Average rating:

5
out of 441 ratings.

Superb!

by Jggrier00722 on Feb 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

At first, I was a little apprehensive about the title of this Podcast, but it has proved to be AWESOME!!! Keep up the great work!!!! Looking forward to the next episode!

Amazing

by Accounting jokes ftw on Feb 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very humanizing and helpful for those who have mental disorders or are close to people who do.

A home run on all counts

by AmandaMcLoughlin on Feb 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

There are a lot of ways in which a funny interview show about mental illness can go wrong, but The Hilarious World of Depression hits home runs in all of these categories. Deep interviews, tight editing, excellent selections of contextual tape from comedians' past shows when relevant, and helpful but not overly structured commentary. From one depressed comic to all you others: thank you.

This podcast is a lifeline

by Pumly on Feb 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

There's only 8 episodes at the time I'm writing this but they have already completely changed my attitude and approach toward my own mental illness. I'm sure this podcast will do so much good for so many who have long suffered these diseases. It's a noble, vital, beautiful effort which I hope will never stop.

Great Podcast

by Chels603 on Feb 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Definitely worth listening to if you have depression or know anyone who has it!

Amazing

by Sinistram on Feb 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

As someone in his mid 40's just now believing that I have been dealing with depression for most of my life this podcast has been a life saver. The stories that are just like my own. The thoughts and feelings that I share. Makes it easier to get through it and know that I'm not alone. Thank you so much

So sad, so funny.

by Sarglava on Feb 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Good show. Love the interviews. If you have battled mental illness you will enjoy the realness... if you don't have mental illness maybe hearing it through comedy will help you understand.

Absolutely perfect

by stacyselby on Feb 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

As someone who has struggled with anxiety / depression my entire life, i find this podcast therapeutic and relatable. So happy i came across this.

Yes

by ghfvyfycdf on Feb 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I was a little worried that it would either be glib or (potentially worse) too sad to listen to. Not at all. The interviews are funny and heart felt. They remind me of the interviews I love so much on Fresh Air. I highly recommend it.

A pleasure to listen to!

by seharrison626 on Feb 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm so glad I started listening to this podcast. I've always known that I've suffered from depression (for pretty much my whole life), but I've never received treatment for it because I've been too scared to deal with all of it. This podcast has helped me to not only accept the depression, but to also get the help that I desperately needed. Thank you for what you are doing, and I will continue to recommend this podcast to friends!

Impressive

by kadoodie on Jan 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This show has helped me to verbalize some of my internal thought process. It's helpful to hear the stories of other people.

Perfect

by TotallyenjoyingDW on Jan 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Funny, honest and moving. Every interview is an A++.

Great opportunity to hear from professionals

by Bycyncyn on Jan 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I've enjoyed every episode I've listened to- getting intimate with these personalities and hearing they too experience darkness is an enlightening experience. I hope as the show develops there will be more input from mental health professionals- i liked the neurosurgeon's input in the episode about Peter Sagal. It stuck with me. I think a mix of information (comedic, speculative, storytelling) world be great punctuated by more professional opinions/statistics/observations. very grateful for the show either way.

A Must for Everyone

by Tea Green on Feb 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The human experience of depression -- whether a performer or an audience member -- is shared here. Enlightening, informative, pathos, and some jokes. People you love and people you will learn to love talk about their dark days. Amazing shares that will stay with you, give you hope and offer you help. Looking forward to season 2. Oh and the theme song is outta the park -- love it!

If you have/had depression, must listen!

by sbusciglio on Jan 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This show is sooo great. The host and guests are superb. Definitely relatable and comical. Definitely recommend listening to this!

Always learning

by melmai415 on Jan 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I feel like I learn something new and valuable whenever I listen to an episode. No doubt that this show helps me better understand myself and others in a beautiful, honest way. Everyone should listen to this

solid

by Hfchgxbhxcrfcj on Feb 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

dude, i've listened to every episode and it's been a lovely experience.

Great podcast

by gnidrg on Jan 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Would definitely recommend and I hope the episodes keep coming. If you struggle with depression this contains helpful suggestions and will help you to feel less alone. Interesting interviews and a different perspective.

Love

by melissalltimelow on Jan 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Must listen. Break the barriers of mental illness

Outstanding Mental Health Awareness Aid

by lovemo2526 on Jan 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Words cannot express how much I love this podcast. As someone who has struggled with anxiety and depression the majority of my life, it has been so helpful. It is doing great things for raising mental health awareness and addressing the stigma surrounding mental illness.

Love it!

by Navarre LeRoy on Jan 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I think this podcast will help anyone struggling with depression. It is so easy to feel isolated and alone which tends to make the problem worse. John has a wonderful sense of cadence and a casual, gentle humor wrapped in genuine compassion that puts not only guests but listeners at ease. I highly recommend this production.

Fantastic

by Taku365346777777 on Jan 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I wish I had the time and elegance with words to write a better review because The Hilarious World of Depression deserves it. It makes me feel better after a tough day of having The Sads, and I recommend anyone else out there, esp people with mental illness, to give this podcast a listen.

Give it a try!

by Mncmxwll on Jan 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Such a great podcast! So insightful and endearing.

compelling & real

by Team Resurrect Allison on Jan 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

this new podcast is wonderful. the host is great, asking thoughtful questions, giving guests time to answer thoroughly, and occasionally editorializing helpfully for listeners who may be in mental health crisis mode. i've enjoyed each of the guests, even comedians in unfamiliar with. and it's just awesome to hear from some comedians who are fairly well known. i'm amazed by the raw honesty on display in this show. i have found a lot of the interviews personally relatable (unfortunately, haha) and there's something very healing about realizing that people of so many circumstances can struggle with the same things. and hearing from people who i can't personally relate to does a lot to foster compassion for those with different challenges. i think this show is important, and executed well. i'm really looking forward to more. keep up the good work!

