Average rating:

5
out of 1185 ratings.

GREAT PODCAST!!

by Derfney on Sep 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love listening to this at work. ❤️

Perfect.

by Lil' Bitz on Sep 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Funny, sad, heartfelt, empathic, honest...perfect.

So freaking good!

by Kristen Strait on Sep 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is so amazing.

Beautiful, eye-opening, lovely

by stripedhibiscus on Sep 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Terrible, Thanks for Asking is my new favorite podcast and I tell everyone I know about it. I'm a big podcaster and also a huge fan of Nora thanks to her book and articles. It's a very human show that highlights the good, pretty, ugly, diverse, sad, joyful parts of living. I have listen to it when I'm in the right frame of mind so I can take it all in properly. Thanks Nora and team for a fabulous show. Subscribe!!!

Amazing, Heartbreaking, and Real

by A. Edward Marshall on Sep 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is phenomenal. I ran across it courtesy of the NPR One app, and I'm devouring every episode I can. The music is addicting. The stories are compelling. You get the explicit sense that it's ok not to be ok -- and we need more of that space for allowance in this world.

Riveting

by NL.Taylor on Sep 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have officially binged this podcast in a little over a weekend. You won't find this content anywhere. But you really should. This is what we need to be talking about.

We're not alone

by hcnole78 on Sep 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I stumbled upon this podcast just yesterday and I've been binge-listening. I can't identify with the hot widows portion of the stories, but I have a brother who will never be older than 31 and a niece that will never remember her daddy. The stories are heartbreaking (except for Eva's- that was so random that it felt like the mistake) but I understand grief and it's good to know I'm not alone.

Wonderful

by Kateljones on Sep 18, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Nora is fantastic! Her message and voice are perfect. I have cried more than once listening to this podcast.

Love the raw human emotion!

by blackaida on Sep 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I think the host is great in describing and bringing to attention topics that are hard to talk about.

Brave

by ely810 on Sep 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is a huge breath of fresh air. These people are so brave for being willing to talk about their lives in such a vulnerable way, and the host does an incredible job. It's an honor to be able to listen and be moved by such beautiful souls. If you don't listen, start. If you do, don't worry, I'm crying too.

The reality of grief

by KanPodFan on Sep 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I recommend this to anyone who has experiencing a death. Funny and painful and sad and hopeful. Life after loss.

Refreshing

by kazstaxx on Sep 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I absolutely love this podcast. The last episode on Harris Wittels had me balling in me car. I could actually see myself in the position of the sister with my brother and his addiction. So relatable!

Not sure how I discovered this podcast, but glad I did!

by CherisseA on Sep 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I totally don't know how I stumbled on this podcast, but it was early on. I had just had a baby, and the episode about the DJ with PPD was SO timely for me. Since then, I've followed along, and Nora has inspired me to start my own podcast, parent the way I want to, and (possibly) quit my job to do things I enjoy. Thank you Nora!

Amazing

by Xyona on Sep 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Such a great approach to real humanity, intimacy, and all the stuff under one's psychic couch.

Real and true

by Jessie7482 on Sep 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

First, I'm so sorry for your loss. I do think sharing your stories will help people. So many are going through hard times and it is so taboo to say how terrible things really are. I love this podcast and appreciate everything you do! Give this podcast a listen and you will feel connected to another very real side of life.

Therapeutic therapy for me

by irieirene on Sep 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I came cross this pod cast by pure chance, and I'm stuck on it...... I felt I was the only one who felt this way, alone in my depressive view of the world. I'm under a great doctors care and my sadness has been cut by 70% but I still can't be 100% free of it. And in a way I don't want to be free of it because with it I see the value of life and how quickly it can be taken away. One of my first experiences with grief was having my best friend murdered, and not having the person who robbed her of her life serve anytime of prison until 27 years later (yes it was her husband) so young me hasn't really let that the old me forget life is precious. I find this sooooo comforting, that people see life the way I do.

Amazing

by Nancymesaaz on Sep 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks so much for your story and bringing grief to the forefront.

