Average rating:

5
out of 2732 ratings.

Thanks!

by Joan Kauffman on Nov 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As a long-time MSW and consumer of therapeutic services, I welcome and recommend your podcast! Know you’re “doinggod’s work”.

I only wish there were more episodes

by L.S.D. on Oct 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I recommend this podcast to therapists, sufferers, and anyone who’s life is touched by depression, which is a long-winded way of saying everyone. It might break you a little when you suddenly hear someone talking about your exact thing and you realize you really aren’t alone and someone out there understands exactly a thing you experience. But it’s an uplifting kind of broken? ...if that makes sense. And even if for some reason it ends up being completely unrelatable to you personally, not only might it offer some insight into the struggles of other people in your life, it’s also a collection of juicy stories. Give it a listen. It’s more than worth the time.

Moving

by Eneibru on Oct 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I like John Moe as host, and I’ve enjoyed many of his conversations. As a person with depression (as the problem part of an atypical bipolar disorder), the show is comforting and inspiring. I just listened to a moving interview with Canadian comic Scott Thompson. The very awkward silence as Scott struggles to answer a question about the suicide of his brother (diagnosed with schizophrenia) is such a real moment. I would guess that such an uncomfortable moment would be edited out in most shows. I am glad your show exists, John.

Great show even if you’re not depressed

by Dorothyrothchild on Oct 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Fascinating discussions with interesting, creative artists.

So relatable and reassuring

by 4ensicBSN on Sep 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This show...this show is so incredible. There is always something I can relate to or learn from. It makes me feel so less alone in my depression and helps me laugh and see some light in the darkness of depression. It’s wonderful and reassuring! Take a listen!

No one is alone in this

by multeataskr on Sep 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been living with anxiety and depression for decades. I might even say I’ve been living with them successfully. But the sense of isolation can be overwhelming. This podcast reassures me that I am definitely not alone.

Amazing!

by Matebro on Sep 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. So much fun- and so insightful. If you have depression, it feels like coming home!

Helpful, normalizing look at depression and mental health

by lily314 on Sep 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It is so nice to hear from people whose work I enjoy talking about their mental health issues, both for my own struggles with mental health and of those around me.

Helping us connect

by WisMom88 on Sep 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Depressed people aren’t very social. We don’t often get together and chit chat, but this podcast feels like I had coffee with a friend. I see a therapist, but she never seems like she got it. The podcast doesn’t have a “just see the positive side of things” vibe because that’s not depression. It lets us all know that we’ll be okay- no matter who you are or where you are or what sinkhole you’re sitting in. Great job, guys!

Your not alone

by twogolden2 on Sep 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast shows that we are not alone in struggling with depression and anxiety. Many people including famous people struggle with depression. This podcast shows how people have struggled with depression and how they are fighting back against it. Learn in depth about people’s lives of growing up with depression and how they overcome it.

Great podcast

by katoismycat on Sep 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks for this podcast. I found it when I was on the verge of planning my funeral...listening to others tell their stories helped me learn I AM NOT ALONE. Everyone’s story is different but they’re all alike in that they kept going, they persevered. Thanks for introducing me to my fellow Thwod-balls!

The world I dreamt of...

by the triple gem on Aug 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

.. is in this podcast. Where we speak honestly about our struggles and ways to get through them. Where we understand that mental health issues are not due to a lack of willpower and/or a lack of gratitude. Thank you for this podcast.The sentiments expressed are a balm to my heart. It's like being in a recovery meeting with all this real talk, and as a person in recovery from a substance use disorder, due to medicating undiagnosed depression, I truly appreciate the feeling of connection. This is wonderful. Keep up the great work!

Amazing

by Gishmilish on Aug 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast has been so important to me. Even though I don't think of myself as feeling a lot of shame around my depression, it's still not something I generally talk with people about. This podcast is fun and interesting, and has the added benefit of making me feel less isolated, even during my lowest lows.

I love THWOD!

by stevebuser on Aug 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I am hooked on this podcast. I can’t wait for new episodes.John, thanks for sharing your talents and bringing these wonderful people to the podcast.

Excellent

by CCCONBOY on Aug 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a stellar podcast with relevant and helpful information and guests. I’m so lucky I found it and I hope anyone who needs it finds it too.

Thanks

by Eh not that bad on Jul 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I don’t know if I have depression but I have friends who do and when I listen to these stories, I think they should listen to them too. And it also makes me laugh a lot so thanks for this podcast

Well done!

by kathyavl on Jul 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

John Moe and his guests handle the sensitive topic of mental health with so much respect, professionalism and sincerity.

So helpful

by kat5638 on Jul 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I stumbled upon this podcast when I was in a very down place due to my depression. Listening to these podcasts reminded me that I am not alone, I am strong, there is hope, this will not last forever. I have almost listened to them all in the last 2.5 weeks and I am going to go through and listen to them again because they are entertaining and a great tool to help me see hope when everything seems so hopeless. Share with all your friends who may benefit from listening!

