Average rating:

4.5
out of 959 ratings.

Historic (for me)

by kylewho93 on Jan 20, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast got me into podcasts. This podcast made me create a patreon account so I could get more of it. This podcast is the only podcast I have merch from. Caitlin and Jamie are hilarious and insightful, and most of all just a great time to listen to.

Fun and Thought-provoking

by Baduramajama on Jan 19, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoy listening to this podcast. I think the hosts approach the movies and the podcast with sincerity, intelligence, and a dose of absurdity that appeals to me. I appreciate the range of movies they cover and the guests they choose, as well as learning and adapting as the podcast has gone on.

Love it. Drives me insane.

by ThrillaCammilatheMechaGodzilla on Jan 19, 2019
Rating: ★★★★☆

This podcast is like 90% awesome. The topic remains vital AF, the hosts are very well informed about the social issues they’re tackling, and Jamie Loftus in particular brings a fantastic amount of levity with an irrepressibly great sense of humor. Straight faced jokes about Beetlejuice’s sexual anatomy, running gags about the title “feminist icon” being sarcastically bestowed upon people like Pauly Shore—this kind anarchic silliness takes material that can accumulate into a major bummer and makes it FUN to dig into. The 10% of the show that’s less than awesome is small, but it does have the power to drive you disproportionately insane, particularly if you’re not just into feminism, but into film. For two hosts who specifically chose to host a show about movies (and especially considering that Caitlin Durante has a running joke about her master’s degree in screenwriting) the holes in their knowledge about film and thus, their sometimes inadequate context for discussions about how things are presented in the realm of cinema, can be surprising. For example, devoting an episode to discussing issues of gender and sexuality in the movie Mission Impossible, while never once mentioning that the film was directed by Brian De Palma—who’s best known for overtly dealing with themes of sexuality and fetishization in his films—can make the whole episode feel like a lost opportunity. Not to mention that they dismiss Emmanuelle Beart as a token hot girl, ignoring her hugely respected acting career in her native France. Incidentally, they then mention Mission Impossible’s star appearances by Jon Voight and Emilio Estevez, and dismiss the rest of a supporting cast that includes Kristin Scott Thomas, Ving Rhames, and Jean Reno as a bunch of “no-names.” If you’re a casual listener for whom movies aren’t a particularly strong interest, maybe these totally are no-names, but it’s not that wild to expect the hosts of a movie podcast to be familiar with the stars of The English Patient, Pulp Fiction, and The Professional. The hosts also clearly do research, but will leave important questions to hang in the wind. Like when discussing Cruel Intentions, they talk about a sexual relationship between a female character who’s a teenager and a male character who’s a music tutor. They ponder over the male character’s age to determine if this a relationship between peers, or if it’s predatory, and Durante points out that the male character is described as attending Pre-Juilliard—which should indicate his age if we can discern whether this is a high school or a college, right? Well, in the same breath, she says she doesn’t know what Pre-Juilliard is, so oh well, no answers there. A question that could literally be answered in 15 seconds DURING recording with the use of a smartphone just ends up hanging there. For the record, Pre-Juilliard is a K-12 school. This stuff drives me crazy, but I fully acknowledge that it probably doesn’t bug most listeners.I’m also not a huge fan of the broad strokes with which the hosts can sometimes paint over nuance with unmodulated rhetoric, particularly when it comes to older films. Gentlemen Prefer Blondes is almost shocking in its uncompromising focus on female friendship for a movie made in 1953. But Durante remains so narrowly focused on how anti-feminist it is for a movie to depict two women seeking financial security through marriage, she facilitates zero discussion about the historic context that made “gold digging” one of a woman’s very few options for long term security or even survival in 1953. Shouldn’t there be room to talk about the misogynistic system in which these “gold diggers” were attempting to survive? Again, it just feels like a lost opportunity. At the same time, Durante and Loftus both offer copious respectful space for their guests to offer outside perspectives, and that probably speaks to their well equipped facilities as hosts more than anything. If you care deeply about both feminism and film, it’s sort of the perfect podcast, but also one that’s guaranteed to sometimes push your buttons. If deep down, I didn’t basically love it, I’m sure I wouldn’t have just written a freaking novella about it.

