Average rating:

5
out of 689 ratings.

Wonderfully done

by sweetcaroline76 on Apr 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Wonderfully done! Very informative and the layout led to a very smooth telling of a very disturbing time in Boston's history. And the ending was a lovely tribute to all of the victims.

A stunning achievement!

by ceeohbee on Apr 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is a stunning achievement. From the narrative voice, to the respect for the victims and their families and friends, to the in depth look at the psychology and possible motive of every suspect, to the solid research of the detective work, this is by far my favorite true crime podcast. Portland Helmich and the Stranglers podcast team are to be applauded for their work and the kindness towards all those who were interviewed. The honest, non-explotative reporting was refreshing, and yet the drama remained intact. The moving final episode was an intimate tribute to the victims. My two thumbs wave high up, and I'd borrow 100 more just to show how much I appreciate this podcast. I am listening to the entire thing again very soon. Thank you Stitcher and Co!

Edge of your seat, lock your doors

by Kraemer007 on Apr 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I was hooked on this podcast after the first episode. Portland is a great narrator and this podcasts is full of facts, actual recordings and great re-enactments. If you enjoy true crime, this is the podcast for you. I found myself locking my doors when listening as it is so eerie and frightening with sound effects that set the scene like its unfolding in actual time, around you. The music is perfect and well thought out. I've recommended it to many friends who all have devoured it in a week. Highly recommend if you're looking for an edge of your seat, what's going to happen next, podcast. Very well done. My heart goes out to all the loved ones who were affected by the Boston Strangler in the 1960s.

Fantastic, thoughtful, engaging

by Herlordship on Apr 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

By far the best podcast I have listened to in a long time. Smart, engaging, I couldn't wait to hear what happened next.

Thrilling!!!

by _vader on Apr 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Absolutely loved it!I've never listened to a podcast before so I stared with this fully expecting to not like just listening to someone talk but boy was I wrong!This podcast took me right there with every episode!Perfect is the word I'd use to describe it❤️

Engrossing

by joehog on Apr 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very much enjoying this true crime podcast. The presenter is knowledgeable and appreciates the gravity of the subject. The descriptions of the atmosphere in Boston during this terrible crime spree make me feel what the women of Boston must have felt, what the victims of these crimes must of felt, what the police must have felt. I feel I'm transported back 50 years ago to a time when people were more trusting without realizing how exposed they were. Truly engrossing.

Great Podcast!

by Me1234567890987654321kluuyfxv on Apr 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I loved everything about this podcast. I binge-listened in 2 days!

Heartbreaking true crime

by Wwf1972 on Apr 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This series is meticulously researched and produced, and the ending made me cry. Highly recommended.

Very smart and interesting

by DoctorArtio on Apr 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great production-- well-researched, entertaining, kept my interest and was engagingly immersive at times. Stranglers is one of my favorites and I recommend to anyone who enjoys true crime stories smartly told.

AWESOME PODCAST

by Mike Draperino on Mar 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

What a great podcast! Really, there's not much more I can say!

Compelling!

by stressgirl70 on Mar 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Loved it. It was so compelling. Learned a bunch of stuff I didn't know, and the way they ended it was so moving.

High Quality True Crime Podcast

by Opiumgoddess on Mar 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love podcasts based on true crime cases (especially old murder cases), so I knew from the start that this would be my cup of tea. I subscribe to many, many true crime podcasts focusing on senseless murders, unsolved cold cases, and disappearances. What separates the great from the not-so-great is fantastic storytelling. Stranglers has the storytelling down. Wrapping up the complete package is the excellent archival audio clips. I wish more podcasts would include these audio clips. This podcast is high quality and well worth your time!

Loved this!

by WordiePam on Mar 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very interesting and riveting! Loved how you ended the whole series, Portland. So moving. You made me a believer of multiple

Excellent

by RichyTrex on Mar 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Outstanding series - well worth listening to

Keep it Up

by teresitatita on Mar 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast. Can’t wait to hear more.

Very well done

by Kangarusan on Mar 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Well researched and produced, after listening to some of the documdramas that are popular right now it was refreshing to hear real interviews and get an insight into real reporting kind of stuff. Can't wait for the next installment or next project from ear wolf!

Couldn't stop listening

by Saltwatercuresall on Mar 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I listened to this non-stop for days while I did yard work, cooked, ran errands-SO good! So detailed and informative!

Amazing

by Chris M-D on Mar 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I grew up in Boston hearing about the Strangle r all the time. This podcast brings it vividly back and teaches me so much I never knew.

Terrific story telling

by Beth84749 on Mar 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I am glad to have listened to this podcast. The producers and writers had a lot of material to work with, and the execution was done masterfully. Well done!

Really good

by Angkeyes on Mar 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Really interesting podcast! Great host!

