Average rating:

4.5
out of 595 ratings.

I love this!

by Schnuppie on Aug 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm a big fan of Mr. Dubner, from Freakanomics Radio and the book(s), so I was very interested when I (finally) heard about this new podcast. Love it! Humor abounds and the trivia (and not so trivia) that we get to hear each episode is fascinating! Great listening! Makes my morning walks breeze right by. Thanks!!

Great Podcast, Confusing Gameshow

by Tay___Tay on Aug 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

The information presented in this podcast is always interesting and enjoyable. The first half of the show is about experts sharing their research, discoveries and analyses within their field. The second half of the show is super confusing though. They make the guests compete against the judges to share less useful information that they don't have time to prepare for. Sometimes it's funny. But it's not as compelling as the half that involves experts.

Smart and enjoyable.

by Rochelle tagger on Aug 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Really think this show is great. Always tells me something I didn't know.

Has declined precipitously in quality

by Mudak326 on Aug 02, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I enjoyed this podcast from the start, but in the middle of its second season, the show changed its format. I recognize that the change was needed because the old format (a three judge panel plus the host and fact checker, plus loose adherence to a theme, with a post hoc "final round") was unsustainable. But the new format -- especially the loss of the theme -- has made the show less of a mechanism for learning new and interesting things and more of an hour-long advertisement for various products and services. Take a recent episode where a curator for a museum about Spam (the food, not the internet ad) spoke of the benefits of Spam, an administrator for a high school students in rehab pitched his high school, and the inventor of a new kind of a pillow talked about, you guessed it, his pillows. As I write these words, the finale is the only remaining episode for this season. I plan on downloading and listening to it, but if it's got too much of an advertising feel, it will be the last episode I listen to.

Unsubscribing

by Sweent on Aug 02, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

As someone who formally rated this podcast high, I am disappointed that the format change has left me wanting more. I'll be unsubscribing.

Amazing!!

by Himynameis emmily on Aug 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is truly wonderful. There are many educated speakers, who share information about unique topics. You learn something every time you listen. Please, try it!!

Loosing Interest Fast

by Sam6869 on Jul 31, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

In the past 6 to 8 years of podcasting, this quickly became one of my favorite 3. With the recent changes (one judge) and everything that goes along with that, I am very disappointed. It has made the podcast less fun. I've never rated a podcast before, didn't even know how. I googled "how to rate a podcast" because of the disappointment. I hope you fix this one next season.

The old format was better

by Sheepdoggydogg on Jul 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

...where there were three panelists, and they had to guess the "IDK." It was lighter and funnier.

Entertaining !

by alykat02 on Jul 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast to listen to on my commute to and from work. Really enjoy it!

Not a fan of a new structure :/

by Amazeballzz on Jul 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

love the old way the show was structured, it was more fun. with a new one it's a bit monotone for me to follow the conversation.

A great spin on learning!

by BootsNettaplus2 on Jul 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Best podcast for a truck driver who has I 15 South/North 5 days a week. It's a great way to stay alert. Thank you 👍🏾❤️

Splendifirous

by Frisbie31 on Jul 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great show. Funny. Informative. Quasi celebs, nerdy jokes, intellectual conversation. Dubner is excellent host. Listened to several and it's in my top three favorite podcasts. Family-friendly too.

New Format

by Camille Boese on Jul 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I love this show and I've just listened to "Three Sheets To the Wind." I prefer the contestants presenting their IDK's in question form with the panel asking questions. It's more interesting and engaging for me, as well as I get to here more from the panel. As far as the panel set up, either the new format or the original format work, but I do like the diversity of the original panel of 3 guests plus 1 fact-checker.

Three Sheets To The Wind

by insane from barking dog on Jul 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I like your new format!!! Good job.

I know so much now!

by Schwateva on Jul 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A fun way to learn new things about a myriad of topics

Entertaining

by ElinMD on Jul 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very intelligently presented non commercially driven info. Game show!

Good content, too much repetitive explanations

by hawkdawg75 on Jul 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I'm a huge Stephen Dubner fan. I really wanted to love this podcast. The first one I listened to made me think this was going to be one of my favorites. After listening to a season of them, I still enjoy the content, but way too much time is spent on explaning the format and the rules. I realize this is necessary since any episode could be heard by a new comer to the podcast. But to me, it seems like 25% of each podcast is spent on intros, explanations of how the game is played or commercials. Somehow they need to minimize this and focus on the contect.

the guests are all too self serving

by moosegrin on Jul 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I deleted my subscription today. It seems that each week, more and more, each guest is promoting a study that they just completed that would solve the worlds problems if only the rest of us paid more attention. I am tired of the reveal being a study or process that the guest is trying to sell. I big hopes of this podcast, unfortunate.

Could use more diverse contestants

by Reviewer456456 on Jul 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The concept and structure of the show is unique and entertaining. It has a lot of potential. My problem is the selection of contestants- the vast majority are professors, grad students, or other academics and PhDs promoting their latest research or book. Obviously people doing original research for a living are going to know something that no one else does about their field. This is not surprising. Instead, I'd love to hear from more people with "average" jobs, who, through their experience or passion, have come upon a great fact or story. One of my favorite IDks, for example, was from an NYC city engineer who discovered from doing inspections that wood structures supporting the city are deteriorating for an interesting reason. Just a guy doing his job who found out something really neat. It is also sometimes a bit annoying when the "fact checkers" quickly confirm the fact and then launch into their own story they found on the internet that can overshadow the contestant's IDK. I think they should let the contestants have the spotlight and just stick to fact checking.