Thank you

by Be!OBe1113 on Jan 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Finally a network I feel I can relate.

Perfect Balance

by OButton on Feb 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The show is a perfect balance between the humor and reality of living with mental illness. It makes me laugh out loud and truly empathize with the guests. These are the stories we need to tell more and be okay with laughing about, too. These are the stories that can challenge our narrow perspectives of what a "depressed person" looks and sounds like. Can't wait for more each week!

A Beautiful Oxymoron

by Kydiana on Jan 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

As the name of the show suggests, this seems like such an incredibly unlikely concept. I was dubious, but completely sold by the first episode's interview with Peter Sagan. Who would've ever thought that I would look forward to listening to a show about depression, especially since I am often in a pretty dark mood myself. Wonderfully and sensitively done. Highly recommended

Truly inspiring

by venusthegirl on Jan 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast feels like a weekly antidote for the anxiety that creeps up on me. It's like a cozy blanket to wrap up in! Keep em coming!

This show will absolutely save lives

by Gayle P on Jan 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you so much for this fun show. It is extremely helpful to hear stories by others dealing with depression and mental illness with comedy. I really love that the amazing host John Moe always lets the guests talk about their experiences and rarely (if ever) adds his own personal stories when interviewing a guest. That is so rare in a host--kudos!! This show will save lives. Thank you all for sharing, you are all heroes!

Dispersing the clouds on depression

by snick803 on Jan 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A breath of fresh air. It's not PhDs telling me what depression is and the usual 'matter of fact' input, but an honest account of how even famous people can cope with depression. It has given me a greater perspective on my challenges and the challenges of others. It gives me hope as I battle my own disease. Thank you, APM and John Moe, for making this happen.

Awesome podcast!

by Aecklund09 on Jan 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Insightful and funny all the whole breaking the stigma of mental illness. I love it!!

I wanna like this

by stabitha knife thrower on Jan 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I wanna like this but we're looking at mostly white male perspectives. Depression crosses all socio-economic, racial, gender, sexual orientation, language, an abilities lines. Let's get some diversity.

Amazing

by lamocuana1 on Jan 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast. Just discovered it and am hooked.

Coping techniques

by Shrimp Puff Overture on Feb 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is just so wonderful.

My Favorite Podcast

by Djr3480 on Feb 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is by far my favorite podcast! I can relate to so many things the guests talk about. I can not wait until season 2!

Great listen and reminder that you are not alone

by BranSch on Feb 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This a wonderful platform to remind those with depression that they are not alone. I enjoyed each episode and look forward to next season!

Important step in removing the stigma of depression

by StinerGA on Jan 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Whether you personally suffer from depression or not, this is important listening and superbly done.

Wonderful Podcast

by Sarah Mac1 on Jan 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

As a person who suffers from depression, it is refreshing and wonderful to listen to a podcast that shared the harsh reality of having depression with a few laughs along the way

Bucket of ice water on a summer day

by 13creekstyle on Jan 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

When someone tells me I have an obligation to be happy, I remind them they have the same obligation to be well informed, skinny, beautiful, and tall. This podcast helps with the first.

laughing until you cry

by klacusky on Jan 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

this show is so great—so many real and varied portrayals of depression. there are episodes where i say "yes! exactly!" and episodes where i learn to think about my depression in a new light. honest and surprisingly uplifting.

Game changer

by LMCraig on Jan 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Impactful towards lessening stigma of depression. Honest stories, thank you!

You keep putting out pod's, I'll keep listening

by Gt03champp on Jan 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Hi my name is Armond. I'm a 32-year-old male who has been struggling for the past two years with depression. Even though I know that your show comes out once a week, I find myself checking my phone at least every other day looking for your latest episode. I'll keep this short and sweet, don't want to bore you with all the details. But your show has literally and figuratively talked me off the cliff. Thank you.

Dark, truthful, beautiful, and relatable!

by Dhhsjsjdhd on Jan 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼

The best

by rokstr on Jan 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

So honest. So helpful.

Amazing

by CreateChangeInTheWorld on Jan 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Ground breaking podcast!

A better look at depression

by Kwkr on Jan 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Absolutely love this podcast! Mental illness is a horrible life without help. Ive got lupus, bipolar II, with no help in sight. I live in such a rural area on-line is my so called lifeline. Believe it or not this has helped more than the "depression" group talk. I can relate but laugh at the same time instead of just relate. Please keep them coming.

Thank you!

by Sbmed on Jan 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Witty, personal, insightful, funny and at times heartbreaking. Give it a listen if you struggle with depression or struggle understanding what life with depression might be like.

Quelling, reassuring

by Jeanne de Jeanerette on Jan 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It's so good to hear familiar voices with stories that you have experienced on your own. Spot-on.

This is an entertaining, engaging lifeline!

by tilleul on Jan 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Kudos to John Moe, he's an excellent host. He pulls out stories that are fascinating, engaging and de-stigmatizing. It's a wonderful insight into depression, yes, but an equally engaging look at celebrity, comedy and art. This should be required listening for everyone!

Thank you!

by Samstar2227 on Jan 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Happy to have a place to hear honest, and real discussions about mental health.