Average rating:

5
out of 999 ratings.

Amazing!

by Texan Mommy on Dec 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Fascinating true story!

THIS is how you do a true crime podcast

by Judesapalooza on Dec 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Stranglers is truly an excellent and heartbreaking podcast. Throughly researched and captivating, Stranglers captures the fear and panic in Boston during the 60s. Portland is incredibly respectful of the victims and you feel as if you really get to know them.

Outstanding

by Kauppiigrl on Nov 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Out of all the true crime podcasts, this one really stands out. The investigative journalism and research is extrememly well done. I love all of the interviews with the actual police and attorneys involved, and how after so many years this case is still so vivid in their minds. The podcast is also heartbreaking as it does not lose track of the victims and their stories like many serial killer stories do. It in fact focuses on the women whose lives were taken and the injustices they faced even after death. The reenactments are not phony but instead help to shape the story in your mind and aids in the mystery. I binge-listened to this in a few days. Couldn't stop. Definitely deserves 5 stars!

Haunting

by lalababayaga on Nov 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This show came out a year ago and occasionally I still think about things discussed on this show. So haunting and great.

Exceptional story-telling & production in a crowded field

by Samadhi44 on Nov 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've put ears to many a true crime podcasts and this is one of the best. It is well-paced but not repetitive and builds up enough suspense that I sat in my car in my garage to hear the closing minutes of several episodes. It is also well-balanced, focusing on both the suspect(s) and victims with thoughtful consideration. I reached the final episode, a truly powerful one, with much regret.

Hooked!

by Voltairelivi on Nov 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellent and thorough podcast. I started listening because Karen from My Favorite Murder raves about it. It’s very different from MFM because this has interviews, re-enactments and tons of facts - not a comedy at all but it’s just as addictive!

Delight

by Little_City on Nov 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is worth a listen to everyone. Great insight.

Fantastic

by Brettwurst25 on Nov 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Started a little slow but really ended up being a terrific listen. Well worth my/your time.

Strangles

by Jaehobbit on Oct 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast was amazingly well done. Portland has a calm, educated and easy voice to listen to. I really am glad that some of the women that were abused during this time spoke about it. I actually learned some things about myself listening to this podcast besides about the Boston Strangler Case. The ending was perfect. Those amazing women that lost their life due to this/those animals were properly respected and not forgotten. Thank you for the wonderful job done making this podcast.

Hooked

by oabeler on Oct 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I LOVED this podcast. Great reporting and amazing backstory into a topic I thought I knew so much about. I am telling all my friends about Stranglers!!

lots of things bothered me

by ednamillion22 on Oct 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Found this podcast mildly interested but kind of jumbled, and too heavy-handed with sound treatment/effects, and the '48 Hours’ music production value was sort of cheesy.I came here to review specifically because of one part that bothered me a *lot* in episode 12: the visit to the apartment building on Park Drive. Leaving the note on the apartment door felt like an incredible invasion of the occupants’ privacy. The host & Adele were essentially forcing this knowledge on the residents (if they didn’t know about the murder, a quick Google search of the address and the year would turn it up), and if they did know about it, then it might feel like an unwelcome and unsettling intrusion. I live nearby, and this part REALLY bothered me — it seemed like a serious ethical lapse on the part of the host.

So good

by _IzzyJ on Oct 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is so well made and mesmerizing. I couldn’t stop listening.

Fabulous podcast

by Mrs. Gummybear on Oct 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One episode in and I’m hooked ... already recommended it to three folk ... wicked good

Couldn't stop listening

by Saltwatercuresall on Oct 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I listened to this non-stop for days while I did yard work, cooked, ran errands-SO good! So detailed and informative! The podcast that got me into podcasts!

Very engaging and interesting

by laurenpaige6 on Sep 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Such an interesting podcast. A bit disturbing at some parts, but such an important and engaging story. Portland has a great Podcast voice

Great podcast!

by woodyen on Sep 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Super interesting story that has been done very well! Looking forward to more podcasts!

Excellent

by MusackLova3140298 on Sep 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Wonderfully reported and interesting. I can't stop listening!

So addicting!

by NomNom12 on Sep 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazingly put together. I binged in this at work. It was like watching a movie...very well narrated. Great job!

Great story.

by MellyMelCole on Sep 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is the most riveting true crime podcast I've listened to in a long time. I hope they do more!

Love love love stranglers!

by Lalaoost on Sep 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I am from the Boston area and heard about the Boston Strangler, but being in my 30's it really isn't something I had first hand knowledge of; just the lore. This podcast and Portland herself, does a fantastic job of bringing the 13 victims' stories to light in a respectful and succinct way. Loved every but of it and can't wait for whatever is coming next! Thanks!

