Average rating:

5
out of 1110 ratings.

Riveting!

by NellieGuinto on Jan 13, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

There are no words that could describe how good this podcast is! The production and sound quality is just so, spectacular, and the voice acting is amazing. The soundtrack too, is the most amazing i’ve ever heard in a podcast, pulling from noir inspiration and it’s quiet nostalgia. The setting of the Penumbra being set somewhere so close and yet so far from today’s grasp just keeps me coming back. I am obsessed, and every case has me on the edge of my seat.

Beat!!

by Vienchula on Jan 08, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

This is like listening to audiobook it is awesome!! I absolutely love it !

Excellent Storytelling (and Representation too!)

by Vintage Ryntage on Jan 06, 2019
Rating: ★★★★★

Excellently thought out “radio” plays that are genuinely intriguing, with plot and characters that are equally interesting. LGBT characters are integrated seamlessly, so their sexual orientation/gender is not the point, it’s just a thing that is and then we move on with the story/character/etc. And that is really nice. The main character of the Juno Steel series is non-binary, and as an enby who had never encountered non-binary characters in media, that meant a lot to me. Thanks, Penumbra!

Representation 💞💞

by Hahahaubert on Dec 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’ve loved this story from day one, but when they released that Tal is asexual/aromantic (or at least one of the two) I felt a whole new love for the show. They do an amazing job at giving representation to a lot of different walks of life! The stories always keep me engaged and I’ve found myself more excited for side stories some days even! I cannot wait until after the holidays for the new episodes!

great show

by bubblegumgold on Dec 09, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Nearly everything I ever wanted in an SF/fantasy podcast - good acting, good writing, good sound design, diverse characters! It is consistently amazing.

*jazz hands*

by Alleged Destroyer of Stars on Dec 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I didn’t think I’d get invested, but here I am, out more money than an economy in full recession

I Cried and Hurt and Laughed and I Loved It

by PurpleSkyes on Nov 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast deserves every star it has and more. Do you like stories that make you laugh? This podcast has that. Do you like stories that make you think? This podcast has that. Do you like stories that make you cry in a public lobby in front of people you only vaugely know? Specific, but this podcast has that. (It may be from personal experience). In all seriousness, this podcast is a beautiful combination of deft editing, incredible music, and intricate, beautiful, poignant stories. It's queer, explicitly and beautifully so, and every tropey straight thing that you've looked longingly at and dreamed of one day having they will give you. It grabs you by the heartstrings and bruises you right up and then spits you back out again and you're grateful because it was amazing. I CANNOT reccomend this podcast enough and I can't wait to see where they take us travelers next.

Great stories and characters

by Black jack bones on Nov 25, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

The pacing, production and spin of the stories contained within is refreshing, engaging and a wonderful way to spend some time.

My favorite podcast

by BlehhhhhANickname on Nov 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

You ever encounter a story and get that feeling of “this was written for me, right now?” Like a bunch of talented people dropped a gift in your lap.

Juno - best voice acting

by Love Audio Dramas on Nov 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the Juno story. One of the best voice actors out there. Story is both light and fluffy fun and deep.

a representation free-for-all in the best possible way

by still rt on Nov 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

this has become my second (only to welcome to night vale, though) favorite podcast, all time, very, very quickly. i’ve been screaming and rambling about it to everyone i know for the past two weeks. the first thing that caught my attention was the juno steel/rex glass flirtation right in the first episode. that was when i realized this podcast wasn’t screwing around with the whole “you deserve to see yourself in stories” mantra. they are absolutely dedicated to that, and that’s very important to me as an ace/aro queer gal. as i got into the second citadel story and discovered an asexual character, i cried because i was so happy to, for the first time, see myself in a character i related to before i even knew of his asexuality. one of the criticisms i’ve seen is that it feels like it’s trying to cash in on the LGBTQ+ representation as much as possible, but i think it’s better to look back at their mantra and remember that they are telling stories about queer people that have never been told in this way before. by that, i mean the stories are... you know, actually *really* good and new and refreshing. they twist the cliches into something that you love instead of groan at, and they finagle the aspects of fantasy and noir detective stories that you expect and turn them into something else entirely. this podcast is a category all its own, and while there are certainly some aspects that could be improved on, as with all things, all i can think to talk about is every amazing thing it is doing right.

Great podcast, but....

by Catinhat007bondpowerpufftiger on Nov 13, 2018
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

This is a great podcast with two interesting fantasy stories. Now for the but. In season two the producers give a rather long political speech on elections in an attempt to push their own agenda. If listeners wanted political commentary they would choose political podcasts. It has no place in audio drama. Dramas are to be fun, not just another way to force politics down our throats. I would have given 5 stars if they hadn't gone down that tangent.

