Average rating:

4.5
out of 723 ratings.

So many fun facts

by Julianstanley on Oct 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is fantastic

Delightful

by FedExhater on Oct 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Delightful! I love the burst of random knowledge. I miss the orginal format with multiple rounds and three guests, but the changes haven't turned me off.

Love it until they weigh in

by Annalisa v on Oct 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Great concept — although when the hosts weigh in on who the winner is I stop listening. It’s just not something that interests me.

Highly Recommended

by Sparkster the Great on Oct 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

In typical Dubner fashion, this podcast is equal parts witty, fascinating and well scored.I'm going to do my best to see a live show.

I always Learn Something

by Bob.,.,.76 on Oct 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast! I always learn something I didn’t know. The commentary and comedy go hand in hand to create an excellent show!

Fantastic

by egreene20 on Oct 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is fantastic on so many level. Humor, history, and educational. Love the format too. I am thrilled I found it!!

Kjg_sea

by Kjg_sea on Oct 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

So interesting and funny

Extremely Excellent!!

by Dougjr17 on Oct 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A must listen.

So good, I’m here live!

by Pedro Spacely on Oct 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

So good, I’m here live!

A show designed for a curious mind

by Primary Consumer on Oct 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

As someone who loves to learn new, interesting and random facts, this show seemed designed for me. I love the variety and dynamic nature of the topics covered. Ideal podcast to draw from to impress friends at your next cocktail party.

Great!!!

by anderjs1 on Oct 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to a lot of podcasts and this one will not disappoint! Interesting people are abundant and you can learn some really cool stuff you probably didn’t know👍

Have Fun, Get Smart, Be Clever at Parties

by cbteacherlady on Oct 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

What's NOT to love about this Podcast? (Well, maybe that they keep changing the format of the game, but since it's only a game in name, NBD.) You should subscribe if you want to be smarter, funnier, and thoroughly entertained without a smidge of crass political noise. Also, TMSIDK is not for nerds only. Listening makes everybody in my car happy!

A 3 mehs out of 5

by Hack Daniels on Oct 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

"Does... does it know it's an Ad?" Occasionally interesting, but it's more of an intellectual circle-jerk and people trying to get their name out there rather than anything actually "worth knowing"

Don't like the new format

by Justletmepostareviewpls on Sep 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The content of the show is still very interesting, but I miss the old format of the show, please bring it back!

Funny and Informative

by cleonpack93 on Sep 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

When it comes to Public Radio game shows - of which there are an apparently growing number - they can be kind of hit and miss. But Tell Me Something I Don't Know is the first of this growing wave that has caught my attention after the classic and hilarious Wait Wait Don't Tell Me. While TMSIDK is definitely not as side-stitchingly funny as WWDTM, it is definitely far more educational, and I often find myself learning something that I truly did not know. A win in my book!

A little repetitive, but I love the interesting facts

by wendy on Sep 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

It was hard for me to binge listen to these because I heard the same intro and rule explanations every time. I found myself skipping a lot, but the facts tend to be really interesting.

Great start, bad pivot

by Phoneguy1926 on Sep 26, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The first two seasons were a great evolution of something that was part trivia, part game show, and part comedy - all with a wonderful mix of celebrity guests. Season 3 has become the "fast food" version of that with only one guest host, no more "game show" format, and a trite herding of "audience contestants" that all seem to have a non-profit or other organization they are representing. The My Pillow guy was blatant sponsorship wrapped in a thin disguise of being a "contestant." Sad to see this podcast take such a refreshing new format and completely ruin it in the name of sponsorship.

My new obsession

by Mary No on Sep 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I got SO bored of listening to music on my 2 hour commute each day. I stumbled across this (after hearing about it on Freakonomics) and it's my new obsession. It's pure entertainment, partly educational (I love random facts and trivia) and completely hilarious. You NEED to download.

👎🏼

by Nick P PA on Sep 25, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Often shares useful information, but too much political influence.

Tell me something

by Phil Phletcher on Sep 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Every episode is interesting. I’ve been listening from the beginning, and it keeps getting better. I like the changes they made to the format. Those changes focus the show more on the facts and stories than on the hosts and the “game show.” Worth the listen!

Love it!

by Chicachica1 on Sep 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I look forward to new episodes! I never realized all the things I didn’t know!

Steve Dubner is made for radio

by AnUserLeftHangingDry on Sep 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

And with his wit, smarts and sense of humor has pulled it off yet again!

Love it

by TampaFan on Sep 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Perfection for the intellectually curious who also like to laugh.

Here's something you don't know

by bluemeanieface on Sep 20, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

We can smell the stink of "podcasts are reshot, quick boy, move". It's not an organic podcast. It's put together with an Ira Glass soundalike. It's lame. Enjoy.

Love it

by Migrainessssss on Sep 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great job guys

Love It, but Too Many Changes Recently

by jwarrior11 on Sep 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I love this show and will continue listening but the format changes have been out of control recently. I know they are just applying techniques to improve their show but they are making it so that listeners don't ever get a sense of familiarity.

Started as a Freakonomics Fan...

by drerko on Sep 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

and ended up as a huge fan of Tell Me Something I Don't Know-- even to the point where I (gasp) may prefer it over Freakonomics. I like the wide variety of topics a lot, and greatly enjoy some of the guests on the show so far. With that said, I enjoyed the orignal format of the show, with three guest panelists and the Q&A section before the IDK is presented. I will continue to be an avid listener, especially on long road trips, where this show just seems to melt away the hours.

RE: Sen. Todd Young episode

by Refenton2004 on Aug 31, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I am amazed that this show would allow Sen. Young to come on and spread his propaganda. He says that he listens to his constituents to make his voting decisions, while during his time as a senator, he has held exactly zero town hall meetings. If you are going to present his perspective, you should also present the opposite perspective. This was 15 minutes of unabashed propaganda for one specific viewpoint and agenda.

I thought people on podcasts were charismatic and funny because of editing.

by I suuuuck at Starcraft on Aug 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

That was an incorrect assumption.

Funny & Informative

by Daily podcast listener on Aug 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Fun, light listening. There's always something fascinating in each episode that can be a conversation starter later. Even my 12 yr old son enjoys listening to it.

Five stars

by Nephanu on Aug 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Love it

Great podcast. I miss the previous format.

by mj.nyx on Aug 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

My first rating was 5 stars and I was 100% stoked. I was SO excited when new episodes dropped. I'm not enjoying the new format though, I've only listened to a couple since the change and could only get through to the end of one. I am subscribed to everything the host Steven Dubner is in any way associated with. I'm really hoping this current format changes. The panel and the guessing format was so entertaining, a complete nerd paradise!

Miss the old version

by Bowzaaa on Aug 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Really liked the three panelist version. The one panelist revamp and the elimination of the contestant vs. panelist bonus round loses a lot of the original luster. Bring back Gene Mirman!

I love this!

by Schnuppie on Aug 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm a big fan of Mr. Dubner, from Freakanomics Radio and the book(s), so I was very interested when I (finally) heard about this new podcast. Love it! Humor abounds and the trivia (and not so trivia) that we get to hear each episode is fascinating! Great listening! Makes my morning walks breeze right by. Thanks!!

Great Podcast, Confusing Gameshow

by Tay___Tay on Aug 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

The information presented in this podcast is always interesting and enjoyable. The first half of the show is about experts sharing their research, discoveries and analyses within their field. The second half of the show is super confusing though. They make the guests compete against the judges to share less useful information that they don't have time to prepare for. Sometimes it's funny. But it's not as compelling as the half that involves experts.

Smart and enjoyable.

by Rochelle tagger on Aug 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Really think this show is great. Always tells me something I didn't know.

Has declined precipitously in quality

by Mudak326 on Aug 02, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I enjoyed this podcast from the start, but in the middle of its second season, the show changed its format. I recognize that the change was needed because the old format (a three judge panel plus the host and fact checker, plus loose adherence to a theme, with a post hoc "final round") was unsustainable. But the new format -- especially the loss of the theme -- has made the show less of a mechanism for learning new and interesting things and more of an hour-long advertisement for various products and services. Take a recent episode where a curator for a museum about Spam (the food, not the internet ad) spoke of the benefits of Spam, an administrator for a high school students in rehab pitched his high school, and the inventor of a new kind of a pillow talked about, you guessed it, his pillows. As I write these words, the finale is the only remaining episode for this season. I plan on downloading and listening to it, but if it's got too much of an advertising feel, it will be the last episode I listen to.

Unsubscribing

by Sweent on Aug 02, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

As someone who formally rated this podcast high, I am disappointed that the format change has left me wanting more. I'll be unsubscribing.

Amazing!!

by Himynameis emmily on Aug 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is truly wonderful. There are many educated speakers, who share information about unique topics. You learn something every time you listen. Please, try it!!

Loosing Interest Fast

by Sam6869 on Jul 31, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

In the past 6 to 8 years of podcasting, this quickly became one of my favorite 3. With the recent changes (one judge) and everything that goes along with that, I am very disappointed. It has made the podcast less fun. I've never rated a podcast before, didn't even know how. I googled "how to rate a podcast" because of the disappointment. I hope you fix this one next season.

The old format was better

by Sheepdoggydogg on Jul 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

...where there were three panelists, and they had to guess the "IDK." It was lighter and funnier.

Entertaining !

by alykat02 on Jul 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast to listen to on my commute to and from work. Really enjoy it!

Not a fan of a new structure :/

by Amazeballzz on Jul 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

love the old way the show was structured, it was more fun. with a new one it's a bit monotone for me to follow the conversation.

A great spin on learning!

by BootsNettaplus2 on Jul 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Best podcast for a truck driver who has I 15 South/North 5 days a week. It's a great way to stay alert. Thank you 👍🏾❤️

Splendifirous

by Frisbie31 on Jul 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great show. Funny. Informative. Quasi celebs, nerdy jokes, intellectual conversation. Dubner is excellent host. Listened to several and it's in my top three favorite podcasts. Family-friendly too.

New Format

by Camille Boese on Jul 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I love this show and I've just listened to "Three Sheets To the Wind." I prefer the contestants presenting their IDK's in question form with the panel asking questions. It's more interesting and engaging for me, as well as I get to here more from the panel. As far as the panel set up, either the new format or the original format work, but I do like the diversity of the original panel of 3 guests plus 1 fact-checker.

Three Sheets To The Wind

by insane from barking dog on Jul 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I like your new format!!! Good job.

I know so much now!

by Schwateva on Jul 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A fun way to learn new things about a myriad of topics

Entertaining

by ElinMD on Jul 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very intelligently presented non commercially driven info. Game show!

Good content, too much repetitive explanations

by hawkdawg75 on Jul 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I'm a huge Stephen Dubner fan. I really wanted to love this podcast. The first one I listened to made me think this was going to be one of my favorites. After listening to a season of them, I still enjoy the content, but way too much time is spent on explaning the format and the rules. I realize this is necessary since any episode could be heard by a new comer to the podcast. But to me, it seems like 25% of each podcast is spent on intros, explanations of how the game is played or commercials. Somehow they need to minimize this and focus on the contect.