Average rating:

5
out of 995 ratings.

Good Listen!

by BTXH04 on Jun 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great, accessible but informative podcast. Highly engaging.

Good stuff

by Chief Cornwall on Jun 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love everything about Ancient Rome but this isn’t a narrative this is enlightening history. Thanks so much

New to podcasts

by tropoman on Jun 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks for your knowledge, this has been very enjoyable.

Fantastic Analysis of the Fall of Rome

by Ztschwartz24 on May 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Much like Mike Duncan’s History of Rome, the first few episodes are ROUGH. However, also like the History of Rome, by around episode four Patrick finds his footing and the series really begins to shine. His analysis is clear yet detailed and incredibly well thought out. Just a fantastic series!

Stunning

by Byronstarr on May 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love his podcasts. He breathes life into history, especially an area I know little about. He narrates in a conversational style that makes it so appealing.

Great Approach to a Complicated, Much-Discussed Topic

by Herr Professor J on May 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is an awesome, nuanced discussion of the fall of the Roman Empire by a podcaster who has just completed a dissertation on the subject. What really stands out about "The Fall of Rome" to me is that it explores not only the history of Rome's decline, but also the historiography of the period. Patrick Wyman structures his investigation like a graduate student writing a dissertation--in a good sense. He identifies a key question or probelm in the historiography of the decline, briefly outlines the ways others have tried to answer this question, describes his own approach to the issue, explains WHY he is using this particular approach and then brings this approach to bear on the historical or archaelogical record. This way of doing things may not be for everyone, but I took it as an invitation not only to listen to, but also think about what Wyman wanted to tell me. Great podcast!

Great podcast

by akmarshak on Apr 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve been listening to this podcast for several episodes now, and it’s great. Patrick combines deep subject knowledge with clear narrative and analysis. As a Ancient history PhD, I appreciate his scholarly approach and clear discussion of the historiography. He effectively couples it with approachable narratives about hypothetical characters designed to make his claims clearer to non-experts. Great job!

Terrific!

by K why complicated usernames on Apr 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoy these! I've listened to the first 21 episodes after hearing a rec from Mike Duncan. Wyman is much different and more serious. I really appreciate the integration of archeological research. The podcasts are like listening to a great college lecture.

Just great listening...

by Inti1982-1 on Apr 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I think for the first time in my life I wake up and eagerly jump into traffic jam. This podcast is just addictive! Can't wait to just enjoy my three hours of commuting every weekday listening to this program.

Boycotting Wondery

by Tshirley67 on Apr 06, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I will not listen to any Wondery podcasts as long as they are associated with Mike Boudet.

Absolutely fantastic

by JohnnyRob73 on Apr 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Loved this series. Wish there were more episodes.

Excellent historical podcast

by Kinnickkinnick on Mar 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellent content, delivered in a way that makes it accessible to a layperson like me. I appreciate that he tries to humanize the experience of fictional characters in the periods he talks about- he captures the imagination and really brings an impact to the narrative. Very well delivered, and he presents multiple opinions on historical periods.

A history Degree Review

by Stephen Aiken on Mar 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

As someone who has a history degree from the University of Oregon, I am constantly trying to further my knowledge in the history discipline. Patrick Wyman is an incredibly well read historian and I am the type of person who tries to poke holes in most historical arguments. However, with Pat Wyman it is nearly impossible to revoke his assertions because he has well researched evidence and credible sources. His podcast is recommended by myself to any one who is curious about the fall of the Roman Empire or history issues in general!

Love it!

by Scott plasm on Mar 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great stuff.

Great!

by Nonpartisan Pedicab on Feb 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you, Patrick. I have been putting on a chapter of Fall of Rome every time I go to the gym. It sure makes the Nordic Track a lot less boring. I appreciate your humanizing take on the various aspects of the fall of Rome. I also greatly enjoy your feeling for the degree of complexity involved in the relationships between Rome and the barbarian world.

love this show

by MichaelPicklePatrick on Feb 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

love this show

Fascinating!

by Armrod50 on Feb 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Incredibly well written. Engaging and thought-provoking. I specially like the characters that put that puts the history into a wonderful, relatable human perspective. Highly recommended!

Fantastic

by Dutch JimBo on Feb 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

If you like history or info on be Roman Empire then you will likely enjoy this very much as I did.

Fall of Rome as soothing History assuaging MY "Fall."

by Music_Lv'r on Feb 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

While Recovering from my own 11/29/17 fall—that destroyed both feet, Surgery, then 2.5 mos in Rehab—my daily listening this Podcast's, REALLY Interesting, well-Researched Episodes did what NO Pain Medication could: Keep my Mind Off It—Immersing my Imagination and/or Discomfort into a part of History I'd always been Intrigued by; how, why, when, etc Rome DID fall. Thank You, Patrick, for this Marvelous Diversion, from, (and Swallowing fact I now, was Handicapped). (gaeasmidwife :))

Well worth listening to

by AULD MUNRO on Feb 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

very clear; very well-spoken. Very accurate. naturally there were some popularizations and simplifications (using fictional models) there were merely figures of speech. I listened to every epispose and some several times. The content is really outstanding.

Great podcast!

by Twolve on Feb 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you Pat for all the hard work you put into this pod!

Good content/not so good tone

by Ralphy49 on Feb 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Interesting stuff here.. but hearing this guy speak is like having a hammer give you a tap on the forehead at the end of each sentence.

