Average rating:

5
out of 2226 ratings.

Cabbage Patch Kids

by PetPolitics on Apr 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm writing this review for the sole purpose of getting BA up in the charts. This has absolutely nothing to do with Cabbage Patch Kids, but if that caught your eye, lemme talk to ya.B/A ft. Shellshag (as it's commonly known) is a great conversation featuring your favorite Office reoccurring character, The GethLord. I need to switch podcasts at this point, just listen. It's great. You'll love it.

This podcast is pure genius

by Gigglebucketticklemuffin on Apr 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast because Chris is the perfect person to host it - he's funny and helpful, empathetic, open, generous, but also open about his vulnerabilities and flaws. It's a celebration of the human condition when it isn't necessarily pretty or perfect, when it's mosshy and complicated and confusing and weird. It's the best. I think it's even more revolutionary than we currently realize, personally. But I'm a big fan.

More people should be like Chris

by CT-3636 on Apr 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Chris Gethard is somehow able to perfectly blend comedy with serious topics, making for a wonderful podcast. The concept for the show is super interesting and every call is equally interesting. Love his comedy, love his tv show, love his podcast

Show is v tiiiiiight

by CodyaHodnett on Apr 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Part of my weekly podcasts for over a year.

Amazing

by Kylieadams on Apr 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is so great. The people on this show have amazing stories to tell, and I love hearing them. I think Chris is perfect for this podcast.

Eye opening

by Brigid Dev on Apr 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I just discovered this podcast and it is great. I have learned so much already. Chris is a great interviewer and the stories are compelling.

So good

by FMGM81 on Apr 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is centered around a great idea and it's difficult to imagine a better host than Gethard. Endlessly engaging and hitting the full spectrum of emotions, every episode is worth a listen. If nothing else, you are bound to learn more about life.

Awesome

by Handspringcrazy on Apr 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I never miss an episode. I feel like my view of the world and the different types of people that exist has broadened tremendously. I laugh, I cry, I listen and I learn.

Beautiful.

by JHELT21 on Apr 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast! Chris is a great host! Perfect voice for a podcaster!

So so good!!!

by Relevantly old on Apr 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Once I binge listened, now I only get fed this manna once a week. Chris has the most uncanny way of relating to a total stranger and brings them along on a leisurely ride of self disclosure. He politely probes, listens intently and, sometimes, he gets on his own hilarious rant. He is carefully nonjudgmental but also lets the conversation drive itself. This idea only works because the conversation is with HIM!!

Active listening at its finest

by Davegabicycle on Apr 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I'm a social worker & I love this podcast because it reminds me of the importance on non-judgmental, active listening. Chris G is a great host, funny & smart, and demonstrates empathy with every caller. How about a Morrissey podcast Mr Gethard? Thanks for a great podcast.

Love this podcast

by Podcastreviewskmt on Apr 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

97% of the episodes are great! Few voices that were tough to listen to but Chris is an awesome host!

Yes

by kathrynadele on Apr 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Chris is so funny and enjoyable to listen to and so many of the callers share such interesting stories. I love this podcast because every episode is so different. Never know what you'll learn about your fellow humans!

LOVE THIS!

by Hrszwspr on Apr 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I drive an hour to and from work every week and afer the election could no longer listen to NPR news. Too upsetting. This is my favorite podcast to listen to by far! I am on #38 and hate that I'll be caught up soon. I have enjoyed every episode and I did listen to the trump supporter one all the way through even though I am not a fan of him or his supporters. I loved Vegan Uncle Buck. I easily relate to him- I love my dogs, cats, horses, donkeys, and chickens, but kids, they are okay, but I've never wanted any. Thank you for such a great forum for callers and listeners! I am a 47 year old Doctor fom North Carolina ( I am liberal and progressive- there are more of us here then you'd think)- older, non atrtist folks love you too! Just bought your audiobook "A Bad Idea I'm About To Do" for when I get caught up on BA episodes. Thank you again!

Favorite Podcast

by jake_67 on Apr 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

By far my favorite podcast! I've listened to every episode. They are always fresh and different. Keeps me on my toes and doesn't get old or repetitive.

yes

by Sakura19992 on Apr 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

yessssssssssss! i love hearing the stories of people.

