Average rating:

5
out of 1322 ratings.

Thanks

by angela024 on Dec 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

12/14/17, review update:Wish I could give 5 more stars. Thank youappreciate hearing other peoples experience with Depression outside their public persona. Life changing. If extended to entertainment world in general would love for Jennifer Esposito's 'hilarious' story to be heard. Thank you :)

It helps

by Krystolla on Dec 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love that there is no preaching about particular treatments or policies. No romanticizing. No wallowing. Just an honest discussion of the realities of living with a broken brain. It helps more than I thought it would to hear not just that someone else has a similar diagnosis, but that someone else has had the exact same obsessive circular illogical thought, or objectively ridiculous expectation of disaster. There are few podcasts that manage touching, educational, and entertaining. This one manages that and may also save your life.

Jenny Lawson

by olivecat on Dec 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

While I totally love this show, this was by far The Best episode ever!! The complete frankness sent shivers through me. So relatable. So honest. So similar to me. We are not alone clearly. Thank you for this perfect podcast.

A must hear!

by Shannooona on Dec 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is incredible! If you are a sufferer of depression (or other mental illness) or if you love someone suffering from mental illness, please listen. A funny and entertaining approach at understanding the everyday struggle of living with this disease. Thank you so much for this truly important and somehow funny content.

Great

by CTPBF on Dec 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is my favorite podcast.

The only podcast I relisten to

by Picsmaster!!!!!!! on Dec 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Depression is funny. Depression lies. This show is fabulous! I try saving each episode until I’m in a bad spot. On really bad days, I will relisten to everything. I love this podcast. Thank you!!

Thank you

by moonweed on Dec 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This show has helped immensely. As I listen, time and again I find myself nodding and exclaiming “Yes!” as well as laughing along. I’ve long used humor to help cope but sometimes the best help is in just knowing, “Oh, so it’s not just me.” Thank you again for this podcast.

Very comforting

by Parent of child with depressio on Dec 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

As the parent of a 22-year old who suffers from depression and anxiety, I found this podcast very comforting. It helped me understand (a little bit) about what she is experiencing, it made me realize our family isn't the only one suffering, and it made me recognize that she can still have a successful life while managing this horrible disease. Thank you for giving me hope.

Pitch perfect depiction of the pain and humor of depression

by Magebird on Dec 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

As someone who has struggled with depression since early childhood, it's been hard to find sources of support and humor when things can seem so bleak. This podcast means so much to me and I've recommended it to many friends who face the same issues and they've found comfort in hearing the insightful, poignant, and genuinely funny interviews and stories. It's one of the few coping resources I've found that doesn't belittle the strength of depression while not romanticizing it either and it makes me feel more connected to others who live with the same silent, insidious disease that I've grown so familiar with. I feel more hopeful when I hear stories of recovery and coping and I feel less alone when I hear about people who've had such similar struggles and continue to face them every day. The show approaches the dark topics that often come with depression with such respect while still maintaining a wry, tongue-in-cheek approach that is so indicative of people who really GET it. I'm grateful every week for the show. Thank you.

Game changer.

by Mbhgwf on Dec 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

See above

Very good!

by ShutDrewsMicOff! on Dec 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast! The host is excellent!

yes! yes! yes!

by Area opu on Dec 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

i always want to share these episodes. real insight into the fine wiring of our interesting minds. i love not feeling alone.

Yes. This. Listen.

by Flwer13x on Nov 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is not only good it is so important!! Listen if you have depression, if you love someone with depression or if you want to be part of the solution to this insidious disease

Favorite Podcast!!!!

by Malena R. on Nov 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Listening treatment for your heart and mind. Knowing you’re not alone with those same feelings and experiences. I can’t rave about it enough. I recommend listening from the first episode on. Definitely worth your time and energy. Thank you our host John Moe. A must listen for those with depression or any other mental illness. Please listen and enjoy. You’re welcome.

No-talk therapy

by janetfitz1234 on Nov 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I just discovered this pod from Friends Like These. Wow. What a great help. It's like therapy without having to talk.

Would love to hear about Borderline Personality Disorder

by Suza100 on Nov 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a very enlightening podcast with a host that has developed a trusting relationship with the audience and puts the listener at ease. Anyone who has suffered depression whether it has been straight up or comorbid with another mental illness will relate to all of the episodes. My only suggestion: I would love to hear Borderline Personality disorder discussed on this podcast. I am sure that someone in the comedy/entertainment business has been diagnosed with this very treatable disorder which almost always has depression as a component. BPD still has a stigma associated with it and if we could get more celebrities to discuss their BPD diagnosis it would give hope to and help other sufferers to seek help.

