Average rating:

5
out of 1051 ratings.

I adore this show and Nora!

by brAtKNEE327 on May 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this show!!!! Listened to 1 and got hooked and had to listen to them all!!!! The realism and pure heart in this show is exactly what I need!!!

ThelmaJag13

by ThelmaJag13 on May 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Wow, I binged on these over a period of just a few days. What a breath of fresh air, balm for the soul. I have dealt with loss and divorce over the past few years and so appreciate a podcast that deals with the truly tough realities of the world in a life affirming way. Thank you!

Honest and well done.

by CranePax on May 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Honest and well done.

Love this!!

by cissel1 on May 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have fallen in love with this podcast!!! Listened to the first season in two days! Love the stories and all the insight. Gives you all the feels!

Brilliant. Raw. Cathartic.

by sara ellen brown on May 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I wish I could give this six stars. Never have I found such a refreshing source of tears before TTFA. This is an amazing podcast for anyone who has experienced a life-changing event, loss, trauma, or whatever it may be - that has left you feeling a little different from the rest, and much more alone. This podcast is beautifully personal, honest and raw. I am so thankful for Nora and all of her guests for being willing to share such vulnerable parts of themselves that reach listeners like me and bring true comfort to an isolating experience. We are not freaks of nature! We deserve to feel a little broken in the places that we are, without having to be "fine" all the time. Fair warning, do your eye makeup AFTER you listen, because you might cry it all off (I know I do).

Amazing

by Bostongirl2 on May 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Nora tackles love and loss with understanding.

Brutally honest stories with love, compassion and some laughter. ❤️☺️😭😁

by abee60 on May 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I listen to a lot of podcasts, and this is one of the best. The stories are compelling, real and honest.

Love this so much.

by Madireneek on May 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I cry way to much at this podcast and I still love it

Painful and Amazing

by Alyssamars on May 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love the whole concept of this show, and Nora's voice is the perfect backdrop for these stories. I'm torn between wanting the show to move on from Nora's tragedies and feeling like they are the strongest stories. Semper Fi is a truly beautiful piece of storytelling, and The Inbetween Place made me cry at work.(Also, everyone should just skip episode 3. I'm 23 with a similar story- messed up at my first job, got fired, lost all sense of self- and even I kept wondering how the story belonged in this series. Although I wasn't bothered by Eva's voice- perhaps I speak similarly- it wasn't a great episode.)

Everyone thinks it - no one talks about it

by SMH at Snapchat on May 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast - TTFA is helping lots of people!

My Peeps!

by heathenscience on May 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have found my peeps! I do believe that every episode is as helpful to my mental space as my weekly therapy sessions. Thank you for helping me get back to who I am. A million thumbs up!

Funny and touching

by Courtneydoodle on May 07, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I appreciate the fact that this podcast talks about the painful things that are often too uncomfortable for many people to discuss. The host's sense of humor lightens the topic enough to keep me listening, but it's the true, difficult, painful stories that keep me listening.

Respects variety of human experience

by Himolly on May 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Beautiful. Holds up the many truths of each featured story. I deeply appreciate the show's attention to the fact that a person has all things in them. She/he can be grieving and giggling and in love all at once. THANK YOU!

Fantastic!

by Sly890 on May 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

These podcasts are so well done. I have learned so much. I have cried listening to most of them, but I hope they are helping me to be grateful for what I have and more supportive and helpful to those around me going through challenging experiences.

Blown Away!

by PGrantham25 on May 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I can't remember how I even found this podcast, but it has become my absolute favorite. it is always so powerful and insightful. It's a little embarrassing when my eyes begin welling with tears while flying alongside other passangers who begin to wonder what the hell is wrong with me. Each story is so well told and produced - from the music to the set up and interviews. It is one of the most compelling forms of storytelling I've come across in a long while. Your work, your stories are helping shape the inner lives we create for ourselves so that we can find strength in weakness through the common bonds of pain, suffering, grief, and the warmth of love found interwoven within them. Keep sharing your extraordinary gift with the world.

