Average rating:

4.5
out of 2574 ratings.

Great Stories

by Lilredzriding on Oct 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Jen White has such a great voice. People’s voices are so important in podcasts. Great stories that everyone should listen to and great research and reporting !!!! Great for my 1hr commute home . Please come up with more !

Thank you

by adkmd2003 on Oct 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I loved Making Oprah, especially when you told your mom about meeting and interviewing Oprah. Of course, I had to hear your follow up about Obama. It was wonderful to hear his story and his voice. Thank you so much. I cannot guess who is next on your list, and eagerly await the next installment!

Inspired.

by CrisTirby on Sep 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I was inspired and learned soooo much from listening. It gave me direction and clarity for moving forward with my podcast. My vision and INTENTION is sooo much bigger now.

Thoroughly enjoyed making Oprah-thanks

by Lilfletch on Aug 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Good stroll down memory lane with lots of interesting tidbits of unknown info. Thoroughly enjoyed making Oprah-thanks

Making Obama

by caliJawhawk on Aug 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Really well done & interesting! I learned a lot.

Excellent profile | Insightful

by Littlejo61 on Aug 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This was an excellent story perfectly crafted to reveal the Oprah story. Love the personal touches. Thank you.

I cried

by gapusan68 on Jul 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

What an amazing retrospective about a great American!

A model for podcasts

by Mr Candor on Jul 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is one of the best podcasts I have ever listened to. Jen White and team truly deliver. This high quality content is a great model for all aspiring podcasters.

Making Obama

by echolnp on Jul 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

WOW! This was absolutely amazing. Nothing could have been done to make it better. It was superb! Thank you.

Amazing!

by 132206 on Jul 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you for this amazing gift! Anyone needing a break from today’s horror show will not regret spending time listening to this fabulous story.

Wow

by Celeq on Jun 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks. This got me out of the post election, post Supreme Court funk. Thanks.

Beautiful

by Annie Dolan on Jun 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Beautifully produced, thoughtful podcast - and so important at this time.

Great stuff!

by jfkjkt on Jun 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Wonderfully written and with such obvious love of the story. Hooray!

Excellent

by k-al_09 on Jun 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I know how this story ends and yet, I was sitting on the edge of my seat in suspense at the end of every episode. The editing is excellent- they weave hours of interviews into a coherent and compelling story.

Highly recommend

by Kaltril on Jun 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is just the balm my soul needed.

Awesome

by D n the ATL on Jun 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Listen

Loved This

by truerealmccoy on Jun 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Well produced and sourced! The backstory from allies and opponents makes for both an entertaining and informative listen.

Thank you!

by Abraham Lincoln IO on Jun 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Intriguing and well written!

Phenomenal.

by HHSFranklin on Jun 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Just like oprah!❤️🙏🙏🙏🙏

Couldn't stop listening

by S_Keeter on Jun 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I give it a 10! I heard about this podcast on another podcast, "It's been a minute". I always listen to podcasts while I'm driving, but this time, I had to keep listening when I got home. Learning about the politics of Chicago and how Obama was able to navigate the waters was fascinating. I will probably listen to this again.

Superb

by Mercedeh9 on Jun 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you for documenting part of the life of a great man whose goodness and sincere wish to serve people and communities must be shared specially with youth as an inspiration!!!

These People Know How to Tell a Story

by T. Ten Rub on Jun 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The story of Obama’s rise is amazing but it is the way the story is organized and told that makes this podcast worth listening.

Pleasantly Surprised

by Sunkistd on Jun 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Just when you thought you knew all there was to know about President Obama’s rise in politics, along comes this nice little gem with an interesting look at the political scene. Loved it!!!

Making Obama & Making Oprah

by svocke on Jun 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

WBEZ seems to have kept both of these in a merged state. I'm not a Oprah fan but ended up really liking the "Making Oprah" season."Making Obama" was a fascinating story of how our Chicago played such an important role in the history and development of our 44th President.

More please!

by politicalenthusiast on Jun 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I want to know more about the Movement this amazing man started. Don’t stop now!

👍🏽

by girlshon on Jun 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I LOVED this podcast. While it was interesting to hear about President Obama’s journey, the podcast also gave an interesting look at Chicago’s political history and race relations and how those dynamics played into President Obama’s ascent.

Nicely Done

by BeautyIsAnimate on May 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I found the series on President Obama extremely interesting and learned so many things I never knew about his life before his presidency. Well done, WBEZ.

Worth it!

by Scott-bike-fly on May 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This was and is a great American story. One giant step forward and now with Trump we go back 3 steps. How I wish we could fast forward.Give this podcast a listen

awesome podcast

by Bbluevivi on May 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

love the obama and oprah stories. keep it up!

