Average rating:

5
out of 771 ratings.

A favorite

by Pneumalight on Aug 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I found out about this podcast from an add in Google Play Music. I'm glad I did. I won't lie, it is disturbing. There are details and dramatization that were difficult to listen to sometimes. However, the subject is fascinating to me; the score is excellent, the acting is done well; the narrator, Portland, has a perfect broadcasting voice; and the whole investigation and editing of the episodes is highly professional. Looking forward to the next season!

Eye Opening

by KatriceE on Aug 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I never knew about this event in history, it's a scary reminder for women of all ages to listen to your instincts and keep your guard up! Great job!

Binge Worthy

by Erdoll360 on Aug 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast was simply amazing. I listened to all 12 episodes in less than 1 week. Great production quality, fascinating topic, well researched and great narration.

I'm hooked

by Loramomma on Aug 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Actually holds my attention. I'm binge listening.

I'm hooked!

by Samina11 on Aug 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm already halfway through and only started yesterday. Really good! Helps with my long commute

Fantastic job. Mesmerizing. Gripping.

by Amaranthinemoxie on Aug 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One of the best podcasts ever.

I really like it!

by AmylovesCharlie on Jul 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Always interesting

Captivating!

by ChellzT on Jul 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is an excellent podcast. It had me sucked in one the first episode and I couldn't stop listening. Very well put together and told a wonderful story. I think it helped shed some light on the forgotten cases and told the side of a story people didn't know.

Very griping

by Gena gena on Jul 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If it were a book it would be a page turner. The story kept me want to listen non stop. I liked the format of the producers and writers etc. Was not the annoying type of pod cast where you get two people talking over each other. I enjoyed it.

Excellent podcast... until episode 12.

by GrimstoneGrizzly on Jul 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Excellent podcast... until the last episode. 11 out of 12 episodes stick to the facts while episode 12 was mostly just feminist opinion. Many takes on theories and possible suspects while still sticking to reality.

Fascinating

by KGHewitt on Jul 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is absolutely fascinating. The story is well told and keeps you on the edge of your seat, and the production is of the highest quality. If you are a true crime lover like myself, you will love this podcast! Can not recommend enough.

Excellent

by Guinmurph on Jul 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Loved the stories

Two thumbs up!

by Dfperrone on Jul 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I never thought the Boston Stranglers were interesting, but now I'm hooked! Great podcast and well done!

I'm Hooked!!

by Lindseyjoell on Jul 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

In the middle of a podcast binge at the moment, Stranglers is fantastic!! Highy recommend it!!

Addicted

by JazzieP 7 on Jul 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Seriously cannot stop listening!

Great podcast

by NUPT1995 on Jul 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a really well done podcast that keeps you wanting more information. It treats the victims with respect and dignity and does a really great job capturing all the dimensions of this case.

True Crime

by smurkk2 on Jul 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Good true crime podcast. The narrator gives factual information with a bit of storytelling.

Gripping!

by kahtron on Jul 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Fascinating and you won't want it to end

Excellent True Crime Podcast

by soccersweety186 on Jul 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great reporting and story-telling. This is a must-listen!

Hooked!!

by Winkyboooody on Jul 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Loved the series so much, listened to it in a day. If you're into true crime, give it a listen!!!

Love this show!

by LM_per on Jun 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I hadn't heard of these murders in the past and I really liked how the show was put together!

Wonderful narration and social tie ins to today

by Mollytsunami on Jun 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Enthralling mystery, superb investigation and beautiful narration. This podcast has it all with the bonus inclusion of how these murders shaped a generation of women and continue to push people to seek the truth and never settle for an easy confession.

❤️

by Commandmints on Jun 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The best.

Fascinating

by cherylg1970 on Jun 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is so nicely done. It leaves you wanting more and presents so much history. So much that I didn't know about the Boston Strangler. Portland is also a wonderful narrator. Can't wait to hear what else they do after this.

Fantastic

by Eileenface on Jun 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Really well done podcast. Portland Helmich does an amazing job. Extremely interesting details. Never thought there would be a plot twist toward the end! As someone who didn't know too much about these cases, this was intriguing to listen to. I highly recommend. Can't wait to hear what story they tell next.

Chokes Me Up

by LovelyLola75 on Jun 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast was awesome... Just wish there were more!!

Gripping

by LauraB123akaUnit on Jun 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is graphic but very gripping. I was hooked and I don't usually like stuff like this. Well written documentary of this horrible series of crimes.

Stranglers.

by Cee6534885 on Jun 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast!

Awesome!

by TayFort on May 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Such a well done podcast! Loved it!

Fantastic (American Studies Podcast Group 2017)

by Flubbin nuts on May 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

We hadn't ever really listened to podcasts before this and we don't know why. This was great! The conglomeration of actual audio recordings, voice actors, and evidence from the cases made this an extremely cool podcast. Some of the audio seemed overused in transitions but besides that it was great. Before listening, we had heard of the Boston Strangler but we never really knew what had happened, and boy, was it quite a shock! The story telling was gripping and informational and it made it feel like we were part of the investigations and interviews. This was a great podcast with twists and turns and you will not be able to stop listening.