Damaged individuals have repairs to make

by Alejandrosaurus on Jul 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

When you reflected on the therapist situation with Jeff Tweedy and you made the statement “People who have some damage to them may gravitate towards situations exactly like ones that cause the damage in the first place” really hit Home and was also a thought I had never put together. I have listened to all the episodes in order up to this one and will listen to the rest because with each new guest I am learning more about my own issues and illness. I can’t thank you enough for creating this podcast, and I know that your own illness is what led to this show to exist which is a double edge sword in a way. Thank you so much from the bottom my my heart.

BrIlLaNcE!

by bobbe white on Jul 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

So many interesting stories. Erich Segal was my favorite functional depressive. Listening to him on Wait, Wait (NPR) is so encouraging. So many favorite episodes. I think I’ll replay each one before next season begins. Thank you for bringing us brave souls willing to tell their stories. Bobbe White

Thank you

by scue1965 on Jun 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Mental illness is and has been in my family. This podcast has given light and hope to me personally. Look forward to listening to this, as it is funny and insightful, thanks!!!

If I could only listen to one podcast, this would be it.

by ComeDoMyDishes on Jun 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been listening to this podcast since it started. I struggle with depression and anxiety, I appreciate hearing the different forms depression takers and the different ways anxiety manifests for others. I appreciate how this podcast is able to separate the mental health struggle guests have from the individual and yet still part of them. I have had an incredible amount of clarity regarding my mental health struggles because guests have shared how they are affected. I listen so much I see the theme song. Thank you all for a wonderful and important podcast. The world is a little brighter because you have shined a light in an often dark place.

John and Ana Marie find words to match what’s in their minds.

by Shane's mother on Jun 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I didn’t expect it to be so helpful in understanding the very personal insights of those dealing with suicide, depression, and bipolar disorder disorder, of whom I am one. Sometimes amusing, sometimes heartbreaking, but poignantly authentic.

A huge help

by kelli eliza on May 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As someone who personally struggles with depression, this podcast has really helped to bring me up when I’m feeling in a low place. it’s so nice to not feel alone and hear open discussions about depression , and the host really does an amazing job

John Moe is doing the good work.

by Genna Klein on May 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast caught me in a tough time in my life, but also a hopeful time. Listening to others' stories about living with mental illness has been so enlightening. We need to talk about these things. Thank you John!

not only president, i’m also member

by Laine2015 on May 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

as someone who has struggled my whole life AND as a therapist. I recommend it to anyone with ears!

A great show

by Steph-a-boom on May 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you for providing a platform where mental health and illness is discussed honestly. I grew up with a sibling that suffered from schizoaffective disorder. Growing up, I felt like our family had a secret that few people understood. Now, our family openly talks about and gives as well as receives support that helps all of us deal with what it is to have a loved one that suffers from a chronic illness that is invisible to others. Thank you.

Not depressing

by gmaass on May 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

John Moe does a really good job. The Peter Sagal episode was especially eye opening. A reality check for many people who are not aware of how pervasive depression is in our country.

THANK YOU

by Renjamin92 on May 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast was such an incredible help to me in one of the hardest mental health situations of my life. It literally got me through and helped me cope when my depression felt like it was eating me alive. I have a therapist now because of this show, something which I honestly believe has saved my life.

I Have Learned So Much About Myself From Listening to This Podcast

by Yonnie3000 on Apr 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great host, great guests, great interviews. I have learned so much about myself from listening. I’ve learned names for and the context behind thoughts and feelings I’ve had my whole life. The podcast runs the gamut of topics fro depression and anxiety to bipolar disorder and schizophrenia.

Uplifting and inspirational

by MistaFish32 on Apr 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It is refreshing to hear these guests talk so openly and genuinely about their hardships. As someone with untreated anxiety and depression, this lighthearted take on a tough subject has really lifted my own emotional load and encouraged me to open up about my own situation as well.

Thx .

by Stillfighting1956 on Apr 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As someone who has suffered from depression since I was a child and anxiety, I find this podcast to be very helpful. When I’m really down I just avoid everybody because I’m so paranoid that nobody really loves me. It’s nice to know other people understand And can help me laugh about it. D. M.L. F. C., VA

Are you in my head?

by Marymce on Apr 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Never before have I listened to a podcast and thought, that person is describing my life. A wonderful exploration of depression. John Moe asks great questions to his guests. The guests are raw, honest, and funny all in one podcast. Highly recommend this one if you have some depression or know someone with depression or even just have a brain. Listen.

Brilliant helping hand for depressed and those who want to be

by Rohnjaymiller on Apr 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Really thoughtful, well researched, compassionate podcast that is funny becaue it's so human. I wish this had been around when I was a teenager. But when I was a teenager I was so much smarter than this podcast. I didn't have time to listen to a podcast like this. I was too busy listening to my lizard brain tell me how worthless I was.

