Average rating:

4
out of 685 ratings.

Eh

by lintlurchell on Dec 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

This would be a great show if it wasn’t for the slurping while drinking and for a show that says “commercial free” in the beginning I shouldn’t have to fast forward 4 minutes to get through the ads. I understand you have to make money and it isn’t free but at least take the lie out of the intro. All and all it’s a good show, very depressing narrator but a good story line.

Wow

by bookguy101 on Dec 18, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This isn’t the worst podcast, but wasn’t that good at all. Honestly wish I hadn’t wasted time on it.

Update

by Artbellfan1 on Dec 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

Seems to have abandoned this podcast to instead ready creepy pastas. A shame

I’m literally hate listening at this point

by horrorxxfiend on Dec 06, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This is the most horrendous, going no where story I’ve ever heard. The plot slogs along over multiple episodes. Ryan Jennings might be the most hateable character I’ve ever been introduced to. The vocal fry, the awful accents, the tragic acting. Everything about this podcast is heinous. I’ve only continued listening because I can’t start something and not finish it but this story puts me in a bad mood every time I turn it on.

STOP GULPING

by Halvonator on Nov 21, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

STOP GULPING. ITS DISGUSTING AND I WANT YOUR CHARACTER TO DIE FOR IT.

Intriguing

by QDRO Queen on Oct 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I can’t tell if the story is truth or fiction but it’s got me hooked!

Great concept, lackluster execution.

by DispSJJ on Oct 05, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

I think the concept is there, but the acting and the script could use some improvement. I gave it an entire season, but I’m just not buying the plot as it’s being presented. I’m throwing in the towel, but wish the podcast well.

Excellent!

by courts719 on Sep 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great story, a creeping dread and I’m only halfway through this podcast... does a great job showing small town life and the long term impacts of childhood trauma... this story is case in point of why I’m never going home again.

Good- rough ending with no answers

by MMS313 on Sep 19, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I enjoyed the dramatics. And hope they do another season. The ending really got me though. I feel like there could have been a bit more. I also found it much easier to listen to the Ryan in the end vs beginning. Overall it was good. Worth the listen!

Love love love

by Gabs144 on Sep 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

But when are we getting more??

*AVOID* No ending.

by canarycart on Aug 09, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Ends with a cliff hanger and sooo many loose ends. Not updated in almost a year. Good voice. Starts off with a good storyline, good mystery; it gets pretty convoluted which I’ll be honest I might have been ok with if it actually had an ending.

Always a great horror trip...

by NewportBeachGirl on Aug 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Highly recommended you give a few episodes a try. Enjoy!

Starts a bit slow, but hooks you as you go.

by Sylicious on Jul 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

1st season was good, but lost my interest toward the end. Glad I stuck with it though, because the 2nd season is even better and I'm quite hooked now. Looking forward to 3rd season after I'm done binging the 2nd one, and hope it's just as good or better.

Amazing!

by youngwildflower on Jul 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Amazing podcast! Binged listened to this!

Love it

by CountryPigeon on Jul 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the appearances of the NoSleep crew! Great storyline and storytelling by the main character. Awesome work! ❤️

great but directionless

by bobbygrey on Jun 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

I love this podcast alot, but I think it dragged out this storyline and lost direction at the end. I think they would of been better served if he had wrapped up this storyline and moved the character on to something else. I will say the main voice actor is amazing.

Dull

by Samwell_0 on May 31, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Bland, uninteresting narration and laughable intro sequence. Poor production quality. Lots of room for improvement.

What’s the plan

by booksfirst on May 17, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

This podcast started strong but it has lost focus and is dull. The story line hanged so they could lengthen the run, but it’s become twenty minute rambling with semi professional audio and no plot. Where are we going? What is the point? This origin had a beginning, middle, and end but they have overshot and have been making middle-episodes long past what should have been the end. I do not recommend.

Well produced and engaging, but they’re dragging out the storyline unnecessarily.

by dnel12345 on May 17, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Overall, it is a fun podcast to listen to; however, the storyline is being dragged out WAY TOO LONG.

Amazing

by Otaku4 on May 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Please make more episodes

Fantastic Story Telling

by ChaquitaJones on Apr 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast, definitely worth following if you like scary serial stories.

Well-written and compelling.

by dayhawk23 on Apr 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast continues to be intriguing and the twists and turns are awesome.

Great podcast

by Melissa L. on Apr 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

One of the best I’ve listened to. Can’t wait for more!

Not worth your time

by M4rk-th3-sh4rk on Apr 14, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Creepy guy with a terribly irritating voiceand delivery. Don’t bother.

Felt let down in the end

by Tancred672 on Apr 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

The first two seasons had a really solid story, it felt like the story was being slow played, but not annoyingly so. The third season was just a massive letdown, when it ended I just ended up yelling at my phone for the last hour of my commute home about how nothing had been resolved.

So good!

by tytee on Mar 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Dark, creepy, and incredibly immersive! Well done!!!

