Average rating:

5
out of 503 ratings.

Just Listen

by Older Demographic on Jan 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've lived 61 years. I've lived it out loud, and can relate to every story from personal experiences. If I had to do it over again, I wouldn't change a thing, except wish that folks had the skills to listen with compassion, to not change the subject or worse, say "the Lord won't give you what you can't handle". To just listen.Nora has a knack for drawing people out, to sound like two friends sitting over a cup of coffee just talking. I'd sit down with her in a heartbeat.Perhaps a show teaching people real empathy. How to "just listen" is in order. To have people share what Might have helped in the moment....and move us from trite little faces of emotion to true expression.

Love this podcast

by Xaedalus on Jan 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast, particularly episode 8. The juxtaposition of grief, fear, love, and the sacred in talking about death is beautiful.

Terrible, not terrible

by notNpressed on Jan 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A not so terrible way to find uplifting advice and common ground out of terrible situations. Fantastic and comforting!

Terrible....thank you.

by Bunnyfoofooheadface on Jan 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

From a person who is working on being truthful about their vulnerability this podcast makes me braver. It makes me cry and feel awful and have to sit down sometimes, but it does make me braver.

Love

by Helennn21 on Jan 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Please upload more episodes ! Love your podcast. Her voice in so amazing, it comforts me.

Really?

by Moon9809 on Jan 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

So many reviewers were critical of the third episode and that was the first one I listened to and was so moved. Maybe you have to be that type of person (not a whiny millennial, but "hard on yourself" for mistakes). I enjoyed it and Nora. I am looking forward to catching up on the past episodes. Thanks!

Really liking this podcast, interesting and touching

by Inthecusp on Jan 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the human interest podcasts and this is my newest favorite. The host has a great voice and is truly empathetic with her guests and is open about her own personal story. On an aside, I hope that Eva from episode 2 listens to herself and realizes that she says "like" 1-2 times per sentence throughout her interview which kept distracting me from her story.

Raw

by rchinton on Jan 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Great podcast. I love the raw emotion and honesty that is felt/heard throughout this podcast. Healing comes in many ways and I know many people who grieve deeply who will find a connection to this podcast.

I subscribed, listened, and unsubscribed.

by niffychick on Jan 15, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

There are many things you can say about this podcast. Good was not one of them.

So good

by AMccarthy08 on Jan 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'd highly recommend this podcast. It's what the world needs right now. To talk about the difficult things we never talk about. To talk about the things we all go through because we're human.

Hooked!

by Catgregm on Jan 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm in loooooove with this podcast. It has made me laugh, cry, think and re-think.... I'm checking my phone daily for updates! I wish you would start a discussion group on Facebook!

Great listen for any & all human beings with human emotions

by Kel7013 on Jan 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I didn't know how much I needed this podcast in my life until I listened. We've all been here at one point or another & if you haven't been, then hate to break it to you, but you will be someday. It's ok to not be ok & we all need to get better about talking about that. Thank you Nora for putting your story out there & encouraging the rest of us saps to do the same!

Privileged

by Knoodle29 on Jan 13, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

It’s just not for me I guess, but the attitude of the show reminds me of the show “Girls” - a Lena Dunham approach to podcasting, self-absorbed, first-world problems, and a bit elitist, maybe?…..some people are into that, but it’s not for me. Just difference in culture, I guess. But hey, I tried...

Love it! ❤️

by StacyJA on Jan 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. Touching stories about real people going through tough, real things. Nora is an amazing host and I love hearing about her personal life. Keep up the great work! I'm recommending to all my friends.

Two thumbs up!

by renr10 on Jan 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I can dig Nora's mix of humor and emotion. It's got me hooked.

Terrible - not at all

by Snap dog and trevor on Jan 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Well worth listening - helps keep it all in perspective . And somehow still funny...

All the Feelings

by SNHicks on Jan 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love how this show embraces the dark parts of life and normalizes feelings of all kinds.

Love it

by MathematicKatie on Jan 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It is such a cathartic podcast

Great!

by Nicko013 on Jan 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great stuff!

Love!

by PhunkyMonk on Jan 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I am so glad I found this podcast! While the host does bring her story up all the time, I say she gets to do so--it's her show! The guests are obviously comfortable with her and they open up to her with no problems. I listen to this while I walk my dog so I'm usually either crying or laughing as I walk down the street. I think my neighbors wonder what's wrong with me. I guess I'm setting myself up for the episode where I have a breakdown after the area moms send me away.

