Average rating:

4.5
out of 792 ratings.

Boring format

by MattDevine on Dec 13, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Too much voice acting ( bad voice acting) and layers of noise birds chirping found this to be mind numbingly boring

A fine podcast, if you like having other podcasts pushed into your feed.

by seraliza on Dec 10, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Liked it fine until they started pushing episodes of other Wondery tripe into my feed in lieu of producing content consistently. If I wanted to listen to Young Charlie I would subscribe to it myself. At this point I am not going to listen to it as a matter of principle because they keep pushing it into my feed, and it has substantially lowered my opinion of Hollywood & Crime. This is the second time I've unsubscribed from this OTHERWISE PERFECTLY FINE podcast because of irritating unwanted advertisements of their other podcasts through this feed between seasons/episodes. Get your act together, Wondery.

Could have been great

by Jgraham6 on Dec 07, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Unfortunately this podcast is quite corny. I would prefer a single narrator instead of the dramatizations.

Corny voice acting

by SusanMarion on Dec 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The show is good, but the voice acting is over-done and distracting.

Make sure to start with Episode 1 - Bathtub Murder

by TrueLiz on Nov 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is an interesting true crime podcast focused on old Hollywood/Los Angeles. The voice acting in some of the reenactments is a little over the top, but not enough of an issue to drop it from 5 stars. The narrator is really good, and sounds like she is telling a story, rather than sounding like she is reading a script, which is a plus. All the episodes (at least in the first 7 I have listened to so far) tie together, so start at the very beginning to ensure it all makes sense!

Great series!

by Cal9638561 on Nov 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Really enjoying Hollywood & Crime. I love that it’s done like a radio play, with actors reading lines of the police, suspects, and witnesses, with the narration of the thread of the stories.

I can’t with this narrator

by Sassy Searl on Nov 24, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Please find another narrator. These story descriptions sound really interesting but I just can’t listen to this voice.

So good!

by Jessjaynick on Nov 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellent!

Interesting

by AshleyWarwick27 on Nov 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A great introspective look into the black dahlia case. Entertaining and factual.

Waiting to catch the killer

by J. Edge on Nov 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one of my favorite podcasts!!

In depth Black Dhalia

by sbwilk on Nov 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have always been interested in the Black Dhalia but I have never taken the time to look into other than Hodel theory. I thought that was a good explanation but this series make a great argument for a serial killer. Anyone interested in classic Hollywood, true crime, and/or criminal investigation would love this. I look forward to more similar topics.

Truly entertaining

by Strwbrryshrtcake on Nov 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Loved learning the history of the Black Dahlia murders and LA during that time.

Believe it or Not

by FunfusionCa on Nov 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One word comes to mind Riveting! If we had forgotten that gruesome gory night and the shrill screeches that haunted an entire generation worldwide, your memory is awakened as you are lured in!A journey that is thrilling and exciting until your moral compass finds true north, but you refuse to change course!

New actors??

by JJ in Idaho on Nov 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I enjoy the podcast. I enjoy the concept and old time radio program feel. But the voice acting... omg... some of them are terrible. The women in particular. They very much sound like they’re reading the script.

Riveting!

by CarnesMichelle on Nov 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one of the best podcasts I’ve listened to!

Hollywood and Crime

by PKSchwobe on Oct 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼

Should be a top podcast

by Rheddrose on Oct 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Professionally presented, which means no personal digressions or inappropriate laughter, plus its well researched and for those of us that love stories of Old Hollywood and true crime, a riveting podcast. Hope there’s a season 3 coming our way.

Love the drama

by melmomom on Oct 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I like the mix of historic documentary and dramatization. I’m always left wanting more.

Interesting

by BonnieBonnet on Oct 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Interesting well presented.

Very well produced!

by derbygeek on Oct 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Just discovered this podcast and have put all my other podcasts on hold as I listen to every episode from season one. Well worth it! Keep up the good work.

Good, but....

by Freyja Vanadis on Oct 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I enjoyed the subject matter very much, but I couldn't get past the acting. It was absolutely terrible, and for me it made the pocasts unlistenable. I was able to get through the first eight episodes, then I had to call it quits and unsubscribe.

Good, but annoying at times

by I_CRE8 on Oct 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

First of all, I don't understand why so many people are receiving this before even listening to it!The information is interesting and well presented, but the character actors are terrible. It throws the whole thing off. But if you can get past that, it's worth a listen!

Love this podcast

by DRhooverMAN on Oct 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve recently become a sucker for true crime stories. Plus I’m a huge fan of the game LA Noir and history! This true crime podcast brings all my loves together! Plus what a better killer name then the werewolf killer? Great! I also live in LA and it’s fun when they mention landmarks I’ve been too.

Not bad.

by CRC1981 on Oct 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

This podcast is sort of perfectly bland. It's interesting, but not so interesting that it keeps me up at night binging. I've actually been listening to it to go to sleep. The narrator sounds like what I imagine the narrator of an instructional video in flight attendant school would sound like. Voice actors, which are usually an instant turn off for me, aren't actually that bad. A little annoying but not overwrought or overused. It's a solid story and a good staple for when I don't want to listen to anything too topical or intense.

Worst Acting Ever

by Johnny_BIaze on Oct 18, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Can't even listen anymore, acting should be natural not over the top and forced, the acting in this show is cringeworthy.

Good show

by GreenPrell on Oct 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The recreations are good and the information is very well relayed. I’m taking away two full stars because the ads play at a much higher volume, they happen too often, and are the old-school type of ad where a third person reads boring copy.

Great podcast!

by Dexter Doakes on Oct 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast! I love the narrators voice! It’s enthralling! The storylines are fascinating! It’s interesting to find out why these people committed such horrendous crimes!

