Average rating:

4.5
out of 236 ratings.

Literally so good

by May Corl on May 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is a joy! It’s quickly become one of my favorites.

Addicted

by Bexxxtah95 on May 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Their Snow White podcast had me dying and I’ve been hooked ever since!! Absolutely love this podcast ❤️

Great show, but excessive giggling

by Rita7594 on Apr 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

This is a much needed show and I mostly enjoy it. A podcast about the portrayal of women in movies is a must-listen for everyone. However, the high school banter and excessive giggling makes it nearly insufferable. I wish the hosts were a little less silly.

New and impressed

by judyjetzen on Apr 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I'm a new listener who's only a few episodes in but I'm really enjoying the discussions so far and the great list of film reviews I've got ahead of me.

😂🤣🤣

by rawflz on Apr 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Jamie and Caitlin are honestly so funny and all their guests are great too. Just a well done podcast all around.

Feminist icons

by SamiCakes62 on Apr 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is amazing. I listen to them all the time on my commute to and from school. They are hilarious and so very smart. I adore Kaitlin and Jamie and I wish they were my bffs

My favorite podcast

by zach staska on Apr 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A definite 5 nipple cast every episode. Two favorite hosts in podcasting, hilarious every time.

Funny way to get a new perspective

by thinkwithyourdipstick on Mar 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This funny and informative podcast provides great insight into the representationof women in movies that isn't talked about enough.

FIVE NIPPLES

by zman4303 on Mar 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

One of my favorite podcasts. Love these two FEMINIST ICONS as they break down your fave films and how they treat their female characters.

Thank you!

by saltypants on Mar 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Not only is this podcast hilarious and progressive, it’s also made me a better movie viewer! ❤️

Fun podcast

by Stepheebean on Feb 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Fun podcast, I love to listen while I drive.

Thanks

by Zenaholic on Feb 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I really appreciate this podcast. It’s nice to hear an examination of the roles of women in movies, particularly interesting and important in light of the way our world is sliding. It’s also made me laugh a great deal when I needed it the most. Thank you. You do good work.

Amazing

by xheofjr on Feb 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Found this amazing podcast because of my love of Jamie and Jeffrey’s upgraded videos! I so much enjoy Caitlin and Jamie’s insights, they are putting all of their degrees to work. They are super smart, funny and I also really enjoy the steampunk trashing! Thank you!

Great show

by such doubt on Feb 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Hilarious and informative for a guy like me

Kudos

by Msumacc on Feb 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This show is fantastic. I love the way the girls interact with each other, and I appreciate looking at these movies from a different angle. Keep it up ladies!

Mmm Hell Yeah!

by Nelber165 on Feb 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A podcast by women about women solely on the topic of movies! It’s like they came up with this idea just for me (and many of my friends whom I’ve recommended it to who have also loved it)! I highly recommend it for men, women, all gender identifications, and more importantly, cinephiles. Great podcast!

Some laughs, but overall vapid

by Inglefinger on Jan 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

This was not as intelligent as I thought it would be. The hosts seem to be fixated with how characters look which is ironic considering the premise of the podcast. May be more appropriate for millennials.

Entertaining Feminist icons

by PhillipJ.Fry on Jan 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Your brain will be smarter. Listen to women discuss women, slam on sexist nonsense, and have names. Totally hilarious good times, but he warned, you might have to rethink your love of some not-so-enlightened movies from your youth times.

The best and most important of all time

by Thewideworldandcamebacktothis on Jan 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Me: You should listen to this. It is funny and thoughtful.Other female who is named M. Street: Ok.Five nipples.It is so valuable to discuss how what movies present to the world and what they imply about cultural values and how society views people.

Good show

by Apathetic abernathy on Jan 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Funny and informative. Good for a man to listen to.

Straight Up: Best Part of My Thursdays

by SCZ-Snap on Jan 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As a #WomanInStem, this podcast is a blessed break from my days surrounded by completely un-muzzled men. These women are both legit #FeministIcons, and I cannot endorse them highly enough.

