Average rating:

4
out of 328 ratings.

Fascinating!

by EvaSings on Sep 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Anyone who can make Dan Savage cry while uncovering what must have been weeks or months of research is golden in my book. So sad it was cancelled!

Jesus Christ, Gimlet....

by Tigerflight on Aug 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I am tired of getting my heart broken by Gimlet Media. Mystery Show, Undone, now Twice Removed. Every time I find a new podcast to fall in love with and be enthralled by, it gets canned. Twice Removed was wonderful and surprising and thoughtful and I will miss it.

The original concept seemed intriguing but it's not compelling to listen to

by newyork10r on Jul 28, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

When the connections between people are so remote, the story told seems very contrived. This seemed like it'd be a very interesting show but it just ended yon being a tedious and boring listen and I didn't care that two people were 5x removed cousins or whatever. But kudos to Gimlet for trying the concept. The very last episode was the best one.

So sad

by Bookshelves91 on Jul 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoyed this show! I am really bummed that this show is cancelled.

Last episode was best

by Vbatdorf on Jul 03, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I think they really missed out. The last episode was the quality and format I expected. A.J Jacobs voice along with the secret relative seemed a bit to much like a game show.

Gimlet!!!!

by SLShugars on Jun 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

So, some episodes in season one were more cohesive than others and even before the cancellation announcement I wondered how difficult this concept must've been for the team to put together reliably BUT the last episode? The story about DNA reuniting a family? That was interesting and touching, it seemed more straightforward and sustainable, and are there more stories like that out there? I guess I'm just disappointed you guys couldn't pivot somehow. Goodbye, Twice Removed. I'll miss you. And the whole staff of Twice Removed, you guys did an awesome job with such a unique idea. Thank you for giving us one season at least. P.S. I love you, Gimlet. It's just hard to say goodbye.

One of the most heartfelt Gimlet shows

by Khglynn on Jun 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great interviews. I cry to it on the regular.

Don't leave me!!!!

by Lizh619 on Jun 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Don't stop this podcast! I love it!!!! Especially the last one you did! Please reconsider on continuing this podcast!!!

Loved

by perasshole on Jun 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This my first time reviewing a podcast ever which is surprising because I listen to a couple dozen. I just had to write and say I'm so sad to see this podcast go. The premise is a little cheesy sure but the show ALWAYS put a smile on my face. I suggest going back and listening even though the show is over because it's all so interesting. If you're cynical about the "we're all connected" thing then it's fair to say you probably won't like the show. I was looking forward to the second season. I'm going to keep a little hope that maybe it'll come back.

Excellent

by Adamingus on Jun 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellent podcast, it clearly requires a lot of time to produce, not sure how they did it at all, thanks for the great episodes!

Love love love

by Tr314 on Jun 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Funny, interesting, great fun! I'm sad it is going away....

Love it!

by KikiD32 on Jun 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Update: WHY?!?! Why does Gimlet keep cancelling my favorite podcasts because they're too complicated to make? First Mystery Show, now Twice Removed?? Boooooo. I love this podcast! I wish I was famous so he'd do my genealogy. It's so interesting and makes the world feel a little smaller and more connected.

Incredibly interesting!

by PETRO2986 on Jun 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast dives into the family tree like no other. They visit the relatives and find interesting facts about their family. Must listen 🙃

Loved it!

by Justin TH on May 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Fun to listen to and interesting. Keep publishing, please.

Goosebumps

by ohbrooksthegirl on May 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

First time a podcast has given me goosebumps. And then they did it again in ep 2.

Bad miss

by Mrkchusker on May 11, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I love Gimlet stuff, but this is not good. The "connections" are about as close as me and a dinosaur, and the host is awful. Gimlet is better than this.

Fun, light, and a break from heavy topics

by frances k on May 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love listening to this podcast in the evening, when I am tired of the news and want to listen to something fresh and fun. AJ is a fine host, and he touches on subjects that really matter when looking back in time at people and places. The unknown history is what matters in this show, and I find their research methods to be fascinating, as well as the storytelling.

Incredible show!

by mandy.weber19 on May 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the best podcast I have ever listened to and I can't wait until season two comes out!

Meh

by Fstyers on May 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I love most Gimlet shows, and this one has so much promise, but they missed the mark. The concept is great. The stories are great. But they ruin it with a gag of trying to introduce the guest to a surprise family member in real time. It's especially obnoxious that they "check in" with them in a different room throughout the show. And I'm not a fan of the host. But maybe he'd be cool on a show that's not obnoxious.

I know it sounds nitpicky, but …

by Professor Dave on Apr 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

… I can't get past the show's very loose definition of "related," which includes not just people who married into the subject's family, but also those people's ancestors, and those ancestors' distant descendants. Maybe I should lighten up, but it just violates common sense and kind of insults our intelligence. Think about it for a second. I am arguably "related" to my sister's husband, but I am definitely NOT related in any way to his great-great-grandparents, nor to their other great-great-grandchildren. Nor to my cousin's wife, etc. etc. Sorry.