I don’t think I have emotions anything

by Navie_Lea on Oct 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is honest to god the best podcast I’ve listened to. I have cried listening to it and cried resisting to it and it never gets less sad I love this show so much keep on going I’m so exited for the hiatus to end

Best Hotel/Train/?? Ever!

by CatMathh on Oct 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The Penumbra takes old genres and concepts and breathes new life into them. From science fiction to noir to fantasy and westerns, there’s a little bit of everything! All of the stories have fantastic, gradually revealed worlds that draw you in, and I really can’t get enough of the characters either. From smart-mouthed PIs to exiled combination scientist-herbalists, there’s such variety and charm to the whole cast. The icing on the cake is that all of the stories are diverse and inclusive as heck!

The Twilight Zone of Podcasts

by Annabelle33455 on Oct 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great content and story lines. Listeners can chose between serialized story lines or one shot stories. I love the unique characters and settings; a city on Mars set in the 42nd century, a fantasy realm with monsters and knights in the 1200s to name a few.

Fantastic worlds

by Margo750 on Oct 13, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

God, I love this podcast. I am completely immersed in the life of Juno Steel, Private Eye. It has some of the soulfulness of Chandler, with genuine poignancy flashing through the hijinks and crabby wisecracking. And it’s also funny, exciting and romantic (when Peter Nureyev is around). Plus it’s set on Mars! When you need an escape from your sordid reality, there are few better places than Hyperion City. LOVE.

Sweet, sweet, representation

by Pheobus142 on Oct 12, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I’m absolutely in love. Not only is this a podcast made by people with incredible talent, but the stories are incredibly inclusive of marginalized and/or minority groups and incorporate them flawlessly. I love that there is no “coming out”, but the idea of queerness is just casually included with no real comment. Beautifully made, groundbreaking. Hope the episodes keep coming, because I’m absolutely in love with it.

My favourite podcast.

by 0tagen on Oct 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is by far my favourite out of the many I've listened to. Amazing sound design. Phenomenal voice acting. Incredible story and characters. Every other week I am blown away with each new episode. The creators put so much love and care into these stories, into these characters... You can't help but fall in love with them. It's so refreshing to see LGBT+ stories created by LGBT+ people, too! This is one of the most diverse pieces of media I've ever had the pleasure of expierences. I only hope to keep watching it grow!!!! <3

Spectacular stories by a spectacular cast and crew

by SMRose26 on Oct 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

There was a period, when I was a teenager, when I was OBSESSED with old radio dramas from the 1940s. Mystery and suspense mostly. I devoured everything I could get my hands on. And The Penumbra manages to capture everything about those old radio plays that drew me in and stole my heart and then adds even more. Not only do they present interesting stories, but their characters feel like they have real depth to them, even when outrageous, and they know how to break your heart and make you thank them for it. The writing is engaging, the actors are phenomenal at conveying emotion and mood through just their tone. The actors for Juno Steel, Peter Nureyev, and Sir Cassandra are particular stand outs for me, but really every one of these talented performers deserve a paragraph all their own. The music is fantastic, asserting itself just enough to add to the scene and be familiar after a few episodes but never distracting from the action. Most delightfully for me, as a queer person, is the varied gender and sexuality on display, and how - specifically in the Juno Steel stories - they’re not noteworthy within the world of the story. If you live in the world of Hyperion City, you can be whoever you are with no questions asked and no eyelashes batted - and Juno will know to call you “they” from 100 ft away ;) it’s refreshing, exciting, and truly emotional for me to see people like me presented within the full range of people in the world. From the tortured noir hero Juno to a corrupt mayor to a police lieutenant refusing to be penned in by binaries; from a former military woman turned PI and her fiancée to a hilarious secretary flirting with a murderous security guard to a black market madam with a wife and an unhinged ex all loving women while being women themselves. I see myself all over this series and it’s made me cry more than once from utter joy and relief because The Penumbra proves that there is a place for people like me in the kind of stories I love. Ultimately, you should really listen. I promise you won’t regret it. Welcome aboard, fellow travelers.

Lovely Queer Podcast

by 10fortyEZ on Sep 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

It's a lovely podcast with diversity in queer characters. Not so much diversity with a mostly white cast who voice supposedly racially diverse characters. Overall the quality of the podcast is good and the queer representation is great and wove in naturally. But ignore the official art if it doesn't match up with what you imagine since the voice actors arn't as diverse as the characters they represents.

So much representation!

by Kireikatt on Sep 29, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Such an excellent example of the film noir style in the main series, and plenty of interesting tales to go along with it! Also, all the representation, which is amazing!

Utterly ridiculous!

by liviapet73 on Sep 21, 2018
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

I couldn’t get passed the first episode. It just sounded silly and early ridiculous not to mention a bit over-the-top!

