Average rating:

5
out of 1105 ratings.

Look forward to every new episode!

by MLSYogi on Jul 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Nora McInerny hosts an insightful study of how humans find their way in life in the shadow of grief and all the suffering that entails. The only way we can experience the true joy of loving another is to experience the profound grief of the (sometimes cruel and premature) loss of those we love. You cannot have one without the other. Thank you Nora for sharing your story and the stories of others.

Helpful

by mjesssayin on Jul 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Acknowledging the bad somehow makes it feel a little better. It's helpful to hear how other people cope with grief.

Love this show

by la rojita on Jul 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Nora is a brilliant host and I love the compassion and heart she has put into this show. Please keep the episodes coming!

HELL YES (and heavens yes if you're into that sort of thing)

by Barlow Art on Jul 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast never ceases to make me cry, laugh, think, and empathize a little bit more. It's good for the soul.

Part of the grief club

by andeepandabear on Jul 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is perfect for anyone dealing with grief. It is a terrible club to be in and yet thanks to Nora revealing her heart it's not as lonely as it once was. Thank you.

How can I like this so much?

by Sanctified96 on Jul 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I feel like I can’t say I “like” this when so many of the stories are so sad! They’re just told so well and it makes me feel like I’m part of a community of people who are allowed to have hard times and be open about them and not belittle them!. Such a good one.

A hard listen.

by Wilde Moon Leather on Jul 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a wonderful podcast that is equally inspiring and heart breaking. Mini Season : Episode 6; 19 Hours Ago, was a particularly hard listen.

Love it

by LandL1265 on Jul 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Even if you aren't currently coping with grief, the stories told are absolutely gripping and compelling and worth a listen

I love this podcast so much!

by Kristymomofthree on Jun 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I downloaded this podcast for me to plug into as my family and I took a road trip from our home in Minneapolis to the East Coast. I DEVOURED all of the episodes and dang, it made the long drive go by so much more quickly. I first purchased Nora's book, "It's OK to Laugh," in the painful weeks after my dear mom passed away from pancreatic cancer. The book was a much-needed balm. I love Nora's writing and I was pretty sure I'd love the podcast, especially after my sister recommended it. The stories are beautiful and gripping and sad and remarkable, all at the same time. I will eagerly await new episodes.

So real

by annaleah90 on Jun 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is so pure and real. Such a breath of fresh air.

Brilliant

by debfrombarharbor on Jun 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast talks about pain and then throws a blanket of empathy around that pain. I love this podcast.

Amazing

by isthereanicknamethatisnttaken_ on Jun 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love, love this podcast and I think it’s very important. Thank you!

A Mixture of Emotions

by arromkr on Jun 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

For the most part, I've enjoyed everything I've heard and have cried and laughed, cried while laughing and laughed while crying. I will say that I was not overly enthusiastic about the young woman writer, who didn't fact check her work. Her story seemed to be more about a crushed ego than a life changing event. Then again, whose ego hasn't gotten in the way of something we're trying to accomplish? I agree that Nora sometimes brings someone else's story around back to hers, but this podcast was born from her story, so to an extent that should be expected. I noticed, though, as the season progressed, Nora seemed to branch out more, and I can't help but think that next season will be more diverse in topics. Overall, I would say this podcast accomplishes a really big thing by letting whoever is listening know: You're not alone.

LOVE Nora's Voice

by Accffxoxo on Jun 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love Nora's voice. So soothing. And she sounds adorable. This podcast is what everyone needs, regardless of where they are in their lives.

So good!

by Ash7989 on Jun 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Nora makes me lol and cry every episode. This feels like the podcast equivalent to Sheryl Sandberg's Option B book 🙌🏻

Nothing terrible about this podcast

by Galena on Jun 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love everything about this podcast and recommend it to everyone

Beautiful

by Lamourlwnorw on Jun 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Nora has been in my ears at the gym, on my commute to and from work, and anytime I find myself with free time, I am listening to this podcast. I don't want the episodes to end. I've recommended it to so many people. Also, if you like the podcast, you should check out her book, It's Okay to Laugh. Thanks Nora for being so real and sharing so much of yourself.

