Average rating:

5
out of 2905 ratings.

Quick, fun podcast from Mike Rowe

by dshailey on Oct 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I've always been a fan of Mike Rowe and was very happy to stumble upon his podcast. Mike has a nack for telling stories. This is one of the few podcasts in which I subscribe. I always look forward to the new episode. I have made a few of these "required" listening for the family when we are in my truck together. They really enjoyed the one on Walt Disney. My eldest also listens to podcasts and has since subscribed to this one.The podcast is a quick story telling of familiar and interesting events in history which is told in such a way as to reveal little known facts and also keep you guessing as to the person(s) or event(s) highlighted in history. This is similar to the old Paul Harvey "Rest of the Story" type tales he used to say during his broadcast. However, Mike does an excellent job of owning the story. He's not trying to duplicate what Paul Harvey did, and it works. Really well. Some topics lean toward the mature audience so it may be good to screen before playing for a pre-teen audience, but Mike does a good job of keeping it clean. I highly recommend this podcasts to all who enjoy quick and entertaining stories.

Curious mind/short attention span

by Fromanchu on Oct 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

When I heard the tagline “curious mind with a short attention span“ I had to give it a listen. I’m very pleased with the quality, content, and delivery of this podcast. It’s fun to try to figure out who the subject is before it’s revealed..

Thanks Mike

by kcpchuck on Oct 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Always a great message with an ending that leaves you wanting more. Great stuff Mike.

Intriguing

by bikermbtx on Oct 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Like many others, I miss Paul Harvey and his The rest of the story.... so imagine my delight to find this podcast. Titles that make you think you might know what the tale may be, but often take interesting turns and side trios, which you find you are glad you took. Thanks, Mike Rowe, I love your down to earth delivery and talented writing.

MIKE ROWE IS A GOD

by Peeettteeeeee on Oct 16, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Storytelling that keeps you on your toes and shouting out guesses until he sums it up with a simple clue/subtle answer that leaves you speechless. He's good, really good. Two thumbs up 👍👍

The most Interesting 10 mins you will hear

by rory.622 on Oct 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Reminds me of Paul Harvey’s radio show : The Rest of the Story, which I really liked and miss. Each story is careful arranged and worded to keep the “short attention span” (in Rowe’s own words) of the listener. Very enjoyable and interesting.

A haiku

by Tired of picky a nickname on Oct 15, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Podcasts are fun butFew leave you waiting for more This one is too cool to fit into a dumb haiku

Likey Mikey...

by Puzzleer on Oct 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Have enjoyed Ur many Shows & voiceovers for years. Have picked up a few "As I Heard its" off of Fb & decided to Subscribe. U are my First Podcast subscription. Tnx Mike...

Fabulous!

by MamanNicole on Oct 14, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The stories are always interesting and entertaining, and the ads are a necessity, no use fussing about them. Money makes the world go ‘round. I honestly don’t notice the length of the ads because he makes those interesting as well! If the story is good does it matter if the ad is a tad long winded?

Great stories marred by commercials

by C-Dubs on Oct 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★☆☆

Now don’t get me wrong, I understand that Mike needs to make a living even if it’s a short podcast that doesn’t seem to be his bread and butter. But I stopped listening because of the 10 minutes in the podcast, almost 5 minutes is used for useless banter AND very drawn out endorsements. It’s just too much. Once you get past that, the stories he tells are amazingly well written and when you reach the end, you’re always left with something new you didn’t know about someone you do know! I would rate in tops, but mike needs to find a different way to do his intro and sponsorship spiel that’s shorter and less irritating.

Awesome!

by Susie Rawlo on Oct 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love these stories to fall asleep to.

Perfect

by trrrcbbhyfccjkkk on Oct 13, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great podcast

Great Content

by Fireborn14 on Oct 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One of my favorite podcasts! I get excited every time I see the notification for a new episode.

Truely spectacular podcast

by unchewable on Oct 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

From the structure of the podcast slowly unfurling a fascinating story to the little sound in between the intro and the story to Mikes voice it’s utterly brilliant and nice lengths as well usually about the time of a trip to the store. Keep up the great work my favorite podcast.

Great storytelling

by Adam Ayd on Oct 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

The stories are great as they are, but the way Mike Rowe writes and presents them makes it that much better. I love the model of backing into the story and Mike does a great job of not spilling the story until just the right time.

Perfection

by jillybeaniscrafty on Oct 12, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

What’s better than hearing Mike Rowe’s voice? Not much! Love it Mike!

Best there is

by Norton Builders on Oct 11, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I subscribe to a number of podcast. Most of them construction related as I am in the trades. Mikes podcast is hands down the most enjoyable. Easy, witty and quick. Kinda reminds me of myself.

Perfect!

by Jake Walker, TWH on Oct 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Mike has it exactly right. I have a curiosity that knows no bounds, and on a good day, the attention span of a gnat. “That’s the way I heard it is” is the most enjoyable show, of any type, I’ve ever seen or heard. Except for the fact that there aren’t about a dozen new episodes a day, It’s perfect.

Amazing Story Teller

by TDN74 on Oct 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Big Fan of the Podcast! Thanks Mike!

More please!

by Jill Hurley on Oct 10, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love everything that Mike Rowe narrates, so a podcast was completely fitting for him. He’s honest about everything, even the sponsors. The episodes are delightful. I think I’ve only guessed who an episode was about maybe once.