Mehhhhhhh...

by W3rleBird on Mar 17, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

Made myself wade through the whole thing in the hopes there'd be answers. Was disappointed. So if the intrigue of the first couple episodes drew you in, don't hold your breath for any of the plot lines to actually go anywhere.The podcast really pushes to clumsily sell the narrative of this investigative "found audio" story, rather than just lean into the fake-ness of it all. Because let's be honest, the cliched dialogue and unimpressive voiceover work is not fooling anyone. Not to mention the painful "real world" attempts at justifying ads in the podcast. Might have over looked the all-around mediocrity of it all if they had gone the route of slightly-cheesy fictional radio drama rather than far-too-polished and over foley-worked "found audio" story (just wait till you hear him really slurp his drink into the microphone so you can tell that he's drinking something). Also, I hope you like the main dude's monotonous voice and his voice acting range from bored with the script to "I'm trying so hard to act here in my vocal booth." Because he's likely to halt the plot of each twenty minute episode with MULTIPLE three to five minute redundant droning monologues telling you how he feels instead of moving the story along.If you're looking for a crappier version of The Black Tapes and you have six or seven hours you don't mind throwing away, then this podcast is for you!

On the fence

by LaceyU28 on Mar 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Recently started this one after it was recommendd in a horror group. I like the concept but some lf the acinf feels forced. Maybe it gets better further into the series. Hoping thats the case.

WHOA

by Desdymona on Feb 28, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great horror story! Its got mystery and twists galore!

I hear it...

by CRPotomac on Feb 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Have spent the weekend binge listening to everything available from this show. Love it. Being a Minnesota native I want to go out and find Crayton and Ashbury!

MEH

by 3 LITTLE BIRDS on Feb 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Great concept but with all the whining it got old fast.

Stop drinking!

by Bjsd453 on Feb 22, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Ok podcast could be great but a big pet peeve I have is hearing someone eat or drink. So stop! I don’t want to hear you pouring anything in a cup, burps, or you gulping!!! Would give 5 stars if you would just stop that!!!! Thanks!

Come back 😔

by DrivingMama on Feb 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this podcast. Is it ever coming back?

Wow

by Techguy419 on Jan 26, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

What a cliff hanger with Season 3 Episode 10. I hope there are more to tie up the loose ends.

Waiting & Wondering

by TayStoots on Dec 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Gripping to a cliff here and hoping someone will help me.Love the podcast and would love to know if there is more coming :)

Wanting more!!!

by happy housekeeper on Dec 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

I️ stumbled apron this podcast and got so wrapped up in the story.. absolutely love it, but became very sad when it got to the end.. still wanting answers, want to know more..I️ hate being left on a cliff hanger..

Really awesome!!

by ScottMTKD on Nov 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Seems so realistic and scary!! Addicting!!

interesting story

by ticket2heaven on Nov 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

i love how the show is released and the content. The only thing I don't like is the Jon's voice... sometimes it can be grading, otherwise wonderful!

Excellent podcast

by Shellyben on Nov 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I am new to the horror podcast scene and I have to say I am completely entranced by this story. Very well done so far!

Strange

by JasminesDragon on Oct 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great Podcast, enjoy every episode and love the narrators!

Wow

by Blain101 on Oct 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Intense and intriguing.

Twists and turns

by Zombie_slag on Oct 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Small Town Horror will take you on a ride through crazytown and back multiple times and each twist and turn is enjoyable. You never know what's going to happen next, and right when you think you have it figured out, you definitely don't. Check it out.

Too slow

by Xjqhdlsbdlagxkxlava on Oct 25, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I can't take it anymore. I have been listening to this podcast for a year and there is just no content or any point to any episode. It has gone no where. It is way too slow for me and I am simply just done. I am officially unsubscribed and moving on.

Great Work

by Secret Listener Dallas on Oct 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

You do great work. You're a very talented writer. . and a great reader!It's so wonderful to hear entertainment that isn't full of the same old commercialized tropes and filler and homogenized nonsense. This is no write by the numbers proposition. Your character sounds truly tortured. The mystery that runs throughout is oustanding. I can't say enough good things. I listen to this after work while I knit. I'm looking forward to winter so I can curl up with your podcast and my loom.Thank you!Signed, A Happy Fan

Is this made up?

by Sowhat07! on Oct 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Great story just curious 😁

Loved it!

by Tangerine river on Oct 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love this storyline - I couldn’t stop listening to it. Ready for more!!

Awesome!

by Dbbhrse on Oct 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Edge of your seat listening! Great production and storyline!

Vocal fry.

by Commodore James on Oct 05, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

I couldn't make it through the episode because the narration was a constant glottal mess. I want to I hear words, not air bubbles forced through the throat. I mentioned this on their FB page, but my comment was deleted. Perhaps they will take my note more seriously now that it has a permanent home here as a review.

SLURPING NIGHTMARE

by CaraParrish on Sep 28, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

The creepiest most skin crawling part of this podcast is the repeated need for them to eat and drink right into the microphone. It's disgusting.

Emo mumblecore horror done right

by Edward Champion on Sep 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Small Town Horror is essentailly the mopey existential chronicles of Ryan Jennings trying to contend with supernatural ghosts from his past, but take the time to get used to the show and you'll find that the effect here somehow comes across as a entertaining mumblecore movie done right. There are often very moving performances by the guest players and an almost satirical approach to Ryan hawking (real!) ads in his hotel room. The show both takes its hero's plight seriously and gently mocks it and this tension is what sustains the drama's momentum. Good horror, in general, is driven by character. And where other audio dramas simply stack up random grotesque acts for a Saw-like scenario that ultimately proves dissatisfying, writer/producer/star Jon Grilz is more interested in seeing where this character will go and how much mileage he can get out of his angst, which is a smarter call for creating an enduring narrative.