Average rating:

5
out of 2160 ratings.

A huge help

by kelli eliza on May 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As someone who personally struggles with depression, this podcast has really helped to bring me up when I’m feeling in a low place. it’s so nice to not feel alone and hear open discussions about depression , and the host really does an amazing job

John Moe is doing the good work.

by Genna Klein on May 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast caught me in a tough time in my life, but also a hopeful time. Listening to others' stories about living with mental illness has been so enlightening. We need to talk about these things. Thank you John!

not only president, i’m also member

by Laine2015 on May 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

as someone who has struggled my whole life AND as a therapist. I recommend it to anyone with ears!

A great show

by Steph-a-boom on May 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you for providing a platform where mental health and illness is discussed honestly. I grew up with a sibling that suffered from schizoaffective disorder. Growing up, I felt like our family had a secret that few people understood. Now, our family openly talks about and gives as well as receives support that helps all of us deal with what it is to have a loved one that suffers from a chronic illness that is invisible to others. Thank you.

Not depressing

by gmaass on May 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

John Moe does a really good job. The Peter Sagal episode was especially eye opening. A reality check for many people who are not aware of how pervasive depression is in our country.

THANK YOU

by Renjamin92 on May 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast was such an incredible help to me in one of the hardest mental health situations of my life. It literally got me through and helped me cope when my depression felt like it was eating me alive. I have a therapist now because of this show, something which I honestly believe has saved my life.

I Have Learned So Much About Myself From Listening to This Podcast

by Yonnie3000 on Apr 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great host, great guests, great interviews. I have learned so much about myself from listening. I’ve learned names for and the context behind thoughts and feelings I’ve had my whole life. The podcast runs the gamut of topics fro depression and anxiety to bipolar disorder and schizophrenia.

Uplifting and inspirational

by MistaFish32 on Apr 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It is refreshing to hear these guests talk so openly and genuinely about their hardships. As someone with untreated anxiety and depression, this lighthearted take on a tough subject has really lifted my own emotional load and encouraged me to open up about my own situation as well.

Thx .

by Stillfighting1956 on Apr 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As someone who has suffered from depression since I was a child and anxiety, I find this podcast to be very helpful. When I’m really down I just avoid everybody because I’m so paranoid that nobody really loves me. It’s nice to know other people understand And can help me laugh about it. D. M.L. F. C., VA

Are you in my head?

by Marymce on Apr 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Never before have I listened to a podcast and thought, that person is describing my life. A wonderful exploration of depression. John Moe asks great questions to his guests. The guests are raw, honest, and funny all in one podcast. Highly recommend this one if you have some depression or know someone with depression or even just have a brain. Listen.

Brilliant helping hand for depressed and those who want to be

by Rohnjaymiller on Apr 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Really thoughtful, well researched, compassionate podcast that is funny becaue it's so human. I wish this had been around when I was a teenager. But when I was a teenager I was so much smarter than this podcast. I didn't have time to listen to a podcast like this. I was too busy listening to my lizard brain tell me how worthless I was.

Convinced me to get help

by gr33nfire14 on Apr 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you for this podcast. Every episode is exactly what I need, always.

Worth every Free Penny

by LakerFam81 on Apr 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I found this show at a dark time in my life when I felt so out of place. I felt defeated and stupid because of how I interpreted the world, but this show has helped me understand my depression and anxiety more than ANY psychiatrist or therapist ever has and I am truly grateful for it. I now know that I’m not crazy and that my brain just works differently and there are others out there like me. Thank you!!

Life Changing, in the best way.

by MariaCorina on Mar 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I want to thank the people responsible for making this podcast, I look forward to every new episode. THWOD has opened my eyes to mental illness even more and made me feel so spectacularly part of the world. Every guest has stories that most people can relate to, they are so candidly open and honest and courageous about doing so. The host, John Moe, could not be more perfect to interview this individuals. There is this incredible warm, supportive way in which he interviews but also a gentle curiosity to get deeper into the conversations with kindness. I could talk about this podcast all day, thank you guys for all that you do, you are doing something so amazing for so many people and with my THWOD mug I feel like part of the family! :)

A light in the dark

by Aesaf on Mar 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Really love this podcast. Reassuring, cathartic, and funny. Looking forward to the next season.

