Average rating:

4.5
out of 491 ratings.

Good show

by GreenPrell on Oct 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The recreations are good and the information is very well relayed. I’m taking away two full stars because the ads play at a much higher volume, they happen too often, and are the old-school type of ad where a third person reads boring copy.

Great podcast!

by Dexter Doakes on Oct 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast! I love the narrators voice! It’s enthralling! The storylines are fascinating! It’s interesting to find out why these people committed such horrendous crimes!

Great!

by Erin yay! on Oct 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

So interesting and love listening to it!

Dramatization Not For Me

by eeveel on Oct 16, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Like most of the other critical reviews, I'm having a hard time getting into the dramatization. Not sure if it's the actors themselves (they DO over-act at some points) or the format in particular. Maybe I'm too used to myriad other True Crime pods that don't have dramatization, and it's just a matter of taste. The narrator, however, is a treat to listen to. Love her voice and delivery.

Very well done!

by Buryrific! on Oct 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Wow - so good!

Coco

by JESUSLIVES12 on Oct 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Awesome story telling and thrilling chilling tales!!!

Missed the mark

by StellaGrace on Oct 15, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Only listened to the first episode because... I agree with another poster that the bad acting/scripting makes it tough to get into the story. But more than that the narrator doesn't have any connection to the story and she sounds like she is reading a script that would be better as an article than an audio story. The best true crime serial podcasts have an organic feel and the narrator is invested providing insightful thoughts and reflections on the case (see Wondery's Dirty John podcast). It's what hooks you into the story. Here the overly scripted storytelling creates an awkward pacing and randomly strays through forced cliffhanger moments without getting the listener invested and bringing the people and the time period to life. Too bad because the Black Dahlia case is the biggest, and most disturbing, unsolved crime of the last century.

One of my favorites

by Critiqueen on Oct 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is an excellent podcast. I love the use of primary source documents.

Takes you to a different time!!!

by Valerie U on Oct 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

With Tracy Patton’s elegant voice as she leads us through the stories and the reenactments, the Hollywood and Crime podcast as perfect!!!

Great APP and Stories

by Eagle 267 on Sep 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The story mysteries are excellent. Intriguing, suspenseful, and seemingly noticeable attention to historical details and facts. To top it off the arrangement and presentation of each series is professionally performed. Technically the arrangement of episodes is user friendly and easy to set-up. Five stars on both content and technical application. Great job folks and thank you. Love the stories on long drives.

No cursing and great story telling!

by Nanadx3 on Sep 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I like true crime and I like reading about things that happened in the 1940 and 1950. World War II and the World War II Era and post war era is interesting to me. But I get so tired of listening to every other word being a curse word. This podcast is great for anyone interested in crimes like The Black Dalia. Because there were more than one. She may be the most famous one, but there were others very much like hers. Happy listening!

True Crime & Famous People... you can't go wrong!

by KJRAZ on Sep 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One of my favorite podcasts!! It is the first one I will go to when my new episodes are a available. I love the content. Well written and transcribed/acted out. Provides great detail and theory. KUDOS 👍🏼👏🏼😊

The Black Dahlia

by GingerNic11 on Sep 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Fantastic topic and presented exceptionally.

Incredibly Well Produced

by Krista121212 on Aug 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This will keep you on the edge of your seat, without being longwinded. I can't wait to listen to the next season!!!

Not just another Black Dahlia

by SithPadme on Aug 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

It's a little cheesy, but I enjoyed the narration and voice acting. The stories are great and for someone not familiar with WW2-era LA, a fascinating look at history and a string of murders. I'm leaving a 4 star review because parts of it are incredibly cheesy. But I listened to every episode and enjoyed the storytelling.

The first season was great....second season boring

by Jess Lynne on Jul 24, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I absolutely loved the the first season. I was hooked. I love true crime, and I never knew about these other murres that happened around the time of the Black Dahlia. The way the tell the story with a cast on a old radio show. Then they pick up on what they call season two. They are going to talk about the crimes in the 21st century, and how forensics now would help solve the cases. It went to straight boring. The host is boring, the people she has on the show is boring and how they present everything just boring. I had to stop listening, and unsubscribe. I wish didn't have to cause you had something great.

Addictive

by Leahlovespbandj on Jul 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm living out my LA noir nightmare fantasies via Hollywood & Crime. Highly recommend!

Black dalia series is A+

by Smak1380 on Jul 12, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

BUT instead of going on hiatus, they keep pushing through series teaser for other shows. I'm unsubscribing until I hear that they are going back to their regular show.

Great story telling

by Gossamer_Wings on Jul 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

The first season goes into great detail about a series of women murdered in Hollywood. The story telling is superb. Then to top it off the 2nd season introduces analysis, investigation and additional information to round out the events. Great job.

Hollywood Noir

by Emjoliie on Jul 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Despite some awkward ad placement & acting, this podcast is great for those who love old Hollywood & crime!

fantastic!!

by DOP123456 on Jun 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It is an amazing podcast. Cant stop listening!

True Old Hollywood Crime

by wut95 on Jun 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is fantastic. I love Tracy Pattin's narration, her voice is clear, distinctive, and very easy to listen to. The reenactments are incredibly well done, and it makes you feel like you traveled back in time and are present during the investigations. Highly recommend, especially for people who are interested in the Black Dahlia case, and 1940's noir fiction.

