Average rating:

5
out of 729 ratings.

I love this podcast

by Kevin Reiss on Oct 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

But please, no more ad reads from Sonny.

Life changing

by CleanLyrics on Oct 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

JVL once taught me how to properly load a dishwasher on Twitter. Ever since my life has never been the same... as I constantly find myself frustrated with my family who refuses to learn how to load the dishwasher properly.

Very cool.

by Justin Sayun on Oct 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Second only to The Nerd Crew as the greatest of geek culture podcasts.

Great when it actually gets going

by Willthefrench on Oct 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Love the right-wing pop culture banter. And those dudes are actually funny. The one downside is the interminable “personal” discussion that opens every episode. In the words of Dennis Nedry, “no one cares”!

Best Pop Culture podcast around

by ScottS72 on Oct 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Hands down, this is the best pop culture podcast I've ever listened to. Insightful, funny, clever, and self-depricating. Love it; new episodes always move straight to the top of my to-listen list.

Nope.

by tribbquantro on Oct 07, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I heard one of guys on this podcast on Jonah Goldbergs show, and on that show he had some pretty interesting takes on The Wire and Star Wars and so I downloaded this podcast to give it a try. I saw an episode which in the description said it was covering Dunkirk and Christopher Nolan, one of my favorite movies of one of my favorite directors so I thought "Ok! great, I will hear some good takes on Dunkirk and Christopher Nolan." I am now 23 minutes into this 1 hr episode which, again, in its description is supposed to be covering the movie Dunkirk and here is a list of topics which have been discussed so far:- One of the guys recent trip to Southern California- How he noticed a lot of Tesla's in Southern California- How Tesla is run on government subsidies- How Elon Musk needs a prenup- All talking over each other, the guys reminisce about Eddie Murphy's Raw- Rodney Dangerfield videos on Youtube- One of the guys discovered the TV show Game of Thrones- All 3 guys, again still talking over each other, make their predictions for Game of Thrones- How Linda Hamilton left James Cameron for her Terminator stunt double- One of the guys asks another guy how his weekend was!- The other guy says he took his kids to a minor league baseball game! I had to sit down at this point in the podcast!- The gang takes a break for a live ad read, because lets face it, they deserve to get paid for this gripping content they are putting out- Back to the action: one of the guys doesn't like going to the beach :(- But he really likes Alaska Airlines :)- He doesn't like the outdoors in general, he would prefer staying inside his whole life :/And here is an incomplete list of topics NOT covered in the first 23 minutes of this podcast, which again is supposed to cover the film Dunkirk and the director Christopher Nolan:- Dunkirk- Christopher Nolan- Any other Nolan movies- The battle of Dunkirk itself- A word rhyming with DunkirkMaybe they got the description of the Podcast wrong? Maybe its not supposed to be about Dunkirk? Maybe instead the description was supposed to have read: "3 guys, who all kinda have the same voice so they are hard to tell apart, often talking over each other so as to further confuse the audience, flitter aimlessly from one random topic to the next without any underlying conversational narrative, direction, or purpose, like a group of ADHD diagnosed schoolgirls whose medications were replaced with sugar and caffeine pills."

Georgetown

by NPAdams on Oct 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I don’t know why JVL gets so worked up about the formerly Catholic Georgetown University every time it comes up. I go to a different Jesuit university that’s like 3/4 as bad as Georgetown is. I can’t imagine what it’d be like at Hoya nation... they’d probably call me a Pharisees or closeminded for you know being Catholic, at a Jesuit School. So don’t worry JVL that you didn’t go to Georgetown if you did you might have become the worst thing ever a folk-mass going, hand holding during the Our Father, hippy dippy modernist. Or worst one of those annoying people who always talk about how they “used to be Catholic” the Jesuits seem to have a knack at doing that.

Amazing show! Hoya Saxa from Israel!

by Eytan Gittler on Oct 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been listening to this show for more than a year and absolutely love it! My roommate told me about this nerd podcast the summer after my junior year at Georgetown (Hoya Saxa!). I started listening religiously during my senior year and it didn't take me long to catch up on old episodes. I recently graduated and moved to Israel, but I still look forward to listening in every Thursday. Looking forward to another year full of pop-culture, booze, and references to my old home on the Hilltop!

JVL is such a poser

by jthoya on Sep 28, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Claims to be a Tolkien fan but can’t pronounce “Silmarillion.”

Peppermint?

by J4meson on Sep 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

why would you review peppermint??? Nobody cares about that movie

You will hate them, then you will love them.

by Hemevubal on Sep 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sonny Bunch is a self-righteous snob. Victorinox Mattus is a lecherous rogue and JV Last is simply nuts about dishwashers, watches and Legos. I hated them when I first heard them and also could not stop listening. Their oversized persnickety personas hide deeply perceptive insights into the popular culture especially if you are not completely comfortable with the near universal leftist perspective of much of rest of the culture websites and podcasts out there. You will not agree with everything they say. I myself pray that they will finally see the light of greatness of The Last Jedi. But their arguments are well reasoned and you will be entertained even while you disagree with them.