This podcast is a carbon copy of “Tides of History”

by thecrazycrossiants on Feb 07, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Every episode is copy-pasted from “Tides of History” to this podcast!

terrific podcast on politics and history

by -diam- on Jan 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Patrick does terrific job of explaining complex issues through compelling narratives. His way of representing a story through "fictional" characters is great and very convincing. I noticed doing that myself explaining concepts :)I considered myself a very educated amateur on the subject and was surprised to discover SO much more in this educative and fascinating podcast.

Genuinely Informative and Fun Podcast

by chillclimber on Jan 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Learning more about the fall of Rome has always been on my list of things to read more about. I love history and it’s an area I wanted to understand better. I stumbled on this podcast just looking around and very happy I did. Super interesting, well presented, and enjoyable to listen to - I’m getting all the information I had hoped for and then some!

History Lover

by DanyPadge on Jan 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

These short episodes are terrific and comprehensive in every way I can articulate, Mr. Wyman truly has done an amazing job with this and I’m currently 10Episodes deep and I’m hooked.

Very enjoyable

by AtruEpickmeUP on Jan 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoy his teaching style. I was able to hold on to key parts and he held attention the entire time.

Excellent narrative style

by mikusaurelius on Dec 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Patrick brings the latest scholarly research to bear on this fascinating period of history, while also giving the listener a sense of how history played out in individuals' lives. To do this he creates composite, fictionalized characters who participate in momentous events: a Visigothic warrior who would have fought at Adrianople, or a Sicilian merchant mariner who would have carried Vandal grain from North Africa to Rome. This podcast makes important distinctions about how the fall of the Roman empire played out in various parts of the empire (i.e., very differently), and about the motives, tactics and fates of the various barbarian tribes that brought the empire down. Patrick also navigates sort of a middle ground between the apocalyptic, ravening-barbarians framing of the fall of Rome and, on the other hand, the current generation of scholarly loons who maintain that no dark age succeeded the fall of Rome. I love the podcast and hate the fulsome commercials.

Great podcast.

by Ilovecomics77 on Dec 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love how the host really puts the listener intro he shoes of a person from the times that the romans ruled the world. Very cool

In depth and insightful

by Sienna Martine on Nov 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the podcast! I really enjoy the focus on the economic changes that shaped politics and daily life. The stories of individuals and their families also personalized this period which I didn’t know much about before.

Superb explanation of a change in civilization

by storyteller/educator on Nov 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The host does an excellent job of clearly explaining the events that led to a change in the way humans lived. He is sincere and knowledgable.

Extremely well organized and presented

by Stretchdad on Nov 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Better than the best college history course I took!Instead of the usual chronological narrative, PW focuses on major inflection points, explaining what happened,why, and what might have been. He also acquaints us with alternate viewpoints. Keep it coming, PW.

Excellent and compelling history

by Loki133333 on Nov 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Patrick Wyman makes clear sense of what had previously seemed to be a vague notion of how the Roman Empire fell. Well researched and engagingly presented. Even more interesting than I expected it to be

Outstanding

by music-ish on Oct 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Even-handed and thoughtful. This guy is a master at explaining complicated things in simple terms, without losing the nuance.

Knowledgeable

by Josh from Cape May on Oct 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A true scholar of the era, with the uncanny ability to make it accessible to a dim witted public servant like me!

jimvan45

by jimvan45 on Oct 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

23 episodes and it was still a headlong gallop across 300 years of Imperial history! It was great!

So much fun!

by BeccaEller on Oct 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Patrick is a great presenter! He’s gone to great lengths to make sure we can see history in a very personal way. A super fun and very educational show!

History as it should be

by Gerard van Kempen (@DutchBoy) on Oct 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A journey through a super interesting period of time brought in an engaging way. I just discovered this and I am binging. Highly recommended

Real good

by self proclaimed genius on Oct 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Listen

Excellent

by thanos2013 on Oct 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellent, what else needs said.

Great

by StephenCole on Oct 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great listen. You don't need to be a history buff to enjoy this, either.

Simply superb!

by Three_degrees_off_center on Oct 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This series earns top marks for content, presentation, and production values. If you like Mike Duncan's "History of Rome," David Crowther's "History of England," or Robin Pierson's "History of Byzantium," this podcast is for you.

History

by Den55f on Oct 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A very interesting topic. I did not know too much about the Roman Empire. Now I do. Concise and intelligent.

Amazing Podcast

by byrdatl on Oct 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

As a student of history, I’ve always been fascinated by Rome. This podcast is so thoroughly researched, solidly delivered, and extremely entertaining, that it is flying by. I highly recommend this to anyone who has even the remotest interest in late antiquity.

Fascinating new take on old debate

by SM in US on Sep 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One of the best history podcasts! Smart but not dense, approachable by both non specialists and students of history, provocative in ideas while honest and even-handed. This precursor to the "Tides of History" podcast occasionally has some sound engineering issues, but you'll quickly forgive them. It's well worth your time if you want to learn latest investigations of how something so big and long lasting as the Roman Empire came undone.

Jg

by Slartibartfast2 on Sep 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Phenomenal podcast

Love the different perspectives

by Dgues on Sep 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

And characters that take you through the history. Very well done

Excellent History podcast

by Bleu252525 on Sep 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very informative.

Terrific podcast

by Wildling9 on Sep 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Really brings to life an ancient civilization that once ruled most of the known world.

Fascinating podcast!

by Paul S. from California on Sep 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast.