Average rating:

5
out of 351 ratings.

Outstanding Listen

by Troy Hiller on Jan 08, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Informational Podcast. Best in its class, guys do a great job and the banter between them is highly entertaining. Kind of guys u could hang out with at the local watering hole. Keep up the great podcast.

Great Podcast - Full of knowledge

by RoganConstruct on Jan 02, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Such a great podcast full of good construction knowledge. I love the magazine and this podcast is a must for any tradesman.

Love the post shakeup crew

by Rip613 on Dec 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I've listened since the lunchbox days and the new crew is a great mix of personalities and experience.

Ok advice and great humor

by Amish_G on Dec 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you for offering the “ok” advice and great humor. On a more serious note your podcast has awesome information and I have learn a lot from listening to your opinions and advice. Keep up the good work.

Long time to answer questions.

by NRaqib on Dec 07, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I’m not one to write negative reviews however back in August I asked a question and was told it would be answered. It has yet to be answered. I sent a follow up email to Mr Fink and he has not responded to that. I feel that if the guys would stop chatting about personal projects and get on with the business of answering real life construction questions it would be more helpful to the construction community.

Love it

by Sleepdank on Nov 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast from someone who is an amateur builder. Put on to it by my boss; wonderfully enlightening content by solid group. Entertaining banter.

Great show!

by Porter802 on Nov 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I really appreciate the the attention given to high performance building.

Great show

by wloddz9r on Oct 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Im an American expat listening to your podcast in Australia. It very cool to notice building practices in Australia compared to what you talk about in the USA.

Great info...but used to be better!

by Awestbro on Oct 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

This show is my go to podcast as I drive back home on Fridays. These guys always have great questions to answer and do some decent research. I like how they share their own projects and admit that sometimes the FHB way is sometimes too expensive or over the top for the average homeowner. I would give 5 stars but my biggest issue with the show is the change in host . While I enjoy the Patrick and Matthew and their input on tools and projects I really miss Brian and Rob, the chemistry between the three seemed better and much funnier.

Out F’ing Standing

by PT65B on Oct 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellent podcast for a dedicated DIYer or anyone interested in construction problems and their solutions.

Objective info, ideas & techniques

by CMNdesigns on Oct 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Since I’m not a builder, but a homeowner/designer living my own version of “This old house” I appreciate getting objective info on ideas & techniques from pros. Great content, tips, etc...only took one star off because sometimes the conversation strays & has to be lassoed back to topic.

Thanks, learning some, more comfortable a lot!

by Pete C. from NJ on Oct 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Tuned in a few months ago, thought I was only going to hear million dollar projects where it takes days to hang a door. You guys are real and this hack ( weekend warrior with Habitat) can relate. I like to hear what I’m doing right, but love to hear that your team has some of the same field issues. Keep it coming! I look forward to each episode. Pete

Great building show!

by Smart Builder on Aug 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love hearing building and remodeling discussed? Must check out fine home building!

Its all about that roof venting

by Monty Builder Boi on Aug 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love listening to these guys! Listen to them all the time at work. Have learned alot especially on roof venting since it seems to be the only thing they ever talk about LOL Keep up the great work!

Fortunately for me, I needed roof venting info

by SteinSmith on Jun 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve learned and better understood stuff thanks to this podcast. Funny moments. Great interviews. Great overall. Question... so are log homes one big thermal bridge??

Boring

by fallprotection on Jun 07, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Long winded chatter and incorrect information. Unprofessional.

fine homebuilding

by hateinpodcast on May 11, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

arrigant

Informative and Entertaining

by voteinformed on Mar 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The podcast is excellent.I am a homeowner and enjoy repairing(usually) and improving our home of 20 years. The builder grade house provides many opportunities for improvement. Thanks, Justin, Brian, Rob, and crew.

