Average rating:

5
out of 679 ratings.

Entertaining & interesting

by Goddesslibrarian on Aug 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m recovering from PRK eye surgery & cannot see very well. The first day I sat in a dark room, unable to open my eyes, doing nothing. The second day I used Siri to find this podcast (knowing JV Last from twitter). This podcast got me through days of darkness. I can barely see to write this review & hope autocorrect is helping me, but I had to try. These 3 guys are highly entertaining & well worth subscribing to.

I’m sure it’s fine

by Motion City Soundtrack Lover on Aug 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m sure it’s fine

Recommended, unreservedly

by Neal Dewing on Aug 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is my primary source of news. The news is all about how the hosts spent their weekends, which is precisely how much news I want.Good pacing, consistent level of energy throughout, excellent production quality. I love the spirit of the week segment too. Please keep up the good work, including the dirty jokes and anatomical references.

Funny and informative

by badbadbruin on Aug 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

... and has real intro music, as opposed to that elevator swill on The Remnant

The best

by laceltris on Aug 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is so much more than 3 highly entertaining dudes chatting. It has introduced me to the artistry of Layer Cake and the refreshing sip of Schofferhofer. This podcast moves product. It is the only podcast for which eagerly anticipate new episodes, and I even went back to listen to the early episodes I missed. I laugh out loud every time.

Love

by Trexasaurus14 on Jul 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love you guys, very professional and hilarious. Loved you guys took the side of free expression while still not coming to Gunn’s aid as well as calling out the Ben Shapiro hate. Keep it up!!!

Hilarious

by Sharon Herbitter on Jul 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I don’t go to the movies. Like ever. And these guys spend about half the podcast talking about movies. But this podcast makes me laugh out loud every single time — I never miss it.

Are Sonny and JVL are the same person?

by ShekiPete on Jul 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Because to my ear they sound EXACTLY alike on this pod! You're still hilarious, man. You too, Vic/ Gene. Four voices from two people. Amazing. Keep up the good work, boys.

Less about you

by Gnarmac on Jun 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Enjoy the commentary on pop culture but could do without the personal stories. A little of that stuff goes a long way.

Bizarre, but fun

by TooMuchApplesauce on Jun 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

My favorite part is when Vic discusses his digestive problems.

I hate to do this!

by Bower75 on Jun 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sonny is right on something. White chocolate is the best chocolate by far! The rest is TRASH.More Gene!!

The Best

by Paul Computer on Jun 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Easily the finest produced and executed podcast on the pop culture. Always worth listening to on Tuesday and Thursday....plus Gene Shalit movie reviews!

Simply Fabulous

by The_Original_Gib on Jun 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

These three guys are funny, smart, and very witty. There are enough opinions on the show so you will agree with at least one of them. Almost no politics (only where it effects the movie, tv show or other discussion points). You will hear about JVL's Lego obsession, his watch obsession, etc. Sonny will ask lots of the same questions the listener has, and Vic just continues being professional. There is a TWSSEU on Twitter a group of super fans that are totally devoted to the show and apparently do not have real lives.

A Necessary Addition

by deitylost123 on May 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The podcast is great and delivers every time. The perspectives brought to the table are insightful and necessary to break down the issues of the day. The time dedicated to what is being discussed during each episode provides the listener a space to gain a reasonable covenant with the presenter that what they are hearing is the truth. Download this podcast today and your life will be all the better for it!

great pods

by jsladder on May 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Pleasant and fun and funny from the opening to the end.

Wasted too much

by jthoya on May 26, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Of my life listening to these hacks.

Fun, and slightly insane

by SandbagSix on May 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast has become my guilty pleasure. Three minivan-dad bros talk pop culture and politics while trawling for free hooch, probably sitting in their basements in just their underwear. Totally lives up to its name. You should subscribe right now. Not as good as The Remnant, of course, but this scratches a totally different itch for me.

Hilarious!

by Junction24 on May 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Can’t wait to listen every week.

Great Podcast

by AustinLFC on Apr 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Funny, informative, interesting, and sometimes controversial. All the marks of a really great podcast.

