Average rating:

5
out of 288 ratings.

Excellent and Researched

by Usfjoe on Feb 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Well done. Well executed. If you want a good history podcast, you can't get much better.

Remarkable

by The One #2 on Feb 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The presenter has clearly mastered the content, but explains it in a straight-forward and approachable manner. A fascinating topic, well-handled.Keep up the great work.

Great modern take on the Romans and the classical world

by JPthr33 on Feb 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

In addition to a newer perspective than what was taught in US high schools in the 80s and 90s, the host uses a device of creating a character for the audience to latch onto. Nice insight into the subject from a recent PhD. If you like this check out his other podcast, History Matters. Both are my new history favs for 2017. ps, if you like this you might like Back Story (a more US-centric history pod) as well.

Excellent Podcast

by BG993 on Feb 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If you are a student of history, or just like to hear a good "story" I highly recommend this podcast. There are parallels between ancient Rome, and our own current events. "Those who don't study history are doomed to repeat it..."

Listener

by Contav on Feb 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great stuff keep it up!

Always amazing and interesting!

by JaJaJaJaLaLaLaLa on Feb 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Every episode is fantastic and fascinating!

Love it

by Leeannp71 on Feb 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very interesting. More fact based, not a lot of opinions, which I definitely like

Fall of Rome

by Airbiff on Feb 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Wyman strikes a good balance between enough and not too much detail. I like the use of fictitious characters to demonstrate changes taking place during the period.

Intelligent, concise, and informative while fun

by PaulieGWOP on Feb 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The title says it all

Very, very good

by rtc617 on Feb 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Dr. Wyman may not be the story-teller that Mike Duncan is, but he does an excellent job with this podcast. His knowledge of the subject is much deeper, and he discusses issues that go deeper than politics and war -- all in a clear, enlightening, and entertaining presentation.One gripe: with Episode 11, he has suddenly started referring to dates as "CE" and "BCE," instead of the traditional "AD" and "BC." This is annoying. Let's hope that he reverts to tradition with Episode 12.

Great choice

by Addammz on Feb 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Well reasoned and intellectually stimulating!

Simply perfect

by darkzebra822 on Feb 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Dr. Wyman really knows what he's talking about, a real expert. I love the guy. KEEP IT UP!

Extremely well done

by RichfieldTimm on Feb 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Patrick does a great job illustrating a wholistic view of the Roman Empire beyond the military that's often focused on. His details on relationships between Rome and its neighbors is refreshing.

Great Podcast!

by Rob Diggaman on Feb 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks Patrick!

Great podcast

by Chadios on Feb 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Wonderfully researched and presented

latest research, compelling thesis

by Ardrigh on Feb 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Patrick does an excellent job of challenging traditional and popular explanations of the fall of Rome. I am anxious for each new episode. Best ancient history podcast.

Wonderful!

by elektratig on Feb 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

After majoring in Classics eons ago I went in another direction. Nonetheless I've remained fascinated with Greek and Roman history, including the endless debates dating back at least to Gibbon over whether, when, why and how the western Roman Empire fell. Patrick Wyman plainly knows this topic inside and out and does a great job exploring the issues in a sophisticated yet clear manner. I particularly like his practice of constructing hypothetical people - for example, a Goth who crossed the Danube as a young man in 376, fought at Adrianople, and in old age was present with Alaric at Rome; or an aristocrat living in southwest Gaul during the mid 400s - and exploring the changes they would have experienced. The technique provides a gripping "you are there" experience that drives home such important themes as the fluidity between Romans and barbarians and how regionally variable the end of the empire was. Highly recommended.

Fantastic!

by Verdendrum on Feb 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

An excellent podcast... HIGHLY recommended for anyone interested in learning more on the topic of the late Western Roman Empire.From start to finish, Dr. Wyman does a tremendous job presenting strong arguments for how "The Fall of the Rome" from the 3rd to 5th centuries might have been experienced by a wide variety of those affected.Dr. Wyman uses archeological evidence to support his claims throughout, and also cites many sources of written records, taking into account when those sources were created and their reliability. Central to Dr. Wyman's podcast is an interweaving of fictitious, but plausible, characters (such as a Roman officer in Brittania, a merchant in North Africa, or a career Gothic soldier fighting against the Romans, or even a Frankish soldier who fought for Rome) and how their lives might have been affected by the turn of events leading up to the sack of Rome in 476 A.D.

Wonderful historical podcast

by Keystothesha k on Feb 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

He does an incredible narrative job. Very interesting to listen to.

Great series, listen from the beginning!

by Hmc on Feb 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Really a fantastic series. Fascinating content and presented on a relatively high level for a series aimed at the general public.

History worthy of your time

by Renofog on Feb 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Easy to listen to and certainly not the high school history you listened to back in the day. If your a history buff this is the place for you.

Outstanding

by TPFIV on Feb 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is an outstanding podcast. It's informative and entertaining. This Roman history noob recommends it.

Great!!

by OptimisticSam on Jan 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Worth the time! Patrick does a great job

Wonderful.

by Atlatimer on Jan 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great job and a fresh perspective.

Awesome

by Stwuscosb on Jan 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Simply great.

Fascinating material but halting delivery

by BebebeBenny on Jan 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Super engaging and interesting history is hurt only by the somewhat stilted narration.