Excellent host, guests and topic

by Rick__D on Mar 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Very glad that John Moe put this show together and I've found the discussions helpful and recommend it often.

thank you!

by absolutsnafu on Mar 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

this is amazing. it made me feel so much less alone. thank you american public media and john moe. i didn’t know i needed this!

Thank you

by fha-q on Mar 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve listened to many self help podcasts but this has put things into a better perspective. I realize I’m not alone with depression, but to hear others talk about it helps to truly know that others have some of the same thoughts as me. Laughter is the best medicine, and puts it into a “ hey it can be ok and there is help.” Thank you for this show, I hope to hear a lot more. Being a truck driver, it is nice to listen to instead of being stuck in my own thoughts 🤪

This is a survival tool for me

by Betskand on Mar 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks so much to John and his guests...knowing you're not alone is a big help. And some of my favorite segments are actually the "Placebo" ones where listeners offer their own songs, poems, sayings and so on. I use a couple of them now.Please keep doing this, John and co!

🙌🙏❤️

by corby76 on Mar 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Best podcast ever!!!

Lighthearted but serious

by MayfieldMom on Mar 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As someone who has “clini-D”, as John Moe sometimes calls it, I get a lot out of hearing the stories others tell about their experiences with it. Some of my favorite people have been on this show, like Jenny Lawson and Rachel Bloom. Hearing their stories helps me feel more normal.

Exactly what some of us need to hear

by Epic1993 on Mar 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m a 24 year old amateur comedian, I’ve been an idiosyncratic eccentric person my whole life, in 2011 I had a mental breakdown in high school that hasn’t happened again since but I went through a 3 month period of mania. I now take meds for depression and anxiety and I have my down days of course. I listened to Gary Gulman’s episode , he’s a comic I relate to a lot and he is way too brilliant to not be as successful as he desires .The sad clown isn’t just a stereotype for comics , it’s a real thing. It’s refreshing to hear it spoken about

Thank you

by usefuljack on Mar 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I didn't know I needed this podcast so much, but thank you for making it happen. I have not only learned a lot about how different people cope with depression and mental illness, but I feel less alone and less alien.

Thank God...

by vikki71 on Mar 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

we are starting to talk about the elephant in the room, mental health. I have had mild depression for years that exercise helps with. My lovely child was diagnosed with severe depression, anxiety, and suicidal ideation at 15. Child has since told me they don’t remember not being depressed. They are 20 now.The high school was woefully unprepared to deal with anyone with mental health issues. Her student counselor, when I met with them and asked for help on the school front, actually said, “But X is such a good kid.” Sigh. I then taught the counselor about the rates of teenage depression, 25-33% of teenagers at that time were estimated to have severe depression. HS counselors looked stunned. Only one of my child’s teachers wanted to help and that teacher shared that one of her children was the same, so that teacher “got it.” I was, and am still, grateful that my child continues to talk to us. That and catching behavioral changes, not bathing after formerly being fastidious, eating habits, school performance, etc., were what saved my child’s life at that time.Please continue the excellent work.

Great Show!

by stevebuser on Mar 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I am hooked on this podcast. I can’t wait for new episodes.

What will i do while you r gone

by kathy_gh on Mar 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I need this show to pull me through. Pls hurry back

Important and entertaining

by JessD1111 on Mar 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you for this podcast--it is such a great way to reduce stigma and help people feel like they are part of a larger community, which is incredibly healing for those with depression. Even though it's a heavy subject, John M. somehow keeps it fun and entertaining. As a psychiatrist, I love listening to it and recommend it to my patients.

