Average rating:

5
out of 32 ratings.

Funny cast, tight formula

by Justaguywithaphone19882001 on Jun 07, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Lots of cool insights, pretty funny cast, good bad movies, boobsThey have a good thing going on. Make more eps please!

there not tooo bad

by vjk1980 on Jun 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

yeah there ok....

Simply the best

by Barbarian_twin_lvr on May 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ll let you guys do the talking, cuz you’re awesome at it. Great show, great terrible songs, keep making these please.

Great show

by marquisdesuave on Apr 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Wonderful and knowledgeable personalities, fills my to see list with fascinating obscurities. And finally, as a masochist with a taste for misguided music beyond the traditional confines of ‘outsider’, Songs on Trial always gives me my fix for the truly bizarre fringe of popular music.

Compañeros: Mucho Caliente, gracias!

by Steve-a-roonie on Apr 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The Compañeros is a lengthy podcast (most episodes are over 3 hours in length). The “big chief” is Matt, and he is joined by a panel of 8 or so others who are experts on movies. The focus is on badly made films, but not films that are necessarily bad. If you don’t understand the difference, then this podcast has much to teach you.The cast is expert enough to easily discuss obscure movies from the 70’s and beyond. But they are still sufficiently youthful and irreverent that they never take their subject or themselves too seriously. It’s all in good fun. No lessons are learned and it’s a good discussion to listen in on.The centerpiece of each podcast is an exhaustive review of a movie complete with sound clips of key moments and lively discussion. Each cast member then rates the movie.Other segments include: “Catch and Release” where new releases and re-issues are either recommended (“catches”) or not (“releases”).“Songs On Trial” where obscure music found from God-knows-where is judged by the cast to be innocent, guilty or innocent by reasons of insanity. Matt correctly warns listeners that their “ears might be scarred for life.” “Compañeros Fun-Filled Facts” about unlikely, but true incidents from famous lives. A guessing game “What Movie is This” where the cast attempts to guess a movie described using reviews from the IMDB Parent Guide.“PG Boobs” which alerts listeners where nudity that snuck past censors is lurking in your old VHS tapes and DVD’s.There is also a companion podcast under the Compañeros banner: “Get Soft With Dr. Snuggles” that covers the world of softcore porn. I highly recommend this semi-serious examination of an unlikely subject.Thanks for all the good times, Compañeros.

sonically perfect

by Weep E. Hole on Mar 06, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I wait with breath bated for each podcast to come out. If it behooves one to please the organ of hearing and balance with intellectual capacity and integrity, then this is the podcast for you.

The Greatest Podcast Variety Show

by theantigenius on Feb 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I would have killed for anything like this a decade ago. Every one of the Compañeros has some piece of esoteric movie or music knowledge to share. It is literally everything I've ever wanted out of a podcast. My film library has never seemed so sparse as it does every time I listen. Thank you, Compañeros.

This ish is bananas

by Dead_Greg on Feb 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Want a WILD RIDE with ZAZZ and VARIETY and OBSCURE MUSIC? Boy howdy this delivers every episode with a cornucopia of weirdness.

Better than best!

by Dr.Butt Cakes on Feb 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I thought I knew movies, but the Companeros continue to rattle off titles that keep me on my toes. Thanks, weirdos!

Top 10 Highlights

by Belvedere's Ghost on Oct 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

1. What Movie is this.2. I'll see you in hell you sonnoffabiiiitch3. PG B00bs4. Get Soft With Dr Snuggles5. Songs on Trial Cult Edition6. Consensus view on Anime7. The Italian Connection8. The Cast (past present and future)9. Dale from Troutdale10. Downtown Australia

This ain't your kids recommendation engine

by kemble15 on Sep 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Gods of Grindhouse. Sultans of Sleaze. Lords of Lewdness. Trailblazers of Trash. Every episode is packed full of ridiculous films, antitotes, and jokes. Don't forget the songs on trial! You might learn a thing or two.

Put Your Weight On It, Put Your Weight On It

by Fentoozler88 on Aug 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This show has kept me going through the insane world we're living in. And it's made my party mixes much more interesting/insufferable. Never stop putting your weight on it, love y'all!

Super fun if you like b-movies and weirdos.

by Rodney Cecil on Aug 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Cool podcast. Kinda like a lowbrow/b-movie focused version of NPR's Sound Opinions, with the added bonus of fun games and total babe co-hosts. I'm looking forward to the Tim Ritter interview in episode 35.

Very Funny Show

by DoctorDanget on Aug 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Songs on Trial changed my life.

Movie/music nerds, bringing the laffs!

by sheaehs on Dec 28, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Meet your new movie posse. Snappy banter, quick wits, hilarious quips and everything movie or music fringe, these guys and gals put most nerds to shame. Nothing is sacred and all movie genres will be drooled upon, roasted and/or skewered. The show combines off-the-cuff group antics, sound clips, zany segments (like, how to see boobs in PG movies, funny mini movie reviews, jaw dropping fun film facts, the best and worst film releases of the week and songs on trial to send some of the weirdest, most awful music in history to music jail and so much more...) and lastly an epic breakdown of a featured film. Newer editions to the gang are periodic interviews with cult filmmakers! Damon Packard, Greydon Clark and, rumor has it, Brian Trenchard-Smith! What will they do next? Tune in, drop out and take a nice dump with The Companeros!

Best Thing

by Dick Wiggles on Dec 26, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast truly is my favorite thing. Oh we do have fun!

The shortest movie podcast you never knew you were looking for but now can’t get enough of

by DirtyDtotheH on Dec 06, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Legit!

me likey

by smalcome on Jul 24, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

I like it. excellent cast of characters and good sound quality- keep it up and I'll be listening!

required

by HrfghhvzFv on Jul 06, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

just listen to it. jeezus.

Best movie podcast hands down.

by Ninjaskillz88 on May 25, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Crazy tunes, interesting movie recommendations, and excellent taste from these 7 people. Love roger's tales from the porn store. This is my favorite podcast.

You Did IT!

by big_fisch_OWT on May 23, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

You managed to not F-up the podcast. Archived MAG member approved.

Incredible Wealth Of Knowledge

by Critical Hitter 666 on May 17, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Just when you thought you knew every obscure movie... Here comes this podcast that will fill your roster with bizarre movies and weird music. Filled with colorful characters (mental patients) this podcast has great production value and I highly recommend it to anyone who loves underground trash.

So rad!

by stsmith77 on May 14, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

An absolute stunner of a podcast! Funny and insightful…my new go to podcast for all things wonderfully awful. i’m hooked!

Car mechanic

by HrfghhvzFv on May 11, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Fantastic fantastic

Excellente!

by Hellofffjjbxf on May 11, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

Love duh showwwww.

Talk about a buncha normies.

by Stanky Whizzleteegz on May 10, 2016
Rating: ★★★★★

These guys and gals are SO not Dr. Demento/Weird Al-ified enough for me…but other than that this is quite a show. It’s so good I might let go of my timeshare in Guam and look into one on the West Coast. In fact I think I’m going to have to sell my hamster, all 3 mice, a turtle (keeping the tortoise[and tortoise house{no I don’t mean his shell}]), and one of the parakeets but this show is worth it.