Deep history, well presented

by Treadstone79 on Jan 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoy this podcast. It's not for lightweights... Patrick Wyman goes into great detail and weaves a deep, detailed history of the forces and peoples who contributed to the downfall of the Western Roman Empire. I find it insightful and very informative. Keep up the great work!

Well researched

by Portal stone on Jan 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

In depth analysis of the topic, offers a more updated version of what happened. I like how he sometimes tells the history by using an individual's possible story. He also looks at the bigger picture of culture, social factors, geography, and more.

Couldn't get into it

by Newton Skier on Jan 26, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Listened to 5 episodes and stopped. Some good nuggets, but many points were belabored. Sorry!

Great story

by Dgoist on Jan 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've always liked going in depth to certain areas of history. This is my first time with this topic. I found this through Deadspin and am really enjoying it. It brings a lot of depth to the topic! Well Done!

Excellent!

by New Glass on Jan 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a great podcast! It is informative, authoritative, and very well crafted.

Very educational

by Pykachu10 on Jan 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Good details and info about Rome, my only suggestions is that the caster sounds like he's reading from a textbook, I hope he speaks a bit more conversationally and casually in future casts. (He might have already corrected this, I've only listened to the first 4 episodes so far).

Awesome

by ARC-Clonetrooper on Jan 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I think this is one of the most educational and entertaining podcasts I've heard in a long time.....ever! I would love to hear more about certain Emperors!! Maybe some shorter podcasts about Marcus Aurelius or Nero??

Excellent podcast

by fdsfdsfsdfds on Jan 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The fall of Rome is a topic I don't know enough about and the host does a terrrific job taking you through all the details in an engaging way.

Broadened my view

by Peter the barbarian on Jan 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I read history to broaden and deepen my sense of the past. The Fall of Rome podcast did this in spades and was a pleasure to listen to. Diverted me from the grim news leading up to the inauguration. I calm away thinking that the facile comparisons between Rome and United States are not justified. This is good for us, not that we don't have our own problems. Entertaining and informative.

Does a great job

by Scott, Detroit on Jan 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great story teller and understandable.

Great Podcast

by Fish2stag on Jan 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellent insight and superb explanation of the late Roman era. There's darkness, but there is light as well.

Well done

by MRM2698 on Jan 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Good narrative and interesting subject matter. Would like more inclusion of source material and deeper context but I'm a nerd like that. Still worth the time!

Clear and concise

by HenDanK on Jan 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Explained the history in easy to understand lecture. Much like Dan Carlin's Hard Core History, except with a more scholarly. Enjoyed this podcast.

Great

by TK05 on Jan 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Really interesting and well delivered.

The history lecture you will enjoy

by History Dude2 on Jan 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I loved this podcast as the author does a nice job being respectful of the sources without going into crazy detail and telling a nice story. The only thing I felt was missing was two other areas that led to the downfall - increased taxes and mass slavery.

Amazing

by TenaciousJables on Jan 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Smart, informative and very binge-able

Anon142

by Anon142142 on Jan 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a fantastic podcast! Provides a lot of context both inside the material, but also outside in that it covers what has shaped the academic thinking (and therefore presentation) of the material previously.

Depth and Digestability

by rwnugent on Jan 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Patrick Wyman has studied the late Roman Empire in depth and it shows in this podcast. He brings various details together and presents the background and nuances of the barbarians and their relationship with the empire before, during and after its "fall". Traditionally we are taught that the barbarians invaded and sacked rome while its leaders were involved in drunken orgies. This podcast brings so much more detail and relatability to the lives of these people and their relationships. I am far more hooked on this podcast right now than I am any tv series of recent memory.

Good stuff

by Tacobadger on Jan 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is very entertaining!

Great companion podcast to THOR

by OldSchoolListenerPMP on Jan 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I didn't want to like this at first. Mike Duncan's coverage of the podcast was so extensive I thought it was the final word on the topic. I was very wrong. This podcast adds archaeological and current academic insights to how we should think of the decline of Rome along with the historical accounts. For history buffs this is a must listen. It is easy to listen to because Mr Wyman has a great voice and executes a well made podcast. Start listening today.

Excellent!

by Ddn17 on Jan 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Scholarly, well-paced productions- exactly how a history podcast series should sound. Thanks for these great recordings.

Best podcast ever

by Also a PhD on Jan 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have a PhD and I can attest to the fact that Patrick Wyman is one of the best "professors" I have ever taken a course with. This podcast is outstanding. My wife and I listened to 7 episodes in a row driving from Chicago to Pittsburgh during a snowstorm and we didn't even want to make a rest stop because we would have had to put it on hold.Thanks from two grateful "students" who learned a lot and enjoyed every moment!

Super History and Insights for Today

by Practical_man on Jan 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Wonderfully researched and produced podcast on the History of Rome. The story telling is entertaining, factually accurate and compelling. Successfully dispels popular myths about the decline of Rome and replaces them with more viable truths based on evidence. The author is fair in presenting the information and forthright in acknowledging where the historical record is thin or in dispute. Superb scholarship by any standard. Enjoy this entertaining and informative treatment of what constituted good governance in the ancient world and the implications for today's modern empire.

Addictive and well presented

by Notorious MER on Jan 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Keep finding myself checking multiple times a day waiting for a new episode! Awesome podcast that is very informative and interesting