommendation from Georgia Hardstark and I seriously love it. I hope it is actually continuing… She said something on one of them about starting to do it every other week and the last one is from several months ago! Please please please continue!

Ok Podcast

by MeNotYou2251 on Jan 11, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The concept is good. Sounds too much like reading from a script. Jokes and “witty” comments sounds too scripted like rest of show. Editing needs improvement. Good base of information could be great podcast but overall rough around the edges.

Hope this continues!

by Dokunig on Jan 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Found this by accident and LOVE it! Love the feminist side commentary, directness and the quick wit of the host and guests. Please do more!Always enjoy learning about the oddities of our past and especially found the Scheele’s Green/Arenic episode chock full of fascinating information I didn’t know before and I consider myself highly educated on things Strange and Unusual. :)

Like a slumber party ghost story

by Goddamnitgreg on Jan 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Fun, spooky and macabre. A truly fun listen!

Lore knock off?

by NewMexTheo on Jan 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I love Lore. This podcast follows Lore’s format. A fun listen.

Better than Lore, Better than Most

by Pooponit on Jan 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm hooked. After three episodes she's captivated me more than Aaron ever could. Alyson is eloquent and intelligent. It's oh so nice to have found this!!

Love

by Evilxxernie on Jan 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Very interesting and fun!

Excellent Podcast for the Strange and Unusual!

by M. Highload on Jan 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm here because of MY FAVORITE MURDER, okay? There, I said it. And it's bloody grand, this. Well done, Horrocks! Keep 'em coming!!!

Satisfyingly Macabre!

by britt-bratt 69 on Jan 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Wonderful and informative in all its strange glory!

Yeeeees

by theangrybangs on Jan 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m a history major, and dark history and folklore are my all time favorite subjects, because I, too, enjoy the strange and unusual. You tell these stories eloquently and accurately! Thank you

Magical I love it!

by BeckaBoo78 on Jan 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Her voice is calming and it’s like listening to a story before bedtime but whenever I want. I love this pod cast!

Lore for ladies

by powaetuga on Jan 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I adore it! Informative and gripping! Reminds me of lore as well as the black tapes (only everything is real in this rather then fictional)

Great podcast

by Crc425 on Jan 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a great podcast. Honestly right up there with the Lore podcast. It easily deserves to be in the top 100 list. Look forward to more episodes. Please start making episodes weekly!

If you like the title, you’ll love this podcast

by Anonymous82690! on Jan 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love all things strange and unusual, but not hokey. This is the podcast I want to be when I grow up.

Looove

by humbrd87 on Jan 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I look forward to this show every week

Good

by hook_kick on Jan 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This took a me a little to get into, but the voice paired well with the content in a very ironic way. I have immensely enjoyed the podcast and wish there was more. The sound effects are limited and effective, aka not overplayed or over done. 👍

Well done, but very similar to Lore

by FactKat on Jan 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

If I hadn't already listened to Lore, I would give this podcast 5 stars. It is well-researched, well-written, interesting and enjoyable to listen to. Its a good podcast on its own merits, but it is basically Lore with a female host and a little bit of cursing. She covers many of the same stories (to be fair, there are only so many eerie historical stories to choose from that there is bound to be some overlap), her storytelling is taking on an increasingly Mahnke-ish cadence and even the background music is similar. I want to love this podcast because I love this genre, but I feel like I am listening to Lore 2.0. All that being said, I wil continue listening to this podcast as new episodes come out.

Fascinating!

by Ushie84 on Jan 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one of my favorite podcasts! Every time I listen to it I learn something new and interesting! I highly recommend it!

Original stories, high production value!

by Dandelyn on Jan 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Heard about this on My Favorite Murder and I’m obsessed. The stories are unusual for sure... not the same old stories you hear on every other podcast. The production value is super high creating a truly spooky atmosphere! Definitely worth a listen!

I'm here because mfm

by Sasgalula on Jan 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I wish there where more episodes! I can't wait to hear more episodes.

Perfect for a good ghost story

by jnmolenda on Jan 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Love the subject material! These are all the superstitions and stories we have talked about as kids laid out in one convenient place

Like lore, but fun and feminist!

by Thatshopgirl on Jan 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If you like lore and my favorite murder this is a podcast you have to subscribe to!

Creepy Fun

by bluebuckley on Jan 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast! Fun, easy and creepy listen!

Love!

by ShutUpAmyMarie on Jan 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Death, curses, mysteries etc... Everything I could ever want out of a podcast! The only thing bad to say is once again I’ve binged listened a new podcast and now have to be patient for a new one.