Extremely intelligent.

by Jessilynja on Jan 19, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

One host likes sci-fi and action, the other musical camp giving the podcast a diverse conversation on the topic without bias. I love this podcast and I love the hosts. Respectfully disagreeing and working together in a fun way is awesome to hear as women are not portrayed well in most movies. Consider this representation! I also love that one host often ‘watched the movie this morning’ because they aren’t biased by nostalgia. I think this podcast is a perfect storm and recommend to anyone.

Eye opening

by Lgcrazylady on Jan 18, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I deeply appreciate this podcast! As a mother of two young boys, this podcast was helpful to shape the conversations I have when we watch movies together. There are also plenty of fun facts and a great dynamic between the hosts that makes it an enjoyable listen. There’s adult language and humor, so I’m glad it’s not a dry, dense show. I recommend this podcast!

Amazing

by Alfred Molina on Jan 17, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Hands down the best podcast for feminist discourse, Alfred Molina love, steampunk shade and unabashed love for the movie Titanic. These women are F U N N Y. Truly a breath of fresh air in the otherwise swampy bog that is 2018. Also screw all of the MRAs messing with their rating, this is a full five star podcast.

Liberal pitty party

by Hfufbf on Jan 17, 2019
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Just wanted to hear people talk about a movie I really liked but instead they picked on every single thing their liberal agenda did not completely line up with. JUST TALK ABOUT THE MOVIE. Stop talking about how everyone else needs to see the world like you.

All the nips

by kroyle_815 on Jan 16, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

10 OUT OF 5 NIPSCan’t get enough! Love these hilarious women and so happy to hear the conversations they have.

Right up my alley

by Jlynnmurph on Jan 11, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I love these two. They are hilarious and insightful.

Truly amazing.

by Smash the patriarchy on Jan 11, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast confirms that dreams do come true. If you obsessively discuss the perfect man he will appear on your podcast.

I Give This 8 Cat Nipples

by Adoseofcyanide on Jan 11, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is one of the few things that got me through the misery of finals, and it’s sustaining me while I recover from spinal surgery. This show is a comedy gem that never fails to get an ugly laugh from me.

Mission Accomplished

by doctor fax on Jan 10, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

THEY GOT FEMINIST ICON ALFRED MOLINA SO DESERVE ALL THE STARS

Good but the hosts do not care about the movies

by elspookyboi on Jan 10, 2019
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Some of the episodes are excellent but many of them are painful to listen to because the hosts either know barely anything about the movie or obviously dislike the movie and don’t express why very intelligently. I appreciate the premise of the podcast but poor execution ruins many of the episodes.

Excellent Podcast!

by Mike Maillaro on Dec 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Heard about this podcast on How Did This Get Made. It quickly became one of my favorite podcasts. Been marathoning it over the last few weeks, and it's just a lot of fun and a lot of insight.

Can’t get enough!

by BeMerry316 on Dec 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is so smart, so funny, and awesomely relevant today. The hosts are so clever, with the most hilarious senses of humor. I love hearing their tales on movies. They are so insightful and tackle huge topics with creativity. I’m a huge fan and strongly recommend!!

Favorite pod of 2018

by LauraFrog on Dec 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Funny and conversational! This podcast makes me think about all movies and shows I watch in a much different way. I listen to all the episodes even for movies I haven’t seen and it’s always interesting. The only episodes I disliked were the 2 where the male guests talked over they constantly (I think one was Mad Max?) I subscribed to their Patreon because I actually prefer just Caitlin and Jamie with no guest. 5 nipples!!

Potential?

by monanic on Dec 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I really want to like this podcast. I keep trying. I like Jamie and the guest stars most of the time. Caitlin is always so negative though. I understand that once you train yourself to see the flaws, that’s all you see but come on! They have no nuance to their views. The world is not all black and white, I wish they would have more intelligent discussion about the shades of gray instead of just lambasting everything as wrong or sexist. This coming from a queer feminist WOC.