Can't recommend this podcast more...

by jethrocreative on Nov 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've recently begun to grapple with my own issues related to mental health and years of untreated clinical depression, and this podcast has been invaluable in reminding me every week that I am not alone, the journey is not unique, and there is hope in the universe. Love it.

Bingo

by RillyKewl on Nov 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This show gives me all the feels. Heartfelt, in-depth, sympathetic and familiar. I love the intimacy of successes+failures shared by others who know what it’s like.

That one thing life's been missing but you can't figure out what, this is it.

by Radon_Daughter on Nov 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you for letting me know I'm not alone and exposing a loving, caring and fascinating community of humans. This podcast helps me refocus when I have an extra fancy depressive day.

The cutaways are a distraction

by SpeedyGrayRaucous on Nov 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I’d much rather hear the interview than the expositional cutaways. They ruin the intimacy.

I feel understood

by bsalman83 on Nov 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I just came across this podcast and listened to the Aimee Mann episode. Not only am I a fan of hers, but the discussion helped me a lot. I immediately started listening to other episodes, and feel a lot better about my struggles because of it.

When will you have a schizophrenic on the show?

by brrrb666 on Nov 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Seems to be missing thus far

Helps me understand depression in a way I never did before

by Driby on Nov 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m married to someone who is diagnosed with clinical depression. Listening to this podcast has helped me understand what happens in my spouse’s head and the ways it can affect daily choices. I find it really helpful, and entertaining!

for all of the us that have depression...

by ticket2heaven on Nov 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This defianltey leaves you feeling like your not alone dealing with depression. John does a wonderful job showing the light and dark sides of this terrible mental illness.

Love it!

by Debbie E. on Nov 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

For anyone with depression, or wanting to understand someone you love who suffers with depression, this is an excellent podcast. Honest, sympathetic without being pitying, and encouraging - give it a listen!

This podcast gave me the courage to go to IOP!

by Hackley#2 on Nov 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been slipping into clinical depression slowly for three years (after going seven years with only mild depression episodes), this podcast helped me remember how funny I am how happy I can be how OK it is to not be happy. but that I needed help outside myself, that I have been completely on self-will alone trying to get better which is made it completely so much worse. I went back to IOP after listening for a few weeks to your podcast. I’m feeling a little more like adorable me again. I’m still not at the point where I can look in the mirror when I brush my teeth or make eye contact with anyone for very long but I’m on my way thank you for pushing me off the diving board.You’re nervous awkward sweet neighbor,Melinda

We’re all in this together

by Sammyjoe423 on Nov 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast. Makes me realize that we’re all going through something & it’s okay. Fantastic host & guests are amazing!!!

Simply incredible

by Kristen Abell on Nov 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I can’t stop listening to this podcast - it’s the only one I make sure to listen to every single week when a new episode comes out. Whether it’s talking to comedians about depression or other mental illnesses, or digging into how depression manifests in other entertainment industries, this podcast covers it all. Not only that, it covers it with heart and soul - John Moe is an incredible host who is clearly empathetic with his guests and listeners. I can’t get enough. Keep making this forever!

Andy

by wfrar on Nov 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast. Amazing how it is always relatable. Only podcast that makes me feel better after listening to

So Very Helpful

by Susanthesweet on Nov 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I always look forward to new episodes. I love hearing people talk about dealing with depression and anxiety in a matter of fact, this is how I felt, this is what I did and this is how I felt after kind of way. It’s so great hearing from comedians and actors and musicians who I appreciate and admire. Hearing that they have struggles but have found practical ways to still produce enviable work is very encouraging. I also love hearing about what people do to treat their depression and anxiety. I like hearing that some people go to a therapist but other people exercise or have found medical treatments. I feel like because mental health has been such a taboo subject people, myself included, are missing out on a community to get advise from. This podcast does a great job of demonstrating that it is okay to talk about feeling bad even really, really bad and that we can talk to each other in a way that might even make us all feel better.

Well done

by Intermediatescrutiny on Nov 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Funny, relatable, and genuinely helpful.

I had no idea that I'd been looking for this podcast.

by SarahnLuke on Nov 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The episodes are like a little vacation from my brain, yet still introspective...a comforting, familiar conversation with people that I admire. It's not preachy, and the conversations are refreshingly honest about mental illness. There is none of the oppressive secrecy that is always attached to depression and anxiety. That secrecy adds such a painful cloud of isolation to the already unbearable symptoms. It's an exhausting illness and putting on that artificial happy face to make the non-clinnie-Ds more comfortable. I've been craving a podcast like this and didn't realize it until I found it. Thank you for this. 💙

Engrossing

by Magggie3 on Nov 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazing podcast!! Interviews are interesting and engrossing, and I always feel better after listening.