Love BA

by thatoneeyedkid on Apr 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love it!

Fantastic

by Mhollo10 on Apr 04, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Very genuine, and truly entertaining. Would highly recommend.

Wonderful Insight into humans

by aonmPie on Apr 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

We all want to connect. Chris has found an amzing way to draw out mindingful drops of humanity that we all can connect to on some level. Or come to an understanding of a topic, way of life or being that we, as individuals many never come in contact with. He allows the listener to find humanity in every caller. Thanks CG.

It feels organic

by AZChiln on Apr 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I thoroughly enjoy listening each week. I look forward to the organic conversations and the sometimes stunning twists and turns.

Love Gethard! Love the stories!

by Dg8644a on Apr 01, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is proof that everyone has a story tell. I love the safety and vulnerability of every episode, and of course, Chris is my favorite!!

The best

by LydiaLucas on Mar 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Ever

Super

by r7991 on Mar 31, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Absolutely fascinating and Gethard is hilarious while being empathetic. Highly recommend!

Perfect

by Onejugofwine on Mar 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The best part of my week by far.

A podcast that reminds you you're human

by I'm Tyler May on Mar 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

1. Beautiful Anonymous undoubtedly has the best premise for podcast ever. Comedian and anxiety/depression riddled Chris Gethard takes phone calls from anonymous people and is not able to hang up. He is not to know the name or location of the person he is talking to. Any personal information divulged that could identify that person is usually bleeped out to maintain anonymity. After one hour, the line automatically hangs up and the conversation is over. Basically, Chris gets people calling in, who have incredibly unique or tragic experiences, and they usually end up telling the most exciting part of their life story. There's also some guest callers who may not have had many significant things happen in their lives. But they are still super interesting to hear from because everyone usually ends up talking about the deepest most personal parts of their lives because Chris is so good at getting anonymous strangers to open up. If you were to describe this podcast in one word, it would be "human." Which is to say, this podcast will make you feel less alone and feel great amounts of empathy, and just feel when you think you are incapable of feeling. It's hard to choose the best episodes but one funny one that stands out is about an eccentric father who writes several hundred songs every year that have very niche titles so he can make money from people searching specific things and playing his songs on Spotify.

Humbling

by malfunction131 on Mar 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is an excellent way to listen to stories of people all around the world. It's entertaining and eye-opening to hear from people unlike yourself that life may not give you exposure to. Chris is a honest and fun host.

Darling podcast

by Maryannerdt on Mar 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Brief windows into the lives of strangers guided by an empathic, sweet dude who clearly wants the best for his callers.

This is the first time I logged in to rate

by Logged in to rate on Mar 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is too great!I never thought podcasts are this interesting The host is funny and also an expert at digging the stories of the callers. The only thing I hate is there's only one episode a week

Enormously entertaining

by Kusername on Mar 24, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

An eclectic mix of intriguing phone conversations between an anonymous caller and the host, Chris Gethard. The episodes cover a wide variety of fascinating topics discussed in a way sure to make you smile

Delectable

by DevBot_ORuairc on Mar 23, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Simple and brilliant

Addicting

by boattinifamily on Mar 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love CG, love the callers, love the last awkward 15 minutes, love everything about it!!

Love the stories!

by hullkris126 on Mar 22, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is one of my new obsessions. Chris is empathetic and funny and handles some VERY difficult topics with the appropriate amount of each. I love hearing the stories people tell about their lives- he's managed to find something for everyone. From the hilarious to the poignant, you really can find all kinds of stories told. HIGHLY recommend. Favorite episodes so far? Married to a Monster and I Made Out with my High School Teacher.

Once you subscribe...

by eabaskervill on Mar 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This will be the podcast you listen to first as soon as it loads up.I enjoy listening to the anonymous callers tell their stories and Gethard has the sense of humor and compassion to connect with them.

Awesome podcast

by Ana5613 on Mar 21, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love what Chris is doing here. Very interesting stories and I love the fact that it's a conversation and not story telling, because sometimes those can get dull.

The title says it all

by Sara Cee on Mar 20, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Chris Gethard is a master when it comes to breaking people out of their shells, as evidenced by his long running public access to cable television show. The calls are funny, sometimes frustrating and depressing, but always honest. I recommend starting with the very first episode and then going in whatever order you want.

