Average rating:

5
out of 528 ratings.

This Clinny D survivor LOVES THWOD

by Vegurl on Apr 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is honestly one of the biggest helps to my depression. I never thought I'd say that about a podcast, let alone anything nonhuman; trust me, my 6+ years with depression has been no cake walk. To combat it, I listen to a LOT of comedy—and hearing my comedy heroes (Paul F Tompkins, Maria Bamford, and now John Moe :)) talk about their experiences is so reassuring, heart-swelling, complete-feeling, and a bunch of other adjectives I apparently can't adequately describe. THANK YOU FOR THIS. 💛 (and I especially love the listener recommendations, like the ukulele and yarn bombing—I'm actually excited to try them!)

I laugh because it's true

by Uss surj on Apr 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Listening to the Jen Kirkman episode, as someone who also deals with depression and anxiety, was like listening to myself, only funnier. Thank you for this podcast... it's helped me so much (even if upping my meds backfired)... and I love the placebo episodes, because when I listened to the last episode of the first season, my heart dropped. I love, love, love, this podcast. It's so helpful to know I'm not alone and to get the word out that we're depressed and we're okay!

so grateful

by buelaheart on Apr 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

i am so grateful for this meaningful and hilarious look at depression... i have recommended your podcast to many people and look forward to season 2 ... love the vignettes between seasons... thank you ❤️

Wow.

by Jbay14 on Apr 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a staple for my mental health care. My "me" time. Find what works for you. This is definitely one of those things for me.

Awesome podcast

by epiphanator on Apr 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Awesome podcast, full of warmth, compassion and healthy advice

Great show

by bryaninbeijing on Apr 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I agree with all the other high ratings. This is a wonderful show and talks to interesting people about problems that many of us have. Keep up the good work

Hilariously Not Depressing

by Jeredps on Apr 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

So funny and uplifting, I definitely recommend to anyone!

Opening song is the best part

by Jgw;o) on Apr 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

But the show is good. Comforting to know there are many depressives who can cope and function.

WOW

by eeabney on Apr 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I didn't realize how much this would end up helping me look at myself to see that I'm not alone. It's so important to talk about mental illness and not let it be taboo. This podcast is so well done and I can't wait for more.

There is community in struggle.

by Mtlank on Apr 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I couldn't help but notice how often I related to a description of some inner craziness. In that relatedness was a validation of my own struggle and a reminder that depression may be isolating, but I'm not the only one who has that experience.

Comfortable and pleasant

by lzlzlzlzlz5 on Apr 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

All my initial concern about being assaulted with content I wasn't ready for was immediately dispelled. The host does a tremendous job of leading the conversation and the guests are obviously top notch. He (the host) asks insightful and thoughtful questions and the discussion is serious, real, and genuinely hilarious while being totally relatable. I love this podcast and recommend it highly to everyone, depressed or not.

Real, hilarious, raw listen

by green418 on Apr 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I wish episodes came out more often. This is an important listen for anyone with depression and anyone who cares about someone with depression.

Great dialogue and interesting perspectives on mental health

by Helga7777 on Apr 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast does a great job- shedding light on individual experiences of depression and offering engaging, humorous accounts. The host is a skilled interviewer and I'm looking forward to new episodes. Give it a try!

Love!!

by Sarah Marie 1327 on Mar 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast!!! Funny and interesting!

Great show

by AryehCW on Mar 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Helpful for me to listen to as I came out of a severe depression. Thanks to John Moe for providing a real service.

So good

by frostagirl on Mar 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. Relatable and fun

Yes!

by Hatt-family on Mar 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I am so happy I stumbled up this podcast, while I was rating another. Thank you for doing this. It is such a good feeling knowing I am not alone in my battle with depression and anxiety. I too am hilarious :) or so I've been told and for that I am grateful. My humor has help me survive thus far. Cheers and God bless!

Thank you.

by Not Maisie's Mom on Mar 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazing, informative, entertaining.

Let's destigmatize depression

by Color lover99 on Mar 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It's no fun to go through life as a functioning person while secretly carrying around this thing we call depression. Talking about depression is a social taboo. In this podcast many people talk about the difference between their getting-on-with-normal-life persona, which may be cheerful or serene, while on the inside they feel depressed. So often people are surprized when they learn "that person has depression? But they seem so happy!" I hope that more people will listen to this podcast and learn that's not unusual.

Unrealistic

by Linden Bingo on Mar 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Not enough crying

genuinely hilarious

by random depressed person on Mar 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love! Always look forward to new episodes.

love it

by adamlazar.com on Mar 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

love it

subscriber

by ninacare on Mar 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Wow, huge thanks for this podcast. I learn something from every episode and find myself and my loved ones hidden in there with varying degrees of mental illness. The Dick Cavett interview was one of my favorites; he is exceptional. The introductions are informative and well-presented. It is awesome to hear the guests speak so passionately and honestly with raw emotion. This podcast serves a great purpose in hopefully making mental illness an easier topic of conversation. Thank you so much for bringing it to the forefront in an educational and entertaining way.

Great podcast

by N3wToiPhones11 on Mar 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Maybe not so much hilarious as heartening, this show has comics sharing their life stories in relation to their struggles with depression. Insightful, interesting, thought provoking, and comforting. Great for people who have suffered from depression or any mental illness. May also be good for those who have loved ones affected by it.

Very Relatable

by GrackleLackle on Mar 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Definitely worth a listen. The stories shared are very relatable and down to earth. Depression isolates you even with supportive friends and family. This podcast was like a virtual support group. It's helped me take my first steps to recovery.

