Average rating:

5
out of 503 ratings.

So much fun!

by partsbunny on Oct 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Patrick is a great presenter! He’s gone to great lengths to make sure we can see history in a very personal way. A super fun and very educational show!

History as it should be

by Gerard van Kempen (@DutchBoy) on Oct 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A journey through a super interesting period of time brought in an engaging way. I just discovered this and I am binging. Highly recommended

Real good

by self proclaimed genius on Oct 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Listen

Excellent

by thanos2013 on Oct 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellent, what else needs said.

Great

by StephenCole on Oct 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great listen. You don't need to be a history buff to enjoy this, either.

Simply superb!

by Three_degrees_off_center on Oct 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This series earns top marks for content, presentation, and production values. If you like Mike Duncan's "History of Rome," David Crowther's "History of England," or Robin Pierson's "History of Byzantium," this podcast is for you.

History

by Den55f on Oct 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A very interesting topic. I did not know too much about the Roman Empire. Now I do. Concise and intelligent.

Amazing Podcast

by byrdatl on Oct 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

As a student of history, I’ve always been fascinated by Rome. This podcast is so thoroughly researched, solidly delivered, and extremely entertaining, that it is flying by. I highly recommend this to anyone who has even the remotest interest in late antiquity.

Fascinating new take on old debate

by SM in US on Sep 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One of the best history podcasts! Smart but not dense, approachable by both non specialists and students of history, provocative in ideas while honest and even-handed. This precursor to the "Tides of History" podcast occasionally has some sound engineering issues, but you'll quickly forgive them. It's well worth your time if you want to learn latest investigations of how something so big and long lasting as the Roman Empire came undone.

Jg

by Slartibartfast2 on Sep 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Phenomenal podcast

Love the different perspectives

by Dgues on Sep 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

And characters that take you through the history. Very well done

Excellent History podcast

by Bleu252525 on Sep 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very informative.

Terrific podcast

by Wildling9 on Sep 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Really brings to life an ancient civilization that once ruled most of the known world.

Fascinating podcast!

by Paul S. from California on Sep 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast.

The Fall of Rome

by TKinsey1 on Sep 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Brilliant!

Great unpacking of a storied legacy

by Rhinosaraus on Sep 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I was recommended this podcast by a friend. I think it's great. Hour long episodes which I can usually finish in a day via my commute. Creating a story out of the details we know and the reason we know (or don't know) these details is just one of the things I like a lot about this podcast. More academic than other podcasts but I think you get more out of it that way.

I've had so much fun!

by Mathews Thankachan on Sep 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a fantastic, always entertaining podcast. I love history and this podcast makes me ponder philosophical questions about my own life by introducing me on a deep level to the people and issues of Ancient Rome. I've enjoyed this podcast greatly!

Smazing stuff!

by Julianojae on Sep 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great job! It is an amazing peace of work!

Perfect

by Nonickanem on Sep 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Please do more heard you advertised on ben's podcast and I wish this was around when I was growing up and for all history thank you.

Brilliant

by Yangsian on Sep 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast series is absolutely fantastic. I know no other historian of Rome who understands and presents a case for the motivations, lives, histories, and cultures of the peripheral peoples of the empire, from the ancient Britons to the invading Goths. Fascinating, absorbing, indispensable.

Incredibly well done

by GB4258921692 on Sep 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Patrick does a great job making the material understandable and accessible for anyone from a neophyte to a PhD. Really enjoyable work!

Someone who understands how history really happens

by DaveSTL05 on Aug 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Patrick Wyman is conversational, persuasive, and compellingly interesting. He does it while somehow finding a way to tell the story from the perspective of the Goths and others who drive the story without leaving a written record of their version of the story. It's done articulately and with sympathetic imagination for the Mediterranean and European world of the time in a way that I haven't encountered before.

Comprehensive and easy to follow

by ABav8tor on Aug 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast.

Great History

by Trestir on Aug 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoy the story telling aspect mixed in with the history. The cadence is spot on. I also enjoy the interviews with other colleagues.

Excellent.

by Julius_jl on Aug 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very well done.

Finally, a podcast on Late Antiquity

by Guyinthecardboardbox on Aug 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

An excellent podcast to follow "The History of Rome", this is a series of lectures essentially discussing the various aspects of the Late Roman world and why the WRE collapsed. More than a simple narrative, Patrick goes into great detail about the various theories and implications of how and why things turned out the way they did. I find it refreshing that there is a lack of a ideological slant to his viewpoints, and he gives other ideas a fair shake I wouldn't recommend this to people who have little grasp on the final centuries of the Western Roman Empire. It's not Patrick's fault, it's a confusing and complicated era, not commonly represented in the public media like the Republic or early Empire. He does his best though, so if you do know the rough outline it's a great starting point.

This is awesome

by Jqd81 on Aug 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Recently finished the whole set. Excellent presentation of material--clear, concise, well delivered. I would like a bibliography page--listened in the car, so hard to keep track of the literature as it get cited.

