Average rating:

5
out of 406 ratings.

This is awesome

by Jqd81 on Aug 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Recently finished the whole set. Excellent presentation of material--clear, concise, well delivered. I would like a bibliography page--listened in the car, so hard to keep track of the literature as it get cited.

Absolutely brilliant!

by EdWednesday on Aug 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I thought that I knew a lot about this subject but it turns out that I was wrong. Patrick goes into a great deal of depth and when you're finished you realize just how much you didn't know. Highly recommended.

Love it!

by Smalize on Aug 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love it when I see a new one in my feed!

Great - interesting and insightful

by LF1718 on Aug 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love history for all kinds of reasons but don't have the time to explore it as much as I would like. This series has refreshed my memory and given me way more information than I probably ever had in classes as a non-history major. The insights and comments on various points of views from other scholars are welcome. And just as important, and certainly key to my keeping up with the podcasts, it's entertaining. Fascinating stories that are true and generally have an impact on our lives today.

By all means listen!

by Kleegrubaugh on Aug 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Tantalizing, fascinating, intriguing.

One of my favorite podcasts

by jnelli27 on Aug 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Patrick talks in a clear and NOT monotone voice that keeps my attention. He does not assume things from the past and tells you if what he is saying is opinion. The subject matter is very interesting. Keep up the great work.

10/10

by yourmotherwasahampster on Jul 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a wonderful podcast! Downloaded it before a long trip, listened to 12 episodes before I knew it! He’s thorough and gives you something of an academic’s take, but also explains things in a way that even a novice can understand. I’m so happy I stumbled upon this! Can’t wait to keep going through it. I’ve also recommended it to my dad! Think he’ll love it too.

Great show

by Xsees on Jul 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I heard about this show through the authors new podcast Tides of History. They're both great - stays focused enough on the big ideas so the audience doesn't get lost in the minutos.

Excellent

by holy.DrIVER on Jul 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is very informative, easy to follow and comprehensive. The host is humble and explains even theories that differ from his own, and then explains why he makes the choices that he does. His dissertation on connection and movement of goods, people and ideas informs every episode, and they are the better for it!

Fascinating stories

by Groundhog55 on Jul 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I started listening to the earlier episodes last week and find each episode's narrative is top notch.

Amazing podcast! Interesting and easy to follow.

by y@ on Jul 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I loved the History of Rome. This is the perfect compliment. I had high expectations based on the first episode, and the next three delivered. Started episode 4 just now and I wanted to help give this gem some exposure.

Outstanding!

by LoboF15 on Jul 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Patrick Wyman is on par with Mike Duncan and Dan Carlsin! I've listened to most of the history podcasts on iTunes and not only like this topic, but also greatly enjoy Patrick's production. Keep up the great work!

Academic, but accessible

by All4Mets on Jul 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If you have a baseline knowledge about Roman history, this podcast is for you. It dives headfirst into the academic literature regarding aspects of the Western fall. It also gives well developed, first person accounts of people in and around the empire.If you don't have a baseline knowledge about Roman history, you should probably get one before checking out this particular podcast. He does briefly address some of the narrative history, but only sparsely.

Awesome

by Bailey in Tennesse on Jul 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is full of thought provoking material. I am very excited to listen to where it is going.

Almost through the series

by Podcast Addict2 on Jul 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

With comparisons of our present day to the fall of the Roman Empire a perinnial subject for prognosticators in the media, it is so interesting to have a more complete view of the long, slow decline based on the latest historical analysis.

Annoying Commercial Breaks

by ChrisMVB on Jul 24, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I get the necessity of advertising. But this podcast has a tendency of 'sneaking' the commercial breaks in. The episodes of the Roman Economy are the most egregious I've heard so far: without missing a beat, the narrator goes from discussing the latifundia to shilling for Zip Recruiter. Very jarring.So, regardless of the quality of the material, one star out of five. Have the respect for your audience to let us know when you're advertising.

Great stuff

by Lil456245 on Jul 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love it.

In-depth and engaging

by MIZChitown on Jul 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Highly recommended if you're remotely interested in history, sociology or politics

Really enjoyable

by SueZQ5858 on Jul 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've really enjoyed this series. I learned some of this in school but to hear it in such detail and with what is current thought was really great. Style is easy to listen to. Slightly academic but I actually kinda like that. So much is so dumbed down these days. This is not. Great podcast.

I need more

by Gmoney2748 on Jul 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Give me more podcasts like this and I will listen.

Great!

by aggiedave on Jul 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great information presenting in an interesting way. I particularly like the narratives that are put together to describe life during the time period from an individual's perspective. I always look forward to new episodes!

Norm Hapke

by Norm Hapke on Jul 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is very very informative and interesting. Mr. Wyman does a great job explaining the complex interactions between disparate peoples. His ideas of not only the whats but the whys of the happenings and his utilizing of archetypal families is extremely helpful. I listen to Every episode with great interest

Unreal.

by Matty's Killers on Jul 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It's so so cool. I leaned so much that I had no idea about. Patrick could charge money for this, and he chose rather to give us a free education on an intricate part of history. Thank you!

Great podcast

by Yeppeo on Jul 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very enjoyable listen.