Entertaining and informative

by Jeni and Jon on Feb 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This series manages to convey a lot of info about very weighty topics - mental illness, childhood trauma, suicidal thoughts - while remaining relatable and yes, funny. If you or someone you know struggles with depression, definitely check this podcast out. It does help to know that you are not alone.

Makes understanding depression human, and fun

by GrayZabel on Feb 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A bittersweet series getting to the humans behind mental illness (primarily depression, among other conditions). If understanding of depression in yourself or others is important, you can't miss this.

Immense gratitude to you, John

by db from Maryland on Feb 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I am immeasurably grateful to you for this podcast, John Moe. You are one of the best interviewers I have ever heard, on public radio or beyond. You evoke each narrative gently and without getting in the way of your guest, yet also know how to probe where the big truths wait to be revealed. I have never suffered from Clinical Depression myself--the blues of course, and even multiple deep troughs in prolonged times of grief, stress and trouble--but I am surrounded on multiple flanks by dear ones who suffer from Clinical Depression, including two of my own students who took their lives. Before listening to this podcast, I attributed their rejection of help as a failing of character, not understanding how this disease warps cognition and manipulates emotion. I am ashamed I did not know this when they needed me. Moving forward, I plan to continue to inform myself (will listen to every podcast you post) and strive to be a better source of compassion and support. Thank you for helping to reduce the stigma and ignorance, and make it okay to talk about mental ilness. I hope you know that this podcast is easing suffering and saving lives.

Wonderful

by OaklandCait on Feb 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I adore this podcast, it’s insightful, funny, and poignant. As a person who works in the creative industry and battles anxiety and heavy bouts of melancholy I absolutely love hearing the stories of other creative folks who have found ways of coping with depression and anxiety in order to keep creating art, comedy, literature, music and more. I always look forward to new episodes!

Got anxiety? This is a great listen for that, too!

by DrooPod on Feb 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

In the midst of both anxiety and depression, I've replayed many episodes of this awesome podcast for insights, relief, and laughs. Out of the 50+ podcasts I subscribe to, this is one of my very favorites.

What a great find

by Stevieswim on Feb 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This was literally the first podcast I ever listened to, simply off the name alone. This podcast has really helped with various ways to deal with my own depression and hear how even the highly successful go through their lives with depression. John Moe is a genius for do this podcast. The placebos between seasons was a great idea as well! Keep it up!!

A savior

by Mk roll on Feb 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Helped me understand myself and get help.

depression as a super power

by tinder hindered on Feb 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

sometimes the perfect bit of inspiration finds you at the exact moment you most need it. that was the certainly case regarding myself and this incredibly insightful podcast. every episode shines a distinct light in a different corner of that dark word we all encounter as depressed or anxious individuals. not only did it make me feel less alone, but it made me feel as though i was part of a select group of extraordinary people with an unfortunate hurdle in common. when i listened to these talented artists speaking, many of whom are personal favorites, i heard my own constant internal dialog being spoken back to me... but perhaps with a new and inspiring twist. thank you to those who produce and participate in this program. it continues to comfort me greatly and i couldn’t be more appreciative...

Things Are Getting Better

by Gomezm3 on Feb 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Recently I was diagnosed with depression. Before finally going to therapy, I was just going through the motions. To me, the way I viewed the world and my circumstances were just the way things were supposed to be and I was doomed to do it alone. I didn’t realize that I was depressed. After listening to this podcast, I understand better now that I am not alone and that the way I feel or felt can be managed and things can get better. Listening to THWOD, going to therapy and finally taking anti-depressants is one of the ways i am getting better. Thank you John for doing this. I look forward to listening every week.

Man, this is a great podcast.

by Finch Files on Feb 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Interesting guests (including folks I was unfamiliar with). John Moe is a wonderful host.

