Average rating:

4.5
out of 341 ratings.

Great Pod

by Actual Real Person on Apr 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Good

Great podcast!

by Lonelydonkeykong on Apr 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I enjoy how it goes from a narrator in present day back to a dramatization of what might have been happening in the past. Very interesting to learn about old cases. The host has a great voice!

Great!

by julieswhirled on Apr 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Fascinating podcast with great reenactments! Very well produced and entertaining! And love Jim Clemente and his analysis!

Well Done

by Annie72* on Apr 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Really enjoy this podcast

Great podcast

by Swash/AV on Apr 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Came across this podcast by accident and I was not disappointed.

most reason episodes are not as interesting

by APVee on Apr 23, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Soldier Boy especially. It sounds like I'm listening to a man tolerating two women who don't know what they're talking about but want to seem like they do. They quickly agree with the man when he easily/quickly points out how they are wrong. Cringe.

Loved the podcast

by Cmarkley on Apr 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I live in California and I was always interesting on some. Unsolved mysteries of Hollywood. I hope you keep making more stories on some mysteries and crime in Hollywood.

Amazing and thrilling

by Kekecannibal on Apr 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Just an amazing podcast

Best of the best

by Brantleyday on Apr 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One of my top 3 podcasts. It is a must listen. I have read several books on the Dahlia case, but I've learned so many new things from listening. Please keep it up!!

Compelling audio story.

by trooperkurt on Apr 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It's produced, but not over produced and I'm hooked. I really look forward to each new episode.

2 minutes of ads for every 5 minutes of story

by esifi on Apr 12, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

And they are the same ads every episode

Very interesting listen!

by julzzz on Apr 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I found this podcast by chance, browsing through iTunes. After the first listen I was hooked. I appreciate the unique storytelling technique, mixing narration with the cast of actors replicating news anchors, press conferences, and police interviews. It's old timey radio drama meets investigative reporting. Fans of true crime, mystery, and Hollywood drama will love this. The storylines sometimes get a bit confusing, or jump around in a way that's hard to follow, but ultimately I find my way back and enjoy the time I spent listening. Would definitely recommend to others.

Fun Podcast

by DrFrank87 on Apr 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

True crime and old Hollywood. Love it!

I Can't Stop Listening

by Catevf on Apr 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is my go-to while I'm driving, walking, and puttering around the house. The storytelling is well done, the reenactments are minimally cheesy, and it's a good history lesson for some terribly brutal crimes surrounding WWII. I hope more stories are to come!

Campy Fun

by Wilpud on Apr 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

This is an enjoyable podcast; well produced with just the right amount of camp in the "scenes." Only thing that really bugs me is the ads in the middle that use the same theme song. Same ads, same song. It's overkill and now the theme makes me nuts. But overall I recommend

Favorite New Podcast

by Ghostmachine1 on Apr 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I live in LA so I love when they mention places that are still around so I can take history drives. This podcast is very detailed and I hope there will be a lot more in the future!

Leaves you wanting more!

by Iminvisiable on Apr 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Every episode leaves me entertained and wanting another episode.

Awesome

by Enaidab on Apr 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great storytelling! Loving this podcast!

New favorite podcast!

by Krwwid on Apr 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If you're a fan of true crime and history, this is the best mix for you!

dramatizations are annoying

by mhndrsn on Apr 07, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

affected, cringey acting and unconvincing script. really annoying. wish the reporter would just narrate the story

I couldn't get past the first 30 mins

by HeatherNervous on Apr 07, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I don't like the voices in this at all. It's like they are reading a script and trying out for an acting part. Just not my cup of tea.

no thanks

by Snoopy0192 on Apr 06, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Tacky & gimmicky, and done seemingly without respect for the victims or their families. Really feels like an attempt at a jaunty dog & pony show to ride the wave of popular true crime podcasts being released now. Re-enactments & voice acting feel even more contrived than those on Unsolved Mysteries. I'll pass on this novelty.

Meh

by Mr. Man10 on Apr 06, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

It's not very focused. It seems to hop around stories. The commercial breaks (while needed, obviously) mess up the flow a lot, as does the switching from narration to scenes featuring a bunch of different actors.May be good for someone interested in the history of LA, though.

Potentially great

by Fi1202 on Apr 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

This is an almost-great podcast, especially if you are fan of old-timey radio drama like I am. But be warned, the host is insufferable. I have to fast-forward whenever she's speaking because she is overacting SO hard. Also, it's VERY unclear when they are reporting facts and when it's totally made up. Like they'll say "This interview/press conference/etc. was recorded..." and then play an obviously renacted scene. This seems unethical and misleading. I'm not sure why they stopped after episode 12, but it was mostly interesting up to that point.

Pushy

by Kaiser Soso on Apr 03, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Was fine until they started playing other podcasts through their feed.