Convinced me to get help

by gr33nfire14 on Apr 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you for this podcast. Every episode is exactly what I need, always.

Worth every Free Penny

by LakerFam81 on Apr 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I found this show at a dark time in my life when I felt so out of place. I felt defeated and stupid because of how I interpreted the world, but this show has helped me understand my depression and anxiety more than ANY psychiatrist or therapist ever has and I am truly grateful for it. I now know that I’m not crazy and that my brain just works differently and there are others out there like me. Thank you!!

Life Changing, in the best way.

by MariaCorina on Mar 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I want to thank the people responsible for making this podcast, I look forward to every new episode. THWOD has opened my eyes to mental illness even more and made me feel so spectacularly part of the world. Every guest has stories that most people can relate to, they are so candidly open and honest and courageous about doing so. The host, John Moe, could not be more perfect to interview this individuals. There is this incredible warm, supportive way in which he interviews but also a gentle curiosity to get deeper into the conversations with kindness. I could talk about this podcast all day, thank you guys for all that you do, you are doing something so amazing for so many people and with my THWOD mug I feel like part of the family! :)

A light in the dark

by Aesaf on Mar 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Really love this podcast. Reassuring, cathartic, and funny. Looking forward to the next season.

Excellent host, guests and topic

by Rick__D on Mar 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Very glad that John Moe put this show together and I've found the discussions helpful and recommend it often.

thank you!

by absolutsnafu on Mar 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

this is amazing. it made me feel so much less alone. thank you american public media and john moe. i didn’t know i needed this!

Thank you

by fha-q on Mar 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve listened to many self help podcasts but this has put things into a better perspective. I realize I’m not alone with depression, but to hear others talk about it helps to truly know that others have some of the same thoughts as me. Laughter is the best medicine, and puts it into a “ hey it can be ok and there is help.” Thank you for this show, I hope to hear a lot more. Being a truck driver, it is nice to listen to instead of being stuck in my own thoughts 🤪

This is a survival tool for me

by Betskand on Mar 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks so much to John and his guests...knowing you're not alone is a big help. And some of my favorite segments are actually the "Placebo" ones where listeners offer their own songs, poems, sayings and so on. I use a couple of them now.Please keep doing this, John and co!

🙌🙏❤️

by corby76 on Mar 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Best podcast ever!!!

Lighthearted but serious

by MayfieldMom on Mar 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As someone who has “clini-D”, as John Moe sometimes calls it, I get a lot out of hearing the stories others tell about their experiences with it. Some of my favorite people have been on this show, like Jenny Lawson and Rachel Bloom. Hearing their stories helps me feel more normal.

Exactly what some of us need to hear

by Epic1993 on Mar 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m a 24 year old amateur comedian, I’ve been an idiosyncratic eccentric person my whole life, in 2011 I had a mental breakdown in high school that hasn’t happened again since but I went through a 3 month period of mania. I now take meds for depression and anxiety and I have my down days of course. I listened to Gary Gulman’s episode , he’s a comic I relate to a lot and he is way too brilliant to not be as successful as he desires .The sad clown isn’t just a stereotype for comics , it’s a real thing. It’s refreshing to hear it spoken about

Thank you

by usefuljack on Mar 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I didn't know I needed this podcast so much, but thank you for making it happen. I have not only learned a lot about how different people cope with depression and mental illness, but I feel less alone and less alien.

Thank God...

by vikki71 on Mar 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

we are starting to talk about the elephant in the room, mental health. I have had mild depression for years that exercise helps with. My lovely child was diagnosed with severe depression, anxiety, and suicidal ideation at 15. Child has since told me they don’t remember not being depressed. They are 20 now.The high school was woefully unprepared to deal with anyone with mental health issues. Her student counselor, when I met with them and asked for help on the school front, actually said, “But X is such a good kid.” Sigh. I then taught the counselor about the rates of teenage depression, 25-33% of teenagers at that time were estimated to have severe depression. HS counselors looked stunned. Only one of my child’s teachers wanted to help and that teacher shared that one of her children was the same, so that teacher “got it.” I was, and am still, grateful that my child continues to talk to us. That and catching behavioral changes, not bathing after formerly being fastidious, eating habits, school performance, etc., were what saved my child’s life at that time.Please continue the excellent work.

What will i do while you r gone

by kathy_gh on Mar 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I need this show to pull me through. Pls hurry back

Important and entertaining

by JessD1111 on Mar 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you for this podcast--it is such a great way to reduce stigma and help people feel like they are part of a larger community, which is incredibly healing for those with depression. Even though it's a heavy subject, John M. somehow keeps it fun and entertaining. As a psychiatrist, I love listening to it and recommend it to my patients.

Entertaining and informative

by Jeni and Jon on Feb 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This series manages to convey a lot of info about very weighty topics - mental illness, childhood trauma, suicidal thoughts - while remaining relatable and yes, funny. If you or someone you know struggles with depression, definitely check this podcast out. It does help to know that you are not alone.