Average rating:

5
out of 626 ratings.

Hilarious!

by Junction24 on May 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Can’t wait to listen every week.

Great Podcast

by AustinLFC on Apr 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Funny, informative, interesting, and sometimes controversial. All the marks of a really great podcast.

10/10 Best Podcast

by CrowleyFD on Apr 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If you haven't listened to this podcast, you should. iTunes only allows a five-star rating system, but it deserves 10/10 just for consistency. I highly recommend the Blade Runner and Harvey Weinstein episode. Best opening so far.I'm caught up on all the most recent episodes, but for the last few weeks (almost every day) I've listened to this podcast to catch up. It's been a great experience. – Christopher Elliott

I look forward to Thursday’s

by @Tracelator on Apr 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Observational humor tied to movies. I’ve learned a ton and it’s sent me back to watch older movies that I had missed or misremembered. The Gene Shalit reviews are a particular highlight as are Sonny’s lists and the general misanthropy.

The best pop culture podcast, period!

by zrhlaw on Apr 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast! Contrary to the subtitle, it is not just for nerds. It is for everyone! The hosts are hilarious, and their reviews are thoughtful and funny. They always make me laugh!

The only good podcast.

by Roob#rekt on Apr 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sonny Bunch is to the Devil’s Dictionary what Jesus is to the Bible: word made flesh. (You, like your admirers, think too highly of your opinions, but that’s not unusual for seasoned cynics.)Vic, you’re my hero. Never change. If more people were like you, the world would be a worse but more interesting place. JVL, you’re the fresh and cool spring of sanity, like a Schöfferhofer Weizen on a hot day.

They get me

by Macholley on Apr 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

You know you are in good company when someone lays down an Arrested Development quote, the icing on the cake was the micro-episode on The Americans.

Love this podcast!

by SrjG on Apr 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I can’t get enough and have been binge listening!

Awesome Podcast

by Swenny37 on Mar 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I would say that this is a great podcast. Sonny is always right and JVL has the best laugh. Vic's Gene Shalit impression is awesome! Dudes chattin!

"The Wire" of podcasts

by Irwin M Fletcher, esq on Mar 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

On the surface it may seem this is Seinfeld style conversation about nothing. Listen closely, and you will find the wittiest, most endearing, funniest podcast going. Every week they find an everyday topic to discuss. No rank punditry. No elitist condescension. Just an insane depth of knowledge about seemingly random topics keeps it interesting. They have no pretense about admitting failure or shortcomings. If I were part to Georgetown admissions committee, it would be my biggest regret we did not admit young Jonathan to our school. I routinely find myself laughing out loud in the car or more embarrassingly in the middle of the airport. These episodes are easily the highlight of the week’s entertainment. For a bonus, Vic does the best transitions in the podcast world, and it isn’t even close. I’m sure all three of them have real job responsibilities, and yet they continue to prepare for the show like true media professionals. I for one believe Jonathan would have made a fantastic physician, but I’m not sure I’ve met anyone in medicine with the breadth of knowledge as these guys. I fear medicine might have beaten out his worldly curiosity as it does to many. While Sonny is clearly mistaken about the Wire, his piece in the latest issue of the magazine is phenomenal. The Wire is the best TV show ever. It will endure. As Lester Freamon famously said, “A life, Jimmy, you know what that is? It’s the sh*t that happens while you’re waiting for moments that never come.” These guys seem to be living life as we all should.

CALLING ALL SONNY BUNCH FANBOYS

by Joe29Smoe on Mar 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sonny is like my Beyonce: whenever I hear one of his bitter yet sassy retorts, I mutter "slay queen!" under my breath while on my morning commute.

Funnier than Netflix comedy special

by mstfl22 on Mar 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Question - is Substandard funnier than listening to Jerry Seinfeld do old standup routines on Netflix? Yes - unquestionably (although in fairness Jerry’s jokes were old). Just essentially binge listened to Substandard podcasts on long drive through Fla. Panhandle. I don’t who know how anyone thought listening to these three guys - plus Gene Shalit - essentially MST3k the culture would work but by God does it ever. Vic is the glue. Listen to the one without him if you doubt it. Why would anyone bother with The Remnant with this out there?

The Substandard Reigns Supreme

by Arthur Fortune on Feb 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the Weekly Substandard like I love Fresca. It’s everywhere you wanna be.

Priemier Podcast of the Neocon Alt-Right

by obiwanheifner on Feb 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I imagine this is exactily what it sounded like back in the day at City College of New York.