Love it!

by rnkenly on Apr 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Can't wait for the next season. Keep up the good work.

Great podcast.

by Cybernose on Apr 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Keeps you wanting to know who the secret relative is.

Great

by WindowShopper717 on Apr 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great storytelling.

Loved this show

by 460 Ground on Mar 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I didn't think I would care about people I hadn't heard of ... my mistake. I think it was great. I like the concept and I like the host. Hoping for another season soon.

Like an Audio Version of "Who Do You Think You Are"

by ExtraMochaFilm on Mar 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If you’re a genealogy fan like myself, you’ll love this podcast. I was happy to discover there are even podcasts about ancestry! “Who Do You Think You Are?” is practically my favorite TV show, and this is somewhat like listening to an episode of it, though the guests may or may not be celebrities. Also, the relatives are not always blood-related ancestors, but are in someway connected to an extended family tree. AJ Jacobs, the host, is a long distant faraway relative to me by marriage through General William S. Rosecrans. He attempted to break a Guinness World Record of largest family reunion a few years ago in NYC which I attended, and am happy to listen to his engaging conversations in this podcast. The stories are fascinating to me, and so far, I’m loving the surprise guests!

Really cool stories, well told!

by Tricut on Mar 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the idea of this show, and I love the presentation. Taking one person and using their family as a way to tell many parts of human history from a new angle. So cool to see the incredible story hidden inside each of us!

History and stories in one great show

by put some aaron your tires on Mar 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Looking forward to more episodes!

Great Stories & Amazing Research

by Stubbyeb on Mar 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

How the team manages to wind their way through family trees to get to such amazing connections is beyond me. Some elements of how the show is edited/laid out/flows feels like it's not quite there yet (I'd give that 4 stars), but the research, stories told, and connections made more than make up for the (understandable) growing pains of such an ambitious project.

Def try it if you like Gimlet and Radiotopio

by Biscuits4Ever on Mar 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Welp, I didn't really have high expectations that I would like the show. I just couldn't figure out how they would pull it off. But wow! The show is totally awesome! I mean super awesome!! The host is a masterful storyteller/showrunner. You should definitely download it and check it out!

hmm

by salsalsarah on Mar 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Love the premise but a little dry. Also, every episode I have listened to has cut off the end so I don't hear much between the new relatives. The Ted Allen episode completely cut off while he was talking.

A good listen

by Jl346829 on Mar 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love hearing about the connections to distant relatives. Each family member's story is interesting. A.J. Jacobs doesn't have a great radio voice. I thought Jean Grae's story was the best.

Very engaging

by pianogirlekm on Feb 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I didn't expect to like the show but I really enjoy it. Engaging to listen to and some really interesting and unexpected stories.

Very enjoyable!

by artisann010 on Feb 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoy this show. It's so well constructed and interesting to listen to. I was expecting the connections to be more comprehensible (as in people that could be tied a little more closely to the guests [as opposed to being related by several distant marriages, etc.]. Overall, great to listen to and motivation for me as I continue my family history research.

Better if you know the guest

by Caylin on Feb 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

This is fun to listen to if you know who the guest is, otherwise it's easy to lose interest. I just keep finding myself wishing that I was hearing stories of my own genealogy instead of famousish people who I have never heard of. I thought Nazanin was kind of a copout choice for the first guest but ended up liking her story the most so far.

Hey Fam

by Yourcousinepo on Feb 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Dear relatives (you), I think you will like this podcast. I know, that will take you believing advice from a stranger but it's a beautiful thing to trust somebody. This podcast will remind you that we are all living parts of a much bigger and greater story. It may make you cry once or twice, but it will also warm your heart. Trust me.

Gimlet's worst podcast in my opinion

by Ggfdxvv on Feb 16, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I'm a longtime Gimlet listener, and I have stuck with all of their shows so far. I can't put my finger on it, but something about this podcast really isn't grabbing me. The stories of the relatives are very hit or miss in my opinion, and the gimmick of the "mystery guest" really isn't that engaging to me. I'll stick with this one for a bit longer, but I may call it quits if it doesn't start grabbing me more.Update: I finally called it quits on this podcast ten minutes into the Abbi Jacobson episode, and I have no regrets whatsoever. This show is not worthy of all the promotion and special treatment it has gotten from Gimlet while far better shows like Undone and Mystery Show are scrapped away.

Flawed premise

by torind on Feb 14, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I was very excited to listen to this podcast based on thinking it was going to trace lineage, but it relies on making connections through marriage and hence loses what made it interesting. The emotional reactions of Dan Savage were touching and genuine, but he and the "mystery guest" were not related in any meaningful way. Episode 2 was weaker and by Episode 3 I had to move on.