Hilarious

by eli in syracuse on Jan 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I learned about this show after hearing Jamie on The Daily Zeitgeist. (She’s their best “guest” host btw) listened to it once and I was hooked. Both her and Caitlin are hilarious and consistently bring up great points. I’ve listened to every podcast about a movie I’ve seen. Keep up the great work!-straight white male 😉

My new favorite podcast!

by rockqueen on Jan 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Since I started listening to the Bechdel Cast I feel like I’ve learned a ton. I definitely have the Bechdel Test in my mind whenever I watch movies now. Also I apparently need to see the movie Doubt. Keep up the awesome work ladies! 5 nipples. 👍

Yes please

by MemoryButter on Jan 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a much need reprieve from the news horror parade. Now I’m happily binging on the Bechdel Cast! Thank you. It’s also satisfying to know other women hate Love Actually as much as I do. ❤️

Quickly became my new favorite podcast!

by TheReelMcCoy on Jan 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Oh boy do I love this podcast. This hosts, the commentary on the movies, the nipple scale- all of it. The show is always hilarious and picks great movies to cover! Not to mention the guests are always hilarious and insightful. Love it and can't wait for more!

Great content, usually funny, occasionally irritating

by Gremlin1384 on Jan 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Analyses on film from a woman's perspective. Writing as a white heterosexual cisgender man, it's really great to hear how women feel about these films I love (or hate), and I see them in a whole new light. It is horrifying how many otherwise good movies don't pass the simple requirements of the Bechdel Test. Jamie and Caitlyn’s analyses are always intelligent, and go far beyond the titular Bechdel Test into the portrayal of women in every way. I always feel enlightened by the end of an episode.Jamie and Caitlyn seem very amateurish and disorganized in their delivery and organization. I believe it is a deliberate stylistic choice, aiming for a friendly feel, but I don't care for it. I often become irritated by the style of their banter and wish they would move on to the content of the episode.

This show makes me think about movies in a whole new light

by SadieWit on Jan 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm totally addicted to this show and the hosts hilarious commentary on feminist icons. I'm hoping y'all do Ghostbusters sometime soon!

For Future Screenwriters

by alex1038 on Dec 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Let me say this in a way that potential listeners from the distant future will understand: Dis 🎧 is ✔️🔥, if ya wanna 🤔 how 2B a gr8 🎬🖋, take 📝s & 🛑 📖🖊 about 👨🏻👱🏻‍♂️🧔🏻, it’s been done. 🤙

5 Nipples!

by C-Rep on Dec 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Jamie and Caitlin are hilarious. I love movies and I love feminism and I love podcasts that feature two ladies chatting about the topic at hand and whatever other tangents they go on. This pod has gotten me to watch many great movies and gotten me through a weird year. If you’re not sure, I’d recommend starting with Ghost with Nicole Byer. As a woman in STEM, I approve this podcast.

Funny at times but leaving a lot to be desired.

by Altgirlashley on Dec 05, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I enjoyed parts of this show for a few months but ultimately found too much sexualization of children and teen female characters happening and was disappointed. The show could also benefit from some more structure as it often takes 10-15 minutes just to get to talking about the topic and the hosts sometimes stop every other sentence to add something off topic. There is also some talk in the Moana episode about the character being addicted to crack or meth instead of the ocean. Do we really need to continue to portray people of color with drugs in the media? And talking about her character getting with Maui..ugh. She’s 16. The show is fine if you are looking to observe “light” feminist talk among immature LA friends but if you’re seeking strong feminist messages I would steer clear. Such a shame they grabbed this name for their show when the “test” deserves better representation, in my opinion.

Feminist Icons

by lalababayaga on Nov 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this show so much I give it a rating of 8 out of 5 nipples.

Everyone wants to be a critic.

by bastardjohnsnow on Nov 26, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Thumbs dooooown

So Funny!

by Janer134759 on Nov 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Got hooked immediately! I hope they do Practical Magic soon!

Love you, Ladies!

by Musiclover13218372 on Nov 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Where has this been all my life?! Heard about it on The Daily Zeitgeist, now my podcast life will never be the same 😍😍😍 keep being awesome you guys!

My new fav movie podcast

by Nicknames are dumb2011 on Oct 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks ladies for making a podcast that talks about real issues but in a fun delightful way. Also thank you for raising my appreciation for Alfred Molina.

Could be great! Sadly isn't.

by Alia Yusuf on Oct 17, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Love the premise of this podcast and it has so much potential. Some episodes are decent others are god awful.I had to completely stop listening after the Twilight episode. Oh god. Did they really just say that Twilight is better than Fury Road? ... Hoping that was sarcasm I just didn't pick up on.Also surprised at how close minded the hosts are sometimes. I would like this if I was a heterosexual, white feminist but I'm not so I'll pass. 🤷🏻‍♀️

Genuinely interesting

by Morganmorganb on Sep 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I guess I'm more of a baby feminist than I thought, because the hosts of this podcast regularly make me think about aspects of feminism and the way women are portrayed in media. And it's funny and interesting and they are fun to virtually hang out with.