Really fun listen!

by Mika510 on Dec 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is on my regular weekly rotation! The hosts are funny in a very approachable way, they remind me of my own friends. Overall, it’s great listen during work or on my commute. Don’t expect groundbreaking feminist revelations, it’s more of a fun and friendly conversation about movies. I personally love it, NEVER CHANGE!

My Kinda Gals!

by OanhDeez on Dec 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A hilarious discussion podcast about the portrayal of women in film. I’ll be quite frank and say that the girls took some getting use to at first. Coming from Stuff You Missed In History Class to The Bechdel Cast can be quite a shock. I’ve been listening to the former for years, and to hear profanity on a podcast that is more aggressive than the word “crap” had me really appalled. But then the more you listen, the more you realize Caitlin and Jamie are just like your down to Earth girlfriends, and they are a breath of fresh air from the rigid formula of other podcasts. Some complaints I’ve read is that sometimes the hosts have little to no prior relationship to the movies that they discuss; that sometimes they watch the movie the morning before recording. So? I find it quite useful in their discussion, as it diminishes the biases that may incur when they review a movie’s portrayal of women with prior prejudices. Get over it. Yes, it can be surprising that they may not have seen some of the best known films, but they’re not here to please your standards of a movie’s popularity contest; They’re here to open your eyes on how crappy those classics you love oh so much have depicted women throughout the years, and they’re doing it in a way that is unconventional to your static tastes - yet, it is conventional in that it’s a more relaxed discussion between a few ladies that you could easily have with your own buddies.

LOVE!

by May Corl on Dec 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is a joy! It’s quickly become one of my favorites. Some people may get frustrated by the more conversational, less structured flow of the episodes, but that’s a plus for me. It’s funny, refreshing, and hopeful.

One of my favorite podcasts

by perhapsimmyself on Dec 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I really like this podcast. It hasn't ruined any movies for me, but it makes me think a lot more about the representation of women in movies. Jamie and Caitlin do a good job most of the time. It is kind of annoying when it's clear one of the hosts hasn't actually watched (or paid attention) to the movie being discussed. I support this podcast on Patreon and hope to continue learning more.

Good Podcasting Content

by Heyryanbailey on Dec 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Hell yeah brother, cheers from Iraq

Not thoughtful

by Hillray27 on Dec 16, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I only listened to one episode (Mean Girls), but I was really disappointed. First of all, it felt like they only talked about the movie for 10 minutes out of the hour. Otherwise they were talking about themselves or going off on tangents that weren’t interesting. I wouldn’t have bothered to write a review, but it bothered me that a podcast that’s trying to promote sensitivity and language that doesn’t belittle or stereotype women would say that one of the actresses “came through for Jewish American Princesses.” I think the idea of holding movies to a certain standard in regards to women is important, but I didn’t find anything that was said in this episode to be interesting or thoughtful.

Bittersweet

by JRED107 on Dec 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This show has ruined some movies for me, but it’s also opened my eyes. It’s insane how many movies barely pas, if the pass at all.

Well

by neverett36 on Dec 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I really really liked this podcast at first, I thought it was super funny and insightful. It’s interesting to view movies in a feminist view. But sometimes its too snooty, stuffy, and mean. For starters, people were offended that they had male guests on the podcast.. which is ridiculous. Something like this should be discussed with men especially if you’re trying to spread a certain message. It’s fun to hear the banter back and forth between a man and a women, cutting out a gender completely isn’t the answer. Secondly it really likes to step on movies from the past. You have to realize that we are making progress, you don’t have to completely poop on every movie from the 80’s 🤦🏼‍♀️starting to not look forward to this podcast anymore. Not EVERYTHING has to be female.