It's aight I guess

by bird-person on Feb 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Listen to this when you've run out of stuff I guess. I sorta agree with a lot of these reviews, some content feels recycled, host is a bit annoying and reminds me of a robot, very predictable, but not like, unlikeable i guess. Wish they had more female hosts at gimlet. Don't understand how this show came out and mystery show was cancelled. Honestly, overall this is lacking something.

Disappointing

by Al in Indy on Feb 13, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

It's a good concept but each episode kind of drags. The guests are not terribly interesting and the big reveal is always underwhelming. Room for improvement... I'll keep listening and hope the kinks get worked out.

Once Unsubscribed

by Michael Carl on Feb 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

As a rare genealogy-obsessed millennial, I was thrilled to hear about this podcast. I'd even attended the global family reunion A.J. Jacobs held in Queens. Alas, after giving it a few episodes, I had to unsubscribe. The whole thing feels sort of airy and the quality of episodes compared to one another is variable. I'm going to sound like a total pedant, but the worst thing about this is that they abuse the term 'relative' and draw on relatives of spouses of relatives, etc. to the point where someone is so far removed, it's disingenuous to be talking about the concept of family. I'd rather a genealogy podcast that didn't use it as some kind of shtick, but really run with all the richness and potential of exploring second cousins once-removed or someone's great-great-great-aunt. There's enough interesting there that you don't have to have someone who's 33 steps away and related twice by marriage, etc. Too fast and loose with its genealogy to interest people who are actually passionate about the subject and sound research; and, apparently, too boring much of the time to interest the general public.Win me back by adding a little rigor. I'm really rooting for this podcast!

Well-executed, fascinating show!

by JM123$$$ on Feb 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I am a big fan of Gimlet, and this one of the most successful shows they've produced. The quality of the episode varies by guest, but generally it is a fun dive into the past with plenty of interesting stops along the way. I'm looking forward to future episodes with maybe some gimlet show hosts?!

Pretty blah

by Paancaakes on Feb 09, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Gimlet has been pushing this podcast especially hard on their other shows, enough that you can tell that they are committed to it succeeding.I assume this is because it seems like a fairly easy money maker to get up and running. It's light and they can bring on myriad ~*celebrity*~ guests. It runs on what is, as others have already pointed out a fairly vapid premise that we are all related. Literally related, by blood or by marriage. This notion is true only in the loosest of definitions and while I am all for boundary crossing unity the blasé way they present this half truth as full truth is frustrating.As well, again echoing others, the show is fairly bland. I didn't care much for the host or the first guest, Adam savage, and was surprised to see others suggesting that he was one of the better ones.Writing this all I find myself wondering; wasn't there already a TV show with this premise? Why does this exist then?This show's inescapable presence in the face of the cancellation of a show I was quite fond of, Undone, is especially frustrating.Sorry Gimlet, this one's a miss in my opinion

Whim to Superfan

by FLbeachgirlie85 on Feb 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I listened to this show on a whim after hearing AJ on Tim Ferris' podcast and now I am nothing short of a SUPERFAN! The episodes are thought provoking, entertaining, sweet and quite funny. I often find myself smiling widely while riding the subway (which in NYC can leave others to stare oddly!). If you're thinking of trying it out on a whim I say GO FOR IT!

Surprisingly Good

by FlyGirl333 on Feb 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I didn't think I was going to like this one, because the connections seem random and tenuous. However, the little historical stories are genuinely interesting, from Civil War battlefield coffee to the origin of New York's pooper-scooper law.

❤️

by Listmajer8000 on Feb 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Look forward to this podcast every week now.

Others from Gimlet are much better

by runlikeagirl19 on Feb 07, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Ehh this is not my favorite podcast. It's only interesting if I know who the guest is, and the relatives they uncovered are probably only fascinating to the guest themselves. It's like when someone wants to tell you how cool their ancestors are, it's really only cool to them!

So good

by ser_pez on Feb 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Perfect show for anyone interested in history or genealogy! I love it and am so fascinated by it.

Engaging and Original New Podcast

by dmug on Feb 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I am pretty shocked that there are any negative reviews on here to be honest! There is something very endearing about AJ Jacobs and his style of hosting. The storytelling is completely engaging and easy to follow. My favorite episodes so far are #1 with Dan Savage and #3 with Nazanin Rafsanjani. I think the more interested and invested the subjects are with their family ancestry, the better the show. Looking forward to the future of this podcast

Time We'll Spent

by Backpack babe on Feb 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I'm a fan. The show is engaging and fun. I like the time to reflect on where we came from and the lives that combined to make our own. I agree that the quality of the show ebbs and flows with the guests. Dan Savage was by far the best. He approached the whole experience with appreciation and respect. His sentimentality was exactly what needs to be brought to the show.

Third episode confused me....

by Arachnidkeeper on Feb 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I REALLY loved the Dan Savage & Ted Allen episodes. However, in the Nazanin episode, I can't figure out the relationship between Nazanin & Sue. Is it familial or just that their paths crossed in the past? I found myself confused & even listened twice, but still didn't find the familial relationship.