Average rating:

4.5
out of 669 ratings.

Review

by jenmac86 on Oct 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Definitely my new favorite podcast.

Better version of Lore

by Hppodcast on Oct 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The perspectives and detail given here are more interesting and more in depth but of the same style of Lore.

storytime!

by biobabbler on Oct 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Tho’ I listen to MANY podcasts, what I really want is for someone to tell me stories while I go about my day. THIS is that. Interesting, filled with cool historical factoids (that I end up researching online) so not only am I totally engaged, I am learning actual stuff! Very cool. 😃👊

Better than Lore

by sunny sour on Sep 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It’s everything I originally liked about Lore before I couldn’t stand it anymore. I really mean that

Really Glad I Found This

by *gracie* on Aug 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Wonderful podcast. It was a suggestion from another podcast that I listen to but I do not remember which one it was. I love her voice and the format of this podcast. I appreciate all the research and links to different areas of life that she has intertwined with the subject that she is presenting.

Seriously the best podcast ever

by leighlaliv on Aug 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Alyson has become one of my favorite podcasters. She tells history as if it were a story. She paints the picture of what is happening and I feel like I am watching movie. She goes into incredible detail that I see in few podcast while also maintaining the storyline. She connects pieces of history in ways I never would have thought of. Each episode has me gripping my seat with her beautiful way telling these unusual stories. My standards have been set so high after listening to this podcast. I hope to here more in the future.

Zzzzzzzz

by Ava chino on Aug 28, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Geez this is the most monotonic voice and story telling I’ve ever come across. It’s awful. Unless you’re needing help to sleep, pass this one up.

Bias Trump hating garbage

by Chut Chut on Aug 22, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

A hastily put together podcast with low production values and rich with anti American sentiment. The host Alyson actually lives in Scotland half of the time because she can’t stand living in the USA.

Truly amazing podcast!

by Empyrion Blackthorn on Aug 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Right out of the gate Alyson Horrocks lets you know she means business. This is one of the most interesting, best researched and well produced podcasts on weird topics you could ever hope for. I learn something new each and every episode. Alyson also has a great voice and smooth style that makes the show an easy one to binge with. It has quickly become one of my all time favorite shows in the world of podcasting and I look forward to many more episodes of this truly wonderful little gem of a podcast.

The Perfect Podcast I didn’t even know I was missing

by FREAKY TRUE STORIES! on Aug 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve always wanted to use that saying. I heard the ladies at MFM talking about this podcast. So jumped over listening to the 3 part Potions And Poisons episodes. Wow. This is a collection of very well told stories with hip modern twist. It’s has murder, death, and Macabre history. It’s all I could ask for in a podcast. I just hope that our gracious you host will put out episodes more frequently. Matter fact I think I see if she has patreon or something. It’s that good.

Very well done

by Rebelcake on Aug 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Well researched, interesting and well spoken.

Best mystery podcast

by on Aug 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is a real treasure. It listens like a great book reads.

Love Love!

by driehs farmer on Aug 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have binged and now I'm all caught up! Can't wait for the next one. I'm also listening to the other recommended podcasts and so far so good.Keep up the good work!

Awesome

by thrillaaaa on Jul 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast! I just wish there were more episodes and a more regular posting schedule, which is a pretty good complaint to have. I blew through every episode way too frequently. Love it!

Mispronunciation abounds

by Dunbar79 on Jul 16, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I’m not looking for perfect French pronunciation, but just could not stand the mispronunciation of French names over and over again in L’affaire des Poisons episode. They weren’t pronounced as they should be in English or French, and it distracted from the content. I had to stop listening about halfway through.

A storytelling delight

by ElricAs on Jul 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the way Allyson weaves her storytelling skills through strange and unusual true stories. The stories she tells are ones that haven’t lost their hypnotizing pull to the dusts of time and I eagerly await each new episode.

Nasally

by Blub123987 on Jul 14, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Allyson sounds like she constantly has something stuck up her nose. I can’t stand to listen bcse I’m constantly in my head screaming at her to blow it.

Captivating!!

by brandybakerre on Jul 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the strange & unusual podcasts, but some are hard to listen to. Awesome story telling, definitely holds your interest!! Thanks for a great listen!

Harpy

by first2fight on Jul 13, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

It would be more interesting without the mini feminist rants every 5 minutes. In the middle of talking about queens of England there’s a rant on “cis white male patriachs’ displays of power”, and discussions on fairy tales have side snark about male theft of autonomy. Is this a feminist podcast or an unusual history one?

Captivating tales on interesting subjects!

by Penned in the Madness on Jul 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I discovered this podcast through a recommendation from another podcast and I was not disappointed! Great storytelling, enticing subject matter, and relaxing yet elegant voice pitch and tempo. SAUP has quickly become one of my favorite podcasts, and I am eagerly awaiting the next episode.

Great!

by boutsarin on Jul 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast! Great stories!

Could have been so good

by Markie Beth on Jul 02, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I love the idea and the stories are really interesting, but it’s the narration I have trouble with. Alyson puts a lot of work into writing the stories, I can tell, but she is clearly reading off a page, and not speaking colloquially at all. She doesn’t have a flow and it’s not fun to listen to her struggle through the page she’s reading. Also she pronounced so many words and place names wrong that I started to get frustrated and had to turn it off. This bums me out because I really wanted to enjoy the great stories. Maybe she’ll get better at it and I can revisit. Until then I can’t recommend this show.

Well done!

by McKinleyAgee on Jun 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the content and storytelling! Very bummed I’ve already binged listened through every episode and am excited for more!