Getting in Touch with Death

by tenacioust_afrochic on Sep 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I was first drawn to TTFA by Nora's ability to draw you in instantly. I stayed because of a curiosity about death, dying and those things that we just don't talk about. It's not "tragedy porn" as another reviewer has stated, but actually realizing that the terrible circumstances Nora covers are a part of life and showing how people deal with them.

The Raw Strength of Human Beings

by petwrthtrini on Sep 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this program though the content may be tough for many to handle. The stories of these individuals surviving and living through the worse that life can throw at you is empowering and inspiring. Moreover, listening to the raw, truthful, and complex emotional experiences of the guests not only makes me deeply empathetic and reminds me that people are regularly faced with incredibly challenging life circumstances, it also somehow makes me feel connected to a larger human emotional experience.

Perfect

by Purduemeg on Sep 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast came to me when I needed it the most. I just lost my Mother 4 months ago. No warning. This podcast speaks to my truth and struggles.

You had me....then quickly lost me.

by Leisinger1973 on Sep 11, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The 2nd episode was horrific. I mean this woman was vain beyond belief. Of all the ideas behind the title of this podcast you chose this whiny twenty something's self absorbed story?? Done. I won't listen to anymore.

A gift

by JW&WSzealot on Sep 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I somehow stumbled on this podcast and I'm addicted. Nora is an incredible host and while it appears some people are bothered by her sharing her personal stories many episodes, I find them compelling and so helpful and eye-opening. She is engaging, candid, and funny too. I think that people that are critical of certain episodes are clearly just not the right audience for those episodes. Nora is and has a gift and her podcast is a genuine treasure. Don't like an episode? Go to another one.

Love it

by meggnog16 on Sep 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I lost my husband earlier this summer and listening to Nora is like an extra dose of therapy. She makes you laugh, cry, and commiserate. She gets it.

I'm so addicted!

by Gymn gal on Sep 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you Nora for sharing your story and for bringing other people into your podcast! I absolutely love your podcast! I love how you let it be OK for people to have feelings. Everybody has gone through trials and trauma and everybody does deal with it in their own way. More people need to understand that not everybody deals with things the same way. I'm so sorry for the loss that you have had. But I love you and I think you are amazing!

So good

by AnnaJayExtraordinaire on Aug 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I laugh, I cry. Love it

So beautiful

by KIDS POP is HORRBLE on Aug 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Talk about the beauty of the human life - Nora captures her own and other amazing stories in the most real, and heartbreaking yet beautiful story telling I've heard in a long time. You won't regret listening and you'll probably be a better human for it.

Crying in the bus.

by chrisryanart on Aug 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast so much and listen to it on the bus. Crying on the bus is cool right?

Poignant

by Missdulcemia on Aug 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Poignant and beautiful. Will resonate with anyone who has ever experienced a traumatic event or loss. Thank you for your candor.

Somehow Wonderful & Terrible

by Wishopeace on Aug 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

@ttfapodcast is a podcast about life and loss, somehow both wonderful and awful, and I cannot stop listening. I've laughed, I've cried, I've reflected and gasped. Really cannot recommend enough. Give it a shot. You won't be disappointed. #terriblethanksforasking

Fantastic

by Elindell on Aug 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Touching, funny, moving--amazing podcast.

Haters gonna hate

by OnlyLove19 on Aug 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

My sister recommended this podcast to me, and I think it is top notch! I have listened to Season 1 and the mini-season and am eagerly waiting for Season 2. I loved it so much that I wanted to write a review. In most cases I would have read the reviews prior to listening but since I trust my sister, I just downloaded and listened. I am just now reading other reviews and the comments that come along with some of the low ratings just make me angry. **begin rant**If you don't like the content please be objective and just state those facts. It's really not helpful to others who might not have similar listening taste when you hate on things because of your own issues and insecurities. If you feel the need to tell someone else what direction their content should go, then create your own original podcast from your vision, don't project onto someone else. **end rant**I find this podcast to be really well produced, funny, emotionally important, thoughtful, inspiring, human, and real. I have not been through any of what Nora or any other guests have been through and it's easy for me to identify with them. It brings back the some of the humanity that I feared this world was losing and reminds us that we are all in this together. There are always people who have it better than you and always people who have it worse, but at the end of the day we are the same. The root of all in life is the desire to be loved and understood, and I find this podcast a great reminder of how easy it is to give those gifts to others.

