Average rating:

5
out of 575 ratings.

Hits home

by molliestl on May 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Wonderfully informative, amusing and refreshing take on depression.

Yes! You should listen!

by Vikki021692 on May 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The hilarious world of depression is funny, charming, and oh so life changing. If you have, or know someone who has depression ( or you just want to be a better person) this podcast will change you. It has personally changed my life

Excellent

by Lafitte56 on May 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If you are depressed, if you love someone who is depressed, if you want to understand depression & not get depressed, listen to this pod.

Made me feel less alone - updated review

by Rssssss134 on May 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've had depression for most of my adult life and often feel as though I'm barely keeping it together. This podcast made me feel a bit less alone in my struggle. Thank you.Update 2/22: I really hope this returns for another season. Now that it is over, I find myself going back and listening to the episodes again, as a coping mechanism for my own depression, particularly the Maria Bamford and Paul Tompkins episodes. Thank you again.Update 5/12: the Ana Marie Cox episode was amazing. Thank you.

You need to be listening to this.

by Tiggy'smom on May 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If you, or if you know someone (and you do) who lives with mental illness you need to listen to this. And again. And again.

Love!

by Madireneek on May 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love!!!!

Thank you!

by CatCorrine on May 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks for helping me not feel so alone :)

May 5th episode

by KTrimbach on May 09, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Your may 5th episode has the theme music playing over the talking around 1:10:00. You can delete this after you correct it. -ktrimbach

Wonderful

by ___AbsP on May 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

So great to hear people talk about their experiences. I only wish there were more episodes!

Really wonderful

by Argelius1 on May 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Really engaging, thoughtful podcast that tackles a difficult subject. Yes, there is humor, but there is more insight and intelligence.

John Moe and Anna Marie Cox - Amazing

by Sunny Wunder on May 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This undoubtably was the most amazing discussion on depression and co-occurring disorders I have ever listen to. I commend both of you for your courage and your ability to share your experiences and your thoughts on a very difficult topic. It is one thing to share with a therapist or a 12-step group but it is on another whole level to share some of your experiences with the public. Your authentic discussion on co-occurring disorders should be listened to by every mental health professional practicing. I commend you both for a profoundly moving heart felt discussion on a deeply personal journey. My guess is that your insightful perspective will help a lot of people that had no idea that they could be helped. My only other thought would be that EMDR works so try it when you're ready Ann Marie Cox.

Beautiful

by DS_150416 on May 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Beautiful and heartfelt. These people are spilling their souls and hearts over a podcast for the sake of fellow sufferers to witness and connect to. I suffer from manic depression, and I feel less alone due to this podcast. It's a triumph. Thank you. Thank you. Thank you.

Best Thing Ever

by artpilgrim on May 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

So refreshing. I have no words.

100% Recommend

by Blahhh2 on May 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

For anyone struggling personally or who knows someone struggling with depression or just plain "life", this is the exact podcast you didn't know you needed. I can't recommend it highly enough and look forward to future episodes.

Listen Moe!

by joefoe76 on May 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been listening to this podcast since the beginning and appreciate the efforts of the show to establish a safe space for the discussion of depression utilizing a combination of seriousness and levity. Before today, I've never been so blown away by an episode: 'The Ana Marie Cox episode (May 5, 2017)' has changed everything. It not only highlighted the myths of depression, but provided insight on how to address your concerns about your own depression or that of a loved one. Furthermore, it made me realize stuff about my own depression that I was unaware of and how I might be able to address them. Thanks you John & Ana for the episode. And thank you John & friends for all episodes!Listen today, don't delay.

An irreverent but deep look at living with depression

by Gaurav Vaidya on Apr 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast -- it manages to be properly, laugh-out-loud hilarious about the saddest subjects, and treats depression as not the catastrophe it often feels like, but as a illness to be diagnosed, endured and improved from. I love John Moe's chilled out and relaxed style.

My New Favorite Podcast!

by tucsongirl56 on Apr 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I enjoyed listening to this podcast. It made me smile. It made me happy. I don't have depression but was able to relate because we all have days when we're feeling low. Off to play my therapeutic uke!

Thanks!

by Allaboutthejams on Apr 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is an essential especially for those who've just learned about their own depression. It's good to know you aren't alone, even though you feel like it, and that it's okay to laugh cause depression is funny!

Really well done

by lunarocks9 on Apr 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you so much for this

Accurate and uplifting

by Kels-belle on Apr 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Just a really great podcast that describes the various ways depression and chronic mental illness show up in your life and how different methods of dealing work for different people. Though the episode deals with comedians as a subset, the content is applicable for anyone with depression or anyone who knows anyone with depression.

Truth in Advertising

by if you're 555, I'm 666 on Apr 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've cried listening to this podcast. The host, John Moe, makes sure to point out that it's not meant to be a cure or a treatment in a medical sense, just a place where people with depression can share stories and feel less alone and less isolated. I don't even actually have depression (I don't think), but it's inexpressibly comforting to hear that other people suffer from the occasional bout of irrational self-loathing, or crippling social anxiety, or any other psychological glitch. Knowing you're not crazy and you're not alone is a very special feeling, and one this podcast articulates clearly.

Best podcast evah

by Jeri Westerby on Apr 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Really funny and touching- regularly pulls me out of a funk

Strong content

by Steeph.Delilah...! on Apr 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Good strong content

It's relateable

by Mommyspam on Apr 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I like it because it's relatable to me, it's funny, and it's upbeat. All the things a person with depression in the PNW needs. Along with more sunshine. And it's short, like my attention span most of the time. Thanks for continuing with it.

