Average rating:

5
out of 672 ratings.

I’ve been here since Ep 1! My fav podcast

by King For A Night on Jan 17, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Adnan was clearly made for a life in tv and radio. It’s really a treat that we get to hear him apply those talents to reviewing movies. Not only does he have the chops for it, he has the knowledge and passion for film that can’t be faked. This show is perfectly balanced in such a way that Virk can flirt with film snobbery, but also give us his reviews of the latest super hero installment. Adding to that balance is the “Every Man” segment by producer Dan Stanczyk. His welcome cynicism creates a good rhythm with Adnan’s affable Canadian nature. However, Rick Passmore was not gifted with the personality to be an on air talent. Which is fine, but I like this podcast too much to let a detriment like this go unacknowledged. If Ricky has something longer than 20-30 seconds to say, I think it’s better left unsaid. He had a story about Paris Hilton’s boyfriend that they would have used to torture terrorists at Guantanamo.

If you love movies Yes

by Limbanucha on Jan 15, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Adnan is the professor and Rick and Dan are his up and coming proteges. You will get a different take from all three which is refreshing. Adnan is refined wine while Rick is great IPA and Dan is smooth Tequila. Keep up the great work guys! I truly love forward to each new episode.

If you love movies Yes

by Limbanucha on Jan 15, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Adnan is the professor and Rick and Dan are his up and coming proteges. You will get a different take from all three which is refreshing. Adnan is refined wine while Rick is great IPA and Dan is smooth Tequila. Keep up the great work guys! I truly love forward to each new episode.

Great Enthusiasm

by Bzerkap on Jan 15, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I love all the folks that make cinephile great and give a home to the auctioneer style commentary Adnan gives.Dan , Ricky, Ben all give excellent supporting performances and should be honored as well.Never take this off the air, it’s too good.

Adnan is the Man

by StuGutzArmy on Jan 14, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Adnan Virk is one of the most versatile personalities ESPN has ever produced.His range is dynamic from Sportscenter to radio fill-in to Lebatard show and this podcast. Anything he is involved with I am downloading and listening to because he is smart he is funny and he can adapt to any environment he is placed in....

Justin sweet music viola

by viola6767 on Jan 14, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Best movie podcast. Great job Adnan and team!

LOVE IT

by Thebadguy127 on Jan 14, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. I love adnan and dan. Passmore is alright. Always entertaining and funny. I have a running list of adnan movies to watch. 5 Stars

Jam-packed, enthusiastic, witty, genuine

by emmbeeAZ on Jan 13, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Love it. Adnan is a super-well-informed interviewer. There is great chemistry on the cine-team. This podcast will make you smile, even if you don’t watch movies.

Love Cinephile!

by SFRules80 on Jan 11, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Big movie fan and Adnan’s podcast is my favorite. Love the reviews, interviews, rankings lists, Everyman review/segment.

Sultan of Cinema, Friar of Film. Fantastic podcast!

by Graham McGowan on Jan 11, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

If you’re like me, I tend to take films at face value. I am not the best at finding the deeper meanings in a lot of movies, but this podcast has a very smooth way to elicit that from a listener.Adnan has a passion for film that is clearly palpable and infectious. The energy and joy he gets from cinema draws even the most novice moviegoer in. The interviews are insightful and opens new appreciation to each film discussed with whomever he gets the opportunity to talk to.Dan Stanczyk’s “Every Man” is fun and down to Earth....and deserving of a new open!Rick Passmore’s “In Defense Of” gets roasted by some listeners, but his reviews are fair and it’s nice to see a movie be discussed after the critics have either lambasted it or praised it.Overall, the chemistry with all 3 guys are great and if you took the time to read this entire review, I hope you enjoy the podcast as much as I do.

Great Podcast!

by sportscaster123 on Jan 01, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Peter also asks the tough questions with insightful guests.

Fantastic Podcast!

by Schmitty052 on Dec 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the Podcast!! Been a sports and movie lover my whole life, so it’s cool to get my fill of movie/oscar talk from people who happen to work in the sports world. Love Adnan for Scorsese Stories since Marty is my fav director, Lyons is great when he has time, some of the best parts are Dan and Rick tho since I feel like I connect with them more. Dan’s review to Roma was one of the best moments!

