Average rating:

4.5
out of 1996 ratings.

Amazing storytelling

by MyDogRex on May 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Absolutely loved Making Oprah and Making Obama. The WBEZ team does such inspiring and enthralling work, and I thoroughly enjoy Ms. White's pacing and narration prowess. Looking forward to the next "Making…" feature!

Excellent!!!!

by K. Sloan on Apr 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I loved the Oprah season!!! Then the President Obama series was amazing! Binge-worthy!!!

Fascinating View of Chicago and Obama

by GoodDan410 on Apr 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This was such a great listen, the entire series. You really get a sense of the Chicago political personalities and how Obama fit in among them. The podcast does a great job over six episodes of telling a coherent story of Chicago/Illinois politics, starting with Harold Washington and ending with Senator Obama. Highly recommended.

Terrific

by forgotmyjacketatmargaritaville on Apr 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. The host is amazing. The interviews are integrated into the narrative nicely. They found the perfect balance that I wish more podcasts could achieve. Their approach to the format is really impressive.

Making Obama and Making Oprah

by Disneyworldgrandma on Apr 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have never listened to a podcast till February 2018. I really didn’t know what they were. Because I love PBS, I chose Public Radio. I was not disappointed. The host, Jen White, is a thoughtful, intelligent and down to earth interviewer. The way I judge interviewers is do they ask the questions that I am thinking about, that is why I loved Ted Koppel in the 80’s through the 90’s.Even though these podcasts were from a few years ago, I found them still relative and historically informative. I am sad I haven’t found Podcasts before now... Thank you so much WBEZ!

Wow

by FutLuke on Apr 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great program! Learned a ton about the political scene in Chicago from all the players.

MORE JENN WHITE!

by JimmyJakes on Apr 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I loved Making Obama and Making Oprah! More Jenn White podcasts WBEZ!

Amazing

by Rodney Mueller on Apr 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

One of my favorite podcasts. Could definitely be a paid podcast. Making Oprah and Making Obama are amazing, educational and inspiring.

Wow!

by oakley30945 on Apr 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Not to be missed. Deep dive into Chicago politics and how it made Obama. Intereviews are interesting, and all commentators are honest, funny, and tell a great story.

Incredible history of both Oprah and Obama

by FabuLes9 on Apr 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

‘Behind the scenes’ type programs are always fascinating when you get to hear the experiences and perceptions directly from the players’ mouths. Great detail in both series! Who’s next?!

Phenomenal

by Kalebbn on Apr 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A wonderful show that goes into great detail into the life of Obama.

So so so so so good.

by WazzuZach on Apr 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Don’t stop after the first episode. It gets even better. I consider myself a big political junkie and there was a ton in here I didn’t know. Listen to it!

Making Obama

by Litarider on Apr 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

So the other reviews seem like they are about Oprah. My review is for Making Obama. Emotionally devastating. It’s all I can do not to sob for all we have lost and risk losing since President Obama left office, 15 months ago.

Dreams of My Real Father

by I Am Duug on Apr 01, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

History as written by the participants. If you really want to know - Dreams of My Real Father

Making Obama was terrific

by PC450 on Mar 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great backstory and history lesson on how things developed. It is a must listen and very inspiring. Gave hope again!

Inspired!

by M.L. Biz on Mar 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Our current political situation is so depressing. This podcast has lifted my spirits. As a young personal, I am inspired to attempt bigger goals and disregard the potential for failure! Yes, I can!

Amazing - binged in one day

by MastCells0101 on Mar 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Gained great insight into Obama and Chicago politics.

The Audacity of Authenticity

by DJsforObama on Mar 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Making of Obama is a priceless timepiece and authentic to a chapter of American politics. More importantly, it magnifies the man behind the office. Thanks for the gift of story telling.

A nice break from the current news cycle

by Crparker2010 on Mar 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is an amazing podcast, they really dive into the details of how Obama became President. I laughed and I cried, but most importantly it made we remember where we came from and what types of leaders we will get back to!

"Making" ChicagO

by Historyismade@night on Mar 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Love. Love. Love this podcast. An amazing exposé into two American icons. This podcast brings both the well know & unknown stories of Oprah Winfrey and former POTUS Barack Obama to the forefront. "Making" shows us, the listener, just how Chicago provided the backdrop and played an influential role in shaping their (Oprah & Obama) narratives. Jen White and the creative team of "Making" paint vivid imagery with audio clips and distinctive voices and jokes. This podcast is not only about two national treasures, but it is also a history lesson on Chicago. Kudos.

Making Obama

by Karen Anna on Mar 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I am an Obama fan, have read his books and books by others who were close to him. I learned so much from this podcast about his life and about Chicago politics. This was amazingly well done. The many new interviews, sound clips, and responses from the man himself facinated me. I listened to each one as it came out. Please continue with more episodes!

Well Done! Well needed!

by The Hidden Tre on Mar 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you for carrying on the legacy of these two great people.

Really interesting

by Gotta choose a name not taken on Mar 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Well done podcast

Love it!!

by htxpsych on Mar 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast. Wonderful stories, interviews, and editing. Make more please!!!

Great journalism and insightful storytelling

by MrsWM on Mar 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I am really enjoying Jen’s work, starting with Making Oprah and now on Making Obama. These shows have a well-crafted and polished feel; they proceed rapidly as the sound bites and interviews reveal bits of warm nostalgia woven with behind-the-scenes dirt. The result is so informative and entertaining that I listen to the episodes over and over and learn more each time. I’m hooked!

Loved it!

by erb7891 on Mar 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Cried through this whole thing. Loved it

Just What I Needed!

by betsysbeat on Mar 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you for this podcast which satisfied all of my objectives (and more)! I've wondered how someone like Obama rose up in the political world. I was curious how future "Obamas" might emerge. I have been missing the Obama family. And I needed something to give me hope and make me smile during the current dark days of politics. This podcast gave me all that and more. Thank you!!! Now that I'm done listening to the entire season, would love to hear more.

A comprehensive portrait of a once in a lifetime President

by MassRox on Mar 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve read both of our dearly missed #44s books. This podcast series picks up neatly where the books end and brings us to today.

The Best... Binge Listened in One Day

by Wantstorun on Mar 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Such an intriguing and diverse way to look at Obamas legacy.

SO GOOD

by Nick-J_J-at-home on Mar 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great take on the fascinating rise of Obama. I learned a lot about politics and Chicago, too. Looking forward to the next “Making...” series.

Fantastic storytelling

by Downgrade??!!?? on Mar 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The best way to put it. Definitely worth a listen. I’m sure to listen back to it a few times.

wow

by K@T@TTACK on Mar 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Both seasons are a treat in their own way. Made me fall deeper in love with Chicago while digging deeper into its impact on American history. Great interviews and Jen White as the host is a great story teller, smart and completely endearing. What could be next?,

Nostalgic

by e1994o on Mar 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love to Barack and Michelle. Morally good humans, we should all aspire to be more like.

A Must Listen! 🎧

by TT4424 on Mar 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazing podcast! A must listen.

Best Podcast Ever

by iamrevty on Mar 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is my favorite podcast ever. It perfectly captures the excitement surrounding the man who mesmerized the nation. Well done!!

So satisfying to heard the back story

by ASM5911 on Mar 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you so much for this excellent behind-the-scenes look at how Barack Obama ended up where he did in 2004. Excellent interviews with all the people who were around as he rose in first local, state and then national consciousness. As a long-time resident of the suburbs of Chicago (but who arrived after the death of Harold Washington), I especially appreciated the side trip to explain the influence and importance of Mayor Washington. Thank you, thank you, thank you!

History

by anav72 on Mar 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you for teaching American Government History. This shall be the way history is taught with its ups and downs, its wins and painful hits. Can’t wait for your next show!

Does it get any better than the story of Obama?

by Abu Harun El Rashid on Mar 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

What a great story and so well covered. The city of Chicago made history promoting the best of our country to the highest office. Great show!

I miss this man

by Therebecca on Mar 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I literally get goosebumps every time I listen!! Such an interesting podcast.

I miss him!!

by KristenM928 on Mar 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I wish I would have followed Obama early on I may have voted for him in the Primary, but hindsight is 20/20! He didn’t need my vote anyway!! I did vote for him In both General’s though!!! I miss him, we need someone to run that can move people the way he did so badly in 2020. Maybe some youngster will come out of the midterms this year that will inspire this Nation the way he did...POSITIVELY!!!

Suggesting this to anyone I can tell

by hpfan333 on Mar 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This was an amazing podcast—inspiring story, I feel like I got to know more about how Obama became President Obama. I also feel like I got to know more about Chicago and renewed in me why I love this city. I’m going to donate to WBEZ because of this podcast—keep up the awesome work!

Loved this!

by wednesdaymachughlin on Mar 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoyed all the perspective and nuances. The energy and reporting was a balm to the soul.

Riveting Story

by Tokyo side trips on Mar 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Outstanding story-telling

Very Well Made

by RossWarren on Mar 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Both seasons of this series have been thorough, well planned, and notably well edited. The pacing of the podcast is really well done, and the editing of the interviews with the supplemental materials is amazing (specifically in the Oprah season). It makes for a fun and super engaging listen!

Tver

by Hill Jill on Mar 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Tartcgthgy tag

Delightful, and informative

by special-fx75 on Mar 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellent podcast!!! The host, Jenn White, does an excellent job of storyteller and interviewer! I knew a little bit of Obama’s beginning but this podcast truly put the President’s personality and political style into perspective for me by detailing his formative years in the Chicago political machine. I’ve come away with a deeper understanding of President Obama’s, thank you so much for that.

Top notch

by Mom 4.0 on Mar 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Nice balance of journalism and fandom. These are not takedowns of Oprah and Obama; they’re subjective histories and appreciations of their accomplishments. Great interviewer. Sound quality is solid and remarkably consistent given the range of interviews. Love hearing from the teams that helped these transformative figures achieve their heights. Hope the series continues.

Yay!!

by Arielle's Mom83 on Mar 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Just saw this today, have not heard an episode yet! I am a simple woman, I see Obama I am there! The first election I was allowed to vote in. I love you OBAMA!!😍😘

Fantastic

by James F from Indianapolis on Mar 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I look forward to this every week. The latest episode on the groundwork for his 2004 Senate run contained lots of bits and trivia I never knew and found fascinating. Thank you WBEZ Chicago! Bravo.

What a story!

by Denver Listening on Mar 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I can’t wait to hear the next episode.So interesting to learn how it all started, and what the original motivations were.