Average rating:

4.5
out of 376 ratings.

fantastic!!

by DOP123456 on Jun 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It is an amazing podcast. Cant stop listening!

True Old Hollywood Crime

by wut95 on Jun 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is fantastic. I love Tracy Pattin's narration, her voice is clear, distinctive, and very easy to listen to. The reenactments are incredibly well done, and it makes you feel like you traveled back in time and are present during the investigations. Highly recommend, especially for people who are interested in the Black Dahlia case, and 1940's noir fiction.

Ads

by Kelmo2691 on Jun 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The ads are very long and very disruptive

More.......

by Im sleepless on Jun 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast. It's evident that incredible amount of time and energy went into this show. Bring on more! Please.

Distracting ads, poor acting

by daywitch on Jun 06, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

So many ads! It's gross to listen to a description of a brutal murder and then have the host come on in a chipper voice and tell us about the meals she prepared this week. It's the same voice she uses to describe the murder details, like she is really enjoying all the gory details. It's creepy. The acting is terrible, almost mocking and distracts from the evidence. I don't think this show has much respect for the victims. The last episode of the season supposedly had "breaking news." Jim Clemente (behavior analyst) thinks it was a serial killer. That's it, that's the news. Now you don't have to listen to 10 minutes of ads. This podcast feels manipulative.

Just the right mix of fact and drama

by Nectarmaiden on Jun 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I am throughly enjoying this show. I have binged listened to Season One and now starting Season Two. VERY well done!

Creative, fascinating, intriguing

by Anachronistic1777 on May 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm so glad to have found this podcast. It brings the beauty of a radio drama to the modern age. It's well researched, fascinating and all around wonderful.

Interesting story

by SassySulli on May 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I gave this podcast 3 stars due to the awful music and poor voice acting. The story line is interesting and well told, but the actors ruin it for me.

Enjoyed it from start to finish.

by msgarner77 on May 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I discovered this from a friends recommendation, and I'm so glad she gave it to me. This podcast was dramatic yet not over the top, very research based, and tried to stick as much as possible to evidence instead of speculation. I did not know all of the other victims and drama surrounding the black dahlias murder but it definitely is worth a listen. You won't be disappointed.

I love it!!

by JdbevvJ on May 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very well done, interesting stories. I hope there will be many seasons!

Immersion breaking

by Lawrence395 on May 18, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The premise is cool and even though the voice acting can be rather cheesy, I can find myself being immersed in the time period...and then they throw two long commercials right in the middle of the episode. And they try to fit them in seamlessly so you don't know a commercial has started. It's so counterproductive to the format they've tried to lay out. You've obviously attempted to immerse people with your sounds and voice acting only to cut it off and try to sell us a bra. Just put the ads at the beginning for crying out loud. It destroys the whole experience.

Good story, but voice acting is painful

by Eileen Leen on May 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Literally. I get a sharp pain in my lower left leg whenever I have to listen to the terrible voice acting. True story.

Good not great

by cml3arg on May 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The content of the podcast is interesting, but the episodes seem a bit disjointed (at least the first 5). It's difficult to keep track of who's who and what story to follow. And the reenactment dialogue is just terrible. All that aside, it's still a worthwhile listen.

Fascinating & Atmospheric Crimes

by Morag MacGregor on May 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I really like the series and especially the final episodes with modern behavioral analysis. Excellent research.My only objections: I prefer a longer format -and- the voice reenactments took a bit of getting used to.

Love it!

by Katerajmed on May 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I was skeptical at first but was so happy I gave it a try. Wonderfully done and addictive to the end!

Didn't like the "acting" or role play.

by KGJM on May 13, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Just not my thing. Not into the acting or attempt to play out the story.

I couldn't do it

by Lizica87 on May 13, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The story was interesting enough, I enjoy listening to true crime, however voice actors ruined it. I could only make it through 4 & 1/2 episodes. I would have preferred for the narrator to tell the story. I would have loved to hear her conclusion but I can't listen to anymore of this.

Love it!

by dena phone on May 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I like that you don't include a lot of unrelated conversation. Nice addition w JIM Clemente profile, great job thank you!!

Love it!

by Jra4776 on May 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Look forward to every episode!

Storyline

by Sweetrev3nge on May 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Liked it at first, but after the recent episodes I'm very confused. The story doesn't flow very well and it's VERY hard to follow.

Great Pod

by Actual Real Person on Apr 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Good

Great podcast!

by Lonelydonkeykong on Apr 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I enjoy how it goes from a narrator in present day back to a dramatization of what might have been happening in the past. Very interesting to learn about old cases. The host has a great voice!

Great!

by julieswhirled on Apr 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Fascinating podcast with great reenactments! Very well produced and entertaining! And love Jim Clemente and his analysis!