Worth the listen

by Gi Gi Murphy on Feb 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I found this podcast while searching for “self help”. I had been seeing therapist on and off for years with no real sense of help. I took it upon myself to try and find what type of therapy I felt would help me the most. Hearing others tell their stories has helped me to see that I am not the only one who feels the way I do or has the issues I have. It has allowed me to discuss things with my therapist that I never would have thought pertained to me. Definitely an eye opener. Thank you.

Absolutely fantastic

by J.D.P.S. on Feb 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As someone living with depression, this is my new favorite podcast. Informative, thought-provoking, super entertaining, and often truly hilarious.

Wonderful interviews

by A_College_Student--713 on Feb 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is so well crafted. The interviews are compassionate and funny and insightful. This disease manifests itself in a myriad of manners. I have seen facets of my own experiences with depression in many of the interviews, and it is incredibly validating. I am so grateful for this podcast.

Words for Feelings

by IntiBLUE on Feb 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As a person largely socialized through reading/television/literature, diagnosed with dysthymia over ten years ago as well as major depression and generalized anxiety within the last year, it’s good to hear from some other modern day lepers. At a voluntary hospital stay (first & only, so far, I sure as heck hope it gets better), I was told I was a classic rescuer on the brink of a breakthrough, a trustworthy cofacilitator of group therapy, and that I could likely best find hope by talking with “people like me, grieving & depressed.” Which adds to the confusing, let me tell you! I’m not sure how I’m still breathing, sometimes. The luck, probably, of meeting some folks like myself.I recommend this podcast from a very personal place. To borrow (and probably confuse) some metaphors from guests that have stuck with me, I feel that I’m also a brass cat, and a pickle trying to be a cucumber. I recognize some part of my own experience in nearly every interview, and giving words to the experiences helps as much as being no longer alone in them.

Just the best

by Serial Optimist on Feb 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Such an amazing podcast with conversations that help in all kinds of different ways. Not only does it make me feel less alone, it’s helped my fiancé have such a better understanding of my depression and start to look at her overall mental health. John is an American gem, the comedians all rule, all the guests do. It’s funny and great and genuine and supreme.

You are not alone...

by Gravitysport on Feb 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

In fact, if you deal with depression, anxiety, bipolar disorder, or substance abuse, you’re in pretty stellar company. The guests on this podcast are consistently some of the most intelligent, funny, and talented people in the world. In dealing with my depression, some of the best medicine has been to know I’m not alone, and to be able to share experiences with frankness and humor. Listening to this podcast has made me feel less lonely in dark times, and the humor has made my burden feel lighter. I’m not a cryer by nature, but I’ve cried (and laughed) as I recognized myself in the stories told in this podcast.If you deal with mental illness, and you’re not already listening to HWOD, you should be. It won’t cure you, but it will make you feel less alone.

Everything’s that’s right about a podcast.

by ArtieBartie on Jan 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast, helps me and offers perspective and humor :)

My Weekly Therapy

by DoctorPockets on Jan 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This show is just fantastic. It happened into my life when I needed it most and has become the podcast I most look forward to each week. Can't recommend highly enough.

It Makes Life Better

by plus4db on Jan 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I can't imagine not having The Hillarious World of Depression. Every episode I feel a little less broken. Like there really are people out there who are like me. And they're famous!It's such a huge weight off my heart. Thanks, THWoD, for bringing depression, anxiety, and other disorders into the light and for helping me not feel so alone.

A must listen

by galpallll on Jan 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast has helped me through so much & I’ve recommended it to countless friends. A serious thank you to John and the production team, keep up the good work! This show deserves tons of success!

Best show

by Frequentinsatuser on Jan 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

So comforting hearing such relatable stories! Us listeners need those tee shirts too!

Love that its funny while being informative

by phxtrain on Jan 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The comics discussing depression make it fun and still helpful. I've learned a lot

Great for depression

by EricSeq on Jan 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As someone who’s struggled with depression his whole life this is a fantastic podcast. Easy to listen to and good to know that depression isn’t just something I’m going through alone .