Average rating:

4.5
out of 516 ratings.

Disappointing and annoying

by eimren on Aug 18, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I really wanted to like this but it is honestly the most annoying podcast I have ever listened to... don’t waste your time 😔

Fave

by natchin124 on Aug 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

My absolute FAVORITE podcast.

Brilliant, joyous, superb

by Theodulf on Aug 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The only problem I have with this podcast is "Do I listen to the new episodes or binge-listen all the old ones?"It's really a treasure. It's about fighting the patriarchy, but also very cheerful and really hopeful - a hard balance to strike!

I like to think...

by Civil7819 on Aug 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m not the only 40 year old gay man that loves your show! You should do the 1993 remake on La Femme Nikita, ‘Point of No Return’. It’s such fantastic trash and would make a nice follow up to ‘Single White Female’. Thanks!

Addictive

by SammyFarr on Aug 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I started one just to see and couldn’t stop. Even if I don’t know the movie, I always find myself enchanted and laughing with these ladies.

Fun, smart, professional

by amy_d on Aug 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The hosts are fun and casual in their discussions, the conversation is smart and insightful, and the production values are top-notch. I appreciate that they put out episodes on a regular schedule and that they cover such a broad mix of moveis -- blockblusters, cult classics, "women's" films, etc. I especially enjoy looking back at movies I saw 20 years ago but haven't thoguht much about since.

Professionalism

by Roadflare on Aug 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I really love this podcast, but I can not handle eating on podcasts. Your voice is IN MY EARS. Eat before please, I suffer from misophonia, but despite that nobody likes smacking and chewing in their ear. It’s about professionalism. I really wish I could listen to this podcast.

The funniest podcast you’ll ever listen to

by EmeraldGold on Aug 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have embarrassed myself in front of my co-workers while listening to this podcast more than any other, simply because Jamie and Caitlin are the type of funny that makes it impossible to hold laughter in. They’re humour and wit are just the best thing ever. It’s a total joy to hear movies picked apart in such an intelligent and thought provoking way, I feel that they are contributing so much to the enlightenment of the masses, the movement that finally allows women to free themselves of the constraints society has put on them, all while almost making me pee from laughter. So thanks Caitlin and Jamie, I hope you continue doing this podcast for many years so that I can enjoy it! Ps I secretly wish I could someday do an episode with them.

The worst

by Star Trek Fan 081972 on Aug 09, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This is the worst podcast. They do not really talk about reason this podcast was made.

Yay!

by itsabusywonderfulelife on Aug 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is so good. It’s serious, but also soooo funny and great. Thank you for doing this, Caitlin & Jamie!

This podcast is a revelation

by Basic Bee on Aug 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I feel liked yelling, “RIGHT?!” every time these women make any point. It’s just so good.

Well, I did like it...

by Scmami83 on Aug 08, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I had to downgrade my rating. How have people not seen Jumanji and Jurassic Park prior to recording an episode about them? These are classic movies...My kids have seen them many times and they're 11 and 18. It would be much better if this show were recorded by people who actually enjoy movies. As it stands, it's just occasionally funny. The episodes where the hosts have actually watched the movie growing up at some point are the best ones. I REALLY like the premise, but ladies please choose movies you've seen and maybe the host who admits she doesn't watch movies can be....replaced? I'm sorry, I did try to like it.

New favorite podcast

by Rachel Walker on Aug 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

...and it’s pretty good considering no one on the podcast has a master’s degree in screenwriting or has seen the movie “Doubt”. 😘

The podcast we need

by acdameli on Aug 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. Caitlin and Jamie are hilarious and so well spoken. I frequently share this with people as it helps show how you can enjoy something entertaining and still view it with a critical perspective for its treatment of women.

True Feminist Icons

by Robin Hood & Little Jon on Aug 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

They will ruin the memories of your favorite childhood movies, and it will make you a better person! Thank you, Caitlin and Jamie!

A model for all podcasts

by Adolfo Gonzalez on Aug 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Beat Barstool!

You could do better

by dcode31 on Aug 07, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Close minded women putting down and shaming anyone who disagrees with them. I gave it a try since I listen to the Daily Zeitgeist but I couldn’t get through the first few episodes

HSWU?

by Alison Meredith on Aug 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast, consistently funny and interesting

Hilarious, Smart, Super Bitchin

by meghanzaa on Aug 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I am a new listener as of about a month ago but I have been binging the sh*t (am I allowed to cuss on iTunes reviews?) out of this podcast. I think I may now want to die for Caitlin and Jamie.Really though, there are lots of hot takes on this podcast and I enjoy the literary criticism (so to speak) with a comedy angle. Guests are very diverse, which is sadly rare with other podcasts I have tried. And I don’t have to suffer through a gaggle of men screaming over each other, YAY! I wish I could listen to them talk about every movie I have loved or hated or both!

Objectifies men

by pro231312 on Aug 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is an amazing podcast from a great perspective. They tell it like it is and it’s mostly bad. Do better movies!