Podcast for the heart and soul

by Amandashrews on May 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Nora invited us to be kind, grateful and to feel. To feel all the feelings.And no matter what are you feeling right now, together, we can overcome anything and everything.I am sending you love.

Grieving?? You are not alone!

by Kch25 on May 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

As my mother would say "love it"

Love this podcast

by jxl1286 on May 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Awesome podcast - for perspective, empathy, living, life.

Just What I Needed

by Meryt-Neith on Apr 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. It's smart, compassionate, real, and just what I needed to hear. It reminds me we're not alone and that there is so much more than what we see. Thank you, Nora!

So, so well done!

by Wandering Jackalope on Apr 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I laugh & cry with each episode. It provides a space for a release of all of the feelings.

Honest and emotional

by Kels-belle on Apr 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One of my new favorite podcasts. The stories are very honest and the host is compassionate. Cathartic reminder that it's okay to not be okay.

Stretches your heart and brain

by Pod save America SAVED ME on Apr 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I bow down to this pod. Thank you.

Wonderful stories

by terrip13 on Apr 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks for the wonderful personal stories.

So healing!

by LissaMontez on Apr 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Nora's voice and her vulnerability to share her stories and others is so healing. I love every minute of every episode. Thank you for this podcast.

Listening to it at work must stop...

by Loyd E. on Apr 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Tears. Major tears. Trying to cover up my weepy, weepy eyes at work has become really troublesome. But, I guess I'll keep struggling through because it is worth it. There are laughs, too. Thank you. And you're awesome. :-)

Simply enthralling.

by 47north on Apr 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Haven't been able to stop listening. Fascinating subject matter and Nora is a wonderful host.

I am terrible, thanks for asking

by Uss surj on Apr 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love that Nora is real and shares her story, because it helps to know I'm not alone. The stories she shares help too. I love the one about being okay with not being okay. Every episode is something I need to hear. I do laugh and cry each time. I love this podcast!

we need this... thank you

by buelaheart on Apr 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

i am so appreciative of your willingness to share your heart with us... i have recommended your show to so many hurting people and hope they are willing to listen too... thank you and thank you for your continuing for another season... blessings...❤️

Master Class in Storytelling

by JuellesC on Apr 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

These stories really get to me - they are hard, sad and tough to hear and they seem to stay in my mind a few days after listening too. But they are done so beautifully and with such incredible emotion. Pretty moving stuff.

Always moving

by Keith Troester on Apr 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have never been so consistently moved by a podcast. The rough times, inside, are bursting with hope, and it's also okay that they are rough.

Inspiring, Touching, Riveting

by AHJ1971 on Apr 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very well done Nora! I love listening to the stories told by those that experienced them. I don’t love all the people who tell their stories, but I do learn something from each one of them. Nora helps bring that element to the table that makes it all worthwhile. Great listen!

Fantastic

by Hannah1991228 on Apr 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

As someone who has struggled with a lot of loss in their life, I can say that this is one of the most therapeutic things I have ever listened to. Hearing people's stories have helped me deal with loss in my own life. Nora is fantastic, and the podcast always starts with a trigger warning which is very helpful.

A Podcast for the lost, heartbroken, empathetic, and everyone in between

by wambam3 on Apr 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

From the soothing sound of Nora's voice, to the relatable and heartbreaking episodes, this podcast will touch you in many ways. There is so much variety and depth Terrible, Thanks for Asking has to offer. Nora has given me a way to feel less alone with my own personal issues and I thank her for giving those like me an outlet to feel normal through abnormal situations or feelings. Nora you, your podcast, and your book are gifts to me and I thank you ❤

Terrible host, terrible jokes

by Kevxiu on Apr 19, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I like the idea behind this podcast and some of the episodes are good but the host is horrible and her jokes are absolutely cringeworthy. I don't mean to sound like an angry reviewer because I think this podcast has potential but every 30 seconds to a minute I get into the story the host says something extremely cheesy as if your mother was trying to be cool. I can't anymore, I'm sorry.

Something different

by Casey112 on Apr 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Nora challenges listeners to experience uncomfortable emotions... and it's oddly cathartic. This podcast calms me and I start feeling Nora is actually just a close friend I'm chatting with. The topics are bold.