One of a kind

by Goodman1789 on Mar 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Gives great perspective on life

Great!

by Muddy Piddles on Mar 19, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

An entertaining, educational, and personal trip through peoples lives. Narrated by a comedian, but often isn't funny and can be very real.

Best Podcast Out There

by DNorris49 on Mar 17, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Comedy, drama, reality. Great show, great host, amazing callers!

Favorite Podcast Ever!!

by Caitlin92 on Mar 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love it

humans are cool

by mrzmf on Mar 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks for this honestly! so pure, and so human; my car rides won't be the same from here on out!

Best

by ohhlauraaaaaa on Mar 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast is great. It's one of the first I ever heard and was immediately hooked.

We are privy to unknown lives, and that is GOOD!

by jaysfo on Mar 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Every episode of Beautiful/Anonymous is a door for entry into it own little world.I heard mention of this a few weeks ago and started listening immediately. Chris Gethard does wonderful interviews with anonymous people who share their lives in a most intimate way. It helps me to realize how different our experiences are and how there are so many people hiding intimate details of their lives.From some of the patter on the podcast, it appears that Chris Gethard has some aspect of fame in his life. Sorry, Chris, but I never heard of you anywhere other than this podcast.Chris has some wonderful attributes. He is 100% open to the different experiences of other people. In several episodes he mentions that he lives in Jackson Heights, a hugely diverse area of Queens, NYC. I very much enjoy people accepting rather than rejecting the diversity of the world around them.Thank you, Chris, for your openness and the probing that you do with the people you interview.I love the leitmotif of "SORRY, SALLY" throughout the show, a bid to Chris's mom whenever he cusses. I checked out the T-shirt online and I found that I, as a person who knows about punctuation, could not in good conscience purchase it. Why? There is a missing comma!As the T-shirt is printed, it includes the words "SORRY SALLY." That indicates a person named Sally who is pathetic. What Chris really means is "Sorry, Sally," in which he is making an apology, using the direct address comma, speaking to a person named Sally.There really is a difference between the two. Maybe Chris and the designers of the T-shirt don't see it, but I do. If you re-do the T-shirt with a comma, let me know, and I will buy it.

great

by salsalsarah on Mar 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thanks This American Life! Heard about this podcast on there and I have been listening ever since.

From Alaska to Guatemala

by ImNotSuttonFoster on Mar 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast! I've been following it since last summer when I was working on the docks, and now I'm in Guatemala for 2 years and make sure to upload it and listen every week from my semi-secluded apartment while I'm bleaching vegetables or walking to work. Thank you, Chris, for being a sentient human with a cultivated soul. I figured I'd been listening to this podcast long enough that I should actually get on here and review one of my very favorite podcasts!!

Reaffirming

by junebug2006 on Mar 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This podcast has been a beacon for me during a rough patch at work. An hour with Chris and whatever fascinating person has called in each week and I'm reminded that we all have stories, and that we are all beautiful.

Preternaturally relatable host

by YourCat*Knows* on Mar 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I signed on at the start and immediately worried B/A would end up being pep talks for show folk, but it really grew. I love the kindness of the podcast's following: just seeing people being nice to, and looking out for, one another is fantastically encouraging in a daunting environment.

Not perfect, but good

by Katwwwww12 on Mar 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Gethard can sometimes talk too much. But the stories are interesting and very personal

Relatable af

by CharlieGrey on Mar 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I can relate to every person I've heard call in, at least in some small way. It's really interesting to hear the stories of everyday people, and it definitely makes me more accepting of my own life. Chris sounds like a good dude, and even though he didn't intend for this to be a way for people to pour out their hearts and souls, he's very receptive to it all. Great podcast.

Did like it

by Kbosh on Mar 09, 2017
Rating: ★☆☆☆☆

Chris, you lost credibility with your dreams episode.... seems your cast is in it for a mattress. Don't play us as fools ! 😤

Best Podcast I've Ever Gethard

by MorrisseyIsJustOkay on Mar 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Awesome premise and constantly interesting episodes. Kind of want to call in one time but also don't wanna make you listen to me talk about Rugrats conspiracy theories for an hour. So I'm conflicted....anyway keep it Chris!