Masterful

by CandiceMcF on Mar 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

We learn so much and like all of these old cases, there is so much that was left for others to come find. Portland H. is awesome!

Captivating story told well

by PaulSwortz on Mar 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I was hooked immediately, much as as I was after my first episode of Serial (season 1). Fans of Serial will enjoy this.

So well done

by Santa Monica resident on Mar 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This show is simply riveting. It provides such an immersive look back to the early sixties and the context for these horrible crimes and the resulting investigations. Done through interviews and light sound effects, it is real without being melodramatic. I highly recommend this podcast.

If you like true crime...

by iCan11 on Mar 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

...listen to this. This podcast was much more intriguing than I initially believed it to be. I found myself looking forward to my daily commute so I would be able to get an episode or two in. Very engaging, wonderful information, and I LOVE Portland's voice.

Decent

by JulieBee7 on Mar 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

It's an okay podcast to me. I'm not sure how they managed to make such an interesting case so boring. Really over produced too

Addicting

by EMKme on Mar 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Addicting and well done. Interesting to learn about the Boston Strangler.

Well produced and compelling

by alliepants on Mar 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Just finished listening to the whole series, and it's really compelling. Stranglers goes beyond a simple retelling of the Boston Strangler killings, exploring new angles and possible suspects. I also really appreciated the exploration of violence against women as a broader cultural issue.

Brilliant

by KaylaJay29 on Mar 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I couldn't wait for the next episode to download. Loved every episode and well put together. A must listen.

Highly recommended

by 753spqr on Mar 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Outstanding podcast. High production value and well researched episodes make for an interesting, informative and compelling podcast. Highly recommended.

Informative and Respectful

by MekaylaBeth on Mar 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I thought that everything about this show so far was beautiful and respectful to the victims and their families. I love how the woman who suffered weren't treated as faceless nameless mannequins, but like real people who were alive and had so much ahead of them.

Spellbinding

by Toohotboudin on Mar 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I absolutely loved this and now want to read more about it.

Great story telling!

by ebaroh on Mar 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I love listening to this podcast!

Engrossing

by sarahschil on Mar 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Easy to get sucked in, so hard to stop.

Good mystery

by CMH14 on Mar 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I love a whodunit and this is a great one!

Great!

by SnoopDebFL on Mar 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm really enjoying this podcast. Love the mix of story telling, real audio and actor portrayals.

reminded me of Serial S1

by jpaul34 on Mar 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great, in-depth look into the Boston Strangler murders. Captivating.

Amazing podcast!

by Claireecox on Mar 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Well produced and downright fun to listen to!

Addictive and well done.

by MrsMenton3 on Mar 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Impossible to stop listening! I hope this team works on more projects together.

Fantastic

by VetElizabeth on Mar 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great if you love true crime, but also just great. I adore the way it was put together and just fantastic ending that made me so proud to be born in the era of women that I'm in... because of the ones who came before. Just really excellent, loved the hostess, Portland. Can't say enough good things. Excellent work!!!

Brilliant and disturbing

by Adnama31429 on Mar 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to/watch a LOT of true crime, and this is the most detailed, disturbing, and incredible depiction I've heard or seen. The interviews with key players in law enforcement and the press are unrivaled. And I never knew how much I hated F. Lee Bailey. What a dick.

Deep

by VioletElectricp on Mar 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great pov

Great!

by Uncle J - NJ on Mar 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very interesting podcast!

Great storytelling!

by Gryphon535 on Mar 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If you're a true-crime fan, this podcast is a must! Well researched and sensitively told, the producers vividly portray the fear that gripped Boston during the murder spree without forgetting that the women who were killed were real people with lives tragically cut short. Highly recommended!

Good

by Datajunkiejohnc on Mar 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Listen

Educational and Riveting All in One

by larobluk on Mar 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I look forward to the moments when I'm able to listen. Thought provoking, a real-life mystery explained. Well done!!!

Great work

by saraara on Mar 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the story and the actors who played various characters. Great story telling!!

Stranglers

by rcbalive on Mar 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellent podcast. So sensitively and thoroughly done. The last episode was so very touching and had me in tears.

Really Interesting

by Donna 94111 on Mar 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I wasn't sure if I was going to enjoy a podcast that revisited the Boston strangler case. The host (Portland Helmich) was great. I wish there were more episodes. Hopefully, she will host another podcast.

Amazing

by Cev82 on Mar 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to several true crime podcasts and this has to be one of the best. Extremely informative and entertaining. If you have any interest in true crime listen to this podcast now.

This is a very informative podcast

by np34! on Mar 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the details of the case that the investigator provides. I also love that she goes back to interview friends and families of the victims so that this podcast never feels like it sensationalizes the murders or the killer (s)