One of the best movie podcasts

by Lwhy? on Dec 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Cinephile is one of the best movie podcasts available. Adnan is a great interviewer and he's able to get great guests with help from ESPN's talent bookers. The reviews from Adnan, Dan, Rick and Claire cover a wide varitey of films and are fairly unbiased unless it's a Scorsese film. Adnan loves anything to do with Scorsese and that's my only complaint. I love listening to Cinephile during my long 45 minute commute to work and back. If you're a cinephile, you should definitely check out this podcast.

Addy Jupiter is the man

by ArthurMc5 on Dec 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love Adnan on sports and movies. Multitalented. He's the best and has a great podcast

[He] Don’t Go Down For Nobody!!!

by TeddyBroosevelt on Dec 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Adnan consistently gives an honest, unpretentious & even-handed review of films that overly verbose industry critics are simply incapable of. This podcast is like talking movies with your best friend who is well-informed and loves watching & talking about films!*PLUS: Adnan could not be a nicer guy, and regularly has entertaining guests who you really want to hear insight from.

Love your podcast

by Larry Schumaker on Dec 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Fantastic rundown of recent releases. My son who received his degree in film agrees with you 100% about Buster Scruggs, so you both saved me a couple hours I can spend watching football. Love Stanczyk, too, and agree he deserves a better intro. As for Passmore, I’m sure he’s a great guy, but I laughed out loud when he reviewed Buster Scruggs and talked about how anthologies of short stories tend to have some that are great (like your reviews), some are good (like Dan’s), and some are a waste of time. That said, I’m a huge fan of your pod and trust your judgment as much as any reviewer since Roger Ebert.

Great Pod

by Kdmdjdjdjd on Dec 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is a fantastic podcast, Adnan is the GOAT. Wish there was more of these. Maybe weekly episodes during the super busy awards/big releases season? Love the pod, thanks and keep up the great work.

A must listen!

by boneswag on Dec 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast. Adnan’s genuine and honest movie reviews are excellent. I look forward to hearing what he’s got to say about the latest movies. Dan has got some excellent input too. Rick rambles on and on a bit, but overall an exceptional podcast!

Experience

by Misery's company on Nov 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Echoing down the dimly lit isles of of runtimes, we have been scanning the showtimes for a title that enables us to grow in the dark while being rooted in cushioned seats. Adnan, Dan & Rick have torn our tickets, bagged our popcorn and led us to where we can cast our own scripts on the silver screens of our souls. Thank you for a great podcast.

PLEASE KEEP IT GOING!

by BobNSurf on Nov 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I may be the only review in the month of January, but this review alone should keep this podcast from fizzling into the land of mundane podcasts. Adnan and Dan are brilliant. Adnan has the ability to critique a film without needing someone to interject to keep things interesting. Dan couldn’t be more opposite than Adnan, which adds a different point of view and variety to the show. Keep the good shows available like this one. I hope this makes a difference.Awesome job guys!Updated review 03/07/18I loved Max’s review of this podcast and I mimic it 100%. No fluff, just clear and to the point critical analysis of what to watch or not watch. Keep it up guys! I’m a huge fan and an avid listener since day 1. I hope you continue to climb the charts and get even more recognition. You guys deserve it! P.S- Lyons den, 🍃🍃🍃🍃I’m a HUGE FAN!

Time limit for Passmore

by CodyPillon on Nov 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve been an avid listener since the first episode and am always excited when a new pod pops up in my library. He sounds like a nice guy, and I think there is someway for him to contribute to the show, but Passmore’s movie reviews have got to go... It’s hard to make a movie review confusing, but Rick seems to do just that every time with those long winded rambles.

Always strong - as good as when I first started listening.

by Bayou Bonz on Oct 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Makes my commute enjoyable. Adnan is honest, unpretentious and funny.

New top ten list

by grasskiller on Oct 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I enjoy this podcast more and more. Great work as always for Adnan and his team. Keep cranking them out they get better and better.

Great podcast

by hotlunchman on Oct 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love adnan’s interview style - he seems to surprise his guests with the depth of his knowledge in his questioning. Stanczyk provides a good pop culture counterbalance to adnan’s inner geek. Passmore is a bag of hot air - his reviews are rambling nonsense and the show would be better without his interjections.

Huge fan and suggestions

by jayyy_que on Oct 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve been listening to the Pod since day one and even got a few friends to take a listen. I’m a huge fan and really love the work you do. I sometimes write to you on twitter and like that you get back to me most times. I know you don’t really do Scorsese stories anymore. It would be fun if you brought that back, but except Scorsese maybe do it for another director. For example, “Kubrick stories”. Something of that nature. By the way, don’t know if you seen “The Witch” but they just put it on Netflix and it’s absolutely terrifying and highly recommend it (it’s only an hour and a half).

