Average rating:

5
out of 848 ratings.

Worthy of a million stars

by llittlelarks on Oct 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A moving and hilarious show that lets you know that even in the darkest times, you're not alone

It's like a hug in a podcast

by so4jo4 on Oct 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It's nice to hear other people's stories while being able to laugh about it. It feels good to know there are other people who have gone through the same battles.

Helps every time I listen

by Jennifer O'Connell on Oct 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've even suggested it to my therapist, psychiatrist and depression groups I have attended.

Thank you

by Dantemc32 on Oct 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m really enjoying listening. So far i can relate with some of the thoughts some of the comedians have, and i always felt guilty about having a sense of humor about feeling so bad or depressed. But now I can see how it can help. I recently stopped seeing my therapist, but i guess its time to give him a call.

Helpful for pharmacist

by Painedsomuch on Oct 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm a community pharmacist who regularly counsels patients on depression medications and this podcast was helpful for helping me understand better some of the effects of the medications I'm explaining to patients. Someone said "these aren't 'happy pills,' they're 'getting you to baseline pills' and this has helped me be a more empathetic pharmacist and person.

Brilliant

by impartial_observer on Oct 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Lifesaver (sugar free)

A must hear

by Shannooona on Oct 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is incredible! If you are a sufferer of depression (or other mental illness) or if you love someone w depression please listen. A funny and entertaining approach at understanding the everyday struggle of living with this disease. Thank you so much for this truly important and somehow funny content.

Real talk about depression that not depressing

by Lvmatt18 on Oct 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This show has been my companion this year as I sought acceptance and treatment for mental illness for the first time. Thank you for helping me understand myself and bringing me a community of people who share the struggle.

So good

by Nickname 4837 on Oct 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Entertaining, informative, comforting.

Very good

by kdarcey on Oct 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This show is not only very entertaining but a good way to see how people are effected by depression and various methods/treatments for elevating symptoms. It's lovely

What a great idea for a podcast!

by teriobrien on Oct 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great job, Guys!

Love it!

by Theamazingzd93 on Oct 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My favorite podcast by far.

Great Podcast!

by KL Ohio on Oct 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I look forward to each episode.

Great listen

by Chnvaldez on Sep 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I just listened to this show for the first time. I hadn't heard of it with all that's been going on since the election. I could barely keep up with podcasts I already had in queue. I've been missing out! I chose to start with Paul F Tompkins because I love his work and persona, and he's always proven to be a great interview. I was not disappointed. Mind you, I had already heard PFT on other podcasts discussing very similar ground; it was worth it. This podcast is well-produced; sounds great, easy on the ears, and a lot of pre-production has gone into it, taking relevant snippets of PFT's standup. I still and will always love Mental Illness Happy Hour with Paul Gilmartin. This is a production with its own merits and does not replace MIHH at all. They have different angles. Thanks, John Moe, for this, and to the stellar list of guests generously sharing their personal experiences with depression.

Start the Conversation

by JDerkis on Sep 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Whether you have Clini D or know someone who does, this podcast not only gives real world experiences, survivors, and coping strategies, host John Moe manages to eke out the funny and the poignant from famous funny people as well as non-famous people in the bite sized "Placebo" editions. The Hilarious World of Depression has given me hope for my household... It seems you need medication to live with me... And ways we can cope together. ❤️

Consistently excellent

by gogunners on Sep 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one of my favorite shows. The vulnerability and the frank discussion about “Clinny D” is therapeutic, but in no way is a substitute for therapy. It reminds me that I’m not alone.

Wholesome is an understatement.

by CaseyYouSoon on Sep 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

No matter where I'm at or how I feel, I love listening to this podcast and doing a lot of self-evaluating. This crew really goes out of their way to give us insight and conversation about mental illness, as well as how to cope with it. I can't get enough of it, nor can I thank you enough for what you do. Fantastic.

Hilarious and awesome

by sbbow722 on Sep 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A great show- wonderful host and honest open guests from all forms of comedy and media. Highly recommend

Anyone with mental health issues

by Popp¥ on Sep 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one of the most cathartic things I have found for my bipolar depression. Anyone with mental health issues will find comfort hearing the stories of people in the entertainment industry sharing how they learned to deal with the pain of depression.

A gem!

by katnissrey on Sep 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

So excited to have stumbled across this. Love that things like this exist —thank you for creating this!

Love this podcast!

by Jessie7482 on Sep 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

So real and although the topic is hard, this podcast is actually uplifting. Love this podcast and all the guests! Also the theme song is so catchy!

Let the interviewees shine!

by Aldk2 on Sep 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

It's a nice idea and I enjoy listening to the interviewees, but the host talks too much and doesn't let the interviewees tell their own stories enough.

Well done

by Katie Turkeybun on Sep 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast--would love it if you'd lust the songs and artists of the episode of listener suggestions

Love this podcast

by YaruskaC on Sep 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been struggling with my depression for what seems to be an eternity. This show helps me feel less alone. I love this podcast.

Wow. I Can Relate

by Spike McGee on Sep 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Had no idea so many people suffer from depression. Engaging and reassuring.

John Moe has a great idea here

by joyouslizard on Aug 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I was a fan of John Moe's APR show Wits because of Moe's ability to bring interesting people and great music together, and always leave me laughing. This effort is focused on the experiences of people with mental illnesses, including Moe himself. It offers help and hope, but the great guests, deft interviews, appropriate silliness, and music are also there.

Episode 9 Placebo

by myrrhy on Aug 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is posssibly the best podcast episode of any I have ever heard. Thank you to John and Ana Marie Cox for your honesty, and your ability to speak so meaningfully about mental illness.