Learn to Feel Feelings

by Data Entry Day Job on Jan 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Nora McInerny is so honest and brave for sharing her story in this medium. The same can be said for her guests. It's also a plus that the music and her voice are both extremely pleasant to listen to. Another thing to note for anyone skeptical of listening to some really sad stories: Nora's wit and sense of humor come into the narrative just when you need to be lifted back up a little bit! Each episode provides a bit of resolve, without sugarcoating anything. I was surprised to find I couldn't stop listening. Along with awareness for important issues, I think I do learn a little more empathy and compassion with each episode.

So good.

by Carrie Sunday on Jan 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Several episodes have made me tear up, and while I have t experienced any of the things the guests have, I feel empathetic for them.

Important

by hirschybar6 on Jan 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Nora, I just listened to the pod for the first time this morning and was astounded. Your work is incredibly meaningful. I feel like I stumbled into a secret community of understanding. Thank you for all that you do

Fantastic

by Supersu on Jan 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This can be hard to listen to. Subjects that make you uncomfortable - told in a way that makes you want to listen.

Honest and Powerful

by AdLibLyn on Jan 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I literally cry almost every episode. It's honest and heart wrenching. A beautiful open way for people to share their stories!

super wonderful storytelling

by 4466446644 on Jan 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

nora is a brilliant storyteller !

Nora, I adore you

by Nurse Alexxx on Jan 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is magical. It's real, it's uncomfortable, and it always brings me to tears. Nora does a great job interviewing the brave people who come forward to discuss problems that most people probably feel like they can't discuss openly. "A Henry Sky" and "Unbroken" are must listens. Thank you Nora, I don't know if you realize how many people you are helping by talking about these things and keep it up with the Harry Potter references.

Why am I crying at work?

by Simone&Woody on Jan 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I can't stop listening. By far my favorite podcast. Thank you, Nora.

Stories of Resilience

by ceu479 on Jan 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the message of this podcast and Nora's voice of strength. Thank you for so beautifully sharing the tragedies of life and how people overcome them. These are stories of resilience, kindness, and empathy.

Beautiful

by Momtokjc on Jan 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

What a beautiful podcast, the writing, Nora's voice, people's stories. This podcast is like a cup of hot tea, it slows you down and comforts you.

Amazing

by CarrieReen on Jan 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Wonderful, thanks so much for getting in to the things that folks don't feel comfortable talking about.

Amazing

by Kml646 on Jan 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the honesty in this podcast and the way that it handles subjects we all don't want to talk about. Great job!

Content speaks for itself

by @TracitaLinda on Jan 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm not a fan of writing reviews for things other than food and restaurants, but after listening to this podcast and being touched specifically by Episode 5. Help Me Remember, I couldn't pass up the opportunity to say... Nora has a soothing, sweet and earnest voice and I look forward to all the necessary but silenced topics to be covered in the future. This podcast is a good mix of human, personal and inspirational, I'm super excited to have found it. Keep up the good work team!

Just an idea

by NowILostTheGamesIWasWinningIn on Jan 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I may be off here, and there may already be a Podcast for what I'm about to describe, but I would like to see this podcast taken in a slightly different direction. I want more exposure to people who are currently struggling with life and wondering if they have a place in this world. We are all presented challenges in life and our own sometimes pale in comparison to the struggles of others, though we don't always see it that way. I want to hear more about other people afflicted with suicidal depression. Undeniably horrendous circumstances. People without limbs. Homeless people. Sick/terminal people. People without access to electricity or clean water. Though not possible anymore, slaves or Jews in a Nazi concentration camp. People that have legitimately been handed a crappy hand with a focus on bad fortune and not poor personal decisions. Anything that can help make the rest of us sit back and think "I guess I don't have it so bad". It seems the episodes thus far have primarily been about losing a spouse and raising a child on your own - which is a great starting point. I would just like to see that expanded on moving forward.

ARL

by Absolutely Love This Podcast on Jan 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The only thing wrong with this podcast is that there is just one new episode each week (ha!) If I could start my day every day with TTFN and Norah I’d be one happy camper. Norah is as real as they come. The stories she features and the events that she brings to her podcast make you look at the world and your day-to-day life with a better perspective: one full of empathy, gratitude, and love. Thank you Norah! Keep them coming!!! :)

I like where this is going

by sarahm123 on Jan 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I agree, Podcast three was not the best, this girls problems were entirely of her own making and not that big of a deal. She was very young, she's supposed to make mistakes, that's the point of being young. However 4&5 are to definetly heading in the right direction with insight into difficult situations that I have fortunately not had to experience. I appreciate the opportunity to epathize, admire and feel for real humans with real hardships. I think we would all be better, happier, more grateful people if we listened to real stories like these and cared more about each other than ourselves.