Love

by just like Jen kirkman on Jun 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast. Really can relate to a lot of things discussed and Nora is very honest and real.

Best podcast out there

by alijtexas999 on Jun 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Best podcast out there

Eye-opening and really great

by Sarah Carioca on Jun 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I really like the concept of this podcast and I'm a firm believer that talking vulnerably about the hard stuff is what binds us together as humans. My favorite episodes have been The Middle Place, A Henry Sky, Me, Too and Unbroken. Some of the other interviews have been less interesting or relatable for me, but there are definitely at least pieces of each one that I've enjoyed or learned from. The host is likable and fun.

Third episode

by Tallulah Hall on Jun 08, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Did the writer ever apologize to the hate crime victim's family for using his death to make a story more interesting? This podcast seemed to center on a privileged woman's selfishness instead of something much more fascinating: how a family recovers from a hate crime and the way their spouse/sibling/son's name is invoked in the aftermath. That is actual pain. The writer's life is so trivial in comparison. She learned nothing- actually, she learned that she doesn't need to care about anyone outside of herself and she will still be fine. Listening to this made me feel deeply ashamed. I am sorry that I belong to a culture that belittles hate crimes to this degree. That says that not fact checking a brutal murder is "no big deal" and that only white people have feelings that matter.

A raw breath of fresh air

by Jen in Bend on Jun 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you Nora. I've listened to every episode and have appreciated your words, your honesty, your humor...all more than words could express. To have someone walking through grief and life with such a real expression...it is refreshing. To say the least. We lost our first born daughter, Sarah, to Trisomy 18 and 13. I can't tell you how many people told me she would be ok. She would live. That they had "stopped praying" because they knew she would survive. And then I held my dead child and the world fell silent. I had never walked through grief like this. A few years later the unexpected happened...and we were asked to adopt a friend's newborn little girl...and our loss went full circle into life. All that to say - thank you. Thank you for normalizing grief. For making it the real and raw and beautiful thing it's meant to be.

Favorite podcast

by Bren1243 on Jun 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast almost makes me cry in public every time I listen to it and it's still my favorite.

My Favorite

by Ejammajamma2144 on Jun 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It's inspiring to me how Nora can make such sad things funny. I laugh out loud during most episodes. Thank you for your honesty and humor, Nora.

Just what I needed

by Ang2157 on Jun 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Podcast is great and has been a huge help to me. Keep up the good work! Thank you!

This subject is long overdue

by cas128 on Jun 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A unique and sometimes irreverent exploration of grief and resilience.

Love this.

by SingAlongQueenie on May 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I appreciate people speaking their truths and being open about their stories. Nora and her guests are inspiring. A refreshing concept for a podcast.

Helpful and heartening

by Vlaerie on May 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This show will make you feel grateful for what you have, prompt you to reflect on tragedies in new ways, and show you how to be a better listener/friend/human in the face of hard times. Listening to each episode won't beat you over the head with advice, self-help or scientific explanations. Nora isn't there with all the answers, and that's the point. She has real conversations with people who are grieving, who are scared, who have faced darkness within themselves and in the outer world. More of this needs to happen offline, and listening to this podcast can equip all listeners to have these dialogues.As for the NYTimes/ Eva episode? Yes, the subject has a lot of privilege, but she owned up to paralyzing fear and moved forward with her life. For some people, having a reputable career is as important as keeping a family together. Her situation is not that unlike greiving the loss of a human. I applaud Nora for going so deep into this subject.

Love it

by Linsdj on May 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I can't get enough of this podcast. I love it and yes I'm terrible thanks for asking too...

I adore this show and Nora!

by brAtKNEE327 on May 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this show!!!! Listened to 1 and got hooked and had to listen to them all!!!! The realism and pure heart in this show is exactly what I need!!!

ThelmaJag13

by ThelmaJag13 on May 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Wow, I binged on these over a period of just a few days. What a breath of fresh air, balm for the soul. I have dealt with loss and divorce over the past few years and so appreciate a podcast that deals with the truly tough realities of the world in a life affirming way. Thank you!

Honest and well done.

by CranePax on May 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Honest and well done.

Love this!!

by cissel1 on May 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have fallen in love with this podcast!!! Listened to the first season in two days! Love the stories and all the insight. Gives you all the feels!