Well Done

by Annie72* on Apr 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Really enjoy this podcast

Great podcast

by Swash/AV on Apr 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Came across this podcast by accident and I was not disappointed.

most reason episodes are not as interesting

by APVee on Apr 23, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Soldier Boy especially. It sounds like I'm listening to a man tolerating two women who don't know what they're talking about but want to seem like they do. They quickly agree with the man when he easily/quickly points out how they are wrong. Cringe.

Loved the podcast

by Cmarkley on Apr 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I live in California and I was always interesting on some. Unsolved mysteries of Hollywood. I hope you keep making more stories on some mysteries and crime in Hollywood.

Amazing and thrilling

by Kekecannibal on Apr 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Just an amazing podcast

Best of the best

by Brantleyday on Apr 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One of my top 3 podcasts. It is a must listen. I have read several books on the Dahlia case, but I've learned so many new things from listening. Please keep it up!!

Compelling audio story.

by trooperkurt on Apr 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It's produced, but not over produced and I'm hooked. I really look forward to each new episode.

2 minutes of ads for every 5 minutes of story

by esifi on Apr 12, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

And they are the same ads every episode

Very interesting listen!

by julzzz on Apr 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I found this podcast by chance, browsing through iTunes. After the first listen I was hooked. I appreciate the unique storytelling technique, mixing narration with the cast of actors replicating news anchors, press conferences, and police interviews. It's old timey radio drama meets investigative reporting. Fans of true crime, mystery, and Hollywood drama will love this. The storylines sometimes get a bit confusing, or jump around in a way that's hard to follow, but ultimately I find my way back and enjoy the time I spent listening. Would definitely recommend to others.

Fun Podcast

by DrFrank87 on Apr 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

True crime and old Hollywood. Love it!

I Can't Stop Listening

by Catevf on Apr 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is my go-to while I'm driving, walking, and puttering around the house. The storytelling is well done, the reenactments are minimally cheesy, and it's a good history lesson for some terribly brutal crimes surrounding WWII. I hope more stories are to come!

Campy Fun

by Wilpud on Apr 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

This is an enjoyable podcast; well produced with just the right amount of camp in the "scenes." Only thing that really bugs me is the ads in the middle that use the same theme song. Same ads, same song. It's overkill and now the theme makes me nuts. But overall I recommend

Favorite New Podcast

by Ghostmachine1 on Apr 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I live in LA so I love when they mention places that are still around so I can take history drives. This podcast is very detailed and I hope there will be a lot more in the future!

Leaves you wanting more!

by Iminvisiable on Apr 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Every episode leaves me entertained and wanting another episode.

Awesome

by Enaidab on Apr 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great storytelling! Loving this podcast!

New favorite podcast!

by Krwwid on Apr 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If you're a fan of true crime and history, this is the best mix for you!

dramatizations are annoying

by mhndrsn on Apr 07, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

affected, cringey acting and unconvincing script. really annoying. wish the reporter would just narrate the story

I couldn't get past the first 30 mins

by HeatherNervous on Apr 07, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I don't like the voices in this at all. It's like they are reading a script and trying out for an acting part. Just not my cup of tea.

no thanks

by Snoopy0192 on Apr 06, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Tacky & gimmicky, and done seemingly without respect for the victims or their families. Really feels like an attempt at a jaunty dog & pony show to ride the wave of popular true crime podcasts being released now. Re-enactments & voice acting feel even more contrived than those on Unsolved Mysteries. I'll pass on this novelty.

Meh

by Mr. Man10 on Apr 06, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

It's not very focused. It seems to hop around stories. The commercial breaks (while needed, obviously) mess up the flow a lot, as does the switching from narration to scenes featuring a bunch of different actors.May be good for someone interested in the history of LA, though.

Potentially great

by Fi1202 on Apr 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

This is an almost-great podcast, especially if you are fan of old-timey radio drama like I am. But be warned, the host is insufferable. I have to fast-forward whenever she's speaking because she is overacting SO hard. Also, it's VERY unclear when they are reporting facts and when it's totally made up. Like they'll say "This interview/press conference/etc. was recorded..." and then play an obviously renacted scene. This seems unethical and misleading. I'm not sure why they stopped after episode 12, but it was mostly interesting up to that point.

Pushy

by Kaiser Soso on Apr 03, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Was fine until they started playing other podcasts through their feed.

Fascinating, Very Well Produced

by Vcaser on Apr 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have enjoyed this podcast from Day 1. If you have not listened yet, go back to the beginning and catch up!

great show

by Pumpkin Escobar2 on Apr 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

can't wait for season2!!!!

Can't stop listening

by Bossy Crazy on Mar 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Such an amazing podcast with so much audio drama and contextualization of serial killers! It's 🔥🔥🔥

Great!

by ktmaye on Mar 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Well done! Great story telling. Love the style

Like a modern day radio show

by nicholasmwalker on Mar 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very fun podcast and very different. Normally i find dramatizations obnoxious, but they use it sparingly here so when it does come up it is effective. It plays like a fun radio show. I had some previous knowledge of the black dahlia case but this podcast fills in LOTS of gaps. Check it out