Average rating:

5
out of 344 ratings.

Fantastic!

by jbkjmk on May 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This a great informative and entertaining podcast. Definitely work a listen

Great content but MAJOR technical problems!

by Joannzzil on May 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I would give this six stars but for one unforgivable technical problem. It's the sound! Huge disconnect between the commercials and the presentation. While the commercials are loud and clear, the story sounds like it's being read in an echo chamber! Can't you go sit in a closet or something if you can't find a proper space to record?Come on, just listen to it, and you will know what I mean!

A top podcast

by Addammz on Apr 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Fall of Rome is a well researched romp through the end of the Roman Empire. Though Patrick stays away from making his own conclusions about the lessons for modern polities, there are obviously many parallels including: the fluid tribal/ethnic identities of peoples on the fringes, ineffective executive leadership hastening institutional decay, and intra-state mobility/trade in unifying the empire. Overall a fascinating listen!

Patrick is the man

by Sanswhis on Apr 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One of the best history pods around

Very interesting

by dada7 on Apr 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Quite an education and much more balanced than what we grew up with in school.And very applicable for this time in the history of the United States.

Just Wow

by Visnovsky on Apr 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

History buffs must check this out.

Too many adverts

by RWjagster on Apr 14, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The content is good but there are more advertisements than an episode of walking dead.

Really Well Made

by Clayman88 on Apr 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm not a history buff at all. I'm surprised that this podcast has sucked me in but it really has. This is a really well made podcast that keeps your attention and has tons of interesting facts.

Great follow to History of Rome

by Lord_Danye on Apr 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I loved the History of Rome podcast and after 170+ episodes, i needed more. Thanks to The Fall of Rome, I have a great podcast to continue my historical journey.

Superb

by jd-smith1 on Apr 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Patrick Wyman provides an outstanding podcast worthy of anyone's time. The Fall of Rome brings history alive in a unique, engaging manner. Well-researched, well-written, and well-narrated, this is among my favorite podcasts.

very engaging

by Jstauden on Apr 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I haven't taken history since AP American and European in HS, but I liked those a lot. This podcast reminded me why. He takes his profession seriously, and shares his insight. I recommend this pocast without reservation!

An addictive podcast series

by The Flying Nematode on Mar 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The Fall of Rome series is, despite the occasionally tacky commercials, a podcast worthy of following. The scale and complexity of the Roman Empire throughout the early centuries is articulated in an engaging and thoughtful way. One really gets a feel for how small local changes and 'improvements' were to add up to massive dislocation and disintegration of the Empire as a whole. I do have a persistent question which bothers me though. Why did the Eastern part of the Empire not only survive the demise of the Western but with Justinian in the 6th C & then Basil in the late 10th C dazzle the civilized world with high culture ? I feel I'm missing something but I'm not sure what it is.

It's great

by Tuneinlistener on Mar 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It's great!

Lacking and repetitive

by greeklove<3 on Mar 28, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The subject matter of this podcast really caught my attention. And the historical insight was interesting.However, the host repeats himself constantly and uses the same vocabulary when he does so. This made it difficult to listen to and enjoy.

A new light onto the fall of Rome

by sixtiesluvr on Mar 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have listened to the first four episodes so far of this excellent podcast and have learned much that I did not know before about this period of history. So much of what we learned in school was, if not inaccurate, at least incomplete. The transition from civilization to anarchy and the slow climb back into civilization during the so-called "dark ages" is something that has interested me for years. Patrick Wyman discusses not only the historical events but also the social, economic and political realities of the period that contributed to the fall of Rome. In point of fact, Rome didn't actually fall but rather went into a sort of sleep period. Aspects of Roman society still exist today in our laws and religious practices, but the end of the empire is the topic that gets the most ink.If you are any kind of history buff, you need to subscribe to this podcast. It is very well done.

Tops!

by KevinICdesigner on Mar 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I think this is the best organized podcast I've listened to. Superior to History of Rome, which is a TALL order.

Entertaining and Accessible

by WeatherorNot23? on Mar 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have been a huge fan of history my entire life, and I've always found Roman history to be fascinating. With that being said, I've always found it to be to be somewhat intimidating just because of its shear breadth, especially the latter stages of the empire in the West. Patrick Wyman, with his academic knowledge (he has a Ph.D) and ability to narrate like a good storyteller and not a professor, has made the roughly two centuries leading up to 476 AD accessible and illuminating. I greatly appreciate that he explains societal, economic, and demographic factors during this period that played a role in the fall of Rome; it gives you an appreciation of what it was like for the regular folks of this era, both Roman citizens and migrating tribespeople alike, without focusing exclusively on the mighty emperors, generals, and aristocrats (though they receive plenty of attention from Mr. Wyman!). I recommend this podcast to anyone that appreciates good storytelling.

A favorite

by NotMrsPeel on Mar 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I usually listen to true crime but this well told history of Rome has captured my imagination.

Great show

by ParksAndWrecked on Mar 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

History made fun without being history made dumb. Love it.

Outstanding!

by scotus on Mar 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Wow, what an amazing podcast. He manages to take a difficult subject and describe it in terms a generalist can understand. Even if you think you don't like history, this podcast will entertain and inform you. I look forward to every episode!

Excellent

by Pissnvineger on Mar 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Simply amazing. I look forward to every episode. Beautiful detail.

Excellent, detailed, fascinating history podcast

by Pakisdanny on Mar 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Patrick knows his stuff and structures these podcasts really clearly. Highly recommended.

The Empire Never Ended

by T. Nielski on Mar 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast offers a pragmatic and insightful view into the decline (or transformation) of the Roman Empire by re-constructing the lived experience of people based on the latest archelogical evidence. It's entertaining, thoughtful, and completely worth every minute of your time. I for one am grateful for Mr. Wyman's "poor life choice" and look forward to learning more from him in future episodes.

