Average rating:

4.5
out of 1293 ratings.

Love it !!

by 🍡🍷🍀🍕 on May 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

When is season 3 coming out ,, Can’t wait !!!!

Where are they now?

by Timekeeper01 on May 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Where are they now? Any new episodes coming soon? Miss the show.

Amazing!

by Ceasar War on May 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This was a great series! You won’t be disappointed.

Interesting information on the historical murders

by Mleebee on Apr 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The hosts make it interesting, and I like the short play time.

Love the podcast

by only1amsa on Apr 03, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

But I am going to have to unsubscribe from all Wondery podcasts until something is done about the host of Sword & Scale.

Agree with mediocre rated reviews

by Shopgirl Babs on Mar 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Like most who gave this podcast an average rating, this is more like storytelling than true crime reporting. Voice acting is distracting. No interest in continuing to listen.

Season 1

by westvamom on Mar 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I am in the middle of season 1 and I am hooked I can’t wait for the next!

Fascinating Show!

by Ciciwynn on Feb 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been fascinated by the reporting on the Black Dahlia murders. I didn't realize so many other women in L.A. were murdered around the same time and remain unsovlved today. This show is very well done!

Very Suspenseful!

by Shakira123456 on Feb 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m scared to leave my house! It was a beautifully written narrative that manages to be suspenseful, interesting and informative at the same time! Would highly recommend.

First time podcast listener

by ayyboyyd on Jan 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

IM HOOKED.

Hollywood and Crime

by Mbartmo on Jan 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Was excited for this - but too many commercials for the short lengths of the episodes. Couldn’t take it anymore after a couple of episodes. Great podcast if that doesn’t bother you.

Love this podcast

by Estrella392 on Jan 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I thought both the black dahlia series and young Charlie was fascinating. The way the show is done and then having special guests is awesome. I can’t wait for more episodes of this!! Please come soon.

Interesting

by Purduemeg on Jan 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Enjoy the reenactments and stories. Expert interviewers kind of boring episodes.

Exceptional!

by Gao Shan on Jan 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

My wife and I love listening to this podcast. It’s incredible well-done and we learned a lot.

Well worth the listen!

by citylife624 on Jan 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast! So good I found myself backing up to make sure I heard things correctly (probably shouldn’t be listening at work, but...). I’m looking forward to hearing more true Hollywood crimes -I really like Wonderly’s format. Also hoping Wonderly will work with LA Noir writer James Ellroy to spotlight his mother’s unsolved LA murder.

Wonderful

by WhatGatsbyDid on Jan 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Engrossing and well done. I’m always a little shocked when I hear “next time on”. It pulls you and and won’t let go.

Love love love!

by kileynotjenner on Jan 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast so much! They did my favorite murder mystery justice. I love the host - she is awesome. I also really appreciate the special episodes where there is real dialogue going on with professionals. So good!

Young Charlie

by Liveinxs on Jan 01, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I liked black dahlia season! Young Charlie S-CKED! They bounced back and forth on the timeline. Made it really hard to follow. Maybe if you know the story you might like it. If you don’t know much DON’T WASTE YOUR TIME

Informative and fun

by PrairiePodcastListener on Dec 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great story telling with actors makes for a fun listen.

A throwback to old radio.

by Pressman77 on Dec 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Very interesting shows and I love the parts that are like the old radio shows. The panel discussion about these cases are extremely interesting and entertaining. Keep up the good work.

Boring format

by MattDevine on Dec 13, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Too much voice acting ( bad voice acting) and layers of noise birds chirping found this to be mind numbingly boring

A fine podcast, if you like having other podcasts pushed into your feed.

by seraliza on Dec 10, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Liked it fine until they started pushing episodes of other Wondery tripe into my feed in lieu of producing content consistently. If I wanted to listen to Young Charlie I would subscribe to it myself. At this point I am not going to listen to it as a matter of principle because they keep pushing it into my feed, and it has substantially lowered my opinion of Hollywood & Crime. This is the second time I've unsubscribed from this OTHERWISE PERFECTLY FINE podcast because of irritating unwanted advertisements of their other podcasts through this feed between seasons/episodes. Get your act together, Wondery.

Could have been great

by Jgraham6 on Dec 07, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Unfortunately this podcast is quite corny. I would prefer a single narrator instead of the dramatizations.

Corny voice acting

by SusanMarion on Dec 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The show is good, but the voice acting is over-done and distracting.

Make sure to start with Episode 1 - Bathtub Murder

by TrueLiz on Nov 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is an interesting true crime podcast focused on old Hollywood/Los Angeles. The voice acting in some of the reenactments is a little over the top, but not enough of an issue to drop it from 5 stars. The narrator is really good, and sounds like she is telling a story, rather than sounding like she is reading a script, which is a plus. All the episodes (at least in the first 7 I have listened to so far) tie together, so start at the very beginning to ensure it all makes sense!

Great series!

by Cal9638561 on Nov 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Really enjoying Hollywood & Crime. I love that it’s done like a radio play, with actors reading lines of the police, suspects, and witnesses, with the narration of the thread of the stories.

I can’t with this narrator

by Sassy Searl on Nov 24, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Please find another narrator. These story descriptions sound really interesting but I just can’t listen to this voice.

So good!

by Jessjaynick on Nov 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellent!

Interesting

by AshleyWarwick27 on Nov 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A great introspective look into the black dahlia case. Entertaining and factual.

Waiting to catch the killer

by J. Edge on Nov 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one of my favorite podcasts!!

In depth Black Dhalia

by sbwilk on Nov 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have always been interested in the Black Dhalia but I have never taken the time to look into other than Hodel theory. I thought that was a good explanation but this series make a great argument for a serial killer. Anyone interested in classic Hollywood, true crime, and/or criminal investigation would love this. I look forward to more similar topics.

Truly entertaining

by Strwbrryshrtcake on Nov 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Loved learning the history of the Black Dahlia murders and LA during that time.

Believe it or Not

by FunfusionCa on Nov 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One word comes to mind Riveting! If we had forgotten that gruesome gory night and the shrill screeches that haunted an entire generation worldwide, your memory is awakened as you are lured in!A journey that is thrilling and exciting until your moral compass finds true north, but you refuse to change course!

New actors??

by JJ in Idaho on Nov 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I enjoy the podcast. I enjoy the concept and old time radio program feel. But the voice acting... omg... some of them are terrible. The women in particular. They very much sound like they’re reading the script.

Riveting!

by CarnesMichelle on Nov 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one of the best podcasts I’ve listened to!

Hollywood and Crime

by PKSchwobe on Oct 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼

Should be a top podcast

by Rheddrose on Oct 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Professionally presented, which means no personal digressions or inappropriate laughter, plus its well researched and for those of us that love stories of Old Hollywood and true crime, a riveting podcast. Hope there’s a season 3 coming our way.

Love the drama

by melmomom on Oct 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I like the mix of historic documentary and dramatization. I’m always left wanting more.

Interesting

by BonnieBonnet on Oct 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Interesting well presented.

Very well produced!

by derbygeek on Oct 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Just discovered this podcast and have put all my other podcasts on hold as I listen to every episode from season one. Well worth it! Keep up the good work.

Good, but....

by Freyja Vanadis on Oct 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I enjoyed the subject matter very much, but I couldn't get past the acting. It was absolutely terrible, and for me it made the pocasts unlistenable. I was able to get through the first eight episodes, then I had to call it quits and unsubscribe.

Good, but annoying at times

by I_CRE8 on Oct 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

First of all, I don't understand why so many people are receiving this before even listening to it!The information is interesting and well presented, but the character actors are terrible. It throws the whole thing off. But if you can get past that, it's worth a listen!

Love this podcast

by DRhooverMAN on Oct 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve recently become a sucker for true crime stories. Plus I’m a huge fan of the game LA Noir and history! This true crime podcast brings all my loves together! Plus what a better killer name then the werewolf killer? Great! I also live in LA and it’s fun when they mention landmarks I’ve been too.

Not bad.

by CRC1981 on Oct 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

This podcast is sort of perfectly bland. It's interesting, but not so interesting that it keeps me up at night binging. I've actually been listening to it to go to sleep. The narrator sounds like what I imagine the narrator of an instructional video in flight attendant school would sound like. Voice actors, which are usually an instant turn off for me, aren't actually that bad. A little annoying but not overwrought or overused. It's a solid story and a good staple for when I don't want to listen to anything too topical or intense.

Worst Acting Ever

by Johnny_BIaze on Oct 18, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Can't even listen anymore, acting should be natural not over the top and forced, the acting in this show is cringeworthy.

Good show

by GreenPrell on Oct 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The recreations are good and the information is very well relayed. I’m taking away two full stars because the ads play at a much higher volume, they happen too often, and are the old-school type of ad where a third person reads boring copy.

Great podcast!

by Dexter Doakes on Oct 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast! I love the narrators voice! It’s enthralling! The storylines are fascinating! It’s interesting to find out why these people committed such horrendous crimes!

Great!

by Erin yay! on Oct 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

So interesting and love listening to it!

Dramatization Not For Me

by eeveel on Oct 16, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Like most of the other critical reviews, I'm having a hard time getting into the dramatization. Not sure if it's the actors themselves (they DO over-act at some points) or the format in particular. Maybe I'm too used to myriad other True Crime pods that don't have dramatization, and it's just a matter of taste. The narrator, however, is a treat to listen to. Love her voice and delivery.

Very well done!

by Buryrific! on Oct 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Wow - so good!