Average rating:

5
out of 916 ratings.

Stories

by Jessica lgm mm on Mar 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Nora + Team: thanks for telling the stories of these people's lives. Their voices stay with me.

Love

by Pfgwood on Mar 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I. Love. This. Podcast. It's always number one on my cue.

So so so good

by Peachy Beachy 12345 on Mar 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Real and touching and goodJust good

Love

by NormaAAaaaa on Mar 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very interesting and well told stories. Definitely worth listening to.

Love it

by Jess292929 on Mar 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great host

Amazing

by Kikilonnie89 on Mar 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It is devastating to hear these stories but they are so beautiful also. To know the strength that people have, it is amazing.

Shining beacons of light

by Moetank1611 on Mar 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Nora & Hans, you have brought a ray of beautiful healing light into the dark parts of my thoughts and fears. Thank you for creating such a warm community. I will forever be grateful to Ari Shapiro for introducing me to you. Namaste.

Excellent

by REH_667812345 on Mar 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast, I love the way it is spoken and the way it makes you really THINK. Not at all like a documentary spectacle of the miserable, but a frank conversation about the bits of life we don't talk about at the water cooler.

Moving and meaningful

by steveenie on Mar 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Not since Strangers have I listened to a show that introduces me to unique people and builds incredible empathy. Nora is a wonderful host -- she brings enthusiasm and a sense of humor, yet she doens't shy away from dealing with her own tragedy on air. You get the sense from listening that she was a genuine comfort to the people she interviewed, and perhaps vice versa. Whatever the case, this is a truly unique show, and I can't wait for more new episodes!

Sobs

by Julia567139 on Mar 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Not gonna lie, I binge listened to several episodes in a row and still cried every time. The one about the traumatic brain injury, oh gawd. So raw. So real. Also very refreshing to hear what nobody talks about. And yes, the theme music will get stuck in your head.... dee dom doo.

Wonderful

by Jessmarie538 on Mar 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The first few episodes are very centered on Nora, i found it charming; but if you don't please give a later episode a try. The stories are vulnerable and beautiful. I can't wait to listen to season 2.

Very powerful!

by Marie Marie Marie marie on Mar 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I discovered this podcast around the same time that a student passed away. It helped me conceptualize my own response to "how are you." Thank you!

I want to like this more than I do

by CarolDexter on Mar 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I really like the premise of the podcast. It's refreshing and different and breaks the mold of most of what's out there. That said, it needs a producer who can limit the amount of navel gazing and ramp up more interesting storytelling and collaboration. Maybe that's where it's headed, and these first 10 or so episodes are just setting the scene. Nora has a great voice for podcasting and a keen sense of storytelling ... she just needs to get out of her own way a bit.

Many layers

by Shoppp on Mar 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I really enjoy this podcast. So many different subjects tied to that one question we are always asked, "how are you". Refreshing to hear real, raw answers and the stories behind them.

Amazing Nora

by Confettikatie on Mar 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Short and simple: you will cry. Thanks for bringing the real, Nora. Can't wait for the second season!

Great Story Teller!

by Dodgergrl1 on Mar 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast and the way in which Nora conducts her interviews and then edits it into a great story. I do not agree with some of the other reviews suggesting Nora talks about herself and her own experiences too much. For me, this is a big part of why this is such a good podcast, Nora is ballsy enough to share with her audience private thoughts and feelings which almost feels as I just had a long, informative, emotional and entertaining visit with a close friend.

Fellow Traveler

by Worst Lead in Hockey Guy on Mar 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Phenomenal stuff. Thank you, Nora, for sharing these stories. It helps me feel less alone.

Wonderful!

by Annie689 on Mar 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I feel more human every time I listen to this podcast.

Bring on the terrible!

by Farmer's Apprentice on Mar 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Listening to this podcast is actually fun. No fooling. I don't know about you, but I grew up feeling a lot of pressure to keep the smile plastered on my face. No matter what. This podcast reassures me that I was not alone. The smile on my face nowadays is less forced, more natural, as I discover connections with others whose "real" life differs from their success-resumes, cheerful holiday letters, & social media highlights. It is richly rewarding to join together in community with folks who can jest a little bit about life when it gets real real.

Must listen

by Erin Griff L on Mar 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Favorite way to start my day. Love the host - her voice is calming, and for those complaining she references her own experiences too much: it's a podcast about personal tragedies. Her own experiences allow her to connect with her guests in a way that is more meaningful and ask deeper yet sensitive and relevant questions. That's really the point of the podcast... To connect people. It will have you in tears, but there is a lightness to it. It is humbling yet inspiring. A topic such as this could easily cross the line of self pity and wallowing, but it is done with such grace and talent that it is a positive outlier. In a world inundated with true crime and political podcasts (yes, I love them too), this is a much appreciated breath of fresh air.

new favorite podcast

by eviecarroll on Mar 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Funny, gut-wrenching, and relatable all at the same time.

The Beat Podcast - and I listen to them all..

by Sprinklesmom on Mar 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

These stories will move you and make you feel okay to be human again. Nora's voice and personality will leave you wanting to be her best friend.

Great except for...

by Sounds better then the reviews said on Mar 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

... the second episode about the girl who makes a mistake in her writing. I thought I was missing something but turns out the episode was definitely just about a spoiled whiner. Other than that, I really like it!!

