Average rating:

5
out of 367 ratings.

Great Podcast

by Charliebigred on Jun 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A really interesting podcast. I listen to this right away when it downloads. If you like history and looking beyond the main story, this is the podcast for you.

If you liked Jack Whyte...

by tt@VA on Jun 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

& the camulod series,, ep # 6 will nicely flesh out the island's dynamic.I haven't heard tell of the venerable one since college. Apparently, a lot of excellent work has been done in the british soil.Great podcast; I agree with a previous review that asserts this is the kind of thing historians should be doing.

Solid show

by ak103.762 on Jun 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

For those like me who can't get enough of Rome and all it's history this podcast is for you.

Fall of Rome

by Chunky Lover53 on Jun 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I was introduced to this podcast by The Art of Manliness podcast. I love that the material is accessible to non-Ph.D.'s and that Mr Wyman provides sources for additional reading for many of the topics.

From novice to expert

by Acefan1313 on Jun 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Anyone who likes history should love this podcast whether you are just diving into the world of history podcasts or are a grizzled veteran from hours of listening to Dan Carlin, Mike Duncan, Robin Pierson, and Kevin Stroud.

Fall of Rome Podcast

by Kp4 ghost on Jun 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellent!

Fascinating podcast

by MotownGal2 on Jun 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very engaging, thorough and interesting podcast. I have long been keen to learn all that I could about Ancient Rome, the Roman Empire and its fall and the resulting medieval period in Western Europe. This has been the most illuminating source I have discovered. I look forward to every other Thursday when there is a new installment!

Was good until the Augustine fanboy episode

by Jackc69 on Jun 15, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I thought this was a history podcast. In the Augustine episode we didn't get the historical story of Augustine. What we got was the story from the perspective that all Christians are good it is a proven fact that you can't be a good person without a god. They spoke of what Rome did to Christians without going into the fact that Rome was horrible to everybody they didn't single out Christians. They also presented Augustine as only a positive influence in Rome. The reality was that Augustine was a politician who helped make Christianity the official religion of the state. Which then used the full force of Romes power to go after romans of other faiths. It should have been a pro catholic history podcast not on a history podcast. Guess I have to wait for the next Dan Carlin show to get the real history I crave.

Very interesting and well done

by EdLewis2 on Jun 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a fascinating series of podcasts. The narrator is riveting. He brings conditions of 1600 years ago to life. Good job, cannot recommend highly enough.

Excellent.

by Joseph Ursery on Jun 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Informative, in depth, accessible.

Great Brain Food!

by OC Domer on Jun 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've listened to all 21 episodes so far, and can't get enough. Patrick does an excellent job breaking down incredibly complex topics from multiple angles in a way that is highy informative and also entertaining. My only worry is that we're going to run out of history evenntually!

Fall of Rome Podcast Review

by Mike P Mac on Jun 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is easily the best historical podcast around. Patrick Wyman is informed, organized and has a great narrative style. His hypothetical characters from each era and region are an especially effective at portraying life and conditions during this time. The only problem with this podcast is that it is self-defining and therefore, will soon run out of episodes. Will be interesting to see what his next podcast might be.

Great

by Dgfjjdfjjinhgdfgv on Jun 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Podcast

Excellent and educational

by Wesleyanite on Jun 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have thoroughly enjoyed this podcast. Patrick does an excellent job bringing to life the Roman world and distilling the complexity of the Fall of Rome in layperson's terms. Thank you Patrick!

Great and informative

by Jack11728939 on Jun 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Patrick knows what he's talking about and presents his opinions on various historical theories effectively while doing a good job of mentioning other points of view. Highly recommend!

Great listen!

by Thanks YHL on Jun 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a great listen.

Great Job!

by mfreema523 on May 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very thorough and engaging. I look forward to each episode.

A+

by agentlemanofleisure on May 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love it

Fantastic!

by jbkjmk on May 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This a great informative and entertaining podcast. Definitely work a listen

Great content but MAJOR technical problems!

by Joannzzil on May 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I would give this six stars but for one unforgivable technical problem. It's the sound! Huge disconnect between the commercials and the presentation. While the commercials are loud and clear, the story sounds like it's being read in an echo chamber! Can't you go sit in a closet or something if you can't find a proper space to record?Come on, just listen to it, and you will know what I mean!

A top podcast

by Addammz on Apr 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Fall of Rome is a well researched romp through the end of the Roman Empire. Though Patrick stays away from making his own conclusions about the lessons for modern polities, there are obviously many parallels including: the fluid tribal/ethnic identities of peoples on the fringes, ineffective executive leadership hastening institutional decay, and intra-state mobility/trade in unifying the empire. Overall a fascinating listen!

Patrick is the man

by Sanswhis on Apr 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One of the best history pods around

Very interesting

by dada7 on Apr 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Quite an education and much more balanced than what we grew up with in school.And very applicable for this time in the history of the United States.

Just Wow

by Visnovsky on Apr 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

History buffs must check this out.

Too many adverts

by RWjagster on Apr 14, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The content is good but there are more advertisements than an episode of walking dead.

Really Well Made

by Clayman88 on Apr 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm not a history buff at all. I'm surprised that this podcast has sucked me in but it really has. This is a really well made podcast that keeps your attention and has tons of interesting facts.

Great follow to History of Rome

by Lord_Danye on Apr 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I loved the History of Rome podcast and after 170+ episodes, i needed more. Thanks to The Fall of Rome, I have a great podcast to continue my historical journey.