Ads

by Kelmo2691 on Jun 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The ads are very long and very disruptive

More.......

by Im sleepless on Jun 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast. It's evident that incredible amount of time and energy went into this show. Bring on more! Please.

Distracting ads, poor acting

by daywitch on Jun 06, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

So many ads! It's gross to listen to a description of a brutal murder and then have the host come on in a chipper voice and tell us about the meals she prepared this week. It's the same voice she uses to describe the murder details, like she is really enjoying all the gory details. It's creepy. The acting is terrible, almost mocking and distracts from the evidence. I don't think this show has much respect for the victims. The last episode of the season supposedly had "breaking news." Jim Clemente (behavior analyst) thinks it was a serial killer. That's it, that's the news. Now you don't have to listen to 10 minutes of ads. This podcast feels manipulative.

Just the right mix of fact and drama

by Nectarmaiden on Jun 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I am throughly enjoying this show. I have binged listened to Season One and now starting Season Two. VERY well done!

Creative, fascinating, intriguing

by Anachronistic1777 on May 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm so glad to have found this podcast. It brings the beauty of a radio drama to the modern age. It's well researched, fascinating and all around wonderful.

Interesting story

by SassySulli on May 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I gave this podcast 3 stars due to the awful music and poor voice acting. The story line is interesting and well told, but the actors ruin it for me.

Enjoyed it from start to finish.

by msgarner77 on May 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I discovered this from a friends recommendation, and I'm so glad she gave it to me. This podcast was dramatic yet not over the top, very research based, and tried to stick as much as possible to evidence instead of speculation. I did not know all of the other victims and drama surrounding the black dahlias murder but it definitely is worth a listen. You won't be disappointed.

I love it!!

by JdbevvJ on May 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very well done, interesting stories. I hope there will be many seasons!

Immersion breaking

by Lawrence395 on May 18, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The premise is cool and even though the voice acting can be rather cheesy, I can find myself being immersed in the time period...and then they throw two long commercials right in the middle of the episode. And they try to fit them in seamlessly so you don't know a commercial has started. It's so counterproductive to the format they've tried to lay out. You've obviously attempted to immerse people with your sounds and voice acting only to cut it off and try to sell us a bra. Just put the ads at the beginning for crying out loud. It destroys the whole experience.

Good story, but voice acting is painful

by Eileen Leen on May 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Literally. I get a sharp pain in my lower left leg whenever I have to listen to the terrible voice acting. True story.

Good not great

by cml3arg on May 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The content of the podcast is interesting, but the episodes seem a bit disjointed (at least the first 5). It's difficult to keep track of who's who and what story to follow. And the reenactment dialogue is just terrible. All that aside, it's still a worthwhile listen.

Fascinating & Atmospheric Crimes

by Morag MacGregor on May 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I really like the series and especially the final episodes with modern behavioral analysis. Excellent research.My only objections: I prefer a longer format -and- the voice reenactments took a bit of getting used to.

Love it!

by Katerajmed on May 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I was skeptical at first but was so happy I gave it a try. Wonderfully done and addictive to the end!

Didn't like the "acting" or role play.

by KGJM on May 13, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Just not my thing. Not into the acting or attempt to play out the story.

I couldn't do it

by Lizica87 on May 13, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The story was interesting enough, I enjoy listening to true crime, however voice actors ruined it. I could only make it through 4 & 1/2 episodes. I would have preferred for the narrator to tell the story. I would have loved to hear her conclusion but I can't listen to anymore of this.

Love it!

by dena phone on May 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I like that you don't include a lot of unrelated conversation. Nice addition w JIM Clemente profile, great job thank you!!

Love it!

by Jra4776 on May 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Look forward to every episode!

Storyline

by Sweetrev3nge on May 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Liked it at first, but after the recent episodes I'm very confused. The story doesn't flow very well and it's VERY hard to follow.

Great Pod

by Actual Real Person on Apr 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Good

Great podcast!

by Lonelydonkeykong on Apr 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I enjoy how it goes from a narrator in present day back to a dramatization of what might have been happening in the past. Very interesting to learn about old cases. The host has a great voice!

Great!

by julieswhirled on Apr 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Fascinating podcast with great reenactments! Very well produced and entertaining! And love Jim Clemente and his analysis!

Well Done

by Annie72* on Apr 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Really enjoy this podcast

Great podcast

by Swash/AV on Apr 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Came across this podcast by accident and I was not disappointed.

most reason episodes are not as interesting

by APVee on Apr 23, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Soldier Boy especially. It sounds like I'm listening to a man tolerating two women who don't know what they're talking about but want to seem like they do. They quickly agree with the man when he easily/quickly points out how they are wrong. Cringe.

Loved the podcast

by Cmarkley on Apr 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I live in California and I was always interesting on some. Unsolved mysteries of Hollywood. I hope you keep making more stories on some mysteries and crime in Hollywood.

Amazing and thrilling

by Kekecannibal on Apr 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Just an amazing podcast

Best of the best

by Brantleyday on Apr 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One of my top 3 podcasts. It is a must listen. I have read several books on the Dahlia case, but I've learned so many new things from listening. Please keep it up!!

Compelling audio story.

by trooperkurt on Apr 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It's produced, but not over produced and I'm hooked. I really look forward to each new episode.