A break from the daily grind

by hopdoc on Oct 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Your recent interview with Ty Burr was outstanding. To hear 2 intelligent, well spoken men “geek out” is a joy, and pure entertainment. I’ve been listening from the first podcast, and it keeps evolving and getting better. You and Dan, with the addition of Rick and Ben, have nudged me in cinematic directions I wouldn’t normally go. I appreciate the diversified opinions that have opened my mind to other genres of film. Thanks.

Keep it going

by the-justin79 on Oct 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The show is great. Also love every man and in defense of. Would love for you to get the band back together for a show of you and Danny Kanell. You guys were the best fill in hosts for russillo. Recently checked out Gone Baby Gone because of y’all it was fantastic. Movies I’ve recently seen Hold the Dark - 1🍁 worst movie I’ve seen in a while. A simple Favor - 3🍁 a little predictable at the end but an enjoyable experience. Wind River - 4 🍁 best movie I’ve seen in a while.

You’re the man, Adnan.

by Fixxxxxxtheeeproblemssss on Sep 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Adnan brought back my love for movies that I haven’t had in a while. He’s always been my favorite anchor at ESPN but listening to this podcast is even better than when he’s filling in for a show on ESPN. I just wish they posted episodes more frequently, but that would be my only critique. Y’all keep up the good work and I need a Cinephile shirt ASAP! Where can I obtain one??

Pregnant. Pause.

by T-Brad on Sep 14, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Tom Berenger: interesting guy; I got Vertigo from listening to that interview. Lol

Good lord this is bad

by Willd27 on Sep 11, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I’ve tried probably a dozen of these podcasts and it’s incredible how inconsistent Adnan is when it comes to talking about movies. The thing that suggested I need to give up is his review of Hereditary. I’m gonna go get some chicken tenders and miss 20 minutes of a movie and then give it 2-stars. And why should expectations have anything to do with a movie review? A movie does not need to conform to your expectations, and if all your here to do is judge entertainment value—unless of course the movie is made by a director that fits your cognitive bias—I guess I’ll check out.

Passion is Apparent

by Hoochhavoc on Sep 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It’s fun to listen to people talk about their passions. Movie are the order of the day with Adnan and crew.

No Explanation Needed

by Thatreviewer7 on Jul 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Cinephile won best movie podcast!

Adnan is the best

by CanesDad on Jul 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love not only reviewing new movies but the timeless classics. Thanks Adnan.

A great listen for any movie fan

by dan r2 on Jul 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve bet a fan of Adnan for a long time on ESPN. Adnan brings even more excitement to this podcast talking about movies. This podcast is great for any movie fan and I have gotten tons of great movie recommendations from Adnan.

Magictasticness

by Sexyback BT43 on Jul 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The only movie podcast you need to listen to. Period.

I listen while running...

by Colorado Wyoming Fan on Jun 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I laugh out loud while listening, which disrupts my breathing while running. But the entertainment value of this podcast also dulls the pain. It’s a net win. I highly recommend.

5 make believes

by more jibberish on Jun 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Here’s the thing about this podcast. It’s almost like something you’d make with your friends but in reality you don’t actually know that much and you’re really too lazy to make a podcast anyway.It’s just perfect. It’s lemonade in the summer, it’s a hot dog at a baseball game. Do yourself a favor, scroll through the list of podcasts and find an actor you like and download and listen to that podcast and watch how Adnan just gets through to that actor and you’ll see a side to that person you never saw before.

Love Cinephile

by mthompson613 on Jun 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Perfect blending of entertainment with just the right amount of sports talk. Love your take on the Gangster genre, especially your Martin Scorsese stories. By the way, you forgot to add “The Pursuit of Happiness” to your best Father/Son movies.Keep up the great work. I look forward to listening every week.