5/5 Nipz

by Jane Doe III on Sep 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One nip for Jamie being an avid Alfred Molina-head, one fuzzy nip for Cat Facts with Caitlin, and 3 nips for the 3 degrees between the two of you - especially Caitlin's Master's degree in screenwriting that she hates to bring up. Hilarious pod that highlights problematic cinematic tropes in a genuinely fun and insightful way. Love the hosts, love the show!

Highlight of my Thursdays

by Maurecia on Aug 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I blew through the entire back catalogue in about a week after The Bechdel Cast was featured on AV Club’s Podmass and now I’m desperate for new eps! Caitlin and Jamie are hilarious, insightful and open about their lives in the most compelling way. The Titanic episode especially put me back in touch with my own adolescent film obsessions (although mine were of the Lord of the Rings variety). I’ve been mentally Bechdel-ing the movies I watch for years and having someone else to “discuss” them with (…listen to) is just the best. 5 nipples to Caitlin and Jamie!!

Passes!

by SteffiCheneaux on Aug 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love it.

Cured!

by Mike from theBlankScroll.com on Aug 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast cured my mansplaining and blinded my male gaze. Now I'm so woke i've got insomnia.

Hilarious.

by _abl_ on Aug 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Got here by way of Aparna. Stayed because it's hilarious. Five stars.

Women!

by Vikingstone on Jul 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Smart women talking about how the media portrays them. Honest, visceral and extremely funny. I blew through the back catalog and wait impatiently for the new episodes. I love these ladies and you will too. 5 nips!

Cool podcast, neat ladies

by Jessica Laine on Jul 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast! Now every time I watch a movie I think about the Bechdel test, and I don't even have a masters degree in screenwriting!!

Top-notch podcast!

by AlxBartlet on Jul 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Found this one from when Jamie Loftus was on the Cracked Podcast and it has quickly become one of my regulars! The hosts are fun, funny, insightful, and don't seem to take themselves too seriously. I disagree with some of their thoughts, but they also frequently disagree with each other so it always seems fair. I appreciate how they have guests on that might have more expertise than them for certain movies (i.e. knowledgeable about DC or Marvel comics for superhero movies). The premise is based on the Bechdel test, but they definitely take into account how that test is a valuable but shallow test and discuss the representation of women as a whole for each movie. Overall great podcast and I hope it continues for many episodes!

best talkers around

by Kgcougar on Jun 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

maybe probably (definitely) my favorite podcast around. kinda obsessively went back and redownloaded all the episodes and after catching up it's still as easy to enjoy and listen to as ever. i've laughed so much this past week so thank you.p.s. f*ck steampunk

Insightful and funny when on topic

by Cal Warren on Jun 04, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

They have some great things to say when they're talking about the movie. 12 minutes into the Mean Girls ep they haven't talked about Mean Girls yet and are instead talking about all the ways The Parent Trap passes the test. Maybe edit out the bits not related to the movie?

Brilliant and funny lady brains

by Bobby Frankenstein on May 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

There's probably some kind of gender dissonance in the fact that I normally listen to Caitlin and Jamie while I'm lifting weights, but that's my podcast time, so we're stuck with it. And anyway, it's congruent with the fact that I became aware of The Bechdel Cast through a gym buddy, their producer Aristotle.This is a great show, as much for their off color jokes and weird tangents as for their film analysis. And they've introduced me to at least one good movie I'd never seen (HINT: it wasn't "Gigli." Or "Titanic."). Their guests are always interesting, and reflect a great diversity of both opinion and demographics. Oh, and they're funny. Like LOL funny. The running jokes through the episodes are very endearing, especially when it reveals that the guest of the week hasn't listened to the show very much (the nipple system, what? how many degrees?).A real gem, this one.

The best!

by Matthew Reyes on May 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The guy who gave this two stars wrote some the the most beautiful words I've ever read, also.

So many degrees on one podcast

by Bobby Analog on Apr 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Jamie and Caitlin are cooler than a polar bear's toenails. This podcast is funny, fun, and fundamental. A+