Great Podcast

by Charliebigred on Jun 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A really interesting podcast. I listen to this right away when it downloads. If you like history and looking beyond the main story, this is the podcast for you.

If you liked Jack Whyte...

by tt@VA on Jun 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

& the camulod series,, ep # 6 will nicely flesh out the island's dynamic.I haven't heard tell of the venerable one since college. Apparently, a lot of excellent work has been done in the british soil.Great podcast; I agree with a previous review that asserts this is the kind of thing historians should be doing.

Solid show

by ak103.762 on Jun 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

For those like me who can't get enough of Rome and all it's history this podcast is for you.

Fall of Rome

by Chunky Lover53 on Jun 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I was introduced to this podcast by The Art of Manliness podcast. I love that the material is accessible to non-Ph.D.'s and that Mr Wyman provides sources for additional reading for many of the topics.

From novice to expert

by Acefan1313 on Jun 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Anyone who likes history should love this podcast whether you are just diving into the world of history podcasts or are a grizzled veteran from hours of listening to Dan Carlin, Mike Duncan, Robin Pierson, and Kevin Stroud.

Fall of Rome Podcast

by Kp4 ghost on Jun 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellent!

Fascinating podcast

by MotownGal2 on Jun 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very engaging, thorough and interesting podcast. I have long been keen to learn all that I could about Ancient Rome, the Roman Empire and its fall and the resulting medieval period in Western Europe. This has been the most illuminating source I have discovered. I look forward to every other Thursday when there is a new installment!

Was good until the Augustine fanboy episode

by Jackc69 on Jun 15, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I thought this was a history podcast. In the Augustine episode we didn't get the historical story of Augustine. What we got was the story from the perspective that all Christians are good it is a proven fact that you can't be a good person without a god. They spoke of what Rome did to Christians without going into the fact that Rome was horrible to everybody they didn't single out Christians. They also presented Augustine as only a positive influence in Rome. The reality was that Augustine was a politician who helped make Christianity the official religion of the state. Which then used the full force of Romes power to go after romans of other faiths. It should have been a pro catholic history podcast not on a history podcast. Guess I have to wait for the next Dan Carlin show to get the real history I crave.

Very interesting and well done

by EdLewis2 on Jun 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a fascinating series of podcasts. The narrator is riveting. He brings conditions of 1600 years ago to life. Good job, cannot recommend highly enough.

Excellent.

by Joseph Ursery on Jun 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Informative, in depth, accessible.

Great Brain Food!

by OC Domer on Jun 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've listened to all 21 episodes so far, and can't get enough. Patrick does an excellent job breaking down incredibly complex topics from multiple angles in a way that is highy informative and also entertaining. My only worry is that we're going to run out of history evenntually!

Fall of Rome Podcast Review

by Mike P Mac on Jun 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is easily the best historical podcast around. Patrick Wyman is informed, organized and has a great narrative style. His hypothetical characters from each era and region are an especially effective at portraying life and conditions during this time. The only problem with this podcast is that it is self-defining and therefore, will soon run out of episodes. Will be interesting to see what his next podcast might be.

Great

by Dgfjjdfjjinhgdfgv on Jun 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Podcast

Excellent and educational

by Wesleyanite on Jun 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have thoroughly enjoyed this podcast. Patrick does an excellent job bringing to life the Roman world and distilling the complexity of the Fall of Rome in layperson's terms. Thank you Patrick!

Great and informative

by Jack11728939 on Jun 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Patrick knows what he's talking about and presents his opinions on various historical theories effectively while doing a good job of mentioning other points of view. Highly recommend!

Great listen!

by Thanks YHL on Jun 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a great listen.

Great Job!

by mfreema523 on May 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very thorough and engaging. I look forward to each episode.

A+

by agentlemanofleisure on May 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love it

Fantastic!

by jbkjmk on May 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This a great informative and entertaining podcast. Definitely work a listen

Great content but MAJOR technical problems!

by Joannzzil on May 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I would give this six stars but for one unforgivable technical problem. It's the sound! Huge disconnect between the commercials and the presentation. While the commercials are loud and clear, the story sounds like it's being read in an echo chamber! Can't you go sit in a closet or something if you can't find a proper space to record?Come on, just listen to it, and you will know what I mean!

A top podcast

by Addammz on Apr 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Fall of Rome is a well researched romp through the end of the Roman Empire. Though Patrick stays away from making his own conclusions about the lessons for modern polities, there are obviously many parallels including: the fluid tribal/ethnic identities of peoples on the fringes, ineffective executive leadership hastening institutional decay, and intra-state mobility/trade in unifying the empire. Overall a fascinating listen!

Patrick is the man

by Sanswhis on Apr 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One of the best history pods around

Very interesting

by dada7 on Apr 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Quite an education and much more balanced than what we grew up with in school.And very applicable for this time in the history of the United States.

Just Wow

by Visnovsky on Apr 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

History buffs must check this out.

Too many adverts

by RWjagster on Apr 14, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The content is good but there are more advertisements than an episode of walking dead.

Really Well Made

by Clayman88 on Apr 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm not a history buff at all. I'm surprised that this podcast has sucked me in but it really has. This is a really well made podcast that keeps your attention and has tons of interesting facts.