Wonderful

by Hippie_artist on Aug 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you, American Public Media, for giving us this program! I am a long-time therapy patient due to a variety of mental health issues, the main one being Bipolar Disorder. Thi podcast is wonderful, from the guests to the theme song. I love The Mountain Goats, and hearing John Darnielle interviewed was very relatable and enjoyable. I also really enjoyed listenting to the interview with Maria Bamford, a comedian I like and can relate to. I hope this podcast keeps making such great episodes, and I look forward to more listening!

Relatable and helpful when you might be feeling alone

by Dreamer1 on Aug 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great! Helped me to understand and process the strange thoughts in my head. I cannot wait for the next season

Breath of fresh air

by Jessi not Jessica on Aug 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Everything I needed to hear in a podcast, but never knew I did. So thankful to have found it.

Insight and levity

by amandimalia on Aug 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It helps!

Pure Gold

by JOY_wins on Aug 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

As one growing up with a brother diagnosed with Bipolar Disorder Type 1 and struggling with depression most of my own life, this podcast is a place to find healing, laughter and acceptance. My brother lost his life to suicide after living with this diagnosis for over 3 decades and I tried to follow him down this same path 6 years later. Tune in, grab the lifeline, find yourself relating and laughing alongside our brothers and sisters struggling and surviving. Thank you for putting together something worth listening! Cheers!

Happy this exists

by Beecky Sue on Aug 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This show does a fantastic job yo help normalize something so many struggle with daily, yet don't talk about!

Relatable

by Anna Jane Micaela on Jul 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The discussion is comforting and really gets it. I think it can really achieve its goal of increasing understanding and reducing stigma.

Keep it up!

by Schnikelfritz on Jul 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks for sharing real-life stories that are both relatable and funny. I love hearing what has worked for other people. It really helps to hear that other people have struggled and still manage to be successful and add beauty to the world. Should be required listening for anyone who has a family member with depression.

An amazing premise, even better execution

by stevemchey on Jul 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is probably the podcast I've shared the most with friends. John Moe is the perfect guide into Depression in an approachable and light way, while always being kind, respectful and entertaining

Wonderful!

by Rach(ael) on Jul 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

What a refreshing podcast. John Moe takes a heavy, stigmatized topic and creates a space where mental illness can be discussed safely with all the nuances. Highly recommend!

Eh

by MLSYogi on Jul 23, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I really wanted to like this podcast. But, couldn't make it past episode 3 (I think). It got very redundant.

THE BEST!

by Vicki330 on Jul 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great interviews and so very timely in this world we live in! Thank you!

I'm sure this show has saved lives

by Movie hobbiest on Jul 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Comically honest talk about depression and anxiety helps us all accept and understand everyone, not just the clinically diagnosed

Life Saving

by Ciotti on Jul 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

John is saving lives with every single episode of this wonderful podcast and we are all extremely lucky he’s willing to work his tail off to produce this show. As someone who has struggled with depression for many many years, this podcast has allowed me to not be so hard on and forgive myself for it which has made a profound difference in my live over the past few months. Thanks so much John, you have changed my life and allowed me to see a shimmer of light at the end of the tunnel, I WILL NOT let Steve get me down any more, screw Steve :)

Love.

by Kbubz on Jul 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

So funny, so sad, and so helpful

An important topic

by Is this thing on...? on Jul 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm glad to hear people discussing Depression so openly. Let's break the stigma!

Honest, real helpful

by Jkynn2303 on Jul 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I am so glad i found this podcast. Having struggled with depresdion for most of my life it is so refreshing to hear real people talk about real experiences instead of platitudes. Thank you!

So so good

by LandL1265 on Jul 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It's funnier than some comedy podcasts and sadder than some dark podcasts. Can't wait for it to come back!

New BFFs

by Lisadcs on Jul 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I feel like John has taught me so much. I've lived with depression for so long and nothing has ever been presented to me this way. It is seriously changing the way I look at my situation and others in my family. I've felt misunderstood most of my life and this podcast has shown me that I'm not weird and that it is like pretty normal stuff. I had been in group therapy for years and it does not compare to this! Not even kidding! Thanks John and all involved! ❤️

Just connect.

by lemans.venere on Jul 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

We are not alone. I love this podcast.

More please...podcast works to allay some great terrors

by Dr.ChrisHE on Jul 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Having a family history of both depression (multiple types) & anxiety, I gravitated toward endorphins to treat but once laying flat out from surgery stopped my running, I turned to my hcp for help. Guided imagery helped some, as did CBT, meditation and ultimately life long SSRIs. Every time I try to "get off" meds, I do fine till life slaps me hard. After my husband walked away from a 30 year marriage (3 great boys), I've found I need ALL OF THE ABOVE PLUS...music is something that helps so much yet I sometimes am so paralyzed that I don't remember all my tools. Cue podcast..I must put a visible list & keep getting up. Having cats to care for but who are not too needy (love dogs but they can be high need). I do fear that our current administration will roll us back to the dark ages for this and so many chronic conditions. Nonetheless, I'm eternally grateful for comedians and this podcast for being yet another tool. Thank you and please keep on producing!

Awesome pod

by Wannabe taller on Jun 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast rocks

Perfect podcast

by Fohler on Jun 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I am pretty depressed and have some anxiety issues so a podcast about those issues is great for anyone with those mental problems to listen too. But I'm also a huge comedy nerd who loves all the people interviewed on the podcast. It is the perfect podcast for someone like me. So if you are depressed you should listen to it, if you are a comedy nerd you should listen to it and if your both absolutely listen to it.