Almost as good as The Remnant

by JR20081985 on Feb 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

While this podcast is not quite as good as The Remnant, at least I don’t have to listen to Jonah telling me to use his stupid “Dingo” discount code at all the sponsors. Man I hate the way he says dingo. Ding-goh. Ding-goh. Enough already!

Sometimes funny, often hilarious

by Fuzzypooptoes on Feb 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Best Gene Shalit ever this week. I always look forward to this podcast. It's fun to see how far off into the weeds the boys go each week. This must NEVER end.

I'm just here for the movie hot-takes

by PLNUPotter on Feb 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm sure it's fine...

Geeeeeene!

by MissGOP on Feb 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have no idea if these three are actually friends in real life but this podcast does a great job creating at least a simulacrum of the fundamentally antagonistic and rivalrous nature of friendship in middle age. It’s like an Americanized version of the “The Trip” series, but they only do one impression.

Mr. plinkett

by Trexasaurus14 on Feb 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Loved you guys for a while, loved redlettermedia forever. Instantly was required to review you guys because of the reference. P.s. how do I get a job with you guys, I’m an aspiring journalist/movie critic?

A fantastic collection of inisghtful funny critics

by Hemevubal on Feb 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A little light on politics but highly addictive and funny. JV is just so pompous but oh so willing to play the fool and Sonny so obstinate not to he winds up playing the fool anyways. Vic is the rock that holds it together and lovely Hannah makes it just fine.

Tennis episode

by bpernerewski on Feb 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I promised a five-star rating for a full episode about tennis. I'll take a micro episode.

Live from vegas

by Irishwv on Feb 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The very prospect of a live show from vegas gives me hope.

You wonder how you got to this place

by Scraptoria on Jan 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is like having to babysit the little brother you never wanted and the dorky friends you’re not surprised that he has while they put together LEGO’s and quote every movie you ever hated in your entire life. And when they start trying to break into your parents’ liquor cabinet you wonder what decisions lead you to this God-forsaken time in your life.

Dudes Chatting

by Nel98029 on Jan 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

👍

The Superior Podcast

by JSMroz - South Jersey on Jan 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If you have yet to listen to this podcast, you are in for a real treat. Assembled here is a trio of the finest minds in conservative political pop-culture (it's a thing). Whether your interests are in box office performance, 1980's childhood, or garbage trends in our culture the Substandard proves to be a master class on the pulse of conservative political pop-culture (it's a thing). You will be regaled with stories of South Jersey life, Washington traffic, the wild adventures of child rearing, WWF history, Star Wars toys, as well as home improvement and woodworking. The product of this trio (w/ special appearances by the great Gene Shalit) makes all other competing podcast inferior by default.

Weekly Sub-Standard

by Gobbly Dragon on Jan 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Pop culture and life discussed by intelligent people with sophisticated humor and analysis. Not a hipster or poseur to be found.

Movie reviews

by Be a Triz on Jan 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

What is wrong with you guys? Daniel Day Lewis is Great, to say his acting is mannered is like saying you guys are Relevant . I like a bunches Twitter because He talks about things like coconut, which I love, Daniel Day Lewis is the best actor of the last 25 years.

Best podcast

by Bill3131222 on Jan 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the one podcast I never miss. Great for people into movies and entertaining conversation :)

I’m sure it’s fine

by Ash Lukis on Jan 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

My husband refuses to listen to the Substandard because JVL always sounds like he’s chewing something. But in the latest episode, JVL scolded Sonny for eating Nerds near the microphone, and now it feels like we are really through the looking glass. Anyways, great podcast, glad Vic is back, like 9/10 even if you aren’t into movies but are into dudes chattin’.

Coconuts

by Akman003 on Jan 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I just listened to these argue about coconuts for 9 straight minutes. Both sides had great arguments and by the end of it I felt like I had learned something. I can’t really describe what I learned but it was definitely something.

The one with Bright

by LMM1234 on Jan 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

This was an excellent podcast to help me get to sleep on an intercontinental flight. Not sure if the ever got to the point, but it’s droning on helped to lull me to a wonderful slumber.

It's no "The Remnant with Jonah Goldberg"

by ChadHudson on Jan 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

But it's still ok. If Vic leaves, this goes to one star immediately.

Funny and insightful

by ScoobRex on Jan 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Funny and insightful!

Great if you are dying

by Adam Quincy on Jan 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If I only had 24 hours to live I would listen to this podcast because waiting for them to get to the point would feel like forever.