This Clinny D survivor LOVES THWOD

by Vegurl on Apr 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is honestly one of the biggest helps to my depression. I never thought I'd say that about a podcast, let alone anything nonhuman; trust me, my 6+ years with depression has been no cake walk. To combat it, I listen to a LOT of comedy—and hearing my comedy heroes (Paul F Tompkins, Maria Bamford, and now John Moe :)) talk about their experiences is so reassuring, heart-swelling, complete-feeling, and a bunch of other adjectives I apparently can't adequately describe. THANK YOU FOR THIS. 💛 (and I especially love the listener recommendations, like the ukulele and yarn bombing—I'm actually excited to try them!)

I laugh because it's true

by Uss surj on Apr 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Listening to the Jen Kirkman episode, as someone who also deals with depression and anxiety, was like listening to myself, only funnier. Thank you for this podcast... it's helped me so much (even if upping my meds backfired)... and I love the placebo episodes, because when I listened to the last episode of the first season, my heart dropped. I love, love, love, this podcast. It's so helpful to know I'm not alone and to get the word out that we're depressed and we're okay!

so grateful

by buelaheart on Apr 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

i am so grateful for this meaningful and hilarious look at depression... i have recommended your podcast to many people and look forward to season 2 ... love the vignettes between seasons... thank you ❤️

Wow.

by Jbay14 on Apr 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a staple for my mental health care. My "me" time. Find what works for you. This is definitely one of those things for me.

Awesome podcast

by epiphanator on Apr 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Awesome podcast, full of warmth, compassion and healthy advice

Great show

by bryaninbeijing on Apr 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I agree with all the other high ratings. This is a wonderful show and talks to interesting people about problems that many of us have. Keep up the good work

Hilariously Not Depressing

by Jeredps on Apr 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

So funny and uplifting, I definitely recommend to anyone!

Opening song is the best part

by Jgw;o) on Apr 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

But the show is good. Comforting to know there are many depressives who can cope and function.

WOW

by eeabney on Apr 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I didn't realize how much this would end up helping me look at myself to see that I'm not alone. It's so important to talk about mental illness and not let it be taboo. This podcast is so well done and I can't wait for more.

There is community in struggle.

by Mtlank on Apr 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I couldn't help but notice how often I related to a description of some inner craziness. In that relatedness was a validation of my own struggle and a reminder that depression may be isolating, but I'm not the only one who has that experience.

Comfortable and pleasant

by lzlzlzlzlz5 on Apr 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

All my initial concern about being assaulted with content I wasn't ready for was immediately dispelled. The host does a tremendous job of leading the conversation and the guests are obviously top notch. He (the host) asks insightful and thoughtful questions and the discussion is serious, real, and genuinely hilarious while being totally relatable. I love this podcast and recommend it highly to everyone, depressed or not.

Real, hilarious, raw listen

by green418 on Apr 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I wish episodes came out more often. This is an important listen for anyone with depression and anyone who cares about someone with depression.

Great dialogue and interesting perspectives on mental health

by Helga7777 on Apr 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast does a great job- shedding light on individual experiences of depression and offering engaging, humorous accounts. The host is a skilled interviewer and I'm looking forward to new episodes. Give it a try!

Love!!

by Sarah Marie 1327 on Mar 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast!!! Funny and interesting!

Great show

by AryehCW on Mar 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Helpful for me to listen to as I came out of a severe depression. Thanks to John Moe for providing a real service.

So good

by frostagirl on Mar 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. Relatable and fun

Yes!

by Hatt-family on Mar 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I am so happy I stumbled up this podcast, while I was rating another. Thank you for doing this. It is such a good feeling knowing I am not alone in my battle with depression and anxiety. I too am hilarious :) or so I've been told and for that I am grateful. My humor has help me survive thus far. Cheers and God bless!

Thank you.

by Not Maisie's Mom on Mar 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazing, informative, entertaining.

Let's destigmatize depression

by Color lover99 on Mar 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It's no fun to go through life as a functioning person while secretly carrying around this thing we call depression. Talking about depression is a social taboo. In this podcast many people talk about the difference between their getting-on-with-normal-life persona, which may be cheerful or serene, while on the inside they feel depressed. So often people are surprized when they learn "that person has depression? But they seem so happy!" I hope that more people will listen to this podcast and learn that's not unusual.

Unrealistic

by Linden Bingo on Mar 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Not enough crying

genuinely hilarious

by random depressed person on Mar 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love! Always look forward to new episodes.

love it

by adamlazar.com on Mar 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

love it

subscriber

by ninacare on Mar 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Wow, huge thanks for this podcast. I learn something from every episode and find myself and my loved ones hidden in there with varying degrees of mental illness. The Dick Cavett interview was one of my favorites; he is exceptional. The introductions are informative and well-presented. It is awesome to hear the guests speak so passionately and honestly with raw emotion. This podcast serves a great purpose in hopefully making mental illness an easier topic of conversation. Thank you so much for bringing it to the forefront in an educational and entertaining way.

Great podcast

by N3wToiPhones11 on Mar 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Maybe not so much hilarious as heartening, this show has comics sharing their life stories in relation to their struggles with depression. Insightful, interesting, thought provoking, and comforting. Great for people who have suffered from depression or any mental illness. May also be good for those who have loved ones affected by it.

Very Relatable

by GrackleLackle on Mar 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Definitely worth a listen. The stories shared are very relatable and down to earth. Depression isolates you even with supportive friends and family. This podcast was like a virtual support group. It's helped me take my first steps to recovery.

Thank you

by MusicObsessedNerdx) on Mar 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I think this podcast is getting me to finally try to get help. I've listened to every episode so far for the last two days. It's very refreshing to hear that others have had the same symptoms that I have, and that it is due to depression and not because there is something wrong with me as a person. I like how this podcast talks about depression and recovery in a matter of fact way that makes you laugh and not cry. I look forward to more.