!!!

by lizard people of the U.S. on Sep 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

It only took 5 minutes into the first episode for me to fall in love!!! The story is interesting and the characters so realistic. The actors and writers are obviously extremely talented!!

FANTASTIC!!!

by melrosalie on Sep 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

amazingly made, really interesting, fun, and super heartfelt. i love it!!

Fun Stories

by BStrasters on Sep 04, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The Penumbra does a good job of making the listener really care about the characters and be interested in the plot. It's a lot of fun to listen to, and I'm always excited to see what comes next.

Very Fun

by .April. on Aug 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

A really fun podcast, and I really like its new takes on old genres. The creators clearly care about the shows characters and the shows fans. Super great!

really freakin good

by stillforests on Aug 23, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I just started this and it’s already one of the best things I've ever heard, definitely worth a listen.

Mistah Steel-yo-stuff

by M.R.E.R.E on Aug 15, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Sup, this is a good good podcast, so nice to have stuff that shows lgbtq+ character without making them sidecharacters destined to die or something like that. Just cool stuff all around, honestly a godsend

my favorite podcast

by espositogetsbutcherbesthashtag on Aug 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

i find myself saying how muh i love characters out loud Every time they show upqueer characters living their best life in lots of ways. juno steel is my fave lady

Get Into Creepy Radio Plays!

by Vonnegutchild on Aug 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The Penumbra is phenomenal!!! It’s Twilight Zone-esque radio plays. There’s the gritty mysteries of Juno Steele, the gallant mishaps of the Second Citadel knights, and intriguing little one-offs that take place everywhere from the Wild West to the sick mind of an ailing artist. What’s more, these stories are inclusive, and have diverse characters that never feel pander-y. Give the first five episodes a shot, since sound production and things improved as they went on. This podcast came out of nowhere and quickly became one of my tied-for-first. Try it if you’re into the creepy or the gritty, or want to experience all-audio dramas for the first time. You won’t regret it.Keep up the amazing work, Penumbra folks! #TeamRita

Love!

by Choklatz on Aug 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast. It has become two ongoing stories: Juno Steele and The Citadel. The first season had more variety, which I do miss! But they settled in the best two stories. You will like this podcast. Try it!!

Amazing

by Wresslet on Aug 02, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Is it weird that I’m a little put out that I need to listen to these for the first time when I can already tell that these will become old familiar friends? Set aside some time to focus and make sure you are in a space where you can hear all the glorious sounds. Just wonderful

Quite good

by pjdinde on Aug 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★☆

This is a great podcast and I’m only slightly obsessed with it. The story is engrossing and the characters are likable and relatable. I’d totally recommend this podcast to anyone who is a fan of Welcome to Night Vale, The Adventure Zone, Over the Garden wall or is a fan of futuristic noir-esk drama/ thriller

The Greatest, Gayest Gift

by bisexy-mess on Aug 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

One of the best pieces of storytelling I’ve ever encountered. The writing is phenomenal, and the plot is unique, you won’t find anything else like it. The cast is absolutely fantastic, I consistently blown away by their performances. Sound design is amazing, especially in recent episodes. It is a pleasure to watch the quality of content improve and the characters grow. I’ve listened to most episodes of this podcast at least 3 times, I’m so thankful that its creators put the time and love into it that they do. Thanks for this great, gay gift

Listen for heavens sake

by angryundies on Jul 16, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is so engaging and thoughtful and unique. It’s wonderful and you should at least give it a try. So queer and even when it’s gut wrenching it’s uplifting to hear stories unheard and untold by most of the world.

Fun and Queer

by Emily94h on Jul 11, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Great story lines and characters. Also handles mental health issues in sci-fi and fantasy settings in surprisingly relatable ways.

A letter from a future resident of the penumbra hotel

by Robert Putney on Jul 10, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Honestly, I went into this podcast unsure, I like a variety of podcasts from true crime to movie podcasts but I didn’t know if I’d like it or not, from the first episode though I became enthralled and now I’m burning through every episode left and right ready to lean more about Juno steel and his life

Yes. Just, yes.

by chadgodfrey74 on Jul 08, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Pros:• space• gays• trigger warnings • good writing• strong characters• everythingCons:• N/A

Pure Genius!!!

by Bigboi2234 on Jul 03, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is some of the best writing and acting in a podcast I have ever listened to. Keep up the great work.