MFM listeners will love this!

by Annie from OC on Jan 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Well researched and interesting! Came here due to recommendation from Georgia of MFM. Please put out more episodes!

Love this podcast

by clarkianne on Jan 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If I had to make a comparison, I would call this part Lore, part My Favorite Murder, but with a totally different and unique voice. I’m so glad that it was recommended on MFM.

Fun and interesting

by Bethtundra on Jan 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Yeees! This is a great podcast. I actually just heard about it on My Favorite Murder and I’m so glad I checked it out. I’m a weird story enthusiast and I haven’t heard of a lot of these! Great!

The podcast I've been waiting for.

by MagofKammelot on Jan 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The title says it all. As a strange and unusual being myself, I've been waiting for a macabre spooky podcast that doesn't take itself too seriously. Delivered in a relatable way with just the right balance of down to earth interjections and fanfare it's amazing. Thank you!

Really Well Done

by elliesees on Jan 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm super impressed with not only how researched these are, but how well they flow and how engaging the writing it. This podcast is what creepy dreams are made of!

SSDGM

by Mel1727383 on Jan 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love it!

So well done!

by Nicknames haVe to be original? on Jan 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Fun to listen to and well researched

Love this podcast!

by Kasey Begin on Jan 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Georgia from MFM mentioned a podcast of a girl with a soothing voice talking about macabre stories in history so I hopped on over to see what was up. I wasn’t disappointed. :) Keep it up!

Pretty great

by Lotsa Driving on Jan 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Georgia from My Favorite Murder gave this podcast a reco today. I listened to the first two episodes on my way home from work. Great production and storytelling. Looking forward to getting caught up with the remaining episodes!

O2Bkeith

by 6)$78..4:2 on Dec 26, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Very wooden narration.

Fascinating Stuff

by Miss Alys Marie on Dec 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

We have the same spelling of name, how strange and unusual, anyway. She keeps a great pace, excellent music ques and use of music throughout her podcast. Her voice is mesmorizing and the information is gripping. This is an excellent podcast!

Awesome

by TonyMontana19 on Dec 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One of my new favorite podcasts. Host is hilarious. Keep it going!!!

Dark Corners

by Kydiana on Dec 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

There are a lot of podcasts out there about weird episodes in history, but this one really stands out. Even if you think you already know about the topics covered, you will be surprised. Alyson does a fantastic job in an unearthing new details and connections which often put these historical events in a very different light. Very well researched and produced. Please keep up the good work!

Sucked in from the beginning

by Me4566754223576543 on Nov 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve only listened to two episodes so far (the most recent at this time and the first), but I can already tell this is going to become a favorite podcast. The subject matter is really interesting and the gist is engaging with a very conversational style while also providing a ton of information. And as someone who also still can’t look into a mirror in a darkened room (thanks Bloody Mary), I feel a connection to the host. Off to listen to the rest of the episodes and then to eagerly await new ones!

bingeable

by motease on Nov 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

excellent topics and story telling.

Strange & Informative

by smwitch357 on Nov 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Alyson puts so much research into these episodes, and it really shows. Even if I had already heard a topic on a different podcast, she brings up a lot of details I hadn't heard before. She's a wonderful narrator, and pretty active on the podcast's social media pages which makes the wait between episodes much easier!

Great Stories

by mementomorgan on Oct 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoy this podcast. So far episode 6 has been one of my favorites and very well produced. I’m excited to hear what’s to come.

Phenomenal

by Strazzwife on Oct 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love love love this pod cast!!! You have excellent story telling talent! Keep up the great work! I'm hooked!

love it

by Lady K99 on Oct 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

love this podcast very interesting

Great!

by M E Dub on Oct 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoy the mix of history, culture, crime and the strange. Great job love it

A Great Strange History Podcast!

by RiffTheJet on Sep 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This show is as important to the strange history genre as Court Junkie is to modern true crime cases... And the host is really just about perfect - keeps you interested throughout the episode, knowledgeable of the subject matter - I hope many more episodes are to come!

Enchanting

by Fox Lightstep on Sep 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm very picky about what I listen to. Especially since I normally listen to audio books and podcasts while driving, the story or topic must catch my interest within the first 5 minutes. But if the voice doesn't have appeal, or doesn't match the topic, I've even pulled over on the freeway to delete and look for another to listen to. I really hate the radio, so if I turn that on while listening, it says a lot.That being said, Alyson has made this podcast my #1. Her voice is enchanting enough that whenever there's an episode I haven't listened to, I will literally interrupt any story I'm in the middle of to start and finish her episodes first.