Absolutely love it

by Cruellaz on Sep 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If you're into crime stories, this is perfect

Great podcast

by al545 on Sep 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is very captivating and well done! I recommend listening if you're at all intrigued by the psychology of and investigation of true crime.

Well produced ...

by chriseshleman on Sep 07, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

... and too pretentious for me. Got through episode 7.

Can't get enough!

by MotorMikeBike on Sep 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoyed this series and was sad to see it end! I had heard of the Boston Strangler, of course, but this was very informative and I learned way more about it than I had in a couple mini documentaries I had seen.

Excellent series

by Antifascist999 on Aug 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This was an excellent series from start to finish. The presentation was fast-paced, informative and absolutely compelling. The producers shed new light on the conundrums and contradictions of this complicated case.

6 stars

by RumbaesRumba on Aug 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Best podcast. Interesting from top to bottom. Kudos to Portland.

Excellent listen

by ParkCityAnnie on Aug 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love a podcast that keeps me listening! I ate it all up in two days while painting my garage. It's a fascinating story that is well produced and researched. I was sorry to come to the end. I really hope this team will provide another season with an equally interesting subject. Well done!

A favorite

by Pneumalight on Aug 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I found out about this podcast from an add in Google Play Music. I'm glad I did. I won't lie, it is disturbing. There are details and dramatization that were difficult to listen to sometimes. However, the subject is fascinating to me; the score is excellent, the acting is done well; the narrator, Portland, has a perfect broadcasting voice; and the whole investigation and editing of the episodes is highly professional. Looking forward to the next season!

Eye Opening

by KatriceE on Aug 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I never knew about this event in history, it's a scary reminder for women of all ages to listen to your instincts and keep your guard up! Great job!

Binge Worthy

by Erdoll360 on Aug 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast was simply amazing. I listened to all 12 episodes in less than 1 week. Great production quality, fascinating topic, well researched and great narration.

I'm hooked

by Loramomma on Aug 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Actually holds my attention. I'm binge listening.

I'm hooked!

by Samina11 on Aug 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm already halfway through and only started yesterday. Really good! Helps with my long commute

Fantastic job. Mesmerizing. Gripping.

by Amaranthinemoxie on Aug 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One of the best podcasts ever.

I really like it!

by AmylovesCharlie on Jul 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Always interesting

Captivating!

by ChellzT on Jul 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is an excellent podcast. It had me sucked in one the first episode and I couldn't stop listening. Very well put together and told a wonderful story. I think it helped shed some light on the forgotten cases and told the side of a story people didn't know.

Very griping

by Gena gena on Jul 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If it were a book it would be a page turner. The story kept me want to listen non stop. I liked the format of the producers and writers etc. Was not the annoying type of pod cast where you get two people talking over each other. I enjoyed it.

Excellent podcast... until episode 12.

by GrimstoneGrizzly on Jul 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Excellent podcast... until the last episode. 11 out of 12 episodes stick to the facts while episode 12 was mostly just feminist opinion. Many takes on theories and possible suspects while still sticking to reality.

Fascinating

by KGHewitt on Jul 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is absolutely fascinating. The story is well told and keeps you on the edge of your seat, and the production is of the highest quality. If you are a true crime lover like myself, you will love this podcast! Can not recommend enough.

Excellent

by Guinmurph on Jul 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Loved the stories

Two thumbs up!

by Dfperrone on Jul 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I never thought the Boston Stranglers were interesting, but now I'm hooked! Great podcast and well done!

I'm Hooked!!

by Lindseyjoell on Jul 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

In the middle of a podcast binge at the moment, Stranglers is fantastic!! Highy recommend it!!

Addicted

by JazzieP 7 on Jul 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Seriously cannot stop listening!

Great podcast

by NUPT1995 on Jul 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a really well done podcast that keeps you wanting more information. It treats the victims with respect and dignity and does a really great job capturing all the dimensions of this case.

True Crime

by smurkk2 on Jul 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Good true crime podcast. The narrator gives factual information with a bit of storytelling.

Gripping!

by kahtron on Jul 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Fascinating and you won't want it to end

Excellent True Crime Podcast

by soccersweety186 on Jul 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great reporting and story-telling. This is a must-listen!

Hooked!!

by Winkyboooody on Jul 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Loved the series so much, listened to it in a day. If you're into true crime, give it a listen!!!

Love this show!

by LM_per on Jun 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I hadn't heard of these murders in the past and I really liked how the show was put together!

Wonderful narration and social tie ins to today

by Mollytsunami on Jun 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Enthralling mystery, superb investigation and beautiful narration. This podcast has it all with the bonus inclusion of how these murders shaped a generation of women and continue to push people to seek the truth and never settle for an easy confession.

❤️

by Commandmints on Jun 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The best.