Love it!

by Monstermaud on Jun 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Not only do you hear strange historical stories, but I always learn something too. I am fascinated the whole time! Great job!

I wish there was more!

by Staerskye on Jun 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I love the spooky, well researched narrative that this podcast creates. I’ve heard some of these stories before but Alison masterfully connects them to wider themes and historical legacies. My only complaint is that I wish this podcast updated more regularly! Even once a month would be wonderful. It’s hard to remain engaged with a podcast that doesn’t have a consistent updating schedule because 1) we don’t know when to anticipate a new episode 2) if there are months in between each episode it’s easy to forget about the podcast

Alyson rocks!

by VeronicaMoreno010308 on Jun 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is so good! She really puts her sweat and tears into giving us great episodes time after time!

Fantastic!

by SInsleyDesigns on Jun 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thoroughly researched and really well produced! Can’t wait for more episodes!

Great stories, a Very Fun Listen!

by Fortune81 on Jun 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is such an enjoyable podcast! You get the creepy and informative stories without 40 minutes of annoying banter! Straightforward and entertaining! One of my favorite listens!

Historically Accurate Creepypastas

by Nic Silver Fangirl on May 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Enchanting music and fabulous storytelling. Why are these macabre tales so easy to fall asleep to? Find out for yourself.

Nice, but only one complaint

by o p on May 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

This is a very good, well-edited podcast. The narrator is excellent. My only complaint is that the two-part ones are too far apart. I get that this podcast apparently only releases every few months. But when there are two parts, they should be closer together.

Movies aren’t strange and unusual

by [nikoli] on May 18, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Recapping a movie in the first episode is a lack luster attempt to lead into the podcast.

Meh.

by Chelsea3131 on May 16, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Not as good or as developed as Lore. Spends an inordinate amount of time telling us the entire plots of movies. Came here on the recommendation of Georgia from MFM but maybe won’t take her advice again.

Thank you!

by jenmach3 on May 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I adore this podcast and have listened to each episode multiple times. Thank you, Alyson!

New fav!

by jennyegg on May 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast— spooky history and fables are some of my favorite things, and the podcaster does a great job narrating.

Awesome research!

by Anonomyssy on Apr 26, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Wow I learn something every time I listen. Arsenic poisoning and green? Who knew?!

Subpar

by Corvinus! on Apr 26, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Don't mind the stories but I don't need the feminist commentary; if I wanted that, I would just listen to NPR. I will pass on this one.

Haunting, dark, and bloody. I’m in love.

by the laughing dog on Apr 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Hauntingly dark historical material that is beautifully produced, written, and spoken. This is exactly the type of podcast I have been seeking and I’m drooling over each episode. Tales of bloodlust, murder, folklore, and all things that go bump in the night... thank you for creating these. I’m absolutely in love and I am looking forward to future episodes.

😊

by Nanny Dree on Apr 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Good information, painful pronunciation

Slightly gratuitous

by Nattie G on Apr 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The topics are interesting and very well researched. That being said, the presentation is clearly being read which makes the attempts at jokes awkward and slightly gratuitous. This makes it just a little less enjoyable to listen to ongoing.

Perfect Podcast

by jaf9623712 on Apr 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the one perfect podcast! The music, the supplemental sound effects, this woman’s soothing voice, the meticulous and detailed research, the nod to Beetlejuice, and of course, the subject matter. My only complaint is that the episodes are too few and far between.

Love this podcast!

by Gryphon535 on Apr 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is impeccably researched and smoothly narrated! Alyson’s enthusiasm for the subject and her sympathy for victims of humanity’s dark side really come through. (Geez, torture in France during the Poison Panic makes Game of Thrones look like the Teletubbies, amirite?!) I would highly recommend this podcast for anyone who likes the darker side of history! I hope to keep hearing more for a long time to come!

If You Like Lore Then You'll Love This Too!

by Andrew Gajda on Apr 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Alyson Horrocks' production quality is excellent and her narrative style is unique and compelling. While some of her topics are ones I've heard covered on other podcasts her indepth coverage and storytelling style made it interesting to rehear these stories from her perspective, with me learning something new as well.While there are only 11 episodes so far they are all about an hour long making this easy to binge before you start getting weary of the genre and leaving you hoping, wishing, praying she'll release another episode soon.Please, Alyson, release another episode soon!

Love!

by Rig072384 on Mar 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast! It’s so spooky and informative! More episodes please!!!

Thumbs up

by hilareejov on Mar 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Wonderful music combined with fascinating stories. It’s a perfect podcast.

I want more!!!!

by Chin.doll_7 on Mar 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one of my favorite podcasts. I binge listened as soon as I learned about it. Not to mention Beetlejuice is one of my favorite moves! I need more please!!!

interesting

by 100luxx on Feb 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I enjoy this podcast and hope she records more

Definitely worth the listen

by Nicole the Entomologist on Feb 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Alyson rocks! I really love tuning in to this podcast. If you like interesting and creepy stories told with equally creepy sound, this is for you!

So happy to have found this.

by friendly woods on Feb 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellent podcast. Very entertaining. Go ahead and swear Alyson. You've earned it.

delightful

by jensushi13 on Jan 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

great host/narration about a wide variety of subjects all of which are, of course, strange/unusual. this is basically the female version of Lore, which makes it inherently better (jk jk. . but seriously). I’m into it!

So interesting!

by Radishpoo on Jan 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Well read, well researched, great background music! Such good story telling. My only thought is that we need more! Haha! I cannot imagine the level of research and writing goes into these episodes! It’s very impressive! Great Job!