Informational, Natural and all around interesting

by Ralphie Cat on Feb 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Subscribe to these guys, they cover everything and anything and the audio quality is excellent. They’re all in the same room, not struggling with Skype or poor phone connections. I’m now excited to read the FHB magazine as they’ll reference articles there naturally. Really enjoyed interviews with reps at Orlando Trade show...make sure the suits keep up the funding!

Well done

by Ben Linder on Feb 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve been listening to the Fine Roof Venting podcast since the beginning and have thoroughly enjoyed every one. Just thought I’d show my appreciation after listening to the 100th episode, during which you guys managed to:a) discuss roof venting, as usual b) debate lighting layout, as usualc) recommend track saws, as usual d) deliver high-octane banter, as usual. Outstanding work. I’m a professional builder and remodeler, and listening to the FHB podcast is nearly as good as actual in-person trade talk with other professionals.

Awesome resource

by LiveChrist on Feb 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

So, my wife and I have been looking at building a new house, and I thought I’d try and get caught up on what the newest and latest information is. These guys have helped me change my building plan so much, and so I highly recommend them. Advanced framing techniques was a huge shift in my thoughts on how I would design this house.

Builder

by Greenbriar Development on Feb 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The best building podcast I’ve found. Excellent content with both depth and mirth.

Great Resource

by MikeNRA on Jan 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellent, engaging, informative podcast

Greatest show in its category!

by Mattmortensenphotography on Jan 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to a ton of podcasts and this one is as smart and funny as any of them! If you’re interested in home building or any component of that industry, then you need to tune into Justin, Rob, and Brian each week. It’s kinda like listening to some guys at a bar talking about work and home projects except the guys happen to be rocket scientists and the bar happens to (probably) be a little closet studio with too many men jammed in! The producers and engineers do a great job with the audio and production value. Justin is a charismatic and entertaining host. Brian hates basements. Rob is The Boss. Couldn’t recommend it more! #keepcraftalive.

Love it.

by bkfielder on Jan 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great topics but they always “forget” that houses have to “breathe”. (Sarcasm Justin)

Listener and learner.

by Texas_Dave-67 on Nov 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm going through the old podcast and working my way up to the current podcast. So far I'm learning some interesting things on every podcast. I like it allot.

Great Info and Witty Banter

by Berean116 on Nov 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

These guys know what they're talking about and can really talk about it. I listen to every episode.

Big fan

by Liberty tavern on Oct 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast - I look forward to each episode!

For Advanced Knowledge

by Magnettica on Oct 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been listening to this podcast for a few months now. This is an interesting podcast if you're looking to learn more about building techniques and products and have an edge on your competition in the construction industry. I'm a licensed electrician and as a professional I need to know more about housing than electrical service panel and branch circuits. ALL trades should know about the other trades and here a is where you can learn more than you expected. FHB has been around for a long time and are a huge resource of information.

My traveling companion

by CamMcNutt on Oct 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great dynamic between the regular hosts, no matter who happens to be sitting in that particular week. As most people have said, you've figured out a balance between really in-depth, insightful discussions and irreverant jaunts down all sorts of rabbit holes and side roads. I've learned a lot and hope to learn a lot more so please keep on truckin!

Love the show

by BigE123 on Oct 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love listener questions and updates on their own projects. Feels like they are a couple of guys on my crew. Wish I could weigh in on the discussion topics.

Great work!

by Jim Muhaw on Oct 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I look forward to your podcast each week and it is a great program. Great content and problem solving case discussions..... Only one suggestion, although it is not because you all are tiring: More guest speakers. Thanks for all you do. Best, Jim

Great podcast

by dgbarch on Oct 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm a young architect from nj and I've taken in interest in learning building sciences over the last couple of years so it's interesting to get the guys' take on energy efficiently (even though they're not experts on it). Also, I like hearing from the special guests and what they do/how they do it as I'm starting my own business.

Entertaining and informative

by korbierg on Oct 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

👍🏽

Great content

by Brian33331111 on Sep 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m not a professional builder but love working on my house and talking construction. These guys are very knowledgeable and have useful content. Thanks and keep up the good work!