Even a 14 year likes it!

by SirAzog on Jan 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoy listening to this podcast. There are some great jokes, and it's great to learn about new movies. All the negativity about some of the movies is enjoyable, because I agree with a lot of it. I just wish every week wasn't the "last' episode.

Come back Vic!

by trixdean on Jan 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I found this podcast 3 months ago. If i'd have known THEN that I was living on borrowed Vic time, i'd have tried to not get so attached. Love that you guys don't talk politics, but instead sound like pals hanging at a bar discussing pop culture way too seriously. i never thought a discussion about watches could make me laugh out loud in my car, but from the bathtub incident to the "Question!" episode, you guys seriously made my long road trip a joy. Thank you!And don't let Jonah get you down. I don't see how he can throw stones at a mere 10 minutes of china buffet talk when i had to listen to 65 minutes of him explaining what the "neo" in neocon really means.

Not as good as The Remnant

by Steven O. Payne on Jan 08, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I tried to give this podcast a chance, but these men are not as good as Jonah Goldberg. God have mercy on their souls.

Just some guys talking.

by dingdong128 on Jan 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the show. Vacillates between trolling, insightful mundane, and arguing. But always brilliantly. It’s the first to listen to of all my podcasts. Highly recommend. Thanks Vic, Sonny, and JVL. Come back Vic! .......Crickets....... Noooooo!

Dudes chattin'

by Jlbjlbjlbjlbjlbjlb on Jan 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The absolute best dudes chattin'.Please don't leave us Vic.

This show needs to keep four people.

by JN G on Jan 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Look, I love the sardonic ravings of JVL and Sonny (they’re each versions of myself, on fire), but the show will lose its well rounded stickiness if Vic and Gene leave. I didn’t even know Shalit was still doing radio, let alone a weekly podcast. Wikipedia says he retired in 2010. If Vic departs the Substandard it will be reduced to a slightly more informed version of me arguing with myself, or on less pathetic days with my brother. Imagine a grown man with multiple children never getting a reprieve from his own mind. Never getting to hear the anachronistic puns of Gene Shalit. That’s not just a recipe for a bad parent, that’s a bag of human garbage. How are we going to know how right Sonny is without Vic? How are we going to know the weird and off-putting locales from JVL’s childhood are in fact real places without Vic? How will we know how our late father would’ve wanted to describe a modern movie without Gene?I will re-rate this show if Vic and Gene leave, and it will not be the 5 star rating this show deserves. Because a Sonny-JVL duo will be all too familiar, I will rate the show somewhere around where I evaluate myself (2 stars, with an occasional Starbucks high of 3 that inevitably crashes to a 1).#KeepVicandGeneHome

I resolved to review this

by Chav Jonah on Jan 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

New Year’s resolution made and New Year’s resolution kept.

Smart and funny

by listener33 on Dec 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Just listened for the first time and loved it. Their review of The Last Jedi was insightful and hilarious! This podcast is now at the top of my weekly podcast listening with Pardon My Take, Bill Simmons, and Bill Burr.

More Sonny please

by Disco Dan sir on Dec 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I just wish the other guys would let Sonny be Sonny. He's the pundit we deserve. A Dark Knight.

Love it!

by Lmak777 on Dec 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My husband has been a long time fan and has finally convinced me to listen to your podcast. I am drinking the Kool-Aid! Really enjoy your podcast! My only suggestion would be to level out your guys audio. I am constantly having to adjust the volume depending on who speaking.

Always entertaining

by Erin in Greenwich on Dec 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love these guys, this is my favorite podcast. Hope you will continue!

It's Great

by JosePluma on Dec 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Almost as good as The Remnant

Stuff I don't care about talked about by people I like to listen to anyways

by .Dennis on Dec 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The movie talk is good, and I've listened attentively to Woodshop Updates, but I gotta say, there's way too much focus on offbrand legos. Nonetheless, I'll listen to these guys talk about it because it's still good.Lego Millenium Falcon Ultimate Homewrecker Edition makes me lol every time I think about it.Also, 2/3s of them have good taste in adult beverages.

A show with everything but Gene Shalit

by pa_nihill on Dec 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Essentially it's Top Gear if Top Gear were a pop-culture podcast. Whether that's a good thing or a bad thing is up to you.

Pretty good

by The apparatchik on Dec 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Really funny and entertaining despite Victor Matus, Jonathan Last, and Sonny Bunch being on the show

Listen if just for Gene Shalit

by mseanb on Dec 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great movie reviews (esp. the occasonal appearance of Gene Shalit), interesting (but sometimes wrong) takes on pop culture, and a nice diversion from the politics that I usually listen to. Well done, even by the token millennial.