Wonderful

by laweta on Apr 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is what I need in my life right now. I like how grief is explained in a variety of different ways. What might be grief to one person looks totally different to another person. I love how they take a look through different lenses.

Thanks.

by MeredithWardAndrews on Apr 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Some of the stories are harder to relate to, I agree with other reviewers-but then, that's basically what suffering is when it's not yours.Hard to relate to.I think it's important to stretch to relate to the privileged Oregon transplant coping with first world shame as well as being open to the more operatic and badge-earning sufferers....... BECAUSE, Suffering shapes us.It motivates the way we vote, how and who we live and how we treat one another. If we show compassion for ALL suffering there is less suffering, right?So a show about how we feel when it isn't happy is great.

Just what I needed

by LuvUchivas on Apr 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast beyond words. The way each episode unfolds, Nora's pitch perfect narration, and the universality of each distinct story makes this a must listen for anyone who just needs to hear that life does exist after terrible things happen. I am so grateful for this terrific podcast. I think it's the catharsis the world needs right now.

It's Real

by Jeredps on Apr 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast talks about the real things in life and doesn't back down. So good!

Beautiful and Engaging

by Wa podcast junkie on Apr 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is so gripping and the stories so visceral you can't help but laugh and cry with the host and guest at times. Although I've not lost my spouse, there are many relatable thoughts and feelings within the discussions. I see you blasted on here with episode three...I struggled with it as well. Whatever the age of the woman now, she spoke like a child and the repetitive "like" was distracting. Perhaps a little caution with guests or what material is used going forward would be wise. That being said, we can all choose to skip an episode. Thank you for bringing people's stories to life, including your own.

It's ok.

by xgxax on Apr 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you

Glad I found this.

by Bcurtis91 on Apr 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I subscribed to this podcast a few weeks ago but didn't listen right away. Not really knowing what the topics would be about I wasn't sure I would but felt the name was very fitting for how I was feeling. When I got the latest episode notice I decided to listen. Glad I did. It's been helpful for me letting my emotions out when no one else is around.

Comforting and validating

by Kklane409 on Apr 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love it. All of it. Exactly what I needed to hear in this phase of my life. More please!!

bless this podcast

by belladonna81 on Apr 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

seriously. bless it. it is saving my life in ways I didn't know I needed to be saved. it's the most human thing out there and maybe it's the empath in me, but it makes me feel all the feelings. it's so easy to lie to people and say you're okay, but this podcast has revolutionized how I approach the question, "how are you?" if you are struggling with things just below the surface, or maybe deeper down, definitely listen to this podcast. even if you're not struggling, LISTEN. IT IS PODCAST GOLD. it makes me feel better in a world that usually makes me feel alone. totally worth the listen.

"Like" I can't handle this

by MAPodcaster on Apr 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Please consider using the word "like" less often (waaaay less often). It makes listening to the episodes somewhat unbearable. I'm just sticking around for the content at this point, NOT the delivery

Absolutely wonderful

by brejee on Apr 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This piece of media is so absolutely necessary and is so cathartic to laugh with, and cry with, and sympathize with, all at the same time. A must listen if you want to be in tune with your feelings and learn to give yourself a break.

A new favorite

by sce6330 on Apr 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I am so glad I found this podcast. The stories are deep, touching, and thought-provoking. I can't wait for the next season.

Refreshingly honest

by M.sale on Apr 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This type of brutally honest storytelling dives deep beyond the superficial societal norms of conversation allowing for a necessary recalibration of empathy and gratitude for our fellow humans. And it might make you cry in public.

Real

by CindyElizabeth on Apr 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I LOVE Nora's voice. She's amazingly articulate about emotional health and is it's helpful to hear about being terrible!

Loving it so far

by KF in DC on Apr 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've only listened to the first two episodes so far, and I've seen the other reviews bashing the third episode, but I'll have to see what I think when I get there. So far, I've really loved it, and I think the idea of it is really important and valuable. Thanks for sharing, Nora.