My favorite podcast!

by marissadolivas on Dec 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

After listening to this podcast for the first time, I absolutely tore through the rest and eventually had to subscribe to the Patreon because I just love both the hosts so much and wanted to further support. I think, while they do miss a lot and have their own blind spots, the podcast serves as a conversation starter and pushes me to consume media more critically. It’s not preachy in any way and they’re both so funny. I think by making this kind of conversation funnier and less serious, it invites people who normally wouldn’t listen to something feminist. I’ve gotten a bunch of people to listen to it and they’ve all loved it! People who say they interrupt each other too much- that’s usually how a conversation works and I don’t think they’re being intentionally rude.Caitlyn grew up with a lot of these movies and Jamie hasn’t seen most of them before so I think both of them add a different perspective. Overall it’s a lot of fun and works great as a jumping off point to think about there’s topics !

Awesome!!

by A single egg on Dec 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I love you ladies and no podcast makes me laugh more consistently! I’ve listened to the Star is born episode at least three times and my roommates and I now use Lady Gaga scream as a form of greeting. I do agree with some other reviewers in that I wish slightly more preparation went into these reviews. I’d also appreciate more guests associated with the film world if possible! Just a couple to suggestions to make a great podcast even better:)

This Podcast Gets 5/5 Nipples

by that'70sshowaddict1234 on Dec 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. I love Jamie and Caitlin breaking down the portrayal of women in movies. I love that this podcast is both insightful and funny. Also, I love Cat Facts with Caitlin.

8 nipples

by colorfulennui on Dec 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Because cats. I enjoy the content and the rapport. I don’t even mind that it rightfully ruins some of my problematic faves.

Cats have 8 nipples and so does this pod

by malachitemedusa on Dec 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love hearing these ladies talk about movies and especially love being a matron and hearing Jamie talk about doubt

Exasperating and airless, mostly.

by Waking Kestrel on Dec 05, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

This should be fun. We should be hearing a couple of engaging hosts interacting with their weekly guests to talk about the utterly bizarre representation of women in movies. The framing lens of the gallingly-seldom-met "Bechdel test" is perfect, if a little predictable now, as a starting point. I am in profound sympathy with "taking down the patriarchy," as our hosts would say it, through self-awareness about things like our popular culture. That could be fun! It could be a delight!The show even does a quite solid job, I think, of choosing an interesting range of movies to hold up against the light. We go back to old action movie blockbusters, and we also have Karina Longworth in for Gentlemen Prefer Blondes. And so on. "Election." That's a great choice for a show like this.It should work. It doesn't, for me. I've heard most of maybe eight episodes, and there's a curiosity missing from the proceedings. In its place, there's an almost aggressive dismissiveness. There's a space, an unpredictability, that is sadly lacking. The right tone here for me would be something like "bemused incredulity." Instead, seeing the world through our hosts' eyes, I felt... meanness. They aren't opening up the world, they're closing it down.I would strongly suggest that our hosts consider some ways to structure their program, around the actual Bechdel test -- which they often don't mention after their preamble until the very end of a show -- in order to breathe some delight and some verve into the proceedings. Maybe it could be fixed, with a little judicious reframing. Otherwise, there will be more episodes like the one with Josh, the former 30 Rock comedian, talking down the hosts incredibly rudely as he goes into Schtick mode. Restructure! Please.

On the fence

by UnicornBaby559 on Dec 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I’ve listened to number of episodes and I have to say overall I enjoy it...but sometimes I feel like they’re just looking for things to dislike. For context, I’m a queer, cis female, white Latinx.The premise of the show I think forces them into a very particular point of view while often times presenting their blind spots. One of the hosts says on multiple episodes, “I’m triggered by blonde men.” ... we don’t have to blame or mock blonde men just because we want more female representation.An interesting episode was Myq Kaplan’s appearance to talk about the Princess Bride. Myq was a great guest but did his fair share of bringing up the hosts’ blind spots. I recommend this episode as a first listen since it might inform the rest of your listening. However, I do just love listening to fellow film nerds dissecting movies. And I love new perspectives. Overall, a decent listen.

Hates men

by RedMageDan on Nov 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Five stars

Horrible

by Sirot34 on Nov 26, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The level of self righteousness and arrogance of the hosts is something I have not heard the likes of in a while (other than our president).