Great!

by Erin yay! on Oct 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

So interesting and love listening to it!

Dramatization Not For Me

by eeveel on Oct 16, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Like most of the other critical reviews, I'm having a hard time getting into the dramatization. Not sure if it's the actors themselves (they DO over-act at some points) or the format in particular. Maybe I'm too used to myriad other True Crime pods that don't have dramatization, and it's just a matter of taste. The narrator, however, is a treat to listen to. Love her voice and delivery.

Very well done!

by Buryrific! on Oct 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Wow - so good!

Coco

by JESUSLIVES12 on Oct 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Awesome story telling and thrilling chilling tales!!!

Missed the mark

by StellaGrace on Oct 15, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Only listened to the first episode because... I agree with another poster that the bad acting/scripting makes it tough to get into the story. But more than that the narrator doesn't have any connection to the story and she sounds like she is reading a script that would be better as an article than an audio story. The best true crime serial podcasts have an organic feel and the narrator is invested providing insightful thoughts and reflections on the case (see Wondery's Dirty John podcast). It's what hooks you into the story. Here the overly scripted storytelling creates an awkward pacing and randomly strays through forced cliffhanger moments without getting the listener invested and bringing the people and the time period to life. Too bad because the Black Dahlia case is the biggest, and most disturbing, unsolved crime of the last century.

One of my favorites

by Critiqueen on Oct 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is an excellent podcast. I love the use of primary source documents.

Takes you to a different time!!!

by Valerie U on Oct 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

With Tracy Patton’s elegant voice as she leads us through the stories and the reenactments, the Hollywood and Crime podcast as perfect!!!

Great APP and Stories

by Eagle 267 on Sep 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The story mysteries are excellent. Intriguing, suspenseful, and seemingly noticeable attention to historical details and facts. To top it off the arrangement and presentation of each series is professionally performed. Technically the arrangement of episodes is user friendly and easy to set-up. Five stars on both content and technical application. Great job folks and thank you. Love the stories on long drives.

No cursing and great story telling!

by Nanadx3 on Sep 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I like true crime and I like reading about things that happened in the 1940 and 1950. World War II and the World War II Era and post war era is interesting to me. But I get so tired of listening to every other word being a curse word. This podcast is great for anyone interested in crimes like The Black Dalia. Because there were more than one. She may be the most famous one, but there were others very much like hers. Happy listening!

True Crime & Famous People... you can't go wrong!

by KJRAZ on Sep 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One of my favorite podcasts!! It is the first one I will go to when my new episodes are a available. I love the content. Well written and transcribed/acted out. Provides great detail and theory. KUDOS 👍🏼👏🏼😊

The Black Dahlia

by GingerNic11 on Sep 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Fantastic topic and presented exceptionally.

Incredibly Well Produced

by Krista121212 on Aug 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This will keep you on the edge of your seat, without being longwinded. I can't wait to listen to the next season!!!

Not just another Black Dahlia

by SithPadme on Aug 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

It's a little cheesy, but I enjoyed the narration and voice acting. The stories are great and for someone not familiar with WW2-era LA, a fascinating look at history and a string of murders. I'm leaving a 4 star review because parts of it are incredibly cheesy. But I listened to every episode and enjoyed the storytelling.

The first season was great....second season boring

by Jess Lynne on Jul 24, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I absolutely loved the the first season. I was hooked. I love true crime, and I never knew about these other murres that happened around the time of the Black Dahlia. The way the tell the story with a cast on a old radio show. Then they pick up on what they call season two. They are going to talk about the crimes in the 21st century, and how forensics now would help solve the cases. It went to straight boring. The host is boring, the people she has on the show is boring and how they present everything just boring. I had to stop listening, and unsubscribe. I wish didn't have to cause you had something great.

Addictive

by Leahlovespbandj on Jul 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm living out my LA noir nightmare fantasies via Hollywood & Crime. Highly recommend!

Black dalia series is A+

by Smak1380 on Jul 12, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

BUT instead of going on hiatus, they keep pushing through series teaser for other shows. I'm unsubscribing until I hear that they are going back to their regular show.

Great story telling

by Gossamer_Wings on Jul 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

The first season goes into great detail about a series of women murdered in Hollywood. The story telling is superb. Then to top it off the 2nd season introduces analysis, investigation and additional information to round out the events. Great job.

Hollywood Noir

by Emjoliie on Jul 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Despite some awkward ad placement & acting, this podcast is great for those who love old Hollywood & crime!

fantastic!!

by DOP123456 on Jun 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It is an amazing podcast. Cant stop listening!

True Old Hollywood Crime

by wut95 on Jun 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is fantastic. I love Tracy Pattin's narration, her voice is clear, distinctive, and very easy to listen to. The reenactments are incredibly well done, and it makes you feel like you traveled back in time and are present during the investigations. Highly recommend, especially for people who are interested in the Black Dahlia case, and 1940's noir fiction.

Ads

by Kelmo2691 on Jun 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The ads are very long and very disruptive

More.......

by Im sleepless on Jun 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast. It's evident that incredible amount of time and energy went into this show. Bring on more! Please.

Distracting ads, poor acting

by daywitch on Jun 06, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

So many ads! It's gross to listen to a description of a brutal murder and then have the host come on in a chipper voice and tell us about the meals she prepared this week. It's the same voice she uses to describe the murder details, like she is really enjoying all the gory details. It's creepy. The acting is terrible, almost mocking and distracts from the evidence. I don't think this show has much respect for the victims. The last episode of the season supposedly had "breaking news." Jim Clemente (behavior analyst) thinks it was a serial killer. That's it, that's the news. Now you don't have to listen to 10 minutes of ads. This podcast feels manipulative.