Learned to love this show

by Robert Henry Holtz on Sep 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This show has really grown on me as I got to know the personalities. Now I look forward to their weekly banter and running jokes. Fun and easy listen with lots of film and culture information. Highly recommend. GEEEENNNNE!

Best movie reviews...

by Dbdog on Aug 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

...when they eventually get to them. Banter preceding reviews is often tolerable.

The best

by laceltris on Aug 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is so much more than 3 highly entertaining dudes chatting. It has introduced me to the artistry of Layer Cake and the refreshing sip of Schofferhofer. This podcast moves product. It is the only podcast for which eagerly anticipate new episodes, and I went back to listen to the early episodes I missed. I laugh out loud every time.

A really great time

by AustinLFC on Aug 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It is just a really good time.

Entertaining & interesting

by Goddesslibrarian on Aug 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m recovering from PRK eye surgery & cannot see very well. The first day I sat in a dark room, unable to open my eyes, doing nothing. The second day I used Siri to find this podcast (knowing JV Last from twitter). This podcast got me through days of darkness. I can barely see to write this review & hope autocorrect is helping me, but I had to try. These 3 guys are highly entertaining & well worth subscribing to.Edited now that I can see better—even though I don’t need to spend hours in bed anymore, I am still doing it so i can catch up on older episodes.

I’m sure it’s fine

by Motion City Soundtrack Lover on Aug 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m sure it’s fine

Recommended, unreservedly

by Neal Dewing on Aug 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is my primary source of news. The news is all about how the hosts spent their weekends, which is precisely how much news I want.Good pacing, consistent level of energy throughout, excellent production quality. I love the spirit of the week segment too. Please keep up the good work, including the dirty jokes and anatomical references.

Funny and informative

by badbadbruin on Aug 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

... and has real intro music, as opposed to that elevator swill on The Remnant

Love

by Trexasaurus14 on Jul 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love you guys, very professional and hilarious. Loved you guys took the side of free expression while still not coming to Gunn’s aid as well as calling out the Ben Shapiro hate. Keep it up!!!

Hilarious

by Sharon Herbitter on Jul 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I don’t go to the movies. Like ever. And these guys spend about half the podcast talking about movies. But this podcast makes me laugh out loud every single time — I never miss it.

Are Sonny and JVL are the same person?

by ShekiPete on Jul 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Because to my ear they sound EXACTLY alike on this pod! You're still hilarious, man. You too, Vic/ Gene. Four voices from two people. Amazing. Keep up the good work, boys.

Less about you

by Gnarmac on Jun 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Enjoy the commentary on pop culture but could do without the personal stories. A little of that stuff goes a long way.

Bizarre, but fun

by TooMuchApplesauce on Jun 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

My favorite part is when Vic discusses his digestive problems.

I hate to do this!

by Bower75 on Jun 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sonny is right on something. White chocolate is the best chocolate by far! The rest is TRASH.More Gene!!

The Best

by Paul Computer on Jun 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Easily the finest produced and executed podcast on the pop culture. Always worth listening to on Tuesday and Thursday....plus Gene Shalit movie reviews!

Simply Fabulous

by The_Original_Gib on Jun 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

These three guys are funny, smart, and very witty. There are enough opinions on the show so you will agree with at least one of them. Almost no politics (only where it effects the movie, tv show or other discussion points). You will hear about JVL's Lego obsession, his watch obsession, etc. Sonny will ask lots of the same questions the listener has, and Vic just continues being professional. There is a TWSSEU on Twitter a group of super fans that are totally devoted to the show and apparently do not have real lives.

A Necessary Addition

by deitylost123 on May 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The podcast is great and delivers every time. The perspectives brought to the table are insightful and necessary to break down the issues of the day. The time dedicated to what is being discussed during each episode provides the listener a space to gain a reasonable covenant with the presenter that what they are hearing is the truth. Download this podcast today and your life will be all the better for it!

great pods

by jsladder on May 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Pleasant and fun and funny from the opening to the end.

Fun, and slightly insane

by SandbagSix on May 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast has become my guilty pleasure. Three minivan-dad bros talk pop culture and politics while trawling for free hooch, probably sitting in their basements in just their underwear. Totally lives up to its name. You should subscribe right now. Not as good as The Remnant, of course, but this scratches a totally different itch for me.

Hilarious!

by Junction24 on May 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Can’t wait to listen every week.

10/10 Best Podcast

by CrowleyFD on Apr 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If you haven't listened to this podcast, you should. iTunes only allows a five-star rating system, but it deserves 10/10 just for consistency. I highly recommend the Blade Runner and Harvey Weinstein episode. Best opening so far.I'm caught up on all the most recent episodes, but for the last few weeks (almost every day) I've listened to this podcast to catch up. It's been a great experience. – Christopher Elliott

I look forward to Thursday’s

by @Tracelator on Apr 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Observational humor tied to movies. I’ve learned a ton and it’s sent me back to watch older movies that I had missed or misremembered. The Gene Shalit reviews are a particular highlight as are Sonny’s lists and the general misanthropy.