Absolutely brilliant!

by EdWednesday on Aug 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I thought that I knew a lot about this subject but it turns out that I was wrong. Patrick goes into a great deal of depth and when you're finished you realize just how much you didn't know. Highly recommended.

Love it!

by Smalize on Aug 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love it when I see a new one in my feed!

Great - interesting and insightful

by LF1718 on Aug 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love history for all kinds of reasons but don't have the time to explore it as much as I would like. This series has refreshed my memory and given me way more information than I probably ever had in classes as a non-history major. The insights and comments on various points of views from other scholars are welcome. And just as important, and certainly key to my keeping up with the podcasts, it's entertaining. Fascinating stories that are true and generally have an impact on our lives today.

By all means listen!

by Kleegrubaugh on Aug 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Tantalizing, fascinating, intriguing.

One of my favorite podcasts

by jnelli27 on Aug 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Patrick talks in a clear and NOT monotone voice that keeps my attention. He does not assume things from the past and tells you if what he is saying is opinion. The subject matter is very interesting. Keep up the great work.

10/10

by yourmotherwasahampster on Jul 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a wonderful podcast! Downloaded it before a long trip, listened to 12 episodes before I knew it! He’s thorough and gives you something of an academic’s take, but also explains things in a way that even a novice can understand. I’m so happy I stumbled upon this! Can’t wait to keep going through it. I’ve also recommended it to my dad! Think he’ll love it too.

Great show

by Xsees on Jul 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I heard about this show through the authors new podcast Tides of History. They're both great - stays focused enough on the big ideas so the audience doesn't get lost in the minutos.

Excellent

by holy.DrIVER on Jul 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is very informative, easy to follow and comprehensive. The host is humble and explains even theories that differ from his own, and then explains why he makes the choices that he does. His dissertation on connection and movement of goods, people and ideas informs every episode, and they are the better for it!

Fascinating stories

by Groundhog55 on Jul 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I started listening to the earlier episodes last week and find each episode's narrative is top notch.

Amazing podcast! Interesting and easy to follow.

by y@ on Jul 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I loved the History of Rome. This is the perfect compliment. I had high expectations based on the first episode, and the next three delivered. Started episode 4 just now and I wanted to help give this gem some exposure.

Outstanding!

by LoboF15 on Jul 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Patrick Wyman is on par with Mike Duncan and Dan Carlsin! I've listened to most of the history podcasts on iTunes and not only like this topic, but also greatly enjoy Patrick's production. Keep up the great work!

Academic, but accessible

by All4Mets on Jul 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If you have a baseline knowledge about Roman history, this podcast is for you. It dives headfirst into the academic literature regarding aspects of the Western fall. It also gives well developed, first person accounts of people in and around the empire.If you don't have a baseline knowledge about Roman history, you should probably get one before checking out this particular podcast. He does briefly address some of the narrative history, but only sparsely.

Awesome

by Bailey in Tennesse on Jul 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is full of thought provoking material. I am very excited to listen to where it is going.

Almost through the series

by Podcast Addict2 on Jul 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

With comparisons of our present day to the fall of the Roman Empire a perinnial subject for prognosticators in the media, it is so interesting to have a more complete view of the long, slow decline based on the latest historical analysis.

Annoying Commercial Breaks

by ChrisMVB on Jul 24, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I get the necessity of advertising. But this podcast has a tendency of 'sneaking' the commercial breaks in. The episodes of the Roman Economy are the most egregious I've heard so far: without missing a beat, the narrator goes from discussing the latifundia to shilling for Zip Recruiter. Very jarring.So, regardless of the quality of the material, one star out of five. Have the respect for your audience to let us know when you're advertising.

Great stuff

by Lil456245 on Jul 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love it.

In-depth and engaging

by MIZChitown on Jul 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Highly recommended if you're remotely interested in history, sociology or politics

Really enjoyable

by SueZQ5858 on Jul 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've really enjoyed this series. I learned some of this in school but to hear it in such detail and with what is current thought was really great. Style is easy to listen to. Slightly academic but I actually kinda like that. So much is so dumbed down these days. This is not. Great podcast.

I need more

by Gmoney2748 on Jul 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Give me more podcasts like this and I will listen.

Great!

by aggiedave on Jul 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great information presenting in an interesting way. I particularly like the narratives that are put together to describe life during the time period from an individual's perspective. I always look forward to new episodes!

Norm Hapke

by Norm Hapke on Jul 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is very very informative and interesting. Mr. Wyman does a great job explaining the complex interactions between disparate peoples. His ideas of not only the whats but the whys of the happenings and his utilizing of archetypal families is extremely helpful. I listen to Every episode with great interest

Unreal.

by Matty's Killers on Jul 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It's so so cool. I leaned so much that I had no idea about. Patrick could charge money for this, and he chose rather to give us a free education on an intricate part of history. Thank you!

Great podcast

by Yeppeo on Jul 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very enjoyable listen.