Beautiful and thoughtful

by rhymewithorange on Jan 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. Every episode has shown, in a different way, how hard life can be. Yes, the episode about the work snafu stands out amongst the others at face value, but was still a lovely story about how crippling self-doubt and anxiety can crush your life. Each story is compelling. Sad, but honest and not emotionally manipulative. This podcast makes me think about things I never have before. It makes me appreciate the wonderful things in my life, and makes me feel less alone in the sadnesses I've experienced. Highly recommended.

Good so far, but...

by viciousoreo on Jan 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I like the podcast so far, though I did have a hard time connecting with the second episode. I think my only real complaint is the number of times the host and her guests use the word "like" during conversation. It's difficult to listen to that kind of interaction, it detracts from the sincerity for me and sounds like I'm listening to teenage girls talk.Update: the last few episodes have seemed more professional, but the host often compares her own situation to her guests'. I can appreciate the pain she has gone through, and maybe she uses that to try and connect with her guests. But it would be nice if she focused solely on her guests and not herself, since she has had an opportunity to tell her story already.

HARD TOPICS- BEAUTIFULLY COVERED

by CourtnayG on Jan 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Everyone can relate to pain and this podcast covers it all so beautifully. The guests are so open and honest and Nora always seems to make them comfortable and gets amazing interviews from them. This podcast makes me laugh, cry and I look forward to every episode.

This is my favorite podcast

by Karamo111 on Jan 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

As someone who had a crazy pile of grief happen in a two year period, I sometimes feel like Nora is speaking right to me. Some of her insights have changed my perspective on grief and allowed me to accept some of my grief as part of the tapestry of me instead of fighting it all the time. I appreciate this podcast so very much. Thank you.

Love

by SheilaRose13 on Jan 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

all I have for this podcast is love❤️❤❤. The raw emotion is simply amazing

Best Podcast Ever

by SeniaSoRad on Jan 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I wish there was a new episode everyday. I can't tell you how much I love this podcast, it's that good.

Grief, humor & understanding, love this podcast!

by RaeLouLou on Jan 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Nora addresses the sad, sticky and downright unpleasant realities of human-ness with wit, heartfelt emotion and a sense of humor. It's like sitting on the couch with your best friend, having a glass of wine and spilling your guts out, knowing that this is a safe place to talk about life and the good, bad and ugly that sometimes comes with it. I am so thankful for this Podcast. Nora makes grief and the discussion of it accessible, relatable and moving.

Holy cow.

by ShoutOutLoud21 on Jan 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I was completely sucked in from the first episode. So real. So honest. You'll love it too.

beautiful, raw, real and joyful

by Cege on Jan 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

i absolutely love this podcast. it is full of heartbreaking stories told so beautifully and forcefully. the host weaves her own stories with the stories of her guests in such empathetic ways, and she manages to draw out the humor and pain of those stories simultaneously. prepare to ugly cry while also cackling.

This podcast is amazing

by AKNYC77 on Jan 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you for talking about difficult topics and the human experience. I look forward to listening every week.

Great show, raw and real!

by LM_per on Jan 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast! It's not about the small talk...it's about real and raw things that happen to people.

Excellent, thank you for asking

by Aleighs9 on Jan 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I was surprised to read some of the reviews criticizing Nora and the details she shares in each episode about her own story. It may be that listeners who follow Nora in other platforms come to this podcast in a different way, which is fair, but I still have a hard time agreeing with the negative reviews. Alas. I liked most of the episodes so far and look forward to each new one weekly. ''Tis the only podcast I can say that about!

Brilliant

by Lindsaypmacphee on Jan 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Absolutely love this podcast!! So raw and real. Love the hard topics talked about with the perfect balance of sentiment, humor and poignant lessons learn in the midst of hard trials. I love that the host is a strong -minded woman who is using her personal struggles as a catalyst to help others feel less alone on topics like miscarriage, death and shame. A much needed podcast!

Great Podcast!!

by KF55401 on Jan 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

So good but make sure you have tissues nearby!