Fascinating, Very Well Produced

by Vcaser on Apr 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have enjoyed this podcast from Day 1. If you have not listened yet, go back to the beginning and catch up!

great show

by Pumpkin Escobar2 on Apr 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

can't wait for season2!!!!

Can't stop listening

by Bossy Crazy on Mar 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Such an amazing podcast with so much audio drama and contextualization of serial killers! It's 🔥🔥🔥

Great!

by ktmaye on Mar 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Well done! Great story telling. Love the style

Like a modern day radio show

by nicholasmwalker on Mar 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very fun podcast and very different. Normally i find dramatizations obnoxious, but they use it sparingly here so when it does come up it is effective. It plays like a fun radio show. I had some previous knowledge of the black dahlia case but this podcast fills in LOTS of gaps. Check it out

Awesome true crime podcast

by Goheels92 on Mar 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I heard about this podcast from listening to Crimetown and I LOVE it!! I basically binged on it, ignoring my other podcasts for awhile and now I can't wait for season two. Try it, if you like true crime stories, you will love this podcast.

Cheesy and corny

by Mikeemahboi on Mar 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

You have to be over 50 to enjoy the cheesy production and corny narration.

It's okay

by littlewhirl on Mar 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The subject is so compelling, but the bad old timey radio acting is insufferable. The recaps at the begining are muddled in with so much extra info that I always end up checking to see if I have the right episode on, and the odd placement of sponsorship is annoying. I think I'm hate listening at this point.

Good content, ATROCIOUS reenactments

by facingthetrend on Mar 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The narration and content are top notch, but the audio reenactments are all but unbearable to listen to. Either get rid of them entirely, or hire people with actual talent.

Don't Skip This!

by Mar-y on Mar 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

You may think the Black Dahlia has been done to death, but think again! Give THIS podcast a listen, you won't be disappointed.

Getting even better

by Elledub12 on Mar 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been enjoying this podcast. Sometimes I get a little lost in all the names, dates and places, I wouldn't mind more recaps. Just when I thought the podcast would be winding down with the dahlia story the most recent episode revealed how much more is to come. I feel like the story is just heating up. Can't wait!

Very interesting, but...

by JRoseDenton on Mar 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The voice acting is SO BAD and the ad placement is distracting and repetitive.

Fun podcast but..

by Jtcubed on Mar 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

This is a fun podcast, but the acting is horrible. I almost can't take it seriously.

Real Crime Reporting with Dramatization

by LynnPod on Mar 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Not just the same old boring murder stories, The dramatization that is integrated into the reporting makes this a fun listen. Very retro. Perfectly produced.

New favorite

by K_bear8 on Mar 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is my new favorite podcast! It's the perfect blend of storytelling and audio drama. I highly recommend it to anyone who likes crime stories.

Very fun way to tell murder stories

by asianobserveatory on Mar 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very high production quality, good content, overall very well done!

Give it a listen

by Eppshel on Mar 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

There are many dramatized crime podcasts out there. I haven't found one I could listen to till I tried Hollywood&Crime. Thanks for making a great podcast!

Great show, way too many ads

by OtterRun on Mar 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I really like the show, but the voice actors are a bit ameatur. What really turns me off are the amount of ads. I get that podcasters should be paid for their work and I'd be OK with a few ads per episode, but there are at least 6 ads per 40 minute show broken up into three ad breaks. It makes for a choppy listening experience.

FANTASTIC!!!

by Lizzylazzylou on Mar 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Hard to believe, but this is my first-ever podcast and I’m hooked. So much fun to listen to, and a treat for a mystery-lover like me!!!

This is okay...

by Bewicks wren on Mar 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I like this podcast as it focuses on a period in Los Angles in the 40's. It is well-covered ground by author James Elroy, but I can't get enough of it. Why do all the supporting characters in the scenes have east coast accents? Most times when a cop speaks in this podcast his accent is straight from Car 54. I'm sure there were a few transplants in those days, but most of the Californians spoke without that accent. In A recent episode a waitress spoke in a New York/Yiddish mix that sounded like she was a caterer on the set of West Side Story. It seems trivial, but the podcast comes across as so factual, yet they go for the low hanging fruit that most hack screen writers use when writing a cop scene (though to be fair, I haven't heard a cop character with an Irish brogue named "Clancy"...yet). Just seems lazy to go that route.

Look Forward To New Eps

by Kbsgat44 on Mar 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. It's very entertaining. It's like watching true crime but the visuals are all in your mind. I look forward to every new episode.

Awesome!

by Snuggle Bear Loves Cris on Mar 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My favorite podcast thus far!

Good

by VioletElectricp on Mar 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Good

So AMAZING!!

by NinjaSara on Mar 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Simply put, this is the best podcast in the history of podcasts and the earth! I am so obsessed with this podcast. Great stories that are interesting and engaging. Keep up the great work!

Interesting and Good Noir

by draadje_80 on Mar 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The team behind the Hollywood & Crime podcast really know how to set a scene and make you visualize what is happening. Very interesting history about L.A. immediately post WWII.