Fantastic

by CompMan123 on Oct 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Mike is a thoughtful writer, a soothing deep baritone, and a genuine person who cares about the stories he writes and how they convey the lessons and situations he framed. You MUST listen to this podcast.

Always a delight

by 2sinky on Oct 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Every episode that I listen to is a delightful adventure and surprise. I find myself not able to do anything else, anticipating who or what the story might be about. Mike Rowe has a gift for drawing you in to anything through his words and way of sharing.

Always enjoyable

by Matt-DC on Oct 09, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Always interesting and entertaining stories.

Excellent

by Ryan333366664446 on Oct 08, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

For people who just want a quick reprieve from your day. This is the podcast for you, great stories, great voice. I love this

Meh

by kumquatdynasty on Oct 07, 2017
Rating: ★★☆☆☆

This podcast was ok. He has a sonorous voice, but the content of episodes was pretty generic.

Mike Rowe tells great stories!!

by Spangalo on Oct 06, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Listened to all 70+ episodes over 2 days. They were all amazing!

Love Mike

by AUChica26 on Oct 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I could listen to him read anything!

Love the short stories

by Big dog in US Virgin islands on Oct 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Mike does a great job of piquing my curiosity each week. Great podcast, keep it up!

Great

by Bucklee3 on Oct 05, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One of my favorite little podcasts. Informative and endearing.

Short Attention Spans Not Withstanding.

by Catalina58 on Oct 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Mr. Rowe. On behalf of those of us with short attention spans, I thank you.Your stories are a welcome respit from the endless barrage of negativie, soul sucking, and mind numbing stories we are subjected to from our mainstream media. (Please forgive the run on sentence..lol.) I wish you continued good luck with not only this project, but with your Facebook project of Returning the Favor. You ar e a good man sir.

Fascinating & Entertaining!

by MCamp527 on Oct 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

One of my favorites!! The writing is smart and interesting. Mike Rowe is awesome! Add it to your subscribe list right now! :)

Reliably clever

by Mikeemahboi on Oct 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I now know the origin of the term "snafu."

Great Stories...Cleverly Written

by TGoatman on Oct 03, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

This is great stuff, Mike. Thanks for thinking of it, but most of all, thanks for being willing to take on the dirty job of actually doing it. There are too many “talkers” out there, not enough “doers”. I especially love the writing style. It’s always fun to try to figure out who the story is about before it’s revealed. My wife and I listen on road trips, and sometimes RE-listen. Keep the episodes coming, twice as often, if you don’t mind!

Love it!

by Cala17 on Oct 02, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Great way to pass time in the car or wherever. Easy to listen to and lots of fun. Plus, Mike Rowe has the voice of an angel.

Quick bursts of entertainment

by KPH895 on Sep 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Fun and entertaining snippets on historical and sometimes obscure figures. If you liked Paul Harvey, you will love Mike Rowe too.

Light-hearted and entertaining.

by TyCobb25 on Sep 30, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love the breadth of subjects covered in this podcast. They're the right duration for my commute and attention, and are always stories about people rising to their best. Love it. Have started skipping the first 3-5min of each broadcast due to "pre-show banter" and advertising, but the meat of the podcast is worth listening to. Keep up the good work!

So great

by MMListens on Sep 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I am currently binging this podcast and I can't get enough. The way he tells the stories is so great. Most of them leave me smiling at the end.

Great Story Teller

by Dr.HIR on Sep 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Awesome and educating podcast!

Awesome

by twistedhammer on Sep 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Short yet full of information and super creative. Always a great listen.

Paul Harvey would be proud.

by Dan Mingee on Sep 29, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I know you don’t like the comparison but your doing a great job! Both with the show and with mikeroweWORKS. I have my first two sons that after graduating high school were not ready or suited for collage. My oldest is in the Army, Honor Grad from Navscoleod. My second is an apprentice plumber. Thanks Mike for helping me feel that I did right by not making them go in debt to collage. Keep up the good work and keep spreading simple logic to the people.

Best podcast

by Moxies' best friend on Sep 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Mike does a great job with all these short podcasts, love his point of view, such a great voice. Keep up the great work, Mike.

Awesome!

by MMII2002 on Sep 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Short and sweet... sometimes sour but always great!

Great Stuff

by racerhomie on Sep 28, 2017
Rating: ★★★★☆

Good Man. Simple & Talented .Great Voice .Fun stories for people with short attention span.Definitely listen to it.

Paint drying

by Don Buzz Sawyer on Sep 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Love Mike Rowe. I could listen to him talk about paint drying, he’s just that good!

Mike the storyteller

by Phillio724 on Sep 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I love this podcast! The stories are great. Keep em’ coming, Mike!!

Sounds good to me

by ameekness on Sep 27, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Thank you Mike for these well crafted stories in history. Even with a short attention span, I hope the story keeps going.Maybe I’m just the annoying guy that chimes in saying “did you know?” But I love learning the beginning of the story.

The Way I Heard It

by Dr Suse on Sep 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I walk the parking lot at my office building every day, several times a day, but Tuesday mornings are always my favorite because I get to listen to this podcast. LOVE LOVE LOVE it!

Great

by Chadditsgytfff on Sep 26, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

Awesome

Great Story Teller!

by hobbes4073 on Sep 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I just stumbled upon this podcast the other day and was hooked after the first episode I heard.

I love the stories!!

by Ricks181 on Sep 25, 2017
Rating: ★★★★★

I look forward to Tuesday morning each week to hear Mike’s podcast. I love his twists and turns in the stories and the reveal of the character at the end of the story.