Wonderful!

by Riana1! on Jul 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Refreshing and entertaining!

Thoroughly enjoyable.

by He-man83 on Jul 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Absolutely love it. Top notch. Dropping heat this second season. Enjoy.

Fun, Funny, and Informative

by CatanGuy70 on Jul 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one of my favorite podcasts. The panelists are always fun, as are the contestants. You'll learn something, and you'll have a good time!

Thanks Mr. Dubner

by Tirkwaz on Jul 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks Mr. Dubner for your work🌺. To be honest, I enjoy the fun part of the show more than the content.

Diversity? Let's see some more of it.

by Dabrad22 on Jul 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Great show, but there the panelists are almost invariably liberal democrats. Talk about a lack of diversity...

So interesting!

by Jack3626;!)($5$!&8!! on Jul 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast! I feel smart when I can know more than the panelists! Beware: it might send you down an internet rabbit hole when you hear that fact you must learn more about!

Dangerous information

by Dedwarmo on Jul 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The episode about "Getting There" contained potentially dangerous information. It seemed to make light of drowsy driving which, by the way, is as dangerous as drunk driving.I'm an over-the-road truck driver and I've seen too many mangled cars and trucks on the sides of roads and in ditches. Please, if you are too tired to drive, park your car and take an eight hour nap. I don't care how many lives you save in the hospital. Don't kill someone with your car.

Great show

by Skuba313 on Jul 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this show and every aspect, with the exception of the British guy in the intro. He sounds like the worst British person to use a voice sample from.

Fun and Interesting

by Gradually awaken on Jul 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Always something to learn with this podcast without anyone taking themselves too seriously. I laugh out loud multiple times an episode and love hearing about all the panelists and presenters.

Intelligent and fun

by JohnJ.J. on Jul 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Every episode is fun, intelligent, and hilarious. You'll definitely learn something in this podcast.

Awesomeness

by blackbird406 on Jul 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Turns out there are lots of things I don't know :p love it !!

Trivia Nerds Unite

by Helmskm on Jul 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very fun format. Love the random facts and using them later to break awkward silences.

I like Dubner

by Pakatak on Jun 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

He is solid

Really interesting

by queenbee_cc on Jun 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

You will definitely learn something you didn't know!

like Ripley's Believe it or Not, but with details

by H. Wastrel on Jun 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

nice deep dives into stuff you never knew was interesting

Another great one, Dubner

by SpartanToJo on Jun 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love, love, love it!

Entertaining

by Dbcortes on Jun 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Fun and entertaining podcast.

Fun and informative!

by audiofan3 on Jun 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A great balance of humor and fascinating information.

9 minutes and 40 seconds to the get to the first fact.

by Simonburkeisable on Jun 21, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

9 minutes and 40 seconds to the get to the first fact. I'll just keep listening to No Such Thing As A Fish.

Wanted to like it.

by Hekdkcjfu on Jun 20, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Just didn't.

Love the show

by jrockstyle on Jun 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very entertaining "game show" with fantastic guests and wonderful hosts.

Funny and Informative

by Love it, but ... on Jun 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

👍🏻

What a great podcast show to listen

by Zoe Febe on Jun 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Brilliant! Hilarious! Very entertaining 👍👍👍👍👍

Love this show!!

by Danunix on Jun 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Wonderful!!

Trivia and Comedy

by BigQ25 on Jun 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast. I wish I could see it live or even be a contestant someday. I hope you come to SLC.

Both Cute and Informative

by SmokeAndMirrors13 on Jun 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It's amazing how much you'll learn from this silly and smart podcast.

Disappointing and politically slanted

by Russ shakleford on Jun 13, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I had hopes for this program since I generally enjoy freakanomics. Even though Dubner himself is fairly liberal, freakanomics does a decent job of hiding or even omitting political bias. The same cannot be said for TMSIDK. It is nothing more then a echo chamber for liberal confirmation bias. If Dubner wanted to make it a good show, he'd actually get some conservative or politically neutral panelists and have "contestants" outside of the realm of academia.

Explicit warning

by JT Kuntz on Jun 12, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This had been generally safe family listening for the car until the recent "rivalry" episode that involved multiple instances of the phrase "sneaker f***ers." I'm not asking for censorship, but a little warning would be appreciated for my kids' sakes.

Entertaining, kinda douchey

by Kylakoloiopo on Jun 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Always loved Freakonomics, and I can't stop listening to this show, but at the same time Dubner talking off script makes you realize how awkwardly pretentious he can be.

Funny and intelligent

by Aprilduggie on Jun 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is funny and I love that the contestants get to really show of their knowledge

Love this podcast!

by Sew4me on Jun 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is such a great podcast to listen to! It has lots of humor, lots of interesting facts and lots of great discussions!! This is on my top 5 I have to listen to! I am SO glad I found you!! Thanks for having such an awesome podcast!!