Love it!

by Kristibella on Mar 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love it. Only problem? I want a season 2. Her story telling is amazing and you are instantly hooked.

Amazingly & Beautiful

by ArtificialSmiles on Mar 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The stories are moving and captivating, and the host is extremely talented. One of my favorite podcasts!

Thank you

by Sara1030 on Mar 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast makes you feel like you are not alone.

Always

by Jaesheka on Mar 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Always heartbreaking but always brilliant. By far one of my favorites.

I hope it doesn't wear on us

by Pratyahara on Mar 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

The first two episodes were relatable and teachable. But I have reservations about listening on a regular basis. It could get to be like that friend who always has something bad happening and they just. Wear. You. Out.

So great so many emotions!

by Linkylouhou on Mar 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast.. laughs and tears combined! Nora your empathy is admirable and I think you're a great host!

Excellent podcast! Meaningful, engaging stories

by Jim77785555 on Mar 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Hard to skip even 15 seconds. Really arresting stuff. Can't wait for season 2!

Love it!

by Lauren Page on Mar 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Firstly, I'm horrified that people write bad reviews of podcasts! Especially this one. After binge listening to this all day I want to argue with all the people who wrote bad reviews, but I'm going to rein that in! This podcast runs the full gamut of emotions. It's beautiful to be able to talk about grief, of all shapes and sizes, and that is exactly what Nora achieves. A tapestry of human emotions. I can't wait for the next episode. Thank you Nora for being brace enough to take this journey and strong enough to carry others with you on it.

Great idea too much valley speak

by Bearamona on Mar 08, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Love the idea and format but do not enjoy interviews with the word "like" over and over.

A good dose of humanity

by Nirky327 on Mar 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the host and love the podcast! One of my favorites!

Brutally honest but brighter than I expected.

by MelissaNaasko on Mar 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Each episode is different and features different individuals coping with different sorts of grief. As the host explains, it's not about a grief olympics where she (or anyone else) decides what is worse or what is the right way to cope. It is really more about finding a narrative to the grief so that one can find a way to the other side of it. I enjoy listening to each episode but "enjoy" probably isn't the right word but it is the word I have. I am waiting for season two so I can "not enjoy" but "enjoy" it, too.

I'm loving this podcast!

by Mlw15c on Mar 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I just started listening to this podcast and it has helped keep me grounded through the "tough stuff" with which I'm currently dealing. I've recommended it to everyone that will listen! Great work Nora! And thank you!

Awesome podcast

by Kellyrose222 on Mar 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I agree with other reviewers that the episode on mistakes was boring and self-indulgent. The other episodes are wonderful though! "Unbroken" and "Me Too" are amazing and insightful. Definitely worth listening to!

Terrible Too

by Mosskitty on Mar 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Cheers to another podcast of great stories and shared experiences with my favorite feature: the induced realization that we are all the same.

Can't stop listening!

by Tbergs111246 on Mar 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

So obsessed with this podcast. Thank you, Nora.

brilliantly beautiful and heartbreaking at the same time

by Juliax3 on Mar 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Nora does an amazing job using her own platform and her hilariously brilliant voice to give people the space to talk about their tragedy. She has done a great job of normalizing that fact that sometimes life can be messy and ugly and downright horrible, but there's still beauty in the world and it usually comes from our fellow man. One of the only authors who can have me cracking up as I sob uncontrollably. Keep treating yo' self to those mani/pedis guuuuurl! You rock.

I cry every episode

by Hklep on Mar 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

People whining about this podcast clearly don't know what empathy is or just have the emotional capacity of a fly. Great, honest podcast.

Love it but....

by Keekeepee on Mar 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

First off I admire Nora for keeping her sanity after all she's been through. I love most of it but I did find myself snoozing on some of the episodes. Specially the one about the young writer not fact checking her work. Did we really need a story about that? Not fascinating enough. Other than that, great work. Love your voice.

Relatable and touching.

by Brodyclem24 on Mar 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Thank you for this.

:)

by Mary8alillamb on Mar 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks for sharing yours and other's stories. Death is one thing we all have in common yet we are so timid to talk about it.

Excellent

by Milomic on Mar 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Well done podcast!

Love

by Caseybeams on Mar 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Just found this podcast and love it. Wonderful production and interesting topics.

Thanks for sharing Nora...

by Savvimama on Mar 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

So glad I stumbled onto this podcast!

Amazing except episode 3

by PiratesLyfeZP on Mar 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Often hard to listen to because it's very heave. But most things worth doing aren't easy. In the end you are left feeling that no matter what happens in life you can make it. And your problems are not as bad as you may think. The third episode was terrible. Skip that one. The voice and whining about being too confident and drunk to check your work and making a mistake was silly. If that's the worst thing that happens in your life then you are the luckiest person alive. Not sure how that fit in there and was a poor choice when you look at the depth and gravity of the rest. But overall as a whole this is a great podcast.

Beautiful

by JupiterTheGod on Mar 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is gorgeous, I cannot stress how meaningful and honest and uplifting it is. Even though I end up with an ache in my heart after each episode, this podcast brightens my day whenever I listen to it.

Filled with heart wrenching funniness

by Collske on Mar 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A must listen but sometimes I have to stop because crying in public places gets you a lot of strange looks.

Finally!

by SashDrex on Mar 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This show keeps it real. Thank you.