This Show Make Me Emotional

by Randomgirl1220 on Jul 01, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

but I guess that says more about me than the show. The representation of not only LGBTQ+ people, but of people with mental illness is so raw and real that I've been left a wreck on quite a few occasions. I relate a lot to Juno and I love him so much. This is a show that has such great writing and such a great cast that it always feels real, even if Juno takes place on Mars, The Second Citidel is more of a fairy tale, and their last running story (it hasn't had as much attention) is a western. Sophie and Kevin write the show so well and the voice actors do such a great job of voicing the actors in a real and convincing way. You feel what they're feeling because you can hear it in their voice. Sophie and Kevin both admit that their first go of the first episode wasn't great, but they've really been improving even after all the time they've been at this. The framing is great too. I love the idea of a hotel full of stories and then a train traviling to stories. All in all this is a great show with great people working behind it.

Story's We Want To See

by Rue John on Jun 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I've been listening to this podcast for almost a year now, and the description that Sophie and Kevin have for it on the website is very fitting. They wanted to write and tell a story that they wanted to see, and I'm happy to say that it's very appealing to most who experience this podcast. I also use that advice in my own writing, and it's freaky how much I can relate to Juno and even the events that have happened in his life. It's nice, and I will always appreciate what these folks have done for us in this community. (I also got another thing to be obsessed with my best friend with, which is one of the many plus sides I can say about this.) I love this. Thank you.

Love, love, love this podcast!

by Peg O Myheart on Jun 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Simply put-the best

This is amazing

by bookwyrm1325 on Jun 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Highly recommend this podcast. The stories are great and it’s got awesome representation and amazing characters

Representation is so important

by thrynh on Jun 21, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

I need more sci-fi this truly seamlessly queer and Tran

Raising the bar

by Manniface on Jun 20, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This is an amazing podcast has raised the bar of my media consumption. The soundscape, voice acting and narrative are amazing but the biggest impact for me has been the settings and diversity. I never realized how deeply entrenched our cultural narratives of sexism, heteronormativity, etc. we're until I experienced the Juno Steele series. I adore this podcast and if I had the choice to just share one podcast with the world then this would be it.

God I love being gay

by LydiaAndEdward on May 31, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is AMAZING! It is so incredibly well-written, both the characters and plotlines continue to amaze me. Representaion for LGBT people is often hit-or-miss, and I often find myself consuming mediocre media simply to experience people who are like myself, but this is NOT one of those instances. I feel certain I would be listening to this with or without the rep, but that makes it all the better. My favorite episodes (sets of episodes?) are 2M2M, Midnight Fox, Stolen City, Lady of the Lake, and Moonlit Hermit, but all of them are exceptional!!!! Please listen to the this podcast, no matter who you are you're going to LOVE it!!!!!

💓💓💓💓

by Oliver (@sapphicminkowski) on May 27, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

HEY! if you’re looking at the reviews to see if this podcast is worth listening to, IT IS!!!!!! it’s perfect!!!! thanks for reading!!!!!!!!! have fun!!!!!!! ps: sophie & kevin & everyone else: im gay & would die for u. thanks for my literal entire life.

Exceptional!

by Eveningshades on May 22, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The Penumbra Podcast is perfect for anyone who has ever enjoyed a story. Spanning everything from sci-fi to fantasy, adventure to romance, and humor to tragedy, this half-anthology, half-serial saga gets to the heart of what makes each genre tick, then asks "What would this look like with all the awesome bits intact, but turned on its head?" Luckily for this listener, the answer to that question is often "Very, very queer!" What I adore about the series is the way that, by combing through the storytelling traditions we take for granted, the podcast has the extraordinary effect of feeling like fan fiction of universes that have already been written -- this being the highest compliment I can think of to explain the detailed, passionate approach the writers take to crafting each world and character that they explore. Definitely give it a listen, starting with the more prominent Juno Steel or Second Citadel universes, then be sure not to miss the one-offs (including my personal favorite, a swashbuckling Western love story featuring a healthy dose of found family goodness that'll warm the hardest of hearts).

Great storytelling

by Detectivejoan on May 18, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

Despite some early growing pains, this show has become one of my favorite podcast. Both the one-shot/stand-alone episode and the continuing storylines (Second Citadel, Juno Steel) are amazingly well-written and acted, and I'm always excited for the next episode!

Love it!

by EugeniaJ on Apr 30, 2018
Rating: ★★★★★

The Penumbra podcast is amazing! My friend recommended it to me a couple weeks ago and after I finished the first episode I was hooked. Within three days I finished all of the main storyline of season one and two, and I walked over 25 miles just listening to this podcast. I was so enraptured by the storytelling and style of TPP and fell in love with the voice acting along with everything else about it. (DON'T listen to everything in one weekend though. There was a lot of emotional carnage brought on by that). The writing is excellent, the voice acting is excellent. In the first few episodes of season one the sound quality isn't great but it improves drastically so I don't see it as much of a problem. 10/10 would recommend :)