Very disappointed

by acme packer on Sep 15, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I have read Fine Homebuilding for years, and regarded it as a staple of current events on the building industry. But listening to the podcast has turned me off to the entire operation. For what I once regarded as the pinnacle of professionalism, I can't believe how unorganized and random this podcast rambles on. The hosts come off as arrogant and unprofessional, and I don't have time to waste on your inside jokes and banter. Taunton needs a podcast representative of their institution!

Great Podcast

by jelenhart on Sep 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great info on building science.

Blazn' a path to the top 20!

by Re Thinker on Aug 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The gents are masters of their craft. Stellar performance, solid advice, and unspeakable talent! Please continue to help me understand the BEST wall assemblies, WRB's, and which of you will finish the projects on your own homes!

Best podcast about home building

by tools at work on Aug 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

If you live in a home build homes or just like houses in general and how they are built for the best way this podcast is for you. Look forward to every Friday.

Fine Podcasting

by Pokemon and Beyblades RULE!! on Aug 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the podcast. Keeps me up to date on building materials and methods. Keep up the great work!

First review of any podcast

by tastybagels on Aug 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this show - I am a first time homebuyer and I'm loving doing all (well, most - that under-road sewer line repair would have been a gnarly first job) of the work on the home.This podcast is great, very entertaining and occasionally informative as well. Generally a good discussion of approaches in a casual setting, which is what I'm looking for. I got an online subscription to the magazine and would highly recommend that as a resource for everything from tools to green building, when you're looking for something specific there is probably an article on it. Search functionality needs some work but overall great content and resources. Thanks guys, and seriously hope you keep the podcast going. It makes my Friday morning commutes on the bus into work much better and I'm on my second time through the episodes listening in the background while working around the house.Hope this was enough information for Rob.Cheers,Chris (Seattle, WA)

As a builder I enjoy listening

by Tory_James on Aug 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellent research and insights.

Terrific podcast that balances breadth and depth

by FBKSan on Aug 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been listening since the first episode, and as a DIYer I appreciate the balance the team has between covering a range of topics and digging in deep to work through an issue. There's enough detail that those who know homebuilding can still learn, and the guys make it approachable for those new to the topics. There's a lot of focus on energy efficiency, which is great, but also building tips and best practices. Really worth subscribing to.

I'm hooked!

by Internet17384 on Aug 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A friend told me about this podcast and before I knew it, I'd subscribed to the magazine, enabled a subscription on their website, and spent hours reading GBA. Solid cast with great discussion.

Great resource for apprentice builders

by bosslord51 on Aug 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

So thankful that there is a resource like this to explore the passion and integrity in the trades. It's been amazing to broaden my knowledge base about all things building while I'm at work or on the road. For all the nerds out there who love the minutiae of things, this podcast is for you (and me).

Builder

by Jeff of Stella HomesLA on Aug 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Big thanks to Fine Homebuilding, and Justin, Rob and Brian, also Patrick! I look forward to this podcast every week now that I am official caught up with all episodes! The podcast is full of rich content that is all searchable with links on the FHB blog, found on their homepage. Amazing! Thank you again guys!

Excellent

by MenoFalls on Aug 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great mix of advice, experience, and humor pushing us to be more intelligent and efficient

Helpful, Relevant, Enlightening

by nissaneng on Aug 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have learned much and been entertained by the podcast. Helpful hints, good answers to question, and a place of support and community for builders, DIYers, trades, etc.

Awesome podcast filled with knowledge and experience

by Betterman0908 on Aug 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast! As someone who loves to try to stay as up to date as much as possible with building science and craftsmanship this podcast hits all the right notes. It's a great mix of experience, humor, and serious conversation that even my wife enjoys listening to on a weekly basis. That's saying something as we all know how boring talking about building science can be! Keep up the great work guys I love looking forward to the new podcast every week!

John the builder

by Ahoyoyoy on Jul 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Cool discussions! Great way to pass the time on monotonous jobs.