Brilliant. Raw. Cathartic.

by sara ellen brown on May 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I wish I could give this six stars. Never have I found such a refreshing source of tears before TTFA. This is an amazing podcast for anyone who has experienced a life-changing event, loss, trauma, or whatever it may be - that has left you feeling a little different from the rest, and much more alone. This podcast is beautifully personal, honest and raw. I am so thankful for Nora and all of her guests for being willing to share such vulnerable parts of themselves that reach listeners like me and bring true comfort to an isolating experience. We are not freaks of nature! We deserve to feel a little broken in the places that we are, without having to be "fine" all the time. Fair warning, do your eye makeup AFTER you listen, because you might cry it all off (I know I do).

Amazing

by Bostongirl2 on May 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Nora tackles love and loss with understanding.

Brutally honest stories with love, compassion and some laughter. ❤️☺️😭😁

by abee60 on May 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to a lot of podcasts, and this is one of the best. The stories are compelling, real and honest.

Love this so much.

by Madireneek on May 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I cry way to much at this podcast and I still love it

Painful and Amazing

by Alyssamars on May 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the whole concept of this show, and Nora's voice is the perfect backdrop for these stories. I'm torn between wanting the show to move on from Nora's tragedies and feeling like they are the strongest stories. Semper Fi is a truly beautiful piece of storytelling, and The Inbetween Place made me cry at work.(Also, everyone should just skip episode 3. I'm 23 with a similar story- messed up at my first job, got fired, lost all sense of self- and even I kept wondering how the story belonged in this series. Although I wasn't bothered by Eva's voice- perhaps I speak similarly- it wasn't a great episode.)

Everyone thinks it - no one talks about it

by SMH at Snapchat on May 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast - TTFA is helping lots of people!

My Peeps!

by heathenscience on May 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have found my peeps! I do believe that every episode is as helpful to my mental space as my weekly therapy sessions. Thank you for helping me get back to who I am. A million thumbs up!

Funny and touching

by Courtneydoodle on May 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I appreciate the fact that this podcast talks about the painful things that are often too uncomfortable for many people to discuss. The host's sense of humor lightens the topic enough to keep me listening, but it's the true, difficult, painful stories that keep me listening.

Respects variety of human experience

by Himolly on May 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Beautiful. Holds up the many truths of each featured story. I deeply appreciate the show's attention to the fact that a person has all things in them. She/he can be grieving and giggling and in love all at once. THANK YOU!

Fantastic!

by Sly890 on May 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

These podcasts are so well done. I have learned so much. I have cried listening to most of them, but I hope they are helping me to be grateful for what I have and more supportive and helpful to those around me going through challenging experiences.

Blown Away!

by PGrantham25 on May 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I can't remember how I even found this podcast, but it has become my absolute favorite. it is always so powerful and insightful. It's a little embarrassing when my eyes begin welling with tears while flying alongside other passangers who begin to wonder what the hell is wrong with me. Each story is so well told and produced - from the music to the set up and interviews. It is one of the most compelling forms of storytelling I've come across in a long while. Your work, your stories are helping shape the inner lives we create for ourselves so that we can find strength in weakness through the common bonds of pain, suffering, grief, and the warmth of love found interwoven within them. Keep sharing your extraordinary gift with the world.

Podcast for the heart and soul

by Amandashrews on May 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Nora invited us to be kind, grateful and to feel. To feel all the feelings.And no matter what are you feeling right now, together, we can overcome anything and everything.I am sending you love.

Grieving?? You are not alone!

by Kch25 on May 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

As my mother would say "love it"

Love this podcast

by jxl1286 on May 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Awesome podcast - for perspective, empathy, living, life.

Just What I Needed

by Meryt-Neith on Apr 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. It's smart, compassionate, real, and just what I needed to hear. It reminds me we're not alone and that there is so much more than what we see. Thank you, Nora!

So, so well done!

by Wandering Jackalope on Apr 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I laugh & cry with each episode. It provides a space for a release of all of the feelings.

Honest and emotional

by Kels-belle on Apr 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One of my new favorite podcasts. The stories are very honest and the host is compassionate. Cathartic reminder that it's okay to not be okay.