Great concept, disappointing execution

by Scarlett10is on Aug 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I love the idea of this podcast, but it’s just not executed well. I’ve listened to several episodes including Aliens, 50 Shades, She’s All That, and Black Panther, and Black Panther was the best bc their guest actually had done evident research and had some expertise/insight. The rest of the time it sounds like friends just hanging out talking about what they liked about a movie, without much research or critical thinking. The recaps take forever bc people keep interrupting with their extraneous thoughts, and hosts are unsure of character/actor names. I gave it a try but I don’t think I’ll be back.

Objectifies men

by pro231311 on Aug 05, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

At first I loved the comedic tone of this series. But, for a podcast that emphasizes women having equal roles in films, it certainly goes in the opposite direction objectifying men. A few episodes of listening to the ladies talking about specific individuals dicks, and that was enough.

Too many “likes”

by tutu, hawaii on Aug 02, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Fun premise and exchange between hosts, but I can’t take all the superfluous uses of the word “like”. I have unsubscribed.

Not worth it

by Jscotterickson on Aug 01, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I guess I’m giving this a star because I have to. Nobody on this show seems to know how to host a podcast. They also seem very sexist, not towards men, but women. They spent time body shaming an actress because her bone structure seemed to sharper. They also don’t seem to watch or have any relevant knowledge on film.

Fun and Informative Podcast

by MVW. on Aug 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A good listen if you’re interested in hearing film criticism from a humorous, feminist angle. Caitlin and Jamie have helped me develop a new lens through which to view movies.

Pomplamoose

by Rudd_ on Aug 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is hilarious and so intelligent that one would think a host had a degree in screenwriting

Do better

by jillybeanlynn on Jul 31, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I love movies and was excited to listen to a podcast where women try to argue for more diversity and decentering the white patriarchal focus of most movies. But ladies, you are not progressing the fight with this. I’ve listened to several episodes, and while I understand that part of the goal is to be funny, you are showing up as people who are incapable of nuanced film criticism. I want this podcast to be good. But the recaps make it sound like you didn’t even watch the movies, straying off topic AND not being funny is a waste of time, and the Mad Max episode is one of the most annoying podcast episodes I’ve ever listened to. With such a lofty goal of taking down the film patriarchy, you need to actually do research beforehand rather than googling while you’re taping. Seriously. Do better.

Positive and real

by climbergirl on Jul 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The hosts are positive, funny feminists who provide intelligent commentary on movies with awesome female and non-female guests. New favorite podcast, thanks !!

Hilarious and insightful

by Kaoruchan42 on Jul 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

One of the funniest podcasts out there.

Feminist icons Jamie and Caitlin!

by labyramm on Jul 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

These fabulous women tackle reasonably heavy topics, i.e. the patriarchy, unfair treatment of women, lack of representation, etc., while still making it entertaining and hilarious. I’m so happy I found this podcast. I tell everyone I know to listen!

Started off liking this but...

by JungianFantasy on Jul 26, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

The more it goes along the meaner the jabs get at people. The most recent constant ridicule pod about Tom Cruise masquerading as a MI review is the final pod. Best of luck but I don’t need this much hate speech in my life.

It’s fine

by papparocha on Jul 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The hosts and the guests are funny and it’s nice to look back on some films. If you’re expecting a deeper analysis, you’re not going to get it. I would recommend The Cine-Files for that.

Yes, Please

by Grneye89 on Jul 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If you have ever even heard of a vagina, you’ll like this show.

Ehh

by Anna Serene on Jul 23, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

They try very hard to be “progressive” but they are trying so hard it’s sad. Also they are so hard on the roles of the women that they talk about, it almost sometimes feels like they are shaming the women themselves.

Great Movie Podcast

by spont9 on Jul 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this movie podcast, and it’s take on women in movies. Jamie and Caitlin are hilarious, and honestly, I would listen to them talk about pretty much anything. I highly recommend for the unique perspective this podcast has to offer in comparison to other movie podcasts.

My Go To Cheer Me Up Podcast

by Yellowdeer on Jul 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I started listening to the bechdel cast a year ago after hearing one of the hosts on a separate comedy podcast that she killed it on. Ever since, I’ve been obsessed and tell friends and family to listen to the bechdel cast for both the humor and the wonderfully done critical analysis of not only films’ gender representation, which is the main focus, but also lgbt and racial representation. In that vein they put in great effort to have diversity with their choice of guests too! Every guest is also all incredibly funny (or at least don’t cloud caitlin and jamie’s funny much) and bring a variety of witty insights, that I parrot off later in order to sound smart. My favorite part about the podcast is the buildup of inside jokes that make me feel like I’m not just a spectator (or whatever the audio version of that is [listener?]), but an actual part of the experience. Because of that, when I’ve had a rough day or even just a boring one, I’ll often search through the extensive archives of the cast and choose a fav (the notebook and ghost episodes mostly, despite having never seen the notebook) that will help me wind down as I hang out with two awesome folks . If you aren’t a fan of the bechdel cast right now, you should be!Good episodes to start with:The Notebook with Caitlin GilGhost with Nicole BayerBeetlejuice with Mike AbrusciThe Phantom Of the Opera with Lindsay EllisDie Hard with Debra DiGiovanniMoana with Natalie BasemanRunaway Bride with Sophia Benoit

Funny and Insightful

by DaddysBoi69 on Jul 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I almost always laugh at least once and think about something in a new way at least once every episode. Feels like hanging out with smart, clever friends and for some reason you’re talking about The Rock.

