Average rating:

5
out of 730 ratings.

❤️

by Commandmints on Jun 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The best.

Fascinating

by cherylg1970 on Jun 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is so nicely done. It leaves you wanting more and presents so much history. So much that I didn't know about the Boston Strangler. Portland is also a wonderful narrator. Can't wait to hear what else they do after this.

Fantastic

by Eileenface on Jun 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Really well done podcast. Portland Helmich does an amazing job. Extremely interesting details. Never thought there would be a plot twist toward the end! As someone who didn't know too much about these cases, this was intriguing to listen to. I highly recommend. Can't wait to hear what story they tell next.

Chokes Me Up

by LovelyLola75 on Jun 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast was awesome... Just wish there were more!!

Gripping

by LauraB123akaUnit on Jun 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is graphic but very gripping. I was hooked and I don't usually like stuff like this. Well written documentary of this horrible series of crimes.

Stranglers.

by Cee6534885 on Jun 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast!

Awesome!

by TayFort on May 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Such a well done podcast! Loved it!

Fantastic (American Studies Podcast Group 2017)

by Flubbin nuts on May 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

We hadn't ever really listened to podcasts before this and we don't know why. This was great! The conglomeration of actual audio recordings, voice actors, and evidence from the cases made this an extremely cool podcast. Some of the audio seemed overused in transitions but besides that it was great. Before listening, we had heard of the Boston Strangler but we never really knew what had happened, and boy, was it quite a shock! The story telling was gripping and informational and it made it feel like we were part of the investigations and interviews. This was a great podcast with twists and turns and you will not be able to stop listening.

Amazing

by Greg Dean on May 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Slick! Well done and engaging! I don't like podcasts that have too much production/actors but this one is different. The sound effects/actors do not distract from the narrative. I wish there were more productions like this.

Excellent podcast

by ABoatw on May 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Well researched, presented, and produced! Very interesting and compelling!

Excellent history...

by mauoijenn on May 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoyed this podcast and all the history, plus archival audio that they had. I was hooked after the first episode. KUDOS!!

Excellent re-telling of the Boston Strangler(s) case

by JackFunk21 on May 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I am a true crime history buff, and have read extensively on the Boston Strangler(s) case. I also live in Massachusetts, so this podcast hits home in more ways than one. Excellent narration and production, and employs a good mix of archival recordings. Just so well done!

Brilliant!

by rdelrossi on May 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Really well-done podcast recounts the true events of Boston's strangler in the early 1960s. Edge-of-your-seat listening.

Off the beaten path for EarWolf but nonetheless an excellent production

by tyrannosaurus_j on May 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Not what I expected from the home of Bob Duca's absurd ailments and Bobby Bottleservice's profound "no disrespect but I don't respect you." but 7 episodes into Stranglers and I'm hooked. This is a fantastic production the examines this case with considerable detail. Interviews, and reenactments are presented seamlessly, the narration is well written and informative.

So much more than a true crime story

by Bearly0506 on May 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My initial reason for listening to Stranglers was an attempt to understand why someone becomes a monster. But as I listened something else became paramount - the never ending vigilance women must maintain for their own safety. While it is true our awareness of this reality has increased, women are still - and maybe more than ever - living in fear. This podcast should be required listening for all boys! They need to realize their actions and attitudes can perpetuate the fear or decrease it. There are many stories depicting women of strength that accompany the nightmarish acts done to the victims. Portland is a gift to the universe of podcasts. Brilliantly produced and intensely engaging, it is obvious she and her team are journalists of integrity and depth! I look forward to get next endeavor.

Intriguing and captivating

by CWalker212 on May 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If your fascinated by true crimes then this podcast for you. The telling of each victims store makes you feel as though you know each one and how those in Boston were affected.

Very compelling, albeit over-dramatic

by JJRod93 on May 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Just finished with the entire series yesterday, and overall it was a good experience from start-to-finish. The journalism was strong and well-done, the narration was spectacular, and every aspect was respectful to the victims and their families and everyone involved.However, the reenactments were pretty much filler and uninteresting to me, and can actually be annoying at times. But besides that, everything about this podcast is must-listen if your a true crime fanatic.

Love it!!!

by houndgirrl on May 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I enjoyed this even more than I had expected. As a Bostonian, I thought I knew most of what there was to know about the Strangler murders. It turns out that I had a lot to learn! Really interesting, great production value and the host was likable and interesting. Really well done!

Top Notch

by Project Runway #1 Fan on May 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellent true crime series. The research and presentation are unparalleled.

Gripping

by Dr.Jeff.H on May 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm from Massachusetts and had heard of the Boston Strangler but didn't know anything, really, about the crimes. Listening to this podcast swept me back home to Boston, Lynn, Hyannis, etc. Each episode is captivating and moves the story forward to keep up the intrigue.

Love it!

by Smellboto on May 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast! Easy to listen to and informative. Love the narrator!

Uncanny

by justyn88 on Apr 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thought-provoking story with twists and turns. Touches on all aspects of the Boston Strangler(s) story and how it changed women and men and society.

Awesome!

by DburgJoneses on Apr 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast!

Interesting

by Brittyboo25 on Apr 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast kept my interested and gave me chills. I need more podcasts like this.

Wonderfully done

by sweetcaroline76 on Apr 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Wonderfully done! Very informative and the layout led to a very smooth telling of a very disturbing time in Boston's history. And the ending was a lovely tribute to all of the victims.