5 nips

by Lachubb on Nov 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love these ladies and their guests. I don’t even like watching movies but I enjoy listening to Caitlin and Jamie and their excellent guests analyse and critique them. It’s definitely changed how I see women’s roles in movies and tv. And has even got my man wondering if what he watches passes the bechdel test. Amen. Thank you ladies!

unsubscribed

by angxelica on Nov 16, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

listened to a couple episodes on movies I have watched and some of the most recent episodes. I wanted to like this podcast but they constantly go on tangents, there’s so structure, and interrupt their guests.

Making the World a Better Place

by C_Money12345 on Nov 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As a casual but consistent listener over the past couple of years, how I see movies is forever changed. Thank you C & J.

So, about the name....

by TMT-DC on Nov 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

According to Alison, it’s supposed to be the Bechdel-Wallace test.

Very funny

by AquilaP on Nov 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I enjoy the comedy and the commentary. I’m not sure what’s on the list of movies you must see in your childhood to be qualified to critique movies, but I’m proud of Jamie for never seeing The Matrix, even after recording an episode on it. The hosts are both Feminist Icons.

Love this podcast

by Avadakehanna on Nov 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Caitlin and Jamie are the best! I think I've listened to every episode and I can tell they're having a great time while recording and I have a great time listening. It's really like you're just hanging out, talking about movies. The guests are always funny and pleasant. They bring up a conversation that needs to be had about women in movies with a fun twist

5 star must subscribe podcast.

by KiryuChristian. on Nov 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This lady hosted show will quickly take a seat at the top of your podcast list. Taking the Bechdel Test for people familiar with it to new levels steeped in a comedy and movie background by both hosts/ creators Jamie Loftus and Caitlin Durante. These women will have you clicking Download before your done wiping. If your unfamiliar treat yourself to a new and necessary perspective about the movies you hold dear to your heart. I know I have.

Great show- needs an editor

by krystalcovert on Nov 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I love the topic and the hosts. This one of those podcasts where I feel it would be improved by shaving 20 min off an episode just to cut down on rambling. Does an episode really need to be an hour-hour 20 min?

Changed the way I watch movies

by Jordan Caspigliano on Nov 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I think my first listen was the Mrs. Doubtfire Episode and I’ve been going through the back catalog ever since. I’ve had a lot of “oh no no no no no, they shouldn’t have done that” moments reliving movies I’ve enjoyed in the past, but am now seeing in a different way. Super insightful and thoughtfully done. Also Caitlin and Jamie are hilarious.

Awesome Show

by Plops Mcgoo on Nov 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Jamie and Caitlyn put a great perspective on how movies portray women.

Eh

by pathosandpopcorn on Nov 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

A bit hit and miss. But valid content.

Well, I did like it...

by Scmami83 on Nov 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I had to downgrade my rating. How have people not seen Jumanji and Jurassic Park, literally any horror movie from 1995-2005 prior to recording an episode about them? These are classic movies...My kids have seen them many times and they're 11 and 18. It would be much better if this show were recorded by people who actually enjoy movies. As it stands, it's just occasionally funny. The episodes where the hosts have actually watched the movie growing up or at least in its prime are the best ones. I REALLY like the premise, but ladies PLEASE choose movies you've seen prior to "this morning" or "last night" and maybe the host who admits she doesn't watch movies can be....replaced? It's just that you are watching the movies at a different point in your life than the target audience or even time. As a woman of color, I keep trying, Scream and Halloween...both a fail. I'm sorry, I did try to like it.

Pretty Awful

by Michael Linde on Oct 30, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Unstructured, repetitive, meandering conversations that try to be funny. Very often the hosts beat a lame joke into the ground trying to improve their joyless presentation.

DREAMSTREET

by meg00000000000 on Oct 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

listening to my first episode, chose the She's The Man one, and y'all mention DREAMSTREET not even 15 minutes in - just needed to check in & say they were my WORLD, i was geeked to hear them brought up, THANKKKKYOUUUUU

Great

by Cryllica on Oct 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Both hilarious and important.

Start with "Moana."

by Slicing Device on Oct 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

For a small sample, start whith the "Moana" episode. If you aren't laughing hysterically when they consider calling the cops, this podcast isn't hor you.