Sad yet moving

by jenkiki on Aug 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Sad episodes but necessary. We can relate to the heartache.

Best podcast I've encountered

by Joeminer on Aug 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Nora is so inspiring!

So much empathy and insight

by KathyFromPV on Aug 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I have listened to many, many podcasts over the years, and this is the first time I have felt compelled to write a review. This podcast is so compelling and insightful. I have learned so much about what it is like to walk in the shoes of people who are working their way through a variety of life's setbacks. Despite the title, this podcast is not a downer. So many of the people that Nora interviews are finding wise ways to move forward in their lives. They are so inspirational and brave. I have only listened to this podcast for a few days, but I have binge listened to nearly all of the episodes. I have also told several friends that they need to listen to it. Thank you very much for making this podcast, Nora.

1000% yes

by FlynnCeceRockyDeuceTy on Aug 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this.

Real. And fantastic!

by LoriMH on Jul 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

It is so refreshing to find such an honest and real podcast that doesn't sugar coat life. Love it!!

Amazing!

by MariBule on Jul 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

A deep but easy Podcast to listen to!

How can this be funny?

by RandomReviewer212 on Jul 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Yet it is. Even with tears in my eyes.

Please make more

by CLBOS on Jul 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Please, please, please make more of these episodes. This podcast is wonderful. I can't stop listening.

Laughing and crying

by rurocky on Jul 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I love Nora's stories and can't get enough of her!

Look forward to every new episode!

by MLSYogi on Jul 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Nora McInerny hosts an insightful study of how humans find their way in life in the shadow of grief and all the suffering that entails. The only way we can experience the true joy of loving another is to experience the profound grief of the (sometimes cruel and premature) loss of those we love. You cannot have one without the other. Thank you Nora for sharing your story and the stories of others.

Helpful

by mjesssayin on Jul 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Acknowledging the bad somehow makes it feel a little better. It's helpful to hear how other people cope with grief.

Love this show

by la rojita on Jul 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Nora is a brilliant host and I love the compassion and heart she has put into this show. Please keep the episodes coming!

HELL YES (and heavens yes if you're into that sort of thing)

by Barlow Art on Jul 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast never ceases to make me cry, laugh, think, and empathize a little bit more. It's good for the soul.

Part of the grief club

by andeepandabear on Jul 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is perfect for anyone dealing with grief. It is a terrible club to be in and yet thanks to Nora revealing her heart it's not as lonely as it once was. Thank you.

How can I like this so much?

by Sanctified96 on Jul 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I feel like I can’t say I “like” this when so many of the stories are so sad! They’re just told so well and it makes me feel like I’m part of a community of people who are allowed to have hard times and be open about them and not belittle them!. Such a good one.

A hard listen.

by Wilde Moon Leather on Jul 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a wonderful podcast that is equally inspiring and heart breaking. Mini Season : Episode 6; 19 Hours Ago, was a particularly hard listen.

Love it

by LandL1265 on Jul 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Even if you aren't currently coping with grief, the stories told are absolutely gripping and compelling and worth a listen

I love this podcast so much!

by Kristymomofthree on Jun 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I downloaded this podcast for me to plug into as my family and I took a road trip from our home in Minneapolis to the East Coast. I DEVOURED all of the episodes and dang, it made the long drive go by so much more quickly. I first purchased Nora's book, "It's OK to Laugh," in the painful weeks after my dear mom passed away from pancreatic cancer. The book was a much-needed balm. I love Nora's writing and I was pretty sure I'd love the podcast, especially after my sister recommended it. The stories are beautiful and gripping and sad and remarkable, all at the same time. I will eagerly await new episodes.

So real

by annaleah90 on Jun 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is so pure and real. Such a breath of fresh air.