Amazing

by Greg Dean on May 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Slick! Well done and engaging! I don't like podcasts that have too much production/actors but this one is different. The sound effects/actors do not distract from the narrative. I wish there were more productions like this.

Excellent podcast

by ABoatw on May 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Well researched, presented, and produced! Very interesting and compelling!

Excellent history...

by mauoijenn on May 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoyed this podcast and all the history, plus archival audio that they had. I was hooked after the first episode. KUDOS!!

Excellent re-telling of the Boston Strangler(s) case

by JackFunk21 on May 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I am a true crime history buff, and have read extensively on the Boston Strangler(s) case. I also live in Massachusetts, so this podcast hits home in more ways than one. Excellent narration and production, and employs a good mix of archival recordings. Just so well done!

Brilliant!

by rdelrossi on May 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Really well-done podcast recounts the true events of Boston's strangler in the early 1960s. Edge-of-your-seat listening.

Off the beaten path for EarWolf but nonetheless an excellent production

by tyrannosaurus_j on May 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Not what I expected from the home of Bob Duca's absurd ailments and Bobby Bottleservice's profound "no disrespect but I don't respect you." but 7 episodes into Stranglers and I'm hooked. This is a fantastic production the examines this case with considerable detail. Interviews, and reenactments are presented seamlessly, the narration is well written and informative.

So much more than a true crime story

by Bearly0506 on May 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My initial reason for listening to Stranglers was an attempt to understand why someone becomes a monster. But as I listened something else became paramount - the never ending vigilance women must maintain for their own safety. While it is true our awareness of this reality has increased, women are still - and maybe more than ever - living in fear. This podcast should be required listening for all boys! They need to realize their actions and attitudes can perpetuate the fear or decrease it. There are many stories depicting women of strength that accompany the nightmarish acts done to the victims. Portland is a gift to the universe of podcasts. Brilliantly produced and intensely engaging, it is obvious she and her team are journalists of integrity and depth! I look forward to get next endeavor.

Intriguing and captivating

by CWalker212 on May 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If your fascinated by true crimes then this podcast for you. The telling of each victims store makes you feel as though you know each one and how those in Boston were affected.

Very compelling, albeit over-dramatic

by JJRod93 on May 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Just finished with the entire series yesterday, and overall it was a good experience from start-to-finish. The journalism was strong and well-done, the narration was spectacular, and every aspect was respectful to the victims and their families and everyone involved.However, the reenactments were pretty much filler and uninteresting to me, and can actually be annoying at times. But besides that, everything about this podcast is must-listen if your a true crime fanatic.

Love it!!!

by houndgirrl on May 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I enjoyed this even more than I had expected. As a Bostonian, I thought I knew most of what there was to know about the Strangler murders. It turns out that I had a lot to learn! Really interesting, great production value and the host was likable and interesting. Really well done!

Top Notch

by Project Runway #1 Fan on May 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellent true crime series. The research and presentation are unparalleled.

Gripping

by Dr.Jeff.H on May 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm from Massachusetts and had heard of the Boston Strangler but didn't know anything, really, about the crimes. Listening to this podcast swept me back home to Boston, Lynn, Hyannis, etc. Each episode is captivating and moves the story forward to keep up the intrigue.

Love it!

by Smellboto on May 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast! Easy to listen to and informative. Love the narrator!

Uncanny

by justyn88 on Apr 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thought-provoking story with twists and turns. Touches on all aspects of the Boston Strangler(s) story and how it changed women and men and society.

Awesome!

by DburgJoneses on Apr 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast!

Interesting

by Brittyboo25 on Apr 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast kept my interested and gave me chills. I need more podcasts like this.

Wonderfully done

by sweetcaroline76 on Apr 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Wonderfully done! Very informative and the layout led to a very smooth telling of a very disturbing time in Boston's history. And the ending was a lovely tribute to all of the victims.

A stunning achievement!

by ceeohbee on Apr 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is a stunning achievement. From the narrative voice, to the respect for the victims and their families and friends, to the in depth look at the psychology and possible motive of every suspect, to the solid research of the detective work, this is by far my favorite true crime podcast. Portland Helmich and the Stranglers podcast team are to be applauded for their work and the kindness towards all those who were interviewed. The honest, non-explotative reporting was refreshing, and yet the drama remained intact. The moving final episode was an intimate tribute to the victims. My two thumbs wave high up, and I'd borrow 100 more just to show how much I appreciate this podcast. I am listening to the entire thing again very soon. Thank you Stitcher and Co!

Edge of your seat, lock your doors

by Kraemer007 on Apr 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I was hooked on this podcast after the first episode. Portland is a great narrator and this podcasts is full of facts, actual recordings and great re-enactments. If you enjoy true crime, this is the podcast for you. I found myself locking my doors when listening as it is so eerie and frightening with sound effects that set the scene like its unfolding in actual time, around you. The music is perfect and well thought out. I've recommended it to many friends who all have devoured it in a week. Highly recommend if you're looking for an edge of your seat, what's going to happen next, podcast. Very well done. My heart goes out to all the loved ones who were affected by the Boston Strangler in the 1960s.

Fantastic, thoughtful, engaging

by Herlordship on Apr 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

By far the best podcast I have listened to in a long time. Smart, engaging, I couldn't wait to hear what happened next.