It’s like having some great old friends

by Sghun gh on Nov 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Listening to this podcast is reassuring and calming. John Moe is a great man and the people he chooses to have on his show are just as amazing.

compelling & real

by Team Resurrect Allison on Nov 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

this new podcast is wonderful. the host is great, asking thoughtful questions, giving guests time to answer thoroughly, and occasionally editorializing helpfully for listeners who may be in mental health crisis mode. i've enjoyed each of the guests, even comedians i'm unfamiliar with. and it's just awesome to hear from some comedians who are fairly well known. i'm amazed by the raw honesty on display in this show. i have found a lot of the interviews personally relatable (unfortunately, haha) and there's something very healing about realizing that people of so many circumstances can struggle with the same things. and hearing from people who i can't personally relate to does a lot to foster compassion for those with different challenges. i think this show is important, and executed well. i'm really looking forward to more. keep up the good work!ps: i won't dock you a star but for the love of God please stop saying "clinny d." i hate it so much. it's not cute. plz stop. thank you.

Start with the Gary Gulman episode.

by chriseshleman on Nov 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great stuff.

So Good So Good

by Doc Eusebio on Oct 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ll keep this brief, this show saved my life. Thank you John Moe and all guests.

What we need to hear to understand

by seizethej on Oct 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

What a great idea! Keep up the awesome work. I love that the guests get real. Garyl Gulman, Wil Wheaton, John Green, people I admire for their talent. This has given me insights into my own thoughts of what I've always thought of as depression-lite and anxiety. I landed here to get some clarity in what I think my mom has had depression her whole life and probably within her family and why I am the way I am. Highly senstive person, analytical, low self-esteem, and added to the mix grieving aging parents and maneuvering sibling relationships in the melting pot. In counseling for 10 years. Managing. It helps to know their thoughts are thoughts I've had.

Yay. Finally.

by Johnnyted on Oct 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is such a great podcast. So well done. The interviewer asks probing questions and then lets people talk. He doesn’t talk over them. It’s fresh, enlightening and surprisingly upbeat.

A hug and a nudge

by MKP11111 on Oct 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is tremendously important to me—each week a different comedian or public figure sits down with John Moe and talks through their history with depression. I like it more than other interview format podcasts particularly because of the way Moe interjects with his own experience, to provide context or a disclaimer, and generally guides the guest through their always revealing narrative. I appreciate the opportunity to laugh at depression/anxiety foibles that I also share, and it’s sobering to hear about roads I haven’t traveled but could have. I feel like the podcast is so supportive of the variety of experiences people with the depression have, but it also always includes an implicit nudge to reach out, get help, find what works for you. I really need that in my life.

Great Humor, better Connection

by Notmurderedyet on Oct 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The Neal Brennan episode drove me to review. Such a great exploration into the resounding similarities amd differences between the manifestations of depression in a wide variety of people. My favorite part is the guest’s answer to “Is depression funny?” Keep up the great work!

Great support and insight

by Pinku Bento Box on Oct 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Wonderful podcast about what it is to survive with depression and anxiety. Part story telling, part support group, and lots of laughs. It is always comforting to know you are not alone! It is healing to laugh about something so difficult as well. The host is amazing and fun as well!

Awesome podcast

by peggy1969 on Oct 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Such a wonderful podcast. Hearing other people's stories of how they deal with their depression is very helpful.

So good!

by RhababerGirl42 on Oct 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast for anyone with depression and/or anxiety-related mental illness, especially if you feel like you don't really have anyone to talk to about your experiences. It's often funny, but never makes light of mental illness. I felt kind of relieved to hear how different the experience can feel to people, but still there was someone who felt similarly to what I have gone through (Baron Vaughn's episode).

Thank you

by NSB9889 on Oct 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you for helping remove the stigma against depression and giving us all some solace in the shades of blues we feel.

Wow!

by Ya kata k13 on Oct 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is so refreshing! I really thought I was alone in this and then listed to an episode that could have been me!I am sending this to everyone I have ever know who has oversimplified the illness, said the wrong things, or made me feel like a freak!THANK YOU SO MUCH!!!!

Relate to the guests

by legendarypurple on Oct 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It’s so great today hear the stories of artists I admire. I learn something during each episode.

I need it

by Bone 😎 on Oct 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It's the most helpful podcast I've ever listened to. It makes me feel like I'm not alone and that there are people I can relate to. When nothing else can make me feel better I listen to this podcast. I can listen to every episode repeatedly and I almost lost it when first season ended.

Learned a lot

by stephMill375 on Oct 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This show is so informative. I’ve learned so much about depression through other people’s experiences. Thankful for everyone who’s shared.

Awesome

by Bibi Jean on Oct 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Enjoy this podcast