The best pop culture podcast, period!

by zrhlaw on Apr 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast! Contrary to the subtitle, it is not just for nerds. It is for everyone! The hosts are hilarious, and their reviews are thoughtful and funny. They always make me laugh!

The only good podcast.

by Roob#rekt on Apr 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sonny Bunch is to the Devil’s Dictionary what Jesus is to the Bible: word made flesh. (You, like your admirers, think too highly of your opinions, but that’s not unusual for seasoned cynics.)Vic, you’re my hero. Never change. If more people were like you, the world would be a worse but more interesting place. JVL, you’re the fresh and cool spring of sanity, like a Schöfferhofer Weizen on a hot day.

They get me

by Macholley on Apr 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

You know you are in good company when someone lays down an Arrested Development quote, the icing on the cake was the micro-episode on The Americans.

Love this podcast!

by SrjG on Apr 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I can’t get enough and have been binge listening!

Awesome Podcast

by Swenny37 on Mar 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I would say that this is a great podcast. Sonny is always right and JVL has the best laugh. Vic's Gene Shalit impression is awesome! Dudes chattin!

"The Wire" of podcasts

by Irwin M Fletcher, esq on Mar 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

On the surface it may seem this is Seinfeld style conversation about nothing. Listen closely, and you will find the wittiest, most endearing, funniest podcast going. Every week they find an everyday topic to discuss. No rank punditry. No elitist condescension. Just an insane depth of knowledge about seemingly random topics keeps it interesting. They have no pretense about admitting failure or shortcomings. If I were part to Georgetown admissions committee, it would be my biggest regret we did not admit young Jonathan to our school. I routinely find myself laughing out loud in the car or more embarrassingly in the middle of the airport. These episodes are easily the highlight of the week’s entertainment. For a bonus, Vic does the best transitions in the podcast world, and it isn’t even close. I’m sure all three of them have real job responsibilities, and yet they continue to prepare for the show like true media professionals. I for one believe Jonathan would have made a fantastic physician, but I’m not sure I’ve met anyone in medicine with the breadth of knowledge as these guys. I fear medicine might have beaten out his worldly curiosity as it does to many. While Sonny is clearly mistaken about the Wire, his piece in the latest issue of the magazine is phenomenal. The Wire is the best TV show ever. It will endure. As Lester Freamon famously said, “A life, Jimmy, you know what that is? It’s the sh*t that happens while you’re waiting for moments that never come.” These guys seem to be living life as we all should.

CALLING ALL SONNY BUNCH FANBOYS

by Joe29Smoe on Mar 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sonny is like my Beyonce: whenever I hear one of his bitter yet sassy retorts, I mutter "slay queen!" under my breath while on my morning commute.

Funnier than Netflix comedy special

by mstfl22 on Mar 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Question - is Substandard funnier than listening to Jerry Seinfeld do old standup routines on Netflix? Yes - unquestionably (although in fairness Jerry’s jokes were old). Just essentially binge listened to Substandard podcasts on long drive through Fla. Panhandle. I don’t who know how anyone thought listening to these three guys - plus Gene Shalit - essentially MST3k the culture would work but by God does it ever. Vic is the glue. Listen to the one without him if you doubt it. Why would anyone bother with The Remnant with this out there?

The Substandard Reigns Supreme

by Arthur Fortune on Feb 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the Weekly Substandard like I love Fresca. It’s everywhere you wanna be.

Priemier Podcast of the Neocon Alt-Right

by obiwanheifner on Feb 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I imagine this is exactily what it sounded like back in the day at City College of New York.

Almost as good as The Remnant

by JR20081985 on Feb 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

While this podcast is not quite as good as The Remnant, at least I don’t have to listen to Jonah telling me to use his stupid “Dingo” discount code at all the sponsors. Man I hate the way he says dingo. Ding-goh. Ding-goh. Enough already!

Sometimes funny, often hilarious

by Fuzzypooptoes on Feb 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Best Gene Shalit ever this week. I always look forward to this podcast. It's fun to see how far off into the weeds the boys go each week. This must NEVER end.

I'm just here for the movie hot-takes

by PLNUPotter on Feb 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm sure it's fine...

Geeeeeene!

by MissGOP on Feb 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have no idea if these three are actually friends in real life but this podcast does a great job creating at least a simulacrum of the fundamentally antagonistic and rivalrous nature of friendship in middle age. It’s like an Americanized version of the “The Trip” series, but they only do one impression.

Tennis episode

by bpernerewski on Feb 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I promised a five-star rating for a full episode about tennis. I'll take a micro episode.

Live from vegas

by Irishwv on Feb 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The very prospect of a live show from vegas gives me hope.

You wonder how you got to this place

by Scraptoria on Jan 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is like having to babysit the little brother you never wanted and the dorky friends you’re not surprised that he has while they put together LEGO’s and quote every movie you ever hated in your entire life. And when they start trying to break into your parents’ liquor cabinet you wonder what decisions lead you to this God-forsaken time in your life.