A stunning achievement!

by ceeohbee on Apr 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is a stunning achievement. From the narrative voice, to the respect for the victims and their families and friends, to the in depth look at the psychology and possible motive of every suspect, to the solid research of the detective work, this is by far my favorite true crime podcast. Portland Helmich and the Stranglers podcast team are to be applauded for their work and the kindness towards all those who were interviewed. The honest, non-explotative reporting was refreshing, and yet the drama remained intact. The moving final episode was an intimate tribute to the victims. My two thumbs wave high up, and I'd borrow 100 more just to show how much I appreciate this podcast. I am listening to the entire thing again very soon. Thank you Stitcher and Co!

Edge of your seat, lock your doors

by Kraemer007 on Apr 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I was hooked on this podcast after the first episode. Portland is a great narrator and this podcasts is full of facts, actual recordings and great re-enactments. If you enjoy true crime, this is the podcast for you. I found myself locking my doors when listening as it is so eerie and frightening with sound effects that set the scene like its unfolding in actual time, around you. The music is perfect and well thought out. I've recommended it to many friends who all have devoured it in a week. Highly recommend if you're looking for an edge of your seat, what's going to happen next, podcast. Very well done. My heart goes out to all the loved ones who were affected by the Boston Strangler in the 1960s.

Fantastic, thoughtful, engaging

by Herlordship on Apr 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

By far the best podcast I have listened to in a long time. Smart, engaging, I couldn't wait to hear what happened next.

Thrilling!!!

by _vader on Apr 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Absolutely loved it!I've never listened to a podcast before so I stared with this fully expecting to not like just listening to someone talk but boy was I wrong!This podcast took me right there with every episode!Perfect is the word I'd use to describe it❤️

Engrossing

by joehog on Apr 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very much enjoying this true crime podcast. The presenter is knowledgeable and appreciates the gravity of the subject. The descriptions of the atmosphere in Boston during this terrible crime spree make me feel what the women of Boston must have felt, what the victims of these crimes must of felt, what the police must have felt. I feel I'm transported back 50 years ago to a time when people were more trusting without realizing how exposed they were. Truly engrossing.

Great Podcast!

by Me1234567890987654321kluuyfxv on Apr 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I loved everything about this podcast. I binge-listened in 2 days!

Heartbreaking true crime

by Wwf1972 on Apr 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This series is meticulously researched and produced, and the ending made me cry. Highly recommended.

Very smart and interesting

by DoctorArtio on Apr 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great production-- well-researched, entertaining, kept my interest and was engagingly immersive at times. Stranglers is one of my favorites and I recommend to anyone who enjoys true crime stories smartly told.

AWESOME PODCAST

by Mike Draperino on Mar 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

What a great podcast! Really, there's not much more I can say!

Compelling!

by stressgirl70 on Mar 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Loved it. It was so compelling. Learned a bunch of stuff I didn't know, and the way they ended it was so moving.

High Quality True Crime Podcast

by Opiumgoddess on Mar 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love podcasts based on true crime cases (especially old murder cases), so I knew from the start that this would be my cup of tea. I subscribe to many, many true crime podcasts focusing on senseless murders, unsolved cold cases, and disappearances. What separates the great from the not-so-great is fantastic storytelling. Stranglers has the storytelling down. Wrapping up the complete package is the excellent archival audio clips. I wish more podcasts would include these audio clips. This podcast is high quality and well worth your time!

Loved this!

by WordiePam on Mar 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very interesting and riveting! Loved how you ended the whole series, Portland. So moving. You made me a believer of multiple

Excellent

by RichyTrex on Mar 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Outstanding series - well worth listening to

Keep it Up

by teresitatita on Mar 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast. Can’t wait to hear more.

Very well done

by Kangarusan on Mar 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Well researched and produced, after listening to some of the documdramas that are popular right now it was refreshing to hear real interviews and get an insight into real reporting kind of stuff. Can't wait for the next installment or next project from ear wolf!

Couldn't stop listening

by Saltwatercuresall on Mar 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I listened to this non-stop for days while I did yard work, cooked, ran errands-SO good! So detailed and informative!

Amazing

by Chris M-D on Mar 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I grew up in Boston hearing about the Strangle r all the time. This podcast brings it vividly back and teaches me so much I never knew.

Terrific story telling

by Beth84749 on Mar 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I am glad to have listened to this podcast. The producers and writers had a lot of material to work with, and the execution was done masterfully. Well done!

Really good

by Angkeyes on Mar 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Really interesting podcast! Great host!

Masterful

by CandiceMcF on Mar 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

We learn so much and like all of these old cases, there is so much that was left for others to come find. Portland H. is awesome!

Captivating story told well

by PaulSwortz on Mar 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I was hooked immediately, much as as I was after my first episode of Serial (season 1). Fans of Serial will enjoy this.

So well done

by Santa Monica resident on Mar 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This show is simply riveting. It provides such an immersive look back to the early sixties and the context for these horrible crimes and the resulting investigations. Done through interviews and light sound effects, it is real without being melodramatic. I highly recommend this podcast.

If you like true crime...

by iCan11 on Mar 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

...listen to this. This podcast was much more intriguing than I initially believed it to be. I found myself looking forward to my daily commute so I would be able to get an episode or two in. Very engaging, wonderful information, and I LOVE Portland's voice.

Decent

by JulieBee7 on Mar 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

It's an okay podcast to me. I'm not sure how they managed to make such an interesting case so boring. Really over produced too

Addicting

by EMKme on Mar 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Addicting and well done. Interesting to learn about the Boston Strangler.