Thank you

by MusicObsessedNerdx) on Mar 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I think this podcast is getting me to finally try to get help. I've listened to every episode so far for the last two days. It's very refreshing to hear that others have had the same symptoms that I have, and that it is due to depression and not because there is something wrong with me as a person. I like how this podcast talks about depression and recovery in a matter of fact way that makes you laugh and not cry. I look forward to more.

great show

by Perfects over here on Mar 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

thank you

Depression is not just about the sadness

by Curlzluvcoffee on Mar 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Insightful perspective about depression from comedians...who knew! This podcast dissects depression into relatable chunks that help you feel less alone

Thanks

by angela024 on Mar 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

appreciate hearing other peoples experience with Depression outside their public persona. Life changing. If extended to entertainment world in general would love for Jennifer Esposito's 'hilarious' story to be heard. Thank you :)

Keep the episodes coming!

by HamtotheVille on Mar 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I LOVE this podcast!!! Please keep the episodes coming. John Moe is a fantastic interviewer and tales of people becoming successful despite their depression is inspiring, uplifting, and entertaining. The show presents a debilitating illness in a respectful, thoughful, and entertaining way.

Love the podcast

by Matthew Gronholm (Moose) on Mar 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm a 37 year old male, and have dealt with depression since i was about 14. My case is not as severe as others, and i love this podcast and the conversation about it. John this is wonderful, and please keep the episodes coming, as this is podcast helps me with understanding myself more and realizing i am not alone, which i already knew this just reinforced that.Thank you so much, and here's to all of us with our stuff!

Excellent!

by LargeHaydenCollider on Mar 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Such an informative and interesting podcast on a subject that needs more open discussion.

Spot on

by Shredded Thumb on Mar 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A very courageous, open and frank podcast about mental illness and depression. The podcast title is true to its word; the host deftly interviews comedians and performers stricken by the disease, who with the host put their own humor and twists in relaying their own experiences, triumphs and challenges. Bottom line, by de-stigmitizing this mental illness, and using humor to resonate with those who suffer from it, I hope this podcast is perhaps helping thousands who suffer from depression by showing that it's OK to admit one suffers from it, and even more OK to seek help to treat it.

Best Show

by UtilitarianFemme on Mar 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love everything about it. Great support mechanism

Thank you

by Agent_Ink on Mar 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Just a quick thanks for talking about depression in general. And even better you've added comedy! Some days it's hard to smile but this podcast makes it easy to laugh. I really appreciate it🙏🏼

The Ray Of Sunshine I Needed

by Jeden814 on Mar 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I cannot tell you what this podcast has meant to me. It is so hard to describe how depression feels to people who have not experienced it and this show makes me feel like there is someone who does understand. And that makes me feel just a little less lonely. And that means everything to me. It is gut-wrenching and funny all at the same time. Thank you for making a podcast that makes me feel like there are people who truly know what living with depression is like.

Love it!!

by robiscjm5 on Mar 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love it!!

Oh, here's where John Moe went

by BearlM on Mar 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Here's a productive series of talks and interviews about mental health.

Great show!

by JuliaGigiBoo on Mar 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Funny, informative, interesting guests and for anyone who has experienced depression, a sense of comfort knowing that you are not alone.

Please, Sir, I want some more!

by MelindaWgg on Mar 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a great show! Truly enjoyable and enlightening.

What's Up?

by meredithwilke on Mar 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. How come no new ones since February 5?

This podcast is amazing

by Erokitty on Mar 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I never write reviews, but this podcast is worth it. I highly recommend this to anyone.

Encouraging and helpful

by DailyAccomplisments on Mar 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast has been very encouraging and helpful for me and I hope that it will continue. People do not understand the difficulites involved with living with depression. It unforunately still is not recognized as a true illness and when you explain to people that you have it they do not know how to react. I hope that this podcast will help people to better understand and teach people how to be supportive of the people they know that have depression and not shy away. Thank you for creating the podcast to to the people that share their personal stories. It is very helpful.

Intelligent, funny and most importantly - very helpful

by imnuf on Mar 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Delivers smart insights while being funny.

Thanks

by Julzsav on Mar 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm in love. I laugh out loud that I totally relate to some of these irrational thought patterns. Thank you for sharing and for pioneering through this important topic!

Love this podcast!

by lklamm on Mar 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have listened to all these podcasts twice, I really hope you are able to make more of these hilarious and helpful podcasts. The one that sticks in my mind is the Dick Cavet episode. He said, I'm paraphrasing here, depression messes you up so much that if a magic wand that can cure your depression is on a table 6 feet away, it would just be too exhausting to go get it.

Best!

by SweepingBeautyHawaii on Mar 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Every time I love something they stop making it. I hope that is not true in this case.

Success and Depression

by 21bluelephant on Feb 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoy this podcast. It is nice to hear from people who are considered "successful" that have/are battling with mental illness. To know that you can have these issues in your life and still find a way to do what you love and do it well is inspiring. Thank you for producing this podcast!

Bringing an unfunny topic into the spotlight

by Efhoxie on Feb 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love, love, love this show. It's such an amazing look at depression. It brings an unfunny topic into the middle of the dinner table and we all have to face it and discuss it. The comedians are so insightful and gave me whole new perspectives on the disease process and ways to deal with it. There were more amazing points than I could take the time to list. The one that had a huge impact on me was when they talk about how depression seems to have reached a tipping point in society. We all know someone who has suffered from depression or experienced it ourselves. That talking about it and finding community is part of the treatment, just like medications are part of the treatment. Great show, a pleasure to listen to, thought provoking and insightful.

Fantastic

by Badbarky on Feb 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If you know a human person you should listen to this podcast. Someone you know probably has difficulties like those discussed here, possibly you.