Among the Best

by Chime Dolker Banatsang on Mar 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Just about everything you could want from a history podcast

Enjoyable and eminently listenable

by matthewvreed on Mar 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've thoroughly been enjoying Wyman's excellent look at the fall of the Roman Empire. I've enjoyed particularly his focus on what history might look like through the eyes of someone who experienced it, instead of focusing on history in the broadest possible strokes.

Very informative and detailed

by AC in LA on Mar 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a great podcast for anyone interested in some interesting and lesser discussed topics surrounding late period Rome.

Remarkable

by The One #2 on Feb 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The presenter has clearly mastered the content, but explains it in a straight-forward and approachable manner. A fascinating topic, well-handled.Keep up the great work.

Excellent and Researched

by Usfjoe on Feb 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Well done. Well executed. If you want a good history podcast, you can't get much better.

Listener

by Contav on Feb 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great stuff keep it up!

Excellent Podcast

by BG993 on Feb 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If you are a student of history, or just like to hear a good "story" I highly recommend this podcast. There are parallels between ancient Rome, and our own current events. "Those who don't study history are doomed to repeat it..."

Great modern take on the Romans and the classical world

by JPthr33 on Feb 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

In addition to a newer perspective than what was taught in US high schools in the 80s and 90s, the host uses a device of creating a character for the audience to latch onto. Nice insight into the subject from a recent PhD. If you like this check out his other podcast, History Matters. Both are my new history favs for 2017. ps, if you like this you might like Back Story (a more US-centric history pod) as well.

Always amazing and interesting!

by JaJaJaJaLaLaLaLa on Feb 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Every episode is fantastic and fascinating!

Love it

by Leeannp71 on Feb 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very interesting. More fact based, not a lot of opinions, which I definitely like

Fall of Rome

by Airbiff on Feb 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Wyman strikes a good balance between enough and not too much detail. I like the use of fictitious characters to demonstrate changes taking place during the period.

Intelligent, concise, and informative while fun

by PaulieGWOP on Feb 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The title says it all

Simply perfect

by darkzebra822 on Feb 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Dr. Wyman really knows what he's talking about, a real expert. I love the guy. KEEP IT UP!

Very, very good

by rtc617 on Feb 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Dr. Wyman may not be the story-teller that Mike Duncan is, but he does an excellent job with this podcast. His knowledge of the subject is much deeper, and he discusses issues that go deeper than politics and war -- all in a clear, enlightening, and entertaining presentation.One gripe: with Episode 11, he has suddenly started referring to dates as "CE" and "BCE," instead of the traditional "AD" and "BC." This is annoying. Let's hope that he reverts to tradition with Episode 12.

Great Podcast!

by Rob Diggaman on Feb 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks Patrick!

Extremely well done

by RichfieldTimm on Feb 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Patrick does a great job illustrating a wholistic view of the Roman Empire beyond the military that's often focused on. His details on relationships between Rome and its neighbors is refreshing.

Great podcast

by Chadios on Feb 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Wonderfully researched and presented

latest research, compelling thesis

by Ardrigh on Feb 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Patrick does an excellent job of challenging traditional and popular explanations of the fall of Rome. I am anxious for each new episode. Best ancient history podcast.

Wonderful!

by elektratig on Feb 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

After majoring in Classics eons ago I went in another direction. Nonetheless I've remained fascinated with Greek and Roman history, including the endless debates dating back at least to Gibbon over whether, when, why and how the western Roman Empire fell. Patrick Wyman plainly knows this topic inside and out and does a great job exploring the issues in a sophisticated yet clear manner. I particularly like his practice of constructing hypothetical people - for example, a Goth who crossed the Danube as a young man in 376, fought at Adrianople, and in old age was present with Alaric at Rome; or an aristocrat living in southwest Gaul during the mid 400s - and exploring the changes they would have experienced. The technique provides a gripping "you are there" experience that drives home such important themes as the fluidity between Romans and barbarians and how regionally variable the end of the empire was. Highly recommended.

Great series, listen from the beginning!

by Hmc on Feb 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Really a fantastic series. Fascinating content and presented on a relatively high level for a series aimed at the general public.

Wonderful historical podcast

by Keystothesha k on Feb 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

He does an incredible narrative job. Very interesting to listen to.

Fantastic!

by Verdendrum on Feb 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

An excellent podcast... HIGHLY recommended for anyone interested in learning more on the topic of the late Western Roman Empire.From start to finish, Dr. Wyman does a tremendous job presenting strong arguments for how "The Fall of the Rome" from the 3rd to 5th centuries might have been experienced by a wide variety of those affected.Dr. Wyman uses archeological evidence to support his claims throughout, and also cites many sources of written records, taking into account when those sources were created and their reliability. Central to Dr. Wyman's podcast is an interweaving of fictitious, but plausible, characters (such as a Roman officer in Brittania, a merchant in North Africa, or a career Gothic soldier fighting against the Romans, or even a Frankish soldier who fought for Rome) and how their lives might have been affected by the turn of events leading up to the sack of Rome in 476 A.D.

History worthy of your time

by Renofog on Feb 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Easy to listen to and certainly not the high school history you listened to back in the day. If your a history buff this is the place for you.

Outstanding

by TPFIV on Feb 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is an outstanding podcast. It's informative and entertaining. This Roman history noob recommends it.

Awesome

by Stwuscosb on Jan 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Simply great.

Wonderful.

by Atlatimer on Jan 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great job and a fresh perspective.

Great!!

by OptimisticSam on Jan 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Worth the time! Patrick does a great job