Trash

by LionDing on May 30, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Trash..just like his presidency

Amazing storytelling

by MyDogRex on May 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Absolutely loved Making Oprah and Making Obama. The WBEZ team does such inspiring and enthralling work, and I thoroughly enjoy Ms. White's pacing and narration prowess. Looking forward to the next "Making…" feature!

Excellent!!!!

by K. Sloan on Apr 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I loved the Oprah season!!! Then the President Obama series was amazing! Binge-worthy!!!

Fascinating View of Chicago and Obama

by GoodDan410 on Apr 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This was such a great listen, the entire series. You really get a sense of the Chicago political personalities and how Obama fit in among them. The podcast does a great job over six episodes of telling a coherent story of Chicago/Illinois politics, starting with Harold Washington and ending with Senator Obama. Highly recommended.

Terrific

by forgotmyjacketatmargaritaville on Apr 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. The host is amazing. The interviews are integrated into the narrative nicely. They found the perfect balance that I wish more podcasts could achieve. Their approach to the format is really impressive.

Making Obama and Making Oprah

by Disneyworldgrandma on Apr 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I have never listened to a podcast till February 2018. I really didn’t know what they were. Because I love PBS, I chose Public Radio. I was not disappointed. The host, Jen White, is a thoughtful, intelligent and down to earth interviewer. The way I judge interviewers is do they ask the questions that I am thinking about, that is why I loved Ted Koppel in the 80’s through the 90’s.Even though these podcasts were from a few years ago, I found them still relative and historically informative. I am sad I haven’t found Podcasts before now... Thank you so much WBEZ!

Wow

by FutLuke on Apr 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great program! Learned a ton about the political scene in Chicago from all the players.

MORE JENN WHITE!

by JimmyJakes on Apr 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I loved Making Obama and Making Oprah! More Jenn White podcasts WBEZ!

Amazing

by Rodney Mueller on Apr 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

One of my favorite podcasts. Could definitely be a paid podcast. Making Oprah and Making Obama are amazing, educational and inspiring.

Wow!

by oakley30945 on Apr 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Not to be missed. Deep dive into Chicago politics and how it made Obama. Intereviews are interesting, and all commentators are honest, funny, and tell a great story.

Incredible history of both Oprah and Obama

by FabuLes9 on Apr 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

‘Behind the scenes’ type programs are always fascinating when you get to hear the experiences and perceptions directly from the players’ mouths. Great detail in both series! Who’s next?!

Phenomenal

by Kalebbn on Apr 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A wonderful show that goes into great detail into the life of Obama.

So so so so so good.

by WazzuZach on Apr 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Don’t stop after the first episode. It gets even better. I consider myself a big political junkie and there was a ton in here I didn’t know. Listen to it!

Making Obama

by Litarider on Apr 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

So the other reviews seem like they are about Oprah. My review is for Making Obama. Emotionally devastating. It’s all I can do not to sob for all we have lost and risk losing since President Obama left office, 15 months ago.

Dreams of My Real Father

by I Am Duug on Apr 01, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

History as written by the participants. If you really want to know - Dreams of My Real Father

Making Obama was terrific

by PC450 on Mar 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great backstory and history lesson on how things developed. It is a must listen and very inspiring. Gave hope again!

Inspired!

by M.L. Biz on Mar 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Our current political situation is so depressing. This podcast has lifted my spirits. As a young personal, I am inspired to attempt bigger goals and disregard the potential for failure! Yes, I can!

Amazing - binged in one day

by MastCells0101 on Mar 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Gained great insight into Obama and Chicago politics.

The Audacity of Authenticity

by DJsforObama on Mar 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Making of Obama is a priceless timepiece and authentic to a chapter of American politics. More importantly, it magnifies the man behind the office. Thanks for the gift of story telling.

A nice break from the current news cycle

by Crparker2010 on Mar 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is an amazing podcast, they really dive into the details of how Obama became President. I laughed and I cried, but most importantly it made we remember where we came from and what types of leaders we will get back to!

"Making" ChicagO

by Historyismade@night on Mar 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Love. Love. Love this podcast. An amazing exposé into two American icons. This podcast brings both the well know & unknown stories of Oprah Winfrey and former POTUS Barack Obama to the forefront. "Making" shows us, the listener, just how Chicago provided the backdrop and played an influential role in shaping their (Oprah & Obama) narratives. Jen White and the creative team of "Making" paint vivid imagery with audio clips and distinctive voices and jokes. This podcast is not only about two national treasures, but it is also a history lesson on Chicago. Kudos.