10/10 Best Podcast

by CrowleyFD on Apr 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If you haven't listened to this podcast, you should. iTunes only allows a five-star rating system, but it deserves 10/10 just for consistency. I highly recommend the Blade Runner and Harvey Weinstein episode. Best opening so far.I'm caught up on all the most recent episodes, but for the last few weeks (almost every day) I've listened to this podcast to catch up. It's been a great experience. – Christopher Elliott

I look forward to Thursday’s

by @Tracelator on Apr 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Observational humor tied to movies. I’ve learned a ton and it’s sent me back to watch older movies that I had missed or misremembered. The Gene Shalit reviews are a particular highlight as are Sonny’s lists and the general misanthropy.

The best pop culture podcast, period!

by zrhlaw on Apr 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast! Contrary to the subtitle, it is not just for nerds. It is for everyone! The hosts are hilarious, and their reviews are thoughtful and funny. They always make me laugh!

The only good podcast.

by Roob#rekt on Apr 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sonny Bunch is to the Devil’s Dictionary what Jesus is to the Bible: word made flesh. (You, like your admirers, think too highly of your opinions, but that’s not unusual for seasoned cynics.)Vic, you’re my hero. Never change. If more people were like you, the world would be a worse but more interesting place. JVL, you’re the fresh and cool spring of sanity, like a Schöfferhofer Weizen on a hot day.

They get me

by Macholley on Apr 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

You know you are in good company when someone lays down an Arrested Development quote, the icing on the cake was the micro-episode on The Americans.

Love this podcast!

by SrjG on Apr 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I can’t get enough and have been binge listening!

Awesome Podcast

by Swenny37 on Mar 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I would say that this is a great podcast. Sonny is always right and JVL has the best laugh. Vic's Gene Shalit impression is awesome! Dudes chattin!

"The Wire" of podcasts

by Irwin M Fletcher, esq on Mar 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

On the surface it may seem this is Seinfeld style conversation about nothing. Listen closely, and you will find the wittiest, most endearing, funniest podcast going. Every week they find an everyday topic to discuss. No rank punditry. No elitist condescension. Just an insane depth of knowledge about seemingly random topics keeps it interesting. They have no pretense about admitting failure or shortcomings. If I were part to Georgetown admissions committee, it would be my biggest regret we did not admit young Jonathan to our school. I routinely find myself laughing out loud in the car or more embarrassingly in the middle of the airport. These episodes are easily the highlight of the week’s entertainment. For a bonus, Vic does the best transitions in the podcast world, and it isn’t even close. I’m sure all three of them have real job responsibilities, and yet they continue to prepare for the show like true media professionals. I for one believe Jonathan would have made a fantastic physician, but I’m not sure I’ve met anyone in medicine with the breadth of knowledge as these guys. I fear medicine might have beaten out his worldly curiosity as it does to many. While Sonny is clearly mistaken about the Wire, his piece in the latest issue of the magazine is phenomenal. The Wire is the best TV show ever. It will endure. As Lester Freamon famously said, “A life, Jimmy, you know what that is? It’s the sh*t that happens while you’re waiting for moments that never come.” These guys seem to be living life as we all should.

CALLING ALL SONNY BUNCH FANBOYS

by Joe29Smoe on Mar 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sonny is like my Beyonce: whenever I hear one of his bitter yet sassy retorts, I mutter "slay queen!" under my breath while on my morning commute.

Funnier than Netflix comedy special

by mstfl22 on Mar 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Question - is Substandard funnier than listening to Jerry Seinfeld do old standup routines on Netflix? Yes - unquestionably (although in fairness Jerry’s jokes were old). Just essentially binge listened to Substandard podcasts on long drive through Fla. Panhandle. I don’t who know how anyone thought listening to these three guys - plus Gene Shalit - essentially MST3k the culture would work but by God does it ever. Vic is the glue. Listen to the one without him if you doubt it. Why would anyone bother with The Remnant with this out there?

The Substandard Reigns Supreme

by Arthur Fortune on Feb 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the Weekly Substandard like I love Fresca. It’s everywhere you wanna be.

Priemier Podcast of the Neocon Alt-Right

by obiwanheifner on Feb 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I imagine this is exactily what it sounded like back in the day at City College of New York.