Superb

by jd-smith1 on Apr 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Patrick Wyman provides an outstanding podcast worthy of anyone's time. The Fall of Rome brings history alive in a unique, engaging manner. Well-researched, well-written, and well-narrated, this is among my favorite podcasts.

very engaging

by Jstauden on Apr 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I haven't taken history since AP American and European in HS, but I liked those a lot. This podcast reminded me why. He takes his profession seriously, and shares his insight. I recommend this pocast without reservation!

An addictive podcast series

by The Flying Nematode on Mar 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The Fall of Rome series is, despite the occasionally tacky commercials, a podcast worthy of following. The scale and complexity of the Roman Empire throughout the early centuries is articulated in an engaging and thoughtful way. One really gets a feel for how small local changes and 'improvements' were to add up to massive dislocation and disintegration of the Empire as a whole. I do have a persistent question which bothers me though. Why did the Eastern part of the Empire not only survive the demise of the Western but with Justinian in the 6th C & then Basil in the late 10th C dazzle the civilized world with high culture ? I feel I'm missing something but I'm not sure what it is.

It's great

by Tuneinlistener on Mar 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It's great!

Lacking and repetitive

by greeklove<3 on Mar 28, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The subject matter of this podcast really caught my attention. And the historical insight was interesting.However, the host repeats himself constantly and uses the same vocabulary when he does so. This made it difficult to listen to and enjoy.

A new light onto the fall of Rome

by sixtiesluvr on Mar 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have listened to the first four episodes so far of this excellent podcast and have learned much that I did not know before about this period of history. So much of what we learned in school was, if not inaccurate, at least incomplete. The transition from civilization to anarchy and the slow climb back into civilization during the so-called "dark ages" is something that has interested me for years. Patrick Wyman discusses not only the historical events but also the social, economic and political realities of the period that contributed to the fall of Rome. In point of fact, Rome didn't actually fall but rather went into a sort of sleep period. Aspects of Roman society still exist today in our laws and religious practices, but the end of the empire is the topic that gets the most ink.If you are any kind of history buff, you need to subscribe to this podcast. It is very well done.

Tops!

by KevinICdesigner on Mar 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I think this is the best organized podcast I've listened to. Superior to History of Rome, which is a TALL order.

Entertaining and Accessible

by WeatherorNot23? on Mar 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been a huge fan of history my entire life, and I've always found Roman history to be fascinating. With that being said, I've always found it to be to be somewhat intimidating just because of its shear breadth, especially the latter stages of the empire in the West. Patrick Wyman, with his academic knowledge (he has a Ph.D) and ability to narrate like a good storyteller and not a professor, has made the roughly two centuries leading up to 476 AD accessible and illuminating. I greatly appreciate that he explains societal, economic, and demographic factors during this period that played a role in the fall of Rome; it gives you an appreciation of what it was like for the regular folks of this era, both Roman citizens and migrating tribespeople alike, without focusing exclusively on the mighty emperors, generals, and aristocrats (though they receive plenty of attention from Mr. Wyman!). I recommend this podcast to anyone that appreciates good storytelling.

A favorite

by NotMrsPeel on Mar 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I usually listen to true crime but this well told history of Rome has captured my imagination.

Great show

by ParksAndWrecked on Mar 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

History made fun without being history made dumb. Love it.

Outstanding!

by scotus on Mar 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Wow, what an amazing podcast. He manages to take a difficult subject and describe it in terms a generalist can understand. Even if you think you don't like history, this podcast will entertain and inform you. I look forward to every episode!

Excellent

by Pissnvineger on Mar 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Simply amazing. I look forward to every episode. Beautiful detail.

Excellent, detailed, fascinating history podcast

by Pakisdanny on Mar 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Patrick knows his stuff and structures these podcasts really clearly. Highly recommended.

The Empire Never Ended

by T. Nielski on Mar 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast offers a pragmatic and insightful view into the decline (or transformation) of the Roman Empire by re-constructing the lived experience of people based on the latest archelogical evidence. It's entertaining, thoughtful, and completely worth every minute of your time. I for one am grateful for Mr. Wyman's "poor life choice" and look forward to learning more from him in future episodes.

Among the Best

by Chime Dolker Banatsang on Mar 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Just about everything you could want from a history podcast

Enjoyable and eminently listenable

by matthewvreed on Mar 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've thoroughly been enjoying Wyman's excellent look at the fall of the Roman Empire. I've enjoyed particularly his focus on what history might look like through the eyes of someone who experienced it, instead of focusing on history in the broadest possible strokes.

Very informative and detailed

by AC in LA on Mar 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a great podcast for anyone interested in some interesting and lesser discussed topics surrounding late period Rome.

Remarkable

by The One #2 on Feb 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The presenter has clearly mastered the content, but explains it in a straight-forward and approachable manner. A fascinating topic, well-handled.Keep up the great work.

Excellent and Researched

by Usfjoe on Feb 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Well done. Well executed. If you want a good history podcast, you can't get much better.

Listener

by Contav on Feb 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great stuff keep it up!

Excellent Podcast

by BG993 on Feb 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If you are a student of history, or just like to hear a good "story" I highly recommend this podcast. There are parallels between ancient Rome, and our own current events. "Those who don't study history are doomed to repeat it..."

Great modern take on the Romans and the classical world

by JPthr33 on Feb 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

In addition to a newer perspective than what was taught in US high schools in the 80s and 90s, the host uses a device of creating a character for the audience to latch onto. Nice insight into the subject from a recent PhD. If you like this check out his other podcast, History Matters. Both are my new history favs for 2017. ps, if you like this you might like Back Story (a more US-centric history pod) as well.

Always amazing and interesting!

by JaJaJaJaLaLaLaLa on Feb 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Every episode is fantastic and fascinating!