Amazing

by Pweaver!!! on Jun 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is so worth your time if you are into sports and movies. There is very little sports however Adnan is an ESPN anchor. Please offer more recommendations for Netflix, Amazon and Hulu. Thanks

Father’s Day List

by DamnSpaniard on Jun 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This review is WAAAAY too long, but I’ve got a lot to say & I rarely do this. I have been an Adnan Virk fan since Baseball Tonight. We are both sons of immigrants, and lovers of sports & film, which is why I have been a Cinephile listener since Day 1. This review is not a complaint, even though the “Captain” always states to send feedback even if it’s negative. We have VERY similar tastes for movies, but I don’t always see eye to eye on his choices (too much love for gangster flicks & not enough for Sci-fi), but I was compelled to send something regarding your latest entry & point out a glaring omission on your Father’s Day list. Personally, Field of Dreams is my favorite so I’m glad it made your Top 5, but you left out 2 films that didn’t even get an Honorable Mention... What Dreams May Come(1998), which has a very strong story of Father, Son and Daughter, which, by your own admission, was completely missing the from all your entries, which focused exclusively only on the Dad-Son dynamic. The second & far worse offense, is About Time(2013). Starring Domhnall Gleeson, Rachel McAdams, Bill Nighy, & an about to breakout star, Margot Robbie, who was “discovered” a few months later in one of your all time favs, Wolf of Wall Street. This is a story of a young man who finds out that all the men in his family have the ability to travel back into their own past. He doesn’t use this power for fame & fortune, but instead to connect and become closer to the people he loves, especially his dad. He has spent several lifetimes with his father but the scene when he realizes that he can no longer “re-visit” him anymore, is absolutely HEART-WRENCHING. I can only assume you haven’t seen it, which may explain why it didn’t make it on the list. Anyways, please keep up the excellent work. Sincerely, Javier Vidal

Cheery and informative

by geneshoo on Jun 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Adnan makes everything interesting. This podcast is light, cheery, and informative.The Ben Lewin segment is a prime example of talking about a subject that you may never heard of. Along the way his rating of father son movies gave me several movies to investigate. Top podcast I listen to.

Adnan is the Captain

by jenniferKas on Jun 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Adnan is great giving a little bit of everything for all movie lovers. Ranges from indies, Oscars, and blockbusters while also relating back to sports. Best of both worlds! Dream interview- Can you please try and get Stallone/Michael B Jordan when Creed 2 rolls out?

Entertaining

by poppnhamm69hoo on May 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I never listened to podcasts before until I saw Adnan filling in on Mike and Mike and I enjoyed listening to him talk about movies and decided to give cinephile a shot. I love movies and we share a lot of the same favorite movies like goodfellas and raging bull. He is very knowledgeable and insightful and I now listen to his podcast everyday driving to work trying to catch up on all the episodes I missed. If you have a passion for movies you will not be disappointed.

The best

by mckaymm on May 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Adnan is seriously the best. Just listening to him get so pumped about movies, sports, or anything for that matter, makes my day instantly better. One of the best interviewers out there, always engaging and entertaining! I didn’t think I had time in my day for another podcast, but I’m glad I made room. Always a fan!

Listen to Jay Baruchel

by RearAdmiralTrots on May 24, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I don’t write reviews for stuff on the AppStore/iTunes (ever), but the interview Adnan has with Jay Baruchel is fantastic. If you only listen to one episode, this is the one. Some guests are only there to plug whatever they are currently selling, but Baruchel is warm, engaging, happy to talk, and Canadian. Fantastic interview, maybe the best one to date given the insight Adnan is able to draw out of Baruchel. Adnan and I might not always agree on the movie reviews, but I know he’s coming at them from the right place and I always respect his incredibly well-informed opinion.

Redefined the Way I View Film

by BrianHollingsworth on May 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Adnan’s plugs for Cinephile on The Dan Le Batard Show with Stugotz got me interested, but it’s his in-depth analysis of every major film got me hooked. Watching a movie before and after listening to Adnan’s review is like watching two entirely different movies.

Midwest mama

by cincysport on May 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Heard you on Russillo talking about films and it was so much fun. Your enthusiasm reminds me of why we love to go to the movies! Your film knowledge brings depth and perspective to what you discuss. Looking forward to more interesting perspectives.

Pull my finger

by gimmycrickets on May 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Adnan does the best Michael Caine. Love the show.

always a great listen

by Jpm1015 on May 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

LOVE LOVE LOVE this podcast, one of the few I subscribe to, a MUST for any movie fan!

Love the Passion

by bmhesp on May 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

By that I mean that I love the passion and enthusiasm for cinema, not the Mel Gibson film “The Passion of the Christ.” I’ve never seen it. Adnan’s obvious love is contagious and makes me even more excited for the things in my life that bring me joy. Also, the podcast is fantastic and informative. Well done, all. 🤘🏻👍🏻