Almost as good as The Remnant

by JR20081985 on Feb 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

While this podcast is not quite as good as The Remnant, at least I don’t have to listen to Jonah telling me to use his stupid “Dingo” discount code at all the sponsors. Man I hate the way he says dingo. Ding-goh. Ding-goh. Enough already!

Sometimes funny, often hilarious

by Fuzzypooptoes on Feb 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Best Gene Shalit ever this week. I always look forward to this podcast. It's fun to see how far off into the weeds the boys go each week. This must NEVER end.

I'm just here for the movie hot-takes

by PLNUPotter on Feb 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm sure it's fine...

Geeeeeene!

by MissGOP on Feb 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have no idea if these three are actually friends in real life but this podcast does a great job creating at least a simulacrum of the fundamentally antagonistic and rivalrous nature of friendship in middle age. It’s like an Americanized version of the “The Trip” series, but they only do one impression.

A fantastic collection of inisghtful funny critics

by Hemevubal on Feb 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A little light on politics but highly addictive and funny. JV is just so pompous but oh so willing to play the fool and Sonny so obstinate not to he winds up playing the fool anyways. Vic is the rock that holds it together and lovely Hannah makes it just fine.

Tennis episode

by bpernerewski on Feb 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I promised a five-star rating for a full episode about tennis. I'll take a micro episode.

Live from vegas

by Irishwv on Feb 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The very prospect of a live show from vegas gives me hope.

You wonder how you got to this place

by Scraptoria on Jan 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is like having to babysit the little brother you never wanted and the dorky friends you’re not surprised that he has while they put together LEGO’s and quote every movie you ever hated in your entire life. And when they start trying to break into your parents’ liquor cabinet you wonder what decisions lead you to this God-forsaken time in your life.

Dudes Chatting

by Nel98029 on Jan 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

👍

The Superior Podcast

by JSMroz - South Jersey on Jan 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If you have yet to listen to this podcast, you are in for a real treat. Assembled here is a trio of the finest minds in conservative political pop-culture (it's a thing). Whether your interests are in box office performance, 1980's childhood, or garbage trends in our culture the Substandard proves to be a master class on the pulse of conservative political pop-culture (it's a thing). You will be regaled with stories of South Jersey life, Washington traffic, the wild adventures of child rearing, WWF history, Star Wars toys, as well as home improvement and woodworking. The product of this trio (w/ special appearances by the great Gene Shalit) makes all other competing podcast inferior by default.

Weekly Sub-Standard

by Gobbly Dragon on Jan 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Pop culture and life discussed by intelligent people with sophisticated humor and analysis. Not a hipster or poseur to be found.

Movie reviews

by Be a Triz on Jan 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

What is wrong with you guys? Daniel Day Lewis is Great, to say his acting is mannered is like saying you guys are Relevant . I like a bunches Twitter because He talks about things like coconut, which I love, Daniel Day Lewis is the best actor of the last 25 years.

Best podcast

by Bill3131222 on Jan 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the one podcast I never miss. Great for people into movies and entertaining conversation :)

I’m sure it’s fine

by Ash Lukis on Jan 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

My husband refuses to listen to the Substandard because JVL always sounds like he’s chewing something. But in the latest episode, JVL scolded Sonny for eating Nerds near the microphone, and now it feels like we are really through the looking glass. Anyways, great podcast, glad Vic is back, like 9/10 even if you aren’t into movies but are into dudes chattin’.

Coconuts

by Akman003 on Jan 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I just listened to these argue about coconuts for 9 straight minutes. Both sides had great arguments and by the end of it I felt like I had learned something. I can’t really describe what I learned but it was definitely something.

The one with Bright

by LMM1234 on Jan 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

This was an excellent podcast to help me get to sleep on an intercontinental flight. Not sure if the ever got to the point, but it’s droning on helped to lull me to a wonderful slumber.

It's no "The Remnant with Jonah Goldberg"

by ChadHudson on Jan 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

But it's still ok. If Vic leaves, this goes to one star immediately.

Funny and insightful

by ScoobRex on Jan 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Funny and insightful!

Great if you are dying

by Adam Quincy on Jan 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If I only had 24 hours to live I would listen to this podcast because waiting for them to get to the point would feel like forever.