Five stars

by ericalarson on Jul 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast - it’s completely changed the way I see movies.

Selena

by gsn_musicteacher on Jul 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast! It does an incredible job of pointing out the flaws in the movie industry. Please! Let me come on and do my favorite movie, Selena!

Don’t waste your time

by Pooiuuytreew on Jul 17, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I hate to generalize but after listening to the first episode I found the hosts insufferable and the execution of a potentially interesting perspective toward analyzing movies awful. They were patronizing condescending. Way to be divisive and annoying. Don’t waste your time.

I want to like it

by JGrabzzzz on Jul 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I love the premise and I really want to like it but I feel as though the hosts are entirely missing some of the nuances of the movies they’re discussing. I took particular issue with their episode about Shrek. They criticize Fiona’s desire to be rescued by someone handsome and her willingness to act out her damsel in distress role, however, I believe it is reflective upon internalized misogyny that many of us deal with as women and believing she had to fit into that box (plus she’s been locked in a castle all alone her whole life?!), only to demonstrate that she has already broken out of that box (martial arts skills, etc). I think their readiness to call misogyny on things that are messages ABOUT misogyny doesn’t make any sense. It is not misogynistic to include themes of that sort in a film. Especially to call them into question. Shrek lambasts what other movies, especially Disney films, have forced princesses and other archetypes to be.

A pod concept we’ve all been waiting for! Wish there was more structure.

by BetseJe on Jul 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Really glad I found this podcast! I wish there was more structure to each episode, though. I think it would be beneficial to fully describe the scenes before bashing them, as even with the movies that I’ve seen that they are discussing I don’t fully recognize the issue- and I want to! Adding clips from each movie would also provide great context and help structure each episode. Again, really enjoy it!

Not accurate, based on solely hosts preference (not bechdel test?)

by MadameRedd1996 on Jul 17, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

In the episode I listened to one of the hosts just repeatedly (3 times at least) and forcefully expressed how much they hated one particular voice actor. Ok. Not much to do with the bechdel test? Then they go on to state how the main character ends up in a relationship with a guy when... she doesn’t... which is addressed in the next movie. I couldn’t even finish the episode bc it was that bad. Almost 40 minutes in and they haven’t actually said a word about the bechdel tests or conversations between the females in this movie? It’s honestly just an excuse to rag on a movie one of the hosts clearly hates 😂 I wouldn’t recommend it based off of the episode I listened to.

Shouts to Lil Zam

by Boreanaz Couch on Jul 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It's pretty clear what podcast led me here.

Fun for film fans

by bee.linz on Jul 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Really well rounded movie reviews from a female lens! Do wish there was more talk about the bechdel test, but I really enjoy listening!

My Favorite

by teekaysinclair on Jul 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a great podcasts for those who like rambling, feminism, and corny jokes. Yes, this show can ramble. But I love it. It feels like I’m talking to my best friends. Yes, this show is centered around women. People mentioned sex-shaming and N-bombs dropped... ummm definitely not. 5 Nipples💕

Could use more diversity

by nickynicolebear on Jul 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I love the premises of this podcast, but I there are only a handful of movies I have actually seen because they were predominantly popular with white audiences. Thus far in 2018 only three of the features films reviewed have WOC/POC as leads. I’ve never seen most of these movies and will probably never see them because I just don’t relate to the social or cultural context as a WOC myself. I will never see Breakfast at Tiffany’s, Pacific Rim or Royal Tenenbaums... IJS

Wow, worst podcast I’ve ever listened to

by Sophosia on Jul 09, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Worst podcast I’ve ever listened to. 20 minutes of insulting, cracking half-articulated jokes, talking over each other, wildly disorganized rambling, juvenile sex humor, cracking themselves up. No mention of the topic of the podcast. No intelligent content. I held on for 35 minutes (and only about 4 minutes of topical content) because the concept is so good, but this is such a waste. I hope someone someday legitimately tackles this concept.

Dude who listens...

by Cadence Christ on Jul 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m a dude. I listen to this podcast. Jamie Loftus is not just a hacker, she is also hilarious. Caitlin Durante obviously knows a lot about films... she is also funny and informative. Seriously listen to this podcast, even if you’re a dude. Thanks ladies!

Feminist Icons

by Herre124 on Jul 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is incredible. I love Caitlin and Jamie and the fact that they engage with all kinds of movies. Caitlin and Jamie are not only smart and insightful but are also hilarious. They have great guests who bring different and interesting perspectives.